The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School - Photo credit Barbados Advocate
The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School – Photo credit Barbados Advocate

He who knows that enough is enough will always have enough โ€“ Lao Tzu

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is defined as all โ€œtheย  final goods and services produced within a country in a given period of timeโ€. Can BU draw a parallel and define the well being of a country by the quality of key decisions made by theย  โ€˜leadersโ€™ in a given period?

The debate which continues to gain traction in Barbados is about the Alexandra dispute and related issues. It has displaced discussion about the upcoming general election, and significantly, a conversation about the state of the economy. If one were to ask any educated Barbadian what issue should be occupying the attention of the country, the answer should be โ€˜managing the economyโ€™. It does not mean that all the issues at play in the country should be ignored, just that the exigencies of now require priority planning how we allocate resources.

Tension at the Alexandra School has peaked and troughed since 2005, surely an indictment on the management system with oversight for education. Many problems currently being wrestled by the government have straddled both political parties and different personnel in the public service. What it exposes is a rotten core which drives decision making in Barbados.

A scan of traditional and social media also exposes the inclination by Barbadians to dwell on the minutia of the argument. Some favour Broomes and others the BSTU to pick two of the main actors in the unravelling imbroglio. After observing a ten year dispute at a secondary school, what should be the priority position of the actors involved in the dispute and general public? Should it have something to do with children at the school perhaps? What should be obvious given the hardened positions built up over a decade is that all sides in the dispute need to thaw positions and demonstrate a capacity to compromise; for the childrenโ€™s sake.

It was predicted by many that one of the options available to Jeff Broomes and the transferees was to resort to the filibuster tactic of sick leave. Does any sensible person believe these people are sick? Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick? How will this dishonest action impact the childrenโ€™s future behaviour?

The Prime Minister suggested on the weekend that if all the players involved in the resolution of the Alexandra School problem – who are mostly university graduates – cannot solve the issues they should return to the cane fields. We have become so divisive a people that the statement by the Prime Minister has evoked discussion along partisan lines. Surely educated Barbadians understand what the Prime Minister meant by comparing knowledge workers of today to field hands of yore?

We urge all parties to remember the children.

1. David

I can believe that these people are genuinely sick because of the stress that they have gone through. I know of a situation where a person developed a severe case of diarrhoea on receiving bad new. Mind you, this is not too dissimilar from the verbal diarrhoea that the PM developed when he suggested that some people should go back to the canefields.

2. @Caswell

We can disagree of course. If you know any of the teachers tell them BU advises to get to hell to work and teach the nation’s children.

3. @ Caswell
    I always thought that you had more sense than to jump on any bandwagon of illiterates who would try to misrepresent what the PM said about all those graduates who would fail to find a solution to the Alexandra problem . Man shame on you . You need to take a rest ; your contributions are becoming more and more empty .

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are right, we can disagree. If you know the Prime Minister, Minister of Education or any members of the Public Service Commission, you can tell them get to hell out of office because they are making this country look like a banana republic.

5. @Caswell

The BSTU wanted the separation of Broomes from AX, they got their wish.

The children at AX have an inalienable right to be taught and the BSTU is NOT helping the cause. This is about what they think is union busting isn’t it? To hell with the children.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amazing

I keep telling people that it is never about what a politician says: it is always about the message that has been received. It is an unwritten rule that a politician never abuses his constituents, and trust me when I tell you that many people, who heard the speech, are very offended.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Are you saying that it is fine if teachers are mistreated as long as they teach? If teachers are not comfortable, the quality of their instruction will deteriorate to the point where the students would not really benefit.

8. Caswell for the love of Jesus H. Christ give us a f**k**g break take a rest from the blog you come like Ole Peter Onion Bags you making us sick to the stomach. Good Lord man go for a staycation or something.

9. @Fed Up. Bravo. Agree. Am also fed up with Casewell’s drivel.

10. @Caswell

Every day people in this country go to work in conditions which are less than ideal. The MoE left the door open for discussion to take place to fine tune the moves. The solution here will not be perfect, there has to be some give and take for the children’s sake.

