L – r) Director of the Sparman Clinic, Cardiologist, Dr. Alfred Sparman; Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, his wife, Gail Inniss and the Minister’s Personal Assistant, Cindy Downes at the start of the official opening of the $20 million facility for cardiac care located at No. 4, 6th Avenue Belleville St. Michael

Prominent Cardiologist Dr. Richard Ishmael has been suspended from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital QEH with full pay pending an internal investigation. At the root of the problem is a letter written by Dr. Richard Ishmael which is addressed to Dr. Delores Lewis, Director of Medical Services at the QEH on the Queen Elizabeth Hospitalโ€™s letterhead.

In the interest of the publicโ€™s right to know BU now post the document. Feel free to use BU’sย  Confidential Feedback Form which can be used to send information to BU without using an email address.

Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael:

Pages: 1,2,3

Tenessess Board of Medical Examiners Minutes

Department of Health Florida Board of Medicine Minutes

Dr. Alfred Sparman Documents

Pages: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9

334 responses to “Leaked Letter Written By Dr. Richard Ishmael Which Got Him Suspended From The Queen Elizabeth Hospital”

1. Mr. Cadogan,
    The BLP does not license medical practitioners. Mr. Inniss is a friend of mine but if he has acted inappropriately, he should be called to task. He is an elected representative of the people of Barbados and is NOT a law unto himself.

2. @David. In all the circumstances, I do not think that a claim of privilege or confidentiality can be advanced over any of those documents. They are of great interest to the public and the public has a right to know. You cannot have a situation where a doctor (or any other certified practitioner in any field) has his license cancelled and then claim that it is secret or covered by confidentiality. We are dealing with the lives and well-being of the public. As such, the public has a right to know. Seems to me that this is an open invitation by Dr Ishmael to sue Dr Ishmael. But, if the information provided is correct, I am willing to bet that no one takes him up on it. I would also be willing to bet that Dr Ishmael took legal advice on his letter and sworn affidavit evidence on all his allegations, before he sent it. It is because of that the QEH reply seeks to change the subject, instead of directly addressing the issue.

By the way, why is the document posted in the QEH reply redacted (and insufficiently redacted too – the name is not completely obscured)? There is no need for it to be redacted. These are people paid by the Bajan taxpayer and are writing IN THAT CAPACITY.

3. @ Amused

Your bets may be quite correct.

As I mentioned earlier Sparman’s suit does not dare touch most of the stuff in the letter. The qualification issues and fraud remain strangely unchallenged.

4. With all due respect would we have known about the failings of the QEH, The Ministry of Health; the Minister of Health, Dr. Ishmael; Dr. Sparman; the DMS and the various and sundry officials if not for the content of the last paragraph of Dr. Ishmaelโ€™s letter and the wide circulation it received? (Check out the folks who were copied).

The genesis of this suspension is in that paragraph where Dr. Ishmael took the Min of Health and the DMS to task and pulled no punches in what he thought that they should be focused on. Either the Minister or the DMS or both thought that the comments bordered on insubordination and suggested that his wings be clipped.

Personally I donโ€™t think Dr. Ishmael should have brought up the issue of the Cardiac Unit in the letter as the possible establishment of that unit preceded the Minister and indeed the present Govโ€™t but Dr. Ishmael was probably venting his frustration at the whole affair.

Apart from that there are the issues of whether Sparman was aggressively soliciting hospital patients through a source at the QEH and the very serious accusation that the Minister intervened on his behalf. Also if Dr. Sparman does not have the accreditations which he has claimed why is that now coming to the publicโ€™s attention? Shouldnโ€™t that be ventilated when he first set up practice?

If it is easy for unqualified people to practice specialty medicine I think I will be putting my shingle out soon, I think I will be a psychiatrist.

Look for me under Dr. Booby.

5. Quoting Seargeant “the comments bordered on insubordination…
    Personally I donโ€™t think Dr. Ishmael should have brought up the issue of the Cardiac Unit in the letter as the possible establishment of that unit preceded the Minister and indeed the present Govโ€™t”

How is it that in a 21st century democracy we still think that one adult can be insubordinate to another? Isn’t it time that we give up that postcolonialist shite?

And whether or not the establishment of the Cardian Unit preceded Minister Inniss’ appointment and this current DLP administration, the truth is that the baby is now Minister Inniss’ and he has to mind it. It is his job, and we pay him well, and we expect him to do his job.

We the long suffering, hard working, tax paying citizens are tired of excuses.

6. @random thoughts ”How is it that in a 21st century democracy we still think that one adult can be insubordinate to another? Isnโ€™t it time that we give up that postcolonialist shite?”

—-

Fully agree, insubordination my ..s. Especially a very qualified and experienced man surely should be allowed to air his views, or is this a dictatorial state?

‘Postcolonialist shite’. Descriptive AND apt.

Henceforth can we call it ‘PS’?

7. @Commander

It is very distressing to read that the highly touted Medical Registration Act does not address known failings of the Medical Council, especially given its significant responsibility in ensuring the integrity of our vaunted healthcare system.

