“My near 16-year call for the restructuring of the Barbados economy has to do with addressing the balance of payments deficit”
Chief BLP Economic Spokesman Clyde Mascoll
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler delivered his first budget yesterday which has generated raucous discussion in the country. BU remains stupefied at the thought some Barbadians appear not to acknowledge by their mouthings that we are not immune to the impact of a global recession.
Developed and developing countries alike continue to craft economic measures to stabilize and stimulate their economies. The Barbados government possibly operating in the fear of the 1991 experience adopted a policy approach of growing debt to keep the state enterprise afloat. The alternative, the retrenchment of government workers. It should not have surprised Bajans with a modicum of commonsense that an austerity budget was in the offing yesterday.
After Sinckler had his moment in the bright lights all attention turned to Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur. The country held high expectations for Arthur’s return caused by the machinations within the BLP leadership in recent weeks and his track record at the helm of the economy during times of prosperity. After listening to Arthur’s reply to the budget timed at two hours and forty five minutes delivered in the most deliberate Bajan drawl, we were left with a sense of deja vu. Yes he demonstrated a command of the workings of the Barbados economy and the finance ministry which he admitted was a consequence of shadowing the ministry for 7 years while in opposition, and 14 years as minister. When the honourable member for St. Peter sat down it was clear to BU were Arthur to regain the government tomorrow the economic model fuelled by foreign direct investment in return for our most scarce resource (land) would continue. He proposed no new path in a world which has drastically changed in the 30 months he has been out of government.
Given the above quote attributed to chief BLP spokesman on economic matters Clyde Mascoll there was a high expectation by BU that Arthur would have seized the moment on his return to paint a vision relevant for a future Barbados. While a small open economy like Barbados will not ever be immune to external shocks we agree with Clyde Mascoll’s position we need to restructure our economy. Arthur’s willingness to convert Barbados to a full fledge service based economy is folly. Why then would Arthur’s reply to the budget not have reflected the 16 year position of his chief spokesman on economics?
The time has long past when our politicians should stop playing politics. Should we mention that Arthur appeared to have struggled physically somewhat during his reply to the budget?
Bonny Peppa
Anonymous, Sentinel
Look, leff wunna ‘sermons’ fa Sundee. Today is Fridee nite. stupseeeeeeee. Wunna gettin on like ef all a we ‘saved n sanctified’ like wunna-all. look, ga long befoe i ‘buse wunna now do. wunna-alll too thin-skinned man. loosen up or wunna constipated? stupseeeeeeee
An as fa you Anonymous, dah same ‘thumbs-up’ dat you gih Peaches, I would barely sit dung pun dah thum. ya startin ta feel good nah? i cud imagin.
Loading…
KISSMYA
OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR is one of the smartest strategist to come out of Barbados -ever
OWEN GOT WUNNA
HOOK, LINE AND SINCKLER.
WAIT AND WUNNA GWINE SEE !
IT WUKKING FOR OWEN !
Loading…
KISSMYA
DE DLP is in trouble
Stuart cannot even appoint a deputy and he really should because anybody who knows anything about external coriate analysis can see that Stuart is not 100% physically intact. The man needs to state his state of health. I will leave it at that because when I made a prediction about the previous Prime Minister over a year ago, nobody took it seriously. My prediction was correct and the rest is , as they say, -History-(wunna have to listen to KISSMYA)
I does have the information, plain and simple !
The DLP is in trouble, Stuart holds a portfolio of a man who is not able —–National Security is all Stuart has—an easy days work. Chis (my Prime Minister) as I also predicted is MInister of Finance. He looks like a Prime Minister and sounds like a Prime Minister–(Draconian , anti middle-class and anti poor people budget and all)
Stuart aint got nuttin to do. National Security ??
Gimme a ****** break
Other people doing all the work
Doctor David, Michael , Richard
–well well well r——s hole well !
Consider BU to be a mirror/reflection of the society in which we live. A dose of reality if you will.
