Editor-in-Chief of the Nation newspaper

Last month the Nation newspaper very quietly announced the appointment of Kaymar Jordan to the post of Editor in Chief from September 1, 2010.ย  Jordan leaves the job as Director of News and Current Affairs at the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC).

Following the announcement the obvious question which observers would have asked – what is the implication for Roxanne Gibbs the current Executive Editor? It is an open secret BU believeย  her performance as the head of the Nation’s editorial staff to be woefully short of what is required from the leading daily newspaper in Barbados. How can we forget her handling of the Guyana immigration issue which revealed a clear biase? There is also the decision to report the Hartley Henry and Carol Martindale spat to an international body which has had the effect of embarrassing the Barbados government over a non issue. To date the matter remains an embarrassing loose end which obviously was politically motivated. Several other instances can be used to cite her incompetence in recent years.

It comes as no surprise if we are to accept our usual unimpeachable sources that Roxanne has been let go from the Nation newspaper on Tuesday of this week. Some will say she resigned but the end result is the same, she has to go. We wish her all the best but there is little doubt she has been drowning in her own incompetence and has finally been put out of her misery.

The Nation newspaper is a part* of the local Fourth Estate but very influential. Jordan will assume a position once held by Harold Hoyte. BU have not found a good reason yet to forgive Hoyte for selling out a highly successful local newspaper to a Trinidadian concern.ย  She will be expected to bring leadership to a newspaper which has lost its way. Some may say it is that lack of leadership of the Nation newspaper in the last five to ten years which has seen the emergence of citizen journalists and others. ย  Before Jordan can make her mark she will have to recruit/build a competent team of professionals* to support her quest for excellence in local journalism. There are some journalists currently on the Nation payroll whose exploits* over the years can be deemed to have been highly unprofessional. We may have more to say about that at a later date. BU have to congratulate the powers at be at the Nation newspaper for demonstrating the courage to recruit out of the box with the Jordan appointment.

The BU household has followed Kaymar Jordan’s career with interest. Her appointment is welcomed and we suspect she will bring a breath of fresh air i- f allowed – to the job. She assumes the job at a time when the Bajan blogosphere, Facebookย  and Twitter are growing every day and her decisions will be under fierce scrutiny by a demanding public. This is the nature of the beast in the world we currently live in, the smart person we suspect she is should recognize that we all have our roles to play.

It is only fair we give her a chance to settle in her new role before we place her performance under the microscope.

93 responses to “Nation Newspaper Paper Turning New Chapter”

1. Wishing In Vain Avatar

So David is the the reason for the sudden about turn displayed by the Nation towards the DLP with the eviction or the dispatch of Ms Gibbs ?
    I myself has noticed a new dimension and a new energy since this week and almost wanted to say I say a hint of fair reporting but I shall not be so carried away this early in proceedings.

My point all along was that NEVER WAS ANY OF THE GOOD THAT WAS DONE BY THIS DLP GOV’T EVER MESSAGED TO THE PUBLIC IN THIS WAY ONCE MUTTLEY HAD CONTROL OF HER GIRLS SHE DEMANDED AND GOT WHAT SHE WANTED FROM GITTENS AND GIBBS SIMPLE AS THAT, MAYBE WE ARE CHANGING MAYBE WE ARE TURNING THE CORNER EXCEPT FOR SIR FRED GOLLOP WHO IS HELL BENT ON DIVERTING ANY ADVERTISING FROM THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE TO THE NATION THEREBY TRYING TO CRIPPLE THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE.

THIS MEETING WAS HELD BY OWING ALLAN FIELS AND GOLLOP TO DISCUSS THEIR APPROACH TO CRIPPLE THE BARBADOS ADVOCATE.

2. Nice one Hartley! Avatar
    Nice one Hartley!

Nice one Hartley…see the b*tch off….now let’s get that next one Carol!!!

3. So David is the the reason for the sudden about turn displayed by the Nation towards the DLP with the eviction or the dispatch of Ms Gibbs ?

WIV, don’t get too excited (yet). I gine be watching tings close close close, cos I notice in recent months Miss Mokkley and de BLP used to get fairly prominent coverage on CMC.

Hopefully this change down Fontabelle wont be just a case of a new girl in the ‘old girls’ club! I gine be watching.

