L – r) Director of the Sparman Clinic, Cardiologist, Dr. Alfred Sparman; Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, his wife, Gail Inniss and the Minister’s Personal Assistant, Cindy Downes at the start of the official opening of the $20 million facility for cardiac care located at No. 4, 6th Avenue Belleville St. Michael

Prominent Cardiologist Dr. Richard Ishmael has been suspended from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital QEH with full pay pending an internal investigation. At the root of the problem is a letter written by Dr. Richard Ishmael which is addressed to Dr. Delores Lewis, Director of Medical Services at the QEH on the Queen Elizabeth Hospitalโ€™s letterhead.

In the interest of the publicโ€™s right to know BU now post the document. Feel free to use BU’sย  Confidential Feedback Form which can be used to send information to BU without using an email address.

Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael:

Pages: 1,2,3

Tenessess Board of Medical Examiners Minutes

Department of Health Florida Board of Medicine Minutes

Dr. Alfred Sparman Documents

Pages: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9

334 responses to “Leaked Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael Which Got Him Suspended From The Queen Elizabeth Hospital”

1. Quoting โ€œRandom Thoughtsโ€
    How is it that in a 21st century democracy we still think that one adult can be insubordinate to another? Isnโ€™t it time that we give up that postcolonialist shite?
    In any organisation there is a hierarchy and for that organisation to function well there must be respect between employee and management at all levels. Perhaps Dr Ishmael is not an employee in the ordinary sense but how many people tell their boss that the boss is incompetent and remain with the organisation? I didnโ€™t say that Dr. Ishmael should be obsequious but if you want respect you should be prepared to give it.
    When we give up the โ€œpost colonial shiteโ€ what are you going to substitute in its place? I donโ€™t hold any brief for the Minister and if he is guilty of canvassing for patients for Dr. Sparman he deserves to be dismissed but even Dr. Ishmael qualifies his accusation when he wrote the following โ€œif the above facts are correctโ€. No doubt Dr. Ishmael was upset when he wrote the letter and upset people act irrationally when they are confronted with some situations whether they are a Doctor, Carpenter or Fisherman. Perhaps in the cold light of day when Dr Ishmael had time to reflect he may have penned the letter but the wording of the last two paragraphs would be quite different.

2. One other thing: Dr. Ishmael was David Thompsonโ€™s personal physician for โ€œdonkey yearsโ€ to use a Bajan idiom. I would think that every interaction would not be solely about Thompsonโ€™s health but there would be at least a general discussion about the state of health care and the operation of the QEH. During these visits wouldnโ€™t Dr. Ishmael ask about the establishment of the Cardiovascular Care Unit seeing that the entity would be close to his heart (pun intended) and space was already allocated for this Unit?. And if they discussed it wouldnโ€™t Thompson start the ball rolling when he became PM or communicated why it wasnโ€™t feasible?

What would it cost to equip and run a fully functioning Cardiovascular Unit? Does any body have the figures? Does the Barbados Govโ€™t have the funds to inject in such a Unit? I think that if any one would know the answer surely it would be Dr. Ishmael as he is a specialist in this field.

If there are no funds in the budget for this enterprise wouldnโ€™t Dr. Ishmael know that one canโ€™t make chicken salad from chicken $hit?

3. A sargeant
    That is pretty much conjecture. if there is one thing the former PM was good at is separating politics from professional relationships and friendships. So there is no definite link between Ishmael being his physician/friend and Ishmael having a direct input into policy matters.

Another admission by Thompson’s cabinet colleagues is that he purposely at point refused to interfere in their ministries so that they could be their own men.

Plus as we would all agree the country is rather poor right now. But Ishmael’s point still stands, if so much effort can be spent trying to big up Sparman and allegedly get him patients from QEH (stealing revenue from the Crown by the way, not just Dr. Ishmael) then that same effort could be put into fixing QEH’s cardiac services which would benefit all and not just those with big dollars!

4. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Ah GP, Lol I have not the intellectual capacity for either of those roles, nor the qualifications and experience for the first.

As for the quick action on issues, no doubt this may appear advantageous, but sometimes I may indeed be too eager, champing at the bit and prancing like a stallion to undress and issue, to bring it to successful climax.

Needless to say, a man of your experience, not to mention medical knowledge, knows that sometimes a slower hand is necessary, to guide a matter properly, before satiosfactory conclusion can be reached, for the benefit of all.

Therefore, your recognition of Freundel’s slower action on an issue may actually indicate a better approach.

Remember the story of the old bull and the young bull up on a hill, surveying the cows in the valley below?

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

A lot of you all who already condemning the minister of Health and the DMS with having only Ishmael’s side of the story,I hope you don’t get egg on your face when, or if, other facts are presented.

You don’t think the minister had legal advice before he sued Ishmael?

No one has presented evidence that the minister is a director of Sparman’s clinic.

No one has presented evidence that the minister is corruptly working with Sparman to send private QEH patients to Sparman.

No one has presented any evidence that the minister gave those instructions as even Ishmael is saying in his words:” if these facts are correct”

Facts are facts,you can’t have correct facts and incorrect fact.Steupes.

Either it is a fact, or your opinion, or a big speculation.

If as produced in the letter from QEH,Dr Ishmael was not going to renew his contract,then the question needed to be asked what was the QEH doing to plan for this happening.

What about Dr Harris,Dr Moe,Dr Hassell,Massey and others?

Are there no junior pediatric cardiologists doing work with Dr Ishamel?I hope so at least for the sake of the country.

Ishamel is an employee of the QEH and if he does wrong he must face the music like any other employee.However I hope this matter is not taken further because Ishmael has contributed greatly to the QEH.

I notice doctors always quick to tell you that so and so is not a doctor so he can’t tell doctors instruct doctors about anything.

Well I think those days of Doctors being ‘little gods’ are coming to an end,and I predict after some stressing a new relationship of interdependence and respect for all concerned should emerge at the QEH.

The next group that needs dealing with are those nurses.

6. @Sargeant

What is known right or wrong in this matter is that there is tremendous dysfunction between key stakeholders at the QEH.

The state of affairs has straddled both political administrations.

It is time all parties understand the ‘malady’ afflicting the QEH has the potential to seriously compromise healthcare delivery.

Telemedicine is an add-on which appears to have its place but is clearly not any serious solution to the problem at hand.

7. @ mashup nd buy back

1/ Dr. Hassell has long since retired.

2/ The other cardiologists are not pediatric cardiologists.

3/ None of the Cardiologists routinely have any junior staff working with them at the QEH due to the already mentioned ridiculous staffing.

