Johan Bjerkhamn

On behalf of the BU household we express our deep sadness at the unfortunate death of 11 year old Luke Bjerkhamn. Luke  was allegedly shot by his father Johan Bjerkhamn a couple weeks ago at his father’s residence. This is a matter which BU has been reluctant to offer public comment in deference to the the grieving family. However, in light of the recent development that Johan Bjerkhamn evaded police questioning by waltzing out of Barbados on a private jet yesterday, we have been driven to comment on the matter.

Firstly, there is the erroneous position which has been propagated by the traditional media that Johan  Bjerkhamn has been under 24-hour police guard at the Bayview Hospital. Our source indicates it was his doctor who played a pivotal role to keep the police from questioning Johan  Bjerkhamn. It has been said that his doctor kept him heavily sedated. Keeping him in a drowsy state the doctor was able to feed the Police the story that Bjerkhamn was not medically fit to give a statement. Why the Royal Barbados Police Force would leave  Johan  Bjerkhamn unguarded at Bayview Hospital is highly questionable.

The breakdown in communication between Commissioner Dottin and his Deputy over the recent Movada Kartel Show merits probing questions about Dottin’s competence to manage the Police Force. We suggest had the alleged perpetrator of this incident been Black the statement would have been taken and the charge laid in quick time.

Interestingly, it is Sir Richard Cheltenham who is at the forefront of this matter. Didn’t he successfully keep Jippy Doyle out of prison for almost seven years? It was reported by the media that Sir Richard accompanied Johan Bjerkhamn to the private hangar at the Grantley Adams Airport yesterday. Again, isn’t it amazing that in a very high profile Police matter we are witnessing such a  high level of incompetence by our Police Force?

We are left to speculate about what happened two weeks ago at the house of Johan Bjerkhamn. What we do know from our source is that the recent incident of gun play is not the first to have been heard by neighbours. There is the unconfirmed report that Luke was the victim of a family squabble. The question now remains, will the Royal Barbados Police Force ever get the opportunity to interrogate Jonan Bjerkhamn.

An upset BU commenter posted the following comment on the matter:

Now I shifting from BFS to Barbadians in general. I am writing this article as a chance to vent before I BLEVE . Them corrupt, nasty sorcerers who are in charge of law and security in this country , Responded to a suspicious call about a rasta man ‘in quick time’ resulting in him ending up over a cliff on sharp rocks to die some moments later.

This same security dept. took a subtle and ‘hands off’, luke warm approach to deal with a shooting death of a little boy. Questions I must ask myself,What if Mr. Bjerkhamn was driving the crash tender and his service number was 109, would he he be dragged violently from behind the steering wheel by police?

Would Mr Bjerkhamn be treated with the same ROYALTY if he was a black rasta whose son was shot? Why was he discharged and the police not notified by the hospital pending an investigation? Who gave the order to withdraw police presence creating that window of opportunity? Why is it that someone from the  health care profession not wearing HMP silver bangles? And the list goes on. My conclusion is that commissioner Dottin is a Mock face , hard face ass and he need to be removed from office like yesterday.

The white people in this country are more powerful than Castro is in Cuba. We have two laws in this country, the extreme one which serves the blacks and not so fortunate and the other customized “we would make up as we go along one” which serves the whites and people from higher echelons. Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

995 responses to “One Law For The Medes And Another For The Persians: The Johan Bjerkhamn Affair”

1. @ ru4real &mash up & buy back

ru4real // April 21, 2010 at 2:15 PM

mash up & buy back // April 21, 2010 at 7:22 AM

J aka kim young seem to know a lot about the drug methamphetamine.

All I will say is that the man seems to be a man filled with grief and is going through a lot, after all he lost his son as a result of an acident which is what we have been told so far.

Until there is other evidence and not the shite that J the drug recogniser is pushing them I will wait to hear what the police has to say.

The whole incident is very troubling and very sad.

He should not be getting special treatment because he is white nor SHOULD HE BE CASTIGATED AND ACCUSED WRONGFULLY BECAUSE HE IS WHITE.

———————————————————

Congratulations one decent post obviously written by one decent human being.

Fair is fair!
    ………………………………………………………………………………

I third that!

Moving on….

@’Pat’ she said ‘must say that Johan looks much older than the 39 years he is reported to be. This could also be a result of crustal meth abuse. The bad teeth is called “meth mout”.’ Ansolutely ludicrous.

