The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School - Photo credit Barbados Advocate
The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School – Photo credit Barbados Advocate

He who knows that enough is enough will always have enoughLao Tzu

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is defined as all “the  final goods and services produced within a country in a given period of time”. Can BU draw a parallel and define the well being of a country by the quality of key decisions made by the  ‘leaders’ in a given period?

The debate which continues to gain traction in Barbados is about the Alexandra dispute and related issues. It has displaced discussion about the upcoming general election, and significantly, a conversation about the state of the economy. If one were to ask any educated Barbadian what issue should be occupying the attention of the country, the answer should be ‘managing the economy’. It does not mean that all the issues at play in the country should be ignored, just that the exigencies of now require priority planning how we allocate resources.

Tension at the Alexandra School has peaked and troughed since 2005, surely an indictment on the management system with oversight for education. Many problems currently being wrestled by the government have straddled both political parties and different personnel in the public service. What it exposes is a rotten core which drives decision making in Barbados.

A scan of traditional and social media also exposes the inclination by Barbadians to dwell on the minutia of the argument. Some favour Broomes and others the BSTU to pick two of the main actors in the unravelling imbroglio. After observing a ten year dispute at a secondary school, what should be the priority position of the actors involved in the dispute and general public? Should it have something to do with children at the school perhaps? What should be obvious given the hardened positions built up over a decade is that all sides in the dispute need to thaw positions and demonstrate a capacity to compromise; for the children’s sake.

It was predicted by many that one of the options available to Jeff Broomes and the transferees was to resort to the filibuster tactic of sick leave. Does any sensible person believe these people are sick? Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick? How will this dishonest action impact the children’s future behaviour?

The Prime Minister suggested on the weekend that if all the players involved in the resolution of the Alexandra School problem – who are mostly university graduates – cannot solve the issues they should return to the cane fields. We have become so divisive a people that the statement by the Prime Minister has evoked discussion along partisan lines. Surely educated Barbadians understand what the Prime Minister meant by comparing knowledge workers of today to field hands of yore?

We urge all parties to remember the children.

1. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

If as the evidence is suggesting that Broomes is in fact removed from the school, why did this have to cause the embarrassment to the entire school, persons involved and not involved, when that is a decision that could have been made at least 1 year ago and $600000 less. Interesting, and I believe there are several more twists in this affair that was allowed to get out of hand by a prime minister, and other cabinet ministers whose time could be better spent in the dwindling cane fields of Barbados. They have all failed Barbados.

2. Some are too hard on mary. just because she dare set anothervagenda based on Principal and Law. thank god for the marys and those who were never deter or backdown when the saw “reason”cause” and injustice as a need to fight.

3. @To The Point | January 10, 2013 at 12:30 PM |

@Prodcal

r u the son without the talent? I believe ur r……………….

One can only feel sorry for persons like you who have no regard for other people’s point of view. You are a typical Dem. You a johnny come lately (or unless you are using mutiple names) on this blog, must spew your vitriol everyone must agree.

Get lost, using my talents, the heights I have soared to, you will never soar to! Be off, you hypocrite!

4. @ David

Regardless of FS believe that he could keep things together so long as he didn’t punish the ringleader(s) of the Eager 11, it aapears now that Dr. Estwick has notified all and sundry that he will NOT be speaking or campaigning on behalf of the DLP in the coming general elections.

I say “Go it alone Dr. Estwick, don’t help none of them. You speak in St. Phillip and not another parishing in Barbados and let John Boyce, Stephen Lashley, Chris Sinckler, Steve Blackett et all get home without you”

5. @Axis of Timing

How has he done so?

6. @ David

Ask those in the “know”

7. @ David

This puts FS in a very very serious position on the eve of elections?

In “Thompson Clan” can now move in an remove the head, Estwick will not be there to stop the pack this time around.

8. @Axis

If true what is motivating this move by Estwick?

9. Someone on Brasstacks today said that Amaida Greaves has reported for work at Alexandra. If that is true it would have overtaken the transfer of the BSTU teachers as the unkindest cut of all for Mary Redman. I don’t think she deserved that.

