The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School - Photo credit Barbados Advocate
The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School – Photo credit Barbados Advocate

He who knows that enough is enough will always have enough โ€“ Lao Tzu

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is defined as all โ€œtheย  final goods and services produced within a country in a given period of timeโ€. Can BU draw a parallel and define the well being of a country by the quality of key decisions made by theย  โ€˜leadersโ€™ in a given period?

The debate which continues to gain traction in Barbados is about the Alexandra dispute and related issues. It has displaced discussion about the upcoming general election, and significantly, a conversation about the state of the economy. If one were to ask any educated Barbadian what issue should be occupying the attention of the country, the answer should be โ€˜managing the economyโ€™. It does not mean that all the issues at play in the country should be ignored, just that the exigencies of now require priority planning how we allocate resources.

Tension at the Alexandra School has peaked and troughed since 2005, surely an indictment on the management system with oversight for education. Many problems currently being wrestled by the government have straddled both political parties and different personnel in the public service. What it exposes is a rotten core which drives decision making in Barbados.

A scan of traditional and social media also exposes the inclination by Barbadians to dwell on the minutia of the argument. Some favour Broomes and others the BSTU to pick two of the main actors in the unravelling imbroglio. After observing a ten year dispute at a secondary school, what should be the priority position of the actors involved in the dispute and general public? Should it have something to do with children at the school perhaps? What should be obvious given the hardened positions built up over a decade is that all sides in the dispute need to thaw positions and demonstrate a capacity to compromise; for the childrenโ€™s sake.

It was predicted by many that one of the options available to Jeff Broomes and the transferees was to resort to the filibuster tactic of sick leave. Does any sensible person believe these people are sick? Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick? How will this dishonest action impact the childrenโ€™s future behaviour?

The Prime Minister suggested on the weekend that if all the players involved in the resolution of the Alexandra School problem – who are mostly university graduates – cannot solve the issues they should return to the cane fields. We have become so divisive a people that the statement by the Prime Minister has evoked discussion along partisan lines. Surely educated Barbadians understand what the Prime Minister meant by comparing knowledge workers of today to field hands of yore?

We urge all parties to remember the children.

1. @ David
    GET REAL! Stop encouraging foolishness….

It was a STUPID thing for a leader of a country with our history to say.
    Stuart needs to learn that it is BETTER to speak using simple terms and stop trying to SHOW OFF with complex words, terms and analogies. THAT is a sign of an inferiority complex.

What go back to what canefields what?!?

If he meant that they have wasted their education why not just SAY SO? Why should people be having to explain and interpret what the PM says all the time so….?

Stupseeeee…. Even ac is clear in her speech- if not in her logic or reason… ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha Ha Ha

2. @Bushie

You are suggesting Stuart should dumb down his language and means of expression because his audience is illiterate?

Maybe he should have used the words negrocrat or indentured servant?

The silly season is truly upon us.

3. @Hal Gollop

Your position as heard on the 5:30 news this evening is a noble and pragmatic one. Did we hear the word compromise9

4. @all
    Statement from Hal Gollop.
    The BSTU is willing to compromise. Just wants a meeting with Personnel Administration to address concerns and find a resolution. All parties will have to compromise and meet each other halfway so as to reach a solution. “It’s not a situation where there should be winners and losers.”

Well well (too late Hal!)

CEO Laurie King – “the transition at AX went fairly well. All reassigned teachers are in place. Things were not perfect but we are trying our best and will tweak where necessary”

Well well well (too late Laurie!)

Senator Haynesley Benn outside AX gate appealing for common sense to prevail and for politics to be taken out of the issue.

WELL WELL WELL WELL WELL (go home Haynesley!)

Just observing

5. Well good PR job by CEO .however it is only one day .it would be interesting to know “compromise on what” .what is there to compromise.

6. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

There is a school of thought that the dropping of standards is linked to the rise of women in society. I have seen this view expressed and I wonder to what extent is this idea a reality.

I have observed that things do change when women become involved in any situation and that maybe the standards have been lowered to accommodate women, taking into consideration that women are trying to do things that men do but are not necessarily equip to measure up.

This is worthy of discussion because there might be some truth to the idea that there is a concomitant lowering of standards to accommodate the female’s rise in society.

