This is an anonymous submission.
Steve Stoute, President of the Barbados Olympic Association (BOA)

How can the person who represents the very highest position of leadership in sport in Barbados be complaining that not enough is being done for athletes? Who is Mr. Stoute complaining about? Is he not then the very highest person who should be working to see that everything is done in the interest of Barbadian athletes? If this is not the role of Mr Stoute’s association (as the president seem to be suggesting here), then what exactly is that role?

Does the Olympic Association not receive millions of dollars each year from various sources including the local lottery, for the development of athletes? How much money exactly is provided to the Barbados Olympic Association (BOA), and how much of this goes to athletes, as opposed to fancy buildings and first class travel overseas?

Did the lottery not provide over $100 million to local sports over the past 10 years? This is for a population of 1 quarter million people. The equivalent amount of funding in the USA with their population of 200 million persons would be $80 billion over the ten years in order to cover the same amount per person in the population. This is nothing to sneeze at. What was the final cost of the team to the Olympics? and what portion of this money is  for the athletes as opposed to perks for officials?

Mr Stoute has been lamenting the failures of national sport now for some time. He predicted a small weak team for these Olympics months ago and apparently he has no role to play in changing this outcome. If the president of the Olympic association is so fed-up and helpless, then what can the poor athletes be expected to do? Surely after again admitting that he has no idea how to lead national sports  successfully, Mr Stoute will gracefully resign his position as president on his return from London. Barbadians do not need to hear more predictions of failure and helplessness from such a highly placed official.

1. @balance | August 1, 2012 at 5:31 AM…”BUT AREN’T WE …IGNORING THE FACT THAT THERE HAS NEVER BEEN AND WILL NEVER BE AN ABUNDANCE OF QUALITY ATHLETIC TALENT IN BARBADOS.”

Balance, balance, balance, Barbados has the capacity to produce just as many as just as good quality athletes as any other country, but our athletes don’t get the practical, emotional, financial, academic and athletic support which is needed.

It seems to me that sports in Barbados is forever about the officials and the Boards of Control and NEVER, NEVER about the real producers, that is the young people aged 13 to 30 who have the capacity to deliver. Maybe there ought to be a rule that nobody over age 30 can sit on the board of any sporting association.

Then we could get rid of the elderly, obese seat warmers.

2. Speaking of athletes. One of our leading local athletes , Horst Walron died and was buried about 2 weeks ago, and very little tribute has been paid to him in the media.What a pity? then again he was not an Olympian or from the old school..

3. Balance, balance, balance, Barbados has the capacity to produce just as many as just as good quality athletes as any other country, but our athletes don’t get the practical, emotional, financial, academic and athletic support which is needed.”
    Do not agree. The pool of natural talent is somewhat limited in the athletic arena compared to cricket and the money could be best channelled in trying to restore cricket to its place of pride and industry in our national psyche.Whatever little improvement we make in athletics, it stands to reason that those ahead of us would further improve as well and we would forever be playing catch up. yes, prepari for athletics takes money, but it calls for natural talent too. if you see some of the conditions those cubans train under, you would get a sense of what i mean.
    “It seems to me that sports in Barbados is forever about the officials and the Boards of Control and NEVER, NEVER about the real producers, that is the young people aged 13 to 30 who have the capacity to deliver. Maybe there ought to be a rule that nobody over age 30 can sit on the board of any sporting association”
    I take your point. i stopped short in an earlier post of calling for the disbandment of the BCA and the BOA. They like the two political parties have outlived their usefulness.

4. “Cricket is over”
    Don’t pray for it otherwise there will be nothing left soon to boast about. Even on its dying bed, Cricket remains the only sport which has placed Barbados on the international map and still remains a financial window of opportunity for those play the game.

5. Don’t pray for it otherwise there will be nothing left soon to boast about. Even on its dying bed, Cricket remains the only sport which has placed Barbados on the international map and still remains a financial window of opportunity for those play the game.

