Submitted by Hamilton Hill
The Bag wins number 10!

In the song “Congratulations” Adonijah makes the bold claim that the NCF picks judges who are blind. Since I know three of those that sat last evening, I can say to Ado, yah lie. Let me forget Ado for a sec and turn to the powers that be at the Normally Controversial Festival. How do you move the show to the gym and not tell the judges? We now know that they were at Kensington. Is what wrong wid all yah?

I confess that I saw the show through the trusted eyes of the Starcom team, and as a big time Bag fan I am happier this morning than Owen was when Mia agreed to fall in line. I am as happy as I am dumbfounded that Gabby came third. Gabby did not beat AC. Nor did he beat Popsicle, Chrystal, nor Adonijah, all of whom also kicked Ian Webster’s ass.

A sense of euphoria filled my soul when it dawned on me that the gift wrapped toilet-tissue was finally outta here. If in the final tabulation the last song performed  brings up the rear of the pack, nuf nuf people would be mocking Gabby and singing the one line that made any sense from the nonsense he sang in the first half. “Oh God”. With the judges at de oval while the show was at de gym perhaps even De Announcer beat poor Chrystal Cummings-Beckles.

1. I also watched courtesy of CBC and I think that Chrystal Cummings-Beckles should have won, followed by Popsicle and then AC and Ian Webster fourth. I my book Plastic Bag should have been ninth and Gabby tenth.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Wow
    That different eh…..I heard Adrian Clarke’s “I ent frightened”…and was really impressed….AC for me followed by Bag…..Webster..Crystal

3. @ Checkit-Out–As I said I have not seen the show as yet.From just listening I thought that your girl Chrystal was great,but when it comes to the Bag mine is an unbridled bias for which I make no apology.Popsicle is for real and as much as I like my RPB the song that I play everytime is Bailout.It toooo sweet.

4. RPB HEAD AND SHOULDERS ABOVE THE REST. HAS BROUGHT AN UNRIVALLED LEVEL OF CONSISTENT CLASS TO THE CALYPSO CONTEST WHICH HAS BEEN UNMATCHED.

5. Before casting your critique one has to appreciate the criteria for judging i.e. rendition, lyrics, melody and presentation.

6. When I gine get back my R@SSHO!# money. i was not allowed to get in and waste my f*ck!n% gas in traffic when they could have announced they have sold 12000 tickets but the gym can only hold $6500. I am very disgruntled and ANGRY. This government is bare shite and over 300 empty chairs at the front for the ministers friends.I am stuck with a Finals ticket and was unable to see it – Cudnt they have put up a big screen outside the gym?

Oh how happy i will be when elections are called

7. @2dbone

You are incorrect that the NCF sold12,000 tickets. According to the NCF spokesperson when the decision was made to switch out to the Gymnasium less than 5000 tickets were sold.

8. @David
    I went to the show with my ticket and was not allowed to get in because they said they gym was full. Myself and many more were turned back and we have the tickets to prove it.

maybe 12000 tickets werent sold but it seemed that more tickets were sold than the gym coudl have accommodated.

9. @2dbone

Then what you need to do is go to the NCF office next week and make a claim.

10. @2dbone…Irregardless of what u say, David will always back this sorry @$$ Government…Them just pissy…Sorry to say, My friends and I were also turned back this is sad and disgraceful…David if you cant tek de damn heat, step out de frigging kitchen….Delete this comment as you accustom when it pointing at you.

11. It is sad when every decision taken we have to view it with a political eye. All those who are criticizing the decision to switch-out to the gymnasium what were the other options? Bear in mind musicians and entertainers are contracted to perform at other shows through the season. We have people leaving the island for commitments overseas etc. It was an act of god for godsakes. We love to criticize don’t we?

12. GUESS IT WOULDN’T BE LONG BEFORE THE TITLE OF SIR RED PLASTIC BAG IS CONFERRED BY HER MAJESTY ON MR STEDSON WILTSHIRE.