4/ i agree about the Inniss being a Sparman director. Sounds like wild conjecture but we can wait and see.

5/ Sparman has disputed very little in shmael’s letter. His point was that he was solicited. the issue then all hinges on the patient’s testimony. I gather one side has that testimony and the other does not ๐Ÿ˜‰

6/Doctors have not been “little gods”for years and years and years. That is why they have to fight so hard to get anything done at the QEH for patient benfit and that is why as i already posted in this topic or elsewhere the notion of a Doctor centered institution is an utter farce as public Doctors in Bim often work in poor conditions and can not be sure as to when they will be paid. Do “little gods” have to beg for their pay or NIS?

8. Quoting Sargeant “how many people tell their boss that the boss is incompetent and remain with the organisation?”

Dear Sargeant perhaps if one of Bernie Madoff’s employees had called him out 30 years ago, Bernie would not now be in jail, and his son would not be dead (of suicide) and his grandchildren would not be orphans but we seem to have this thing of not telling the Emperor (the boss) when he is stark naked, or stark raving mad, or when his hands are dirty.

But karma is a bitch.

Dear Sargeant: But what if the boss is incompetent? And what if his incompetence is being paid for with my tax money $20,000 a year in income tax, $800 a year in property tax and God only knows how much in VAT. If a publicly paid official is incompetent why shouldn’t he be called out or FIRED? Or is it that you think that the publicly paid official is more important that the public who pays him (or her).

You don’t live here Sarge and so you pay little or no taxes here. Those of us who are groaning under this tax burden do not want to see fee paying patients diverted from the QEH to private enterprise.

If private entrprise has borrowed $20 million to set up a health care facility to compete with the QEH, don’t you think it would have been wise for private enterprise to create business plan first, instead of trying to suck up all the fee paying patients, leaving the QEH struggling to look after those who can’t afford fees. And should the Minister a SERVANT of the people of Barbados be seeking to facilitate the financial interest of a FOREIGNER instead of doing his SWORN DUTY to put the interest of the PEOPLE OF BARBADOS first?

Sargeant if you cannot answer these questions perhaps the Prime Minister can answer them for us.

And if the PM does not feel like talking, we the people will talk for him via the ballot box.

A merry Christmas to you.

9. Quoting Sargeant “If there are no funds in the budget for this enterprise wouldnโ€™t Dr. Ishmael know that one canโ€™t make chicken salad from chicken $hit?:

The Barbados government collects, hundreds of millions of taxes each year.

Cardiovascular disease is a major cause of morbidity and mortality in Barbados.

David Thompson was the Prime Minister of Barbados for almost 3 years.

Yet he did nothing to advance the quality of heart care for Barbadians.

Maybe it is that David Thompson did not care.

Maybe David Thompson felt that if he ever became ill he could go overseas, and even though that worked for David Thompson, do you think that that is good public policy?

This is the same David Thompson who used OUR TAX MONEY to fund a $20 million write-off to the Barbados TURF CLUB, and provide a $10 million letter of comfort to CLICO.

Let me ask you a question Sarge.

When David Thompson was looking after the financial interests of corporate Barbados who was looking after the health care interests of ordinary tax paying Bajans?

Don’t you think Sarge that we should hold our PUBLICLY PAID officials to a higher standard?

10. Quoting Commander ” if there is one thing the former PM was good at is separating politics from professional relationships and friendships. So there is no definite link between Ishmael being his physician/friend and Ishmael having a direct input into policy matters…Another admission by Thompsonโ€™s cabinet colleagues is that he purposely at point refused to interfere in their ministries so that they could be their own men. ”

Dear Commander: It is one thing for a Prime Minister not to accept advice from his idiotic friends, but when a PM does not accept medical advice from a leadng cardiology consultant at the QEH, may I ask from whom then is he accepting advice?

And being a Cabinet minister is not the time for a man to prove he is a man. If we want to verify whether or not we are men we just need to look down when we pee. A man should ba a man long, long before he comes to Cabinet. Cabinet should be a forum for wisdom, not a place for proving (or disproving) one’s manhood on the TAXPAYERS MONEY.

If a Cabinet Minister is making a mess of things the PM ought to interfere (manhood my ass). And sometimes the best means of interference is to fire the insecure, incompetent Cabinet Minister.

11. @ Random Thoughts

I never suggested that public officials should not be dragged on the carpet to explain any misdeeds I was only suggesting that there is a process that should be followed. The letter started out as a complaint against Dr S and then morphed into a rant against the DMS and the Minister of Health about the administration of health care at the QEH and Barbados in general with particular emphasis on the non establishment of a particular Unit .

Everyone who has a pulse knows that there are issues at the QEH, the DLP during its short tenure has had two Health Ministers, the first being a doctor whom one would think would be able to make some leeway and resolve some of those issues but seemingly he โ€œbuttedโ€ heads with some of the entrenched and was โ€œshuffledโ€ out. Now there is another Minister and a complaint which has been conveniently leaked to all and sundry. One should ask why was that complaint conveniently โ€œleakedโ€ and all the โ€œsupportingโ€ information forwarded? Who stands to benefit? Is the intent to have another Minister appointed who will be more malleable to the wishes of some?

On the basis of the letter we are all jumping to conclusions about the effectiveness, honesty and integrity of public servants. If the statements contained in the letter about the soliciting of patients by Dr. S with the assistance of the Minister through the DMS are correct heads should roll but until then it would be wise not to condemn anyone.

A merry Xmas to you too

PS : You had to bring up Bernie M as an example of an incompetent boss? There has to an overbundance of individuals with more relevance to us.

12. @Sargeant

Thanks for showing the other possible side of this matter.

Perhaps GP or Commander can speak to the performance system the QEH would have in place to manage consultants specifically.

13. I am glad to see some people now recognise the importance of evidence versus accusation as a fact. I don’t think facts claimed support the view that David Thompson separated friends from profession. We know about Clico. What is reprehensible in this situation is the action by the board, and it would have to have the approval of the Minister to suspend the doctor without hearing the facts. Should not the same be done for the DMS and should not PM do the same for the Minister before investigating. Stupse. It is going to be amusing to see how DLP will deal with further allegations of corruption – Coverley and Michael Lashley, now Donville and Sparman issue. The BLP needs to be raising this issue, they must be sleeping.

14. Random Thoughts | December 24, 2010 at 8:58 AM |
    Quoting Sargeant โ€œhow many people tell their boss that the boss is incompetent and remain with the organisation?โ€

The answer is probably not many. I was teaching at what turned at a fledgling medical school which turned out to be bogus, and was fired on a pretext by the hopelessly incompetent Dean for trying to give him the benefit of my experience. It was very clear that the students were being poorly trained. My conscience dictated that they should not be released on the public even if some how they were able to past the exams.