4. A wise old owl once sat on an oak.The more he saw the less he spoke.The less he spoke the more he heard.Why don’t you copy the wise old bird?Hartley “Down Boy!” Carol, Roxanne, let the bitches stick together!!One Love!

5. It is sad to see Mrs Gibbs go, after a long and successful stint at the Nation. WIV Hartley says he has seen a turn around…I am not sure that a turn around was needed at the Nation. The turn around seems to be needed next door at the DLP Voice. Where Bryan and his cronies have taken on the role of perfected by Fox news in the US ( claim to be fair and balanced, and do everything possible to sow that your stories are the opposite). The DLP Voice ( advocate) has gone from a reliable supplier of news to the out and out mouthpiece of the party.

The difference between the Nation and the DLP Voice is that the Nation has readership the DLPV, is so embarrased by their circulation figures that they fail to publish them.

6. “The BU household has followed Kaymar Jordanโ€™s career with interest. Her appointment is welcomed and we suspect she will bring a breath of fresh air i- f allowed โ€“ to the job.”
    What? Nothing but empty platitudes David. Yuh see, a real journalist would explain, elaborate, give actual examples/illustrations to support the point (whatever it is) you’re trying to make. What about her career “interested” you? Dare you tell us? Stupse!

7. Whereas, on the top part of Pg 8, of the Thursday, September 23, 2004 edition of the Daily Nation, the following below information was placed between the logos of the Daily Nation Newspaper and the Eastern Caribbean Press Council respectively.

The Daily Nation is printed and published by the Nation Publishing Co. Limited, established in November, 1973.

President and Editor: Harold Hoyte

Executive Editor: Roxanne Gibbs

Deputy Executive Editor: Roy Morris

Senior Editor: Winston Walker

Circulation Manager: Edmund Holder

Advertising Manager: Wilfred Field

North American Editor: Tony Best

News Fax: 436-0849

Advertising Fax: 430-9214

Administration Fax: 427-6968

Email: nationnnews@sunbeach.net

on the top part of pg 8, of the Thursday, November 3, 2009 edition of the said Daily Nation, the following below information was placed to the right of the logo of the Daily Nation Newspaper:

The daily Nation is printed and published by the Nation Publishing Co. Limited, “Nation House”, P.O. Box 1203, Fontabelle, St. Michael, Barbados.
    Established in 1973, The Nation Publishing Co. Limited is a subsidiary of the Nation Corpration.

A member of the ( logo of the OCM Group) OCM Group

Publisher: Vivian-Anne Gittens

Executive Editor: Roxanne Gibbs

Daily Editor: Antoinette Connell

Advertising Manager: Paulette Jones

Circulation Manager: Edmund Holder

Editor Emeritus: Harold Hoyte

News Fax: 436-0849

Advertising Fax: 430-9214

Administration Fax:427-6968

Email: nationnews@sunbeach.net

Having surveyed those two portions of information, can any one see what is really part of the downward slide in the overall journalistic performances of the Nation Newspapers – except that of the Barbados Business Authority – over the last 15 or so years???

Well, notwithstanding the appointment of Ms. Kaymar Jordan, a fairly highly academically qualified and experience journalist, to the position of Editor-in-Chief at the Nation Publishing Co, can any one see why almost all the Nation Newspapers will continue their downward overall journalistic slide in Barbados???

Perhaps, Ms. Jordan will help to make sure that Freedom of the Press becomes enshrined in our Barbados Constitution, some thing which Mr. Harold Hoyte never led the way in seeing such an important constitutional provision come to light in Barbados during his time as Editor-in-Chief??

Perhaps, too, she will help seek to establish a School of Journalism in Barbados where eventually all journalists in Barbados will be trained and certificated??

Or a Press and Media Bureau, that will be established by an Act of Parliament, and that will be charged with the setting and monitoring of the appropriate journalistic standards for all press and media houses in Barbados.

But, just analyse her reported comments on the Caribbean Daily News website and see why the so-called Fourth Estate is crumbling in Barbados: โ€œI grew up on the Nation. For me, it is the leading newspaper in Barbados and to be given the opportunity to lead its editorial team is truly humbling.

โ€œI look forward to working with the entire team to ensure that the Nation remains the paper of choice,โ€ she said, in accepting her new mandate (Caribbean Daily News).