7. @miller
    “Cutting canes in a dehydrated state along with a bull pestle whip over your backside like the sword of Damocles is what you would describe as a serious form of mental imprisonment in Hell with hard labour”………………..

miller,
    You should hear Dennis Kellman yesterday lambasting the BLP for mechanising the sugar industry. He said that mechanisation destroyed the industry! That man is a novelty!

8. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

And the point is that the females at Alexandra could not meet the standards as set by Principal Broomes. How dare Broomes question their shopping trip abroad ?

He should have let it slide. “We are women ; this is what we do, we break down and mash systems so whats wrong with you Mr. Broomes ?” “How dare you question our right to be women, to shop on the Government’s time and other things that females do ?

You Mr. Broomes have to change to suit us females, not we change to suit you. Who is you though ?

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

If Both side study Plantation Deeds from 1926 to 2013 they will focus on the real problem of Barbados . When the school teach this History and the student cant seem to find what they are looking for at the land registry and the Archives the focus will change to the PM and UWI students,@
    The Prime Minister suggested on the weekend that if all the players involved in the resolution of the Alexandra School problem โ€“ who are mostly university graduates โ€“ cannot solve the issues they should return to the cane fields.@
    We at Plantation Deeds agree , When they all see the ROOTS of the Plantation Deeds and Who pull the sugar cane up , It will not be to sweet for the BLP and the DLP , Let us start the first lesson for all the teacher home sick ,
    After reading all 4 parts then you will get the Picture ,
    Plantations Deeds 101

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/the-violet-beckles-affair-separating-fact-from-fiction-part-i/#comments

Then you can tell the Prime Minister what you all found out when you all went back to the Plantations cane fields , Massive Fraud and down grades by S&P and Moodys , and Sir Cheltenham QC

10. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

When the statement re the Cane Fields is psychoanalyzed , the conclusion is reached quite easily that Stuart is suffering from an inferiority complex. There is a thin line between inferiority and superiority complexes and Stuarts moves from one to the other,

Stuart’s statement about moving from a chattel house to Illaro Court demonstrates that he has a challenge in accepting who he really is. It is a similar statement to the Canefield statement. It has the same skin; the same complexion
    This is a danger,
    Question: Is Stuart known for anything ?

11. “I have observed that things do change when women become involved in any situation and that maybe the standards have been lowered to accommodate women, taking into consideration that women are trying to do things that men do but are not necessarily equip to measure up.”

DR Dishonourable….what shoite yuh tawking? Yuh see a woman in the PM office/seat in Bubaduss? Yuh see a woman at the head of the unions bout hey? Yuh see any woman at the head of the Bar association? Yuh see any woman as the CJ? Yuh see any woman as Governor General?

Check little Dominica who had a woman as head of state. Check Trinidad, check Jamaica, check India, check Sri Lanka, check Austrailia, Check the UK, check Iceland, check Germany. Wunna feebly menz always trying to put women back in the kitchen. Why yuh doan go and tawk tah yuh wife bout dis and see eff she ent cuff yuh head. Stupse. The only person who would agree wid yuh is de bushman who still living in de past.

Who de rass taught you manners when yuh did growing up? Who de rass taught you how to eat properly at the table? Who de rass taught you your abc’s? Who de rass cut yuh backside when yuh went astray? Who de rass taught you cleanliness? Who de rass taught you to cook? Who de rass taught yuh to dress yuhself? Who de rass went out tah wuk so dat yuh wunt starve and go naked? Yuh mussee come outta yuh fader’s pooch!

12. David,
    I do not think that we are taking the PM out of context. Telling people that if they cannot solve problems they may as well go back to the cane fields is insulting and derogatory.

If he had included himself, I would not have a problem as he has not been making any decisions when he was AG, when he was keeping house while DT was sick or now that he is PM.

He is famous for asking for files, keeping them in his office for months and when public workers tire waiting on him, he gives them back with a ‘bring in in six months”. Just ask any lawyer about Freundel Stuart, you will not be surprised!