He seemed to think that my black color equated me with the blacks of his nation, until I run him and his school ragged in the appropriate blog until the school was closed heavily in debt.

It is now the time for doctors in Barbados- past and present to let the public of Barbados know how they are mistreated at QEH by the so called hierarchy.

You are correct it might have been better if one of Bernie Madoffโ€™s employees had called him out 30 years ago. I believe if the boss is incompetent, he should be told so, especially in this case where the three dumb DEES are MEDICAL ILLITERATES. I believe if the boss I believe if the boss as a publicly paid official is incompetent that they should be called FIRED, as in this case. No publicly paid official is more important that the public who pays him (or her)โ€ฆ.especially when/if they are diverting fee paying patients from the QEH to private enterprise.
    I can not see how any one except a moron of the highest order can disagree with what you say here โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆIf private enterprise has borrowed $20 million to set up a health care facility to compete with the QEH, donโ€™t you think it would have been wise for private enterprise to create business plan first, instead of trying to suck up all the fee paying patients, leaving the QEH struggling to look after those who canโ€™t afford fees. And should the Minister a SERVANT of the people of Barbados be seeking to facilitate the financial interest of a FOREIGNER instead of doing his SWORN DUTY to put the interest of the PEOPLE OF BARBADOS first?

15. Sargeant | December 23, 2010 at 11:35 PM |

I agree with you that โ€œ In any organisation there is a hierarchy and for that organisation to function well there must be respect between employee and management at all levels.โ€

Why is it that there is never any respect shown by the administration of the QEH for the little slave boys called the doctors? I promise you Sir that you have no idea of the pressure and responsibility of being on call for 48 hours after working the day before——–and then working for 8 hours after the 48 hour on call session. Trust meโ€ฆI KNOW! And by the way you have no choice in doing this over time for which you are paid a mere pittance!

If the Hospital Board wants respect should they not give respect. When a Board led by a medical illiterate composed of mostly medical illiterates can not show respect to a doctor of the caliber of Ishmael , that board should be in Mangrove dump.

You ask a good question โ€ฆโ€ฆ.When we give up the โ€œpost colonial shiteโ€ what are you going to substitute in its place? Thatโ€™s what is wrong with post independence Barbados. We have given up the โ€œpost colonial shiteโ€ and substitutes it for nothing or American scum.

Many are pontificating about Dr. Ishmael saying โ€œif the above facts are correctโ€. Has it occurred to you guys that he might know exactly what he is saying? I would say it the same way knowing that โ€œthe above facts are correctโ€.
    Why do you think that Richard was upset and thus irrational? I donโ€™t think so at all. His letter evinces to me a very good over with well aimed bouncer after well aimed bouncer that rattled ribs, knuckles and displaced nasal bones.

FOR TOO LONG TOO MUCH SHIT HAS BEEN DISPENSED BY INCOMPETENT FOLK IN THE HIERARCHY AT QEH.

HOSPITALS ARE NOT LED BY PRIESTS AND MEDICAL ILLITERATES EXCEPT IN BARBADOS!

For those who are ranting against Ishmael these two questions must be answered โ€œif the above facts put forward by Ishmael are correctโ€.

What would prompt a Minister of Health to seek to divert paying patients from the QEH to a private clinic?

Why would a Minister of Health, claim that he has not intervened in the matter but left it to the board, when the actions of the board are not consistent with justice, and an intervention is clearly called for?
    This situation really stinks. I hope this thing backfires on these morons, because this whole thing ought to be better handled!

Sir Bentwood Dick | December 24, 2010 at 5:48 AM |
    I AINT ABLE WITH YOU SIR
    THOU HAST WELL SPOKEN THOUGH LOL
    SURELY A MAN WITH YOUR HUMOR AND COMMAND OF THE LANGUAGE, IS IN MY OPINION WORTHY OF SOME HONOR- ESPECIALLY IF WE CAN HAVE TWITS LIKE THE THREE DUMB :DEES AT THE HELL- UM OF THE QEH.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“The BLP needs to be raising this issue, they must be sleeping.”

The crooked Barbados Labour Party have worst examples that we can point to and they know it, hence their silence.

This Sparman debacle is clearly of their manufacture.

17. @ Carson Cadogan

You never ceases to amuse me.

18. *cease

19. mash up & buy back | December 24, 2010 at 6:16 AM |
    Re I notice doctors always quick to tell you that so and so is not a doctor so he canโ€™t tell doctors instruct doctors about anything.
    Here am I AM doing a hysterectomy or Caesarean section on A POOR BAJAN WOMAN , and DOLORES DONVILLE AND DEXTER LED BY THE PRISTS WITH BALLS IS ARE TELLING ME WHAT TO DO. HILARIOUS! AND THEY ARE DOING IT DESPITE NOT GIVING ME THE TOOLS OR THE ANAESTHETISTS!
    Re Well I think those days of Doctors being โ€˜little godsโ€™ are coming to an end,
    WHEREAS THIS IS WHAT YOU WANT AND WHAT THE PRIEST WITH BALLS THINKS HE CAN ACHIEVEโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..IT AINT GOING TO HAPPEN! LOL
    GOOD HOSPITALS ARE LED AND RUN BY DOCTORS! CHECK OUT A LITTLE HOSPITAL LIKE BAYVIEW
    THIS IS THE CASE ALL OVER THE WORLD. ILLITERATE MORONS CANT RUN HOSPITALS.
    Re and I predict after some stressing a new relationship of interdependence and respect for all concerned should emerge at the QEH.
    WHEN WE GET RID OF THESE MORONS AND ADOPT THE PROPER APPROACH OF LISTENING TO THOSE WHO DO THE WORKโ€ฆโ€ฆ.YES
    READ THE LAST PARAGRAPH OF ISHMAELโ€™S LETTER
    DONโ€™T YOU THINK THAT THIS IS PERTINENT AND DAMNING ?
    They suspend a man for trivia to try to frighten other doctors into submission WHILE THE JACKASSES ARE NOT DOING THE BASICS TO IMPROVE CARDIAC CARE AT QEH !
    Tell me Sir of what tissue is your brain made? Do you have any betz cells at all? Or do you have ectopic rectal elements up there

I am so enjoying this! I am so enjoying Donville and company messing things up. They certainly had the opportunity to do better.

And I will be doing my best every time they err to explain to the public HOW , whenever they fail.