Jesus. Y’all can tell ALL THAT from a picture?Maybe the FBI forensics have an opening for such as yourself and ‘J’.]?maybe then we should go through pics of all the Parliamentarians and make assumptions i.e. who is on drugs, who is lesbian, who is gay?

By the way, alcohol abuse makes you bleary eyed, just like lack of sleep and eye conditions.

But maybe anyone who is bleary eyed is an alcohol abuser?

Lack of care, excess sugar etc will affect teeth, is that not what dentists always tell us?

@Hants who said ‘The most troubling aspect of this incident is that the Police were waiting for days
    for an interview but there has been no mention of a “crime scene investigation”.

….you do realise that an interview when the ‘person of interest’ is under the influence of a narcotic for medical treatment, could completely jeopardise any case if there way any to answer i.e. such evidence would undoubtedly be inadmissable.

Yet you are clamoring for him to be interviewed as soon as possible?

I doubt that he will be interviewed for some time, not because he is white nor rich, but because in such a depressed state (who would not be after such a horrific loss) he will undoubtedly be under mental care for some time and until the consultant psychiatrist gives clearance it would be unwise for the Police to push the issue.

But, maybe a more devious defense lawyer would have allowed it while under the influence of medical care drugs, as you all are clamoring for, knowing full well that it would tar any Police case, because when the arrived in court, the statement would not be admissable as evidence.

That said, whatever ruling is eventually given i.e. manslaughter or accidental death, it cannot do much worse than him already having lost a dear son.

My commiserations to the family that they may bear through this tough time.

2. Strange things are happening in this counbtry. There is a “new ” breed of “white people” living in this country that has the “bajan whites” in trouble This new breed has money and is willing to pay their way in and out of anything. I predict that this matter will blow over in a matter of weeks and nothing comes out of it. As soon as something else of importance comes around this would go on the backburner. After all this family is listed as the second richest family in Barbados, do you expect the authorities to nail them to the cross and lose all the millions that they are personally investing in Barbados? All I know is if any of them MESS with my family, I would be the one sedated and harassed by the police .

3. RunJohan run,don’t come back,let the world see what really goes on around here when you are wealthy and can buy out practically anyone you want to,let this can of worms be forever open for all to see the sick underbelly of this sweet island where there are definitely laws for the haves and those for the have nots.

4. It serve the bajan right, we criticise each other and try to pull each other down, now we are fast becoming the downtrodden in our own country. When a bajan black is caught with drugs and is injured and in hospital, a police officer has to watch him 24/7. Other bajans were also in hospital on charges just as serious as this and under heavy guard, but the rich must not be harassed by havung a black police officer seeing his every move. Does the new prison have a/c ? if not then this man can’t go there. As much money is said to be spent to build that prison, they forgot to build a penthouse suite. Between the filthy rich and the stinking Indians and Chinese in this country bajans are in for a rude awakening.

5. He will return and face his charges. Sadly no charge or sentence will ever remove what he has to live with as a father having accidently shot his son.

6. Well crossroads if he really returns this case will just be bought off,ruled as an accident,he will get no jail time and life will be returned to normal,the police will stop terrorizing him as proclaimed by his lawyers and doctors and they will go back to unfairing poor people once again in the ghettos and slums of this beautiful country.

7. For the sake of his and others reputation it would be in the best interest of Mr.Bjerkhamn to return to meet his fate but it will be highly unlikely and therefore i predict the tongues that will be wagging on saturday when people have realized that he has not returned,i wonder what the Nations headlines will look like by sunday?

8. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

You tell me what role has Muttley played in influencing Dottin to act in the manner he has done in both instances the matter with Gay Marshall and the matter with Bjerkhamn ???

These are not typical of the Commissioners response and some are led to believ that Muttley has been cashing in on some of help given to elevate Dottin to his present standing.

Also to you need to remember Bjerkhamn has said that the BLP became a band of thieves headed by Muttley and Owing so no wonder it gives her an opportunity to try to rip him apart using her secret tool Dottin, whom she leap frogged over many more senior officers to instal one that she could pull the strings of at anytime she she so wanted.

9. As for the ‘Medes and Persians’, very good point raised.

When will the Minbus drivers who have caused so many serious injuries and deaths be charged?

