L – r) Director of the Sparman Clinic, Cardiologist, Dr. Alfred Sparman; Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, his wife, Gail Inniss and the Minister’s Personal Assistant, Cindy Downes at the start of the official opening of the $20 million facility for cardiac care located at No. 4, 6th Avenue Belleville St. Michael

Prominent Cardiologist Dr. Richard Ishmael has been suspended from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital QEH with full pay pending an internal investigation. At the root of the problem is a letter written by Dr. Richard Ishmael which is addressed to Dr. Delores Lewis, Director of Medical Services at the QEH on the Queen Elizabeth Hospitalโ€™s letterhead.

In the interest of the publicโ€™s right to know BU now post the document. Feel free to use BU’sย  Confidential Feedback Form which can be used to send information to BU without using an email address.

Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael:

Pages: 1,2,3

Tenessess Board of Medical Examiners Minutes

Department of Health Florida Board of Medicine Minutes

Dr. Alfred Sparman Documents

Pages: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9

334 responses to “Leaked Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael Which Got Him Suspended From The Queen Elizabeth Hospital”

1. This is part TWO of my debunk of the junk printed in Barbados Today this evening by the biggest fool that has been foisted on the people of Barbados in Medicine since the history of medicine in Barbados.

Bird brain continues โ€ฆโ€ฆ..Our current healthcare environment presents tremendous challenges to providing quality care to patients: before us are the challenges of increasing costs. declining budgets, staf๏ฌng shortages, and access issues that the Board struggles with.

6. Didnt we have these problems in the glory days too? Tell us about the funding given by the Euro folk. Tell us what does the tremendous challenges to providing quality care to patients have to do with your mistreatment of Ishmael. Tell us! Tell us whether the Minister, Sparman and the DMS did as Ishmael alleges. Tell us why you are not doing anything about it, if indeed Ishmael is telling the truth- and we do believe Ishmael, by the way. Tell us why you have tried to humiliate Ishmael if he is correct. You did not think that wicki would have leaked in Barbados too eh? LOL

Now people here is the first attempt at a googly. This is the heart of this manโ€™s desire. Here him I his own words.
    โ€œAt the heart of the transformation we seek, is the move from a consultant~centric model to a patient-centred model of care. Allow me to explain.โ€
    7 HE WANTS TO DEMOTE DENEGRATE DEMASCULINATE THE CONSULTANTS AND ELEVATE HIMSELF AND THE BOARD!

8 DOES NOT THE DUMMY KNOW THAT THAT IS NOT THE WAY TO MANAGE ANYONE?. IT IS DIFFICULT TO DO THAT WITH CHILDREN TODAY AND HE WANTS TO DO IT WITH A BOARD CERTIFIED DOCTOR IN TWO AREAS OF SPECIALTY?

9 HE WANTS THE HOSPITAL TO TRANSFORM FROM CONSULTANT- CENTRIC TO PRIEST LED?
    He continuesโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆAlthough many people may receive sound medical care at the QEH,
    10 IS THIS NOT THE PURPOSE OFGOING THERE FOOL!
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ many experience going to the hospital as institutional, impersonal, and alienating, with bare white walls, nightly disturbances, limitations on visitation and insufficient access to information about the condition and treatment.
    11 HAS HE VISITED SOME OF THE BEST SDA HOSPITALS IN THE USA?
    He goes onโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆThis is not an indictment on health professionals
    12 SO IF YOU NOT INDICTING THE HEALTH PROFESSIONALS WHY ON EARTH DONโ€™T YOU LEAVE THE DOCTORS ALONE TO DO WHAT YOU CANT DO?
    but simply a recognition that traditional medicine was often illness-centred or cure-centred; the focus was on attacking and overcoming the disease.
    13 MEDICINE IS ILLNESS CENTERED & CURE CENTERED FOOL! THAT IS ITS PURPOSE!
    The patient โ€” his comfort, mental status, wishes and desires โ€” was secondary to defeating the medical enemy. Many have experienced the real sense that our comfort as a patient is a lesser priority to solving the medical mystery.
    14 HOW DOES THE COMFORT OF THE PATIENT SOLVE ANYTHING? WHAT MEDICAL MYSTERY IS THIS FOOL TALKING ABOUT? DISEASE IS UNCOMFORTABLE! THAT IS WHY IT IS CALLED DIS- EASE!
    15 WHY DONโ€™T THE BOARD LOOK INTO THE comfort, mental status, wishes and desires of the doctor in providing the necessary tools so that they can have the patient out of their misery earlier. DO YOU THINK IT IS EASY FOR DOCTORS TO LOOK ON ILLNESS? DONโ€™T YOU KNOW THAT DOCTORS HURT AT THE ILLNESS THEY LOOK AT? BEHIND THE FAร‡ADE THEY PRESENT IS SOMETHING CALLED COMPASSION!
    He goes on thus
    โ€œBut that no longer needs to be the case. A patient-centred approach offers an add-on to the current care through a low-technology, systems-based approach to many of the problems and challenges that exist in the QEH. It can be implemented in a low-cost manner to support the provision of safe, effective, timely, and ef๏ฌcient health are.โ€
    16 How does this abstract patient centered approach work? He says its an add-on to the current care through a low-technology, systems-based approach to many of the problems and challenges that exist in the QEH. But what is he adding on? His efflux of bovine excrement? This fool must have read this in a book. I am sure he does not understand it either! He is NOT saying a pang!
    โ€œAt the heart of patient-centred care is information-driven and quality-medical procedures can be systematically monitored by measuring outcomes, including infection, mortality and dislocation rates, pain levels, patient satisfaction and physical function levels, length of hospital stay and discharge destination. waiting lists and back logs. and operating room efficiencies.โ€
    17 Patient care begins with extraction of information from patients, processing of information by medical personnel and relaying of information to patients and relatives WHEN IT IS AVAILABLE. There is no mystery!
    18 Quality medical procedures cannot be systematically monitored by measuring outcomes at QEH when the medical staff can not get the tools to do quality procedures and when medical staff cant certain things to happen such as the answers to questions such as

a- Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on improving the delivery of cardiovascular care and critical care at the QEH?
    b. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on facilitating the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care Centre which was conceptualized and articulated 14 years ago, designed 10 years ago and was funded by the European Union 6 years ago?
    c. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU)?.
    d. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU).
    e. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on allowing better care for all QEH cardiac and critically ill patients rather than trying to send โ€œprivateโ€ cardiac patients to a private institution run by an individual with questionable credentials.
    f. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board think that the necessary does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the transformation they seek in moving from a consultant~centric model to a patient-centred model of care is the way to go?
    19- If the Board would do its job and fix or provide the above the comfort, mental status, wishes and desires of BOTH the doctor and patients would drastically increase. If the Board would do its job in providing the necessary tools they can have the patient out of their misery earlier, and waiting lists and back logs would decrease, and operating room efficiencies would improveโ€ฆโ€ฆ.especially if more anaesthetists could be employed . We would also see increased patient satisfaction, possible decreased length of hospital stay, if only the Board would do its job and fix or provide the necessary tools for the doctors to work.
    Guess what friends,
    The patient-centred model of healthcare delivery is not just another clinical pathway but a comprehensive systems approach through the full cycle of care that uses the perspective of placing patients and their families at the centre of our focus.
    IT IS ACHIEVED BY MESSING AROUND WITH THE DOCTORS!

2. @GP

The point made is that the utterances and the actions of the Chairman and his Board must have the blessing of Minister Inniss to explain the earlier comment.

3. OK David
    At least I gave you the chance to explain your self before I suspended you. I accept your explanation. I think Amused, Hants, Crusoe would be proud of me. LOL Murdah!
    You may now carry on smartly!

I hope to meet all of you fellas one day in person LOl

4. BTW, what is the role of the CEO inn all this?. Did you read the story of how he treated the staff in Anguilla and how he wormed his way into the confidence of those in authority and made them do alot of dirty things to doctors and other staff?. Check it out. This is his history all over again.

5. I see the Sparman moles creeping in on both blogs trying to backtrack and cast doubt on Dr. Ishmael’s motivation. Jealousy, envy? what? Dr. Ishmael has no need of envy for anybody. The man has a sterling reputation and makes a living worthy of that reputation, experience and credentials. Dr. Ishamel has no criminal record neither here nor oversees. Dr. Ishmael has never been charged with sexual impropriety with his patients.
    Is it that Bajans are so unaccustomed to ethics and morality that they do not recognize it when they see it? I said it before and I will say it again, Sparman needs to be run out of Barbados. Only problem is that he now has quite a number of big ups by the balls and he could reveal too much about how they been skimming the pot with his help.

6. @GP. Masterful exposition. Very proud to be on the sade as you. Evisceration at its best.

But what kind of congential idiot for a chairman have the congential idiots at the MOH given us? In all my life I have never read such total unmitigated bullshit. You mean to tell me that I am sent to bed last night in disgrace and without dinner by She Who Must Be Obeyed. Then, I get up very early, cause I got a little headache and I feeling hungry. I come to see what happening with the bros and sis on BU and read the letter from the chairman of the QEH and I wonder if I have gone to sleep and woken up in a world where the patients have taken over the assylum.

The next thing you know, we will have a new Minister of Health. His name will be Alfred Sparman. And Donville will have retired to somewhere like Switzerland, secure in the knolwedge that the cash cow is in excellent hands.

I got a hangover and I vexed.

7. I have spent a few moments browsing the Barbados blogs to see how this issue is being treated by others. I had a look at one blog that is run by what one would have thought to be the opposite of the chairman of the QEH, who we are told has an excess of balls. The particular blog I allude to is run by a person who has no balls and, it would appear, no brain (like the chairman of the QEH). In an attack on ROK, this ball-less wonder says:

โ€œWe want to state categorically that the melanin content of Mr. Kingโ€™s epidermis is a matter of utter irrelevance to us. We donโ€™t care if youโ€™re maroon or beige or an eleven-foot purple-skinned individual with a tail, like the people in that crappy science-fiction film directed by David Cameron before he became the Prime Minister of Britain.โ€

David Cameron is the Prime Minister of Britain. JAMES Cameron is the director of โ€œthat crappy science-fiction filmโ€ that is the highest grossing film of all time. So our friendโ€™s nom de plume of No Balls stems not only from a lack of testicles, but also in the cricketing sense that he can bowl only wides (just like the chairman of the QEH).

8. Since August I have been saying that the Chairman makes no sense when he speaks.

Enuff | August 14, 2010 at 1:08 PM |
    You people really accept some nonsense. What does โ€˜patientcentricโ€™ means?

Enuff | August 14, 2010 at 1:36 PM |
    Well good luck with that approach, I thought the way to go was โ€˜CUSTOMERCENTRICโ€™ where your decisions are driven by a balancing of both your internal and external customersโ€™ interests. Policy must be about practicality.

Now the goodly priest claiming it is about telemedicine.

Merry Christmas BU community.

9. Enuff
    All medical care must by definition be patient centric
    After all with out the patients there would be no hospital or doctors and certainly no assinine chairman of the board! lol

10. Amused
    I hope that you have dutifully discharged your community service with precision and aplomb, and that you are not being held in contempt

I hope that you know and apply the following equation that is not known to even the scientist CH

I.E THAT ……………..NPIE = DPEA

WHICH BEING INTERPRETED IS THAT

IF YOU WANT PIECE AT NIGHT (NPIE) YOU HAVE TO KEEP THE PEACE DURING THE DAY (DPEA)

11. @Mongoose
    Either you are a “heart man” (hope not de one from St. George!) or you are xenophobic.

What I cannot understand is why is Dr. Sparman being sentenced here on BU without a fair hearing. Are we in Barbados accustomed to holding “kangaroo courts”? Are we going back to the days of the “wild west” where people were railroaded at mock trials, found guilty and executed within minutes of such verdicts? Don’t we still believe that a person is still entitled to proper defense anymore? I am quite sure that if there is anything remiss re Dr. Sparman’s professional credentials then there would be proper channels to have this all looked into. Am I not correct in so thinking? I am sure that there are requisite authority here in Barbados to investigate any claims from anyone as to Dr. Sparman’s professional qualifications. Not so?
    So why can’t we just wait and see what results from all the litigation and cross litigation that is supposed to be in train? Or all we all suddenly lawyers, judges and juries all combined?