THE PUBLIC OUGHT TO KNOW WHEN THEY WILL IMPROVE THE CARDIAC UNIT.

Sir David Can you please copy the relevant last paragraph from Dr Ishmael’s letter so that we can dissect and discuss it and so inform those members of the public who want to underestand about these matters.

20. Sorry Carson
    THE DLP HAS BEEN IN POWER FOR THREE YEARS AND THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING MUCH FOR HEALTH CARE

This is not about Sparman, per se

This is about POLITICALLY APPOINTED PERSONNEL TRYING TO INTIMIDATE ONE OF OUR LOYAL DOCTORS INTO SILENCE CONCERNING HIS COMPLAINTS ABOUT CRITICALLY ILL PATIENTS BEING REMOVED FROM THE QEH AND HIS STRAIGHTFOWARD STATEMENT THAT THE DUMB DEES DONT KNOW WHAT THEY DOING

Carson, be a good boy for once, man
    THE BLP IS NOT TO BLAME BECAUSE DELORES DONVILLE DEXTER AND THE PRIESTS WITH E ECTOPIC TESTICULAR CELLS IN HIS BRAIN ARE ALL MEDICAL ILLITERATES with distinction! Cum laude!

21. @GP. Just a little note of caution that I hope you will take in the constructive spirit in which it is meant. You say, โ€œMany are pontificating about Dr. Ishmael saying โ€œif the above facts are correctโ€. Has it occurred to you guys that he might know exactly what he is saying? I would say it the same way knowing that โ€œthe above facts are correctโ€.โ€

I think you will find that most people have probably decided whether they think the facts are correct or not. However, as legal notices (maybe even proceedings) have been issued in this case, those of us with legal backgrounds have to take care not to make prejudicial statements, without some form of caveat rumpus. I can assure you that no one is sitting on the fence in so far as their personal opinions are concerned, but my comments at least are dictated by the now-indelible instinct to be presented with all the facts. I note that Dr Ishmael himself, when questioned by the Nation, refused to comment on the advice of his counsel. I know it can be frustrating and seem like a waste of time. However, to those of us with legal backgrounds, to do it any other way would be the equivalent of you breaking the Hippocratic Oath (or updated successors to that Oath โ€“ I am sure that doctors are no longer required to swear by Apollo, Asclepius, Hygieia, and Panacea, but I happily defer to you on that point).

All that having been said, I have derived great enjoyment and laughter from your comments on this issue. Carry on, sir. You continue to be on a roll. Remember, no ginger-based additives to the injection of iron. Tenderizes the iron, I am told โ€“ think booze and antibiotics. Eddows, I am told, will enhance the iron, however, especially when reduced to a soup. We all wait, breath baited, to find out if you survive. Oh, by the way, GP, donโ€™t try to pass the buck to me on the basis that you only prescribe. You are a doctor, sir, and must therefore administer the injection. It isnโ€™t a pill or a suppository, you know. Although, from what I have gleaned, there are some doctors who do administer suppositories. LOL.

22. Amused
    Long before I qualified, we would after 2nd MB shadow the doctor in A& E at the University Hospital. One day to my horror, the doctor said thus to Medical Student GP. Take this asthmatic patient to Sister ask her to draw uo 500mg aminophyline and 100 mg hydrocortisone and you give it to the patient by SLOW IV PUSH. I did as ordered.

As my representative in Barbados I now ask you to calculate the required dose of iron needed , set up an IV and administer the TDI. Murder. I cant understand why you big talking lawyers frighten to givea little stick! Murdah

The problem with sippositories is that the blood supply to the rectum differs at the higher end from the lower most end and so does the absorption. IV injections are more reliable. LOL

I will abide by your legal advice Sir, and try not to lead the witnesses or counsel.

Did I ever tell you about by first case in the High Court?
    I had recently graduated when one day a young woman stabbed another one who was pregnant inthe abdomen.

The knife went through the left upper part of the uterus then through the foetus’ head and excited thgrough the right side .
    We were already in theatre. My superior repaired the damage after straining the girl’s blood in citrate and auto transfusing her.
    We discharged her from hospital in two days
    A stupid lawyer tried to convince me to say that the injury was not serious because we discharged the girl so quickly despite my repeatedly telling him that SIR WE DID A GOOD JOB SIR!
    Eventually he exhausted my patience and I angrily asked him HAVE YOU EVER SEEN A UTERUS BLEED! aFTER THE HOWLS FROM THE GALLERY SUBSIDED, THE JUDGE SAID

NO DOCTOR I THINK COUNSEL HAS BEEN SPARED THAT ORDEAL

COUNSEL ARE YOU SEEKING THE ORDEAL OF GIVING A LITTLE PRICK? English to sweet nuh?lol

23. Amused, have you not “manufactured” yet that case where a judge is being sued for delinquency? I am waiting on you.

24. @GP. You as bad as me. Somewhere I have a list of jokes about lawyers and the stupid questions they sometimes ask. I will try to find it and post it for you. Idiocy is not the sole preserve of the medical profession, you know. There are some lawyers that you have to ask yourself how the hell they ever qualified or if they were standing behind the door when the Good Lord was passing out brains. But the best I personally remember was in a rape case before Ranny Douglas when he was CJ. The young lady raped was giving evidence and referring to her assailant’s male parts by some very descriptive and colourful Bajan names. Ranny stopped her and told her she must refer to that part of the man as his organ, to which she replied, “But um look like a flute”. Pat is bound to remember that case. Ranny had to leave the court pronto, shoulders shaking. So English is all very well, but you can’t beat good Bajan. LOL.

@Jack Spratt. And have you not managed to get to the Registry yet and look up the case that I have, according to you, manufactured? I will make it easier for you. It is now in the process of being placed into case management. I assume, with no little trepidation, that you acually know what case management is. If you don’t, you may just get very lucky and find someone at the Registry who knows what it is and, even more miraculously, can actually explain it to you – plus, of course, find the file. Have fun. Merry Christmas. A very important colleague is visiting me at the moment and we are about to discuss the merits of our second bottle of Pinot Noir, so I en got nuh time fuh you.

25. @GP

Is this what you requested, p.3 of the letter?

This certainly re๏ฌ‚ects poorly on the DMS and the Minister of Health as it seems to indicate what they think of their hospital, which is supposedly a leading tertiary care institution in the region that they would want to send a seriously ill patient to a private institution run by an unqualified individual with a checkered history.

