Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur

“My near 16-year call for the restructuring of the Barbados economy has to do with addressing the balance of payments deficit”

Chief BLP Economic Spokesman Clyde Mascoll

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler delivered his first budget yesterday which has generated raucous discussion in the country. BU remains stupefied at the thought some Barbadians appear not to acknowledge by their mouthings that we are not immune to the impact of a global recession.

Developed and developing countries alike continue to craft economic measures to stabilize and stimulate their economies. The Barbados government possibly operating in the fear of the 1991 experience adopted a policy approach of growing debt to keep the state enterprise afloat. The alternative, the retrenchment of government workers. It should not have surprised Bajans with a modicum of commonsense that an austerity budget was in the offing yesterday.

After Sinckler had his moment in the bright lights all attention turned to Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur. The country held high expectations for Arthur’s return caused by the machinations within the BLP leadership in recent weeks and his track record at the helm of the economy during times of prosperity. After listening to Arthur’s reply to the budget timed at two hours and forty five minutes delivered in the most deliberate Bajan drawl, we were left with a sense of deja vu. Yes he demonstrated a command of the workings of the Barbados economy and the finance ministry which he admitted was a consequence of shadowing the ministry for 7 years while in opposition, and 14 years as minister.  When the honourable member for St. Peter sat down it was clear to BU were Arthur to regain the government tomorrow the economic model fuelled by foreign direct investment in return for our most scarce resource (land) would continue. He proposed no new path in a world which has drastically changed in the 30 months he has been out of government.

Given the above quote attributed to chief BLP spokesman on economic matters Clyde Mascoll there was a high expectation by BU that Arthur would have seized the moment on his return to paint a vision relevant for a future Barbados. While a small open economy like Barbados will not ever be immune to external shocks we agree with Clyde Mascoll’s position we need to restructure our economy. Arthur’s willingness to convert Barbados to a full fledge service based economy is folly.  Why then would Arthur’s reply to the budget not have reflected the 16 year position of his chief spokesman on economics?

The time has long past when our politicians should stop playing politics. Should we mention that Arthur appeared to have struggled physically somewhat during his reply to the budget?

1. check-it,
    I agree with most of your points but I still think Chris Sinkler is not PM material, too rough as you said. I dont think the elite elders of the party will allow that.

(As an aside though, I heard Ronald Jones going on last night about how the BLP members turn the knife in Mia. Is this not the same Ronald Jones who along with Richard Sealy and Michael Lashley who turned their knives in Clyde Mascoll. Michael Lashley admitted that Chris Sinckler (who was not even an elected member at the time) brought a paper to him and told him to sign it and he did not even read it.) And he is a lawyer!

This government will do nothing as you rightly said and will remove some of the austerity measures later in 2011 but by then the cost of living will be higher than the sky.

I do not think that any of them understand the real meaning of restructuring an economy or how to do it, just talk about it and fool the people that they are doing something about it.

I understand that there was a real reason why the anti corrution bill was stalled because as you said they have gone over board eating up and sharing out the fatted calf. One of my friends is a senior public servant and he told me he has never seen anything like this before.

I have wondered since the debate why was nothing mentioned about CLICO by the Minister of Finance. Did not the late PM said in one of his last addresses to the nation that a deal was imminent. If CLICO has to be bailed out to the tune of nearly a billion dollars (adding the OECS countries), where is this money going to come from?? The treasury is empty, the NIS funds will soon run out at the rate they are going.

It is scary.

2. @ David | November 25, 2010 at 6:54 AM
    Are you saying that none of the initiatives that you outlined were ever attempted by Owen Arthur period 1994 – 2007? I recall him tackling all of them in one way or another, by providing incentives.
    The fundamental point is that we will try all sorts of initiatives (manufacturing, agriculture and other) which will help to enhance our economy but at the end of the day they will not be enough to drive prosperity in an economy like Barbados as in the case of the service drivers like tourism, International Business etc for reasons I outlined earlier.

3. Mia Mottley future of the Bl P ! True dat ! if only the BLP gang had enough sense to realise that! Foolish bunch.!
    A picture of Mia in the advocate surrounded by eager school children trying to get her autograph shows the beginning of acceptance by the masses.