13. @ E2
    Stop talking drivel about PM Stuart hiding from his past . Did you not see the man recently at the Four Square Rum plant holding an enamel cup in his hand and proudly informing that his mother was a maid at the place ? For christ sake stop the rubbish . What past do you think he has if not one associated with the cane fields? any person who says that the PM ‘s statement was an attack on any class of persons other than the GRADUATES is either lacking in intelligence or being deliberately mischievous . I am unsure where you fit in .

14. BLP and DLP know bout Cheltenham, he skeleton in closet. Everybody in Bim know bout Cheltenham he skeleton in closet. Tell us something we not know already.

15. Bushie,Thanks for your concern at 8:37 am. And BAFBFP, I am surprised by your concern for me shown in your comment at 1:15 pm. but in any event thank you.

Rest assured that I am not bothered by the noise coming from the galaxy of clowns who sprang to the PM’s defence. If they were truly his friends, they would tell him the truth. He misspoke pure and simple, and it has offended a large cross-section of the people of this country. An astute politician does not offend the electorate in the best of times. The DLP is catching its tail and out comes the leader abusing the people, intentionally or not it does not matter.

People in the canefields should be offended for more than one reason. If they knew the current Chief Personnel Officer, they would now be contemplating a riot. I do not know of any worker in the canefields that were as silly as that woman.

16. islandgal,
    Cool down, dont let Dr Honourable disturb you so early in the new year!

17. Why would anybody engaged the igurnt BLP yardflows about PM statement afterall they have no platform so and engaging them on the Pm comment only give them something to talk about. stuepse…let them kick the can up and down the street until they break both legs. just ignore them. miller did yiu hear that OSA wanted to dump MIA on the DLP asking the PM to relieve her of the BLP

18. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The cane field statement by the Prime Minister was meant to be insulting, is insulting and the Prime Minister should apologize but maybe it is -too late to apologize.

Never try to solve any problem in Barbados especially when it involve women. It is better to suffer and accept given your history as slaves and colonials. Let me see that stiff upper lip !
    Broomes tried to solve a problem at AX———DISASTER
    The teachers tried to solve their problem by getting rid of Broomes—-DISASTER
    Freundel Stuart tried to solve that problem—–DISASTER

Now everybody running to the doctor-SICK !!!!!-
    DISASTER

19. ac | January 9, 2013 at 6:35 PM |OSA wanted to dump MIA on the DLP asking the PM to relieve her of the BLP

No reaction from the Bees or Arthur on such a shocking remark. It reflects badly on a backstabbing Arthur and on a manipulated Mia. It opens the way for the PM to hammer him his point of the BLP’s unity of convenience.

20. re Now everybody running to the doctor-SICK !!!!!-
    DISASTER

not true! only 8 people gone the doctor. lol

21. after the sick leave what. Remember that the extension of sick leave is not a right. after they have exhausted their maxium sick leave, do not give them an extension and doc their pay. There will be no reversion of the transfers. Ms. Redman tell them to go and teach the people children, and remember if they sick and are so stressed out, they should be home resting.

Thank God that they have been scattered so that they can no longer hold Ax to ransom. That black mail strategy has backfired and I wish the new principal at AX well as well as the new transferees.

22. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Typical female reaction from IG
    Cursing me ,
    I am told that Nowadays, the female teachers at school do the same thing, curse the children and that has resulted in the children cursing the teachers and others in the rawest way. Never accepts that women are responsible for anything. Typical female reaction that demonstrates exactly what we have hitherto discussed earlier about women

At no less a school than Combermere, now renamed -Major Noot/ Frank Worrell/David Thompson Combermere School, I was told something by a student that a teacher told him that is so bad that I do not care to repeat it here. The teacher eventually received a letter from a lawyer as a result. The female teachers in the system are no good. The general attitude is very poor. This is not to say that you would not find one or two that are sensitive and caring; (All males are not heterosexuals.) -all apples are not red

You can see it. Their attitudes are not reflective of care for the children. Check it IG, check and see, it is right in front of you

The Education system in Barbados has declined because of the rise in the numbers of female teachers
    No amount of huffing and puffing from IG and the like will dispel this. There was a rise in the number of female teachers ; There was a decline in standards.
    The rise in female teachers is therefore the cause of the decline in standards.

Other things have declined too-BECAUSE OF WOMEN !