It would seem more appropriate that the DMS and the Minister of Health concentrate on improving the delivery of cardiovascular care and critical care at the QEH. This can be done by facilitating the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care Centre which was conceptualized and articulated 14 years ago, was designed 10 years ago and was funded by the European Union 6 years ago, as well as by increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU). This will allow better care for all QEH cardiac and critically ill patients rather than trying to send โ€œprivateโ€ cardiac patients to a private institution run by an individual with questionable credentials.

Yours sincerely,

Richard G Ishmael GCM, MBBS, FAAP, FACC, FRCPC, FCCP.
    Consultant Cardiologist.
    Cc The Minister of Health.
    Chairman, QEH Board.
    CEO, QEH.
    Chairman, Medical Council of Barbados.
    President, BAMP.
    Head, Dept of Medicine.
    Head,’Critical Care Medicine.
    Head, Dept of Cardiovascular Services.
    Head, Dept of Accident and Emergency.
    Head, Dept of Surgery.
    Head, Dept of Anaesthesia.
    Consultants, Dept of Cardiovascular Services.

26. @GP and Amused… LOL. Funny stories.

Geeks can also be rather stupid; particularly if they’re using technology they don’t actually understand fully.

A favourite personal story of mine is a junior geek who had encrypted an important file for his boss with a very strong (read: many bit) symmetrical key, deleted and “Scrubbed” the original file, but had then forgotten the pass-phrase when he needed it months later.

“Sorry,” says I, “you can’t get that data back unless you can remember the pass-phrase.

“No,” says the junior geek, “you don’t understand. This is *really* important. I need to get that file unencrypted.

I: “Sorry. *YOU* don’t understand. Unless you can remember the pass-phrase you used that data is gone. That’s the whole point of strong encryption.

As an aside…

Please let me wish everyone at BU the very best of the holiday season. Particularly BU.David, ROK, Dr. Georgie Porgie, Amused, Kiki, Technician, Micro Mock Engineer, Bush Tea, Pat, Hants, Bonny Peppa et al.

We here in the “BU.Family” don’t always get along (what family does?), but I believe we’re doing good and important work.

May your prayers to which ever god(s) you pray to come true.

May BU continue to do and enable what the traditional fourth estate is too afraid to do.

Namaste to all.

27. David | December 24, 2010 at 2:34 PM |
    Is this what you requested, p.3 of the letter?
    Yes Sir David!

I cant help repeating how Ishmael throw those qualifications at those delinquentsโ€ฆโ€ฆ. MBBS, FAAP, FACC, FRCPC, FCCP Note that the man is Board certified in both Canada and the US in paediatrics and cardiology!

He is worthy of respect. His opinion is also worthy of respect.

Re This certainly re๏ฌ‚ects poorly on the DMS and the Minister of Health as it seems to indicate what they think of their hospital, which is supposedly a leading tertiary care institution in the region that they would want to send a seriously ill patient to a private institution run by an unqualified individual with a checkered history.

Not only is our hospital a leading tertiary care institution in the region, it is and has been since 1967 A TEACHING HOSPITAL! The achievements of our hospital have been due to the sterling efforts of the QEH doctors who teach more a pittance, and the UWI PAID doctors who have limited private practice.

It boggles the mind why this select bunch of politically appointed want to destroy these accomplishments. And why the populace think that the medical staff can do more- ie make bricks without straw.

Re It would seem more appropriate that the DMS and the Minister of Health concentrate on improving the delivery of cardiovascular care and critical care at the QEH.

Certainly this should be their goal. If I was in their position I would listen to those WHO KNOW AND SEE HOW I CAN ACCOMODATE THEM PIECEMEAL, YEAR BY YEARโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..AND THEREBY PLEASE AND APPEASE AND SATISFY THE PUBLIC.

Note in the next few lines Richard gave a viable and reasonable suggestion thusโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    This can be done by facilitating the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care Centre which was conceptualized and articulated 14 years ago, was designed 10 years ago and was funded by the European Union 6 years ago,

We know Carson that the BLP messed around with a lot of the good work done by Branford Taitt prior to the DLP losing office in 1994, but why was the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care not on the agenda in the 2008 election? The only thing in your manifesto was to finally complete the St John Polyclinic. Ah lie?

Note that Richard gave OTHER viable and reasonable suggestions thusโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆas well as 1- by increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago)
    2- by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU).
    3 This will allow better care for all QEH cardiac and critically ill patients

Instead of listening to wise counsel from Richard G Ishmael MBBS, FAAP, FACC, FRCPC, FCCP, what did the medical illiterates do? ENGAGE IN ARROGANCE & IGNORANCE! They engaged in ATTEMPTED INTIMIDATION โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..BUT IT HAS BACKFIRED DUE TO THE EXISTENCE OF BU AND BFP, BOTH OF WHOM ARE BETOKEN TO NO ONE for their ADVERTISING FOR REVENUE. Even the new online paper has failed in its duty to the people.

Richard gave them the sort of advice a wife would give to a husband who squandered his weekly wages at the race track or the local rum shop. And he was treated just as the errant drunking spend thrift husband would do!. BUT IT HAS BACKFIRED DUE TO THE EXISTENCE OF BU AND BFP, BOTH OF WHOM ARE BETOKEN TO NO ONE for their ADVERTISING FOR REVENUE. BOTH OF WHOM ARE BETOKEN TO NO ONE for their ADVERTISING FOR REVENUE.

To tell ya de trute if en I had these letters behibd my name, I woulda give them more licks!

Richard G Ishmael, MBBS, FAAP, FACC, FRCPC, FCCPโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..you are a boss and a great son of the soil!

Its time we heard from these guys
    1-Chairman, Medical Council of Barbados.
    2- President, BAMP.
    3-Head, Dept of Medicine.
    4- Head,โ€™Critical Care Medicine.
    5- Head, Dept of Cardiovascular Services.
    6- Head, Dept of Accident and Emergency.
    7- Head, Dept of Surgery.
    8- Head, Dept of Anaesthesia.
    9- Consultants, Dept of Cardiovascular Services.

It is time that you guys stop absorbing the taunts and complaints of a disillusioned public and tell the populace of BARBADOS the conditions under which you work, and about how the powers that be destroy the will and interest of the doctors by their stupidity.

We know that the mainstream media will not listen to what you say, but now, YOU CAN LEAK IT TO BU and BFP/ JUST TELL THE WHOLE TRUTH IN NUFF DETAIL AND PUT IT SIMPLE THAT THE PUBLIC CAN UNDERSTAND.

THE TIME HAS COME TO ELIMINAE DUMMIES FROM THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH.
    THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS DESERVE BETTER

28. IMAGINE
    THIS ALL THE NTION CAN GET FROM BAMP

THE
    PRESIDENT IS SARCASTIC THOUGH LOL
    Fri, December 24, 2010 – 1:23 PM
    The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is seeking wise counsel and guidance to chart their path forward.