8. @ Random Thoughts | December 23, 2010 at 12:07 AM | Dear GP:
    If you donโ€™t behave yourself Iโ€™ll tell Mac Fingall and Tre vor Eastmond that you are trying to steal their jobs.
    ====================
    I doubt that I have the expertise. But you do not have any idea how happy I am to see these morons exposed! Especially the “priests with balls” as he was lauded by Bush Tea!

I will try to behave Sir…….but if I err, please forgive me my liege.

But tell me man, you see them letters that Richard throw down at the end of his letter though? SPEAKS OF AUTHORITY

9. @ David | December 23, 2010 at 2:41 AM | Dr Sparman has a very nice website.
    http://www.thesparmanclinic.com/
    ==============================
    This is not allowed as far as I know. Doctors in our system are allowed to advertise by putting out a relatively small”shingle”. The letters with one’s name can only be of a certain size, and only two colours may be used etc.

Off course such rules were made long before the computer age. But as far as I know are still in place; and ought to be obeyed.

I wish to laud and applaud the stirling contribution of Commander on this thread. Very good and accurate information that can not be disputed.

10. @GP. Carry on, sir!!! You are in your element and just getting into your stride. I am enjoying it hugely. Don’t forget the “Doctor of Sorrows” while you are at it. Also completely agree with Crusoe and Random Thoughts. Insubordination my backside!!

Inniss is the minister. He is responsible for the government’s policies on health care. The government irrespective of whether it is DLP or DLP or any other.

11. @ David
    A point was made earlier that Ishmaelโ€™s accusations directed at Sparmanโ€™s past record are all in the public domain. Are we sure? Some of the documents appear to be minutes of medical board meetings which would not have been readily available.
    ==================================
    In the USA this information is readily available online. If I come into your town, you ca go online and using what ever info given in my advertising go to the web site for the Board of the state and just put in Dr GP, BU …………and presto ! Any goo out there about me will come up. LOL

The information that you have recieved and posted is readily available, in some cases for a small fee for admission to the we site. Have used the system myself to check on colleagues we were seeking to hire or check on, while teaching at two offshore schools.

12. Carson C. Cadogan | December 23, 2010 at 8:08 AM | Is Sparman a Cardiologist in Guyana as well?
    If not, why not?
    ==============
    Come on CCC! Thats an easy one! how many people down there can pay for him to rip them off—–going by reports we are now hearing?

Stand on the bench till lunch time lol

13. @David. I have to say that I am finding this all very disturbing, but also very amusing. I have been called on the matter of class actions, but time will tell and I never said it was to do with medical malpractice, but with misrepresentation and fraud which, by the way, are civil as well as criminal. The net could be even wider as the BMA is presumed to have a duty of care to the general public or any one of them in its licensing of practitioners. If Dr Ishmael’s accusations are proven, the BMA would be seen as being delinquent in its duty of care. Mind you, this is merely an inexpert suggestion on my part based on allegations. To the legal expert who described me as a dillitante, therefore, pray, of mighty and excellent legal expert sir, might there be a cause of action there? Please shed the light (grovel, grovel) of your supreme wisdom on us poor dillitantes who believe that there might be – a class action, no less, by those who, reliant on the qualifications advertised and claimed by Dr Sparman, surrendered their persons (and health insurance policies and/or money) to his ministrations. But, what the heck. What do I know. I am merely a dillitante. I have to wonder what the insurance companies’ several legal counsel are up to today. Dillitanting as usual, I have no doubt. As Halsall would say, “We live in interesting times.” I am so enjoying this!!!!!

14. @Amused
    By the way, one contributor has taken pains to point out that the name of the director at the QEH is Dolores. Child of sorrow. I note also that the name of one of the dark witches in Harry Potter is Dolores Umbridge, a high official at the Ministry of Magic who specializes in unacceptable practices. Just a litte note of interest for the BU family and for my good friend GP to chew over (and hopefully use creatively).

====================
    As you might know Sir, one of the features of the inflammatory response which usually accompanies any insult to the body is DOLOR OR PAIN! So you are on to something there. It seems that the director is living up to her name. She is a pain in the nether regions of the โ€œdonkey.โ€ Note too that she is not merely โ€œdolorโ€ but the PLURAL! โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.DOLORES! I would probably refer to her as MS PILE and declare that she causes PROCTALGIA FUGAX! DOLOR in deed! She is a PILE driver. Murdah!

When you put PROCTALGIA FUGAX on a sick leave note, even the best lawyer cant refute it.

15. @GP. To quote Bonny, I nearly dead wid de laugh.

16. Minister Inniss is REALLY going to remember THIS Xmas. I wonder who came up with that flimsy reason to suspend the doc? I mean, really, a letterhead? They couldn’t be more creative? Is it a stated rule to suspend someone for a month with pay for writing on QEH letterheads on internal matters? Can somebody leak THAT part of the rule book for me? If it’s there I will gladly eat the boards of this fence I’m sitting on. But for me the scary issue is that the QEH Management/politicians/Old Boys (from then and NOW) have allowed situation where we have ONE person in such a critical role. What other time bombs like this are ticking at the QEH?