10. Oops! That should be HC, not Alexandra.

11. If what Axis says is true (It somehow doesn’t ring that way) and the remnants of the eager 11 act it would only show true patriotism to country since it would lead to Just Asking being almost right all along. But they might have realised something most of us haven’t, the coming elections is not one to win and their turn will come in the elections after this.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ AXIS OF TIMING | January 10, 2013 at 3:20 PM |

Is there any political love between Estwick and Inniss?

Is it true that Donville “I AM, I AM” Inniss is at the forefront ready to decapitate Freundel? He has the money and appears to be moving up the chart of the popularity stakes inside the Party, in the eyes of the Media and the general public at the expense of Liar Sinckler. The man Sinliar appears to be a weathercock and political prostitute when it comes to policy positions and philosophical moorings.
    Donville seems to be the flavour of the month when it comes to political shit floating at the top.

13. On the subject of Donville Inniss and connecting dots: Wickham said to be invited to Inniss New Years Day/Birthday party, on the talk show espousing views sympathetic to Inniss…hmmm.

14. Erskine Miller. Avatar

I am wondering if Mary Redman was a man if the comments being made would be the same. It seems as though men still have problems with, as they say women running things. A union is responsible to represent its’ workers, especially if they beleive in what they are fighting for. I also see that some of you are also bashing the teachers and making derogatary comments especially againts the women teachers. Isn’t it true that the majority of the issues that the union fought against Broomes they won and Broomes lost? What does that say then about the union? Doesn’t it say that the union had legimate concerns against Mr. Broomes. As mentioned in my earlier comments there is no way on this god given earth that these issues should have taken this long to come to a head. I am also hoping that all of you union bashers don’t belong to a union. I didn’t know that in bim one does not have to join a union if he/she wishes not to. Here in New York one does not have to join a union, but rest assured union dues will be deducted from your pay check before you see it. And you still would not be a union member if a union card is not completed to receive union benefits for member end eligible family members. ( drugs, insurance, dental, vision, ect, ect). Hi Ac how are you doing keep up the good work.

15. The BSTU now finds itself fighting to stay relevant in the administration of schools.

The transfer of teachers from Alexandra and their replacement by teachers drawn mainly from the so called “newer secondary schools” has effectively removed the BSTU from having any influence at that school. Most of these “new” teachers are represented by the BUT. It is expected that more transfers are on the cards. BSTU members are to be dispersed from the “older” secondary schools where the BSTU enjoys majority representation. The BSTU is a small union and so if its members are widely dispersed, the Union will be effectively neutralised. Observers should juxtapose this development with the fact that the BUT leadership is very much in the camp of the ruling party and has been shown to be mostly self serving and hence uncritical of Government’s educational policy and management. The wider workforce should also see these developments in the context of moves against the BWU under Trotman’s leadership. One can only wonder if the intervention of the Prime Minister is ultimately of the Trojan Horse type.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Erskine Miller. | January 10, 2013 at 4:31 PM |
    “Isn’t it true that the majority of the issues that the union fought against Broomes they won and Broomes lost? What does that say then about the union? Doesn’t it say that the union had ‘legitimate’ concerns against Mr. Broomes.”

It must be said that the other miller agrees with you in your general assessment of situation and the importance of unionism.

However I must point out to you that Ms Redman and the BSTU have only succeeded in removing the problem from her doorstep and placed it at the door step of somebody else. That is not solving the problem for teachers.
    What has resulted can be likened to a person taking his or her household garbage and dumping it on the neighbour’s lawn or kitchen garden or taking an old sofa or fridge (ordead dog) and dumping it in the Belle water zone or in a gully in St. Thomas.

Ms Redman and the Ax teachers who gave evidence against Broomes portrayed the principal in the most heinous way as a very cantankerous vicious vile and reprehensible creature unfit to teach and work among people

Now would you see the dumping of such managerial filth and trash on other innocent teachers and students as a successful outcome for the teaching profession?