She sounds more like an apprentice corporate excutive with a clear marketing mission in mind, and that is playing to the tune of the shareholders/owners of the Nation Publishing Company, and some of its political backers ( not to forget that she has in the past sounded on many CBC TV programs more pro-BLP than any thing else), rather than her sounding, first, like a true seasoned journalist, with managerial office taking a secondary role, but who will still be there in that position to really take charge of the media affairs at the company, and to make sure that journalism at the Nation newspaper is taken out of the depths that it is currently plumbing, and eventually onto greater heights.

Also, she seems more fawningly beholden to the Board of Directors of the Nation Publishing Company for having bestowed on her that position, more than she seems to be espousing a very strong commitment to making sure that readers of the Nation Newspapers will see – with her appointment –
    a return by the Nation Newspapers to the practising of those great tenets of fairness and unbiasness and accuracy in a great deal of the journalism that pours out of the Nation Newspapers.

Nation Newspaper Paper Turning New Chapter???

Wonder what esteemed, former Nation journalists like Harold Hoyte, Carl Moore, Al Gilkes, Tony Cozier and such others would say about those rather ordinary common place comments.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party Nation newspaper turning the corner, don’t fool wunna selves!

Ever noticed that at press conferences her questions are always on the side of the Barbados Labour Party.

It will be BLP as usual. She is not fooling me.

9. @Anonymous

Read our tagline ‘bringing news and opinions* to the people. BU gave an opinion.

also

Read the last sentence in the blog ‘It is only fair we give her a chance to settle in her new role before we place her performance under the microscope’

To further clarify if you did not feel the thrust of the argument, replacing Gibbs is a positive by the Fontebelle management. She has left no legacy, an indictment if ever you wanted one.

BU stands by its position not* to judge the lady until a reasonable time has elapsed.

The title of the blog in ‘ Nation newspaper turning a new chapter’, we will have to wait to read what is contained therein.

As always you can have the final word.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I recall that Kaymar got a tongue lashing from Portia Simpson-Miller when she was PM of Jamaica because of Kaymar’s lack of professionalism.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“BU stands by its position not* to judge the lady until a reasonable time has elapsed.”

If that is what you are doing then you have miss quite a bit. I have been watching her career over the years. Her appointment as Editor-In-Chief is no accident. While with CMC she has given pride of place to Barbados Labour Party positions on CMC for years.

The Barbados Labour Party will not relinquest such an important position at their Nation newspaper to any one who is even approaching neutral in Journalism. That is not why the Nation newspaper was established.

12. “While with CMC she has given pride of place to Barbados Labour Party positions on CMC for years.”

Couldn’t have said it better myself. She believe in Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley! I could explain and elaborate on my evidence to prove my assertion, but I tekking my cue from the blogmaster and gine just drop in my opinions and leff it at dat. Murdah!

13. It’s because of the Guyanese. Send them back home. Keep Barbados pure. They are cockroaches. Pull them out of their homes in the dead of night. All patriotic Barbadians. Unite against the invaders. Kaymar Jordan is a Guyanese. Investigate this.

14. Verily I say unto you

that you have placed responsibility for MAJOR change to be tackled by this woman, is this not true? Should she succeed would this not be a major embarrassment to all males in your society, for surely the males from your country have failed miserable in bringing about major, significant and profound change, have they not? Do you really think that she will do these things that appear so vividly to you? Is there really a Fourth Estate? Is Carson C Cadogan not spot on with his visions? My people respect women but a man’s job is a man’s job, and the change that you hope for will come to pass only when such responsibility is placed in the hands of the right man, is this not true?

15. Verily I say unto you,

Is it not possible or indeed plausible that Roxanne Gibbs’ origins and accent is at the center of the scorn and contempt that is so obviously displayed by the drafter of the original manuscript? Is it not possible or indeed plausible that the scribe exhibits the type of xenophobia that my people are so often accused of?

16. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@ PDC
    “Also, she seems more fawningly beholden to the Board of Directors of the Nation Publishing Company for having bestowed on her that position”
    WHAT STUPID COMMENTS TO MAKE, SHE JUST GOT THE JOB. GROWN UP AND GET OUT, FOOLS

17. For the record: Roxanne Gibbs has the same right to Barbadian citizenship as all of the Bajan born hatemongers on this blog. Her father was born and bred in Barbados. Get a life and stop the insularity ! Do not believe that the development of this country only came about because of the so-called brilliance of the members of the DLP and the BLP and their supporters/sponsors/yardfowls..

