Submitted by Hamilton Hill
The Bag wins number 10!

In the song “Congratulations” Adonijah makes the bold claim that the NCF picks judges who are blind. Since I know three of those that sat last evening, I can say to Ado, yah lie. Let me forget Ado for a sec and turn to the powers that be at the Normally Controversial Festival. How do you move the show to the gym and not tell the judges? We now know that they were at Kensington. Is what wrong wid all yah?

I confess that I saw the show through the trusted eyes of the Starcom team, and as a big time Bag fan I am happier this morning than Owen was when Mia agreed to fall in line. I am as happy as I am dumbfounded that Gabby came third. Gabby did not beat AC. Nor did he beat Popsicle, Chrystal, nor Adonijah, all of whom also kicked Ian Webster’s ass.

A sense of euphoria filled my soul when it dawned on me that the gift wrapped toilet-tissue was finally outta here. If in the final tabulation the last song performedย  brings up the rear of the pack, nuf nuf people would be mocking Gabby and singing the one line that made any sense from the nonsense he sang in the first half. “Oh God”. With the judges at de oval while the show was at de gym perhaps even De Announcer beat poor Chrystal Cummings-Beckles.

1. @ David
    Also want to add that some people are narrow-minded, If you don’t appreciate different styles of music you will never appreciate a fusion. Some of us are Calypso naturalists who are intolerant of anything but the classic style. Some of us have such a limited musical palate (what we listen to) that we can’t appreciate anything else. So someone would fuse Calypso with Dancehall and we love it because we listen to Dancehall as well. But someone fuses Calypso with Latin or Classical and we are intolerant of it because we don’t listen to those art forms and therefore have never developed a taste for it.

2. @Meok

Point taken, Voice in my Head immediately comes to mind…lol.

3. Meok why don’t you offer to coach the judges for the next cropover.

4. Page 1 of Barbados today. Sweeeeeet!

5. “so Wickham gets to come on radio and promote homosexuality, men marrying men etc, and to decry Christians โ€ฆ.. But Ronnie should not sing a calypso about his personal lifeโ€ฆ”

Because they are some of us who do not support Mr or Miss Wickham’s views on abnormal sexual behaviours does not mean we should denigrate or hold up his character to ridicule in calypso or otherwise. After all, he is still a person made in the image of God as ascribed to by practising Christians like Mr Ronnie. Christians are required to be a cut above the rest so tat by their good deeds we shall know them. Yes, Mr Ronnie is free to sing what h3e likes but as a christian, he ought to be tolerant and compassionate as well’

6. @Balance, Ronnie didn’t attack Wickham until Wickham attacked him on national radio. He never called a name in the Semi-Finals. You may imply from the lines that he meant Wickham when we said “Mr.Moderator”, but he followed the lines by saying that the shoes he was wearing belonged to the Admiral. When Wickham decided to use Brasstacks as his own platform (as he so frequently does) Ronnie attacked as a true Calypsonian should at the finals and told him to “Stop Taking polls”.

7. Thought it would be interesting to post one of Gabby’s performances for evaluation to see how different people’s tastes can be.

This is “Popsicle I Come For You (Final Version). Pay special attention to what happens musically after the third verse when you think the song is done.

8. This song is one of Gabby’s weakest efforts. Not up to the standard we expect from an iconic calypsonian.

9. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

Crystal Cummins-Beckles sang well but the song lacked substance, there is no way that she would place in the top three. I agree with the placements the only difference is that I would switch Gabby and AC

10. Meok

So how an out and out bore like RPB could win anything ’bout hey …? Jesus C’rist if he is NOT the most boring entertainer to be gifted that title then the other example must be dead long long time …!

11. Meok | August 7, 2012 at 12:19 AM |

How is it that babies are drawn to a nipple for sustenance or have a desire to stand after about seven months and so on. You telling me that that there is NO such thing as instinct? Because if there is NO ONE, and that includes you with your vast knowledge of music can state with certainty that sexual orientation is NOT an instinctual outcome. Perhaps you should stick to music, at least there you seem a lot less judgmental.

