Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

There was a noticeable shift in debating strategy on the government side in the Budget debate just completed. Minister Chris Sinckler known for the old fashion debating style in the mould of the late Harold Blackman and Lammie Craig appeared at times to be straining at the leash to go after Arthur which he resisted. Surprisingly it was Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who departed from his usual studied delivery to attack leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur on the CLICO matter and the buried and forgotten FBI Report.

The aggression which Stuart unveiled during the debate surprised many. Barbados Labour Party (BLP) supporters believe Stuart has finally shown his true colours. What man of integrity what! Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters are breathing a sigh of relief that their man has shown some passion at last.

Of interest to BU is the fact Prime Minister Stuart selected CLICO and the FBI as the issues to launch his salvo on the other side. Given the protracted nature of a CLICO settlement and the likelihood many CLICO policyholders will be dissatisfied at the outcome – why select the CLICO issue? Not to forget there is the Leroy Parris dimension. Messy! A reasonable conclusion is that the government will attempt to attribute some of the blame for the CLICO Mess to Arthur and the BLP. Good luck if that is the strategy.

More surprising has been the return by the government to the forgotten FBI Report. If this were a Matlock Show the judge would be forced to ask where is this lead of argument intended to unearth. Is this a case of the government framing an argument to say to the public Arthur lied about the report? Is it a case of the government finding the report? It certainly makes no sense for Prime Minister Stuart to reference the FBI Report without having in mind an objective. What is it?

There have been several references on BU about The Pegasus Tape which places Arthur in a negative light. The emerging strategy of the DLP appears to be one of discrediting Arthur. This strategy should not surprise anyone because the Opposition is currently winning on the issues of leadership and the economy. The two issues were identified by the CADRES Poll as the battleground issues.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Crusoe…reply to your reply

1. Govt sells oil with a markup to price to BL&P ….to the tune of $100Mil last year….notwithstanding 60 % of fuel oil is DUG UP RIGHT HERE at Woodbourne ..sent to T&T.. returned ..with no price mark as Fuel Oil which goes str8 to BL&P WITH A GOVT MARKUP….why why not a lil reprieve ?

4. Ditto……every thing person affected here…includ food prices..PRIORITY #1…

5. What nonsense….what about the merchants who employ Bajan staff..are you not aware..a lot soon going home because of no sales…what are going to do with them ? This Vat free day was meant to boost sales.

6. Nonsense again .. a middle incomer getting $4,500 and up before exempting $1,000 ( $500-E$500 Trav not taxed)..would now be receiving $135…Chalk .v. Cheese.

Crusoe ..you must admit….this was a most stupid move…not to have given reprieves in this a Budget year..what were they thinking ?The economy needed a boost..they needed to be CREATIVE….but no….as usual.instead another NO ball..a FBI file….wow !

2. What is now evident is that Stuart has embarked on some kind of strategy to chop of the head of Arthur. He has thrown the gauntlet and he must deliver. Stuart must know that he has passed the Rubicon. Until the election is called expect the rhetoric to crescendo.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Now who is this going to appease, to whom will this benefit ? Ac , Clone , Blogger ?…What about the undecided ? They are more interested in reprieve( lower gasolinefoodutility prices) ..not a battle of egos .

This evening at Hanynesville I only hope people don’t fall prey to this DISTRACTION….and attack FACTS …like Onions.v. Crusoe ABOVE…and not like David…the master blogger ….line of ball..lol

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am wondering, where did this cold case talk originate?

As far as I know there is a case. Corruption has no stature of limitations.

5. old onion bags Avatar

Now enters Cardboard
    Morning my friend…….like a true gallant Sir Lancenot ..

6. The prepetrator of CORRUPTION has finally met his match. Call what elections! boy ONIONS looks like WINTER has arrived in JULY for the BLP stalwarts, BTW onions i noticed in your laundry list above you have delisted CLICO!

7. @Onions

Unlike the Establishment BU is not ‘pressed’ by deep pocket sponsors, spinners, dark shadows et al. All issues are on the table.

8. Of course if the government is serious about airing concerns about missing reports there is a reasonable expectation the conversion must turn to implementation of FOIA.

9. @ David

Excuse my harsh language. What kinda ning-nong jackass is Burns from REDjet? He telling people owed money that he is going to refund them when REDjet sucessfully sues the Government of Barbados. I say two things to that ignorant FOOL;

1. REDjet and its management is probably guilty of some kind of fruad when they took deposits from passengers in the days leading up to its collapse.

2. REDjet has filed for bankruptcy and its owers are in the main foreign. How many MILLLIONS and MILLIONS of dollars in cash or bonds do you think REDjet will have to put up as security for costs when its tries suing the GOB?

As the young people would say, he like he want pelting at yah!!!