11. let’s get this shi..t right .in the long run the children would benefit.in the meanwhile stop putting plasters to cover old wounds.

12. nobody wants to see the children suffer. but what we have now are disgruntled and frustrated teachers who are expected to take up new post. how does that translate to a productive learning enviroment forchildren?.

13. @Caswell

Further, the focus has to be on the holistic and system. There is no organization where ALL the employees are FULLY onboard. It is the nature of human beings. The parties around the table have to begin with this premise. Going forward BU will be on the side of the children. The focus will be on the management system i.e.MOE and PSC. Many schools in the system are failing because of AX like events. It has to stop.

14. @David of BU “Does any sensible person believe these people are sick? Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick? How will this dishonest action impact the childrenโ€™s future behaviour?”

I don’t believe that these teachers are sick. I don’t believe that Jeff Broomes is sick

In future some of of the generation ow at school will grow up to be just like Jeff and just like their teachers. They will send in sick notes whenever. Some of them will be doctors who will write sick notes for all and sundry.

Barbados is going to hell in a hand basket.

As for the Prime Minister’s statement. He implied that field workers are incapable of solving problems. He implied as well that people who have graduated from universities are better at solving problems that people in the past who worked as field labourers.

Neither of these statements is true.

The Prime Minister has not been able to solve this problem either. What does it say about that particular university graduate?

The Alexandra school problem is no longer a legal problem or a union problem, it has become a medical/psychiactric problem.

All parties to this problem (especially the politicians) should take their sick certificates and report to the Psychiactric Hospital immediately.

Last year I paid more than $25,000 in income taxes and near $5,000 in national insurance, and I am afraid to count how much in VAT, except please know that there is 17% VAT is on nearly everything.

And this is what I get for my money?

I think that I will call in sick today and get a sick note for the rest of the month, because why should I continue working to pay these jackasses? And I mean the politicians too (especially the politicians)

15. David @ Caswell Many schools in the system are failing because of AX like events. It has to stop.

ac.

so why now stop the process from working itself out and reaching a conclusion one that is fair and just ,Children as Ronald jones said are resilient and would weather this crisis, the Ax transferees are aware of the dilemma that this has caused the children but how can one forget that in the ten years of this debacle the teachers worked in an hostile environment for the benefit of the children .

16. Looking at the decision by the MoE many aspects of it may be questioned by the critics, armchair et al but what can’t be question is the principle of the decision. Companies looking to chart a new or different path will change the culture from time to time by parachuting in new resources. Will there be collateral damage? Yes! HR matters are always messy. It is time to turn a new page.

17. @ Caswell .
    You have become increasingly boorish . Don’t you know if we were to take you seriously we would believe that you are the only man around with any intelligence . Why must you continue to be so disrespectful ? It is bad form .

18. @ac
    Disgruntled and frustrated, or selfish and disruptive?

19. turning a new page does not mean throwing out the baby with bath tub. Remeber there are act and guidlines to follow. not so in corporate organisation.

20. Mind you I overheard a Cabinet member say recently, “the fact that you pay taxes has nothing to do with anything”

One day coming soon…

21. Peltdown, Name one person you know would work for an extended period of time with no means for recourse or justice in a hostile enviroment Name one? well that is what happen to the AX teachers for ten years now only to be unjustly rewarded and on top of that are being told there are being disruptrive for standing up for their rights again .isn”t ironic that the system which failed then for ten years and which was supposed to help have FAILED them again?.

22. agree with Caswell whole-heartedly. Don’t let your detractors silence you Caswell.

My grandmother and grandfather worked in the cane-fields and thanks to them they were able to bequeath property to me. The PM seems to think that he is in a higher class to everyone else.

Owen said on many occasions his mother was a shop keeper. Freundel likes to hide from his past like he is ashamed of it. Why is it the DLP always ready to belittle and offend cane-cutters and “toilet scrubbers”. Our economy was built on the backs of these people and for him to now be so offensive towards my grandparents and great grandparents IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. EVERYONE contributes to Barbados regardless of their job. Once they do a good job we should embrace them and not alienate, belittle or be offensive to them. PM should look back in his family history and make a serious apology.