12. @BAFBFP
    Well, Say what you like about RPB, you can always hum or la-la his songs. They have a distinctive melody. He also knows how to tell a story and move a song along in a strictly literary sense. He’s not as witty as he used to be, but what I find he’s doing these days is giving you at least one really witty line per verse. Judges probably remember those lines. Admittedly, he’s never been the clearest for me when it comes to diction, but he always gives a clean rendition (you don’t have to fight to hear him over the music) and his arrangements are always well done.

In a nutshell, Bag knows what the judges need and he gives it to them like a formula, Many try to imitate Bag’s formula but they only take it as far as trying to match the lyrics. Without a melody you won’t get very far.

13. @BAFBFP
    I am telling you that a baby is not born with sexual orientation because children have no natural sense of sexuality. When I was in primary school, we had some pretty “hot” children, talking about masturbation before I even understood what it was. But when you listened to them speak, they were either being abused or exposed to pornography and other things there bodies were not equipped to deal with.

Let’s forget about homosexuality for a while.

A normal child who has not been influenced by grown-ups, will generally NOT gravitate towards the opposite sex. They will generally find anything remotely linked to sexuality (romance as they may know it) to be totally gross. At that age, people are teased if a girl likes them. It’s seen as a shameful thing. Release a bunch of children together and the only thing they’re interested in if “Do you have hands?”, “Do you have feet?”, “CAN YOU PLAY!!!”.

When our bodies start producing hormones, then we notice that we feel differently towards others and their bodies. Any view about children or babies having sexual desires or preferences before the production of those hormones, I dismiss as unnatural influences.

14. @ David.
    That article is soooo true and is exactly what I have been trying to get over to people for a few years now.

A Calypso doesn’t have to be about politics. The subject matter is not what makes a strong song, it’s how you develop whatever subject you use. If you listen to old Calypso, lots of it is actually jovial subjects,

People like a song for how dangerous or funny it’s lyrics are, without realising that without a melody, mood and vocal technique it’s little more than a poem.

15. Meok

What ever it is that develops in children that transforms them into sexual beings that is attracted to the opposite sex operates slightly differently in those who are attracted to the same sex. It is NOT learned behavior, most certainly NOT among male homosexuals. The desire to have sex is primordial and homosexuals have been with us since time immemorial. You Christians are so full of yourselves it is no wonder now that the ranks have become so depleted that it basically just Black people who are pushing it.

16. BAFBFP
    Just want to be clear. Are you telling me that Homosexuals ARE born with sexual desires? If so, are you telling me the hormones we develop in puberty are produced from birth in homosexuals?

So far, I’ve dealt with this issue on a strictly medical basis. If you are telling me that there are a group of children in our day care centers who become aroused looking at other people’s pampers, please be clear.

17. Hi idiot read what I am saying … in short and as simple as I can possibly say it, “People DEVELOP differently” In the same way that there are physical differences there are other brain centric differences that have NOTHING to do with training or environment. This is why homosexuals are found in every country in every environment in every age of human existence. Now I do not deal very well with Jack Asses, that unlike homosexuality is a learned behavior.

18. LOL @BAFBFP
    “….there are other brain centric differences that have NOTHING to do with training or environment”
    …only one error. It DOES also have environmental influences.

Surely you know that in addition to the chromosomes and DNA that we inherit at birth, and which determine many aspects of our personality, future health, height, eyes etc, it is ALSO possible to impact on these characteristics by our exposure to the many chemicals, hormones and other environmental influences around. (there is growing concerns about electromagnetic fields on human characteristics for example)

There are some things that you can be given to eat or drink that can strongly influence your testestarone / estrogen balance…. And too far est is west as you know….

