Submitted by Everton Cumberbatch
While Clico policyholders and the judicial managers might be going after Leroy Parris, He [Leroy Parris] has been going after Sir Richard Lionel Cheltenham Q.C and Larry Leslie Tatem in the high courts to recover half million dollars he spent on their behalf in Miami with the expectation that he would have gotten 25% share in a local company to buy land.
Parris represented by Thompson and Associates filed a law suite in April 2008 to recover his money and the matter has been pending judicial decision ever since.
This affair started with Parris authorising a loan from Clico which was signed for Cheltenham and Tatem to purchase land on the condition that in addition to his personal injection of US$500,000 paid from his private bank account in Miami he would have gotten a 25% share of the company. The principal in the company had no knowledge of the arrangement between Parris, Cheltenham and Tatem and refused to agree after the fact. No shares could have been issued to Parris without the principal’s authorisation and after some time Parris sued Cheltenham, the attorney for the company and Tatem to recover his money.
This action was subsequently joined by the court to an application for relief by the principal of the company calling for the removal of Cheltenham and Tatem from the company. Final judgement by the court is pending in the matter Suit #770 of 2008 after arguments objecting to Cheltenham being joined as a respondent has been heard.
Meanwhile Cheltenham and Tatem have repaid their loan to Clico just before the collapse but have not yet refunded Parris his US$500,000.
Gee – what a bunch. Incredible. Beginning to think ‘Plantation Deeds’ is not enitrely crazy.
Interesting.
Who is the pincipal of the company that made the purchase of land in the US who so vehemently opposed Lery Parris getting a piece of the action? I wonder if there is another back story there as well? 🙂
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/sp-worry-over-clico/
Yo Everton
Is this the DLP-ite Everton Cumberbatch posting this article here ? If it is we were looking forward to seeing you play a more dynamic role in the 4 years scheme of things rather than being an anonymous or behind the scene writing speeches for the D’s.
Exactly bro what is your slant today ? We welcome the article though…fire go come from all ends It go B interesting.
Licence on the line
An attempt by a local gun dealer to import ten sniper rifles into Barbados has prompted a stern response from Commisioner of Police (COP) Darwin Dottin while the United States State Department has raised the red flag.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/licence-on-the-line/
Another gun dealer with Barbados Labour Party connections.
Who is Greg Cozier is he Tony cozier’s son ?
We dont need gun dealers in small Barbados there should be two institutions handling guns the RBPF and BDF licenses for others should be immediately revoked if they persist arrest them and place them before the courts for trial and jailing.
@ Observer the legal guru:
“…. in addition to his personal injection of US$500,000 paid from his private bank account in Miami he would have gotten a 25% share of the company…… ”
I was of the distinct opinion that it was a breach of the rules and regulations of the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) for citizens of Barbados to hold offshore accounts without the approval of the Bank. How was this account funded? From proceeds originating in Barbados? Were the necessary CBB clearance applied for and appropriately granted? Did these proceeds pass the Anti-Money Laundering tests? Were these cash holdings or interest earned therefrom declared in the relevant tax returns either on behalf of the individual overseas account holder or on behalf of any corporate entity in which the said account holder might have a beneficial interest?
Were any of the provisions or canons of public policy violated by these acts of commission and omission?
If these prerequisites and conditions have not been met or fulfilled can such a contract be deemed “valid”? We would leave you to enlighten us about the legal ramifications of such a judgment on the ‘validity of contract’.
One would understand if you, out of sheer professional decency, might want to ‘recuse’ yourself from commenting because of a possible conflict of interest which might arise as a result of being so close to the ‘fireside’.
@Peace | March 16, 2012 at 8:24 AM |
Jail for whom? You forget there are TWO ‘Bubadusses’?
You remember the jada man son? One would not be surprised if he is not still in the business. No only building ovens but also in the ‘monkey business of handling gun”‘.
Leroy Parris must be a strong man to sleep at night
The Barbados Labour Party mean that they must be returned to office by hook or by CROOK.
When the Ballot box fails to work for them then the GUNS AND AMMUNITION will work.
Hence the stockpiling of these weapons,
Why would we want ten sniper weapons in this country?
Answer that BLP.