As far as the budget . I wish the wealthy was given more of the load as under Owen they were given plenty. Now is the time for them to give back

4. Let’s face it: Owen Arthur in his prime used the wrap up to denigrate many people who could not defend themselves. This type of wrap up started with Tom Adams. What goes around comes around. Refusing to settle Barak with 34 million and now we have to find 100 million. That’s King Arthur’s legacy.

5. ALL I WILL SAY IS THAT AFTER WATCHING THE BUDGET LAST NIGHT, AS THE FORMER MINISTER WITH RESPONSIBILITY FOR SENIOR CITIZENS IN THIS COUNTRY – MINISTER SINCKLER SHOULD BE CHARGED FOR ELDER ABUSE. lol.

HE D’SKINNED OWEN ARTHUR LAST NIGHT. OWEN ARTHUR WAS LEFT TIRED AND SHAKY.

PLEASE OWEN, DO NOT EXPOSE YOURSELF TO THIS.

YOU ARE LUCKY THAT THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE SAVED YOU. BUT THE DLP HAS THE FILES.

YOU SEE NOW WHY THE DLP WANTED YOU TO LEAD THE BLP???!!!

6. As i read the comments to and for the two political parties I recognize the right of individuals to agree or disagree, but to get to the stage where we curse and denigrate each other is coarse and disheartening.

Our dialogue must start with respect for each other, for even though we hide behind our pseudonyms, our character still comes through.

7. Rinse Out
    I would like to be canvassin n you thra sumting in my face. you would get ‘rinse out’ at ya own door, dah is all. start, as ya reddy.I would barely cum n canvass out by you fa spite.

Carson C
    I’m justly prowd a ya dawta.
    But ya gotta gih Owen a recliner man, rockin chairs outdated. wah ya sah? He outdated too? ya too funny. LOL
    De budget got dese peeple touchous, picky n misarebble.

Peaches
    Listen chile, in your vain attempt ta m’barrass me, you have failed miserably, ok Sweet P? I jus like ta add a lil ‘spice’ evry now n den. After all, isn’t dat wat a condiment suppose ta do? whetha you reply to me evva or nevva again, how will dat affect de price a oil, my frien? stupseeeeeeeee.Dis is Barbados Underground not Gospel Fest. Keep quiet do. Tell ya professa ‘mawnin’ fa me.

just observing
    waittttttt, you evva witness a ol time village brawl yet? evrybody does like ta get in a good ‘buse’ pun de nex body first.
    Pseudonym is what makes BU so popula. ya could tell off who u want widout fear/fare of victimization. you kno how b/dos is too. so ya got ta buse who want busein evry now n den widout ya house gettin bun-dung. Sum yardfowls does get very ig’runt.
    if i ‘buse sumbody pun BU i doan mean nutton by um, wah i doan kno nabody pun BU from de cow dat jump ova de moon. So doan tek um ta hart man.

caribman
    when i tink bout dah Barak saga, i does get ig’runt n crrruulllll.Fa rale den. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Bajan Panday
    I did startin ta feel fa Owen doe. I serious. he did fumblin n stammerin tummuch man. i serius. my hart does get ‘sof’ quik. I does only holla n keep nuff noise but i do not suffer fools gladly.

8. BU: what would Poll numbers say now, given the performance of Mr. Stuart, Mr. Sinckler, Miss Mottley and Owen Arthur in the recent budget?

Would they still be a clamour for Owen Arthur or so he thinks? Would Owen Arthur still be ahead of Mia Mottley?

Let’s have a Poll Wickham/Nation BU!!!

9. Bajan Panday
    I did startin ta feel fa Owen doe. I serious. he did fumblin n stammerin tummuch man. i serius. my hart does get ‘sof’ quik. I does only holla n keep nuff noise but i do not suffer fools gladly.

@ BP

I see you are feeling better the creator is great you are on a role!

I am like you, girl I feel for Owen and I have nothing negative to say about him anymore!

10. Listen to me! I am telling you! Owen Arthur did not look good last night. His resonance and mobility seem to have slowed.

AT ONE STAGE HE WAS LEANING ON THE DESK AND WAS SCARCELY ABLE TO SPEAK.

Is there something he is not telling the people of Barbados? Is there a reason why he wanted to be Leader of the Opposition and PM again?

I telling you, Owen Arthur does not look good. All jokes aside. Some ting wong.

OWEN ARTHUR DOES NOT LOOK GOOD.!!!HE DOES NOT LOOK GOOD AT ALL. SOME TING WONG!!! SOME TING WONG!!!

