Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

There was a noticeable shift in debating strategy on the government side in the Budget debate just completed. Minister Chris Sinckler known for the old fashion debating style in the mould of the late Harold Blackman and Lammie Craig appeared at times to be straining at the leash to go after Arthur which he resisted. Surprisingly it was Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart who departed from his usual studied delivery to attack leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur on the CLICO matter and the buried and forgotten FBI Report.

The aggression which Stuart unveiled during the debate surprised many. Barbados Labour Party (BLP) supporters believe Stuart has finally shown his true colours. What man of integrity what! Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters are breathing a sigh of relief that their man has shown some passion at last.

Of interest to BU is the fact Prime Minister Stuart selected CLICO and the FBI as the issues to launch his salvo on the other side. Given the protracted nature of a CLICO settlement and the likelihood many CLICO policyholders will be dissatisfied at the outcome – why select the CLICO issue? Not to forget there is the Leroy Parris dimension. Messy! A reasonable conclusion is that the government will attempt to attribute some of the blame for the CLICO Mess to Arthur and the BLP. Good luck if that is the strategy.

More surprising has been the return by the government to the forgotten FBI Report. If this were a Matlock Show the judge would be forced to ask where is this lead of argument intended to unearth. Is this a case of the government framing an argument to say to the public Arthur lied about the report? Is it a case of the government finding the report? It certainly makes no sense for Prime Minister Stuart to reference the FBI Report without having in mind an objective. What is it?

There have been several references on BU about The Pegasus Tape which places Arthur in a negative light. The emerging strategy of the DLP appears to be one of discrediting Arthur. This strategy should not surprise anyone because the Opposition is currently winning on the issues of leadership and the economy. The two issues were identified by the CADRES Poll as the battleground issues.

1. old onion bags Avatar

To be placing hope that the International World Markets have plans to level out is but FOLLY…..”THEY” WANT IT TO CONTINUE….get real ..”one man’s loss another man’s gains.”

The claims echo the payment protection insurance (PPI) scandal that emerged last year, costing banks billions of pounds, and come in the week Barclays was fined £290 million for manipulating interest rates.

We need to start paddling and doing what we can for ourselves and stop following what they want to tell us.
    Stop the excuses..>“The rise in the cost of living in most cases is beyond our control, and the govt recognized that when it came to power. ”

We have agriculture…start with that….cut the import bill.
    GET PROACTIVE !!

2. Onions

You are on the right track. The world has changed. The narrative about managing our business has to change.

3. @ david

I don’t support the reinstatement of ‘illegal’ travel allowances. My post was about households saving $1920 in bus fares for their school children versus the overall increased cost of living. Just imagine that same household owns a car. The increased road tax, insurance and cost of fuel alone wipes out that $1920 in less than 3 months. Why do we so called intelligent people continue to make excuses for the inept and mediocre? wunna blind or just stubborn?

4. @ac
    There’s a distinct difference between civil leadership and political leadership. Politics is in a class of its own.

@ Observing
    if one chooses to belive that. people are not willing to accept unethical practices as the norm anymore either civil or political look at the many uprising in varying countries where the people have brought down their govt due in part to corruption in the past years, the people eyes are opened it is not going to be business as usual!

5. old onion bags Avatar

NOW THIS WHERE THE BUDGET …was to cut in…like in days of AGM Tom Adams…genius at work…moving this ..taking a lil that….reorganising the economic inputs to achieve outputs…NOT A SIT AND WAIT….HOLD ALL MONEYS STOP COMMERCE..WAIT >>STOP and wait …waiting n watching for what..? Elections ?

6. old onion bags Avatar

WHERE HAVE ALL YOUR LEADERS GONE…DLP ?….
    ….gimme a EWB….but not a sandi…please.

7. @enuff

Sorry, understand now your intervention is about bus fares. How do you respond to Estwick’s position that given our high import reliance on oil and food inflation is unavoidable.

8. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Taken that we’ve come to an agreement, then it stands to reason that Barbados has a serious problem since we stand for so much sh*#* from ALL our leaders.

