Senator Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Today has been an interesting day so far. It was a day arch-enemies India and Pakistan battled in a World Cup cricket semi-final. The game from media reports was played in a cordial atmosphere which India won. There was a time in the not too distant past when the events of today would not have been thought possible. The moral of this story you ask? There is hope that a truce in the ‘war of words’ which has broken out between Jamaica and Barbados will soon come to past.

To restate BU’s position, an allegation was made by a Jamaican national which was deposited, by her, in Jamaica’s media space. The result of it is that her allegation has whipped-up a national frenzy which has seen a level of vitriol hurled at Barbados hitherto not experienced. The immigration brouhaha between Guyana does not even come close to what is currently unravelling. The response of many Barbadians, known in the region for our passive and docile manner, appears to have taken some by surprise.

Not since the era of the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, who was not afraid to signal to Cowboy Ronald Reagon where to get off, have we had leaders who were prepared to fearlessly defend our sovereignty. BU is supportive of Minister Maxine McClean who has been forced to fill the enormous leadership vacuum which seems to exist in this regard. Senator Maxine McClean’s record is there to be scrutinized by her critics, a respected UWI, Cave Hill lecturer for several years and a regional consultant before agreeing to enter the cabinet of the current administration. Her commitment to regional harmony cannot be credibly questioned. Unlike some in Barbados, she appears to be acutely aware of where Barbados finds itself at this period in our history.

It is ironic that Barbados not too long ago had to battle a large influx of Guyanese – especially Indo-Guyanese which scared the hell out of many Bajans – which precipitated the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act. Now we have the Jamaica Barbados conflict over the Shanique Myrie affair. Surprisingly we have two of the largest of the territories in the Caribbean battling Barbados on the larger issue of freedom of movement. Antigua of similar ‘size’ has been battling the same issues. BU is about justice for people and if our local authorities have been found to have engaged in a cover up on the Myrie Affair, let the chips fall where they may. What BU will not compromise on is the need for Bajans to feel ashame of what we have achieved. It seems bleeding hearts of our own kind are quick to join others from outside to bloody the reputation of Barbados. Many from outside envy what we have achieved and in the process are quick to label us arrogant or some similar term. When traits which recommend Barbados are discussed around the region, especially T&T and Jamaica, our orderly society is often what is highlighted at the top of the list. Barbadians themselves have taken this characteristic for granted over time.

We will not allow our tiny country – if we compare to Jamaica and Guyana – to become ‘the warehouse of the unskilled’. The reality that we are in the midst of an economic slowdown which has added wings to the flight of those who seek fame and fortune perpetrating illegal and or undesirable activities should not be forgotten. This is the background which has informed the rigour with which guardians of our ports of entry have had to be acutely aware. For whatever reason which is the subject of another commentary everybody want to descend on Barbados like flies would honey nowadays. The position of Rickey Singh on this matter is not lost on us at all. BU believes there is a regional conspiracy to get Barbados to dumb down its protection of its borders in recent years to satisfy ideological positions. We have those who are proponents of freedom of movement at all cost.

BU has deliberately dealt with this matter from an arms distance perspective. However there are some more things we will have to say which the Myrie Affair has brought to light in the coming days and weeks.

1. On a side note has anybody noted Rickey Singh’s position on this matter?

Barbados has been a haven for him for years but guess who he is backing?

If only we could say beam Tom Adams to bay Street Scottie!

2. @ROK
    Apparently you were neither good at maths nor latin

3. @Chuckles

… and neither were you.

4. @Rok
    I have certified proof to the contrary. Do you?

5. I am going to inject a little levity into the discussion with a war story

Jamaica and Barbados at war well unofficially that is, if Jamaica launches its Armada, Barbados would have to fight with its Coast Guard and Landship Navy. I was wondering if two nations ever got so incensed at each other over part of the Human Body that it became the impetus for War and I recollect the following from high school.