Buses continue to be driven recklessly with serious endangerment to the public safety, individually and collectively.

Only difference is that the Transport Board has joined the fracas.

One almost took off the side of my car a few days ago, flying in the middle of the road.

10. ONLY BOUT HEY. A white man cud get way wid murdah and leff de place. Now if this was de average black man, he cud not even go to de child’s funeral or dem wudda mek he go wid handcuffs. But dis man cud leff bout hey so…I waan know who dem charging fuh dis. If de black man did waan pee….de officer would be dey ready to hold he bird or wipe he tail. This is unfair Barbados! How he travel documents int get seize…cuz he got money?? Man wha ya telling muh at all. Dem aint hold Bailey and Belle passports de other day. MURDER IS MURDER!!! Dem unfair…but Only bout hey!! Cheltenham and Pilly….I hope wunna really stop out front wid all dat money dat pass…But when all is said and done…I waan see who gun get de last Whappaxx….Ya Dun Kno! All dis talk bout extradicting he…how ya gun get he outta Argentina…ya feel he so igrunt to stop in de States….he aint coming back bout hey. When de Black bajans start to react I hope wunna cud deal wid it. ONLY BOUT HEY!!

ONLY BOUT HEY!! To de sweet boy that life get tek way so….de true story dead wid u baby boy….RIP LUKE!!

11. Such A Rush To Judgment Avatar
    Such A Rush To Judgment

D: What a judgmental fool you are. Did a court of law find Mr. Bjerkhamn guilty of murder? You prancing around in your judge’s robes and making legal pronouncements? Were you there in the Bjerkhamn household and witness the act of murder? Neither you nor anybody yet knows the circumstances of that child’s death. You are a classic “johnny” Bajan running around making wild claims and accusations with no facts to back up your gossip and rumour mongering.

12. @ David

Yet again, we witness a case which clearly demonstrates if one has money to afford the best lawyers and medical care expect a different result compare to those less fortunate.

Like O J Simpson, eh?

13. I am convinced the police, and the entire establishment, are sometimes guilty of being too respectful of white businessmen. I’m familiar with a particularly nasty custody battle some years ago, between young Bajan woman and a white British businessman, for custody of their child. As they were not married, mother was advised it was an open and shut case that should take two weeks. It went on for many, many months, and it seemed the courts bent over backwards to accomodate white British man, even though on paper he didn’t have much of a case.! The courts made Bajan woman surrender her passport if she wanted to see child. Interestingly, the child’s doctor gave glowing testimony of white British guy, even though she did not know the Bajan woman. At the end of the case, when it was obvious the court would decide in Bajan woman’s favour, white British businessman hopped on plan to UK with child (he hadn’t been asked to surrender his documents), went straight to court and claimed he was a victim of racial prejudice in a foreign court. The Bajan courts were furious, and there was talk he would be charged with kidnapping on his return. Guess what, when he returned, after the British courts decided in favour of Bajan woman, denying him access as they considered him a possible risk to child, he was not charged with a thing. He was welcomed back, and his business is doing well to this day. Would he have been treated the same way if he was black Bajan???

14. I Adrian Hinds on April 21, 2010 at 9:23 AM ——
    said I was backing the C.O.P

In addition to this declaration I said ……..

[The law does not require the COP to accommodate Bjerkham in the manner that his lawyers wanted, and therefore leaving Barbados without being investigated by the police makes him subject to an arrest. ]

The C.O.P in his press briefing yesterday evening said ….

“As to the facilitation of his leaving the country for medical attention – I DO NOT CONCIDER THAT WAS MY DECISION TO MAKE.”

Did Cheltenham and Pilgrim deliberately attempt to
    Hoodwink the C.O.P? Did they also know that such a request was not for the C.O.P to make?

Yes I continue to question the actions of these two. There maneuvering to date in this matter isn’t anything for average Barbadian to defend, or acknowledge as anything good.

Does Bjerkham have a case to answer per the laws of Barbados? Is some dead as result of any action on his part? Do Barbadians need to hear from him if he expects to live amongst us again and retain or regain any measure of respect? Yes he does. Legal maneuvering to date seems intent not to let that happen. Why?