12. de hood, perhaps you have had a little too much Xmas cheer. No where in my posts have I made mention of Dr. Sparman’s nationality or country of origin, in fact, I was unaware that he is Guyanese until others on this blog mentioned it. I doan give a rat’s behind where he came from an as to his getting a “fair hearing” on this blog, it is completely unnecessary. He got a fair hearing in Florida and Tennesee and those are just the 2 states he got caught in. The documents reveal quite clearly what kind of man and physician he is and that is good enough for me! As for proper channels looking into his credentials, that should have been done long before he picked up a scalpel and started cutting into innocent Bajans!

13. @ Mongoose
    Aren’t you a bit misinformed? Far as I am aware Dr. Sparman does not advertise himself as a surgeon. The cases in Tn & Fl do not relate to the doc’s professional credentials. They are to do about him not reporting a conviction in NY for sexual assault that was brought against him by his FORMER WIFE in a domestic dispute. Do you have any idea how many Bajans (West Indians) could be convicted for the same “crime” if they so happened to reside in the USA or other developed jurisdictions? Perhaps, you could be one? Just be careful. Those who live in glass houses should learn that they should not throw stones. I am sure that it is still understood in Barbados that a person is innocent until proven guilty IN A COURT OF LAW! Now just what charges would you like to file against the goodly doctor?

14. I could never understand why a woman would feed a man honey morning, noon and night, daily, for years then marry him and start rationing the honey.

15. @ Alien
    Honey. . . . .?So is that a new name for “de sauce” now? Accordin’ tuh de Doc. . . . . . .MURRDARRRRR. . . . . . .!

16. Here is something to ponder for Christmas: if PM Thompson was alive, would Dr. Ishmael be sent on any leave and would that Reverend still be the Chairman of the QEH, and Inniss the Minister of Health, had they pulled this same stunt?

I somehow remember in a Cabinet reshuffle, Irene was given full responsibility for the QEH. Why? Just asking!!!!

17. Here is what the Late Prime Minister had to say when he reassigned Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner to the QEH:

The day to day functioning of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital is a second area of tremendous concern to your government.

Like you, the Minister of Health and indeed my office are inundated with comments, concerns and even complaints relative shortcomings of the institution – even though it is generally agreed that the level of professionalism and patient care is relatively high.

I am satisfied that in addition to the current management structure and coordination by a competent Board of Directors, there is need for more direct political oversight at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

It is too critical an entity in the overall delivery of health services to be left to chance or for its effectiveness to be questioned. Already the Health portfolio accounts for the largest allocation of the national budget.

Enhancement of QEH will be the largest capital project government would have embarked upon since the building of the Prison.

It is not for me to debate tonight which project should have been given priority in a healthier economy….what I would say, nonetheless, is that under this new administration, the QEH Enhancement project, whether an extensively renovated or completely new structure, is a major undertaking that will commence in this, our first term in office.

In pursuance of this goal, I have decided to re-assign Parliamentary Secretary in the office of the Prime Minister, Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner to the same posting in the Ministry of Health, with specific responsibility for overseeing operations of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital as well as conceptualization, design and details of financing and execution of the QEH Enhancement Project.

18. @ David
    Did Senator Garner even move into her office?

19. The QEH cannot be controlled.

Many have tried
    Many have failed
    There are inherent fundamental problems that will continue to affect QEH and the ARMY OF OCCUPATION too, UNLESS WE reform now !!—jokers ! idiots ! imbeciles !
    all yuh cant see that yet
    all yuh too racial —dont like black people-dont like yuh self

Sounds strange ? It is meant to

20. @GP. I discharged my duty to the turkey with precision and dispatch. A friend of She Who Must Be Obeyed was visiting from England and arrived with a bag of stale bread with which she made a noxious compound called Bread Sauce (apparently a traditional English dish, which explains a lot about their national character) that we were all forced, for the sake of good manners, to have a little of. I restricted myself to one glass of golden apple juice and half a glass of Pinot Noir, so I am now back among the blessed, especially as She Who Must Be Obeyed quaffed three very large Whiskey Macs (I know, because for wickedness I mixed them myself) and sat down and went to sleep and snored loudly immediately after lunch.

I also had the grave displeasure of reading the regurgitated tripe published by the Nation on the subject of the QEH that almost put me off my food.

Having said all that, however, I got the sense from the many high-ups that telephoned me and whom I telephoned yesterday to wish Merry Christmas, that, thanks largely to BU and to your excellent expositions, we have turned an important corner on this issue and, in the much wider sense, politically. I believe that, haltingly at first, we are about to see that our politicos have finally been forced to come to grips with the fact that it is the blogs (i.e. public opinion and the wishes of the electorate) not the traditional press, that they now have to address and court. In the year to come, I am hopeful that we will see far greater transparency from our public servants, but also far more creative (and if discovered, politically explosive and embarrassing) ways of concealment.

With regret I noted that BFP has used this Sparman/Ishmael/MOH/QEH conflict to ressurect the spectre of GHNS, based on a sluice gate and not on the invasion of the privacy practiced by GHNS and its functionaries against private and public Bajan officials in this and other countries. One must assume that certain blogs can still be bought and that the going rate is US$650 per week โ€“ and that no one in the Ishmael-opposition camp has felt it necessary to pay the for-sale blogs to support their position.

Meanwhile, the ball-less wonder whose mental acumen is such that he cannot differentiate between the names David and James continues to be silent. In his context, David was the brother of Our Lord, while James slew Goliath. Go figure!

Finally and sadly I must advise that there have been no reports from Jack Spratt (nor his wife) on the High Court action filed against a certain High Court judge. Hopefully, in the new year, Jack Spratt will finally have overcome his lean period and penetrated the pervasive and obscuring fog of the Registry, in the same way that you and all of us will have got rid of the dolorous cloud, with attendant side effects such as over-testiculated preachers, that hangs over the QEH.