11. JC
    I feelin a lot betta. had sum ‘bush-tee’. lolll

I cannn promise dat i in gun sah nutton negative bout de ‘shortman’ doe. LOLLL
    He mite jus be playin tricks ta get simpaty.
    Bonny dang’rus so. Chawwwwwwwwwwwww.

12. Mr Stuart, Please keep Clyde Mascoll from out of the DLP, he could be PM today if he was a team player, if you ever have thoughts of bringing him back think again. The DLP family will never accept him back , he has hurt the party too much to come back, not even his father-in law would want to see him back with the Dems. Peanuts had loved David and supported him to end of his life, bring back Mascoll and all hell will break out in the DLP, so the ball is in your court Mr PM.

13. Bajan Panday
    ‘Sumting wong, sumting wong’.
    I tryin not ta laff but I cannnnn help um.

He lookin fa a state fun’al but um in happenin pun my granfadda clock. sorry. not even a casket. a plain face-hole coffin.

A fella tell me de udda day, ‘I whun like he ta dead but fa wah he do ta Mia, I would like he ta get a ‘stroke’ in parliament”. I almos deadddddddd when de fella tell me so and he did mo serious dhan angina.

Anyway, I doan wish nutton bad fa nabody a’tall so he is no diff’rent. He betta quit while ahead.

14. Rose
    You dang’rus like me I realize. I luv um. Who is Peanuts by de way?
    Anyway, de onlies time dat Mascoll (Mallet wid teet) gun cum pun WE premises, is when he cum to clean up George St. afta me n Donvill weddin recepshun.
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhh.

15. @ Rose | November 25, 2010 at 1:58 PM

Did you listen to PM Stuart last night and see him remove the mystique from economists and Owen Arthur and demonstrated beyond doubt that Owen Arthur had access to more money than any leader since 1627?

Let me put that another way. Between the 14 years Owen Arthur was PM, there was so much surplur capital in the world that Madoff was able to steal $50 billion and Sandford some $20 billion without anybody missing it.

Did you hear Mr. Sinckler? Then why would you believe that they would now want to accept “MAN FRIDAY” back into the DLP?

The minute that the BLP agreed that the economy needs restructuring, they lost the debate right there. The Budget debate shows is that the DLP has matured and that it is also honest.

It has taken Sinckler and Stuart to finally end Owen Arthur and dismiss Mascoll for ever. Once Sinckler fixes this economy, that will be th end of the BLP since Sinckler will be seen as the man who took-on the “so-called great Owen Arthur” and dismantled him.

Surely now! Surely Now! Sinckler’s rating have gone through the roof.

The DLP does not want “MAN Friday/Tonto – the side kick” Why would they?

16. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

The usual BU commentator who never had anything good to say about Owen Arthur anyway, and who never had anything good to say about Mia Mottley until the latest issues in the Party.

The BLP is bigger than Owen Arthur or Mia Mottley. Like all family squabbles this will be settled.

Three years into its term of office the DLP wakes up and suddenly is correcting the “spendthriftness” of the BLP. Yes the spendthriftness that left a current account surplus, record low unemployment and record high foreign reserves.

Three years in they have double digit unemployment, lower reserves and record fiscal deficits and have skyrocketed the debt.

Three years in their main social accomplishment is free bus fares for school children. They have just discovered that this reduces the revenue of the transport board so they have increased bus fares for everyone. That is the DLP way of correcting things.

Three years in they have created record fiscal deficits propped up by foreign borrowing. Unlike the BLP that borrowed money for capital projects the DLP borrows money to finance current expenditure. They borrow money to finance constituency councils that pay for “Independence Extravaganzas” and “Constituency Walk Throughs” That is the DLP way of correcting things.

Three years in we hear excuse after excuse about the DLP’s non performance. “The BLP did this” or “Don’t you know there’s a recession on?” or “The UK did this”. The BLP never threw it’s hands up and excused itself from managing the economy. But then again, we are talking about the DLP way of correcting things.

Three years in the list of promises broken and policies never implemented grows longer and longer. Peter Boos a major private sector representative complains publicly about the DLP’s lack of implementation. Four Seasons could have been on stream a YEAR ago but there we see the DLP way of correcting things again.

A bunch of half baked poorly thought through policies keep being announced and then not implemented when they realise that it is almost impossible to implement them. Remember the “Cell Phone Tax”? Now we have a reduction in license rates for ZR’s tied to “improvements in behaviour” no methodology mentioned as to how this will be measured or by who. Once again the DLP way of doing things.