I have to go and research this “telemedicine” concept that the spin doctors have come up with.

I am really seeing just how great a leader David Thompson was: being able to keep these people from sabotaging themselves and the rest of us…….smh, smh, smh….

17. Sargeant | December 23, 2010 at 9:42 AM |
    With all due respect the content of the last paragraph of Dr. Ishmaelโ€™s letter relate to the the failings of the QEH, The Ministry of Health; the Minister of Health, the DMS the DMS, and the greed and avarice of Dr. Sparman. This has nothing to do with Dr. Ishmael, except as you say his letter has stirred up a hornetโ€s nest.

I agree with you that the genesis of his suspension is in that paragraph where Dr. Ishmael took the Min of Health and the DMS to task and pulled no punches in what he thought that they should be focused on. I agree with you that either the Minister or the DMS or both thought that the comments bordered on insubordination and suggested that his wings be clipped, or as the poster who goes by the handle of Tontoโ€™s horse said that he be brought to his knees.

These guys think that they are Lords and masters of all/ They believe that they have more power than the almighty himself! And Ishmael massed their corns and squeezed their balls simultaneously.

I, however, disagree with you that Dr. Ishmael was incorrect to bring up the issue of the Cardiac Unit in the letter. He is in effect saying why are you not doing the peopleโ€™s business in establishing certain improvements in Cardiac Care at QEH, INSTEAD OF SUPPORTING AN UNETHICAL MAN IN REMOVING A CRITICALY ILL PERSON FROM THE HOSPITAL?

WE HAVE TO CONSIDER HERE THAT THIS WAS AN EXPATRIATE PATIENT WITH INSURANCE AND THuS THE ABILITY TO PAY

WOULD THE DUNCY DUMMIES , DOLORES DEXTER AND DONVILLE ADVOCATE THE REMOVAL OF A CRITICALY ILL PERSON FROM THE HOSPITAL. THAT WAS A POOR BAJAN WITH OUT INSURANCE

DO I DETECT A HINT OF GREED AVARICE AND KICK BACKS HERE?

DO THE DUNCY DUMMIES , DOLORES DEXTER AND DONVILLE REALIZE THAT WHAT THEY WERE ATTEMPTING REALLY SAYS OUR NATIONAL HOSPITAL DOES NOT HAVE THE MEDICAL STAFF OR MEDICAL PERSONEL TO TREAT CARDIAC PATIENTS?

THEN DONVILLE THE DUNCE THEN SAYS IN A PRESS CONFERENCE THAT WE OFFER OPEN HEART SURGERY.

Which is more difficult? Open heart surgery or treating patients with medical cardiac issues?

When you return as Dr. Booby the psychiatrist. I looking for specialists for my new facility THE QUACK CENTER.

18. Random Thoughts | December 23, 2010 at 9:59 AM is CORRECT WHEN HE OPINES โ€œ whether or not the establishment of the Cardian Unit preceded Minister Innissโ€™ appointment and this current DLP administration, the truth is that the baby is now Minister Innissโ€™ and he has to mind it. It is his job, and we pay him well, and we expect him to do his job.โ€

THE PROBLEM IS HE DOES NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO EXCEPT BE AVAILABLE FOR FREQUENT PHOTO OPS OR APPOINTING A BOARD WITH A PRIEST WITH EXCESS TESTICULAR APPARATUS AS THE LEADER

EVEN IF YOU TELL HIM WHAT TO DO- HE STILL CANT UNDERSTAND WHAT HE SHOULD DO

HEALTH IN BARBADOS OR IN THE DOMAIN OF THE DELINQUENT DISREPUTABLE DUMMIES- DELORES DONVILLE DEXTER AND A SACERDOTE WHO HAS BALLS FOR A BRAIN.

We have heard of a dermoid cyst [an ovarian tumor which has all sorts of tissues like hair and teeth etc] These fellas have dermoid cysts for tier brains! IT HAS BEEN WELL SAIDโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..GOD MOVES IN MYSTERIOUS WAYSโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.ESPECIALLY IN BAJAN POLITICS.

DO WE HAVE A NEW PM YET?

19. @ Amused
    As I mentioned earlier Sparmanโ€™s suit does not dare touch most of the stuff in the letter. The qualification issues and fraud remain strangely unchallenged.

==============
    Strangely? No man. Deliberately!
    These guys know that they CAN NOT CHALLENGE THE INFORMATION ABOUT SPARMAN RECOVERED FROM THE WEBSITES OF THE MEDICAL BOARDS OF TENESSEE AND FLORIDA

The statements of Amused at December 23, 2010 at 8:23 AM are most pertinent and poignant. He has obviously taken the advice of Titus 2: 8…………………sound doctrine that can not be disputed.

Quite different to the pithy puerile pith presented by the jackass jack sprat.

The Crown rests!

20. @ dAVID
    Question
    What is the feeling of the people on the ground in Barbados on this very important issue?