The rich suspect that with the constant fall of the US fiat dollar economies around the world will soon crash. As a result of the chaos that will ensue they have decided to purchase sniper weapons to protect their families and properties from some distance.
Poor CCC,
The mere thought that her will lose his feast of the fatted calf has him going insane.
Carson “When the Ballot box fails to work for them then the GUNS AND AMMUNITION will work.”
Can you give the time and date of this occurrence? You just like to talk shoite! Go and wipe yuh backside yuh leaking too much outta dere.
@ Prodigal Son | March 16, 2012 at 11:56 AM |
The man CCC like he gone totally ‘bonkers’! Imagine blaming the BLP for bringing in sniper rifles to unseat his party administration. The BLP doesn’t need to adopt such mad measures. The CLICO torpedo and the broken manifesto promises especially on the high cost of living will be the booby trap to their fast choice of premature dying within 5 years.
Maybe CCC is suffering from a severe case of rabies from being bitten on his ‘doggie’ shaped sniper rifle by the same bitch he preferred over MIA.
Delusional CCC, there is nothing more dangerous that a bitch scorned so go and make amends before she kicks you out of your own bed and send you to her dog house.
@CCC I do not understand the rationale between the gun dealer and the BLP you are drawing some very long connections between them stop speculating, deal with the lotta money Parris accumulated over the years and when all the hollabuloo finish all he will pay the Court, that is if it even gets there is BDS$1,000.00!!!!, meanwhile his millions in U. S bank accounts is safe and the poor policyholder is left penniless that is the kind of justice we have here in Barbados!!!!
Thanks to an email BU stands corrected, “Maxine McClean was a director of Caribbean Commercial Bank for years before she was made a Senator and minister by the DLP Administration in 2008. Caribbean Commercial Bank was owned by CLICO Holdings Barbados” and is the bank on which the famous $75,000 political contribution was drawn.
What are you suggesting David? That just as Maxine would have been the one to obtain those paid cheques, she could also have access to the Multi-Millions of dollars worth in paid cheques in favour of the DEMS?
@Truthman
Don’t give lie to your name now. It was a clarification. Based on what is known about Maxine McClean she is a straight up lady.
Would Maxine also have been party to the agreement to allegedly pay the late PM $2.5 Millions in legal fees for the relatively small transaction re the sale of CCB by CLICO? OTHER SENIOR LAWYERS ALLEGE THAT THE MOST THEY WOULD HAVE CHARGED WOULD HAVE BEEN LESS THAN $100,000! That’s a massive difference between what the late one charged, and who at CLICO would have approved such exhorbitant fees?
Wonder what Freundel would have charged if he did the transaction. I am certain he would have applied the correct figure. So what do you think of this funny-looking transaction Freundel?
when I saw Maxine sitting beside Freundel withat deceitful looking smirk on her face as Freundel said, “I HAVE NOT READ THE CLICO REPORT”, I said to myself : “But looka how these people continuing to create this culture of deception in this country though, and keep talking about morals!”
And then I also remembered, ” But looka how this “straight-up lady” sat for a long long time in the studios of VOB, CONSTANTLY TELLING PEOPLE that she is independant moderator!”
@ CCC
Maybe CCC is suffering from a severe case of rabies from being bitten on his ‘doggie’ shaped sniper rifle by the same bitch he preferred over MIA.
Miller the Czar…..top shot again..lol… class….(Carson whimps and sits down)
Cadogan waan keep he $150 per month as Deputy Chair of the constituency council. I still don’t understand how an unelected councillor can be on BU displaying clear signs of partisanship and bias. How can he support assisting anyone on SMC who is known or perceived to be BLP? And the DLP talks about good governance..SMFH!!
Because CCC doesn’t have any shame…a parasite then..leach
@ Truthman
“when I saw Maxine sitting beside Freundel withat deceitful looking smirk on her face as Freundel said, “I HAVE NOT READ THE CLICO REPORT”, I said to myself : “But looka how these people continuing to create this culture of deception in this country though, and keep talking about morals!”
And then I also remembered, ” But looka how this “straight-up lady” sat for a long long time in the studios of VOB, CONSTANTLY TELLING PEOPLE that she is independant moderator!”…………………
Exactly my thoughts, Truthman! I hope all of them bread well buttered cause there is nowhere for them to go after we the people kick them out whenever the Fumbling man call the elections.