15. Yesterday on Barbadostoday facebook page

Peter Bentham said:
    Everybody in Barbados is a Police, Lawyer and full Jury now.
    My opinion, Local Police have followed due process. The Lawyers are looking out for the best interest of thier client.
    Bjerkham needs a few days to recover from the Pain Killers and General Sedation before he can give any kind of accurate statement.
    Lets just let due process work.
    —————————————————————————

At 12.32 pm I responded with. the following
    @Peter Bentham
    Johan Bjerkham could not submit to a police interview, required by law as a possible witness to the death of a citizen, this, due to his 24 hour sedation with opiate pain killers. At what point was he able to write or read a prepared statement, and signed it as a sworn affidavit on his intent to return to Barbados? Could you ask the Dr. to explain how this is possible?
    He is coherent enough to attend a funeral, show remorse, write letters, and travel abroad, but the pain killers are so targeted that they prohibit him from either answering questions or recording his memory of the events that led to the death of his son.
    ————————————————————————-

The C.O.P in his press brief said:…..

He said, the following day, when Bjerkhamn went to his son’s funeral, investigators “came to certain conclusions based on their observations.”

16. When it is suggested that the privilege and elites in Barbados can do no wrong it further suggests they are idiots or think that the rest of us are.

17. @Adrian

You are correct in your probing questions. The BU household respects your position of accepting how the law should drive the decisions to be made in these matters. We do however recognize that Jonan’s father is a prominent businessman in Barbados and Johan is known to work in his company. His father wins Government business from time to time.

Innocent or guilty the people of Barbados must watch developments closely as far as the moral and ethical considerations go.

18. peltdownman // April 22, 2010 at 8:07 AM

Yet again, we witness a case which clearly demonstrates if one has money to afford the best lawyers and medical care expect a different result compare to those less fortunate.

=========================================
    This remains a sore point with me. The laws that all of us are suppose to live by are so needlessly complex that we do not understand them, there is no attempt to teach them to us via civics classes etc. and access to their complex interpretations are available to the highest bidder.

The legal structure reminds me of the so called universal healthcare we like to brag about. It is freely available if you are willing to wait long hours if not die waiting for it to be delivered.

19. The only thing that Mia Mottley has ever said to date that is worth repeating

Mia Mottley passionately speaking about the importance of impartiality and pre-emmanance of the law. From the highest to the lowliest should be held to account. Is this practice in reality? …

Your law is not my law will get worse if we not ensure that person who have a case to answer be made to do so.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Rumshoplime#p/u/12/RW8HO0JUU4Q

20. Bonny Peppa ( in exile) Avatar
    Bonny Peppa ( in exile)

Bjerkam will not be arrested and returned to B/dos on Friday. He will go and live in Argentina, Sachelles,Brazil. His teeth are rotten and dropping out because he’s a meth-mout. He looks way older than 39yrs. He’s white and rich and that makes him untouchable in B/dos…………..
    And the assumptions go on and on and on.
    People, we are jumping to too many conclusions, which may eventually jump on us.
    The only true fact we all know right now is that his 11yr old son Luke died from a gunshot wound to the chest while at his father’s home while his father was cleaning a gun or some shite so, it is alleged.
    Well, whether it was accidental or intentional, time will tell and the wheels of justice will roll, regardless of colour, class or creed.
    Whatever the outcome, he has a heavy burden to bear.
    Were it me, I would’ve already died from a self-inflicted gunshot wound to the head or an overdose of some shite. It is too much of a burden to carry man.

Bro. Scout
    But how you could refer to de people as ‘stinking’. You getting wicked like me and my hero, de negroman now?
    Haw hawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Ya tu swoiteeeeeeeee.

21. Adrian

Here is what the American Bar Association has to say about steps in a trial.

http://www.abanet.org/publiced/courts/court_officers.html

Here is a diagram of how the system is supposed to work in the US.

http://www.abanet.org/publiced/courts/casediagram.html

The flowchart shows there are many instances where prosecution is not carried through to final verdict. That decision can be made by many in the process and is not limited to the Police, ….. or for that matter to the Judge!!

My guess is that the reasons for the decision not to carry through may also vary, depending on who makes it and where in the process it is made.

The decision not to carry through with prosecution of a case is also a part of the administration of the law, …. just as the rendering of a verdict is.

Here are some of the statements relating to the role of the lawyers in the process:

“The lawyers for both sides are also officers of the court. Their job is to represent their clients zealously, within the formal rules of the Code of Professional Conduct. The belief is that justice can best be achieved if each side’s case is vigorously presented by competent legal counsel.”