Tek it easy with Meok, he ain’t doing too bad for a new BU regular…

19. Bush Tea

The human brain is the most complex organ in the known universe. So much is still to be understood about its functioning and development. I have two children and yes I am glad that they are both very heterosexual. No planning no design, they just turned out that way, so thankfully they do NOT have to deal with this Christianity bullshit. Had they been differently oriented, I would love them NO less but will be forced to take on the wrath of these pussies as I try to have them live as NORMAL confident human beings in a world where intolerance has become the hall mark of the pious. Black people …!

20. @BAFBFP
    Ok. Your beef started because the man said “You cannot be born gay”. I asked, “what’s wrong with that?”. I said that you can’t”. In all your subsequent responses, included the supposedly offensive last one, you still haven’t said anything different to what Ronnie Clarke said. You can’t honestly say that people are born gay, because it makes no sense.

Now if you want to take the argument to say that people have things in their brains that cause them to develop differently, my only issue with that is….

a) I’ve heard too many gay people claim they knew they were gay at ages they shouldn’t be physically aware of sexuality.

b) You would have to apply that argument to serial killers and people that rape children etc. Those people are also “found in every country in every environment in every age of human existence”.

People will find any excuse to practice what they want to. I was a child and I know all about finding ways to explain why I should have done the wrong action. I’d hate to see us become like the USA where a man can rape and kill your 3 year old son/daughter, then blame it on his brain and get off. Where is the evidence. Apart from some asinine doctor that endorses it, probably because he like doing um to, is there any concrete evidence that people are born wired to be homosexuals, killers, etc.?

21. Alright alright nincompoop, and this is my last comment to you. What ever it is that makes you predisposed to being gay, what ever it is, YOU ARE BORN WITH it, and no amount of training, no adjustments in diet, no revamping of environment will change that. What ever syndrome (meant in a good way as being Gay is no more unnatural that being a south paw, which was also once a taboo) it is that makes this characteristic develop, it will kick in sooner or later, AND THERE IS NOTHING that the individual can do about it. You can force a left handed person to write with his right hand but would always prefer his left hand instinctively. Rafael Nadal, the most glorified south paw athlete in the world is in fact right handed. Now both you and your simpleton friend Ronnie Clarke can run along a find a suitable ass of a consenting Gay to kiss. You Christians should be tackling “real” problems.

Nuff said

22. Why is it that whenever there is a moral issue, Christianity is attacked. People who have morals are labelled Christians and attacked. Mind you, there are many moral people out there who are not Christians. I’ve argued a point on a medical and logical basis, and someone with an opinion and no fact, has attacked my religion (which mind, you, was never stated). It’s just amazing, Ronnie shouldn’t attack people for being openly gay, but you are quick to attack someone you suspect to be a Christian.

This is a general post, can ANYBODY tell me why this is okay?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | August 9, 2012 at 8:58 AM |

Before you go let us say your argument about left-handedness tells it all and really seals the deal of your argument. No contest hereinafter!

Let the Meok idiot explain left-handed people who by the way represent and share the same demographic statistical outcome as gay people. Left-handedness is present among humans both males and female all over the world and in all cultures. Left-handed people and homosexuals have both faced persecution and prejudices right through the ages even though both traits are found among some of the greatest geniuses that walked this Earth Leonardo da Vinci being a classic example.
    it really pains me when I hear black people calling themselves Christian and still discriminate so ardently against minorities. The history of blacks is clearly one of discrimination violent abuse and exploitation. What a pack of hypocrites and idiots, indeed!!
    Take me on Meok, I am waiting for your crap with scoop in hand!

24. Miller

I sure you got better things to do … HA HA HA

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | August 9, 2012 at 10:07 AM |

I take your advice.
    But it’s very hard if not impossible to hear the likes of Meok in whom the taxpayers must have invested hundred of thousands of dollars in free education and health care utter so much stupidity and display so much uninformed dark ages thinking about other human beings. The same humans the god they claim to worship made in the image of himself.
    Their god must be a funny left-handed gay fella himself, indeed!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | August 9, 2012 at 10:07 AM |
    “Miller I sure you got better things to do โ€ฆ HA HA HA”

I will follow your advice and do like you.
    Go on the VOB Brasstack call-in programme and air your views. But watch that academic fella Ryan. He ain’t got a clue about business only what he reads in text books. Let him go and earn some forex and we will listen to him and his cronies.