Another emotional argument. Most of the money earned from cricket is located to a relative few. How many crickets from the Caribbean can we say earn a 24/7 living? Did anyone read the Nation a couple weeks ago to see that the BCA is not attracting any sponsorship? If ever there was an indicator which points to the declining interest in cricket there it is. Cricket will have to morph to the 20/20 variety if it is to survive.

6. Personally, I think the time is nigh, that Mia Mottley be given her chance. When the eleciton is over and the BLP go to Government House, I would think it right that Arthur have a word with his ‘people’, and take the Deputy PM role, have Mia take the lead.

Right, wrong, indifferent, for better or worse, it is her time to have her chance.

7. How many crickets from the Caribbean can we say earn a 24/7 living?

except perhaps of jamaica, moreso than from all the other sports combined.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | August 1, 2012 at 8:37 PM |
    “.. Maybe there ought to be a rule that nobody over age 30 can sit on the board of any sporting association…”

How can a simple person make such an ageist discriminatory remark? A person- who herself (gender assignment based on your contributions) is no spring chicken- that has shouted down the walls of heaven to condemn to sexist attitudes and acts of the AX principal.
    You can’t condemn Broomes’ alleged misogynistic behaviour while upholding discrimination based on old age. Making a worthwhile contribution has nothing to do with age but with commonsense, a sense of fair play, integrity and honesty and most of all the ability to LISTEN to what others have to say. What would you say if the opposite statement was made against young people along these lines: “No person under the age of 30 can sit on any board of any business enterprise (commercial, industrial or service oriented)”.

Discrimination based on a person’s race, religion, culture, age, gender, sexual orientation or disability is totally unacceptable against people running for office where taxpayers’ or the public’s money is involved.

It is that simple, Simon! And practice what you preach in the AX pulpit!

9. Leadership is about vision, invigorating our sports program to excite and create opportunities for many young people will not happen through cricket, a dinosaur sport with mainly commonwealth appeal.

10. Just yanking ya chain miller etc.

However sport does NATURALLY discriminate against old people.

I was once asked how many people over the age of 40 ever won a gold medal in the 100 metres at the Olympics.

The answer is zero.

So yes sport naturally discriminates against old people.

So maybe we should do the same.

11. i wonder if Freida Nicholls is part of the Olympic official team. saw her in today’s nation posing with one of the ceremonial guards. seems she has taken on the role of reporter too.

12. how much of a role does the private sector play is also of importance. international sports benefits a lot from the support financially and through advertising from the private sectors ,most of the athletes entering these sports know that the incentives are good enough for making it worthwhile after winning which does not stop at receiving a medal. what incentives does barbados have to offer there athletes the role of private sector is equally as important in getting the country success and giving the athelete longterm recognition.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | August 2, 2012 at 11:33 PM |
    “So yes sport naturally discriminates against old people.”

So too does wisdom against young people, young yam!

How many blacks ever won medals in the swimming or gymnastics?

There are sports where older and more experienced people compete successfully.
    And I am sure there are still parts of you that when stimulated would feel “refreshed” and “rejuvenated” despite your ‘sell-by-date’ has gone like mine with a few drinks still left in the bottle (LOL!!).

14. Does anyone know how the lottery works? Are their financials made public? It seems distasteful private interest should be raking in profits when the national interest would be better serve.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 3, 2012 at 6:39 AM |
    “Does anyone know how the lottery works? Are their financials made public? ”

This is a SOS to “Amused”: Please help by shining your Legal light on this area of darkness.
    You have good track record with the vagrant horses and the AX CoI comedy show.
    Let us know about the legislation that governs Lotteries? Is it the Gaming and Betting Act?

16. @ Miller
    “So too does wisdom against young people, young yam!”