When he aint disrespecting Bajans about people nursing he, it is he aint giving a running commentary at which phase he is at, or he aint reading no stolen CLICO report, or he nose to big to be prime minister. THIS MAN GOT A SERIOUS INFERIORITY COMPLEX.

23. @david
    Caswell knows as well as I that the sick leave is a delay tactic to avoid showing up for the new status quo. This gives the bstu time to rally support, attend meetings and attempt to have everyone returned (except broomes). If they ever report to their new schools (like returning to AX after the PM meeting), then their dog is dead. The thing is, nothing will be rescinded and the BSTU has yet to find enough case for it to be.

Secondly, if being transferred has made these teachers sick, then they could as well retire medically unfit now and call that a day. Let someone else find some work.

Thirdly, go to Belleville and watch some of the “sick” people receiving “therapy”.

Fourthly, I agree with you 100%. Bad decisions may be and are made, but teaching is a special occupation (like police and nursing). The class you teach should be your priority within reason. The children should come first.

The rogue strike last year, the ultimatum to start negotiations, the folly of the logic and arguments this year, the refusal to heed to the GG orders and now this….all of this places the teachers and the BSTU in a bad light and sends another subtly negative message to our youth. Just like last January, everyone has to hold some blame. The difference this time is that at least something as been done.

Let’s move forward for God’s sake.

Just observing

24. @ Caswell
    Of course you are correct in your assessment of the situation at AX. But Bushie hopes that you don’t expect support from most Bajans who have not done ANYTHING RIGHT now in recent history.

@David, your position on this is so pathetic that Bushie wonders which David this is…. The Madame?

What did you say?
    HR is always messy?
    Forget the mistakes and go and teach the people’s children. ?

You sound like Yardbroom. This is the recipe for mediocrity, but then again, that is the Bajan way.

If teachers feel aggrieved enough to be sick when they should be teaching, EVEN IF THEY WENT TO SCHOOL WHAT KIND OF TEACHING WOULD YOU EXPECT?
    Teachers are not loading canes.
    A teacher NEEDS to feel comfortable, motivated, valued and at ease in their job. They need to CARE about the children’s success

How is that possible when YOU ADMIT that the authorities have made multiple mistakes and foul ups?
    Why is the Minister and PM allowed to do shoite and be excused but the teachers should “go and teach”

STOP PICKING ON THE TEACHERS. THEY ARE VICTIMS JUST LIKE THE CHILDREN.
    The VILLIANS are the HIGH-UPS with university degrees at the MOE and in BAY STREET who have made a TOTAL MESS of the situation

What go an teach what children what?!

……fix the REAL damn problem!

25. Those seeking the path of political expediency by making hay of the cane field comment by the PM. -what do you say when our grandmothers and parents of old said, ‘go to school and learn well if you don’t want to cut canes’. We need to grow up!

26. I hear Massa Freundel Stuart announcing the election date on Errol Barrow Day. Well the cane-cutters and “toilet-scrubbers” will show him how intelligent they are and they now how to solve a problem.

They will assist in ridding Barbados of this current PM problem. They know how to solve this problem. All it takes is a little (X).

27. Truth is..
    If the teachers were like most Bajans, they would turn up at the schools and hang around the classes for the few hours and quietly go home.
    The fact that they are taking action says that they, UNLIKE MOST OTHER BAJANS, actually care about the success of their work.

…it would be much easier to behave like the rest of us….especially our civil servants.

28. @Bushie

Actually BU blames the parents and the wider public for the mess we find ourselves.

29. Simple Simon you couldn’t have put it any better well said! It is clear that the elites like the PM feel that they are superior than the people who sweat for their living in the cane fields. He has sent a message that Cane field workers do not have any reasoning skills and that they are incapable of learning because they didn’t go to university.

Sugar has contributed to the development of Barbados , thanks to those men and women who worked tirelessly in scorching sun for meagre pay. Now sugar is no longer King the men and women who work the fields are being thrown onto the garbage heap by our PM. Thanks to his cane field worker grand parents and parents he was able to get an education. Sugar paid for it. What he has forgotten is that the cane field workers would always say that education is not commonsense and he is a perfect example of that.