Loading…
The Scout
I’ll make a statement now and many people, especially DLP “yardfowl” supporters. It is time both parties stop picking at each other with foolishness. There are too many serious issues at hand and the quicker we behave like true bajans and address the serious situation we are in whether you are B or D when the hammer fall down we will all suffer because of ignorance, arrogance and false pride. Owen Arthur is a hard drinker and he liked his seethrough, and every one knew that, but I bet few of you know that the late David Thompson was also a hard drinker and smoker. That did not stop either of the two gentlemen from doing a good job for Barbados. Look into the mirror and ask yourself, Am I any better than either of these two men? therefore what can I do to make barbados a better place for my children and my chlidren’s children? It must start with each of us NOW or it will be harder in the future.
Loading…
KISSMYA
smoking and drinking are foolish habits picked up young men influenced by society.
a lot of men who have studied and who have to make presentations drink to get a kick.
there other ways of getting high–safer natural ways
Loading…
Prodigal Son
The Dems buried their heads in the sand and pretended that David Thompson was a saint when he died. They need to stop baggering Owen Arthur about being a drunkard, it sounds good to some people to tear down persons they do not like. The whole of Barbados knew that David Thompson was a heavy drinker, mainly Absolut Vodka connoisseur. I did not know for sure that he smoked hard as well. Being drunk he fell off the back of a truck in St Philip.
So does it make any sense for dems to be constantly going after Owen? I understand he is now a diabetic, so he had better be careful.
I agree, we need to stop tearing down each other and those of you who do it for sport should stop.
Talk all they want, Owen led this country for 14 years, Bajans felt safe, they prospered and they never had to worry as they do now about the economy.
Now that is a legacy.
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ Prodigal Son | November 27, 2010 at 1:02 AM |
What legacy?
Owen Arthur ruled over Barbados at a time when there was surplus money in the world. In fact, there was so much money that MADOFF was able to steal over $50 BILLION and SANDFORD some $20 BILLION without anyone noticing.
THE WORLD WAS AWASHED WITH MONEY DURING THAT TIME OF PLENTY.
That same Owen Arthur now tells Sinckler (after ruling Barbados for 14 years) that the economy needs restructuring. Sinckler was elected and mere two years ago and became Minister of Finance two months ago.
AGAIN I ASK: WHERE IS OWEN ARTHUR’S LEGACY?
He was being hailed as an economic messiah but now tells Sinckler that the ecomomy needs restructuring. While that is true, it rules out him (Owen Arthur) being other than having had access to suplus capital for 14 years.
DURING THE RECENT BUDGET DEBATE, BOTH PM STUART AND MINISTER SINCKLER MADE OWEN ARTHUR TO LOOK RATHER PEDESTRIAN.
Owen Arthur tried to give the impression that Sinckler knows nothing about foreign trade but Sinckler floored him by saying that eventhough HE (SINCKLER) HAS A MASTER’S DEGREE IN INTERNATION TRADE POLICY – HE KNOWS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT THE SUBJECT.
Arthur looked a pitiful then as during the 2007 budget wrap-up when the then Opposition Leader David Thompson stunned him by telling Barbadians that Owen Arthur was guilty of putting campaign contributions in his personal bank account, unknown to anyone (of so Owen Arthur thought)
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ KISSMYA | November 26, 2010 at 11:50 PM | DE DLP is in trouble
Stuart cannot even appoint a deputy and he really should…
++++++++++
WHAT IS THIS TRASH?
THEN WHY HASN’T OWEN ARTHUR PUBLICLY NAMED A SHADOW CABINET; A DEPUTY OR THE CANDIDATE FOR ST. JOHN AS HE PROMISED TO DO LAST WEEKEND?
Where is the BLP’s Shadow Cabinet?
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ KISSMYA | November 26, 2010 at 11:35 PM | OWEN
You said:
“SEYMOUR ARTHUR is one of the smartest strategist to come out of Barbados -ever”
That is a nasty stink bomb. Do you mean he has the greatest strategy how to put thousands in campaign contributions into his personal bank acoount?