A statement released today by BAMP notes that with Christmas Day being celebrated tomorrow, the association continues to be in the headlines in a โ€œnegative lightโ€.

โ€œWe at BAMP have sought to give guidance and wise counsel to those that would chart the path for our Institution and, through negotiations and good judgement, we trust that such will be the case.

โ€œWe hope and pray that the season of Christmas which is at the focal point of this season and which is held dear by the Christian faith and championed by priests, would emanate throughout those at the helm of our premier institution, giving them good judgment for wise and just actions,โ€ according to statement, signed by President Carlos Chase.

It added: โ€œWe pray that the wisdom of Solomon would flow to fill the cups of those that are empty setting them on the right course of a people centred, patient friendly, employee friendly policy making path in the new yearโ€.

BAMP said they will continue to put the welfare of the citizens and residents of Barbados first โ€œas we engage in dialogueโ€.

29. @Dr. GP: (quoting a respected “news” authority here in Bim): “BAMP said they will continue to put the welfare of the citizens and residents of Barbados first โ€œas we engage in dialogueโ€.

Please correct me if I’m wrong, but is it not far easier to “talk the talk” than “walk the walk”?

What exactly is public about BAMP’s “engage[ment] in dialogue [with the public]”?

Just asking….

30. @David, Chris and BU family. All the very best for Christmas. Chris, of course we don’t always agree, than the Good Lord, because in that way we learn. Fortunately, we all have open minds and the ability to admit when we are wrong and fight like shite when we think we are right. Healthy, that is what it is.

@GP. Carry on hitting the sons of bitches HARD! They deserve it.

My colleague and I ended up having a very serious discussion about the relative merits of no less than four seperate and distinct bottles of Pinot Noir. He said he thought it was similar to Pol Roger champagne, which I thought was bare sh***, BUT in the interest of fairness, we had to investigate and discuss a bottle of that too and reach an equitable determination. By which time he, for reasons passing all understanding, could not walk at all, due, he said, to his intellectual exertions. I think it because he old and got rheumatics. I, who never drink, of course was and am completely unaffected. So I was startled to the marrow of my bones when I got home and She Who Must Be Obeyed accused me of being “inebriated”. Has she never watched Rumpole? Having been placed on notice that (under pain of divorce proceedings) tomorrow I must not be inebriated and must be capable of “carving the blasted turkey without cutting off one of [my] hands”, I going to bed.

31. Amused
    It seems that your resort to the scientific method has been your undoing in this matter.
    I suggest that you plead guilty to the wife enter into a plea deal to do your community service tomorrow with the turkey. Drink a Banks malt and a Plus for me and leave the science to scientists like CH!

Is it possible that you can get the text of the stupid article in Baarbados today in which the priest with balls shouts from his shelves of Houston so that we can do due justice to it here

32. Page 34 of Barbados Today is interesting.

They should be paying Owing for using his photo.

The Advertiser must be wondering how they got so lucky as to be on the same page as the great one.

33. CH
    I do not always understand the ways of BAMP. bUT TO THIER CREDIT WE MUST ADMIT THAT THEY DO NOT RUSH TO MAKING HASTY HEAD STRONG STUPID RESPONSES TO ERRANT ACTIONS BY STUPID SACERDOTES!

Here we see the Board suspending a good man with pay for a month. BAMP simply, like Mary ponders these things and refrained from acting stupidly in retaliation with strike action

1- Ishmael is only suspended for a month
    2- he is getting full pay with out working for it
    3- he has more time this nmonth to make extra money at his office
    4- the Boards action has backfired and blown up in thier face because of BU AND BFP
    5 THE BAMP PRESIDENT HAS DONE LITTLE EXCEPT WATCH THE PRIEST WITH ECTOPIC TESTICULAR CELLS SHOW HIMSELF TO BE INCOMPETENT AND THEN USES HIS WORDS TO MOCK THE PRIEST IN THE PRESS

In the interim, none of the mainstream press has given the two sides of the story and sought for balance as has been the case on both BU and BFP. Unlike the press, bloggers on both BU and BFP have tried to examine all the various facets of this conundrum. Some have even sought to defend the indefensible.

34. @GP: “In the interim, none of the mainstream press has given the two sides of the story and sought for balance as has been the case on both BU and BFP.

So, may I please say again GP… Best of the season to you et al…

May you live long; and prosper….

35. @GP

There you go. You may find a couple of errors when the OCR software converted from jpeg to text.

CHAIRMAN OF THE QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL BOARD, REVEREND GUY HEWITTT

The Christmas narrative is a journey of faith of hope and of love, theological virtues and character qualities which are associated with salvation. In a fundamental way these three virtues: faith – steadfastness in belief; hope โ€” the capacity of not giving up; and love โ€” sel๏ฌ‚ess, unconditional love and charity are at the heart of what the board of management is hoping to achieve through the staff of the QEH.

For Christmas, the board hopes that Barbadians will have faith in the transformation we seek to bring about in order to return this institution, this institution that we all need and love, to its pride of place.

This Christmas I ask the people of Barbados not to lose faith in the journey that the board wants to make for all Barbadians in terms of care at the QEH. Our current healthcare environment presents tremendous challenges to providing quality care to patients: before us are the challenges of increasing costs. declining budgets, staf๏ฌng shortages, and access issues that the Board struggles with. At the heart of the transformation we seek, is the move from a consultant~centric model to a patient-centred model of care. Allow me to explain.

Although many people may receive sound medical care at the QEH, many experience going to the hospital as institutional, impersonal, and alienating, with bare white walls, nightly disturbances, limitations on visitation and insufficient access to information about the condition and treatment.

This is not an indictment on health professionals but simply a recognition that traditional medicine was often illness-centred or cure-centred; the focus was on attacking and overcoming the disease. The patient โ€” his comfort, mental status, wishes and desires โ€” was secondary to defeating the medical enemy. Many have experienced the real sense that our comfort as a patient is a lesser priority to solving the medical mystery. But that no longer needs to be the case. A patient-centred approach offers an add-on to the current care through a low-technology, systems-based approach to many of the problems and challenges that exist in the QEH. It can be implemented in a low-cost manner to support the provision of safe, effective, timely, and ef๏ฌcient health are.

At the heart of patient-centred care is information-driven and quality-medical procedures can be systematically monitored by measuring outcomes, including infection, mortality and dislocation rates, pain levels, patient satisfaction and physical function levels, length of hospital stay and discharge destination. waiting lists and back logs. and operating room efficiencies.