18. @anon

Has anyone stated otherwise?

One person makes an out there comment no doubt to be provocative and you hang your hat on it?

19. David,

I generally come on this blog to discuss legal issues. I sometimes comment on other stuff that interest me. Every now and again, BU submits a piece which refers to instances of which I have knowledge. I read the comments and opinions with interest.

Much of the time BU either has half of a story or just gets it all wrong. I find it better to refrain from commenting because I think it would be inappropriate for me to air someoneโ€™s personal business on a blog even if I am doing so to rebut an incorrect assertion. Sometimes I have information that was disclosed to me in confidence and do not want to breach that confidence. Therefore I keep silent.

This is one of those occasions where I am tempted to bend my general rule.
    This blog is an echo chamber. Someone says something and everyone runs with it as if it were true.

Now let me give you a disclaimer. I have known Harold Hoyte, Roxanne Gibbs, Wilfred Fields, Roy Morris and the rest for over 20 years.

I can tell from your comments that you do not know Roxanne or Harold very well (if at all). I would bet that you have not even had a conversation with either one of them.
    Even by BUโ€™s own admission the Newspaper was a โ€œhighly successfulโ€ one before Harold โ€œbetrayedโ€ Barbadians by selling it to those nettlesome Trinidadians.

Who do you think contributed to the newspaperโ€™s success before then? The very Roxanne Gibbs that you love to denigrate.

Before you knew who Roxanne Gibbs was she was playing her part to shape the Nation into the โ€œhighly successfulโ€ company that you wanted kept in Barbadian hands.

Long before Harold officially retired and long before OCM took over, Roxanne was in charge of the Nationโ€™s editorial department (unknown to the public and clearly unknown to you). So when I hear persons talk about how the Nation used to be a good newspaper but has fallen off because of Roxanne, I shake my head because in one breath they are acknowledging her contribution to the companyโ€™s success (and donโ€™t know it) and in another they are blaming her for its alleged downfall.

Of course David or some other BU commentator will come with a retort to what is perhaps my longest post to date. They will probably say that โ€œshe was bias in favour of Guyaneseโ€ or โ€œshe was bias in favour of the BLPโ€ .

Those of us who actually know Roxanne would laugh at the idiocy of such allegations.

Unfortunately, those who donโ€™t know her and read the blogs will not know what to think about her. It is difficult to ignore the repeated ramblings of anonymous persons who think that they know what her motives are based on snippets of information that someone whispered in their ear.

You say that she has left no legacy as if you have a clue about the blood, sweat and tears she put into the Nation for the last 30 years.

I know, David. You are just expressing your opinion. But it is my view that your opinion is an uninformed one.

20. Verily I say unto you David,

Is this not an appropriate time to respond? For indeed I too know Roxanne and truth be told were you not a tad bit sour in your characterization?

21. Fellas what you fussing bout man?
    On Bu it is the norm to adjudicate without having the facts, man. It is the norm on BU to pontificate without the facts, man. Ah lie? LOL
    Now hear me well….I didnt say that this was the right way. Only that it is the BU way. Murdah!

22. Dear bafbfp:

verily I say unto you “wait!! you is an Orthodox Jew now??

23. Anonlegal
    I agree with your insight. Based on comments, even the blog owner David and other commenters seems to turn a blind eye on facts just to spew political insults and degrading statements at anyone associated with the Nation. I have the temerity to defend the professional standard of the Nation without fail, unfortunately, I can not speak positively about the present behaviour of the next door neighbour.

CCC you seems to have a problem with everyone critical of the Dems

24. Rumour has it that contrary to the doom and gloom reports, PM Thompson returns to Barbados and to work on September 1 st!

25. Rumor making the rounds state that Hartley Henry is busy canvassing in St. John on his own hehalf.

26. @Anonymous@10:56,

Don”t be cruel.

27. Verily I say unto you

My people are prone to deception but humor normally escapes us… “Barbadian” you have made me laugh out loud, do you know why this is so?

J
    Many good people share this handle, is this not a good thing?

28. @Anonlegal

Must have struck a nerve to have provoked you to comment. Like BU you are entitled to your opinion. Here are a few comments/feedback.

Much of the time BU either has half of a story or just gets it all wrong. I find it better to refrain from commenting because I think it would be inappropriate for me to air someoneโ€™s personal business on a blog even if I am doing so to rebut an incorrect assertion. Sometimes I have information that was disclosed to me in confidence and do not want to breach that confidence. Therefore I keep silent.