From the Free Dictionary:
    officer of the court n. any person who has an obligation to promote justice and effective operation of the judicial system, including judges, the attorneys who appear in court, bailiffs, clerks, and other personnel. As officers of the court lawyers have an absolute ethical duty to tell judges the truth, including avoiding dishonesty or evasion about reasons the attorney or his/her client is not appearing, the location of documents and other matters related to conduct of the courts. (See: judge, attorney, bailiff, clerk)
    From Wikipedia:

The Supreme Court of the United States held in in Ex parte Garland, 71 U. S. 333 (1866) that “Attorneys and counselors are not officers of the United States; they are officers of the court, admitted as such by its order upon evidence of their possessing sufficient legal learning and fair private character.” However, Cammer v. United States, 350 U.S. 399 (1956) held that, for the purposes of 18 U.S.C. § 401(2), lawyers are not court “officers” in the same category as marshals, bailiffs, court clerks or judges.

You may not like the role played by the lawyers for Mr. Bjerkhamn, but like the Police, they are also Officers of the Court. If you wanted to make a charge against lawyers in a particular case in the US, you would need to show for instance, that they are operating outside “the formal rules of the Code of Professional Conduct” ….. that is if you wanted someone to take you seriously.

It would also help if you could recite the particular paragraph(s). You could keep it general and just recite what most people claim to know about lawyers, but then you would not get very far.

Now, if you were calling for transparency in the process in Barbados, and access by the press to information to avoid misinforming the public, …. well then, ….I would support that too.

…. and I accept, the process is not perfect anywhere.

22. Bonny Peppa wrote:

For a child to die at the hands of his/her parents is a burden that is heavier than anyone could ever imagine. His father’s face is a contortion of pure misery. I have to laugh whenever I look at his face. It isn’t funny but his face looks like pure misery man. It is a most unfortunate incident. Enough to send one to Jinkins man
    ===============================================================

Bonny, haven’t you read and heard about mothers and fathers who murder their children in the USA and other places for various reasons? How can you definitely rule out the possibility of murder? However, assuming that it was an accident, it is not sufficent to say that the death of his child is enough punishment for him if he was careless and negligent in the process.

23. OOOOH !

talk to me somsbody

24. Anyone notice that The Barbados Advocate has not made one mention of this story. That is until today and sort of obliquely with a headline “Top Cop Defends Force’s Ethics”.

Here is the biggest story in Barbados over the last week and not a word form The Advocate. Anyone know why?

25. Hants wrote:

It is not that at all. It is a case of a RICH man using his considerable resources to Escape
    the treatment a poor man would have received.
    ==============================================================

David Ellis raised an interesting point on Brass Tacks yesterday. Should all people be treated in the way that poor people have been treated, or should all people be treated as if they are rich even if they are not? This question is asking what should the standard treatment be for all persons by the police regardless of social status.

26. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Even if it was an accident it was still homicide meaning someone’s life was taken. It was not justifiable homicide. At the very least it was involuntary manslaughter and a charge should have been brought. Although Bjerkham was under no requirement to speak to the Police his doctors claimed that he was under medication and could not be interviewed. Despite this Bjerkham signed an affidavit dated 16th of April. The minute the Police Force received this affidavit they should have taken Bjerkham into custody. You do not have to be charged with a crime to be taken into custody, the police can hold you for questioning.

It is your right not to answer any questions but the police still have the right to pose those questions to you as part of an investigation even if it is just to gauge your reaction.

If Mr. Bjerkham refused to answer any questions then the only interpretation available based on the physical evidence was that he shot his son. The only person who could offer an explanation as to how the shooting occurred and therefore provide evidence which allows a charge of involuntary manslaughter to be lodged would be Bjerkham. In the absence of such a statement by Bjerkham the charge to be laid has to be manslaughter. The only other option would be a ruling of suicide and that could not be reinforced by the physical evidence or the statements given by Luke’s mother and grandmother about his happiness and plans to travel etc.

The Commissioner of Police played it by the book by discussing it with his top brass and sending the file to the DPP for a recommendation. The difference between normal procedure is that were it not somebody of Bjerkham’s standing reinforced by a mover/shaker/fixer like Cheltenham and an aggressive attack dog like Pilgrim (those are compliments by the way) he would never have been out of surveillance or custody.