Well said!!
    Indeed, so too does sport in fact discrimate against youth. Anyone who really understands sport will know that behind the success of EVERY young athlete will be a team of wise, mature, hardworking experts such as coaches, trainers, physios, managers and other support persons who are REALLY responsible for such success.

The athlete often contributes mainly strength, training, discipline and following directions.

NOTHING BEATS WISDOM AND EXPERIENCE!!!

The solution is not to put children to lead, it is to ensure that we choose the CORRECT leaders, and that we know what to look for in selecting leaders.

It is always a bad sign when it appears that the “leaders” are more interested in the personal benefits than they are in the overall results.

17. Who the hell is the guy Stout? Are you f-ing kidding me? Bajans deseve their poor showing at the olympics. His photo speaks volumes. Moreover, the comments here are for the most part nothing by pseudo intelectual bs diatribe about age discrimination. Demonstrating once again that bajans have no frigging clue. Salute to Bolt and Jamaica!!! If Jamaica would just get their solicial and political act together they would be an incredible force to recoconned with.

18. Anyone who doubts the importance of sports to a nation check Jamaica.
    Perhaps our failure to be serious about our sports program has to do with our laziness fuelled by a false sense of success through the years.

19. do u expect anything different from Mr. Steve Stoute, look how he handpicked the simmons guy to be SG of BOA. That guy has always been dumb and stands for nothing, except to support Mr. Stoute over the years like a retriever. The Barbados Olympic Assocaition needs new blood and this incest must stop for us to make any headways in sports. What has become of the sports blue print that consulation was held on, although I thought that consultation was a waste of time. We need doers in sports and not talkers, until then we will always be at square one.

I support the nationalisation of the lottery, instead of these miilionaires milking barbadians, i would prefer to be milked by a lottery that will invest in the arts, sports and cultural industries. Its time that a decsion be made in this regard. In England, i am told that profits from the lottery are use for such persons.

It pains me that a delegation larger than the athletes always leave these shores, and in some instances travel first class, like how the Director of sports use to travel. Do we exspect to amke headways in sports when we cant even export our road tennis so we can have something to control; I heard some big talk about how we are the headquaters for the world road tennis assocaiation.What have we achieved since so much money was spent overseas promoting this sport. We have a lot of square pegs about the place.
    Why have the other caribbean countries surged ahead of us at the international level in all ares of sports? We have failed miseraby and there seems to be no hope.

20. Re: David’s Comment ‘Anyone who doubts the importance of sports to a nation check Jamaica. Perhaps our failure to be serious about our sports program has to do with our laziness fuelled by a false sense of success through the years’ – You are right on point. Barbadians keep regurgitating about the education of its population (ostensibly 99%). OK, it is 2012. Move the f_k on. It’s sounds like an overplayed cheesy R&B song or even worse, soca riddim. Moreover, the people operate more like train seals than like progressive thinkers.

Day number 2 since coming across this blog and the more I look at Stout’s photo and read about his self-aggrandizement that more I want back slap every single Bajan for continuing to allow these neo-colonialists to get away with their garbage. This is why I have less and less inclination to go back to Barbados. Again, they just don’t get it. I grew up among Jamaicans and can tell you that every single one sincerely believes s(he) is a star regardless of their state or with whom they are being compared. And they demand respect. Someone like Stout would have to watch the back of his head 24/7 if they tried to pull his shenanigans off in JA at the expense of their athletes. It is time that whites and their apparatchik field soldiers in the Barbadian government and society as a whole be severely disciplined. But it must start with image of self worth as it is clear that Errol Barrow’s ‘’Mirror Image” is relevant now more than ever. God forbid that I get tired of this cold weather and decide to move back to Barbados. Trust me they would be hell to pay.

21. Nationalisation of the lottery? That would be sport, imagine how long we would wait for financial statements, imagine the auditor general report and imagine how much money would go walkies.

22. Gambling = tax on the stupid or desperate.

23. @jake ”It is time that whites and their apparatchik field soldiers in the Barbadian government and society as a whole be severely disciplined”

————–

Of course it would not be long before some jackass would trace the sporting failure back to an issue of race.