Where are the facts? Which stories do you opine BU brought half the facts? In the interest of improving our delivery BU is always interested in feedback. It may not be the case here but some people get confused between BU the blogmaster and commenters.

Now let me give you a disclaimer. I have known Harold Hoyte, Roxanne Gibbs, Wilfred Fields, Roy Morris and the rest for over 20 years.

I can tell from your comments that you do not know Roxanne or Harold very well (if at all). I would bet that you have not even had a conversation with either one of them. Even by BUโ€™s own admission the Newspaper was a โ€œhighly successfulโ€ one before Harold โ€œbetrayedโ€ Barbadians by selling it to those nettlesome Trinidadians.

It appears from your statement you are reconciled to the position that because you have known the individuals mentioned for 20+ years therefore they are beyond criticism? BU stated and restate that Harold Hoyte in our opinion* was wrong to sellout the successful Nation newspaper to T&T concern. That opinion does not mean we do not consider him to be a good journalist.

This is one of those occasions where I am tempted to bend my general rule.
    This blog is an echo chamber. Someone says something and everyone runs with it as if it were true.

Even if BU (blogmaster) were to post an opinion one of its characteristics to date has been the ability to facilitate views/feedback from all* without censor. Pick one opinion posted by BU and read the comments. No sir, groupthink is not a characteristic of BU. 

Who do you think contributed to the newspaperโ€™s success before then? The very Roxanne Gibbs that you love to denigrate.

Before you knew who Roxanne Gibbs was she was playing her part to shape the Nation into the โ€œhighly successfulโ€ company that you wanted kept in Barbadian hands.

Long before Harold officially retired and long before OCM took over, Roxanne was in charge of the Nationโ€™s editorial department (unknown to the public and clearly unknown to you). So when I hear persons talk about how the Nation used to be a good newspaper but has fallen off because of Roxanne, I shake my head because in one breath they are acknowledging her contribution to the companyโ€™s success (and donโ€™t know it) and in another they are blaming her for its alleged downfall.

Did not know Roxanne was such of a kingmaker!

Based on what we know the success of the Nation before the sellout can easily be attributed to a number of people. Regarding the editorial vision of the newspaper there is little doubt in our minds that Harold Hoyte can take most of the credit and that is our opinion!

Can you advise why Harold as Editor in Chief would have made Roxanne Gibbs and Roy Morris Associate Editors?

Can you advise when Harold retired and was given what we know to be the honorary title of Editor Emeritus โ€“ what has been his involvement in the newspaper? You are being asked because you stated you have known these people for 20+ years.

Can you advise why unlike former Chief Editor Harold Hoyte who would often participate in talk shows and other public displays to comment on issues of the day, Roxanne has been the proverbial mute by comparison? Is it that she has been so busy and could not allocate the time or is it a matter of competence? 

It is not only BU who have been highly critical of the Nation newspaper in recent years, this is a fact* and if you require BU can generate a blog on the prominent people in Barbados who have been critical of the media and the Nation specifically.

You say that she has left no legacy as if you have a clue about the blood, sweat and tears she put into the Nation for the last 30 years.

What in your opinion* will be her legacy?

29. Verily I say onti you

BU’s ferociousness does not impress me, but then again, I am only what I am…

30. How did that happen?

31. @David,

You said: โ€œWhere are the facts? Which stories do you opine BU brought half the facts? In the interest of improving our delivery BU is always interested in feedback. It may not be the case here but some people get confused between BU the blogmaster and commenters.โ€

David, I am not going to get into a back and forth with you as it relates to facts. I have posted on BU for a while and I limit myself to certain types of commentary. I will keep it that way. There are many instances where I have been tempted to point out a comment that is factually incorrect but to do so may involve actually revealing personal things about people who may not want to be the topic of conversation on a blog. Sometimes I have confidential information that I cannot reveal.

You said: โ€œBU stated and restate that Harold Hoyte in our opinion* was wrong to sellout the successful Nation newspaper to T&T concern. That opinion does not mean we do not consider him to be a good journalist.โ€

Harold was not the sole shareholder nor was he the sole director of Nation Corporation. The decision to โ€œsell outโ€ the Nation would not have been his decision alone.