23. No not a word that,s right the Bees too busy trying tio make fire out of the PM comments needless to say the Bees need all the help in presenting a platform.

24. Interesting to hear Chief Education Officer Laurie King in the news this evening commenting that the ministry was very careful to select/match skill sets of the transferees. This of course does not accord with the position of Caswell et al’s observations on this issue.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DLP meeting, live streaming:-

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dlpbarbados

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“He is famous for asking for files, keeping them in his office for months and when public workers tire waiting on him, he gives them back with a โ€˜bring in in six monthsโ€. ”

how you know that?

You dont get tired telling lies?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

Go to http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dlpbarbados, Min. Jones is speaking, you will learn a lot.

It will stop you from talking so much foolishness.

28. This media sh..it don.t make sense the parties involved are the ones who want answer all this does is add to speculation and intrepretation /misinterpretations in the public arena .it is most likey that the MOE tring to win the war of words so hence take the issue to the media. for ventilation

29. @David

the personnel in the ministry are the experts ands hould have an idea of the techers’ competencies, strenghts and skills, and not caswell et al. The expertise is there regardless to what many may say.

30. CCC,

I am ruffling your feathers, so I know that what I am saying is true.

BTW, You all seem to be in a rush for time…………opening constituency offices mid week……what happen?

Has it now dawn on the sleeping giant that now he has awoken, the time is running out and his back is against the wall?

What happen CCC??? Has the giant now realise that he cannot use up the 90 days as that is to be used only in the case of war or a hurricane??

Advisers like Hal Gollop did not help when he try to fly the 90 day extension, did they? I liked when Caswell told Hal Gollop that if you bring a bill but it is not debated and passed both House and senate, it dies when the House is dissolved. Hal Gollop tried to say….who is to say that the estimates are not ready to be laid? Talk about flying a kite!

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

So Hal gallop needs Caswell’s advice now?

32. A number of schools across Ontario will be closed Friday as elementary teachers and education workers stage what Premier Dalton McGuinty is calling an illegal strike.

The teachers announced they will stage a one-day โ€œpolitical protestโ€ on Friday over the governmentโ€™s recent decision to impose new collective agreements on them.

Read more: http://www.ctvnews.ca/canada/one-day-protest-planned-by-ont-teachers-is-illegal-premier-1.1106964#ixzz2HWjAX9Su

33. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Mary Redman stated that
    โ€œTeachers have been vomiting, they have had their blood pressure up in the air; diabetic persons, their sugar is out of control, they have not been sleeping, their tears are flowing. I wish that persons could understand the real trauma that the teachers have been going through as a result of this,โ€ she said, noting as well that headaches and sleeplessness were also reported.

Is Mary Redman really serious as to state something like that for all to hear? What rubbish!! U would think she was discussing little five year olds who just had their world disrupted. Are these teachers mature adults or what? Why should the thought of teaching somewhere else produce such a reaction? I would have thought that the fact that all the tension they might have been under while at AX would have dissipated now that they have the opportunity to teach somewhere else. Are they not flexible? Or is it that they were more interested in causing disruption rather than actually teaching and the thought that they will actually have to do what they are being paid to do is more than they can handle? As an adult female, I am embarrassed.

ANOTHER RIDICULOUS ACCUSATION

โ€œShe added that there was also a male teacher who could be hospitalised as a result of the effect of the stress suffered over time on his sciatic nerve, affecting his ability to walk.โ€
    Someone should tell her and the male teacher that Sciatic nerve injury would not be as a result of he being transferred. Also BED REST is NOT recommended. Did she not feel embarrassed coming on air and spewing such stupid statements?

CAUSES OF SCOIATICA
    SCOIATICA occurs when there is pressure or damage to the sciatic nerve. This nerve starts in the lower spine and runs down the back of each leg. This nerve controls the muscles of the back of the knee and lower leg and provides sensation to the back of the thigh, part of the lower leg, and the sole of the foot.