Strange, Rihanna is the or one of the most successful pop artists the last five years, in AMURCA wid white people.

Did that stop her? NO.

Stop running to to de white people dsi and dat all the time. Lot of foolishness.

No, no. Bajans too crab in a barrel, that is the underlying problem.

24. @jake ”God forbid that I get tired of this cold weather and decide to move back to Barbados. Trust me they would be hell to pay.”

—-

Alrite, you is Sidney Burnett or whuh?

25. Do Steve Stout and Brugger Johnson OWN the Olympic franchise in Barbados? If not who does …?

The Olympio Lotteries was supposed to be turned over to the sporting institutions five years after it started … So said the five owners at the time, one being Oscar Jordan. This lottery has since been combined with its competitor then owned by the Turf Club to form one BIG lottery with the Turf Club owning half. This was all done with the well wishes of Owen Arthur who along with the present administration allowed the Turf Club get away with a TWENTY MILLION debt to the Inland Revenue people. Maybe the horses are benefiting but judging from the lack in response of overseas participation in the Club’s marque racing events it seems that the development of sport of any kind is still to be demonstrated …!

26. Crusoe: (“Of course it would not be long before some jackass would trace the sporting failure back to an issue of race Strange, Rihanna is the or one of the most successful pop artists the last five years, in AMURCA wid white people”) Your comment exemplifies exactly what I am speaking of. Rihanna my arse. Are you kidding me? With all due respect toRihanna, don’t for one moment underestimate the juggernaut of an artist development team/machine that has brought her to the level where she is. Rihanna up till now has had little to do with her own success. Taking nothing away from her, she was/is young and was brought into a business which even the most seasoned artist will confess they know very little about. So Rihanna and the music industry is a very poor reference. And in the end that machine has so far done a magnificent job in making her a star. It seems like both Rihanna and her machine have all benefited. Can’t say the same of Stout to any degree.
    Anyway, sleep if you want to Crusoe, but race matters a whole lot in every component of Barbadian society. Like the myth of frogs in boiling water you like many others like you fail to see the ever increasing detriment that has surrounded you. Whites in Barbados would not sit at the same table with you or see you as an equal but they are consistently in positions of control over you. But like the frogs you are oblivious to the adverse condition that you have grown accustomed to. These bastards have had it good for a long time. And while they would not think of having you control any part of their existence you are quite content to have them control yours. And when they fail miserably in their positions or step out of line you fail to check them. Now you may think that I am a racist however I am not and I do nto have any tolerance for them. I have no problem with white Barbadians holding some positions of power in Barbados. But there is something deeply bothersome about it in practice in Barbados. And when as in the case of Stout I hear of more delegates than athletes going to the Olympics or of the money that is being squandered at the expense of the athletic program, and seeing such a pittance of representation at the Olympics, I want nothing more than heads to roll.
    Try to imagine African people in positions of authority or control of the lives of citizens in England, France, Australia, Ireland, or Germany. Mein gott!!! Quite a stretch of the imagination isn’t it? Further, try to imagine an African being inept or abusing his position. Much of the world has grown quite accustomed to Europeans in positions of authority even at the most incompetent levels. Europeans have carved a pretty nice situation for themselves around the world, Australia, -Sub Saharan Africa, Canada, US, Panama to Argentina, and the West Indies. Not bad at all.
    Anyway, we have four years to have a better showing. Prove me wrong and MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!! I done to.

27. F*cking incompetent kunt!!!!

28. Cool it Jake … You could be speaking about sooooooo many people in responsible positions in Barbados … It don’ mek nah sense losing ya cool … HA HA HA

29. I would agree strongly that accountability needs to be brought as to spending and devleopment for athletes and a REAL plan brought to the table.

Unfortunately, this ;ack of accountability is across ALL spectrums of Barbados, political and government especially.