However, let us assume that Harold Hoyte was the only shareholder of Nation Corp? Why would it be wrong to sell his shares to whomever he pleases? I know that we all want to boast about Bajan success stories. The patriot in us wants to point to the Nation with pride and say โ€œthat is a Barbadian company of which I am proudโ€. However, who are we to tell Harold how to deal with his assets? I am glad you respect him as a journalist; you should. But judging from your comments I highly doubt that you have worked one day in the field of journalism (especially print). Roxanne has worked more than 30 years in that field. Those who actually know journalism saw it fit to continuously promote her. So perhaps you are not the best person to judge Roxanneโ€™s performance as a journalist or her contributions to the Nation.

You said: โ€œDid not know Roxanne was such of a kingmaker! Based on what we know the success of the Nation before the sellout can easily be attributed to a number of people. Regarding the editorial vision of the newspaper there is little doubt in our minds that Harold Hoyte can take most of the credit and that is our opinion!โ€

I can tell that you donโ€™t know what contributions Roxanne has made to the Nation. It is obvious from your comments. Your knowledge about what happens at the Nation probably comes from a disgruntled sub editor who thinks that he or she knows how to do the boss’ job. But I assure you that if you speak to anyone who truly knows anything about the Nation newspaper, they will tell you that Roxanne played a part in the Nationโ€™s success.

The fact that you think otherwise shows me that you do not know very much.

32. @ David (continued)

You said: โ€œCan you advise why unlike former Chief Editor Harold Hoyte who would often participate in talk shows and other public displays to comment on issues of the day, Roxanne has been the proverbial mute by comparison? Is it that she has been so busy and could not allocate the time or is it a matter of competence?โ€

Let me get this straight, your assessment of Roxanneโ€™s competence as a print editor/journalist is based on the fact that she didnโ€™t participate on talk shows?

Look David, you have expressed your opinion and I have expressed mine. The fact that you have accused Roxanne of being affiliated with a political party confirms to me how little you know about her. It also suggests to me that you get some of your information from Hartley Henry and perhaps others affiliated with the DLP who repeat that ridiculous narrative.

I have said my piece.

33. @Anonlegal. The Nation plays a role in our everyday life (including that of the legal profession to which you belong). Notices of a legal nature and court orders, all that are required to be advertised, are advertised in the Nation as well as the Official Gazette. This includes trademarks and patents etc. The Registry collects from counsel the money for this advertising and pays it over to the Nation. My point is that the Nation is seen as being sanctioned, not only by the Government, but also by the courts.

Keeping this firmly in mind, therefore, how can you look at the Nation as a proper and officially recognised arm of the press and be other than disgusted? I don’t care who you have known for over 20 years. Believe me, I have known them too and they are very pleasant people. But…..they are incompetent and in anywhere other than Barbados, instead of running the paper, they might just have been allowed to sweep the newsroom floor.

By the way, my fraternal friend, maybe, pro bono publico, you might have given the Nation a legal opinion on the difference between sub judice and fair comment. But, as you know these people, you may have decided to save your time, since it is abundantly clear that they would not understand.

@David. I disagree with you that Miss Gibbs leaves no legacy. Her legacy is how NOT to do the job.

34. @Anonlegal

Read your response and like you there is a lot more we can write but confidentialities would be betrayed. BU respect your right to give vent to your opinions*.

A couple observations:

Anyone who believes that Harold Hoyte did not play a key role in influencing the sale of majority shares to the T&T concern should wheel and come again.

Why trivialize BUโ€™s suggestion that the executive editor of a leading paper may want to play a leadership role in the community it operates by participating in public fora to discuss issues dealing with freedom of information legislation, press freedom and other topics? Harold did it.

Without facts you opine* that we โ€œget some of your information from Hartley Henry and perhaps others affiliated with the DLP who repeat that ridiculous narrative.โ€ Now who is it resorting to opinion? You have no idea who or where BU get information. In fact you would be surprise. BU publish the Henry column so what? We publish submissions from the BLP side as well when they are submitted.

On the issue of the vision or lack of which obtains at the paper today. It is the opinion* of many that the profit motive drives the paper. The lack of community centred pieces is obvious for all to read. It is a void which Barbados Today has been exploiting. Roy would know the weakness only too well wouldnโ€™t he?  For your information one does not have to work in journalism to observe that the owner of the Advocate has taken a sympathetic position to dealing with DLP/Government issues? One does not have to work in journalism to know and understand why Barbados Today had the inside track on the Trimart Story and the possible bailout by Bizzy Williams. Unlike the media houses in Barbados BUโ€™s agenda is driven solely by us*. The readers are free to feedback on this basis.