I agree with Simple Simon that all of these SICK teachers and Broomes need to check in at the Black Rock Mental Hospital. Here we have the top Brass along with the medical fraternity playing possum with the Nation’s children.

We have the Minister of Educations describing the nation’s children as demonic and teachers refusing to follow the orders of their bosses to teach the children.

When will this debacle end? Do these people really want to work? My suggestion is to fire dem rass. This has gone on too long. The whole Education Ministry needs new blood, the whole civil service needs purging. Oh …I forgot the PM said “we have the BEST civil service in the Caribbean”. If this is what the best is…….then we have set the bar at its lowest level.

What a sorry state this country is in. How much lower can we sink?

30. @ac
    The action was fully legal and followed all rules and policies. What rights are they standing up for now??

@david
    “What can’t be questioned is the principle”
    Hear hear. We’ve finally reached a point of agreement in totality. The longer this goes on the worse for the BSTU because the end result will be the same. Also, these 2 meetings, and now sick leave by most of the teachers is tantamount to industrial action (sick out etc.) without official statement of a grievance in the right place.

31. Every year hundreds of parents flock to the MoE to question transfers, have we witnessed the same outrage by parents and general public about the happenings at AX in the last decade?

32. @ac
    The one thing that I have gleaned from all the nonsense that was allowed to go on at the Commission of Enquiry was that some of the teachers themselves were involved in creating the “hostile environment”. It is evident that when this happens, they are setting themselves up to achieve a set of aims that suits them and nobody else, especially the children. I’ve had a child at school and I have seen how some of these teachers operate with a “holier than thou” attitude. Even 15 years ago, we had the spectacle of teachers at my daughter’s school being absent for many of their classes. Now, instead of holding parent/teacher consultations after school, we are being told that we have to let parents leave their place of work, and possibly lose income, so that they can attend these meetings during school hours. This is the tail wagging the dog, and it’s nonesense!

33. @ Observing
    Now you is a man that Bushie respect…. But you need to know that you are talking a bunch of …..let us call it nonsense…

“The action was fully legal and followed all rules and policies. What rights are they standing up for now??”
    -Someone ALSO said that about the Blacks in Alabama
    -It can be said to the man who was locked up for raping the two tourist who denied from the beginning that it was NOT him.
    -You can say it to the murdered Anna’s father

……you get the drift? Just because something is LEGAL does not make it RIGHT. ADULTS stand up for what is right.
    Children and lawyers sit and take what is legal.

…for we fight not against flesh and blood, but against spiritual wickedness in HIGH places (high enough to make Law)

34. @ Peltdownman
    …come on you can do better than that….
    “SOME teachers play the ass…”
    So does some judges, lawyers, businessman, bloggers (like ac)….musicians, tailors, masons…

All this tells you is that THERE IS NOT SUFFICIENT MANAGEMENT AND CONTROL in place to properly guide the system. Can that be the teachers’ fault?
    Most of the other teachers were probably more pissed with the bad teachers than you were, BUT THEY CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT

It is the MINISTRY and MINISTER’s responsibility to set standards and put SYSTEMS in place to maintain them.

..again you are blaming teachers wrongfully.

35. @ Caswell
    Look, Bushie has a busy day today…

Next time you start an argument that you can’t finish Bushie leaving your tail to burn….. ๐Ÿ™‚
    …especially if it is about AX

36. David; The AX matter, as far as the legal aspects are concerned, may appear to be on the cusp of a solution but appearances might still be deceptive. A lot more can happen within the next few days. e.g., I am amazed that most if not all AX teacher transferees were maintaining their defiant stance up to yesterday in spite of the very serious implicit threats thrown their way by Minister Jones, who really should have been the first one to be transferred to another ministry for the part he played in the overall AX matter.

The AX teacher’s stance is totally Unbajan. Most of us would have run for cover, reported for duty at the new school and maintained that bad leadership got us in the position. Not so the Redman led troops. They sincerely believe in their new cause that the transfers were illogical, poorly conceived and executed and punitive, whether they can prevail or not. I think they deserve some kudos in maintaining their stance in this matter even if they were misguided and appear to have consistently put the welfare of the children last in their consideration.