13. @David

Off topic

Did you take down the thread about the “World’s fastest Man”? It has disappeared from your line up.

14. @Sargeant

Brought it forward, it is the second blog.

15. RPB had no right winning these judges are too biased. Gabby should not ne in the top five either, tsk tsk even de announcer knew they would give it to RPB for his anniversary.

16. I have been searching Bajantube and Youtube for cropover 2012 music and 50 % is the same as last year and the last 10 years.

Alison Hinds. 2012 gals want more iron. 2008 All night iron and don’t forget
    “de iron got me so bazodee.
    So Alison’s theme is wukkin up an tekkin iron an lill Rick is wukkin up pun bumpers.at at a kazillion beats per minute.

This music correlates to the wukkin up pun de street.

This obsession Bajans have with wukkin up pun bumpers must have some deep rooted psychological meaning given their homophobic rhetoric.

Perhaps I should write a calypso for us who prefer a frontal approach.

But jus so wunna know. I have a Allison / square One CD I buy from HMV and I does watch she videos on youtube. Cause Alison is sweetness personified.

17. Anybody know where I can buy Bajan music online.

I have to buy music because of a rule instituted by others in my household.

18. @ Hants
    “I have to buy music because of a rule instituted by others in my household.”

…so Hants you can’t take a hint…?
    You are being forced to buy CDs extolling the (only real) bajan talent of ‘wukking up on bumpers’ and emphasizing how much ‘Allison likes to take her iron….’

Don’t you think that the “others in your household” trying to tell you something…?
    If you know what is good for you you would turn off the damn computer and get to work with the metallurgy ASAP. 🙂

19. good one Bushie.lol

20. I listened to Plastic Bag’s song “A Royal visit”.

Very good social commentary with a little double entendre.

21. The release from the NCF did say they sold under 5,000 tickets and that none would be sold at the Gymnasium. So David, we both heard the same thing. I watched it on MCTV and did see quite a few empty seats in between, I was even thinking that they should have sold at least a thousand at the gym, I am surprised to hear that persons were outside and could not get in, we bajans are too passive in Grenada, Trinidad or any other island that would have never occured.
    I am usually quite good at picking the top ones, but last night, I had it as:

Ian webster
    RPB or Crystal
    Adrian Clarke
    Popsicle
    Gabby
    Announcer
    Blood
    Adonijah
    Smokey Burke

Driver

22. i can’t tell you who should of won but i can tell you it was not Bag. even the look on his face said it all. last nite was just a joke and shame for that competition.

23. I agree with you David (not BU). As much as I am a fan, I dont think he won the crown, the look/shock on his face said it all. But I am of the view that his first song was good and maybe too the judges felt to give it to him in his 30th year.

My other problem was the Announcer. I felt he had no right going after Peter Wickham’s personal life. Peter’s personal should be off limits and I think what he does in his private life is his business alone. Ronnie would not like any one to do this to him or a relative of his! The references were too obvious, they were out of place and frankly speaking, gross. I think another calypsonian, AC, I think also sang about Peter’s personal life and that is wrong!

24. I saw the seats empty also but we were prevented from entering and the door were closed upstairs. Then ya cud see the ministers shuttling in their friends and family. But let them enjoy their last days in office. And they dont even have the decency to apologise and tell us we can be refunded but Lashley talking all over he pompous face.

Although this may sound political, there is one fact – MANY PEOPLE WERE TURNED AWAY AND IT SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED.

25. WHY Ronnie should not have sung about Peter Coppin ??
    DO all-yuh know calypso who calypso only know ??
    DOESN’T calypso deal with all sorts of sordid issues??

LISTEN -if all-yuh cant deal with calypso , please leave it to Trinbagonians-thank you

26. St George's Dragon Avatar

Why do they have judges?
    It would be better to allow members of the public to vote by phoning in, or on the internet.