In Greek mythology it was said that the gods made Helen of Troy so beautiful that Paris abducted her which led to the Trojan War. Helen is immortalized in literature as “The Face that launched a Thousand Ships”

Closer to the Caribbean we have our own distant claim to fame for a war in which a body part was featured..

In 1731 a British ship commanded by a Robert Jenkins was seized by a Spanish ship off Cuba. The Spanish accused the Brits of piracy and in the ensuing brouhaha Jenkins ear was supposedly cut off and he was allegedly told that if the English King showed up his ear would also be severed.

Fast forward to 1738 Jenkins was summoned before the English Parliament to repeat his story and according to legend he had the ear with him (must have kept it brine). The Brits were incensed (they wanted to start a war anyway) and Britain and Spain went to war in the Americas (largely about which coloniser would have control over the wealth from the New World)

The war lasted from 1739 to 1748 and was known as “The War of Jenkins Ear”

6. can all the witnesses who see this assault get off the net and contact an official. seems like everyone was a witness. i know for sure regardless of this outcome i want nothing to do wid a jamaican.

dem does mek up dem minds based off of a feelings alone.

this also shows me that CSME will be based solely on a governmental/political level and never between the citizens of each nation.

7. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

It’s daft to alter the blog. now we can’t c earlier comments without a lot of hassle. Tip for David for next time: ‘if it aint broken, don’t fix it’!!

As for Jamaicans not liking anything which ISN’T Jamaican or pro-Jamaican – well, tell me something new!!

8. It is my considered “belief” that the officer at the port of entry was in search of what it was that Jamaicans had that allowed them to t’ief Bajan men away from people like her.

Now to David and this flag song. Please take careful note if you will of the chorus “We representing Blue, Yellow, Blue, Yellow, Blue, Yellow, Blue”. Now this flag as displayed, was designed at the time to signify that the people who were in the vast majority were considered Black. The song makes absolutely no mention of this colour so as a result makes no indication of a desire to represent the people of Barbados. The song is therefore irrelevant in this context.

I rest my case.. ja ja

9. @Chuckles,

You probably got the last one. I ain’t got s**t.

10. i disagree with the writer. foreign minister maclean’s inappropriate handling of the situation shows she is clearly out of her depth. her inability too separate political gimmictry from skilled diplomacy has escalated the situation beyond a shadow of a doubt. these sensitive issues demand a different set of skills not acquired by skillfuly dancing around the issue of partisan political affiliation as moderator of down to brasstacks. i am sppeaking subject to correction; but i am told that miss mcclean admitted last night that the lady’s body(not cavity) was searched after admitting in an earlier interview that this was not so.

11. ”Hants | March 30, 2011 at 9:46 PM |
    MIA speaks out about finger in vagina crisis. Showing leadership qualities.”

————

Sir….are you trying to be funny???

12. to ac- “barbados must not allow these mud racking drug dealers to overrun our country” you comments not mine. you can spin them as much as you wish.

13. Mcclean might have been a overzealous and misguided in trying to reach a quick resoultion not realising the fiery backlash she would have received from Jamaica. On VOB she clarified certain rulesand procedures as law by immigration and who and what is done in terms of searches.

@ruth arnette

ref your comment: Wher in that comment is Myrie”s name reference. Unless you are taking the word “these” as meaning to her.anf if so I would have said “her “instead of “These”
    On a another note the public Right to know would be challenged as the high level talks talks detween the two countries would be done behind close doors as both sides try to iron out this issue, The Truth “is that wether the lady told the “truth “or a lie the damage has already been done to both countries. In the end no one Country wants the public to know the truth .

14. It seems we are not unable to avoid injecting politics in everything we do and say in Barbados. Here it is the whole of Jamaica is rallying around the Jamaican flag and supporting a position the government has taken but we have prominent politicians and citizens like Mottley and others criticising McClean.