17. Let us be fair to Mary and the teachers. This is an election year, It is not what is right or wrong anymore, It is what will win you the most votes. Freundel must appear to be in control even at this late stage.

Most Bajans believe they must have a leader (slave driver) behind them controlling their every movement. That is why Freundel can be as offensive as to tell them to go back to the cane-fields.

An inspection report and Commission of Inquiry show that Broomes as leader was WRONG in many ways and he has also reported SICK. NO one mentions that but on the teachers case every minute. I DO AGREE Mary’s public relations was pretty poor but as educated Bajans cant you all separate the trash from the cane?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 10, 2013 at 3:55 PM |

Petra Wick-ham knows how to choose his “friends’” like how Freundel chooses his pals. Unlike Fumble Both Chris and Donville are close and very close ‘friends’ of Peter W. Don’t let the facade of marriage deceive you.

Happy and gay men like PW like to compete with straight females while fishing in the macho pond full of ‘chubby’ male fish.
    Don’t ever expect Peter to ever be overly critical of either of his chubby pals as he is inclined to do with his perceived political Nemesis Fumble the son of a maid instead of a “fisher-of-men”.

19. @George

if ur ovt had solved it, the current govt would not have had to spend the money. Why did ur govt spend almost two million on the St. Joseph Hospital inquiry and to say what?

20. @Prod

u and i are of the same ilk, go figure that out and come back. I dont have to use multiple names, i can as I can do so using diffeernt ip addresses like some people here. Thats not my style, perhaps u do. But wait what u do to the scout or u is also the scout.

21. @Fedup

was Broomes the only contributor to the problem at AX.

22. it also amazes me how peter Wickham always defends Chris Sinckler and Donville Inniss regardless of what they do. AND BOTH ARE FAILURES. Chris MTFS is not workable. Donville’s facelift of the entrance to the QEH cant stop the 50 nurses from leaving and the further exodus of many more who are fed up with the poor working conditions.

Land Owners Let it be known: THE Ministry of Health DOES NOT HAVE ANY LEGAL AUTHORITY TO SELL NOR AUCTION YOUR LAND even if they cleaned it 1 million times. ASK ANY ATTORNEY. I know of what i speak.

Tell the f*cking boys on the block to go and get serious work instead of being duped into Inniss’ weed whacker programme and expect to frighten land owners into paying them idiots every time them cut down a river-tamarind tree off your property. You know some of these weed whacker idiots cutting lots that have already been cut so that the minister through his high office would pay them. Absolute rubbish!

23. Erskine Miller. Avatar

@millertheanunnaki
    What ever they said at the coi was absoutely true. Didn’t the coi report back them up. I believe now that cooler heads must prevail. Every one needs to sit and talk like mature adults. At the end of the day it should be about the children and not the MOE, BSTU or Broomes. In one of my earlier post I stated that there should be no issues between the principal and the teachers. If there are going to be issues te union shound be fighting the MOE. But I guess that since the principal have so much power in Barbados they will always be issues. Perhaps the education laws in Bim need to be change giving the MOE the power to run the schools instead of the principals. Principals and teachers should be on the same page. If Broomes was a good manager he would have just sat back and let the HOD and the deputy run the school. You don’t have to show people who is the boss. If one is a good manager then all of his/her subordinate employees know who the boos is. Any time you have to tell some one that I am the boss then you should expect trouble. How about removing those incompetents in the MOE that let the problems fester? I don’t understand the BSTU did every thing in it’s power to resolve the issues that was ongoing at Ax and no one did anything about it. I am making this statement and I am not a member of the B or the D. When I was residing in Bim I never voted, because the last election was in 76 and I was too young to vote I was only 17. So all the parties should take a look in the mirrow and be ashamed of themselves for letting the sore fester. I am hoping that every one could call a truce and try to work things out. But we all know that changes had to be made at Ax. The question is why January and not September of 2012. The coi should have been in session seven days per week if it had to and also work late into the night so that a resoulation could have been attained by the time school started back in september.