10. old onion bags Avatar

Yes Ac…..the time is RIPE…..call the elections Stuartie. Let us see who is the better man…FBI files is but playing for more time….

11. old onion bags Avatar

Ac’s most dreaded moment……I can see the quiver now…..THE BELL…lol

12. @ David
    With a popular vote of 9%, the lowest of the FOUR preferred choices for PM, Stuart has NO choice but to attempt to behead OSA. The problem is that after Owen there is also Mia and Chris.

13. @FLINTSTONES

There is obviously a lot flowing under the REDjet bridge away from the glare of public scrutiny. It is instructive Bizzy Willims comment last week that he made an emotional decision regarding his his investment in REDjet and with hindsight the low rate price point should have been USD19.99 and NOT USD9.99. Compare his position to Burns and perhaps the outline of the problem emerges. Was Bizzy wined and dined too?

The point of collecting fares on the day before announcing going out of business speaks to business integrity and was perhaps illegal and then there is the question why was REDjet allowed to collect fares from agents without having to comply with IATA requirements and post a bond.

14. i always thought Burns and co. were mudd f…ing one armed bandits with one bpurpose in mind to fleece the govt for millions and with the sole purose of getting them selves accreidted and fully licensed and been seen as a legitimate business in aviation industry nothing absolutely nothing surprises me at what they say. these corporate leeches have no bounds

15. @enuff

If Chris throws his support behind Stuart and Mia is found complicit in whatever strategy Stuart is playing out then this is his only chance. It looks like Stuart is looking for a knockout punch to win the next election.

16. @ ONIONS

for whom the bell tolls! seems to me it is tolling for AFTA!

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Check affa……mekkin Sturet SNORT…….the FBI files above in a bird’s nest Mr. Latin lingoed..

18. @ Flintstones
    Bushie was thinking the identical thing.
    This man has to be mad or retarded….. First to come with his ridiculous low fare scheme which was CLEARLY targeted at extracting slush funds from the public purse….
    Now his stance on refunding deposits paid by unserved passengers is insulting.

The truth is that we err when we allow people like Burns to come here with their highfaluting schemes and their warped morals in the hope for jobs for Bajans.

That this could be a matter of policy of both the BLP and DLP, – 50 years after introducing free education to university level, tells us that we NEED to fire a number of the idiots at the policy level in education and to launch a new revolution in that area…

19. Does anyone know if the Burns Boys come from an Aviation background?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 1, 2012 at 8:53 AM |

One notices your deliberate intent to eschew any mention of the role the Minister responsible for International Transport in this whole fiasco.

Do you really believe that white shady investors would go out of their way to wine and dine poor black politicians in opulence and lavish surroundings with promises of secret financial advances for personal use without a quid pro quo coming out of the arranged overseas visits?

Red Caribbean version of “easy jet” might have fallen from the skies but there are burning questions still to be answered.

You have been made a mockery of burnsy boy but you still have few chips to call in. By spilling your guts sweet revenge would be yours. Your honest ancestors would be proud of you!

Is There Honest Poverty and For A’ That and A’ That.

Is there for honest poverty
    That hangs his head, an’ a’ that
    The coward slave, we pass him by
    We dare be poor for a’ that
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that
    Our toil’s obscure and a’ that
    The rank is but the guinea’s stamp
    The man’s the gowd for a’ that

What though on hamely fare we dine
    Wear hoddin grey, an’ a’ that
    Gie fools their silks, and knaves their wine
    A man’s a man, for a’ that
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that
    Their tinsel show an’ a’ that
    The honest man, though e’er sae poor
    Is king o’ men for a’ that

Ye see yon birkie ca’d a lord
    Wha struts an’ stares an’ a’ that
    Tho’ hundreds worship at his word
    He’s but a coof for a’ that
    For a’ that, an’ a’ that
    His ribband, star and a’ that
    The man o’ independent mind
    He looks an’ laughs at a’ that

A prince can mak’ a belted knight
    A marquise, duke, an’ a’ that
    But an honest man’s aboon his might
    Gude faith, he maunna fa’ that
    For a’ that an’ a’ that
    Their dignities an’ a’ that
    The pith o’ sense an’ pride o’ worth
    Are higher rank that a’ that

Then let us pray that come it may
    (as come it will for a’ that)
    That Sense and Worth, o’er a’ the earth
    Shall bear the gree an’ a’ that
    For a’ that an’ a’ that
    It’s coming yet for a’ that
    That man to man, the world o’er
    Shall brithers be for a’ that

Written by your Conscience Robert Burns.

21. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Does going for Arthur’s head change the electoral landscape? Does knocking out Lynch change the outcome in SMS? The answer to both is no. People aren’t going to vote for the BLP because they “want” Arthur. And in any case he will again win his seat as certain as Lynch will lose his.