You mean the greatest strategy how to give a man $25 million to build the building at Newton even before that man was said to have dug-out the foundation?
David Thompson defeated Owen Arthur at the poll because Arthur was no longer accepted by Barbadians as being believable of trustworthy. In short (no pun intended) Barbadians felt that Owen Arthur had betrayed their trust as was no longer acceptable.
COME ON MAN, YOU CANNOT BREED YOUR SECRETARY ON THE DESK IN THE PM’S OFFICE?
That was only two years ago, so I cannot see where the clamour could come from! If you are dishonest; untrustworth and unacceptable – AS BARBADIANS SAY OWEN ARTHUR IS – then you are?
TO NOW SAY THAT THE ECONOMY IS IN RECESSION AND that YOU ARE AN ECONOMIST – IS LIKE SAYING THAT SINCE A PICTURE IS HUNG FROM A WALL WITH A NAIL, WHERE EVER in the world THERE IS A PICTURE, IT IS HANGING FROM A WALL AND BY A NAIL.
That is what PM Stuart’s speech was all about!!!!Arthur is just a pedestrian – yesterday’s man, who now has a “man friday” to think for him.
Loading…
Fair and Balance
I see that they are already adjustments to the vat for the tourism sector. What will be the shortfall in revenue? Will the minister have to come back to impose more taxes to cover the shortfall?
Republic Bank withdrew the offer to buy the remaining shares in BNB because they could not reach agreement on the price. I think after looking at the budget presented they recognize that the government will be back cap in hand selling the shares at a give a way price
Great budget hmmm
Loading…
sylvan
man, owing affur get rinse out. they give it to him good and proper. if he din understand before, owing affur should understand now that he time gone. long gone. but owing affur going get more humiliation. why he doan go home and rest he tired-looking old self? somebody got to tell he that he shelf life expire. dis is de man who say he going move heaven and earth. he shud move heaven and earth to give he some energy and mek he look young again. i did feel sorry fuh he when i see he fumbling n ramling pon me tv. owing… owing… owing….
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ Fair and Balance | November 27, 2010 at 8:36 AM |
I think after looking at the budget presented they recognize that the government will be back cap in hand selling the shares at a give a way price
++++++++++
It would seem to intelligent Barbadians that Minister Sinckler recognises that the shares the government has – would give RBL control over BNB, hence those shares should fetch ARE ESSENTIALLY PREMIUM SHARES, FETCHING A PREMIUM PRICE.
In contrast, Owen Arthur seem to want Sinckler to sell for the same price he did.
That is why the spanner has been trown in the works to frustrate the process and get RBL to pull of of negotiations.
A man makes a statement and resigns from BNB Board and a woman is appointed in the Senate by Owen Arthur. There must be a connection some where?
MY ADVICE TO THE DLP IS NOT TO SELL THOSE SHARES UNLESS YOU ARE GETTING A PREMIUM PRICE. Sinckler, you can get a capital gain for Barbados which will make what Arthur did by selling then – a big lost.
THAT IS WHY OWEN ARTHUR WANTS YOU TO SELL INSTEAD OF RAISNG THE VAT. DO NOT SELL FOR OTHER THAN A PREMIUM PRICE.
Loading…
BAJAN TRUTH
AN EXERCISE IN FUTILITY
Speaking to this DLP filth storm is not required. Some of the DLP supporters are good, warm, mannerly and loyal. Unfortunately they do not write on this blog. Please do not judge them by the gutter workers writing on this blog.
This pack do not have an interest in the country, their interest is in preserving the DLP so it does not matter how infantile, illogical, absurd or contradictory the position, they will not think act or vote in the interest of this country.
Next year will be extremely hard for Bajans. They will witness a faster deterioration of the economy. All the bluster and cursing of Chris Sinkler the schoolyard bully will not prevent the severe pain of Bajans. His Sinker policies will put our economic boat under water.