TREATMENT
    Because sciatica is a symptom of another medical condition, the underlying cause should be identified and treated.
    In some cases, no treatment is required and recovery occurs on its own.
    Conservative treatment is best in many cases. Your doctor may recommend the following steps to calm your symptoms and reduce inflammation.
    โ€ข Apply heat or ice to the painful area. Try ice for the first 48 – 72 hours, then use heat after that.
    โ€ข Take over-the-counter pain relievers such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB) or acetaminophen (Tylenol).
    Bed rest is not recommended. Reduce your activity for the first couple of days. Then, slowly start your usual activities after that. Avoid heavy lifting or twisting of your back for the first 6 weeks after the pain begins. You should start exercising again after 2-3 weeks. This should include exercises to strengthen your abdomen and improve flexibility of your spine.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000686.htm

I could understand and accept Mr. Broomes illness of Hypertension as it is not secret that he has that medical condition…but the others …please do not humiliate urselves any further. reserve some dignity for heaven’s sake

34. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@millertheanunnaki | January 9, 2013 at 1:58 PM |
    “The worst thing you can do is to give a house nigger a little power…
    Some maids at the white man have even passed down this trait to their golliwog children who now look down their broad noses at those blacks in the cane fields.”

hahahaha…i love that word ‘golliwog’…but they are very black skinned people that are so utterly lovely. I have a relative who calls them, ‘my ‘night’ in shining armour’. it’s just a pity that people tend to focus on the colour rather than the lovely authentic features. u are correct that HC is perceived as far superior to Parkinson. but nowadays St. Michael’s not Harrison’s nor Queen’s College is the school of choice for ‘white’ bajans who try to fool themselves that they are of a ‘perceived purer breed’

35. @ David | January 9, 2013 at 4:41 PM |
    “It is amusing how members of the BU intelligensia can take a turn of phrase by the prime minister where he juxtaposed a current reality with the aspirational position of Bajans achieving university education to make political hay. Then again the silly season is upon us.”

…. Not cool … seriously not cool!

@ Caswell

Amused and company getting too blasted personal now … It ain’ all dah funny no more.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

Don’t sweat it, Amused and company are just showing their true colours. They feel themselves so superior as to make the intolerant of other people’s views. I grew up among people who worked in the canefields and they showed a greater level of maturity.

37. DR. THE HONOURABLE | January 9, 2013 at 6:14 PM |
    When the statement re the Cane Fields is psychoanalyzed , the conclusion is reached quite easily that Stuart is suffering from an inferiority complex. There is a thin line between inferiority and superiority complexes and Stuarts moves from one to the other,
    ………………………………………………………………………
    Amazing !!!! | January 9, 2013 at 6:22 PM |
    @ E2
    Stop talking drivel about PM Stuart hiding from his past . Did you not see the man recently at the Four Square Rum plant holding an enamel cup in his hand and proudly informing that his mother was a maid at the place ? .
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    And whom was he talking to? It leaves one to wonder if E2 and DR.THE HONOURABLE are not correct in their assessments.

38. According to the VOB news major at 5.30pm, like it or not Mary Redman is backing off and now seeing the light and treading lightly but too late.Score 1 for Freundel Stuart and Ronald Jones.If they can fix Clico and Barack successfully they will win the next election. And if they do Freundel Stuart should take over the Ministry of Finance from the buffoon Sinckler,who was strategically placed there by the dead king to make Stuart fail.Stuart had the guts to attack Thompson in 2005 and the dead king never forgot Stuart for that.Sinckler is now notorious for among other things having Barbados listed among the first 10 of the world’s most indebted nations.Tell me,2 downgrades to junk status by S&P and Moody’s, and listed among the world’s 10 most indebted nations,why would Stuart want him back as a Minister of Finance.Jepter,Darcy and Sinckler constitute the most devastating trio to ever oversee the Finances of Barbados.When we are listed with Jamaica in Public Finance matters you know we are in deep doo doo and our exchange rate is not sacrosanct with that kind of company.

39. In my opinion, Sinckler is a liability. He has no philosophical mooring, is too immature in politics and can be easily led astray.

Agree with you Gabriel Tackle

40. @david
    I totally off topic so ban me if ya dare!

$5 DVDS for sale!!! Get 3 for $10 on the steps when Parliament meets!!