This is a time to support our leaders. If mistakes are made there is a way to do nicely while all of us are wrapped around the flag. What was wrong with Mottley picking up the phone and calling Senator McClean?

Bajans need to understand that they are times when we have to be patriotic.

Not all of us should take a position like BAFBFP and David Ellis.

15. I say bravo to Maxine McClean for standing up to the vitriol and bullying behaviour of Jamaican politicans in this matter. The Jamaican politicians put this matter in their public domain without allowing for an investigation or discussion between appropriate government/diplomatic parties, for obvious political gain amongst their population in supporting the untarnished, saintly and innocent Ms. Myrie. I hope that Ms. McClean is not being misled by local Immigration/Customs officials about what happened between them and Ms. Myrie, and will not end up with egg on her face if there is a formal investigation. However, she was forced with having to make a public response on this matter by the Jamaican media and politicians and good for her that she chose to defend Barbadian immigration/customs officials when others were choosing to attack them without this matter being adequately investigated.

16. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David have you forgotten that one of Ricky Singh’s son’s was charged with drug trafficking some years ago.

Steupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Ricky may be hoping that we Bajans have short memories in truth.

18. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Lest we forget the Jamaican politicians who are supporting Ms. Myrie are the same ones that supported Dudas Coke, and Dudas COke’s father before him. Less we forget the senior Mr. Coke was also a drug dealer BELOVED of Jamaican politicians.

No wonder Jamaica is a basket case. No wonder 80% of Jamiacan UWI graduates migrate within 5 years of graduating.

Decent well educated Jamaicans can’t stand Jamaica either and they vote with their feet to leave.

So Jamaica is left with the cynical (Dudas) coke loving politicians and the ghetto women who are used and discarded by both Jamaican and Coliumbian drug dealers and whore mongers, and with the abandoned street children. I have seen with my own eyes Jamaican girl children begging at Kingston airport. Do we understand how much trouble a pre-adolesent girl can get into begging at an international airport?

It is way past time that Jamaican politicians show some leadership.

And leadership does not mean supporting the Dudus Coke’s and Shanique Myrie’s of Jamaica in their drug dealing and in their lying to Immigration officials.

Leadership means calling right, right; and calling wrong, wrong.

If you doubt my stats about the migration rate of UWI graduates ask UWI yourself.

Or ask any foreign embassy in Kingston about the high migration rate of decent well educated Jamaicans.

Do we really believe that decent well educated Jamaicans are migrating at that rate because they love the way things are in Jamaica?

Jamaican politicians (of all parties) are a cynical and opportunistic.

They would love to turn Barbados into Jamaica.

But it won’t happen.

BAJANS WILL NOT BE BULLIED INTO SILENCE.

BAJANS WILL NOT BE BULLIED INTO CONDONING WRONG DOING.

19. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And no BAFBFP I am NOT Maxine McLean.

I am NOT a member of ANY political party.

20. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Of course Ms. McLean is a diplomat, a lady, and a scholar so she won’t tell them. But somebody needs to tell dem (Dudas) coke loving Jamaican politicians to haul dem ras’

The world has not yet forgotten, Buju Banton, John Lee Malvo, nor the Shoe Bomber all in the opinion of wrong loving Jamaicans “innocent” convicts.

21. The media assault on Barbados continues. Will it be left to a few patriots only?

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/news/Barbadians-tighten-the-screws—More-Jamaicans-beaten–locked-up–kicked-out_8607625

Perhaps the NUPW needs to take up Hants lobby and install CCTV with recording support.

22. The truth of the allegation should be searched out fearlessly and relentlessly by both parties.

There can only be a small number of female Customs officers on duty at the time of the alleged search.

I find it difficult to believe that any woman would make up a story like this and subject herself to the harangue she has attracted.

What has she got to gain?

The matter has become too high profile for her to expect any pay out to keep quiet.

No Bajan will accept that.

Next time I see a Customs Officer I will look more closely to determine if a number is worn as with Officers of the law.