If the DLP is going with guns blazing then they need to more carefully select the “birds” they shoot at. Also, Barbadians want results and action, not rhetoric and allegations.

The budget changed nothing politically. Tapes and reports will change nothing on the ground in the constituencies. Performance and a perception of ability are the key factors to squeezing out a victory. Haggat Hall did not win the election on it’s own, it merely tipped the inevitable balance beyond the BLP’s recovery.

This is not Haggat Hall and it is not 2008.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing (and polling) | July 1, 2012 at 10:47 AM |

Excellent political analysis!

Let’s see how the likes of “ac”, “!”, and “to the point” deal with that!

Expect some ad hominems and political red herrings!

23. @Observing

Of course the x-factor in the argument is what is it that the DLP believes is so damning that would give it a political advantage. The poll says the electorate cares about the economy and leadership. Can the narrative be changed by the DLP?

24. @David

A leader should have certain charecteristics, one of which should be honesty. Would I vote for a leader who has no integrity? Certainly not regardless to which politcal party i prefer.

25. Was it that the FBI report showed who has money stashed away overseas and where exactly the money was sitting?

If so, perhaps Stuart’s goal is to repatriate the funds in an effort to help the country through the coming difficult years.

26. old onion bags Avatar

Hey FBI cold case investigators,….could use some help finding RELIEF from a NO BALL Budget…..help us, please as we were looking for ..

1.Vat off light and water bills .
    2. An expanded vat exempted. food basket for the poor
    3. Price control on sardines, biscuits and cornbeef..( poor to live at least)
    4.Lowering of petrol prices by another 16c.
    5.Vat off Day(15 %) …every 2 months.
    6.Traveling Allowance only non taxable.
    7.Vehicle registrations revert to 2007.
    8.Cost of bread going down.

AT LEAST A LITTLE REPRIEVE…..but WE GOT NOTHING NOTHING NOTHING…..a political NOTHING Budget……these leads still fresh!

27. Indeed the political landscape is changing and that includes good leadership across the board and not just leadership of an economy but complete leadership of a country that embodies compliments and emboldens a people with leader that all could be proud of

28. @ Observing
    You have been asking questions like this now for some time…. Does this change anything? Does that change anything?…

You are mixing apples and oranges.

Of course it changes nothing in the bigger picture! But 98% of the discussions here on BU is not related to the bigger picture, it is focused on the little petty picture…. And in that regard, you are WRONG! It changes things.

Why do you think that the still secret person(s) behind Wickham’s recent poll chose to focus on the FACT that the PM has been indecisive?

Did the pollster focus on the FACT that respondents rated the DLP to have BETTER candidates? NO!!
    Had the pollster been paid by the DLP, he would have built his report around that statistic and concludede that the DLP would likely win the most seats.

The POINT is that people are easily led, easily misled, and they never fail to follow the herd.

…If the DLP is able to totally discredit Arthur (not a large challenge) then the sheep will herd off in that direction and presto!! Mission accomplished for FS.

Your problem, Observing, is that you think that most persons are as bright as you are….

29. @Observing and polling

I check with someone from Income Tax and the budget gave those persons let say working for $5000 a month and additional $2495 a year. Thats $208.00 per month in take home pay. Doesnt that count? Then agin, i dont expect you and Onions amd Miller et al to recognize that, among other things.

30. @ David

Don’t mind Bizzy with that nonsense about $19.99 and $9.99, either way REDjet was doomed. The issue is that Bizzy resigned as a director because of the bad publicity coming from the collapse so he high tailed it and left his business partners to face the heat.

31. @ ac

“Indeed the political landscape is changing and that includes good leadership across the board and not just leadership of an economy but complete leadership of a country that embodies compliments and emboldens a people with leader that all could be proud of”

See what I said on a previous blog: mediocrity and dunce embraced.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Anonymous42 | July 1, 2012 at 11:30 AM |
    “Was it that the FBI report showed who has money stashed away overseas and where exactly the money was sitting?
    If so, perhaps Stuart’s goal is to repatriate the funds in an effort to help the country through the coming difficult years.”

First he would have to ask the police to institute criminal proceedings against the Bajan account holders.

You think Leroy P would fall within the dragnet?

33. @Old onions

You forgot that pooe barbadian dont have to pay bus fare for their childdren. a Family of four would have saved 4x2x240 = 1920 dollars. The monay saved from not paying bus fare could be used to pay for the things in the expanded basket you spoke of.

The Minimunwage has gon up for the shop assistants and related catgories? By the way do you how much the increase was. While you were in government what did you do?

What have you done with the money that was borrowed for housing purposes from NIS?

The Govt expanded the summer camp programme so that the said lower class persons wont have to pay baby sitters during the summer.

What about the houses that have been buillt? How much your govt built in fourteen years?