27. Miller

You sure it is me …?

28. @millertheanunnaki

I fail to see the relation. Left handedness can be observed from very young. Sexuality cannot. It’s a fair statement to say that someone was born left-handed because I can see it from young, but I can’t concede to the believe that people are born gay when it can’t be seen at that age. We’re pulling at straws when we say something is wired in them from birth that makes them turn out that way. It can’t be seen.

As for your Christian bashing, I shall ignore such childishness. I haven’t put forward my view on any biblical basis. The only reason I can come up with for why I am being attacked on that basis is that you have no factual basis on which to attack me so you attach things to me that I never spoke about, and attack me on those attachments. If that makes you feel good, great, continue. Should be a politician.

29. @ MEOK .

What proof do you have that people are not born gay.? i meaning with so many people world wide that are homosexual how can one disregard such statistical evidence which bears out the fact that so many people could not have adopted or adapted to the homosexual lifestyle and moreover knowing that society would seek to discriminate or ostracized them. that alone would be maniacal for any one individual to pursue such a way of life let alone millions who would follow.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Meok | August 9, 2012 at 4:46 PM |

Forget the political line. We are talking about discriminating against a segment of society for their sexual orientation and no other reason. Even your doctor, lawyer, child or priest (as you seem to be so persuaded) could be homosexual.
    Now Meok, tell us what “factsโ€ do you have at hand to know when some one is homosexual and that homosexuals are not BORN to be homosexual but choose this sexual orientation. If you are not using religious bigotry as the basis of your argument, what then? Science? So some people choose to be homosexual and you know this for sure because you either took a Wickham-like poll among gay people or you hide in their closet to observe their sexual activity.

Next time you would want to argue that homosexuals- like disabled people- are the way they are because of evil or some curse for upsetting some angry god.
    Can’t we accept that Mother Nature is not perfect but in her attempt she creates something called Variety; some of it redundant?
    Since you subscribe to the view that people “choose” their sexual orientation please explain why there is so much variation in the human race. We are certain that many black people- if given the option- would like to change their racial categorization because of stupid prejudices and discriminator practices in the same way in (your estimation) homosexuals can change their sexual orientation.

A piece of advice from psychoanalysis: People who have an intense hatred for homosexuals or show unjustified objection to their presence tend to be themselves latent homosexuals and use public denunciation or frivolous criticism as a coping device to hide this closeted sexual predisposition. Look into the mirror and examine yourself, Meok!

31. millertheanunnaki

Redundant Variety … nice touch.

Moving on. There are for argument’s sake syndromes such as autism, attention deficit and dyslexia which were recently within the past fifty years defined. These variants, as opposed to “disorders” are NOT curable as far as I know. I refuse to refer to these people as deviant. So many of the historical geniuses fall into these categories in “varying” degrees. The brain is indeed a complex organ.

Well done

32. @ BAF

but then again before scientific research were done on the many syndromes you have mentioned these people were sentenced to life inmental instituitions reason being to be put away for their own well being because they were different and were incapable of being able to fit into society “Norms”

33. The question I began by asking is “has anyone ever seen sexual in a baby”?. If something manifests at 13, I can’t say it was there from birth unless I could have seen it. If I didn’t see it from birth, to say that it was there would simply be speculation, And that logic applies to anything else.

34. BABF you come over as a selfish person. here it is that your children are heterosexual and you happy. This means that one day they will be able to enjoy the blissfulness of cohabiting with a person of the opposite sex and hopefully give you grand children over whom you would dote and show off to your friends including meok and who would occupy pride of place in your heart.Pleasures which you deny to the wickams et al by supporting their abnormal behaviours.