All she has to do is call the number of the offending officer if that is so.

If proven to be false I would expect that she would surely become the subject of legal proceedings …… yet she seems to be the one bringing them.

The truth hopefully will out.

Both parties need it and nothing less will satisfy people.

This is an issue that needs to be dealt with openness and frankness ….. not the qualities associated with many regional politicians.

23. David
    It was a sad day when Mia Mottley went on the radio to make remarks which seems to be criticizing the government for the handling of the LIAR case.
    The Jamaican Government and opposition are united in their call for justice for one of their lying citizens.
    Some Barbadians are basically calling our security people at the airport liars.
    Well last time Owen Arthur spoke negatively about the Immigration officers they allowed all Guyanese coming in, to pass through.
    This time they should allow all drug dealers, skin out artists and prostitutes from Jamaica to come in to satisfy the needs of those people who clamour for their services.
    Every Jamaican denied entry is now saying they were finger rape or beaten in Batrbados. They are denied entry in all countries everyday and not a word but the Observer newspaper is making money by sensationalizing headlines about Barbados ill-treatment of Jamaicans

24. @ David

You have paid me the biggest insult of my life. I have said that David Ellis holds the same side as me, and you went so far as to mention our names side by side. I now feel so sick that I am inclined to duck out of this squabble. BUT I WONT.

The fact that David Ellis feels as I do makes him a hypocrite. No one. and I mean no one likes to throw his weight around more than this short ass…

Seriously, my campaign stems from the knowledge that power when vested in the hands of ignorant, unheralded (plus short and ugly) people, vengeful action is bound to be meted out at some time. It is human nature. If this “alleged” thing had happened to a Barbadian in Jamaica, your call to arms would be exactly the same. It is a nonsense call David and you know it. Wrapping yourself in a flag has gotten more people killed in this world in my life time than I would care to think about.

As Techie would say “YOU ARE FEEDING THE TROLL”

25. Random Thoughts

For God sake woman … even the very thought that this thing COULD happen should be enough to disgust you and ac and the others … You women should be calling for heads ! Are you women ill? Since when does this flag supersede gender … Since when does this flag supersede humanity?

26. This is getting ridiculous, I suppose it helps sell newspapers or whatever the Observer does.

According to information supplied by the B’dos Gov’t 54,000 Jamaicans entered B’dos during the period 2008-2010 and 900 were denied entry or excluded. I can only conclude that approximately 53000 Jamaicans were welcomed without a problem.

It will get to the point that any Jamaican denied entry will claim to be physically assaulted or worse. The Barbados authorities should not allow themselves to be browbeaten by the Jamaican media/Gov’t in allowing access to all and sundry. This mirrors the reports coming out of Guyana (minus the Shanique Myrie angle) on the decision by the B’dos Gov’t to deport members of the Guyanese community who had overstayed their allotted time. At that time both the Guyanese Gov’t and media complained that Guyanese were mistreated but these reports were never confirmed.

Anyone who is denied entry to a country is understandably frustrated, embarrassed and upset and will want to lash out. I remember Bajans being denied entry into the US at JFK even though they had valid visas. Immigration officers have a job to do, tie their hands at your peril.

Barbados should stick to its guns.

27. @BAFBFP

Surely you misunderstand BU’s position. Like you we agree that the investigation should proceed to root out the truth but to ridicule our officials in the process is a nonsense.

28. David | March 31, 2011 at 6:46 AM | It seems we are not unable to avoid injecting politics in everything we do and say in Barbados. Here it is the whole of Jamaica is rallying around the Jamaican flag and supporting a position the government has taken but we have prominent politicians and citizens like Mottley and others criticising McClean.

This is a time to support our leaders. If mistakes are made there is a way to do nicely while all of us are wrapped around the flag. What was wrong with Mottley picking up the phone and calling Senator McClean?