Obviously now is not the time to discuss the impact of it or the alternative approaches that would be required, as interest on this blog is about who won the debate. Bajans lost. By the way on the internet a report on tourism performance shows Jamaica increased by 12% B’dos by 0.8%. Jamaica GDP grows by 2% this year, B’dos still declining this year. I notice that Sinkler nor Sealy mentioned that fact. It means we have a hard year ahead. I wonder why when we both face the same circumstances? OOh, ooh, ooh, I know, I know, please teacher, Jamaica is doing better than Barbados because they have higher deficits than us, higher debts than us, more unemployment than us, but Golding steering ship of state better than us. In B’dos we not steering, so all the things that happen to Ireland and Greece, can happen here without the gov’t being questioned about their poor work performance.
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ BAJAN TRUTH | November 27, 2010 at 9:41 AM |
I watch the same budget debate on TV as many did and the outcome is simple. The grouping that now dominates the BLP has nothing new to contribute.
The criticised and even came with unsigned letters(in Duguid’s case) and questionable stats (in Toppins’ case) self defeating argument of traffic congession (in Gline Clarke’s case) and all I remember of Dale Marshal is him having taken offf and replaced his glasses 73 times in 30 minutes.
Cynthia Forde was too partisan saying what the BLP did and what it did not do, that is – restructure the economy. Rawle Eastman was the Stateman Barbadians have come to expect of him.
As for Owen Arthur, the people on the call-in-programmes are still marvelling at how both Minister Sinckler and PM Stuart D’Skinned him and made him look pedestrian, especially when he (Owen Arthur) tried to give the impression that Sinckler does not know anything about foreign trade, depite he (Sinckler) having a Masters Degree in International Trade Policy.
Certainly if you want to compare economic performance with Jamaica you have to do so on all fours?
Are you aware Jamaica has received a bailout package from the IMF to the tune of 1.5 billion?
Jamaica’s debt to GDP ratio is 130% compared to Barbados which has just moved passed 100%.
Additionally the Jamaica economy has had to undergo significant restructuring to the value of its currency which has brought the concomitant effects.
Let us not forget the literacy rate in Jamaica is probably half Barbados.
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
Prodigal
you evva see a perfectly sober man fall offa a truck, building, bus etc? you evva see a perfectly healthy man drop dead just so? well lemme tell ya sumting, it could happen ta you. you vex causen you in get a pore offa de Absolute or wah? stupseeeeeee, looka, I gine hay n pore one fa maself. strait-up.
KISSMYA
ya in lie. Owen is such a great strategist dat he own stratagem out-fox he. sum strategy eh?
Loading…
Bajan Panday
I want us to get to talking about page 30 of the Weekend Nation which states that in 1995 at a meeting chaired by Dale Marshall (George Payne was the Housing Minister then) Barrack (not Obama) but Al “Warrens Building” Barrack – was given a $10 million contract to build 10 terrace units.
What is noticeable is that the elections were on september 6, 1994. This means that both george Payne and Dale Marshall hit the ground running in a desperate attempt to get to the trough.
BASED ON PAGE 30 OF THE WEEKEND NATION, IT WOULD SEEM THAT WITHIN THE FIRST 100 DAYS, OF THE BLP COMING TO POWER IN 1994 – DALE MARSHALL AND GEORGE PAYNE HAD ALREADY FOUND THEIR WAY TO THE TROUGH.
Again, the actors in this fiasco are Al Barrack, Geore Payne and Dale Marshall. Can anyone say why George Payne left the budget debate and literally run from the House.
This is why the DLP needs to hurry with the second reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill.
BY THE WAY – WHO REALLY OWN THE COMPANY THAT AL BARRACK OWNS?
AND, IF THE $70 MILLION IS PAID BY THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND LANDS FOR THAT BUILDING AT WARRENS, WHICH POLITICIAN/S AND ON WHICH SIDE WILL GET A HUGE PAYOUT.