The patient-centred model of healthcare delivery is not just another clinical pathway but a comprehensive systems approach through the full cycle of care that uses the perspective of placing patients and their families at the centre of our focus.

And let me assure the public that any changes introduced will be done carefully and conscientiously. As a priest and also a corporate director, l understand both the demands and responsibilities of leadership. As someone who lost a sister and father at the QEH, whose brother spent weeks in here as a child, as someone whose mother is a registered nurse and whose both children were hospitalised. I understand the role of this institution and will do nothing but my very best for it on behalf of all those who previously currently or in the future will call on the QEH to be all that it can be.
    That is my personal pledge and the commitment of the Board of Management to the assured decision-making. Measures are urgently needed so that the impact of people of Barbados. In 2001, the ministry and QEH will be planning a number of stakeholder consultations with staff, professional bodies, patients and the public to get critical feedback on the delivery of health care in Barbados and the priorities going forward.

To those who would question the Board’s recent silence during the suggested state of crisis. I need to make three points:

First, the board does not believe that industrial relations matters should be fought in public or through the press. There is a well established procedure for addressing industrial relations which we thought that BAMP also understood. agreed to and would have adhered to. And in case they deny leaking their letter to the press, let me assure you it wasn’t the board who did.

Second, while BAMP and its members were in the press raising anxieties over management’s and the board’s apparent lack of responsibility, know that the board and some members of the management team were otherwise occupied, focusing on ๏ฌnding a solution to this current challenge at the QEH. And I am pleased to report that the suggested state of crisis turned out to be an opportunity for the QEH. Let me explain how.

One critical realisation for the board during the last two weeks has been that in some areas of clinical speciality there are no back-up services available in Barbados and during periods when specialists are away. including on vacation there is of necessity some level of risk created. To avert this situation in the future, the QEH will seek to develop a register primarily of those Barbadian physicians in the Diaspora who are willing to provide support to the QEH through telemedicine. Having spoken personally to a number of them personally recently I am pleased to report that each and every one of them expressed a willingness to assist the QEH particularly with public patients.

For them it is a way of giving back to Barbados for what this nation provided to them. secondary school. UWI and scholarships often free of charge, allowing them achieve what they achieved and to be where they are today as medical professionals. Third, the board will seek to move with haste in this area…

The QEH will be working with the Ministry of Health reformed through telemedicine which would now allow diagnostic and support services to be provided by Barbadian and other medical practitioners anywhere in the world, supplemented by periodic in-country visits of these specialists as required. Other potential virtual services are specialist or generalist telephone triage services.

We did as we promised the public and parents of the infants in ICU during the suggested state of crisis. which was that the QEH would leave no stone unturned in trying to ensure the continuity of care.

This Christmas I ask the staff of the QEH not to give up hope. for the QEH relies on you to be the agents of change at the QEH. Despite the rumours, I can affirm that the Board and Executives of the QEH are committed and focused, but most of all we are fair. We adhere to the principles of Good Governance: participation, transparency and accountability and accordingly. we commend the dedicated, seek to motivate the willing. reassure the uncertain. reprimand the offending and reluctantly. where necessary transition the unwilling. No one is beyond the staff rules or code of conduct.

We assure all staff and all staff representatives our resolve to work together with all groups for the improvement of patient care. We must remain focused on our purpose as service providers as all public servants should; for whether to a patient, customer, client or even a citizen. without them we have no purpose, no business, no career. and no future.

This Christmas I also want to thank the Government for the love and support shown to the board. During the last impasse with BAMP we felt the support from the highest levels of the Government, including the Prime Minister, and during the recent rumblings we have been assured of the Minister of Health’s utmost con๏ฌdence in the board to lead the QEH in the best interest of the public. As a board appointed by the Government which in turn is elected by the people, we af๏ฌrm our commitment to the Government and people of Barbados to do our best, to do our duty and by our doing be a credit to our Nation.

This Christmas ๏ฌnally and most importantly, I want to thank the members of the board of management of the QEH for their dedication to the institution patient care and this nation. Notwithstanding the disparaging comments made about the Board by fringe elements in the media, given the challenges at the QEH, this Board has been forced to function almost as an executive Board.

Due to sheer dedication, some board members put in between 21 and 40 hours a month. without pay. This is a committed, diverse and talented Board comprising professionals with expertise including law. engineering, medicine, accounting and ๏ฌnance, IT, health care, industrial relations, business and administration.

This is a board that has the experience and has acquired in-depth knowledge about the QEH to equip us to make informed decisions. I will attest that these are the type of persons of proven character, judgment and maturity โ€“ citizens capable of making mature and reasonable decisions in the public interest that one would expect to carry out this important role. We should all give God thanks for them.

In closing, I remind you that in honour of the passing of the late Prime Minister. the Hon David Thompson this institution committed itself to return to pride of place in Barbados. We can do not less for Barbados expects and demands this. In the Spirit of Christmas I ask that the people of Barbados continue to give the QEH your support and keep the patients, staff. executive and Board in your prayers.

Accept my best wishes for Christmas and for a prosperous New Year. God bless Barbados and God bless the QEH.

36. A rallying cry from the Chairman. One critique is the fact that after affirming that the Board would not wage matters with BAMP in the media he accuses BAMP of leaking a letter. Oh boy!

37. @David: “Oh boy!

Are we there? Yet?

38. @Chris

What do you think?

39. @BU.David: “What do you think?

Sadly… No.

But it’s well worth always trying.

40. @Chris

We have concurrence.

41. Thanks Chris & David

42. I hope I am not the only person who thinks that this patient-centric concept is crap.
    People want medical care first and foremost. The smiles can come after treatment and recovery.

43. This is part one of my debunk of the junk printed in Barbados Today this evening by the biggest fool that has been foisted on the people of Barbados in Medicine since the history of medicine in Barbados

The man is wise in his own conceits, and while professing himself to be wise, he shows himself to be a fool of elephantic proportions. Would to God that he had the ears of an elephant to LISTEN TO THE CONSULTANTS THAT HE NEEDS TO RUN THE HOSPITAL.

Friends let us dissect and debunk the junk that effluxed from the priestโ€™s dysfunctional betzpaenic brain with the ectopic testicular cells.

He apparently does not even understand his theology, so how can he understand medicine and the needs of a medical institution. Hear the fool โ€ฆโ€ฆ

The Christmas narrative is a journey of faith of hope and of love, theological virtues and character qualities which are associated with salvation. In a fundamental way these three virtues: faith โ€“ steadfastness in belief; hope โ€” the capacity of not giving up; and love โ€” sel๏ฌ‚ess, unconditional love and charity are at the heart of what the board of management is hoping to achieve through the staff of the QEH.