Three years after saying the top three issues were “cost of living, cost of living, cost of living” the cost of living has skyrocketed. This latest budget will send it even higher with the new VAT, while making people poorer with the removal of allowances. The DLP is nothing if not consistent.

It’s funny but when Owen Arthur said “Job #1 is Jobs” unemployment plummeted to record lows, but that is the BLP way of doing things clearly the DLP way of doing things is vastly different.

17. I would not advise my young ones to follow Sinckler’s example during his wrap-up, but Owen did it and Tom did it; the major difference was no one believed Sinkler was capable of humiliating Owen Arthur. Personally, I would not like to endure what Owen had to last night, but as the little children are known to say, “He (Owen) start it first!” during previous budgets.

Clyde Mascoll spoke during earlier days of “locking horns” with Owen. Sinkler literally brek off dee horns.

As stated previously, whether we, as a nation or as individuals, pass this test put forward in the 2010 Budget, is now left to be seen. Cursing each other serves no purpose. It cannot be every turkey fuh he own craw, we have to seriously reach out to the most vulnerable in our individual communities and help with whatever little we can afford. It is time for us to close ranks and help each other. The politicians will prosper, and are prospering; we have to honestly do what is necessary and work together.

18. Quick Draw McGraw had a side kick name “Baba Looey”.

Lone Ranger had one called Tonto.”

“Hong Kong Fuey had one called Penry.

Now Owen Arthur has a side kick called: Malik without teeks Mascoll.

Mascoll said on VOB that Arthur is all the way up there and no one can touch him as an economist. Perhaps Malik without teeks – the side kick, should have told that to Sinckler and Suart before they D’skinned Owen Arthur in the Budget.

Perhaps if Malik without teeks knew about the file that they have on Owen Arthur, he would not have been so quick to speak.

Owen Arthur should be luck that the Speaker saved him last night but in time the files on that Warren’s building and who is behind it will come out.

WHY DO YOU THINK GEORGE PAYNE RAN FROM THE HOUSE YESTERDAY?

19. I am now convinced that the next PM of Barbados will be Chris Sinckler. Stuart, Arthur and Mottley, none of those three can walk in Sinkler’s shoes. At the next election, Sinckler will become PM and he will reign for at lease 3 terms.

20. Owen get some royal warm licks in is tail. At one point I thought his false teeth was going to fall out of his head.

The drinks got him, the drinks got him. Sinckler left him featuring a sieve, bare holes in he. Them DLP so-called wild boys gang up that old pensioner and ain’t show him no mercy, at one point I was look for Owen to start crying. All the while was seen laughing and making faces with the government bench.

21. Bonny Peppa, You did not know that Peanuts is Mascoll’s wife father? You like you now born or come to light, Peanuts don’t deal with Mascoll or went to their wedding.Anderson “Peanuts Morrison was a MP, he beat Bree St John in an election when i was about 12 years old and that famous victory by Peanuts was hail as the Peanuts election, i think Bree had led the BLP in that election and that is how Tom Adams then became the leader of the BLP.

22. @Rinse out | November 25, 2010 at 9:56 AM |. “Here’s a warning to all DLP members. Do not dare come at my door canvassing, for what you will receive thrown in your faces you will not like.”

I wonder if you will enjoy (or not) your time at Dodds for criminal assault when you have thrown whatever it is you intend to throw. Of course, assault is civil as well, so I hope you got nuff money to pay damages as well. It is going to be interesting to see if you are, as I suspect, all mouth – or just rich, stupid and a masochist.

23. It is evident the DLP/government will be going after Arthur using the cloak of parliamentary privilege as evidence by the approach last night.

Perhaps this strategy has been forced based on events tossed out by the return of Arthur but also the inability of the government to hand over files to the DPP which would allow prosecution of BLP operatives.

Arising from the last campaign trail there is a reasonable expectation by the public we would have seen a few prosecutions by now.

It will be something the government will have to deal with come 2013.

24. Rose
    ya gotta bare wid ma. I only born in 2000. whetha it is BC, DC or AC. But anyway, I rememba very lil bout Peanuts. He still livin or wah? He did a real serious man doe. Ya mean he did hate he fucha son in law so muchly dat he preferrd ta stan ‘way? Dah is real resentment ya. um soun like sumting dat i woulda do ta.