21. Typical of you, is it not, Amused. You knew reasons why there was no problem in appointing Gibson as CJ…but when quizzed as to these, you took us all around the world without saying what they were. Now someone sues a judge, a most peculiar action, you claim to know the particulars, but would not disclose them. I suspect you are nothing but a charlatan….one who merely posts to impress.

22. Amused
    Your pristine prose is a pleasure to read

I am happy to hear that the work of BU IS NOT GOING UNHEEDED, AND AGAIN THANK DAVID PROFUSELY FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO PARTICIPATE IN DISCOURSES OF SUCH NATIONAL IMPORT.

I am happy also that you have returned to the good graces of your spouse and that you completed your community service with the competence worthy of a true BU warrior

I notice that that scientist CH has not yet come to grips with the equation that I presented to the forum, namely that npie=dpea. But he will learn! LOL

23. David, I suspect your post is meant for another thread, but what are you trying to say? That not all blacks are the same? My point exactly.

24. If these are David Thompsdon’s words “under this new administration, the QEH Enhancement project, whether an extensively renovated or completely new structure, is a major undertaking that will commence in this, our first term in office. ”

And since he was Prime Minister for nearly 3 years can I ask “are we there yet”

David was more that halfway through his first term when he died. Have the plans for the Enhanced QEH been drafted yet? approved? funded?

Since David is dead and cannot answer, maybe Irene Garner can?

Or Donville Inniss can?

Or the Cabinet of Barbados can?

Or the Prime Minister can?

Say what you like about the B’s when Barbados needed a new prison building theyGOT THE JOB DONE, and a new Kensington Oval to (although I am not too sure that Barbados needed that)

When can Bajans expect a new or significantly enhanced QEH?

25. After reading today’s front page of the Sunday Sun it seems that Editor Sanka Price decided to explain the issue a little more to follow the unattached/bland reporting of Chris Gollop concerning telemedicine. Good for him.

26. @GP. I note that our friend Jack Spratt has surfaced in true Simmonsian form. Rather than use his personal knowledge and insider contact with certain people, he seeks to push an old war horse like me into certain actions from which he hopes to profit. That is not going to work. I will report to BU when I am good and ready and in a manner that will afford no comfort whatseoever to He Who Cannot Eat Fat, nor the judge in question nor the judge’s adversary (leaving the BU family to reach its own conclusions). However, as I have said, JS is welcome to preempt me by getting copies of the documents whereby a certain High Court judge is sued, posting them and commenting in whatever way he sees fit.

But the issue here is sorting out the QEH and the MOH and alleviating the dolor that now hangs over both.

27. Amused
    I note that whereas you are loathe to give pricks that you have absorbed the significance of, and the need to alleviate dolor, since dolor especially when in the plural is a cardinal feature of the inflammatory response.
    There is no need to suffer the fool of whom you speak gladly or otherwise. You are patient and endowed with great faith to think that either he or se Hood will comprehend that the issue here is sorting out the QEH and the MOH and alleviating the dolor that now hangs over both. here is sorting out the QEH and the MOH and alleviating the dolor that now hangs over both.

You say that the of the Sunday Sun explained the issue a little more to follow the unattached/bland reporting of Chris Gollop concerning telemedicine.
    You are too nice or do you mean that the editor was embarrassed by my scathing critique and debunking of the junk in his sad silly scandalous one sided attempt at covering this controversial conundrum?

If the account of which you speak is different to the junk on the online paper, could you kindly post it so that I may tear it to threads as needed?

The article in the online paper is as woeful as the one by the gullible Gollop.

28. This is the article referred to in the above comment where the Editor Sanka Price attempts to right the wrong of Chris Gollop’s PR piece which you , to use your word, debunked.

Sun, December 26, 2010 – 12:10 AM

Not good enough!

Thatโ€™s the verdict of Queen Elizabeth Hospitalโ€™s (QEH) consultants on the administrationโ€™s recent foray into telemedicine.

Whatโ€™s more, a senior consultant disagrees with QEH board chairman Reverend Guy Hewittโ€™s assertion that this measure would ease the problem created with the month-long suspension of cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael.

The consultantsโ€™ reaction was to Hewittโ€™s contention last Wednesday in a statement to QEH staff and patients that telemedicine – the transfer of medical information through interactive audiovisual media for the purpose of consulting, and sometimes to perform remote medical procedures and examinations – meant the dawning of a new age in patient-centred health care.

In the report on Hewittโ€™s statement in the DAILY NATION of December 23, he was quoted as saying that Dr Peter Gaskin, a paediatric cardiologist in the United States, consulted with doctors here over the last weekend in examining the cases of young patients with serious heart problems.

Hewitt stated that the use of improved technology, and the new focus on โ€œpatient-centred health careโ€ should pave the way for better treatment for patients at the QEH.

However, in a memo written to QEH chief executive officer Dr Dexter James that same day, acting Director of Medical Services Dr Clyde Cave, said the statement on telemedicine โ€œconstrues a misrepresentation of the situation and is in opposition to the expert medical opinion of consultant staff at your hospitalโ€.

And he contended that the care of children with heart problems at the QEH was in danger since the suspension of Ishmael on December 10, essentially for using a hospital letterhead to address a concern involving Dr Alfred Sparman and Minister of Health Donville Inniss. The content of that November 17, 2010 letter is now a matter of litigation between the three.

Cave stated: โ€œPlease be advised, again, that the current solution of using telemedicine to consult with Dr Peter Gaskin is not an acceptable replacement for the trained hands, ears and judgement of a paediatric cardiologist who can actually manage a patient in person.

โ€œThe cardiac health of the children of Barbados in the public service remains in jeopardy. The limited scope of the present telemedicine arrangements, of which we are aware, are inadequate for:

1) highest quality of emergency paediatric cardiac care; and

2) ongoing management of the paediatric out-patient clinic.

Cave noted too, that he had not received a response to his memo sent to the CEO dated December 14 in which he outlined his departmentโ€™s concern about the fate of at least four critically ill children as well as the 97 other cardiac patients at the QEH who, in the absence of Ishmaelโ€™s services, had been deemed at โ€œincreased risk of adverse outcomesโ€.