BAFBFP, in my view a breath of fresh air for Barbados in standing up for one’s convictions and principles. So please add the AX teachers to your list, whatever the outcomes of these apparent winding up skirmishes.

Re. the Children, I think Minister Jones, who had apparently not washed his hands clean of the AX affair after his rebuff by the PM last year but might have allowed it to fester, showed absolutely no regard for the children’s welfare in sanctioning and perhaps fine tuning the transfers. This matter did not require the transfers of 20 or so teachers at this time. 3 would have sufficed to make his point and would also have been politically feasible. But perhaps his aim was to kill two birds with one stone. Mary Redman and FS.

Have you considered that the most direct action (but of course a politically impossible one at this stage, if one were really putting the concerns of the students at the very centre of the action and ignoring other concerns) might be to partially accede to what Mary Redman is calling for, i.e. recalling most of the transfers? I suspect that peace would prevail for the next 2 terms; Mary and Broomes would continue their action off camera; the current MOE would be no longer there after the elections, whoever won; perhaps Freundel would not be there as PM, whoever won; etc.?

Imho, this whole matter has been an exercise in mind games by several actors to guide the discussion to be supportive of their vested interests. The teachers, the Ministry, the Minister, the PM, the PSC, the CPO, the two teachers’ Unions and Broomes. The interests of the children has been placed last in this milieu by practically all of the actors (Indeed, I think Broomes has been demonstrably the one actor who has generally seemed to have had the interests of the students somewhat at heart throughout this saga)

This AX matter will not solve the elephant of the paramountcy of individual self interest in the nadir in which the Education system now finds itself. The politicians will ensure that.

37. @Bushie

This is not a boot camp, your slash and burn approach is not relevant in this matter. We are in an ecosystem here which require all the parties to show a heavy dose of emotional intelligence. We are not in the damn cane fields.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    โ€œSurely educated Barbadians understand what the Prime Minister meant by comparing knowledge workers of today to field hands of yore?โ€

So what should the โ€œUneducatedโ€ Bajan understand from the PMโ€™s statement?
    By โ€œEducatedโ€ do you mean possessing a university degree?

What a reasonable person would conclude is that the PMโ€™s rash statement implies that people who work in the cane fields are stupid and lacking in any decision-making skills like negotiation and compromise.

What is paramount is the presence of commonsense and ultimate concern for the educational well being of the children who are the future of the society.
    Is the PM insinuating that people who work in the sugar cane fields lack common sense and a sense of caring for children? Children learn what they live.

By linking the absence of these qualities to cane field workers this man has done a serious disservice to this sector of the Bajan society, past and present.
    Maybe if he had said the those university graduates who canโ€™t resolve the Ax matter should go back being maids and domestic servants in the white people houses it would resonate more with the truth of his own personal experience growing up. His sensitivities and sensibilities might have been more acutely offended and after cogitating would have awoken to the reality that he insulted him family.

He needs to apologise for this stupid supercilious derogatory remark putting down the vast majority of people who ever lived in this country.

39. Bush tea;
    I had not read the comments you made this morning before I posted mine above. Looks like we independently think alike on matters such as these.

40. Bajans have practiced the art of subservancy to a “T”. well doesn.t the teachers ” rights” not includes “clarity” and specification on the transfers which at this/time such questions which they are asking has not been answered by anyone in the MOE.

41. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

The time has come for adults to act their age.

42. Fuh god sake Pletdown how does would one expect a caged animal to respond if abused by its owner. at some point and time the response would detertimental. these teachers endured enough and responsed admirably given the circumstances which they worked under for ten years. now the management team have let them down. if it takes sick out to straigthen this mess out so be it for one can not expect people to remain dormant in the face of injustice.

43. miller not forgetting OSA had not so kind words to say about Bajns being jealous of rich people. maybe you miller can refresh my memory on words to that effect.