24. Miller,

Your now toothless leader Owen Arthur in years of yore was quick to threaten law suits whenever anyone challenged him about his conduct.

Fortunately for Barbadians we had the pleasure of witnessing his inabilty to do so on 2 noted occasions :

1. When David Thompson catspraddled him on the floor of the House in 2006 about the $ 75,000.00 cheque – that the public eventually saw in Jan 2008 !

2. Now that PM Stuart have publicly exposed him on 6th Jan 2013 for trying to dump Mia Mottley on the DEMS !

PM Stuart have made the disclosure……it is Owen to deny it or call in his lawyers !

The JACKASS Owen is…….he cannot do neither !

All right thinking Barbadians know Owen cannot deny it because PM Stuart have the proof.

So the BLP claim about being a UNITED party is bare LIES and HOGWASH.

Miller, do you really believe Bajans will trust their destiny with Owen the LIAR and THIEF again ??

Continue to let a die hard DEM like Peter Wickham fool wunnah BLPites !!!

NAH……DEMS all the way .

25. @Erskine
    “So all the parties should take a look in the mirrow and be ashamed of themselves for letting the sore fester. ”
    >> agreed

@fedup
    “cant you all separate the trash from the cane”
    >> when the trash is in so much abundance it becomes difficult.

@!
    “Miller, do you really believe Bajans will trust their destiny with Owen the LIAR and THIEF again”
    >> Owen is only on one out of thirty ballot sheets. Think on these things.

Just Observing

26. I am very suspicious of Sir Leroy’s call for a general strike, as I suspect an ulterior motive. You would recall that in the 14 years of Owen Arthur’s reign, Trotman would hardly if ever allow a dispute to be settled at the level of the Chief Labour Officer or the Minister of Labour. Negotiations would always breakdown and the PM would be invited to work his magic and then suddenly matter fixed and Arthur would grow in people’s estimation fed by Trotman’s bull faecal matter.

This time around, I believe that the dispute is designed not to make anyone look good but to show up the present PM as incapable of resolving anything which would not assist in improving poor Freundel’ appeal to the electorate. Mind you, I don’t think that Freundel needs any help in looking bad: he is already doing that by himself ably assisted by Hal.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | January 10, 2013 at 5:24 PM |
    “All right thinking Barbadians know Owen cannot deny it because PM Stuart have the proof.”

Well, well produce the evidence. What is Fumble waiting for? Another Haggat Hall replay? After all, he exonerated all his Parliamentary colleagues on both sides as being honourable men and women. He just can’t go back on his word to fool idiots like you,”!”, can he now?
    Both Observing and the Fumbler himself being experts in the Law will agree that evidence is paramount in proving a charge in a just court of law. Let the judge of public opinion demand a writ of habeas corpus! Let us the BU jury see that handwritten note.

Just see this as a warning from the Police who have stopped you on the highway of public opinion and have demanded you produce within 48 hrs your valid driver’s licence and insurance to prove your entitlement to be on the BU information highway.

28. Maybe should move onto to this blog, give he Miller dog a bone.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Observing(…) | January 10, 2013 at 5:38 PM |
    “Owen is only on one out of thirty ballot sheets. Think on these things.”

So is Freundel the fumbler of decisions! So is Mia forthright in her ‘bitingly incisive’ proposals!

Which of the three would you vote for?

Remember it’s your democratic right so abstaining is not an option unless you want to be sent back to the cane fields prior to 1951 to be a tanner of hides.

The choice is yours.

Just cogitating!

30. AXis is a political prostitute spreading lies and propaganda about DR,estwick .This got to be the BLP salvo in response to the reveal;ation of OSA trying to DUMP MIA ON THE DLP.

31. Caswell didn’t the BU family not give you the day off. Wait before you go. can you please tell what would be Trotman’s ulterior motive for calling the strike.

32. Miller’

With respect, hold a side with conviction. Pinky and Jack are the good guys here …

33. Caswell,
    You really think that the Duke of York would conduct industrial relation matters to help the BLP??? No, no, no.