Does Fruendel realise how stupid he sounds when he keeps saying I have not seen the report? Can you imagine how foolish Barbados looks when their PM goes to a CARICOM meeting with CLICO being an agenda item and he says he has not seen the report?
Lord have mercy, look who leading we. He worse than Sandi!
So David, can we assume that it was Maxine who sat in on the meeting which approved the cheque because Mariano Browne said that the orders came from on high and that she gave the cheque to Mr I will not lie, cheat or steal.
No wonder she was so richly rewarded and that when the war broke out in cabinet when Chris Sinckler was removed from Foreign Affairs. Thompson told Sinckler that he (Sinckler) cannot touch Maxine. Sinckler allegedly told Maxine nobody did not vote for her and she has so much power.
Now we know why!
Prodigal……fumble trolls these blogs so be careful not to hurt his feelings too much. I haven’t read the report , eff there is one that is…and I doan need to read any report. All I can say is that we will proceed to phase two when the time is right! This is my decision and mine only. One term and one term only! 🙂 🙂
islandgal, you are right, you made me laugh!
Five more years on the opposition benches,
That is what have you BLP jokers so afraid.
As I keep telling you BLP jokers, the Bajan public will not return to their vomit.
They vomited you out in 2008.
Right now seethru shaking in his boots.
Seems to the Bushman that it should be the Bajan people shaking in their boots about now….
After spending our best resources on so called “education” on our youth for 60 years, we have reached the sorry position where we cannot find 30 honest, competent politicians including one or two real “leaders”.
…who ain’t crooked, lazy , or inept.
No one to run a big business, a utility, a bank.
Things looking so bleak that the new CJ just came back and gave one coherent speech and BAFBFP ?(Caswell deputy chairman designate) want to make him P.M…..
We should be more than shaking in our boots….if only we were smart enough to even see our perilous state…..
@ Miller
No need to recuse myself from researching the legality of citizens of Barbados holding off-shore bank accounts . That is a legal issue which I shall explore and report upon ; I do not know what the true position is . It will not put me anywhere near or by or close to the ” fireside ” . ( LOL ). In the meantime , peace my brother .
Carson C. Cadogan | March 16, 2012 at 10:12 PM |
“Right now seethru shaking in his boots.”
Right now Carson YOU are shitting in your pants!
Interesting. What is most interesting is, who is the principal in the company who objected to Parris getting 25 %? The company is a local company, what is not clear is where the land was purchased. Parris paid in US$, but that could also be for land bought locally.
Bush Tea | March 16, 2012 at 10:47 PM |
We do have such, but they are doers rather than talkers. Barbadians prefer people that utter sweet nothings.
Carson
shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…..word on the street aint’t change…lol
Ali Baba and the forty thieves are not getting their grubby paws on our treasury anytime soon.
The West Indies cricket team reminds me of the Barbados Labour Party.
@ Miller .
If I appear to be slightly tardy in my response , it is simply that I am following the wise counsel of our Prime Minister by engaging the brain before putting the mouth into action .. How do you like that ? LOL …
Peace my brother .
Why hasn’t anyone commented on the fact that a well known Dem was able to consort with two known BLPites in the interest of profit? The Blue or Red wasn’t a concern the only colour that counted was Green as in US green backs.
Meanwhile some of the regulars who inhabit this blog wait for scraps from the table and continue to cuss out one another in the name of the DLP or BLP and the folks in the driver’s seat continue to live the high life.
Ah wonder if the Nation would give me a byline so I can pen my thoughts on the foibles of life and politics in Barbados.
The principal named in the matter is Everton Cumberbatch.
@Miller etc.
I was of the distinct opinion that it was a breach of the rules and regulations of the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) for citizens of Barbados to hold offshore accounts without the approval of the Bank.
What is the penalty for breaching the regulations? Are you sure you want to the CBB to investigate this issue? If the CBB investigated there would be some mighty big fish caught in the net from both sides of the political divide.