Cheltenham and Pilgrim knew that their client had not received permission to leave the jurisdiction but gambled that in the absence of a denial they would get away with it. They did but if Bjerkham returns he may not. Cheltenham will use his considerable influence to try to procure a judge and trial schedule of maximum benefit to his client’s cause but if he receives a maverick judge the chances that Bjerkham will get jail time are considerable. Any Bajan jury will find Bjerkham guilty of involuntary manslaughter at the minimum as long as the case goes to trial. So the options are to try to get all charges dropped (unlikely now but after a few years of adjournments very possible), enter a plea agreement in which the DPP recommends no jail time or as a last resort convince the DPP after a guilty verdict is returned to agree to a defense mitigation that precludes jail time .

27. AC wrote:

The fact that he can thumb his nose at law should tell you the kind of person he really is. Arrogant and selfish. Dam wouldn’t youwant to clear your name to avoid any embrassement or criminal charges. No but he is the type who wants to control the situation . If he goes to jail it would send a message to those who think that they money can buy favours. He is the one who has compounded the problem.Let him face the music.

I have to agree with you to some extent. Either he really has something to hide, or he just intended to control the situation with his deep pocket…but can you really blame him for that? I think that ultimately the police are to blame for not doing an effective job up to the point when he legally left the country.

28. I do not know why Black People are worrying themselves about this incident.After all it is a White man killing his White son.If it is was a Black person who had died at the hands of a white person then this Negroman would be on the rampage.Let the White People handle their own misery.I am not bother about this incident at all. Whitey killing Whitey.

29. John, not having the decency to ask if my comments on this matter thus far are derived from or with any Legal and or judicial best practices to be found anywhere else, I have not read beyond your first reference to what pertains in the US.

Is it so difficult for people like you to respect opinions without suggesting what was not said?

I have not relied on anything that occurs in the US to conclude as I have! Why must you suggest that I have? Can you not do so without referencing my name?

Bjerkham is Barbadian citizen; his son’s death occurred in Barbados, his lawyers are Bajans in Barbados – pray tell what the f**k do I care about what lawyers in the US do, regarding this case? Chupse

If anyone thinks that my comments re. [The laws that all of us are suppose to live by are so needlessly complex that we do not understand them, there is no attempt to teach them to us via civics classes etc. and access to their complex interpretations are available to the highest bidder.] is a jab at Barbados alone , it is not.

30. @Bad Man Saying Nuttin, Atman, AC et al…

Please have a bit of compassion.

An idiot mishandled a firearm; killed his son, and seriously handicapped himself (he’ll never touch-type again).

I would argue that no amount of incarceration will ever be comparable to the personal hell this man will suffer in his own mind for the rest of his life.

Yeah, he was rich. Yeah, he was white. Yeah, he was an ***IDIOT***.

Perhaps this tragic incident can be leveraged positively — to explain to our youth that guns are *not* cool (despite what Hollywood (and, it appears, our politicians) tells us)…

And that families living in environments where guns exist are more likely (objective statistics) to be killed by a gun than those who “walk light”….

31. AC wrote:

The lawyers are doing a good job. I don’t think so Look how their client is being perceived in the public arena. Do you think that now he would be subjected to charges for fleeing the country while under criminal investigation? That in itself he can be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.
    ============================================================

I totally disagree with you on this one. A man who has no charges laid against, and whose passport was not taken away, is a free man to travel where he please. Police knew since April 16th that the man had plans to travel to Miami on the 19th for medical treatment, that was more that enough time to put something in place to stop him if they wanted to.

32. I failed to grasp thru this debate what the real issue is, and why so many people seems to be very upset.

a. Is it because of what might have been a sloppy Police investigation in this tragedy?

b. Is it because the alleged shooter was able to leave the Island and apparently was never booked, furthermore questioned by Law Enforcement?

c. Is it the belief that the alleged shooter had preferential treatment due to the color of his skin?

Could all the expression of frustration and anger simply be that people want a message sent loud and clear in advance to the Judicial system that they are no longer about to put-up and shut-up on things that might not get a fair balance?

Does anyone know what really happen behind closed doors, other than an 11-yr old lost his life to a gun shot wound? From what I’ve read, I don’t think so.

What am I missing?

33. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

So why you on the page then Negro man?