Loading…
The Scout
The writings on BU has deteriorated to the level of pure gutter politics, this has undermined the standard of the blog. Therefore I find it necessary to find a more politically matured and decent blog to contribute to. Yardfowls from both sides of the fence has taken over B U and reduced the level to just rumshop politics; I’ve pass that stage and am not being dragged back into it again. This is the 21 century and we should learn to move with the time, we’re still languishing in the days of the 60’s ans early 70’s. Until the level improves, I’ll just read a feww articles occasionally when I have nothing else to do. Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.
Loading…
Hants
@ The Scout,
Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year to you too.
However, I will say ad nauseum that rumshop politics is an important part of Democracy in Barbados.
My personal experience from schooldays 50 years ago is that middle and upper class Barbados practiced a politics of convenience.
They shared the success and power of politics while evoking visceral debate and actions among the masses.
BU is an excellent Bajan blog for people like me who live “ova an away” an want to hear from any an all Bajans. The Good, the Bad and The Scout.
Dr.Georgie Porgie where you hiding? I aint see you bout hey fuh a while.
Hope you are in good health.
Loading…
Charlie
Scout
You are like all the other BLP sympathizers. The return of Owen Arthur was to be this overwhelming event that Barbadians would be all over the blog giving him praise. He is getting licks in the print media, the electronic media and worst on the blogs.
The debate has not degenerated it is not in your favour. Anyhow good riddance
Loading…
Sentinel
@ Bajan Panday | November 27, 2010 at 12:10 PM |
“I want us to get to talking about page 30 of the Weekend Nation which states that in 1995 at a meeting chaired by Dale Marshall (George Payne was the Housing Minister then) Barrack (not Obama) but Al “Warrens Building” Barrack – was given a $10 million contract to build 10 terrace units.
What is noticeable is that the elections were on september 6, 1994. This means that both george Payne and Dale Marshall hit the ground running in a desperate attempt to get to the trough.
BASED ON PAGE 30 OF THE WEEKEND NATION, IT WOULD SEEM THAT WITHIN THE FIRST 100 DAYS, OF THE BLP COMING TO POWER IN 1994 – DALE MARSHALL AND GEORGE PAYNE HAD ALREADY FOUND THEIR WAY TO THE TROUGH.
Again, the actors in this fiasco are Al Barrack, Geore Payne and Dale Marshall. Can anyone say why George Payne left the budget debate and literally run from the House.
This is why the DLP needs to hurry with the second reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill.
BY THE WAY – WHO REALLY OWN THE COMPANY THAT AL BARRACK OWNS?
AND, IF THE $70 MILLION IS PAID BY THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND LANDS FOR THAT BUILDING AT WARRENS, WHICH POLITICIAN/S AND ON WHICH SIDE WILL GET A HUGE PAYOUT.”
……………………………………….
PANDAY,
STOP BACKRAISING ME! HOW COME YOU HAVE THE SAME INFORMATION I HAVE AND THE SAME LINE OF QUESTIONING? HOPEFULLY, BU WILL TRY TO GET THE POWERS TO GIVE US A LITTLE PIECE OF THAT $70 MILIION FOR HIGHLIGHTING THIS ISSUE.
BU, ADD PANDAY’S COMMENTS TO THE NATION’S AND TO MINE AND SEE WHAT YOU COME UP WITH. HOWEVER, I CLAIM THE FIRST PAYOUT.
(IT WOULD NOT BE STRANGE IF THE NATION’S ARTICLE WAS BASED ON WHAT HAS BEEN SEEN ON THIS BLOG. )
……………………
My previous comment on November 26, 2010 at 8:46 AM |was:
“As have been suggested before, investigate who was Barrack’s lawyer or which firm did his legal work, who got the contract to knock down the old NHC building in Country Road, who insisted that when Barrack got the bogus contract, one his partners who does electrical work should not get the contract to do the same …because of connections to another party.
Panday, who was the manager of Standard Cricket team during this time? Who is President…for LIFE … of Standard Cricket team? How many shares did George Payne and Dale Marshall have in Barrack’s Construction? Who were/ARE his silent partners? How many cheques were passed on to George …. in his own name … from Barrack?