27. The question of why have a competition is a perennial question which surfaces. If we want the art form to progress are we prepared to judge with the technical in mind? Should it be a popularity contest which gives no credence to parameters?

28. Those questioning note the NCF will be refunding as suggested by BU.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/ncf-redeeming-tickets-for-cohobblopot/

29. Hant, check out https://www.iribbeantunes.com for the latest bajan music and more.

30. @David
    you were so eager to defend this government and the NCF, now you know that more tickets were sold than they claimed. it shows yet another weakness in the audit checks and balances – they dont seem to even know how many tickets were sold.
    I want back my money, i am not redeeming anything for Cohobblopot.
    mishap and mistake after mistake by the incompetent DLP.

31. @2dbone

Again your eagerness betrays you. BU reported what the NCF corporate communications specialist announced on public radio.

32. Sunday Sun
    Ricky Jordan, 5 /8 /2012.
    WHILE THE MAN himself RPB must be congratulated for his stellar achievement of ten crowns in 30 years, one cannot help but be baffled at the judges, who obviously remain overwhelmed by the star quality in him and Gabby.
    Neither of the two Big Show tent members should have placed in the top three; and the highest Red Plastic Bag deserved, after one strong song in the form of Thank You, Calypso, was fourth. But that’s why I’m not among the calypso judges, some of whom have been called blind, deaf, and worse.

Whether or not this description held true at the MQI Banks Lime Pic-O-De-Crop Finals at the Gymnasium of the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex Friday night, the collective gasps at the result and the general feeling that it did not go down well with the public were very real.

And it must worry anyone interested in the future of the art form that these two “generals” can continue to dominate an arena with material that lacks any real lyrical effort, while other hard-working and talented individuals seem to be penalized for daring to be in such “thoroughbred” company. Simply put, one now has to be twice as good as these multi-crowned winners to gain the calypso title.

33. “Ronnie would not like any one to do this to him or a relative of his”
    And to think he masks off as a christian every opportunity he gets on the radio. shame on him. No wonder we are warned to beware of some of those who come in sheep’s clothing prophesying in my name for inwardly they are as ravening wolves.

34. I am really ashamed of Barbados. The fact that no one thinks Gabby should have been in the top three reveals what a sad state we are in. It also reveals why people like Chrystal will never come higher because fans like you make them believe they are doing something of excellence. This a musical competition. You can’t win it based on if the crowd likes what you sing about or not. You don’t have to agree with what Gabby sang about but the judges have criteria, based in MUSIC, not popularity. If we can’t see that Gabby and Ian Webster were in a class by themselves, we as a people obviously have ZERO understanding of music.

35. As for De Announcer, the comments I am hearing show just how true Ian Webster’s song is. In “Hollywood Tree” he talks about how Hollywood has glamourized Homosexuality to the point that idiots can’t see it’s wrong. People who considered it wrong before now have no problem with it. Ian Webster also lashes out at Peter Wickham mind you. Ronnie sang this song in 2004 and it didn’t cause this much controversy, but now, thanks to Hollywood and Barack Obama, we think it is wrong to say that God made sex for man and woman. I have to stand behind Ronnie 100%. People who are gay have NO issue going on Brasstacks and ripping down Christ, and we have no problem listening to them do it, but let a Christian stand up fro his principles and it’s a problem. You loved the man when he attacked Chris Sinckler and Owen Arthur but despise him when he stands up for his Christian view. If your backside was created for penetration it would be self lubricating and able to produce seed. A backside is a DEAD thing, There is no life in it. It is used to pass out that which has outlived it usefullness. DEAD. And all those who penetrate it are DEAD on the inside too. If wunna vex, wunna vex, like when the whole world thought slavery was not a big deal, somebody got to tek de flak and stand up for what is morally correct.