@ttp and David
    If the government knew, or found out that cost of living or inflation could not be contained…shouldn’t this inability have been conveyed from day one given it was job #1, 2 and 3?

9. @observing

The DLP would have mortgaged its soul given the anxiety caused by being in the political wilderness for 14 years!

10. old onion bags Avatar

The truth of the matter in ALL BLUNDER-ISMS that we have seen..is that the men were green-horns….face it. DLP-ites….from Leadership , MOF, party communications,budgets, economic choices…..THEY WERE TOO INEXPERIENCED….and just blundered thru…with an attitude..never take BLP advice….well babies…NOW YOU PAY !…in all the history of bababoess..wha we neva see a budget like this in a election year….onions nah lie.?

11. @ David

So Estwick had a damascene moment post January 15, 2008? After all, commodity prices were on the rise long before January 15, 2008; yet he and his party told the electorate that it was collusion on the part of government and the distributors that caused the high prices. More proof that the DLP’s strategy is based on demagoguery.

12. @ observing.

PERCEPTION is a powerful tool of convincing the mind and closing one eyes to reality but it can only take you short term because when people eyes become opened and realised their mistakes and consequences Reality steps in and all hell breaks loose. the govt of the past being in controlled was able to manipulate the masses and fooled them that all was good and everything being done was in their best interest but lo and behold reality is beginning to take a foothold and people sooner rather than later have started to confront leadership at a higher level based on trust worthiness and believe you me the tide has begun to turn and leaders who thought they were exempt from unethical practices under the lens of the political microscope would be indeed be in for a rude awakening. the pm is on the right track and for the sake of the country and its integrity must remain focus and intent on getting rid of corruption and unethical practices within our political system

13. @AC
    well written, that bush bath bushie give u wuking. I think he need to give island Gal one. How yah like that.

14. @enuff

as i said, u r only about sound bites, was it only bus fares that the middle to lower class beefitte from, in addition to the 1920 i woul have used, add in the move to minimun wage to 250 a week how much that would be a mont, lets assume minimun wage was 200 thats an additional 2600 hundred a year. What about the savings in not having to pay to send their children to camp. Lets assume private camps charge 75 a week for eight weeks and govt is free thats an additional six hundred dollars in savings.

I think you need to think before you write. If most of the factors that affect our economy are imported, do u think that we can control the cost, or u would like the govt to reduce taxees and consequently reduce revenue and consequently reduction or services to the less vylnerable.

If u believe the budget was nothing, why are people saying the concessions would jump start agriculture, my only regret that levies were not levelled on idle africultural land.

I done with you, where there is no vision the people perish and since you dont have any vision u would want us to perish. It aint gone happen yah hear.

15. @ to the point’/

there is no hope for islan gal she is beyond hope. the best we can do is pray.

16. @ To the point
    My approach to policy formulation and its effectiveness is different to yours–I am no dinosaur. Policy ought to be based on evidence not assumptions.

“I think you need to think before you write. If most of the factors that affect our economy are imported, do u think that we can control the cost, or u would like the govt to reduce taxees and consequently reduce revenue and consequently reduction or services to the less vylnerable.”

You should have told the Dems this in 2007-08.

17. @ac
    : “PERCEPTION is a powerful tool of convincing the mind and closing one eyes to reality but it can only take you short term because when people eyes become opened and realised their mistakes and consequences”

It’s amazing how your arguments can be turned against the said persons you are trying to defend.

“the pm is on the right track ”

It’s not the PM I’m “worrieid” about.

@Enuff
    “You should have told the Dems this in 2007-08”

this is the point that the DLP supporters are missing completely, hence their arguments and “defence” are in the wrong place at the wrong targets.

@to the point
    “where there is no vision the people perish ”

Please…encapsulate the DLP’s vision for Barbados in a few words, and attribute it to any member of parliament or document you like.

18. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Bush Tea | July 1, 2012 at 9:38 AM |
    “The truth is that we err when we allow people like Burns to come here with their highfaluting schemes and their warped morals in the hope for jobs for Bajans.”

serves all who were involved right. if Burns was a black man from north africa or the caribbean, he would have be laughed out of the island but a jackass looking, crumpled=up face dummy, such as Burns could come here, with high ideas, and the masses would kiss his hoof. i have NO sympathy for Bizzy and whoever else, as a matter of fact they only got what they have been dishing out to small black entrepenuers over the years,e.g the reconditioned car industry for instance when Simpson motors along with others, delivered a signed a letter to Arthur at the time demanding that interest be increased on
    the reconditioned cars, effectively shutting down those business. i hope others follow. i.e. that all the other business here that has been hell bent on robbing the small man would fall just like Redjet.

19. @ Smooth Chocolate

BUT WHAT REDJET HAS DONE IS PROBABLY CRIMINAL. THEY TOOK MONEY FROM PASSENGERS FOR TRIPS INTO THE FUTURE WHEN THEY (REDJET) KNEW FULL WELL THAT THE AIRLINE WAS BROKE AND COULD NOT DELIVER ON THEIR END OF THE DEAL.

UNLESS AND UNTIL ALL FULLY REFUNDED BAJANS WITH USELESS TICKETS ON REDJET SHOULD BOYCOTT ALL OF BIZZY WILLIAMS BUSINESSES IN BARBADOS.

20. It’s amazing how your arguments can be turned against the said persons you are trying to defend.
    @observing
    the people of whom you speak have not been in power for 14years and don’t have a history of unethical practices by their leaders. The ones of whom i am speaking leadership has left a trail of deceit along the way for all and sundry to gaze and analysis, there is no dismissing that , So far i have never heard of any !any! not one iota of misconduct on the part of PM STUART. as a leader he owes the country a duty to set it on a correct path not only economically but morally as well away from corruption one than the past govt has set in place.

21. @ac
    Last time I checked corruption was punishable or at least indictable. Where corruption exists, those that do not prosecute it are accomplices or just as guilty.

Not a prosecution. Not an audit. Not an investigation. Not an inquiry. not a forensic report. Four years hence.

Trails are easy to follow. Even easier to bring to the fore. Failure to hold those accountable for corrupt practices up to legal or civic scrutiny renders accusations against them null and void. Both politically and otherwise.

Once this is the case, only debate on the issues and performance(s) remains.

22. wunna guys must thank wunna lucky stars dont kick a gift horse in the mouth . but if it was me you and others of your ilke would not be sitting around being ungrateful and reminding me of my gratefulness all wunna backsides would be debushing barbados and saving the taxpayers lots of money.

23. old onion bags Avatar

Hey ac
    OSA just punch a BIG hole in this whole nonsense of FBI or CIA files theory…..why ya doan come down here and get some JWB…it flowing ….a Gorg’s Paradise.About 500 people in attendance and rising…

24. Observing | July 1, 2012 at 5:59 PM |
    Last time I checked corruption was punishable or at least indictable. Where corruption exists, those that do not prosecute it are accomplices or just as guilty.

Not a prosecution. Not an audit. Not an investigation. Not an inquiry. not a forensic report. Four years hence.

Trails are easy to follow. Even easier to bring to the fore. Failure to hold those accountable for corrupt practices up to legal or civic scrutiny renders accusations against them null and void. Both politically and otherwise.

Once this is the case, only debate on the issues and performance(s) remains.

There is only one single former PM who has ever been before a commission of enquiry …. and he was postumously made a national hero!!!

25. old onion bags Avatar

If this attendance is any indication to go by…. St.James South is a safe seat….Bye Bye DLP…lol

26. David | June 30, 2012 at 9:12 PM |
    I will not attempt to defend Mr Arthur with respect to the charges of alleged impropriety constantly hurled at him for i believe that if ther is indeed evidence to link Mr Arthur to such, then it is incumbent upon the DLp to produce the evidence and let the chips fall where they may.
    I was rather surprised when Mr Arthur chose not to defend himself when the $75,000 cheque matter( which pales into insignificance when compared tothe less than transparent the involvement of Mr Thompson into the CLICO ponzi scheme)was trown in his face once again by both Mr Stuart and Mr Sinckler. Clearing the air would have done his credibility and integrity a world of good and perhaps remove those lingering doubts about a matter which without doubt hasdamaged his image but which to all intents and purposes should really be the business of the General council of the BLP.