What about your lied PM Arthur doesnt know when to tell the truth.

What about your role in Gems.

To finish you off, by devouring you. This Govt could have done the things you make reference tof, but it would have had to reduce the public service. Your govt bloat it with to reduce the employment rate, even though a lot of them dont have anything to do. To have laid them off, would have spelt doom for this econmy. But then again, you would have preferred to have chaos in this island to suit you and your followers, but it has not happene and will not happen. Barbadians will decide what they wan when elections are called, so you have some more time being strung out, while Mia continue to work on her plot..

34. @Bushie

cant you see that observing doesnt have any analytical skills. according to Enuff, he is a dunce.

35. @To the point

Actually what Ryan Straugn from BES is saying that the government needs to charge at the price point which will cover cost i.e. raise bus fares etc.

36. @Rotten Onions

Fixed travelling allowance is a benefit and should have always been taxed, you dunce. Askd Frank Forde, Do you know the difference between communted travel and fixed travel? You old dunce that remind me of pre-historic reasoning.

37. @AC

Burns and his Irish cohorts perhaps belong to the Irish Mafia, thats how they operate. He got the gall to insult the govt an the travelling public. If it did Tom Adams he would have been deported fron bout here, like what Tom did to Gonzales.

38. @David
    can u post the article which you have mentioned above.

39. My family remembers the night Owen Arthur said there was a FBI report on his desk as if it was yesterdy. We were in the front house watching CBC news. Peter Thorne was the interveiwer Owen sat on a couch at Adams airport . We could speculate he made the claim of having the report to flush out the high ranking civil servant and Central Bank staff who it was rumoured were named by the FBI as holders of multi million $ acccounts in Miami. Its a cold case now but PM Stuart was right in revisiting it we need closure. Budget debate after budget debate Owen Arthur is caught telling shocking lies.

40. ” a Family of four would have saved 4x2x240 = 1920 dollars.”

If the cost of living had not increased by 30%. More rubbish.

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ To the point
    Now let’s be fair…..Is there anything..anything in the Budget….that can have a meaningful emphasis to restart this failing economy ? I musse a real dunce if I would believe that rebates on solar implants or a $ 135.00 increase for 27,600 middle classers will do anything in the way of commercial activity.Why all that is left for us is to wait for the bottom of the bucket to fall out..if we remain on this path.What about the gasoline and vat on BL &P …surely there was some latitude there.Look if we took of 2.5 % off vat every 4 months then…are you aware of the spurt in business activity that would come about on these days. ?…keeping Sales staff from the breadline…..these are measures that could have done some thing in restarting the economy ..which you all killed in the first place.. am i being that unreasonable..? That Budget did nothing !

42. old onion bags Avatar

corr….one day every four months

43. @Enuff

Those who can afford to help the country in these times should and those vunerable shoul be protected. It is people like you who cant see the whole picture, but only interested in self. What do you want the govt to do, if there is ne leeway? Cause trouble in the econmy. The rise in the cost of living in most cases is beyond our control, and the govt reconized that when it came to power.

If the govt did not do what it did the deficit would have spiralled out of control, but then again i dont expect you to appreciate that as you must have a talking point. One of the basic things in logic, is you analyse and come to a conclusion, but you dont seem to be blessed with that ability, so you woul look for sound bites.

44. @Onions

what will or can the middle clas do with the savings in income tax of 2495.00 for those working for five thousand dollars a month.

The govt budget was a good one in the circumstance. Tell me where mottley is goin to get 500m dollars from.

45. old onion bags Avatar

@TTP
    I see you are about .. laughs..and not serious debate….save it though..come election morn you will need it…watch ! Ado

46. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@bushie
    I’m a big picture kinda guy. People follow bright lights as well as the herd. Discrediting Arthur will keep independents home, it will not make them vote for the DLP. The numerical disadvantage of the DLP in terms of members and enthusiasm still places them on the back foot. Thanks for the compliment.

There’s a distinct difference between civil leadership and political leadership. Politics is in a class of its own.

@david
    Damning evidence will be scoffed at because it is aged, hasn’t been acted upon, and won’t be used to place those that deserve to go to Doods in a small cubicle.

@ttp
    Good points (except the dunce part). Just need decent wrapping paper and you might actually convince one or two people.

47. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@ttp
    “The rise in the cost of living in most cases is beyond our control, and the govt recognized that when it came to power. ”

Wow. I humbly retract my earlier comments.

48. @ To the point

-$1920+$4000 in spending is NOT a saving. I am just telling it like it is no spin……simple arithmetic.

49. @enuff

It has been determined that the allowances (confirmed for retired deputy Inland Revenue Commissioner and Caswell) was illegal for all these years. In much the same way paying 2 pensions. Suppose the law can be changed in this case also!