21. @GP. I have just one area that I confess to having mixed feelings about. It seems to me that the medical boards in the States cancelled Sparman’s license because of matrimonial accusations that involve sodomy, imprisionment and abuse and his failure to declare these. There is no accusation of medical incompetence at all. In fairness, the matrimonial issues do not affect his effectiveness as a doctor. I know that you will agree with that, as I have read your comments on another blog.

What does bother me are (a) his claim to certain medical credentials to which he is, allegedly, not entitled; (b) the fact that he did not declare his convictions when they would appear to have been an integral part of his application to the two USA state boards and it was required that they be declared; and (c) his alleged conduct in poaching patients from the QEH with official sanction from officers of the Ministry of Health.

The rest of the world is now moving towards criminal record checks for applicants on almost all jobs. The fact that someone has a criminal record does not automatically disqualify them from being appointed. What it does do is alerts prospective employers that may be dealing in certain areas sensitive to someone convicted of certain crimes. For instance, a company that deals in security would find it very difficult to defend itself in law if it hired people convicted of burglary. Similarly, do you think there would be any defense available to a company specializing in stock market dealing if it hired a convicted stock market fraudster? Or the Roman Catholic Church for hiring known pedophiles as priests?

If the rest of the world is insisting on these criminal record checks, why is Barbados and, in this case the MOH, not carrying them out? It does not prevent the MOH from hiring a convicted sexual abuser as a medical doctor, provided his competence as a doctor is not in question and it is not patients that he has abused.

Now, I have been as fair to Dr Sparman as I intend to be. His alleged conduct that sparked Dr Ishmael’s complaint needs to be fully investigated and his alleged claim to professional credentials that he does not have also needs to be fully investigated and explained. AND I UTTERLY FAIL TO SEE WHY DR ISHMAEL HAS BEEN SUSPENDED DURING THE INVESTIGATIONS OF DR SPARMAN. It demeans and defames Dr Ishmael. The legal fraternity is rubbing its hands with glee. Best Christmas present in many years.

Finally, the allegations of false names and false passports is, frankly, a matter that has to be looked into by the Regional Security Agency in concert with the FBI, the CIA and US Homeland Security. This is the second time this year that such accusations have surfaced in connection with Barbados. Readers will remember that the first such involved the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary and one Donald Robert Best. Let us hope that our regional authorities finally pull their thumbs from their fundamental orifices and liaise with other law-enforcement agencies to ensure that these matters are looked into an dealt with. Hell, these people could as easily be terrorists.

22. David
    Here is the spin that the NATION brings on the QEH โ€˜s attempt at damage control.

Let me dissect it.
    BY CHRISโ€ˆGOLLOP | THU, DECEMBER 23, 2010 – 12:10 AM

1- GOLLOP YOU ARE A DUMMY IN NOT PRESENTING TWO SIDES OF THE STORY. You desrve a detention at Dodds!

Re WITH heart specialist Dr Richard Ishmael on suspension, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) has used telemedicine to deal with cases of young children with heart problems.

2- YOU HAVE NOT TOLD THE PUBLIC WHY ISHMAEL IS ON SUSPENSION? HAS HE PRACTICED BAD MEDICINE? Or has he just squeezed the QEH officialโ€™s and the minister’s balls?
    3 You have not explained what telemedicine is, or told the people of BARBADOS why we think that telemedicine is SUPERIOR TO PATIENTS BEING SEEN BY A DOCTOR ON THE SPOT.

Re Chairman of the QEH board, Reverend Guy Hewitt, described it as the dawning of a new age of patient-centred health care.

4- DO YOU KNOW THAT telemedicine is NOT REALLY A DAWNING OF ANY NEW AGE but IT IS A WAY THAT FOLK IN THE US TRY TO CUT COSTS BY HAVING DOCTORS IN INDIA READ EXRAYS SENT TO THEM. IT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR YEARS AND THERE IS NOTHING NEW ABOUT IT.
    Have you heard of the word research?

5- JACK ASS GOLLOP IF YOUR WIFE WAS HAVING COMPLICATIONS IN LABOR WOULD YOU PREFER YOUR LOCAL OBSTETRICIAN TO TREAT HER OR WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEND ME THE DETAILS OF HER TRAVAIL BY TELEPHONE?

6 The priest is always talking about patient-centred health care as if this is a new revelation from God. Will you kindly refer him to Hebrews 1:1?

7 Did you ask the puerile priest how telemedicine is patient-centred health care? After all does the telemedicine doctor ever see the patient? Do you or he have any idea how medicine is practiced?

Re He told staff and patients yesterday that faced with several challeges, including increasing cost and staff shortages, the hospitalโ€™s management would from now take advantage of improved technology to ensure that the best possible care would be provided to patients at all times โ€“ as had been done last Saturday when telemedicine was brought into play.
    8 PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT IN WELL MANAGED HOSPITALS STAFF SHORTAGES ARE ENCOUNTERED BY HIRING NEW STAFF NOT BY TELEMEDICINE
    9- IS QEH GOING TO BE RUN BY A SET OF TELEPHONE OPERATORS OR JUNIOR DOCTORS HOOKED UP TO DRS ON PHONES OVERSEAS? DOES THE FOOL REALLY THINK THIS IS ADVANCED MEDICINE FOR BARBADOS?
    10 HE IS OF COURSE INSULTING THE PROVISION OF GREAT DOCTORS BYOUR RESOURCES

Why does he not fire the whole staff and clean the place and do labb tests by telemedicine too?