Meanwhile, the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP), in its Christmas message, lamented that the QEH continued to be in the headlines in a negative light.

BAMP stated in part: โ€œWe hope and pray that the season of Christmas which is at the focal point of this season, and which is held dear by the Christian faith and championed by priests, would emanate throughout those at the helm of our premier institution, giving them good judgement for wise and just actions.โ€

29. Thanks David

It is certainly true that telemedicine is not good enough to ease the problem created with the month-long suspension of cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael. Rather than the dawning of a new age, it actually represents a backward step in the delivery of health care in Barbados.

It boggles the mind that the Minister of Health would appoint a Board with a chairman who does not know the history of the development of the services offered by the hospital, especially with the advent of the UWI in its hallowed halls and the conversion of the QEH to a being a teaching hospital that has for years attracted medical students from hither, thither and yon to do electives.

Does this moron not know the regard and esteem in which the medical students trained at the QEH is held by the external examiners from all parts of the world.?

With the coming of the UWI to QEH came specialist consultants to teach. Some of those first taught went abroad to learn to be them selves specialists. Some like Cave and Ishmael and others, returned because of love of country to serve and to teach others, by sharing what they learned abroad. Those doctors who return become geniuses because they must create, and improvise and make do with an abominable lack of necessary equipment, in their quest to serve at a high level Such men deserve to be respected. It is not easy to return home to receive
    1- lower pay
    2- longer hours
    3- poorer or no equipment
    4- IGNORANT ADMINISTRATORS WHO FIND PLEASURE IN ATTEMPTING TO SET THE SENIOR DOCTORS AT THE HOSPITAL ABSOLUTELY MAD!
    5 and deal with priests with balls for brains, or
    6 dunces like DELORES, DONVILLE AND DEXTER

While the haughty Whoit is behaving like a little boy who got a shiny little toy for Christmas even the students [far less the consultantsโ€™] realize that telemedicine is no improved technology and that the mythological โ€œpatient-centred health careโ€ will not pave the way for better treatment for patients at the QEH.

Acting Director of Medical Services Dr Clyde Cave, was in my opinion most polite and patient in pointing out that telemedicine โ€œconstrues a misrepresentation of the situation and is in opposition to the expert medical opinion of consultant staff at the QEH

It is ridiculous that he should have had to inform the blundering blockheads who are paid to run our hospital, that the current solution of using telemedicine to consult with Dr Peter Gaskin is not an acceptable replacement for the trained hands, ears and judgement of a paediatric cardiologist who can actually manage a patient in person.

It pains me (dolors me) deeply that men or woe-men is paid from the public purse to run the affairs of our hospital DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE ROLE OF TRAINED HANDS, EARS AND JUDGEMENT OF HIGHLY TRAINED DOCTORS ON THE SPOT , and that such ARE MORE LIKELY TO DO A BETTER JOB THAN SOME ONLINE DABLING IN INTERACTIVE AUDIOVISUAL MEDIA FOR A CONSULTATION.

THESE MORONS INSTEAD OF LEADING THE QEH FORWARD ARE SENDING US BACK TO THE DARK AGES OF 40 YEARS AGO WHEN WE HAD FEW SPECIALISTS AT OUR LOVELY RELATIVELY NEW HOSPITAL WITH ITS BIG EMPTY WIDE CORRIDORS.

It would be amusing, if it was not so stupid to have this whoit? fellow trying to play doctor. But while he is playing doctor and nurse with his toy stethoscope and in his delusions of grandeur he dreams about being a doctor, the care of children with heart problems at the QEH has been in danger since the suspension of Ishmael on December 10, for the minor CAPITAL OFFENCE OF using a hospital letterhead IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS HOSPITAL CONSULTANT to address an OFFICIAL MATTER AT THE QEH.

While the little children with pea sized brains with ectopic testicular tissue are playing games such as doctor and nurse with their shiny toy stethoscopes, the cardiac health of the children of Barbados in the public service remains in jeopardy.

As a trained physician myself, I would like to reiterate what Dr Cave has articulated quite clearly that โ€œThe limited scope of the present telemedicine arrangements, of which we are aware, are inadequate for:
    1) highest quality of emergency paediatric cardiac care; and
    2) ongoing management of the paediatric out-patient clinic.โ€

The fact that ten days has passed and an adequate response has not been given to Senior doctor such as Dr Cave in response to his memo sent to the CEO dated December 14 in which he outlined his departmentโ€™s concern about the fate of at least four critically ill children as well as the 97 other cardiac patients at the QEH who, in the absence of Ishmaelโ€™s services, had been deemed at โ€œincreased risk of adverse outcomes INDICATES THE DISRESPECT AND DISDAIN IN WHICH THE DOCTORS ARE TREATED AT QEH BY DELORES DEXTER DONVILLE AND THE DUMMY who is the DEVILโ€S AMBASSADOR AT QEH!

BAMP has stated in part in a release: โ€œWe hope and pray that the season of Christmas which is at the focal point of this season, and which is held dear by the Christian faith and championed by priests, would emanate throughout those at the helm of our premier institution, giving them good judgement for wise and just actions.โ€

May I remind them concerning their remark in the paragraph above of two pertinent Scriptures

In James 2:19 it is written โ€ฆโ€ฆ Even the demons believe and tremble with fear.

The demon that we are dealing with does not even have the brains to either believe the truth about himself and because he has a conscience that is seared he has not started to tremble. But donโ€™t stoop to his level.

You will find too that our dummy the Diotrophetic priest with balls that loves to have the preeminence is well described here in 2 Peter 2:2
    1. But there were false prophets also among the people, even as there shall be false teachers among you, who privily shall bring in damnable heresies, even denying the Lord that bought them, and bring upon themselves swift destruction.
    2. And many shall follow their pernicious ways; by reason of whom the way of truth shall be evil spoken of.
    3. And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not.