– Bwu on the rocks with a dash of lime
    – the ingenuity of Illiterate cane cutters
    – the physiology of transfer-induced trauma
    – how to give away a government in 90 days…or less
    – making the best $20000 of illegal water turn into $20
    – when “matured policies” don’t matter
    – al barrack: the completely unfinished story
    And my personal favourite
    – Hal the Golloping Red Man: No Retreat, No surrender.

Taking pre-orders all now! The box collection “One term government” available by May.

There are some pure fiction movies as well

“When Carson Made Sense”
    “The Polite Mr. Baffy”
    “Caswell is Always Right” and the box office bomb…
    “Zoe in Simple Language”

Cheers! Uh too love muh BU family!

If I sell out the DVD suitcase then drinks on me and chicken wings on Islandgal!

I gone for now…ya heeeaaarrrrrr.
    Observing

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

I am looking for the DVD entitled, “Observing’s Legal Opinion Coloured by Politics” Please, none of your pirated copies.

42. i have to wonder, Stuart said tonight that it is the BLP is said that persons should go back to the cane fields.

amazing. i have to ask the question, is Stuart trying to lose this election? looking at everything that is going on it would appear he is. the man said tonight the country is “stable”.

Given what we know, which part of this country is “stable” at 11.00 on 08/01/2013?

43. His utterances and Ronald Jones’ utterances will be dealt with tomorrow on the call-in programme. Ronald Jones lambaste Mary Redman and all teachers in the system telling them they should be happy to have a job while Stuart repeated that they can go to the canefields.

I think this is a deliberate ploy to stop people from focussing on issues of the economy where they know they have failed.

44. David wrote “which part of this country is โ€œstableโ€

Oistins on friday nights.

45. Mr. Observing(โ€ฆ)
    If it would not be too much of an imposition on you, would you be so kind dear sir as to hold a copy of โ€œโ€œThe Polite Mr. Baffyโ€ for me, Please โ€ฆ and with the greatest respect โ€ฆ (fu@ka โ€ฆ!)

46. It is unfortunate for mary and her troops that they have resorted to uncivilized behaviour; sick leave. On anothet blog, I had predicted that that was the only avenue opening for her, not that i think it was right to do so.

But it is clear to all and sundry, that those teachers believe that thay had a god given right to remain aat AX school and Mr. broomes was the only culprit to be dealt with. What a poor industrial concept.

Ms. MARY REDMAN AND FROTH; RELIICS of the planation system, Under this system, the slaves were to do as was told, thus the dictate to her emploer thorough the ordeal which hey inflced on the students at AX is that we must have what we want or we will whip your butts like how we use to operete when we had u in the fileds working. .

They seemed not to recognixe that people like them are not the new power brookers, so they could have well accept that this matter is almost dead and move on to the next school that they plan to casue havoc ac; the Lodge School where Mary is paid to teach and does not. I would like someone from the moe to inform the barbadain public how much periods she has taugh over the last five years and why the principal at that shool has complained for her and what is being done to deal with the situation. Are we going to weight until another AX develops where teachers start to do a mary, and not also teach. We need to take the bull by the horn now and deal with the issue at Lodge school.

The BSTU has lost the Public Relations battle and war and and Ms. Redman will soon be extinct. Had she delat with the matter differently, she migh have had a great deal of support, but u dont negotiate in public and begin by calling for the head of a leader, u present ur facts in private and sugggest that moving the principal might be an option. u do not state the outcome that u want before u start ur negotiation, The BSTU got what it deserved and i hope principals are requested to monitor deachers who are absent from school during the union’s bereavement. negotiation is about compromise, gone are the days when the filed negroes ahd to accept the distates of the massa type of persons like Redman and Frothe. By the way, homany members BSTU have?

47. @To the Point

The figure being bandied around is 400+ members.

48. @TTP . it ain;t over till its over. put yuh brakes on.

49. @AC

i hate to oppose u in ligh of the fact that we seem to be of the same political persuasion, but from the inset y and I had varying point of views on this matter, but i believe peace will reign at ax now. When the BSTU had to resort to sick leave it tells u that it has not a toe to help with the balance.

I doubt that there are 400 members, i guess the moe will have the information as in most cases, deductions are made directly from their salaries.

50. @Caswell

i normally respect u for ur marshalling of the facts, but i am now agreeing with some here that u might need to take a rest from this topic.