RE Hewitt said the board had engaged the services of Dr Peter Gaskin, a Barbadian paediatric cardiologist and associate professor of paediatric cardiology at the University of Maryland Medical Centre, in the United States.Using telemedicine technology, Gaskin consulted with doctors in Barbados over the weekend in examining the cases of young patients with serious heart problems.
    Telemedicine involves situations where medical information is transferred through interactive audiovisual media for the purpose of consulting and sometimes, to perform remote medical procedures or examinations.
    11 WILL YOU TELL THE BAJAN PUBLIC HOW THESE VIRTUAL MEDICAL PROCEDURES AND EXAMINATIONS WILL BE DONE?

re That was the way the QEH will be going in the future, Hewitt said, noting that he had had several discussions with doctors in the diaspora who had responded favourably to the idea of providing their expertise.
    12 So QEH WILL BE A TELEMEDINE HOSPITAL IN THE FUTURE ? AND YOU THINK THAT DOCTORS IN THE DIASPORA WILL COME HOME, FOR LESSER PAY, DIMINISHED FACILITIES AND TOOLS TO WORK WITH AND BE LED BY DUNCES LIKE DONVILLE DELORES DEXTER AND THE DUMMY PRIEST WITH BALLS?
    Really?

13 SO WHY HAS THE GOVERNMENT BEEN SPENDING SO MUCH MONEY ON THE NEW FACULTY OF MEDICINE AT CAVE HILL? IT SEEMS THAT THE COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE MINISTRIES OF HEALTH AND EDUCATION ARE NOT IN SYNCH HERE.

These dunces really got the DLP looking bad MR PM. Do you know what is going on man.

14 GOLLOP DID YOU ASK THE SACERDOTE WITH THE OVER SUBSCRIBED BALLS RESIDENT IN THE DERMOID CYST FOR A BRAIN ANY QUESTIONS AT ALL? OR IS IT THAT ANY DUMMY CAN WRITE FAECAL MATERIAL IN OUR LOCAL PAPERS.

Ishmael, a paediatric cardiologist, is now on a month-long suspension pending an investigation into allegations of inappropiate behaviour.
    15 DID YOU ASK WHY? HAVE YOU READ DR ISHMAELโ€™S LETTER? HAVE YOU ASKED HIM FOR HIS SIDE OF THE STORY? DOES IT WORRY YOU THAT SEVERAL FACILITIES REQUESTED BY CONSULTANTS AT QEH HAVE NOT BEEN ADDRESSED?

Isnt it assinine to suspend a highly paid Consultant on pay? Why were not the dummies DELORES DEXTER AND DONVILLE SUSPENDED TOO?

RE Responding to calls by the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners to reinstate Ishmael, charging that his absence could compromise the welfare of patients under his charge, Hewitt said the board would not be drawn into a public debate on the issue, but had instead focused on filling the void.

16 WHY DIDNโ€™T YOU ASK THIS DUMMY IF PUBLIC DEBATE IS RELEVANT? DOES HE MEAN THAT THE PUBLIC ONLY HAS A SAY AT ELECTION TIME AND THAT AFTER THAT POLITICAL APPOINTEES TAKE OVER?

RE The use of improved technology, and the new focus on โ€œpatient-centred health careโ€ should pave the way for better treatment for patients at the QEH, said Hewitt.

17 DID YOU ASK THIS MEDICAL ILLITERATE HOW IMPROVED TECHNOLOGY CAN REPLACE DOCTORS duly qualified? Did you see the qualifications of the maligned doctor gullible gollop?.

18 DID YOU ASK THIS MEDICAL ILLITERATE BEFORE APPLYING TECHNOLOGY WHO WILL TAKE THE HISTORY AND DO THE EXAMINNATIONS AND INITIAL TESTS? CANDIDATES FROM CODRINGTON?

19 DID YOU THIS MEDICAL ILLITERATE HOW HIS EMPHASIS ON SO CALLED โ€œpatient-centred health careโ€ should pave the way for better treatment for patients at the QEH BY REpLACING DOCTORS with the qualificaions of Richard Ishmael BY TELEMEDICINE? HAS HE EVER SEEN A PATIENT?
    RE โ€œTraditional medicine was often illness-centred or cure-centred; the focus was on attacking and overcoming the disease. The patient โ€“ his comfort, mental status, wishes and desires โ€“ was secondary to defeating the medical enemy.โ€œBut that no longer needs to be the case. A patient-centred approach offers an add-on to the current care through a low-technology, systems-based approach to many of the problems and challenges that exist in the QEH.
    20 THIS DUMMY IS A REAL DUNCE. When you have cancer doctors will not hence forth be interested in illness-centred or cure-centred activities , they will no longer attack and overcome the disease, they will only concentrate on the patients comfort, mental status, wishes and desire to defeat the medical enemy.