I have also asked, when George was in charge of the BWA, which legal firm did the work for BWA? WHO, apart from Dale Marshall, represented BWA in it’s legal matters/ What is the connection between George, Dale and the same legal firm …which also worked for Barrack?
Conflict of interest? Corruption? You must decide. It is time for George, Dale and Barrack to stop hiding and come clean. Which politicians stand to gain financially from Barrack’s pay day?”
Clint Eastwood rides again! Ask George to whom that name refers.
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
Sentinel
Not a boy in gun benefit from Barack’s pay packet causen by de time dah get roun ta paying he, if dah evva get roun ta payin he, he gun be ol, senile n pissy n in gun kno he teet from he ass. so leh dem wate. all dem tricks shoulda turn ta bricks n crumble pun toppa all a dem. dis is wah ya call ‘corruption in high places’ man. stupseeeeeeeeeeeee. dah is why mos politicians does be lawyers an we all kno dat dishonesty n corruption is synonymous wid mos a dem. stupseeeeeeeeee
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
dah should find a loop-hole sumway, sumhow, ta deem dah contrac ‘null n void’. dat way Barack whun get a red cent. not a red cent ta even buy a pea-chink pun Pelican. faddamoe, turn roun n charge ‘e fa ereckin um.
Loading…
Sentinel
If I could get you to put some pepper in George, Dale or Barrack’s pants, we would see how the monkeys would dance.
I hope, as you suggest, there should be some loop hole in there. Have you realised that George is totally silent whenever this affair or anything to do with NHC is mentioned?
I can bet that you do not know who was going to locate a Service Station (Gas Station) … for themselves at the corner of the Lancaster, St. James project now being developed.
Furthermore, I am sure you do not know where the Walton Payne’s Boulevard in St. James-St. Andrew was going to be sited?
Loading…
BAFBFP
Lawyers setting Government policy flaunt corruption.
The future of the Barrak building will be clear when the National Insurance towers in Warrens is completed. You heard it here first …!
Loading…
Bajan Panday
MY ADVICE TO THE GOVERNMENT IS NOT TO PAY AL BARRACK & “company” If the thing sniffs of corruption then that seems to be the loophole in the law you need.
PROVE THE CORRUPTION AND THAT IS THE EXCLUSION CLAUSE YOU NEED.
There seem to be something very intimate between Marshall, Payne and Al Barrack who now has $70 million reasons to keep his mouth shut.
That building at Warren’s is only in play until those two office complex in the same location are complete. Then Barrack can take his building and sell it.
In the same way that the US government never negotiates with terrorists, the Government of Barbados should never finance or allow itself to be blackmailed by corruption.
HOW CAN YOU PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS ILLEGAL FROM THE OUTSET? THE MAN NEVER QUALIFIED TO BUILD THAT BUILDING!!!
Even the $10 million STIMULUS PACKAGE HE GOT IN 1995 was way too much for his to build 10 terrace units.
I THINK THIS CALLs FOR A COMMISSION OF ENQUIRY.
That is why it is so urgent for the government to pass the Prevention of Corruption Act, with a provision in that act that where there is evidence of corruption, the State is exempt from liability.
This is where the commission of Enquiry comes in. It buys time not to pay. Now you see the urgency of the gang of five in ousting Mia Mottley? They did not have a specific reason but $70 million.
WHO DO YOU THINK WOULD BECOME HOUSING MINISTER IF THE BLP WINS? AND WHO DO YOU THINK WILL BECOME ATTORNEY GENERAL.
And do you think that George Payne as Houisng Minister and Dale Marshall as AG would not pay Al Barrack in the first 30 days in power?
Are you aware that your advice is in defiance of a court order?
Loading…
Bajan Panday
@ David | November 28, 2010 at 12:04 AM |
Sir, that is the dilemma!
The whole thing seems illegal from the outset. The man was never qualified to build the building. Then how did he get the contract and why?
You know, everything keeps pointing in one direction: Payne , Marshall and Al Barrack as indicated on page 30 of the weekend nation.