44. It bothers me, when last Mary Redman taught at the school she is assigned to? Is my taxes and that of the parents/guardians of the same disadvantaged paying Ms Redman to unfair their children? This government needs to take the bull by the horns and put an end to this crisis. Failing to resolve this matter quickly and decisively will only drive another nail in their coffin for the next general elections.

45. People will always misrepresent the words of an individual in the silly season according to their political leanings. It is therefore not surprising to see BLP yardfowls on this blog trying to misrepresent the Hon. Prime Minister.
    Freundel Stuart is the son of a maid and he has publicly and proudly embraced and reiterated that fact. He does not try to hide it like some of the current BLP bourgeois politicians and supporters. His statement was simply that if we spend all this time in a classroom learning and cannot sit with each other and reasonably discuss issues like human beings, what is the sense?
    The old people in the Canefields never had all this formal education but sat with each other , solved issues and disputes and put the interest of their children first above themselves and egos and built Barbados.

@Caswell – “that many people, who heard the speech, are very offended.”
    Caswell, you obviously spending too much time with BLP supporters and yardfowls .

46. Observingyou say the “action was legal and followed policies” then why were they apparant errors in issuing transfers .that is what one would beieve on the surface. i noticed also that the CTUSAB is also asking questions. maybe you observing need to hold your horses just for a little while longer.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 9, 2013 at 9:19 AM |

And he also called people like you ac “Negrocrats” and was duly punished for such arrogant offensive statements.
    Now what are we going to do with this virally obnoxious arrogant lot headed by a man who has the nerve to refer to ordinary hardworking black people as stupid idiots (and that is what the Ax recalcitrant band is) because they don’t have a university degree?

Allow this early rot to expand, fester and negatively infect the body politic that the electorate sought to repair or are we going to nip it in the bud?

The problem with that recent derogatory remark about the sugar workers is that the issuer represents the physical epitome of such input resource ideally imported and engineered for such backbreaking and soul destroying hard labour.

48. @ David
    Boot camp?
    Slash and burn?
    …when the real David comes back, check with Bushie…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

@ Check-it Out
    It is just a matter of simple common sense. One has to be careful of reacting to symptoms, and focus on the ROOT cause of problems.
    It is the only way to solve them.

But if we normally did this in Barbados, things would not now be falling apart as they are….

@ ac
    It is uncomfortable being on the same side as you are….. Rest assured, it will NOT last ๐Ÿ™‚

49. David
    Re
    Does any sensible person believe these people are sick?
    YES. I DO.
    I have taught with colleagues who felt sick every time they came to school because of the behavior of management. So did I.

Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick?

Not relevant. THE DOCTORS OF THE EIGHT TEACHERS SAY THAT THEY ARE SICK. LOL

How will this dishonest action impact the childrenโ€™s future behaviour?

IT WONT. REMEMBER 1969?. Most of the teachers who started the Community College came from Combermere. Is Combermere still around. [It probably did Simple Simon. It caused me to grow up and write nuff sick leave certificates.LOL]

I noticed some one in todayโ€™s Advocate reminding us of the 1969 incident –and it was during exam term too!.s. THE TEACHERS STOOD UP AGAINST THE GREAT E W BARROW THEN. They ought to be able to withstand the current punk.

David | January 9, 2013 at 5:59 AM |

IT is indeed true that โ€œEvery day people in this country go to work in conditions which are less than ideal.โ€ But have you thought of the stress they endure.
    Many poor Bajans go work in such conditions just to keep their jobs- a sort of slavery.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | January 9, 2013 at 9:22 AM |
    “His statement was simply that if we spend all this time in a classroom learning and cannot sit with each other and reasonably discuss issues like human beings, what is the sense?”

So why not make reference to those white and mulatto Bajans who sat in Board rooms in Bridgetown and made decisions to sell out traditional Barbados businesses to the Trinidadians.

Why not make reference to those who sat around the CLICO Board room table and allowed the crooks to fleece the educated descendants of these cane field workers.

Listen โ€œ!โ€, only black people worked in the cane field many of them driven to death by the same white or mulatto overseer (subsequently graduated to the Board room) on a mule or horse in cork hat with a whip like a cat-o-nine tail in hand to cut the lazy niggersโ€™ backside.