36. TO balance
    You obviously know nothing about calypso
    You rerepresent one of the new breed who dont know your history, are not aware of anything and just walking around with dumb opinions based on sentiment and not on fact or reality

37. @ off balance
    …so Wickham gets to come on radio and promote homosexuality, men marrying men etc, and to decry Christians ….. But Ronnie should not sing a calypso about his personal life…?

…you are not up to your usual level today….. Ease off the Johnny Walker, don’t mind Oniond yuh…. He is a ‘holic

….somebody should sing a calypso about how awful and disgusting most of these flabby big bellied people here on Kadooment TV look…. Hard to imagine that these ‘women’ are somebody’s mothers…. The men had become a pack of sheeplike drunkards for years now – thanks to co-education……. and most of their children don’t know them anyway… Now the women have succeeded in outdoing the men in lowering the standards even further…

If that is our culture it is no wonder our ass is in the grass…

LOL….if one on those women was Bushie’s mother, the bushman would be just as worthless and disgusting as today’s youth are…

38. Bushie man you real cruel today.

De women just getting a little release from the pressures of living in poverty surrounded by ” sheeplike drunkards”.

I have listened to Wickham on Brasstacks and read some of his comments in the newspapers. I thought he was just another bright educated Bajan even though I didn’t always agree with his opinions.

I did not know anything about his private life and still don’t care about his private life but will continue to respect his opinions.

Barbados is a nation of hypocrites and the so called leaders consider themselves exempt from the moral standards they espouse.

39. a song without cross over appeal can;t and should not be a winner ! it cannot dominate any other market other than its own i think the winning song should be memorable in content and flavour makes one want to rush out to buy it should also be inclusive not in the sense of vulgarity but more pesonnal appeal and able to attract a wider audience i listened and in some kind of way i thought it kinda of unusual the words were inviting the queen to come join us. on a scale of 1-10 i would have given it a5 ,

40. @ac

You do realize that your criteria for judging is different?

41. @ac. That was exactly my point. If you choose a song based on the appeal it has to the audience, we might as well just get rid of the judges and call it People’s monarch no.2. It’s the Pic-o-de-Crop because there are people trained in music who decide who had the best MUSIC for the season. We have reached a stage where we confuse Entertainment for good music and can’t distinguish between the two.

Picture it this way. An episode of “Two And a Half Men” may be highly entertaining and you might personally prefer it to something like “Judging Amy”, but regardless of that, the fact will still remain that “Judging Amy” is a superior production, based on dramatic writing, performance and staging.

42. well dats me but . remeber after the judging is over the record is out there in the market for the final judges who are the buyers local as well as international. who de hell wants to hear about a queen i hear the song and nothing is memorable expect the word queen. What criteria did the judges used except favourabilty. there is notthing exceptional about the song.just a nice song but not a winning song.

43. @ac

Lol, do you read when others rebut

44. @ Meok

my criteria is

Content

Cross overappeal

Saleability

Popularity

now on content the song was written in a safe mode not to be offensive but did it accomplished the kind of interest that would want one to say “play it again” or i like it.to a wider audience that is of youth and older combined it would only get much of the attention from maybe the over 50/s group same can be said for sales as for popularity it must count for something because it generate sales of a product and makes the artist have favourable standing in the market isn’t it the international market artist are trying to penetrate however with a song like this little attention would be giving internationally in the music world popular is what drives and generate sales making the artist worth his weight in gold.

45. ‘TO balance
    You obviously know nothing about calypso
    You rerepresent one of the new breed who dont know your history, are not aware of anything and just walking around with dumb opinions based on sentiment and not on fact or reality”

just askin- did i not admit that i knew little about calypso and i have no interest in knowing much about the same ole music cacaphony that inundates the airawes around this every year and which only started to be nationally embraced with the advent of crop over in the 70’s. but i do know my history- that my ancestors were sold by my ancestors to white people who brought them here from Africa in inhumane conditions across the Atlantic to work in the sugar cane fields, Don’t you think that the white developers should have a festival of their own to celebrate too.