On the issue of the Martindale/Henry being politically motivated, we stand by that position. Those who understand the social dynamics at play in that situation should understand why the word politically* is a good word.  You should check the definition of the word โ€˜politicallyโ€™.

We will rest for the moment however we encourage you to submit feedback on the blog or via the โ€˜send confidential messageโ€™ option if and when you read half truths to which you referenced. As an officer of the court you may want to feel it is some kind of a civic responsibility if you are one driven to read the blog from time to time. Certainly by every observation you should have deduced that the hearts of the BU household are in the right places and all we want is to make a contribution to improving Barbados?

You can have the last word.

35. To be honest, i have never met the lady; don’t of her work as a journalist or in fact how much influence she had at the Nation as an Editor. Have never read any major pieces which she have written that brought deep reflection on the state of politics, economy, or culture in Barbados. Cannot tell you what changes, for good or bad she has made or inspired in her profession, at her work, or in the lives of community in Barbados.

I have nothing for or against the lady and even if I did it wont really matter to the mark which she has made or did not make.

The question i really want to ask is this:

In light of the above why are we taking up much time and space on such an important BLOG talking about Roxanne Gibbs?

She was hired, she worked, and was fired. That happens every day in the world. Its never nice when someone has to lose a job, especially after working at an establishment for so many year, but that is part of life.

Please let us move on David.

36. @Light Hearted

This blog dealt primarily with the appointment of Kaymar Jordan and the high expectation which it has generated for BU given the importance of a strong fourth estate in Barbados. The Gibbs issue is a secondary one which commenters can feedback on if they desire.

37. Verily say unto you

Any male who was fortunate to meet Roxanne ten or twenty years ago would find a way to create conversation, she was talented in so many ways, so many ways, a perfect specimen of humanoid development, but can you claim the same for Kaymar..? Come David, is it right to spit on such a beautiful talent?

38. @Amused.

I am not disgusted. I also disagree with you about the persons there being incompetent. There is no doubt that the Nation was (and still is) the leading Newspaper in Barbados. BU, to this day, maintains that it was highly successful. They acknowledge that, at some point, they thought that wonderful things were being done at the Nation. Roxanne Gibbs played a big role in accomplishing those wonderful things since (and even before) she became a senior editor in the 80โ€™s.

Today, everyone is an expert. Recently, on BU, someone googled a medical term and then proceeded to debate GP on medicine. I for one have argued the Law on BFP with persons who arenโ€™t lawyers but argue as if they have a QC behind their name because they looked up a legal term on Wikipedia.

Similarly, we are here on a blog arguing about whether or Not Roxanne was good at running a news room when none of us has ever been in charge of one. A woman spends 30 years practicing journalism and we think that we are qualified to say if she was a good journalist.

Roxanneโ€™s competence is questioned because BU didnโ€™t like a Nation editorial that didnโ€™t accord with its view on the immigration debate. It is questioned because the Newspaper decides to report on a threat that Hartley Henry made to Carol Martindale. No doubt, BU will come back with a litany of things that they will cite as evidence of โ€œincompetenceโ€.

However, Roxanne was continuously promoted through the ranks by persons who knew journalism and who were confident in her ability to practice it. Persons who knew her strengths and her weaknesses. Persons who knew that since the 1980โ€™s she was always the last to leave the newsroom.

The problem is that none of those persons is a part of BUโ€™s group of โ€œunimpeachable sourcesโ€. So their story will never appear on the blogs.

39. @Anonlegal

No we will not ‘come back’ to use your words. Simply do a search using ‘Nation’ and the bases for our criticisms become apparent. BTW that commenter who challenged GP on SJW was not supported by any other commenter we can recall so what is your point?

@BAFBFP

We know you are being provocative because no one more than you has been as critical of the Barbados media.

40. @ David,

I know the bases of your criticism. I have been reading the Blog for a while now. I think that they are misconceived.

The idea that Roxanne is BLP aligned is something that the DLP has parroted every since Hartley Henry lost his column (perhaps even before). I have seen the same accusation repeated by BU. Hence the reason why I speculate that persons aligned to the DLP gives you some information. If I am wrong, I apologise. One thing for sure is that it cannot be because you anything about her political views.