Heartattack
    LOLLLL. ya got ma cryinnnn. at one pint ya did lookin fa Owen ta start cryinnnn? maybe he did cryinnnnnn inside. He mussy cursin heself n de otha 4 bandits fa dem conspiracy ‘gainst Mia. He mussy went home las nigh n get pissin-drunk. i feel he had ta sleep by heself too. caws she in cleanin up na vomit. cuddearrrrrrrrrrrrrr

My name is not Sylvan
    Is your name Owen den perchance?
    “Cording ta Sinckler, you soun like warm -ova cold soup. ya in sayin nutton man. raise de ante man. stupseeeeeeee

Amused
    i gun canvas out by Rinse-Out fa bare spite.
    I is a sa-warrior. He/she cannnnn be seri’us.

25. simply anonymous Avatar

@KISSMYA | November 24, 2010 at 11:53 PM |
    yes we better off owen is no longer robbing us

26. Imagine! 14 years a PM and Minister of Finance and NO LEGACY.

Owen Arthur said there is a clamour for him but almost every caller to “Down-to-Brass-Tacks” today praised PM Stuart and Finance Minister Sinckler for putting warm licks in Owen Arthur and his gang of 5.

Now you know why Owen Arthur was not seen in Parliament for the past 2 1/2 years – he was hiding from the late PM Thompson.

Owen Arthur now eased back-in thinking he would have a smooth ride. Now! Wait until the second reading of Prevention of Corruption Bill.

After 14 years as Prime Minister of Barbados and Minister of Finance, Owen Arthur has the nerve to be telling Christopher Sinckler – who was elected 2 1/2 years ago and became Minister of Finance some 2 month ago – that he (Sinckler) should restructure the economy.

Right their!!! That tells you that Owen Arthur does not have a legacy after 14 years as Prime Minister and Minister of Finace but Sinckler could have one in three years – that is: after restructuring the Barbados Economy.

27. Chris Sinckler came over as a raging pitbull and the thug that he is. It was if he was tied on a rope on Monday but broke free and began attacking. My God, he was awful. Yes Owen Arthur started this foolishness in his wrap ups but just like Sinckler did, the power goes to politicians’ heads. If Sinckler was matured enough, he would have taken the high road and raised the bar to a higher level. He as a result is no better that Owen, he did worse. He said Thompson’s death has brought things into perspective for him, did it really? Even Thompson refused to do what Sinckler did.

The dems may have gotten away with praising him on Brasstacks today because the DLP’s host was on. But in my office today, every last person (even some who favour the dems) was saying how offensive Sinckler’s behaviour was. He came over as a schoolyard bully and a thug. He had better be careful and watch his health.

The other conversation was on the PM’s performance. Most in my office wondered how he could ramble on so for two hours and in any case why was he allowed two hours??? It was pure drivel. I thought he would outline HIS vision for this country….like the DLP was elected under Thompson and he had his vision for Barbados but here is the new path I want to pursue. Instead he came over as aloof and arrogant as he is perceived to be.

Let the DLP continue with this notion that Barbados is a society and dont focus on the economy. See how Obama focussed on social issues and look what happened two weeks ago. When Obama won, the Democrats said that the Republicans would be in the cold for years and look what happened, they got the largest mid term number of seats in 60 years.

So you dems bury your heads in the sand and think that Sinckler is PM material. After last night’s performance, decent Bajans will certainly not want to be lead by such a thug. How long is he going to remain as Minister of Finance?

Mark my words, the Dems will have to return to the country with more tax measures because people and businesses will buckle down and hold strain for the 18 months. They will not therefore collect the required taxes they wish to collect!

28. simply anonymous,

Have you ever heard about your star boy Michael Lashley. Do a little investigation and stop worrying with Owen, your head will be blown.

Have you ever wondered why the DLP’s Declartion of assets bill in 100 days has never seen the light??

29. @ Appollo 13 | November 25, 2010 at 8:10 PM |

Mark my words, the Dems will have to return to the country with more tax measures because people and businesses will buckle down and hold strain for the 18 months. They will not therefore collect the required taxes they wish to collect!”

++++++++++++

The above is not even an original point. That is precisely what Mia Mottley said and no other BLP member mentioned it.

What was wrong with Sinckler’ performance? The point is that despite Sinckler having a Masters Degree in International Trade Policy, Owen Arthur tried to give the impression that Sinckler knew nothing about foreign policy and foreign trade.