46. @Meok….What say you to the following? “Teach your children the right way,tell them they cannot be born gay.” How do you not see such to be most offensive?Simple response.Show me a Christian and I will show you a liar.Ronnie the Christian is Ronnie the Announcer.Who is Nobby the footballer?One and the same? Again…Show me a true Christian and I’ll show you a liar.

47. @ Hamilton Hill.

What’s wrong with the statement? You can’t be born gay. Babies have no concept of sexuality and any kid that has sexual feelings before his/her body begins developing the requisite hormones in puberty, has learnt the behaviour. Tell me, where you masturbating while thinking about your preschool friends at 3 years old?

48. @ac
    I am not in favour of RPB’s win (I would have given it to Webster or Gabby) but THIS is what matters.

Lyrics, Melody & Rendition. Presentation is only 5 points.

Let’s start with Lyrics: A contestant is judged on the strength of the lyrics. NOT the subject matter, but how sensibly you develop the subject matter. This does NOT mean that more words are better either. They’re looking at the complexity of your rhyming (sorry Kid Site, the one syllable words don’t cut it), and the wit employed. Use of language arts and literary devices. And overall, how cohesive the song is. It has to tell a story and it can’t be disjointed or all over the place.

Now Melody: Melody is the movement of notes in succession. Now, let’s get a few terms. A note is a single tone. A scale is a progression of 8 notes (doh, ra, mi, fa, so, la, ti, doh). A chord is made by playing 3 or more notes together, from the same scale. Not, the melody you sing is determined by the chords being played in the music behind you. At it’s most basic, you will sing either of the three notes comprising the chord. You can’t make a sweet melody without movement. For example, singing “doh, doh, doh, doh,” or “ra, ra, ra, ra” doesn’t make for a very interesting tune because it’s the same note and sounds like talking. People like Popsicle do this alot. There is very little movement in the notes he is “singing” because the arrangement is comprise of about 2, maybe 3 chords.

Now Rendition: Rendition is talking about how the notes are actually produced. We are looking at things like clarity (which requires you to sing from your stomach and not your throat) and diction (the proper formation of the words). It also looks at phasing (the rhythmic pattern of the words on the beat). Your lines have to start and finish in time with the musical bar, or count, and what’s in-between can’t sound rushed or jumbled. Gabby scores highly here because, well…… he is a singer. He is famous for singing the same lines as the backups, in a totally different phrasing (timing) and still ending on queue with them (everything fits in the bar). There are also other areas of rendition which ONLY a singer will score points in. Octaves for example. An instrument has more than one octave of each note. In laymans terms, there is a low “C” and a hi “C” and many “C”s between there. A true singer can sing higher than what the instruments are playing, but still be in key, because they are just singing in the “C” (or what ever note) above the one the band is playing. Again, Gabby does this. Actually, his second song this year, “Popsicle I Come For You” was rendered in a higher octave than he sang it in the semis. Chrystal did it in “Why Ya Tek Me Fa Sandra” when she said “Look how my voice HIGH and Sandra voice LOW”. She began the line on a higher version of the note being played and ended it on a lower version of the same note. People like Popsicle can’t score points in areas like that.

I know this is an earfull but I hope if will help someone to demystify the judges thought-processes.

49. @Meok

Thanks to your explanation why a layman’s view is hit or miss. Can you explain though why among those with a knowledge of music we have different interpretations as well?

50. @ David
    I guess my question would be if all the judges stick to their musical guns or if some are still swayed by non-essentials. For example, there is a train of thought that because Judges are people too, Elaborate Presentations may actually be worth more than the alloted 5 points, In other words, the judge is a human too, so if I can impress him enough with my presentation, even if I sing foolishness I already have him in my pocket,

Another thing, is that different people have different ears. Someone may hear a melody and be impressed. Someone else with a wider musical background my detect similarities to another melody and rate it lower.