Bajans need to understand that they are times when we have to be patriotic.

Not all of us should take a position like BAFBFP and David Ellis.

==============
    Cosign.

29. @ Charlie
    You have “fingered” the Jamaica Observer for sensationalism, but what about our own Nation Newspaper which is clearly trying to upstage the Jamaica Observer? Time and again our own daily gossip rag shows us that it does not have our best interest at heart.

30. My God David what a time to have faith in politicians. THEY ARE F#CK UPS. No I refuse to follow the sheep on this one … We all agree on an investigation, but look at the many times investigations and reviews and public hearings have taken place and absolutely nothing have come of them. NO …! Little people whose job it is to interface with the public are going to make life hell for allot of us who have to travel. They are goin’ to f#ck allot of us up!!!

My call, and I know that I am wasting my time, is for responsible jobs, and that is jobs that require interfacing with visitors, jobs for which the execution impacts seriously on the national well being, should be done by highly paid, highly skilled top drawer citizens. If this were so, the opportunity to doubt the opinions of officials in times like these would be significantly reduced.

31. These are the kinds of times that newspapers thrive on. Finally a saga that could sell papers.

32. @David
    Scout made a very good point yesterday or the day before, about Myrie being a small fry in a bigger plot for Barbados to drop its
    guard at Customs/Immigration. The plotters come in all forms and fashions. It is impossible to identify all of them. As a matter of fact some of them may be defending Myrie’s and the other Jamaicans’ claims here on this BLOG, as part of the wider plot.

33. @BAFBFP

Unfortunately being anti-establishment will drown legitimate positions, let us agree to disagree.

On your other point, although good correlation between good pay and quality of employee is what is desirable we have to deal with the realities now which we are confronted.

To be able to respond to your expectation will call for massive reform. It will not* happen in our life time.

34. I am sorry David;

But the reality is that the official position is to defend a policy that gifts tremendous power to questionable lowly paid individuals. Being “pro-establishment” is acceptable only if such an establishment is progressive and yes RESPONSIVE. You know, come David, admit it in public, you know that this is not the case in Barbados …!

35. David I apologise for being repetitive but before Barbados allow our nice Jamaican visitors to completely destroy the image of Barbados, the Government must install DVRs and record the entry of persons to Barbados at the Airport.

There is no other solution.

36. So Hants you are saying of course that with the use of DVRs the strip search procedure will be shelved, after all who would volunteer to strip not only in front of two officers but potentially in front of the whole world (thanks to the internet)?

37. Barbados I wish you all the best we Jamaicans are at the bottom of the ladder you ppl are in heaven

38. BAFBFP,

The cameras would establish probable cause for a strip search which would be done in a private room.

I would suggest they ask the Canadians for help but the Canadian methods would be too draconian for the caribbean.
    Canadian immigration doan mek sport.

39. Hants

The fact that we are small population should be a sufficient argument to do things differently, you know, fewer people to manage. Sure do it your way, but the problem has the potential to occur in the same private room where there is no oversight in place (supervisors who have the chance to be in league with the rest of the crew do not constitute oversight). Hants again please be reminded at the expense of being dubbed “repetitive”, that human beings will given the oppurtunity abuse power.

40. This situation goes far beyond any strip search, now the immigration officers are being threatened, don’t you people see what is happening? This woman could probably being used to soften up the Immiigration Dept and hence more mules would be allowed to get pass our security. These drug lards would use any method possible to get their stuff into the country and I hope our Minister of Foreign Affairs stick to her guns. I see she’s leaving the country today , could it be she is being pulled away from the situation because she wouldn’t give in to the Jamaicans. I don’t like that move maybe Stuart wants to humble to them

41. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

So much fuh Jah, reggie n de res uh Jamaican bull*hit! LOL! What a joke they are! But wait, d blue-eye boys pun hay bin telling u they love us, for years! Just shows how much they’re ****ed-up, too!! Too much ganga I reckon!