What I would like to ask you though is……. do you think that the Duke of York is orchestrating this strike to create the “chaos” that Mr Fumble would need to have that 90 days extension to DLP power?

I am just wondering, is this the unrest that would justify the 90 days??

34. FED UP

Peter is my friend but like you I FED to f@ck UP too …..!

35. When Owen Arthur called an election 5 years ago, the BWU arranged a strike as well and Owen was allowed to walk away as a hero. He lost the election .. Go figure

36. @miller
    I vote at my box in my constituency for one person. Can’t tell you who that is yet, lol..! and others seem to think “damaged goods” Owen is enough of a drag to guarantee a DLP victory. Me definitely thinks not. 30 seats, 30 battles. Zero incumbent coatails and a undesirable alternative. The winds are blowing in a northerly rather than southerly direction. Time will tell!!

And why you lumping me wid “Fumbler and lawyers?” I think I prefer liming with Bushmen and teachers! 🙂

Observing

37. BTW Miller

Peter likes White women, academic White women who are obliged to chose English as a second language… Just so you should know

38. AC

Trotman’s ulterior motive would be obvious to anyone with half of a brain. Oh! Sorry, I seem to forget that you don’t have that much. Ask Bushie, he might explain it to you.

39. Prodigal Son (6:36)

You are getting like Observing, you are asking questions when you already know the answers.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | January 10, 2013 at 6:35 PM |

“With respect, hold a side with conviction. Pinky and Jack are the good guys here …”

I agree and respect her stance on a matter of principle (if not principal) and backing of her ‘clients’.
    What I am concerned about is her being ‘used’ by the “john” called Hal who sees nothing morally wrong in representing BSTU while like a real pimp carrying sensitive information about the plans of poor Pinkie back to the bosom of his buddy the manipulative Fumbler.

She has been taken to the political cleaners on this one. Imagine poor Pinkie being fc**ked by 2 limber pricks.

41. I had put an end to this issue at AX – wih the circulting thoughts that the timing is was wrong I beg to dfer.

Many key teachers in both primary and secondry schools are allowed long leave (one term leave) during the second term. I was shock when I first experienced this insensitivity at primarylevel with my son then to endure the practice at secondary school.

One form cannot be more important than the other. Teachers go on maternity leave from second term as well. As long as the students had a solid first term work with the syllabus for that period having been completed then the students are well poised to succeed.

Assigned teachers also receive the syllabus all they are doing is following on reference to a syllabus. If students are looking for a bossom buddy they will rebel to their detriment not the teachers’.

CHANGING TEACHERS IS NOT A BREAK IN DELIVERING THE REQUIRED SERVICE. Our approach to change is determinant factor in our engaging parties and staying focus.

42. Miller

I am stuck … I have no idea how to respond to you

43. “get serious work instead of being duped into Inniss’ weed whacker programme and expect to frighten land owners into paying them idiots every time them cut down a river-tamarind tree off your property. You know some of these weed whacker idiots cutting lots that have already been cut so that the minister through his high office would pay them. Absolute rubbish!’…….

Wait, they are actually encouraging the young people to use weed wackers? Wait, I remember the Dems last election lambasting the BLP’s Project Oasis? OMG!

44. o,k. caswell so ac might not even have a brain at all but still know when u talking bulll shit. which was plenty of as of recent so much so that a toilet paper shortage was becoming problematic. so there u have it and guess whAt all said without a brain!yes! without a brain. GO figure ! btw ask bushie what that old relic still have plans for destroying bubbados making you leader of some concoction. yuh think i crazy .wait a minute i notice yuh smelling rats.The best thing u said all week ! RATS!

45. Over 2000 persons are gathered at Market Hill St. George way past 10 o’clock . PM Stuart have declared that the DLP administration has performed so admirably in the past 5 years that the people of Barbados have returned the DEMS to office unopposed for 2013.

So there you have it folks the announcement for the 2013 general election have been given….the DEMs have been returned unopposed.

David of BU is mighty please with this outcome.

Miller , Onions and Enuff beak brek !