35. it really pains me when I hear black people calling themselves Christian and still discriminate so ardently against minorities

Mr Miller, growing up as boy under the union jack , bullers and to a lesser extent wickers abounded on the rock and there was no talk of discrimination because they recognised their shortcomings and did not flaunt their abnormality even though the behaviour wasn’t monitored as it is now. On the other hand, men suspected of using their mouths instead of the penis during sexual intercourse suffered more discrimination than bullers or wickers when the news leaked out. I well remember a huge crowd following and taunting a man referred to as ‘Douche can’ through the park one exhibition night. Matter of fact, because of this tolerance, some bullers took advantage of young vulnerable boys who in turn went on to practice the obnoxious behaviour as well. Zeffers who used to collect tickets at the olympic theatre used to have a field day with such boys and that is why i am vehemently opposed to adoption of children by bullers or wickers.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | August 9, 2012 at 7:58 PM |
    “.. This means that one day they will be able to enjoy the blissfulness of cohabiting with a person of the opposite sex and hopefully give you grand children over whom you would dote and show off to your friends …. ”

So what happens if the heterosexual children turn out to be infertile? Thatโ€™s another of Natureโ€™s redundant creations.
    What if the two children happen to live in both worlds of the sexual divide?

Balance, when it comes to determining what children would turn out to be in any aspect of life but especially with regard to the sexual outcome all we can say is “Que sera, sera!” Live and let live. Muslims or Jews are not supposed to eat pork but most Christians do. Who is right or who is wrong? Starvation would determine!

37. @ MEOK

How do you define sexuality? your baby theory does not make sense because things at face value are not always what they appear to be humans are more than physical is just a small part of the identity of whom we are but the factors that drive our whole being are more complex and sophisticated than one can imagine. so it is presumptuous to take a look at a person physique and conclude that the person is who one think there are. our psychological makeup is completely different from our physical and even though our physical is supposed to reveal a lot about ourselves it only gives a sliding glance of who we really are simply put looking from the outside does not reveals what is going on in the inside,we are a complex people with varying degrees of emotion and what drives these emotions is what determines the kind of people we are physical as well as spiritual

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | August 9, 2012 at 8:16 PM |
    ” On the other hand, men suspected of using their mouths instead of the penis during sexual intercourse suffered more discrimination than bullers or wickers when the news leaked out. ”

Oh how times have changed! The old time sucking is now called eating; or for the more sophisticated and refined in such culinary appreciation, the โ€˜art of cunnilingusโ€™.
    Today what you hypocritically or naively called a former minority is now the Majority that have left the closet of eaters.

โ€œ.. growing up as boy under the union jack , bullers and to a lesser extent wickers abounded on the rock and there was no talk of discrimination because they recognised their shortcomings and did not flaunt their abnormality even though the behaviour wasnโ€™t monitored as it is now.โ€

Are you referring to bread and fish bullers and wickers or are you, hypocrite, referring to the more socially and financially well off closet homos some of them holding very high political office, both dead and alive?
    It might come as a shock to you but homosexuality knows no class, educational or economic boundaries that is why a dead man and a living man both of the very highest political stature can claim intimate friendship with a well known boxy mechanic and con man called โ€œGreenverbsโ€.

39. balance

Wah I can respond to you … you got me caffufold.

ac Miller and I are agreed on one simple approach, that is “live and let live”. What is important is that human beings are happy with themselves and with each other. It is not for you to discourage this and stand in moral judgement of those who are different and yet not guilty of breaking any sensible laws. Yes I attack Christians … its a favorite pastime of mine. But know that I think that it is “Immoral” to argue about human differences as a “Moral” subject (though pretending to be scientific and medical …stupse)

40. balance @ miller
    โ€œ.. growing up as boy under the union jack , bullers and to a lesser extent wickers abounded on the rock and there was no talk of discrimination because they recognised their shortcomings and did not flaunt their abnormality even though the behaviour wasnโ€™t monitored as it is now.โ€

@ balance

the above comment is typical of bigoted or out of touch people typically the kind of person or persons who ignores or closes their eyes to reality and have a pretentious view of what life is supposed to be . i will bet that because of that kind of thinking many of the homosexual preferred to suffer in silence which would have been easier than having to face ridicule in the ways they are being treated at present as they exist the closet.