41. Anonlegal

I hesitate to get involved in this discussion but I see some very big holes in your submissions Here goes

!) Should someone have to work in a particular field for years before they can criticise someone in that field? Hell they must be a lot of ex Presidents around for all the criticism that Obama has been receiving and that means we should not be able criticize Policemen, Nurses, Doctors, cricketers or even Lawyers because we may not share those professions.

2) That someone has been continuously promoted over a period of time is a reflection of competence? You should read Laurence Peterโ€™s book โ€œThe Peter Principleโ€. I have worked in an organisation where Iโ€™ve seen individuals promoted for many different reasons. They may have the right connections (family or otherwise), they may be the life of the party, they may talk a โ€œgood gameโ€ or they may have mentors to whom they are aligned. In some cases I have seen them fail spectacularly and in the case of those with mentors when the mentor goes the rest of the organization turns against their protรฉgรฉs. I can assure you the results are not pretty.

I should say that I do not know Ms Gibbsโ€™ work acumen or her political affiliation but I do admire your loyalty for standing up for your friends. Everyone needs friends like you

42. @ Anonlegal,”There is no doubt that the Nation was (and still is) the leading Newspaper in Barbados.”

Really? I see The Advocate as a Newspaper and The Nation as a “Tabloid”.

43. @Hants
    Absolutely correct ! Whether one agrees with the politics or not the articles and writers seem to be more professional in their work.
    Recently the Nation asked me to join some kind of panel in surveying the newspaper!

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sargeant

“we should not be able criticize Policemen, Nurses, Doctors, cricketers or even Lawyers because we may not share those professions.”

Those are my sentiments exactly. Anonlegal believes that you have to be a Journalist in order to critise a Journalist. What hog wash.

I don’t think that anonlegal thought carefully about what he was writing. His main objective was simply to make DAVID look stupid.

He did not succeed.

45. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

Anonlegal does not need me to defend him, but I understood him to be talking about criticism in the professional’s area of proficiency. Would/Could/Should you criticise a neurosurgeon’s view on a neurosurgical technique; a lawyer about the cogency of legal reasoning in a case…?

46. HI Jeff.
    Like yuh picture in the advocate and de articles are good!
    Nice pic Yummy! Yummy!

47. Hants, You reading the same Advocate as me? obviously NOT!
    The Advocate has degenerated to a scandal sheet that should change its name to the DLP Voice.

48. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

Thanks, ac!

49. @??
    Then why read it if you are so offended! Not a bad idea for a second periodical by the Advocate! Maybe they can make you Editor and Chief! How about that.

50. @Jeff

You know that primmer standard argument will not get very far on BU.

To respond read the following, it is a position by another blogger on how she perceives the role of a journalist. Although Gibbs did not write in any serious way she was responsible for the editorial output of the Nation.

Those who have followed BU from inception would know our passion on the role of the media in supporting a healthy democracy. Just read our Welcome Message!

What’s the role of a journalist

The ideal news should be "neutral", that is, they should be reported in a way that expresses just what happened. But that is impossible.

It is like if the outside reality reflected by the eye wouldn’t change depending by the eye that reflects it.

On a human eye it will be different from the one seen by a cat’s eye and so on…

So, what’s the role of a journalist? It is everything.
    Depending on him the news will be different.

And the better the journalist, the more so.

Because news are not supposed to be just the report of something happened, they are supposed to be a GOOD report of it.
    People want to know, but they like to be entertained by the news.

They like to be awoken, they like to be involved in the news.

A good painting doesn’t reproduce the model, it reproduces the artist.

The same a good piece of music, a good piece of news.

The journalist must be an artist, he must be able to write in an alluring way, he must be able to catch the audience, to entertain the reader.
    And THIS is something you do not learn.

You can learn to write in a correct way, but you ARE BORN a journalist.

That is why SOME bloggers can be better journalists than the journalists.( I wrote some and mean also the opposite, some journalists can be better than bloggers)

That is why some blogs can be more amusing than a news paper.
    That is what a newspaper should aim to be.

SOMETHING people like to read, WANT to read, read as much as possible.

The mean being paper or a computer screen, matters very little.
    The BRAND even less.

The BRAND of tomorrow could be an unknown blogger of today.