As BAF says, I dont think it has anything to do with race, more of a guard on protecting the incompetents, the wasteful and ;lazy, with no result required or expected.

But, you are all right, what IS the ratio of athletes to administrator travel, especially as an athlete with a qualifying time was left at home?

30. Hey BAFBFP – Ok, I will try to stay calm but here is why I am livid. Barbadians are wallowing in mediocrity on every level and are quite content at being near average. Even in areas where we take pride in my opinion are analogous to what people in the US call ni**er rich. Saying that Barbados has a high literacy rate, or universal health care, or a stable government…give a dog a bone but don’t be fooled about the quality or standards applied to any of these so called accolades. I heard folks are scare to death of ending up in the hands of the medical staff at Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Rote, robotic teaching methods from my days in primary school are still the teaching method of choice. Revamp the whole antiquated system. Unfortunately the brains of Barbadians youth are locked in a cacophonous box of feted American MTV youth culture that is all about money, hos, and clothes. We should be absolutely focused on developing world class progressive thinkers. Reinforce this principle in every single boy and girl every single hour of the day. Make them fearless and confident in life. Like warriors. F*ck the US, India, Brazil and the rest of lot. There is nothing that they can do that we cannot. Why can’t we be at the forefront of the sciences, business, architecture, sports? Reread Errol Barrow’s Mirror Image speech. I am currently reading a book on physics, and nearly every other physicist mentioned is Indian. As poor as India is. No one can deny their high regard for education and belief that they are preordained to be world leaders (once again). Same for the Chinese. But we compare ourselves to third world nations and so firmly believe that we have ascended to some degree of significance.

So for Stout there are no repercussions for his atrocities and for Barbadians it’s enough to maybe see the Barbadian flag at the opening ceremony and not expect to bring home not one medal. Now back to whining up their behinds, and taking and talking shite.

31. @Jake..who seems to be caught in a time warp…the eighteenth century is long gone and present day realities in Barbados do not jell with your views…most local whites exist on the margin and wield no power whatsoever…like ninety eight percent of our population, they live from pay day to pay day…as a tiny minority, local whites..as is the case with minorities all over the world, get “severely disciplined” all the time…if a few surface from the demoralizing pressure of minority status and contribute nationally, then so be it…they are making their contribution here and not elsewhere.
    One of the problems with sports in Barbados is too few people chasing too many sports…the potential talent pool gets increasingly fractured…hopefully, some talent scout in athletics will spot the next Usain Bolt here and whisk them up north to hone their skills. Check the background of most modern day athletes..even from the “highly developed world” and see where they train and learn…most of them go to the USA..the Brits, Russians etc..the Chinese send their people to Australia…all credit to Jamaica who have built on a solid foundation going back some fifty odd years…we don’t have the mass of population nor the traditions of Jamaica in athletics but one day a Kirani James type will be scouted right here in Barbados…..and note this….. in other sporting endeavours we have made an international mark….right now, we have not one, but four world class surfers in that growing sport.

32. Also for Jake again..check out these Barbadian contributions from the historical past…a Barbadian doctor laid the ground work for blood transfusions, A Barbadian corrected and improved on Newton’s principles of optics which still has relevance today, a Barbadian doctor made a stirling intellectual contribution to Darwin’s theory of evolution, a Barbadian doctor helped to revolutionize pharmacology in the USA and Canada, a Barbadian doctor did some of the early work which led to the discovery of penicillin, including producing it right here in Barbados….even though things are not perfect at the QEH, there are very skilled surgeons working there who could be raking in millions elsewhere….you do them a disservice by being so dismissive of them, but I should imagine that perspectives from a distance tend to become distorted.

33. And see who is the architect of one of the precursors of the internet search engines.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archie_search_engine

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Emtage

A Barbadian.