That was an error. Sinckler showed he was as versed in that area as Owen Arthur. Owen Arthur was clearly stunned.

What was wrong with Stuart’s performance? It was Owen and a faction of the BLP who were saying that you have to be an economist to run Barbados althought of all the Prime Ministers this country has ever had – Owen Arthur is the only economist.

PM Stuart and Finance Minister Sinckler “D”skinned” Owen Arthur and left him exposed as an overrated, power-hungry, corrupt old man.

But it is not Arthur alone who has been exposed but his gang of 5, especially on that Warrens Building?. Because the ganf of 5 are weak and incompetent, they opted to hide behind Arthur to downplay their incompetence. Now that Arthur has been D’skinned – they too have been exposed.

Throughout the budget debate, the gang of 5 was weak and unimpressive and resorted to lies even producing an unsigned letter from a so-called Nurse.

The message being sent by the electorate to the BLP is that it needs to revamp itself first. It would seem that Owen Arthur and his gang of 5 first need to fix the internal election rigging within the BLP.

DO YOU THINK WE BARBADIANS FORGET THAT?

Minister Sinckler, let us hear some more about that Warren’s Building because that $70 million can certainly build a lot of house for poor people.

WHY DOES THAT GANG OF 5 SEEM LIKE A COVER-UP TO BARBADIANS.

The Warren’s Building, The Coast Guard Building, The Pierhead Project, ABC highway, the building at Newton…let me pause here for breath.

30. Bonny Peppa, Peanuts is still very much alive and well, he still loves the Dems real back.He like all right thinking Dems never embrace Mascoll.

31. @ Crystalball | November 25, 2010 at 8:23 PM |

who said:
    Have you ever wondered why the DLP’s Declartion of assets bill in 100 days has never seen the light??

++++++++++++

That does not make any sense however you look at it. Did DLP politicians meet in a Parliamentary Group meeting and agreed to be corrupt?

Isn’t there a Prevention of Corruption Bill befor the House?

Then what is your point?

The only person in the BLP I heard talking about NHC or Clico was Mia Mottley. I even listened to the tape of the BLP’s recent Haggatt Hall meeting and hear Owen Arthur say that the issue is not about no NHC contracts.

AGAIN I ASK –WHAT IS YOUR POINT?

Are you wishing that DLP politicians would put campaign funds into their personal bank accounts like Owen Arthur?

32. Apollo
    tell ma sumting. dis body in you office oppose dis, dat n de nex. tell ma sumting, you office obliquely opposit Lionel C Hill Supamarket in Robuck St.? Now i undastan. carry on smartly.

Crystalball
    Michael Lashley is my starboy not Anonymous whun. But ya mean afta all de accusations dat did pelting at Owen las nite, you still cumin bout hay tawkin shoite bout sumbody doe? You is one a de short man drinkin pardnas or wah? stupseeee
    Do ma a fava, look in ya crystal ball n tell ma hummuch lil chil’ren de short man got bout de place while still marrid ta wifey numba uno. get back ta ma wid ya findins. n while ya at um, see if ya could find at leas sum money ta gih Barack fa de bad-ass, poorly construcked facade at Warrens. now carry on smartly on ya treasure-hunt wid ya crystal ballz.

Rose
    Good ta kno dat Peanuts is alive n well. Bless up.

33. To all the talk I add, Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall and George Payne is a waste of time, the only people form that side worth listening to were Cynthia Forde, Rawle Eatmond and of course Mia who was superb, I can clealy see the division in the BLP, one side the idiots and use- to -be the other more intelligent folks willing to get down to business.I guess Owen already know his time is gone there is no more hope for the BLP, he calling an election, I wish he would get it.Aat this time no one want him as a leader, he sound drunk not serious about the economy and he look sick as dog

34. I have now officially switched t the Dees, if Owen could go and sing a lease 11 days before election, that would give the people of his island $416.00 a month for the next 99 years and allow millionaires the right to get richer of our soil he deserves to be locked up and that is not the only piece of land that he allow to be rented at such a low price, he obviously get something for himself, but easy come easy go.Then the contract being awarded to George Payne oh sorry I mean Barack, when the tender did not meet the requirements is gross.Now the taxpayers of Barbados must suffer for this.I couldn’t understand why the BLP would not pay Barack the money but it is clear, George Payne was the minister of housing at some time, he must be form a company get Barack to front fuh he, then he and Owen fall out, so Owen refuse to let him get all that money and now it is left to the DLP to salvage I hope none of them get one cent. How come Barack get so much contracts in any case, dem is a whole set of wicked brutes but God is not sleeping they will pay.