34. Bad man saying nuttin, your comments are the best explanation on this matter to date.

Cheltenham and Pilgrim telling the public that the Police knew Bjerkhman was leaving does not change the FACT, that the police was not authorize to give such permission. Did they know this yet went ahead with it?

BTW: Given the C.O.P comments and BMSN’s comments, can those who still persist in saying that

“ultimately the police are to blame for not doing an effective job up to the point when he legally left the country” tell us why?????

35. Chris wrote:

Please have a bit of compassion.

An idiot mishandled a firearm; killed his son, and seriously handicapped himself (he’ll never touch-type again).

Well if he didn’t appear to be using his lawyers and doctors to avoid or delay a police interview (which he is priviledged to do), then one might be more inclined to offer compassion and sympathy to his situation. But at this point I’m not even sure that he’s not hiding a murder…he will be charged with manslaughter…but personally I can’t rule out the possibility of murder as horrific and terrible as that may sound. When you’re not forthcoming with information you open the flood gates for all sorts of speculation.

36. I am surprised at the assumptions made about this incident.

There was no statement by the only apparent witness to the shooting
    yet there is an acceptance of the theory that it was an accident.

I been living in North America too long and seen the unimaginable.

I always ask what are the other possibilities?

I also lived in and spend enough time in Barbados to know
    that an ordinary Bajan with limited finances would have been
    under police guard at the QEH
    and a proper investigation would be done.

I hope it was an just an unfortunate accident and if so that the family is treated justly.

37. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

You Foolish Halsall?

I don’t care how much pain he “feels”. An innocent boy lost his life through carelessness, negligence or malice. The law prescribes that there be punishment for such. If that is decided to be a heavy fine , no jail but community service well fine; but he should be charged , receive a conviction on his record and be punished. It is not acceptable to leave his punishment to his conscience. Who says he has one? How do you know what he feels?
    How do you know that he is not a psychopath and not capable of empathy, guilt or remorse?

As for this statement “And that families living in environments where guns exist are more likely (objective statistics) to be killed by a gun than those who “walk light”….”

Does that apply to Barbados in any sensible? how many people die in gun accidents each year in Barbados? Compare that now to the ones raped and robbed in their homes, shot killed raped robbed by a gun toting criminal while away from their homes.
    that statement just stupid man :

“And that families living in environments where CARS exist are more likely (objective statistics) to be killed by a CAR than those who “don’t

“And that families living in environments where SNAKES exist are more likely (objective statistics) to be killed by a SNAKES than those who “don’t

“And that families living in environments where Electricity exists are more likely (objective statistics) to be killed by a Electricity than those who “don’t

See how stupid a statement it is. I am all for good gun control policies and proper care and supervision of weapons. i also believe that persons in the population who may be higher than normal targets for crime due to their legitimate activities may be entitled to a gun license subject to strict conditions policies and PENALTIES if negligence or carelessness can be proven.

38. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

how come the advocate has avoided the story on bjerkham

39. @Atman: “Well if he didn’t appear to be using his lawyers and doctors to avoid or delay a police interview (which he is priviledged to do), then one might be more inclined to offer compassion and sympathy to his situation.

You must be cognisant of the fact that “daddy” (read: the grandfather of the deceased, and the father of the idiot) has brought in the “handlers”?

And, as you’ve said Atman, Johan Bjerkhamn has not broken any laws by leaving the country to seek medial treatment.

@Hants: “I been living in North America too long and seen the unimaginable.

You are alluding to the murder of a child.

A hope you will appreciate there are ways of murdering a child without blowing one’s own fingers off?

@All… For the record, I hold no brief.

And, further for the record, if I was Johan Bjerkhamn, I would be planning my own death right about now. For recompense.

Mr. Bjerkhamn, if you’re listening and interested… Don’t shoot yourself in the temple — that will just result in a lobotomy. Shoot yourself straight up under the jaw.

If you don’t have a gun, don’t slit your wrists across… Soak in a warm bath, and then cut your wrists and ankles length-wise.

A running car in a closed garage (with the windows down) can also work….

40. Negroman wrote:

I do not know why Black People are worrying themselves about this incident.After all it is a White man killing his White son.If it is was a Black person who had died at the hands of a white person then this Negroman would be on the rampage.Let the White People handle their own misery.I am not bother about this incident at all. Whitey killing Whitey.
    =============================================================

Your comments are irresponsible and perpetuates divisiveness among our people. That is not the kind of Barbados that we aspire to.