Can a court force you to pay a prostitute $100 for services rendered? Can it order you to pay even if corruption is evident?
You know, that is why I am looking forward to see how much those two new government building in the Warren’s are will cost.
YU KNOW–MR. THOMPSON WAS ONLY PROTECTING THE TAXPAYERS.
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
sentinel
de gall a sum peeple nah? i see de same Barack in de wkn. paper, sayin sumting bout he did only doing sum shoite, meanin when he tek de contract. I cannnn rememba xactly now wah he did sayin but dah is he fcuking business if he leh greed swalla up he common-sens. ya does hah fa learn de hard way sumtimes so he could conk he loses n ga long home wid ‘e tail between ‘e legs like a billly-goat n piss pun ‘e beard.
I hope ‘e nevva get dah idea ta paint heself ‘white’ again needa. Sus Croissssssss.He is one ugly bitch when he black, fuddamoe when he paint ‘white’. stupseeeeeeeeee. He teet does look mo yella-ah, n he eyes does look like ‘e got jaundice. Pleezeeeeeee, doan hurt ma eyezzz dah way agen. Good God.
Loading…
BAJAN TRUTH
I am assuming you support the point that Jamaica is in a worse position than B’dos and yet is performing better in coming out for the crisis. The point about the IMF loan will certainly help but it is not yet spent so it will not positively affect GDP until next year, late.
I think you have to stop picking on look at Greece and irelnad, USA, those too ar enot on all fours, by a very wide gap. So How cna you excuse the perofrmanc eof B’dos gov’t. THERE IS A CRISIS and it is impacting on all countire sto varying degrees and in different ways. China, Canada, India and others are thriving, is this all fours, so we can expect the same no? No. Ireland, Greece, Spain are plunging, is our situation on all fours? No. U.S.A is growing, but not next recovered; England is struggling, little growth, the explosion embraced American and European economies because their banking systems exploded. Not Canada, so despite their dependence on American market for sale of goods etc. still growing, quite level, because they were not the explosion site and they took measures to deal with effects.
Jamaica? yes more on all fours, don’t you think. Depenedent on American market, hit hard, diversified into the European market that we are not getting customers out of, increased that by 20%, ended up 12% up. Barbados is 0.3/ 0.8 % growth in tourism. What the hell is that?
_________
That Warrens building situation deserves an investigation and this gov’t needs to share with the Barbadian people the details. It smells fishy and if payne or whoever is involved, it needs a transparent investigation. If there is corruption bring the proof, and let us have a trial.
We will have to wait for a change of gov’t to get at possible corruption in the Coverley scandal.
So you are comparing the Barbados economy to China, China, India and Canada which are export oriented?
You must know Barbados’ economy is a price taker, right?
In the case of Jamaica BU does not follow your argument. You would have to elaborate.
Loading…
Anonymous
@David | November 27, 2010 at 12:17 AM | @Anonymous – Submitted on 2010/11/26 at 8:17 PM
Consider BU to be a mirror/reflection of the society in which we live. A dose of reality if you will.
————————————–
Oh of course. Afterall, it is easier to say that than it is to set and maintain proper standards. But yet you would be the first to criticize the lack of standards in governments and other institutions. Amazing.
Loading…
Bajan Panday
The BLP is now being led by a man who was found-out to have put some $750,000 intended for campaign finances into his personal bank account, unknown to any of the 30 candidates, treasurer, campaign manager or anyone else in his party.
The BLP is now being Chaired by a man who rigged and padded the BLP’s membership list so that he would win a contest for Chairman of the BLP.
THIS IS A PARTY THAT SENDS PEOPLE ALL OVER THE GLOBE TO TELL PEOPLE WHETHER THEIR ELECTIONS ARE FREE AND FAIR.
YOU IMAGINE THAT!!!
And while the DLP is bringing a ‘Prevention of Corruption Act,’ this is what the BLP under it present leadership is offering this country: “evidence of corruption and dishonesty!!!