34. @Karl Watson. Good points of which a couple I did not know however, with all respect due, taking nothing away, these are one offs. I am talking about a movement. Achievement replicated. A national competitive spirit wholeheartely supported by goverment, business and the Barbadian diaspora. Achievement that becomes synonimous with mentioning Barbados as now track and field is with Jamaica. And yes I am abroad but I can tell you with not hesitation that I did not turn my back. I have thought about this long and hard and I am convinced that we can someday compete beyond tourism, sugar cane and off shore banking. Let’s get 100 serious Barbadians, at home and abroad to come together and strategize an agressive plan to ensure excellence in a couple areas. In 5-10 years you will see what I am talking about,. I am willing to put the time and money where my mouth is.

Re; QEH, the fact that some doctors remain in Barbados rather than go abroad where they can make money is no reason to tolerate the incredibly poor concern that my aunt, who is a nurse, withnessed when she visited her mother-in-law in that hospital. I wonder if a survey or public opinion poll on what Barbadians think of the quality of service at QEH, That would be a good start.

Anyway @Karl. I appreaciate and respect what your response. Nonetheless Stoute and the rest like him, white or black, are not getting off so easily.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Karl Watson | August 10, 2012 at 12:08 PM |

Don’t you think it would be more informative if you had mentioned the names of those Barbadians who have made such outstanding and valuable contributions to modern civilization?
    Most Barbadians do not have the slightest clue of the great loyal sons and daughters who have made distinctive and excellent contributions outside of Bim. Even some of those that made significant contributions locally are not mentioned.
    So Karl, let us ‘big up’ these and at least mention their names.

36. Miller

Mention their names sure, but they were probably recipients of scholarships who have moved on to contribute to the “world”… Wow…! Barbados is in competition with the rest of the world. Be proud of these people yes, but leave it there. I think Jake is zoning here. Let Carl Watson do what Carl Watson does very well, being a public relations consultant as is required in delivering of a history of Barbados, my God, and he does it for free ….

37. @Millerthe anununaki…point well taken..Dr Leacock (St Lucy) in the early nineteenth century demonstrated that intra species blood transfusion was feasible, Dr Benjamin Bynoe (Christ Church) accompanied Charles Darwin for four years on the Beagle, did a lot of collecting and field analysis for Darwin and helped with Darwin’s theory of evolution, Gibbes Walker Jordan (Speightstown, St Peter) revised some of Newton’s findings and his academic work was published in every European language, Dr Bourne (St Michael) did revolutionary work in pharmacology in Canada and the USA…Dr Harry Bayley (of Bayley’s clinic on the Bayland) did early work in the UK on penicillin, resisted the siren call of fame and fortune abroad, came home where he did sterling work, including identifying leptospirosis…today, one name from the QEH roster Mr Gill the neurosurgeon…entirely capable of working any where in the world or overseas, Paul Steinbok another neurosurgeon, who at thirteen was in the Modern Sixth at Harrison College with myself as he was biding time to enter the Science Sixth.
    If the detailed research was done to identify those Barbadians who have made or continue to make globally significant contributions to world civilization, we as a nation would be astonished that so few of us, from what is no bigger than a market town in the UK, USA or Canada, have made and continue to make our mark at world level…even in the space industry at NASA, a Barbadian, a Mr Hutchinson played a significant role. So I agree..we need to “big up” our top achievers, past and present, so that those who follow can truly say…there are no limitations imposed by size…if we have the will and the drive, we too can succeed.

38. Hi Carl, did they earn any foreign exchange for Barbados?

39. @BAFBFP…what’s wrong with giving back a little??? I was educated in this island at public expense…is civic duty so old fashioned??….I’ve never thought of myself as a public relations consultant, but then one of my father’s favourite sayings comes back to haunt me…”if we could only see ourselves as others see us!”

40. Isn’t the issue here more about how meger resources are being managed by fat cats, that is, our administrators and politicians?

41. No. NO! The issue has become one of demoting the relevance of being Barbadian in a competitive world market space over those who have been adopted by all and sundry.