35. Here is my advice to the DLP:

Set up a Commission of Enquiry to investigate the then Minister of Housing George Payne as regards that Warren’s Building which now requires the taxpayers to fork-out over $75 million to pay for a building – built by a man who did not qualify to build it.

Tell us also, who was the Board Chairman at the time?

And, why was the contract awarded to build the Warren’s Building, to a man who simply was not qualified to build it?

Then, send the file to the DPP.

36. In light of Mia Mottley’s speech in the reply to the budget it is obvious a rift still exist between the two factions. Even if there is a kiss and make up to present a united front to the public going into the next general election, BU see a longer term issue. If Mia is expected to challenge for the leadership sometime in the future. There will be a high element of distrust between herself and members of the gang of 5 if they remain elected. The question given the forgoing – how will this inform her strategy?

37. mash up&buy back Avatar

Bajan Panday

And all the others like you who making Mia mottley out to be a saint,Mia was part of the cabinet with Owen Arthur and used to defend everything he said and did up to the time they backraise she.So stop wid de crap that she is such a wholesome,decent person.

Mia and Owen are like 6 of one half dozen of the other,She is just as corrupt as Owen,george payne,dale marshall,rommel marshal,glyne clarke,liz thompson and on and on.

Ask mia about why she gave jose and jose who deal in septic tanks,why she give them contracts to build buildings and other contracts even though she was part owner in Jose and Jose and they could not even handle the building contracts.

Ask her about the corruption at the Crab hill police station,about her association with D Straker and that condominum building at top of worthing and rendezvous ask them about sandy lane plots of land – man be off man …. a big steupse.

You all trying to remake Mia but she is made from the same corrupt cloth as the rest of the BLP gang and the wickin’ and beating up of the softer gender is not a winning political PR strategy.

Enough said.

38. @mash up

It is politically expedient to praise Mia which will be at the expense of Arthur. It stokes the perception of leadership fight in the BLP.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRETTY BLUE EYES

I am always preaching about the corruption in the Barbados Labour Party.
    All of these things are known.
    The information is there. That is why I am disappointed with the DLP that no one has been charged, but then again under current Barbadian laws can they be?

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“the building at Newton”

Every single cent for its total construction was paid out even before it was half finished.

41. @Bajan Panday | November 26, 2010 at 2:50 AM |

“Here is my advice to the DLP:
    Set up a Commission of Enquiry to investigate the then Minister of Housing George Payne as regards that Warren’s Building which now requires the taxpayers to fork-out over $75 million to pay for a building – built by a man who did not qualify to build it. ”

As have been suggested before, investigate who was Barrack’s lawyer or which firm did his legal work, who got the contract to knock down the old NHC building in Country Road, who insisted that when Barrack got the bogus contract, one his partners who does electrical work should not get the contract to do the same …because of connections to another party.

Panday, who was the manager of Standard Cricket team during this time? Who is President…for LIFE … of Standard Cricket team? How many shares did George Payne and Dale Marshall have in Barrack’s Construction? Who were/ARE his silent partners? How many cheques were passed on to George …. in his own name … from Barrack?

I have also asked, when George was in charge of the BWA, which legal firm did the work for BWA? WHO, apart from Dale Marshall, represented BWA in it’s legal matters/ What is the connection between George, Dale and the same legal firm …which also worked for Barrack?

Conflict of interest? Corruption? You must decide. It is time for George, Dale and Barrack to stop hiding and come clean. Which politicians stand to gain financially from Barrack’s pay day?

In conclusion, what did the gang of five discussed at Mudda Cat’s Bar, Holder’s Hill, (spelt to suit me) before Mia was removed? Owen was right, he was “called to the bar” by two illegal members of the legal profession at Mudda Cat’s to discuss his temporary return.

42. Speaking of corruption Wikileaks is about to release some more “secret” State Dept. files which include candid assessment about what US diplomats think about politicians and political decisions in some countries (even their closest allies). Apparently some of the files may contain allegations of corruption.

Ah wonder if lil Barbados made the list?