30. smooth chocolate Avatar

@browngal | December 22, 2010 at 6:58 PM |
    “Now tell me, which letterhead should Ismael have written the โ€˜scandalโ€™ on.. his private practise one? no.. he is an employee of the hospital …. ”

clearly u do not understand about letterheads. a letterhead represents the head of the department, anything that is written on it is saying that the ‘u are writing on behalf of the head of department or Permanent secretary etc. when it is signed, it is then signed as for instance “dr Ishmael FOR director, P.S etc. never the writers post either is there. so yes what Dr ishamael did was a grave error but many people have done that and never gotten penalize.

Dr. ishmael should have written a Minute on minute paper placed on a Complaints file or some such file or a letter on a plain sheet of paper with his own personal address (not his personal letterhead) and the same salutation as he did the letter which got him into trouble. a memo would not do either as this too represents the head of department/hospital.

I hope that Dr Ishmael is vindicated, I at first was glad that he was suspended as I thought that he had usurped his position but now that I’ve read the letter, I understand completely his concern and agree with him but I am sorry he made that little error.
    The law could make a big case of it. As i see it. the Minister ought to remove himself from the post but we all know that he would try to garner as much money as his bank account can hold for the time he is there.

31. I am amused at how we Barbadians are smoothly going from one sorry mess under this administration to another.

Two weeks ago on this blog, the hot topic was the obstacles surrounding the appointment of Marston Gibson. We have heard not a word from our wordy PM and now we are on to this MOH/QEH mess. What’s going on in this country?

The PM last Sunday made a foolish statement that if a man left him in charge of his house how could he go and change curtains and rearranged the furniture, it would either force the man’s early return or force them to have words when the man returned. What makes his analogy so stupid is the fact that the man devolved all his powers to him to do as he pleased and he KNEW that the man was in no condition to come back so what was Freundel’s point? Being a well read man, has he ever read of the biblical parable about the talents? Freundel was to run things not just wait for PM Thompson to return. He buried the talents given and did nothing with them.

Well Freundel said he was always a leader and that there is a difference between leading and holding a leadership position. Well now that he is in charge, what is he doing about the appointment of a Chief Justice, this unholy mess at the QEH and now this foolishness I read in Sunday’s Sun going on up at Coverley. But wait who gave Mark Maloney so much power that he could block off roads and threaten to put them back up? Why did the Chief Technical Officer not get back to the man? This smells to high heaven! To my point, what is going on in this country?

To me all that the PM seems to be doing is holding the leadership position, it is as if he is waiting for PM Thompson to return. He cant even declare a date for the by-election. He needs to fire the MOH and this would get rid of the Chairman one time, this all looks very bad. But where is Irene Sandiford Garner in all this mess? She knew how to get government files on Liz Thompson and laid them down in the Senate but wont say a word about the corruption going on at the QEH or on Donville Inniss giving directives and overriding the consulting doctor to move a patient over to Sparman.

But the people wanted a change and this is change to believe in!

32. @GP. Masterful. Beautifully stated.

33. @ Prodigal Son | December 26, 2010 at 5:17 PM |

So why are you so surprised at what is taking place in this country now? Did you not have past history of these DEMs to learn from?
    Just a matter of the chickens all coming home to roost once again!

The only problem is that we the taxpayers are the ones who are going to have to bear the brunt of it all.

34. @ GP
    Doc, you got to make up your mind. You confusing me man. Is it “the priest without balls” or is it “the priest with nuff balls” (for brain)? Or is it 6 of one half dozen of the other? ๐Ÿ™‚

What a comedy of errors we seem to be experiencing from one day to the next here in good ol’ Bim.

35. @de hood. Let me make it simple for you. I believe GP is accusing the preacher of having goaties and no brain. Unike a certain blog proprietor who has no balls and also bowls no balls and also has no brain.

36. @ Amused

Now you gone an mek it even wusser! Wuhloss, we like we is got nuff de-balled, I mean no-balls, ummm, ah meaning. . . . . . at this point ah en even know wuh um is that ah trying tuh say. I mussee a member o’ DEM party den! ๐Ÿ™‚

37. Prodigal Son | December 26, 2010 at 5:17 PM |
    I am amused at how well you have made the comparison with PM FUMBLE AND the parable of the talents. Your analysis is correct but you failed to hit the punch line and state the moral of the parable. Let me play with this for you. Sir. And point one of the points you missed in this scenario

You asked โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ Being a well read man, has he ever read of the biblical parable about the talents? Freundel was to run things not just wait for PM Thompson to return. He buried the talents given and did nothing with them.

Well if this is the case [quae cum ita sunt] Freundel was NOT ONLY to run things BUT HE WAS TO PRODUCE A 100% RETURN. Recall the man who was given 5 talents returned the initial five talents plus five talents more – A 100% RETURN

The man who was given 3 talents returned the initial 3 talents plus 3 talents more

The man who was given 1 talent was apparently a prototype of a contemporary DLP POLITICIAN โ€“ He completely lost the plot and returnd nothing! He hid the talent! Such dummies are to suffer the indignity of having their talent taken from them and given to one who can manage 1, 3 or 5 talents and yield 100%

Now it seems to me that we dont have a problem with PM FUMBLE here. We know exactly what should be done with him, dont we?

The question is how many talents was he givenโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆor was he given any talent at all! Murdah!

de hood | December 26, 2010 at 6:36 PM |
    I am sorry about your confusion; but that is more due to your early Alszhiemers than my failure to make up my mind. Months ago when this man started to talk like Balaamโ€™s ass (i.e a jackass who spoke), Bush tea said he was a priest with balls. Following the strike my BAMP (the first in about 30 years) I power point which showed a comparison of a normal testis, and an atrophic testis to indicate what BAMP did to him at that time, and to predict his fate in the future.

You will note that though BAMP did not strike on this occasion he effluxed some doo doo in the papers that indicated that this what he expected them to do.
    It is now my opinion that this idiot behaves as he does because he has ectopic testicular tissue in his brains. In stead of brains, which is useful, he has balls tissue, which only produces excess testosterone causing always to be enraged . HE HAS NO BRAINS. INSTEAD OF DESCENDING TO HIS SCROTUM IN DEVELOPMENT HIS BALLS ASCENDED TO HIS BRAINS!