“It will be interesting to see where this FBI Report leads. If it turns up nothing new then,”,
    Mr David BU, neither the comments of Mr Stuart or Mr Arthur during the debate in Parliament give credence to the view that a report would be produced. Matter of fact, the Prime Minister is reported as saying” One of the first things that my predecessor in office enquired about in my at Government Headquarters on the Friday after the general election,was that FBI report. “It could not be found anywhere” .
    Mr Arthur was equally emphatic in declaring “There has never been presented to me an FBI report as the Member is claiming.” and he called on Mr Stuart as Prime Minister to produce the report if there was one. So i find the speculation on the forum about a seemingly non-existent FBI report amusing and to no avail.

27. Does anyone know if the Burns Boys come from an Aviation background’

of what interest is that information to you now? didn’t you throw your full support behind RDJET when others were raising red flags?

28. @balance

Thought twice about answering you because it seems your job on BU is to come with pedantic BS. What was the thesis of the back and forth between Stuart and Arthur? Was it about Arthur denying knowledge about an FBI Report or was it to do with Stuart accusing Arthur of what he said in an interview with Thorne from CBC?

On the REDget issue there is no response required.

29. Was it about Arthur denying knowledge about an FBI Report or was it to do with Stuart accusing Arthur of what he said in an interview with Thorne from CBC?
    if that is your view then so be it but i refer you to the caption in Friday’s weekend nation- PM, OPPOSITION LEADER CLASH OVER ALLEGED FBI PROBE-uinder the headline .’ GHOST’ REPORT
    does not have to think twice about answering you when you seem not to understand your role as the BU editor IS TO BE FAIR AND BALANCED.

30. For those who listened to the exchange live between the two reading the Nation report is not necessary. All BU has to do is share our opinion like all and sundry on this blog.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | July 1, 2012 at 8:21 PM |
    “So i find the speculation on the forum about a seemingly non-existent FBI report amusing and to no avail.”

Balance, I am trying to figure out your position of this missing or phantom report. What is the political intent of Mr. Stuart raising this matter in Parliament at this point in time? Since Mr. Stuart was informed, on assuming office, that the report “could not have been found” don’t you think a competent AG or PM would have taken steps to obtain a replacement copy (if it existed in the first place) from the authors of such an official and important report?
    Mr. Stuart implicitly accused Mr. Arthur of lying to the country and by extension complicit in criminal matters by suppressing or destroying a report on the corrupt activities of senior public officers and political figures.

The onus therefore, “balance” is on Mr. Stuart to produce the report. He has the wherewithal at his disposal to take such action. It is not Mr. Arthur’s responsibility or can it be in his interest to magically produce such report .It is highly likely the local American Embassy would have received a copy of such a report. Did Mr. Arthur use his “agents saboteurs” to infiltrate such bastion of security to remove any vestiges of such a politically valuable document? Maybe Wikileaks could shed some light here!

Come on balance, Mr. Stuart is rather weak and boring when it comes to discussing matters of an economic or financial nature (that is what the budget was about) and as a result he must find something “riveting” to get people to listen to him, especially at that time of the day. He relishes in politically undressing Mr. Arthur knowing full well he could attract a large audience of voyeurs; with the likes of “ac” and BLPNationNewspaper in the front row ogling. Like Mr. Barrow with the Duffus commission of enquiry a prime minister in office that long of a period is always an easy target for scandal and allegations of corruption and malfeasance in public office.

32. @Balance

you come with this bull shit all the time. Arthut publicly said there was a report and he has a responsibility to Barbados to prouce such a report or admit that he is a habitual liar.

what the hell is wrong with your logic, sat in my living room and heard him say that and it was also in the papers, the nation,

33. David

I only have access to the online Nation but I didn’t know their headline proclaimed “Ghost report”. So where did the rumour start? I have been hearing about this for years and one of my big up Banker friends in Barbados told me about this “report” and even told me about some names which were supposedly on it. Is the “report” a figment of Bajans imagination like the Steel Donkey or the Bacoo?