42. OK. So enough. Who is up to come together and start something? @BAFBFP, @Karl?

43. Watson of the people you name are any black? I didnt think so. What of the fellow Prof Headley, a scientist who invented water heaters or something?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Karl Watson | August 10, 2012 at 6:08 PM |

We notice you have mentioned a number of outstanding Bajans of English, Irish and Scottish heritage. Do you (from your expert knowledge) know of any people of African ancestry who from the late 17th Century made a name for Barbados if not for themselves? What about the role played by Bajan Tituba in the Salem Witchhunts? Despite Rev. Parris’, the Bajan ex- resident, attempts at exorcism Tituba’s craft is still practised today even in circles at the highest level of the land.
    A practice so endemic in our school system that not even Rev. Jones the minister for religious education can get rid of the demons possessing our little witches in our schools.

45. Regarding Tituba, the debate over her ethnicity still rages….was she African or Amerindian?? From time to time, one can tease out from the surviving evidence, examples of skilled Africans/Afro descendants…for example, in a cartouche of the Mayo map, two Africans are shown operating the waywiser for Mayo which presupposes some knowledge of surveying/mathematics…I came across a reference to an African man who in the early eighteenth century was employed by the white merchants of Bridgetown to teach their children mathematics and languages. The first successful and largely uncelebrated black merchant of Bridgetown was Joseph Rachel…when I do tours of Bridgetown and mention him, no one seems to have heard of him, though everyone is aware of Rachel Pringle Polgreen. The surname Polgreen is an interesting one, associated with Barbados….I suspect though I have yet to uncover the evidence, that the black composer/violinist of the early nineteenth century Polgreen Bridgetower who was at some time associated with Beethoven, is credited with introducing some elements of Afro Barbadian music to Beethoven (primarily tuk band rhythms) and who played for all the crowned heads of Europe, had some Barbadian connection. Frankly, the evidence for black achievers in the seventeenth and eighteenth century is slim…when we come on to the second half of the nineteenth century and twentieth century, the story changes…just one example…a survey of outstanding black academics/educators of USA institutions would reveal a surprising number of Barbadians who have played and continue to play a major role there…@ David…Mr Gill the neurosurgeon I used as an example of modern day medical achievers is non white and there are many other black doctors working today at the QEH, who could easily find a job elsewhere, if they so desired…my reason for pointing such individuals out was not to shift from the topic of sports administration, but to provide a different view to that expressed by Jake re the alleged poor quality of the staff of the QEH….and yes BAFBFP, medicine does bring in foreign exchange for Barbados…many people from neighbouring islands opt to do surgery here which they pay for..in vitro fertilization is another example of a foreign exchange earner.

46. …and this has what to do with the Olympic association again….?
    Someone should answer Jake.

47. Come on Stoute its high time you resign go home watch tv rest yourself. You have been an abysmal failure be a man move on let someone else have a go at improving Barbados athletic fortunes.

If you dont leave now after the London disaster we know for sure you are around simply to ride the gravy train not to take track and field to the next level. Dont let the door hit you on the way out.

48. Ok. So there is not any of you jumping at the suggestion that we collaborate to formulate a movement to stop / limit the BS and mediocrity going on in Barbados. Fine. Stay tuned!!

49. Who read Steve Stoute in the Big Interview today? Some ass covering if ever there is a case. What he and like minded don’t understand is that throwing money at sports is part of it. It must be done as part of trying to unfold a national strategy. Does he think the Olympic society invest in sports in Jamaica without consulting intimately with stakeholders to ensure the resources is received in the areas they want? A simple thing like the suggestion Barney Lynch made today i.e. to make regional broadcast available free to air across the region to show the centre of excellence that is track and field. The same for T&T.

50. @David
    “It must be done as part of trying to unfold a national strategy.”

show me a national strategy that has worked in Barbados…