I am not responsible for, nor am I participating in any comedy of errors, I am just reporting on those occurring in Health. When the hospital was at its zenith there was no board. The hospital was not then run by priests. All that a priest is fit to do at a hospital is TO PRAY FOR PATIENTS RECOVERY AND GUIDANCE OF THE WORKERS.

We seem to have the cart before the horse.

As I HAVE SAID BEFORE IT WAS EASIER FOR GOD TO GET BALASAMโ€™S ASS TO TALK AND THE DLP ARE ABLE TO GET THE ASSININE PRIEST WITH NO BRAINS TO SHUT UP. HE IS AN EMBARRASMENT TO BAJANS AROUND THE GLOBE.

BAJANS IN CENTRAL FLORIDA ARE WONDERING ABOUT THE JUNK HE IS DOING AND SAYING.

38. @ Smooth Chocolate

What arrant nonsense you have written above. I have worked for over 30 years for the Canadian Government and have done the same thing Dr. Ishmael has done and it was my right. If I had written on plain letter head or a “minute”, it would have ended up in file 19! The garbage pail. When it is on letterhead, IT IS OFFICIAL and a response is mandated. cheupse…

39. @ Amused

You have good taste. I have 23 litres of Pinot Noir here that should have been bottled two weeks ago. I, however, was too busy baking for the old folks for Christmas. I hope to go rent a corker tomorrow and finish the job. I should get 32 750 ml. bottles. You can have 4, as that seems to be the amount you quaff at a sitting.

@ Dr. GP

Man, you know your stuff. Good work all around. People in some quarters are probably wondering who the ‘devil’ is this Dr. GP? Continue to knock those dodoes off their perches.

40. On Facebook one of the newspapers posted a comment to the effect it was a serious newspaper and could not treat to issues in the way the blogs can.

There is some truth in the comment but it is clear the continued pandering of the traditional media to the advertising dollar and their special need to brown nose the establishment has created a void which will continue to be filled by the good, the bad and the ugly.

Note since the blogs published the leaked letter the Nation and Barbados Today have had QEH PR fluff on their front pages at least twice. Suppose they are serious publications. The Barbados Advocate, nothing.

41. Thanks GP for your post, I did not want to make mine too long but you correctly penned my thoughts.

But seriously, when is this man going to act, the country still seems as if it is on autopilot.
    *When is he going to reshuffle the cabinet? he is still doing the work of a sick, dying man.
    *When is he going to say something on this QEH mess? Or will he say it is a legal matter and therefore cannot speak to it?
    *When is he going to say something on the Warrens building?
    *When is going to address the NHC and Michael Lashley? Does he know that the construction at Constant has stopped after all the hullabaloo with Mrs Rice Bowen?
    *When is he going to announce a date for the by-election?

What a leader we have! Another Sandi?

42. smooth chocolate Avatar

“@Pat | December 26, 2010 at 8:49 PM |
    @ Smooth Chocolate
    What arrant nonsense you have written above. I have worked for over 30 years for the Canadian Government”

what utter crap are u writing? i am talking about the BARBADOS GOVERNMENT clown NOT Canadian Government fool stupse…. tell me are our civil services laws the same jackass?….

43. Pat
    Thanks for your kind remarks

Didnโ€™t the Advocate have some junk on this issue on todayโ€™s back page?

Re On Facebook one of the newspapers posted a comment to the effect it was a serious newspaper and could not treat to issues in the way the blogs can.

DOES THIS MEAN THAT THE BLOGS ARE NOT SERIOUS IN HANDLING THIS MATTER?

Well if they think we are not serious then they should list the questions presented on BU and ask some one in the MINISTRY to answer them. They should research their archives and indicate where I have erred in any of the history I have presented.

In this discussion on BU and BFP, obvious Sparmanโ€™s supporters have had their say unrestricted. If their contributions are truthful, then they have been a SERIOUS contribution.

I have tried to relate to the readers the relevant history and the solid medicine that I know, and what I teach. I fail to see how any of the dummies that work in any of the media houses can contradict anything that I have said, even that given in jest! Lol

What is very clear is that someone somewhere is reading; and those someoneโ€™s wherever they are, are having a lot of trouble defending the indefensible, because the flimsy excuses and QEH PR fluff and attempts at damage control bandied about in the traditional media has the dimensions of dental floss——very very very thin!

As you say it is clear the continued pandering of the traditional media to the advertising dollar and their special need to brown nose the establishment has created a void which will continue to be filled by good, and serious and knowledgeable writers who present the truth that they know ON BU.

David let those in the Ministry of Health and the news media of Barbados learn the tenets of Genesis 4:6. And the LORD said unto Cain, Why art thou wroth? and why is thy countenance fallen? 7. If thou doest well, shalt thou not be accepted? and if thou doest not well, sin lieth at the door

If they were doing well their WORK WOULD BE ACCEPTED.
    If they are doing poorly THEY CAN KNOCK ON OUR DOOR AND LEARN HOW TO BE HONEST AND ACCURATE AND HAVE FUN AT THE SAME TIME!

But as for being not serious? They are not serious. BECAUSE I AM VERY SERIOUS ABOUT THE JUNK THAT IS HAPPENING IN BIM FOR HEALTH.

AS A YOUNGSTER I WAS BOLD TO WRITE PM ADAMS JUST PRIOR TO HIS DEATH.
    NOW, I HAVE THE BENEFIT OF THE BU STAGE
    SO DEXTER DELORES DONVILLE AND DUNCE SHAPE UP OR BE SHOWN UP. AND STOP TAKLING SHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhht in the press WHEN YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY WRONG.
    I WILL MAKE THE TIME TO DEBUNK IT.

Dont go on face book come on BU if you dare and get your tail cut like your daddy never cut it in your youth.
    I will very quietly and calmly run you ragged and rip your junk to threads very systematically.

44. @GP: “Well if they think we are not serious then they should list the questions presented on BU and ask some one in the MINISTRY to answer them.

You don’t understand GP…

That’s not how things are /done/ here (traditionally).

The truth is not important. Who knows who (and who is profiting) is what is important….