Nothing ghostly about the Nation’s headline they applied their Editorial license to good effect in a partisan manner.

If this “report” exists it should not be a problem for the Gov’t to get its hands on it as the US Gov’t would not turn down a request from a friendly Gov’t to forward a copy and if the PM has the goods he should tell all and not wait for some December surprise.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | July 1, 2012 at 10:06 PM |
    ” … Arthur publicly said there was a report and he has a responsibility to Barbados to produce such a report or admit that he is a habitual liar.”

Only an ass with a triple “A” rating would subscribe to such arrant nonsense.
    Mr. Arthur is presumed innocent until proven guilty. Mr. Stuart has made accusations and he must prove Mr. Arthur to be a big liar by producing such a report.

Would you be OK with the public accusing the recently deceased PM of defrauding the CLICO policy holders without tangible and incontrovertible evidence ?

35. @AC

the reason why the hotel maffia attacked stuart is because he cannot be bribed.

Forget about enuff and onions they are relics. The dlp was not in goverenment so when they took up the realms they realized that the BLP had given the countrya false impression when they had some of the massive debt well concealed. Nevertheless, the ecoonmy has been managed well and they dont like it.

If people are saying that leadership should be an issue when the elections are called, dont you think thw quality of the leader should aslo enter the equation. Thats why it is fair fame to deal with the reliability of a leader.

I hope that the DLP has made copies of the tape with mr thorne to use in an adv showing how arthur cannt be trusted. Well the recor of Hansard whould be used where he deny he kew of the contract of vesco. The coopy of the 75 000 cheque deposited to his account and the pegasus infor should slso form part of the commuication strategy against him, whar say ye.

36. @Miller the nuke

when the tape is produced will he deny he said that and when the newppaper clipping is produced will he deny it. Stuart got he by he balls and going to squeeze he one way or another. David Thompson dead so he cant defend he self, i am dealing with the living buddy,

37. @Sargeant

i sat in my living room an heard owen arthur said there was a report, The crux of the matter is he is the one who said so beamed to our living room and got the audacity to say that he never said so. in fact that is whyhe called a dlp meber of parliament to ask what bombshell that was going to be dropped during the Estimates.

I am sure david, if a punlic poll was done if arthur did say that, most adult barbadains will remember that.

38. Agree the onus is on PM Stuart to shed light on the FBI Report.

39. @Sargeant

All kinds of names were tossed around even a Captain somebody. We shall all wait to see where this goes but the ball is now in the PM’s court.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | July 1, 2012 at 10:32 PM |
    “David Thompson dead so he cant defend he self, i am dealing with the living buddy,”

But his children and family are still with us.
    “The evil that men do lives after them; the good is oft interred with their bones.”
    “A good reputation, based upon what a person is in his dealings with others, is certainly of greater worth in God’s eyes than wealth.”
    “Rob not the poor, because he is poor: neither oppress the afflicted in the gate.”

We are not interested in hearsay or tape recordings. We want Mr. Stuart to produce the report.

Mr. Stuart and yourself would do well to bear the following in mind when accusing Mr. Arthur of dishonesty.

“Do not repeat anything you will not sign your name to. ~Author Unknown”

“To know what is right and not do it is the worst cowardice. ~Confucius”

41. The only reason why the report will not be shown to the public is that there is likely to be “cross-contamination”.

Barbados politicians will talk nuff shiite but none ah dem gine get lock up so enjoy the electioneering theatrics coming soon to a mass meeting near you.

Hope you enjoyed Canada Day Sargeant. I spent most of it watching the West Indies beat NZ. Sweeeeeet!

42. @Miller the sidesteper

you are so pious buddy his wife and children are not repsonsible for his deed or misdeeds. We are daling with the living and issues surrounding your corrupt and lied leader OSA. Tou have no escape routes and I wouldnt let you.