41. @ac
    My definition of sexuality is that urge you get when you hit puberty. that think that makes your parts tingle and sends you crazy when your eyes or even your minds sets on certain sights. I remember in school a friend of mine said “If I don’t taste sex over the vacation I will kill myself” LOL. You know, something that drives you to intimacy.

I’m saying that I couldn’t picture myself determining any particular orientation until I hit that stage of development where my hormones started raging. Before then, a woman was just a woman. You knew they were “used for sex” but that was just some foreign fact of life that you accepted.

What’s your definition of sexuality?

42. @ Balance
    I am learning some really interesting things from this discussion. Growing up we wouldn’t admit that we performed oral sex, but I never knew it was so taboo.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Meok | August 9, 2012 at 9:34 PM |
    “Whatโ€™s your definition of sexuality?”

Masturbation!
    Can’t go wrong with it! Can’t breed or get breed. Can’t catch STDโ€™s. No need for condoms or other contraceptives. And nobody can call ya name or put you in court for child money unless it is Ms Palmer and she 5 children.

44. LOL @millertheanunnaki

You shouldn’t be masturbating before 13 though. I sincerely hope not.

And you might be able to get in trouble for it, have to research how long sperm stays fresh outside of the body. LOL

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Meok | August 9, 2012 at 9:57 PM |
    “You shouldnโ€™t be masturbating before 13 though. I sincerely hope not.”

What about ‘cock-knocking’, wicking (rubbing nooksies) and playing mummy & daddy when the real mums and dads are not around.

You playing you forget now , right mock man?

46. @ac
    My definition of sexuality is that urge you get when you hit puberty. that think that makes your parts tingle and sends you crazy when your eyes or even your minds sets on certain sights. I remember in school a friend of mine said โ€œIf I donโ€™t taste sex over the vacation I will kill myselfโ€ LOL. You know, something that drives you to intimacy.

@ meok

O.k. but it all begins with an emotion or urges and those feelings are tranmitted from one peson to another or persons we assumed are just like us and it is no different for the homosexual. we have a hosts of many senses outside the obvious the most potent ones are those we are incapableof controlling unlike touch and sight and hearing the invisible ones are the most dominate like feeling and urges are very hard to control and in as much as we would like to belive that we are in total control of our sexuality we are not. there is a design that is built inside all individuals and we cannot change that .in similar ways even though we might try to change or physical through different types of treatments and sugery the design or pattern of who we are remains obvious and it is similary in our sexual orentation cannot be changed or duplicated

47. “Muslims or Jews are not supposed to eat pork but most Christians do. Who is right or who is wrong”
    The operative word is supposed and rightly so too because i am sure that like Rastas, some Muslims and Jews do eat pork because there is no right or wrong only courage of convictions. you know that the spirit is always willing but the flesh more often than not is weak.

48. ” I will bet that because of that kind of thinking many of the homosexual preferred to suffer in silence which would have been easier than having to face ridicule in the ways they are being treated at present as they exist the closet”
    Not the ones we knew AC, They didn’t use to hide at all especially the ones who excelled at needle work and even though Mr Miller, they were not in the scategory of Mr Parris, they could not be described as bread and fish.Leroy by dint of his trade as a seaman had a huge property in Atlantic shores long before Mr Parris was put in a position to embezzle the funds belonging to the policy holders of clico. By the way, one of my policies matured on Wednesday.

49. I remember in school a friend of mine said โ€œIf I donโ€™t taste sex over the vacation I will kill myselfโ€ LOL. You know, something that drives you to intimacy.”

You sure the friend ain’t you Ac.