Although many Jamaican women r quite beautiful, has anybody noticed how many of them look like half-a-men! boy, i keeping well away from dem boa!

42. @man wiv no name
    Paragraph 1…………serious comment
    Paragraph 2……….. levity
    What a great mix. Wunder how Bonny Pepper sums it up.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Yesterday, Barbadian Opposition leader, Mia Mottley, chided her countrymen for “burying their heads in the sand”.”

I wonder If Owen”seethru”Arthur notice that the Jamaicans are calling Mia Mottley the Barbadian Opposition leader?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com

44. I agree with Scout’s last comment; I don’t belive Senator McClean should be leaving the island on other business at this stage, when the Jamaican officials are now here to do their spot check.

It was reported on the news this morning that the three men who said they were beaten by the policemen at the airport – the policeman removed his id tag before beating. Do Barbadian policemen wear ID tags? I really don’t know if they do or not, can someone please enlighten me.
    Also in the Myrie case, Ms. Myrie’s lawyer said yesterday that it was the police “who did it”. I’m assuming by “it” he means the cavity search and the other abuse being claimed. So it wasn’t the immigration officers that did it anymore?

45. It is interesting to note that one of the people mentioned in the abuse claim was also mentioned by the promoter “Babbzy” in the video.

There were also some statistics in the Jamaican gleaner concerning how many Bajans they have denied and how many entered there,not too surprising I think.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110331/lead/lead9.html

“Statistics presented to the House by Baugh show that, of the 51,079 attempted entries of Jamaicans into Barbados between 2008 and 2010, 851 of them have been denied access.

Conversely, of the 12,071 attempted entries of Barbadians into Jamaica since 2008, five have been denied entry.”
    ———————————————

Conversely,Perhaps both sides MIGHT be telling the truth but the information was always looked in the wrong place.If the RBPF did the searches one would think to look there for statistics and/or evidence.Immigration and Customs should be clear I think from now on !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Regardless,Immigration still has a job of enforcing the law and ensuring that not too many people come in if they are ‘undesireable’.I also STILL believe that the sudden onslaught of media should not undermine any effort to implement the Immigration white paper AND ensure that CURRENT immigration enforcement routines NOT be underminded by what seems to be ANY regional coercive effort to cut down on Drugs and Human trafficking through any of Barbados’ ports of entry.

46. Cremehair,

What is your view on the 54,000 (approx) Jamaican visits that were allowed to Barbados between 2007 and 2010? What is your view on the 20,000 (approx) visits that were allowed in 2009?

47. Sorry, should be 2008-2010.

48. Iwant to concur with David and Micah. As Barbadians we should be rallying around our flag for all outsiders to see. When George Bush went into Iraq under the pretense that they had weapons of mass destruction, the democratic party rallied around the flag even though some might not have agreed.

Unfortunately, we tend to bring everything down to politics. Whether Ms Mc clean handled it well or not, she is our Foreign Minister and I support her.

Why is it that when these so called regionalists ready they gang up on Barbadians,when it comes to paying the bills that they agree upon at meetings, Barbados has to be the one to pay ours and theirs, why is it that we must be the ones to accept them with open arms when they come here, why must it be always us. They use us and then cuss us. We have done what we had to do without them and we will continue with God’s help.

LET US RALLY AROUND OUR GOVERNMENT IN THIS ONE. POLITICS ASIDE

It is known that most Jamaicans deal with drugs, are we to allow them to come into to our country and bring drugs or kill as they kill, i say NO.

49. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Chuckles, they’re BOTH serious commentary! i was observing some of dum dis morning, n not for d firse time, n, coh blimey man, they got a strain uh women wid legs which look more like men’s legs dan women’s. is strange but i doan c dah in udda peoples’ women. nutten feminine or only barely feminine lower bodies. stramge phonomenon. some of the most beautiful n some of the most masculine. a weird but not wonderful people!