Did you ask him this question? In Genesis 3 when our foreparents stupidly ate the forbidden fruit, DID GOD (see Genesis 3: 15) not present an illness-centred and cure-centred solution for their sin? Was God interested in their comfort, mental status, wishes and desires when he sent them out of the garden?
    21 Did you gullible gollop examine the moronic mouthings of this betzpaenic fool ? A patient-centred approach offers an add-on to the current care through a low-technology, systems-based approach to many of the problems and challenges that exist in the QEH.

Man cant you see a nonsequitur when you see it?
    How is getting a man who has not seen the patient offer a patient-centred approach to his care? THINK ABOUT IT.

We will NOW replace doctors whose questions we can not answer by low-technology, systems-based approach? THE PROBLEMS AND CHALLENGES AT QEH ARE ADMINITRATION BASED NOT TECHNOLOGICAL.

The only technological problems at QEH is the lack of interest to procure the technology requested by the physicians.

And this sacerdotal scum has fooled you into believing that teleconfering is the solution to our problems?

Do you know where the Carenage is Sir. Please go thou and do the necessary do! And take the dummies Delores Donville and Dexter with you. The stupid sacerdote should be sent to the dump at Mangrove!

Boy you must be careful when you put a little power in the hands of a an envious new nigger!

23. Amused
    I think that I can offer DOLORES some low-technology, systems-based patient-centred approach to his care by tele medicine.
    However, since you on the spot, and I prefer on the spot medical care could you deliver it for me?
    Now dont get me struck off the register in Bim now. murdah

24. @GP. Murdah fuh trut. You on a roll. I like it bad. But what do you suggest for dear Dolores. No centaur is going to give her a seeing to (see Harry Potter And the Order of the Phoenix). So what to do? Castration, perchance? Metaphorical of course. As for the learned “Father”, how he get where he is? As for Gollup, well if we had Gallop, he would be out of a job.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You are cracking me up.

26. @GP. It occurs to me that we have not heard from the ladies very much. Pat, J, Kiki, and Bonny. Wait till them start on this one. Life could get even more interesting.

27. Your honor Sir, Amused is wasting the Courts time mi lud in asking “what do you suggest for dear Dolores.”

He knows full well that she must be given a TDI – a total dose infusion, and that this is all very well accepted Medicine, in Barbados, mi lud.

He knows full well that this is THE accepted low-technology, systems-based patient-centred approach to female care, Sir.
    Why is he grand standing mi lud. Is it because he cant not stand Sir.

Hear Amused now in reply

Mi lud I RISE TO LET GP KNOW THAT I RISE EARLY EVERY MORNING but I am not bound to disclose all of my knowledge at this point sir, butI will deliver as necessary sah.
    But I not into this tele medicine thing at all sir.

I move that this GP be disbarred dismayed de frocked dismantled and dismissed for impugning my inabilities etc sir
    Murdah

28. Hear DOLORES to Amused
    But Musey dis is not what the Chairman had in mind by low tech systems-based patient-centred approach to female care, Sir.
    Amused: Listen You think because I not a Dr that I cant set up my IV and give a total dose infusuion of iron? You think that I cant treat iron deficiency anemias? You think that I have not read the ads in medical journals that say WHEN A GIRL BECOMES A WOMAN SHE NEEDS MORE IRON?

I rest my case having set down my briefs.

murdah

29. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

On this issue, is plain and simple. Little boys throw stones across the playground and have tantrums. Men sit down and talk issues to a reasonable conclusion.

As for Georgie Porgie, it appears that you are very focused on defrocking and using your wand aka your Potter talk, to impunge. Whilst I am not sure if either Amused or GP does indeed stand without effort every morning, certainly GP seems keen on the idea of if I may, refer to another calypso, that she wants ‘the ‘Big Bamboo’.

So, do we henceforth refer to GP as Georgie ‘Big Bamboo’ Porgie, or is it actually a title, hence the reference would be Georgie Porgie BB in the same way as KCMG or suchlike?

Would the Constitution need to be changed for the title to be so bestowed?

While we have gone on a tangent here, the reality is that when confusion reigns so does obfuscation.

I will now leave Georgie, Amused et al, to obfuscate on Dolores, with whatever infusion is derived after consulting Snape’s reference library, such that enjoyment may be had by all.

Au Revoir.

30. Mi lud what is wrong wid dis Amused fella sa
    He asking this honourable BU court As for the learned โ€œFatherโ€, how he get where he is?

Does he mean besides political appointee Sir.
    I heard it from divine revelations in my prayers this morning Sah.

The Master told me Sir dat he was able to get Ballaams ass to speak, but dat he having difficulty to get this ass [i.e the Chairman] to shut up. He got me real shame man Eva time he open he mout he does spout bear ssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhht!

what low tech systems-based patient-centred approach what? he tink wunnah Bajans in Guyana? Wuh look even Sparman didnt go home to practice.
    Mi lud leh we send Amused to work at the Ministry of Health sah wid DOLORES DON VILLE and DEXTER but spare he the priests whom Bush Tea says have balls.

Amuse can treat anemia Sah but chronic verbal diarrhoe — he aint learn dat yet Sah.