1 Not only does the issues at hand have nothing to do with the Christmas narrative, but the โ€œChristmas narrative is NOT a journey of faith of hope and of love theological virtues and character qualities which are associated with salvation.โ€ The Christmas story which begins with the prote evangelium in Genesis 3:15 has to do with God promising to send a Savior to pay the penalty for sin. The Christmas story is about Godโ€™s love being demonstrated by the sending of his son. The Christmas story is about God providing the means of salvation for a fallen race.

2-The moron asserts that โ€œ sel๏ฌ‚ess, unconditional love and charity are at the heart of what the board of management is hoping to achieve through the staff of the QEH.โ€ IS THIS WHAT WE HAVE WITNESSED BY THE STUPID SUSPENSION OF DR ISHMAEL?…….and ON FULL PAY! WHERE WAS THE UNCONDITIONAL LOVE AND CHARITY EXHIBITED BY THE BOARD? Does this moron know the etymology of the word charity, and that the greek word for charity is translated most often as GRACE?

He continuesโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.For Christmas, the board hopes that Barbadians will have faith in the transformation we seek to bring about in order to return this institution, this institution that we all need and love, to its pride of place.

3- How can the QEH return to its pride of place, when a doctor who really exhibited “his journey of faith of hope and of love “by returning to practice medicine in Barbados for the last 30 years despite being Board certified in Paediatrics and Cardiology is treated like a dog by this power seeking dummy?

With Ishmael’s qualifications, he could collect US 4000 a pop for having a technician do a thread mill test. He does not even have to be present. How do I know this? I witnessed it doneโ€ฆโ€ฆ..on me as the patient.

That the QEH should return to its pride of place suggests that it was once pride of place. Who ran the hospital then? A board led by a priest who does not even understand the message of the Christmas story? Guess what ? It was not?

WHO RUNS BAYVIEW? A silly sacerdote? NO

4- How can the QEH return to its pride of place, when such a duly well qualified doctor can not get the following issues addressed by the Board, the DMS and the Minister of Health or this puerile priest who is clearly an arrogant ignorant bully full of himself?

The people of Barbados agree that ” It would seem more appropriate that the DMS and the Minister of Health concentrate on improving the delivery of cardiovascular care and critical care at the QEH. This can be done by facilitating the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care Centre which was conceptualized and articulated 14 years ago, was designed 10 years ago and was funded by the European Union 6 years ago, as well as by increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU). This will allow better care for all QEH cardiac and critically ill patients rather than trying to send โ€œprivateโ€ cardiac patients to a private institution run by an individual with questionable credentials.”

Here the moron one moreโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.This Christmas I ask the people of Barbados not to lose faith in the journey that the board wants to make for all Barbadians in terms of care at the QEH.

5 Why should the people of Barbados retain faith in a Board that suspends a faithful loyal well qualified doctor for asking relevant questions and pointing out relevant discrepancies of a Board woefully lacking in the necessary acumen, attitude and aptitude for the required job?

The questions that the Board MUST answer to retain the faith in the Board with respect to the care of heart patients at QEH are
    a- Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on improving the delivery of cardiovascular care and critical care at the QEH?

b. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on facilitating the opening of the Cardiovascular Care Centre in the โ€œempty shellโ€ on the 2nd floor of the Lions Eye Care Centre which was conceptualized and articulated 14 years ago, designed 10 years ago and was funded by the European Union 6 years ago?

c. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU)?.

d. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on increasing the number of critical care beds at the QEH, (first requested 15 years ago) by refurbishing, expanding and reopening the medical ICU and creating a coronary care unit (CCU).

e. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board NOT concentrate on allowing better care for all QEH cardiac and critically ill patients rather than trying to send โ€œprivateโ€ cardiac patients to a private institution run by an individual with questionable credentials.

f. Why does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the QEH board think that the necessary does the DMS and the Minister of Health and the transformation they seek in moving from a consultant~centric model to a patient-centred model of care is the way to go?

Has patient centered care not always been the way medicine is practiced? You donโ€™t need consultants for primary care to happen YOU NEED PATIENTS. Medicine revolves around interaction with patients and doctors.

Does this idiot think that the Bajan people do not know that THE PATIENT IS CENTRAL IN THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE. Does he not know that BAJANS LOVE TO GO TO BAYVIEW AND BELLEVILLE FOR THEIR CONSULTANT MEDICAL CARE.

IF THE BOARD WAS DOING ITS JOB AND WAS NOT EMBARRASSED BY THE EXPOSURE OF ITS WOEFUL ARROGANCE AND INCOMPETENCE VIA BU & BFP BLOGS
    we would not be reading this junk in today’s Barbados Today.

44. For a Christmas message coming from a priest I must ask where are we going. This is the most unholy, unchristian, uncharitable and unsophisticated piece of rambling wicked and spiteful verbiage coming especially for XMAS. I SAY FIRE HIM FROM THE CHAIRMANSHIP AND THE PRIESTHOOD FAST. WHAT TYPE OF PRIEST IS HE? CHECK OUT HIS BACKGROUND TOO. YOU MAY FIND MORE THAN YOU BARGAINED FOR,. I SAY NO MORE!!!!!

45. While you are at it check out what the folks at CXC think about him too

46. GP

May I suggest that you calm down before you need the services of a cardiologist? Can I recommend one in Barbados?

Anyway I came across this article today and thought that it would be of interest to you.

Merry Xmas

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/12/23/nyregion/23caribbean.html?_r=1&src=me&ref=general

47. Jenny M
    If I was home I would follow up on your suggestion.
    But why dont you do a wicki leak here

What is clear to me though is that this man has serious pshychological and probably psychiatric problems, and appointed to this post has gone to his head!

48. @GP

What is clear to me though is that this man has serious pshychological and probably psychiatric problems, and appointed to this post has gone to his head!

Bear in mind the Chairman functions at the behest of the Minister.

49. Sargeant
    I am very calm cool and collected
    What I need is the ammubnition to run this fool ragged

He is being paid to undo work that I was able to accomplish at no cost to the people of Barbados…….and no one is doing anything about it.

50. David
    Are you questioning my clinical acumen?
    Are you questioning my ability to take a medical history?
    Are you questinioning my telemedicine skills, Sir?
    I dont have the letters like Ishmael , but from here it is clear to me that this fool has psychiatric and psychological problems.
    You are dealing wid a madman in Bajan parlance
    Do you want to be suspended without any pay LOL LOL murdah