Loading…
Sentinel
@Bajan Panday | November 27, 2010 at 11:45 PM |
“MY ADVICE TO THE GOVERNMENT IS NOT TO PAY AL BARRACK & “company” If the thing sniffs of corruption then that seems to be the loophole in the law you need…….
That building at Warren’s is only in play until those two office complex in the same location are complete. Then Barrack can take his building and sell it. ”
………………………………..
Isn’t the building pink? Then it is a pink elephant. A black man, painted white, riding a pink elephant, led by a bald-headed man.
Loading…
Bajan Panday
Don’t you see a strange scenario unfolding?
At a time when the BLP is engaging in fraudulent practices to augment its membership and at a time where it presented an internal voters list where even people who were not members of the BLP and had never indicated an interest in join, are now members of the BLP.
At a time when the BLP is desperate for people to join it but Barbadians continue to see it (under it present leadership) as a big turn off – the DLP is able to put on display, over 250 persons, who on their own free will and accord, have willing and knowingly joined the DLP.
The BLP has reached such a low, that it is now paying people to join it.
You know, Einstein once said that insanity is doing the same thing twice and hoping for a different result the second time.
Just 2 ½ years ago, the people of Barbados found Owen Arthur unacceptable.
They found-out that unknown to anyone, he had put some $750,000 intended as campaign contributions, into his personal bank account. He is now saying that there is a clamour for him. Mind you, in 2008 when they rejected him, Barbadians were concerned about corruption.
2 ½ years later, Owen Arthur comes back to the people, this time with a gang of five made up of men who feel that a woman cannot lead them. A group of men who are responsible for the mess at the Warrens Building; who gave $10 million to build a few terrace units; who are responsible for the mess on the ABC highway and are also the architects of electoral fraud within the BLP.
Owen Arthur is now leading a group of men who are paying for people to join the BLP and somehow using the economy as a distraction tactic, Owen Arthur and this gang of 5 – are hoping that the electorate would find them acceptable 2 ½ years after the same electorate told the BLP to change and re-invent itself. But the BLP comes back even more corrupt but somehow expects to form the government
THIS HAS TO BE EITHER POLITICAL INSANITY OR BEING BLINDED BY A DESPERATION FOR POWER.
Loading…
KISSMYA
Barrack Should be PAID
YOU PEOPLE ARE SO BIAS
ALL OF THE DLP people cussing BARRACK
BAJANS are the worst !!
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
KISSMYA
why you doan pay ‘e outta you purse den. ya poppet. you stan ta gain from he big pay-off too or wah? ya poppet. stupseeeee.
Kissmya , Why you did not tell Owen to pay Barrack? Owen was wash away with a lot of vat money and lick out like a real drunking man. Do you know how much money George Payne and the rest of them BLP lawyers will get?Let Barrack keep he building, this government made him an order,to which he and George Payne and the rest of them made him refuse.All like now he could be getting money every month to give his wife and keep mistress that he takes home every night to his to sleep with him and his wife.
Loading…
Bonny Peppa
Rose
doan persekute ya self wid Kissmya chile. evva body bout hay kno dat she is be BU klown a de munt, evry munt. doan worry wid she. she like she believe in obeya too. she always tawkin bout she see dis n she see dat befoe um happen. but she doan see de puppp dat she does be tawkin all de time. stupseeee
But wait, dah ugly man got a wife n a kip-miss too? Ya lieeeeeee. money does really mek de mare fly fa tru. you see when he paint heself ‘white’? Ent he did a site ta behole neh?
Loading…
Sentinel
Mr. Bourne, @ Bajan Reporter
Do you insist that representatives of groups posting information on Bajan Reporter read over their messages before they are posted?
I followed the advice of a friend and read the Independence Message sent by the President of the Young Socialist (BLP). If, as someone who commented stated, the poor level of grammar and sentence structure exhibited by this President are reflections of the quality of persons the BLP is attracting to leadership positions, that party is in serious trouble.
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join the discussion.Cancel reply