31. Fellas all

Sir Bentwood Dick for Chief Justice! LOl or better PM
    HE RISES TO THE OCCASION FASTER THAN FREUNDEL!

32. @GP

Barbadians have become numb at the goings on at our premier primary healthcare facility.

33. But GP, you got to get somebody to administer the iron. You gon do it youself? Go long, man, mek Dolores’ day fuh she. Bonny tell me dat a light dusting of cayenne does mek the iron more palatable, but the use of a whiff of ginger may tenderize it a little too much, so avoid ginger (the spice, that is, not the lady dat did hang round de Fairchild Street Market). My Lord, sorry, I mean GP, I defer to Bonny’s expert knowledge and will not impugne it with further verbosity.

Bonny chile, Independence Square tonight? Got de bottle of Baileys and a straw.

34. Amused
    I aint able wid you, ya know Iam a doctor- I Does prescribe, ya want me to dispense too? Some druggists dont like de doctors to dispense. But as my student, I can supervise your giving an IV INJECTION LOL

35. The following question was asked in an earlier submission from the source:

Is the Barbados Health Minister a Director of the said Sparmanโ€™s clinic?

Was the writer being facetious?

36. It is a question worthy of consideration, especially if Ishmael”s allegation about the ministers out of place intervention is true.

37. @GP. You bad. You like your prescription gon get muh in nuff trouble. But I not qualified to give injections, so you got to do it. Think of it as a mercy injection. Of course, if it did AS, you know where he would put de injection.

@David. I doubt that Donville is a director of any companies. It would be conflict of interest for a minister. My friend GP may call him Dopey, but even he couldn’t be that dopey.

38. We want the record to reflect that this Leak was sent to the Barbados Advocate as well.

39. @Amused

It is not unusual for company Directors to be hidden by drafting the Articles of Association to reflect such i.e. a friend or family member represent your interest.

We have other examples where Ministers of government who are lawyers continue to pull the strings to their practices behind the scenes, hell even Judges have been known to do it.

40. Barbados reaches developed country status and the QEH now tells us that “telemedicine” is the: โ€œdawning of a new age of patient-centred health care.โ€ Really?!!

I suppose if the American Army can fly a drone from that country to Afghanistan and take out any target, the QEH may feel it has a point, even though any bajan could have long gone on the Internet; done a Google search and find out how to build a rocket or treat any disease.

But what will be the response if someone ask if โ€œtelemedicineโ€ is part of the โ€˜Rescue Plan for the Queen Elizabeth Hospital,โ€™ or whether it was the intention that it would form part of the promised โ€˜Patients Charter?โ€™

But the real question is, can the State seriously afford to forego revenue or be deprived of such at this time, especially when it recently had to increase fees and taxes , including user fees?

41. ACTUALLY PANDAY
    Telemedicine is used to provide consulting opinions to remote medical facilities or to facilities without the relevant QUALIFIED doctors. Consequently this highly touted add on by the priest wiTh balls for a brain is really oxymoronicโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆand moronic.

On one hand the minister is boasting that we have open heart surgery, and on the other hand the ignorant priest is saying lets have telemedicine to present a service for which we have had the services for 30 years of a highly qualified and respected doctor, BECAUSE WE CHOSE TO SUSPEND HIM ON FULL PAY FOR COMMITTING NO REAL OFFENSE. Hilarious! or so it would be if this was not such a serious matter.

THE HEALTH OFFICIALS THUS PAID ISHMAEL FOR NOT WORKING WHILE THEY TELECONFERENCED WITH A DR OVERSEAS

Prime minister Stuart must intervene These two idiots are contradicting each other and themselves and making our nation look extremely stupid in the eyes of the world .

I am sure THAT if MIA was still the LOO she would have had much more to say than FREUNDEL OR OSA have said.
    what is wrong with the peopleโ€™s elected representatives? aRE THEY ALL ASLEEP ?

sEEMS TO ME WE SHOULD BE READING “its a few mights before Christmas and no politicians were stirring except the LOUSE!
    TIME TO SET UP THE BU PARTY. AND A VIABLE TEA PARTY .

42. @David. Sorry to disagree, but directors of a company have to be declared yearly to the CAIPO and are listed on the file of a company and the file is available to any member of the general public upon payment of a fee.

However, the Companies Act Cap. 308 does not require that shareholders be named. This Companies Act, which came into force in 1986, replaced the Companies Act of 1910, whereby all companies were required to list the names of their shareholders and the number of shares each held.

I am not saying for a moment that some shareholder may not nominate a director (with the approval of the other shareholders) to act for them and at their direction, but it is the director, not they, that wield both the power and suffer any liability. To be an undeclared director would be a major breach of the Companies Act and give rise to both civil and criminal actions. It is fraud pure and simple.

In addition, by the new integrity legislation now in the process of enactment (and introduced by the DLP) MPs have to declare their interests, such as shares in companies.

If the Minister is a sharegholder in Dr Sparman’s company, he is in line to have to spend 5 years as a guest of HM the Queen at Dodds and/or to pay a fine of $500,000.