In this layman’s opinion the validity of the contract could not be questioned even if the account was afoul of the regulations. The Court is only required to rule on the Contract and the enforcement of its provisions, the issue of the legality of the account would be a matter for another tribunal.
All of the former Crooked Barbados Labour Party cabinet could not stand up to such an investigation.
With trillion-dollar budget deficit, ‘US on edge of its own credit crisis’
Massive trade imbalances are driving the current global economic situation. BRIC nations are in for a tough time, meanwhile the United States is on the edge of a credit crisis, says Clem Chambers, CEO of leading financial information site ADVFN.com and author of ‘101 Ways To Pick Stock Market Winners.’
The developed world runs trade deficits and the developing world runs surpluses. This one-way economic flow is behind the BRICs phenomenon; Brazil, Russia, India and China have flourished dramatically, while Europe and the US have withered.
When (an already disadvantaged) Europe hit the limits of economic and fiscal mismanagement, a crisis affecting the entire global system was created.
http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20120317/BUSINESS/703179954
So a brilliant “Sir” and a man on a Tatem pole were dealing fwith a man who is considered a purveyor of greenverbs.
How many more Sirs,Phds,politicians and captains of Industry were dealing with the purveyor of greenverbs you all are villifying.
Fredom of Information in Canada and the USA gine catspraddle some a dese maguffies.
Watch the ride.
@ Sargeant | March 17, 2012 at 11:42 AM |
“Are you sure you want to the CBB to investigate this issue? If the CBB investigated there would be some mighty big fish caught in the net from both sides of the political divide.”
The more caught and exposed in the web of deceit and corruption the cleaner it would be for governance. They can then be added to the FBI watch list just like some already there from both sides.
In my layman’s opinion, also, a contract can be set aside if the terms either the offeror or offeree intentions to enter into legal relations were in breach of public policy or the law. A prostitute or a drug dealer cannot sue if the ‘john’ (not sargeant) or the addict refuses to pay for services rendered or white stuff delivered. Hence consideration is always demanded in advance before any dealings take place. As if I had to tell an old “johnny” like you that. It is this same canon of law that allow gives the State the constitutional right to seize property acquired through ill-gotten gains, ‘immoral’ earnings, money laundering or illegal drug dealings.
But let us await the reliable and expert opinion of our in-house lawyer, “Obsever”.
@Hants | March 17, 2012 at 11:59 AM |
“So a brilliant “Sir” and a man on a Tatem pole were dealing with a man who is considered a purveyor of greenverbs.”
Hants, I have always said that Leroy (well worthy of the title Le Roi) is on of the smartest men Barbados has ever produced. He is one of the brightest stars from the middle East of Bim and a true son of the St. John soil. Check my threads and you will see my ‘accolades’ in respect of the man even to rival those of the PM, past and present.
Bear in mind the gentleman’s sphere of influence straddles the region.
David, did Dr. R/UWI discontinue the stock report?
@The Minister of Finance c/o BU
The reports are posted as they are received.
For the year so far only about 2 or 3 weeks reporting received.
@”truth”man Barton / Prodigal Son
“And then I also remembered, ” But looka how this “straight-up lady” sat for a long long time in the studios of VOB, CONSTANTLY TELLING PEOPLE that she is independant moderator”
You mean like how Pat Hoyos sits as an “independent” moderator now .
or how Albert Brandford writes as an “independent” in the Nation or how Sanka Price uses the Saturday Nation columns to promte the BLP talking points.
The Nation newpaper is controlled by the BLP.
On the subject of non-independent moderators and the media -IF the Nation is BLP, what is CBC? I have in mind the programme some weeks back on Raul Garcia. The two panelists were Hal Gollop and Ms Depeiza (sp?). In broad terms they were unsympathetic, particularly the latter. But I then looked up Depeiza and saw she is a DLP candidate in Christ Church. I wasn’t clear about the former – so I asked around. Well – you politicos know the rest. So I concluded this was a broadcast on behalf of the DLP position (essentially ‘sleep’). I rang CBC and managed to speak to the ‘moderator’, I then discovered that she had no sympathy for Garcia either. So what price ‘independence’?
Pingback: 13 Years Later – Everton Cumberbatch Vs Larry Tatem, Leroy Parris and Johnny Cheltenham | Barbados Underground