Mr. Stuart does not have to produce the report, all he has to do is to produce the evidence that he made the statement first and foremost. He prouce the evidence that OSA was aware and involved in the Vesco fiasco. Knowing Mr. Stuart, he woulnt make a statement like that unless he has proof that Owen said that. Are you aware that one can be convicted on circumstanttial eveidence.

You are struggling to put up a defense. But wait where you went for such a long time? As Caswell will say, you are a glutton for punishment. Yah want to take me on, bring it on. I love a fight like this buddy.

43. @To the Point

The question remains however, will it resonate with the electorate at a time when economic and leaderships issues are at the forefront.

44. @David

you and i know that stuart will not porduce the report if he has it as politicians are a class and they protect their interest, but what he can and will atleast do is produce the evidence where woen made the statement and that will suffice that owen is a tranger to the truth. But then again, Mr. stuart does everything is a measured way, so he is unpredictable. we did not even know he has a vested interest in clico by being an investor.

45. @ttp
    “The coopy of the 75 000 cheque deposited to his account and the pegasus infor should slso form part of the commuication strategy against Arthur”

If the DLP focuses on this as the plank of their campaign they will lose bigger than they are slated to as we speak. Decapitating Arthur does absolutely NOTHING to the strength of the BLP at the ballot box. Via Mia they have provided debatable alternatives, shown that they can be considered to run the country again and demonstrated that they have depth on their team with respect to the the primary issue (economy and cost of living concerns). When in opposition that’s 80% of the battle done even before it has started.

Have you read the broken promises leaflet??? Care to comment on the ISSUES rather than the slander???

“We are dealing with the living and issues surrounding your corrupt and lied leader”

If it turns out (proven) that DT was in bed with CLICO on decisions, transactions, political interference, money shifting, gross campaign financing and cronyism….doesn’t the fate of 35,000 and 4-5 OECD countries affect the living?

Just observing

46. @To the point

So if Stuart does the same as all the others (political class) and you are happy with proving Arthur a liar what is this saying? An endorsement by you of the status quo?

47. @David

The elecions are going to be fought around leadership, among other things, thats what I am saying. Further our political cultural lansscape needs to change. Who will bell the cat.

I am what who belive that we are responsible for our actions and any wrong doing should be exposed. Stuart will have to decide on that, but we have not matured enough politically to expose corruption and that can only hppen when the integrity legislation is passed. When we remove the capmpaign financers from the political process. look at the amount of maney that was spent by both parties, do you believe their returns to the Chief Electoral Officer were truthful.

WE NEED THE LEGSLATION NOW MORESO THAN EVER.

48. @oBSERVING

DO U THINK I AM NAIVE ENOUGH TO THINK THAT THAT WOULD BE THE CENTRE PIECE OF ANY COMMUINCATION STRATEGY I AM SAYING THAT AMONG OTHER THINGS DECAPITATE THE LIAR. SHOULDNT YOU BE ADVISING THE BLP BLOOGERS HERE AND NOT ME I CAN BE AN INDEPENDENT VOTER YAH KNOW.

49. @dAVID

DO YOU SEE HOW OBAMA IS STARTING TO CARFT HIS STRATEGY EVEN THOUGH ECONOMIC ISSUES ARE BEING PUSHED BY THE REPUBLICAN. THE DLP HAS TO CARFT ITS STRATEGY TO SHOW INSPITE OF THE ECONOMIC TIMES, IT KEPT FULL EMPLOYMENT IN THE PS, AMONG OTHER THINGS. IT HAS ALREADY STARTED TO HAVE A RESPONSE TO THE LEADERSHIP OF STUART VERSUSA RTHUR AND IT NEEDS TO DO MORE TWEEKING.

IT HS TO HAVE A SPECIAL STRATEGY FOR THE FLOATING VOTER WHO COMES FROM MOSTLY THE MIDDLE CLASS, THIS IS MY VIEW AS THERE IS NO ANECDOTAL EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT MY VIEW.