(Sorry — that might come across as cynical.)

45. @ GP
    Methinks that thou hast misunderstood me. When I commented re the “comedy of errors” I was referring to that which was being performed by the group of comedians that passes for a government here in Bim. If the consequences of their folly was not so serious it would indeed be a big joke to those looking on. Capiche?

46. OK CH OK De Hood

47. @Dr. GP et al…

One of the reasons that the “traditional fourth estate” can claim that they’re more “serious” than the “blogs” is that so many serious commentators here refuse to put their real name behind their words.

You (GP), Amused, BAFBFP, MME, Technician et al all have serious knowledge which you share with us all on a regular basis. But for some reason you all refuse to stand behind your words in a legally serious way.

I’m not trying to insult or “out” anyone here. But let us please all acknowledge: many people already know who many of you are based on the hints you yourselves drop.

But… I *am* trying to raise a serious question which I hope will be considered: when will Barbados be ready to support (in all meanings of the word) those who stand behind what they say, even when it goes against the “establishment”?

A separate question: when will some more important “anonymous commentators” take the “leap of faith”, and step forward and be counted?

48. @Chris. The whole reason for the success the blogs is because of anonymity. I think your entire premise is wrong. There are many people in this world who have something deeply relevant to say and vital information to impart. Yet, if they revealed themsel as you suggest, their message would be less effective. How many times have you personally had some jackass try to obscure your message by focusing on your skin colour? What the blogs do is to focus on the message not the messenger.

Then there is the legal aspect. Years ago, when the South Coast Sewerage Project was a go, one of the traditional press reporters contacted me, wanting to know if it would be defamatory for him to point out that one of the main high-ups brought in from overseas by government who was being delinquent in his work did, in fact, have a criminal record, but had omitted to state this when he applied for the job. H wanted to know if it would be legally actionable to advise the public in his newspaper of this. I obtained the relevant court records and told my friend to go right ahead and print. However, somewhere along the line a certain Ju-C got wind of this and placed a legal letter on my friend and the newspaper threatening a defamation action. It was the newspaper, after taking “legal” advice that decided to surrender. It is different with the blogs โ€“ because it is almost impossible to sue them.

The other aspect you have to consider, Chris, is that traditional reporters are able to submit their pap to counsel for an opinion as to whether or not it is defamation-free. This costs a great deal of money, which would defeat the entire rationale of the blogs, which give voice to those who have no voice and no means. The blogs are for the many, not for the select few. They are for the oppressed, not for the oppressor.

Finally, because of their in-house counsel etc., the traditional media is able to obtain heavy insurance at tremendous cost. Once again, you do that and you change the whole dynamic of the blogs.

There, anonymity is an integral part of the blogs โ€“ it is the norm. There are some people like yourself who are prepared to not be anonymous and, I have to say, in your case it works. However, you are the exception that proves the rule.

@GP. Me Lud, I rest. For now.

49. @David. The very fact that any member of the traditional press has alluded to the blogs on Facebook, indicates to me that, not only is your message getting through, but that they are worried.

@GP. Please continue to hammer. To my eyes, we have won this one. However, I don’t think we should let up until they publicly surrender. The days of sweeping the mess under the carpet are over.

50. To Nation Editor Sanka Priceโ€™s credit, he seems to be hammering away within the constraints Amused alludes to above.

Docsโ€™ fear

By Sanka Price | Mon, December 27, 2010 – 12:12 AM

THE Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) could face a major lawsuit if any critically ill children with heart disease should die during the suspension of paediatric cardiologist Dr Richard Ishmael from that institution.

This fear has been raised by consultants at the QEH and was confirmed as a justifiable worry by a senior attorney.

This is the latest twist to the impact of the suspension of the islandโ€™s lone paediatric cardiologist, Ishmael, on December 10 for using a hospital letterhead on November 17 to address a concern involving Dr Alfred Sparman and Minister of Health Donville Inniss, which is now a matter of litigation between the three.

Emergency meeting

The QEHโ€™s consultants raised their concern in an emergency meeting of the heads of clinical departments held on December 16 at 3:30 p.m. in the Nursing Office conference room at the hospital.

In a copy of the draft minutes obtained by the DAILY NATION, the question of increased risk to the hospital was raised.

โ€œDrs [Clyde] Cave and [Stephen] Moe responded that the consultant in Clinical Risk Management (CCRM) had informed CEO [Dr Dexter James] that this was the highest level of risk [a score of 25 according to the risk matrix equal red] as the starting event was the decision to suspend paediatric cardiology services in the hospital, and the possible consequences, included preventable death from cardiac pathology.

โ€œThe CCRM further advised that the exposure to this risk would be prolonged as in peadiatric cases, the time for potential litigation was 18 [or 25] years,โ€ stated item seven of the Minutes.

One legal source said that the doctors had a right to be concerned.

โ€œAnybody who is taking part in the management of these critically sick children must be concerned as all of them are in the potential cross hairs of a lawsuit if any of these children die,โ€ said the attorney, who declined to be named.

He explained that by establishing a position of consultant paediatric cardiologist in the first place, the QEH recognises that a specialist who deals with children with heart disease was the best medical option as against just having a consultant cardiologist who deals with adult cases.

โ€œWith the suspension of this paediatric cardiologist at a time when the hospital has critical cardiac paediatric cases, if one of them dies and it can be shown that the optimal care was not given, and their deaths may have been preventable in normal circumstances, then the QEH could be held liable.

โ€œThat is why I suspect the hospital moved to get a paediatric cardiologist from overseas to advise them through the telemedicine service.

That is an implicit recognition by the institution that they need those specialist paediatric cardiologist services.

โ€œThat the consultants involved with the management of the children do not think this telemedicine is adequate for their needs presents another challenge for the QEH,โ€ the attorney said.

His latter point refers to a memo written by Cave to James on December 23 telling him that โ€œthe current solution of using telemedicine to consult with

Dr Peter Gaskin is not an acceptable replacement for the trained hands, ears, and judgment of a paediatric cardiologist who can actually manage a patient in person. The cardiac health of children of Barbados in the public service remains in jeopardyโ€. (SP)