Therefore, for all the reasons above, I would tend to discount any rumour that the Minister has an interest in Dr Sparman’s company. By the way, the Minister also has to declare the interests of close relatives.

Now, I am not saying that all this cannot be circumvented. But I am saying that it would be a very brave man that took the risk of raising the ire of this particular PM by such an action. The PM is a lawyer and a good one, which means he does not leap to judgment. However, once he has judged, I would not like to be in the shoes of any minister if that judgment is against them.

43. @ GP (now with BB added on)

So we is gotta call yuh “Sirs” now, Doc? What ’bout wen yuh is get de Reverend, Apostle, Elder, Prophet and Pope added? Wuh we is gine be callin’ yuh den?

Anyhow, Doc, I am one who can tell you that after having one on one contact with the goodly Dr. Sparman I am willing to have him treat me, or anyone connected with me, as opposed going to that despicable place known as the “QEH”.

Let me tell you I personally witnessed Dr. Sparman in action with an emergency heart case that was flown in over to the weekend to his clinic for treatment. His actions in getting that patient stabilised was indeed remarkable. BTW, he also did a very successful angiogram on my wife and she is singing his praises and alleluias all like now. I would say we need to have all this doubt that is hanging over Dr. Sparman’s career cleared up once and for all. As far as I am concerned it all seems to me to be a case of “sour grapes” on the part of all the entrenched medical gurus here in Barbados.

44. de hood
    I am just plain GP. I HAVE EARNED NO TITLES
    I AM VERY HAPPY THAT YOU HAD A GOOD OUTCOME WITH YOUR INTERACTION OUTCOME WITH SPARMAN

HOWEVER, DOCTORS ARE EXPECTED TO EXHIBIT A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF ETHICS ALONG WITH THIER CLINICAL SKILLS

THE FINDINGS OF THE TENNESSEE AND FLORIDA MEDICAL BOARDS CANNOT BE REFUTED

THE ISSUE BEFORE US IS NOT SO MUCH ABOUT SPARMAN BUT ABOUT THE VERY POOR TREATMENT MEETED OUT TO ONE OF OUR BEST DOCTORS RICHARD ISHMAEL BY DONVILLE DOLORES AND THE PRIEST WHO HAS TESTICULAR TISSUE FOR A BRAIN

YOU DO REALIZE THAT DONT YOU? LOL

45. @GP

Ok Doc, de ol hood reading you loud and clear. I wonder where your good friend “de bushman” is with all that is going on here?

46. i MORE INTERESTED IN WHERE THE MAN THAT HAS THE HANDLE THAT IS DE SAME AS tONTO’S HORSE GONE
    bEFORE THE DISCLOSURES HE WAS STATING THAT iSHMAEL SHOULD BE BROUGHT TO HIS KNEES.

There is no way that Bush Tea can come here and defend the indefensible.The priest “with balls” is a big embarrassment
    St David must be twisting and turning in he grave in St John man.

Ouyr Health Service has reverted back to pre 1985 times. Now we plan to use telemedcine to replace doctors in situ.

47. @GP: “Now we plan to use telemedcine to replace doctors in situ.

A serious question GP et al, playing the “Devil’s Advocate” (LOL).

Could a patient’s care ever be compromised because of unexpected loss of connectivity during a “telemedicine” exercise? Or because of its unavailability?

I ask because very late last month (a Sunday) one of our two big Internet Service Providers unexpectedly lost all their connectivity for just over 11 hours. And the second provider suffered approximately 13 % packet loss for the same period (because they’re buying connectivity from the former).

(I, of course, have independent empirical data and the official “Reason For Outage” (RFO) document from the provider in question, to support this claim.)

A favourite saying of mine is “The question should not be what technology can do, but what might it *UNDO*.

48. If it is true, something has to be very wrong if at a time when the Barbados economy is in a serious recession, with a perilous current account deficit and with the Government said to be borrowing money even to pay salaries, that we could be hearing of a rumour that calls were recently made to have a critically ill patient transferred from the QEH to a private clinic. If so, Why?

Wouldnโ€™t a declaration of assets bill, as well as FOI and integrity legislation have shed light on this vexing issue? Can the State seriously afford to forego revenue at this time, when it recently increased fees and taxes on poor people? This is why independent thinkers are finding this rumour so distressing.

And, why is the Opposition BLP so silent on a matter of such urgent public importance? Very curious indeed!!!!

Now, if a man said to own a private clinic, can get the Minister of Health to make a policy intervention into the QEH in his interest – then it would seem that the Health Minister if no longer the one setting health policy.

The Prime Minister should therefore take note of this fundamental breach of fiduciary responsibility and act in this matter of urgent public importance.

Seems like the DLP is finding all sort of ways to implode and lose the next election.

49. Halsall
    Your input of serious import and tends to dash to smitherens telemedicine as viable option until the internet services can be more reliable.

50. Question: What would prompt a Minister of Health to seek to divert paying patients from the QEH to a private clinic?

Why would a Minister of Health, claim that he has not intervened in the matter but left it to the board, when the actions of the board are not consistent with justice, and an intervention is clearly called for?

This situation stinks.