43. Hey, DLP supporters and while you all are investigating…….. investigate Michael Lashley, Donville Inniss and Chris Sinckler. Also investigate David Thompson in the case of the little boy who was shot, investigate him and his connections to CLICO. And the same time pass the files over to the DPP too.

Investigate the contracts Michael Lashley awarding to family and the other dubious characters in St Philip North.

None of them are clean, so stop pelting stones and have a happy day cursing everybody! Blood sport for you all, aint it?

44. Owen does spend too much time at Mudda Cat, he needs to walk the halls of parliament, get in the library read blogs, read the paper he would then come out of the 14 yr old rock he is living under. I still say out ta de 2 gimme Mia hands down. Owen is washed up wasted and most time too drunk to run this country.

45. What is wrong with Bounty legitimate work? I don’t understand at all …….

Imagine Bounty doing honest work and still people vex. You want the boys from off the block but still ……

Stupse!!!! when will we a people learn?

46. Pretty Blue Eyes
    ta tell ya de trute, when Owen leff de Mudda Cat Bar he doan be able ta walk ta he car, fuddamoe de halls a parliament.

JC
    wah you tawkin bout? I los, as nusual.

47. It seems as if Bounty is working in the construction industry. I don’t hear his name so much with marijuana.

It is ‘claimed’ that Lashley has gotten quite a few fellows off of the block in St. Philip to work.

48. @Peaches | November 25, 2010 at 10:27 AM | Bonny Peppa,

This is the only time that I will ever reply to you.

I will not sink to your level. I do not operate in the gutter. So you can curse me all you want. Furthermore, I do not think this blog should be used in the way in which you use it to curse people with whom you disagree. Everyone is entitled to their opinions including you. People can disagree but they do not have to be disagreeable.

You curse every blogger who does not bow down and worship at the DLP altar. You cursed every blogger who dared to say the truth about your god David Thompson. Grow up and show some respect in a public forum.

The season of peace and goodwill is upon us, please share some and clean up your filthy act.
    —————————————-
    Thumbs up to you Peaches.

49. @just observing | November 25, 2010 at 11:51 AM | As i read the comments to and for the two political parties I recognize the right of individuals to agree or disagree, but to get to the stage where we curse and denigrate each other is coarse and disheartening.

Our dialogue must start with respect for each other, for even though we hide behind our pseudonyms, our character still comes through.
    ————————————-
    The worst part of all is that the people who call themselves BU allows that type of behaviour to continue without saying a word about. There’re obviously no standards to maintain.

50. @Crystalball | November 26, 2010 at 10:31 AM |
    “Hey, DLP supporters and while you all are investigating…….. investigate Michael Lashley, Donville Inniss and Chris Sinckler. Also investigate David Thompson in the case of the little boy who was shot, investigate him and his connections to CLICO. And the same time pass the files over to the DPP too”

Yes! Crystalball, if they need to be investigated, I totally agree with that. In fact, all should be willing to do so.
    I will continue to maintain my position of not being swayed by either party. However, as the spotlight has been on George Payne and his role in Mia’s removal, I will share what I KNOW …. not imagine nor speculate on. What he did is despicable. What took place at Mudda Cat’s will enter the history books of Barbados.

Somebody talked!!! How did Barbados Today know on the same evening that the fellows met in Prior Park, who came out first, what time, who came next etc.? How was it a reporter was on the spot to see what was going on as the gentlemen came out? Is there any connection between Mia and Roy Morris at Barbados Today? For sure, they have been to church at a small west coast church in St. James together. Roy is regularly going to church too!

The info on Barrack, BWA, Dowell’s Chambers and Dale was always in the news when George Payne was a Minister. Anyone who reads the newspapers, mark and inwardly digest what is going on, then follow how particular decisions are made will get a good idea of what is happening among our politicians.

……………………………………..

@Anonymous | November 26, 2010 at 8:17 PM |
    “just observing | November 25, 2010 at 11:51 AM | As i read the comments to and for the two political parties I recognize the right of individuals to agree or disagree, but to get to the stage where we curse and denigrate each other is coarse and disheartening.
    Our dialogue must start with respect for each other, for even though we hide behind our pseudonyms, our character still comes through.”

Again, I am in total agreement with you. We must endeavour not to let our support for one party or the other descend to insulting each other. Who knows, some of us, using pseudonyms, could be cursing our own workmates or family members without knowing it. Whatever our views, let decency prevail.