41. Look. I don’t know the man, and don’t particularly want to. If the same incident had taken place in the U.S. or the UK, I believe that he would have received the necessary surgery to fix his hand, whether in custody or not. However, the necessary treatment to fix his hand was not available in Barbados. What should have happened is that he would have been allowed to travel to Miami under police escort to receive the treatment, to ensure that he returned to the jurisdiction. If in fact he does return , then all other speculation is moot, because he will face due process. If he doesn’t return, then the police have a lot more explaining to do.

42. @ Donald Duck Esq

how come the advocate has avoided the story on bjerkham

DDE, because the advocate is written and sent to bed several days before publication. Haven’t you noticed that?

43. O lord have mercy ,todays VOB moderator has a real platform. Hot real hot. He came do defend his banker, so emotional . This seems like a real political point to horstile and pomposette from .
    Cool it Marsh , “if greedy wait hot will cool”. You will be the next cabinet minister. I see it coming.

Remember that while at VOB you are the MODERATOR , NOT THE PROSECUTOR.

Hold it down!!! Please GOOD Sir.

44. This matter has provoked a public response similar to the Movada Kartel matter. It has forced the Police for a second time in quick order to hold a Press Conference to clarify.

The word from our source is Johan’s neighbours have made reports to the Police of hearing bullets at that location.

45. @David: The word from our source is Johan’s neighbours have made reports to the Police of hearing bullets at that location.

One tends to not “[hear] bullets” unless they pass *really* close to you. (You’ll *never* forget the sound.)…

Might the neighbours instead have made reports to the Police of hearing gunshots?

If so, when?

46. Chris wrote:

You must be cognisant of the fact that “daddy” (read: the grandfather of the deceased, and the father of the idiot) has brought in the “handlers”?

And, as you’ve said Atman, Johan Bjerkhamn has not broken any laws by leaving the country to seek medial treatment.
    ================================================================

But I fail to see that these things have to do with his worthiness of my compassion at this time. The police said that last Friday they went to Bayview expecting to interview him as agreed by his lawyers when the letter was delivered, yet they were denied the interview. Yet they observed him interacting quite normally with his lawyers on that same day, and they also observed him interacting quite normally with family and friends at the funeral. Therefore, whether it as his own decision or his “handlers” decision not to allow the interview, it’s all the same to me.

I always tell my little daughter that if she is upfront and truthful with me, I will be far more lenient than if I have to pry information from her or find out that she has lied to me.

47. @Atman: “The police said that last Friday they went to Bayview expecting to interview him as agreed by his lawyers when the letter was delivered, yet they were denied the interview.

So, then, empirically… Who was in control?

@Atman: “I always tell my little daughter that if she is upfront and truthful with me, I will be far more lenient than if I have to pry information from her or find out that she has lied to me.

Does your daughter have good representation?

(Meant with a smile.)

48. PeltDownMan wrote:

Look. I don’t know the man, and don’t particularly want to. If the same incident had taken place in the U.S. or the UK, I believe that he would have received the necessary surgery to fix his hand, whether in custody or not. However, the necessary treatment to fix his hand was not available in Barbados. What should have happened is that he would have been allowed to travel to Miami under police escort to receive the treatment, to ensure that he returned to the jurisdiction. If in fact he does return , then all other speculation is moot, because he will face due process. If he doesn’t return, then the police have a lot more explaining to do.
    ===============================================================

I agree with your remarks. But again it was up to the police to act in a timely and decisive manner. The C.O.P. should not have waited until after the man left on Monday to consult the DPP about what charge(s) could be brought against him, that should have been done much earlier (Friday). Then arrangements could have been made to escort him to Miami for his treatment and bring him back.

49. Bonny Peppa ( in exile) Avatar
    Bonny Peppa ( in exile)

Atman
    To interpret what I said in that manner is grossly ludicrous. Re-read and try to feel me Atman, try to feel me man.
    In most cases where parents kill their offspring there is usually an underlying factor and all is not right ‘upstairs’. Incidents such as family disputes, drugs, post-partum depression,mental illness are a few that come to mind. No level-headed parent would harm his/her offspring intentionally. That is what I mean Atman.Feel meh?

Negro
    My hero, the mere fact that it is a child involved has evoked the BU family to be so concerned. We have compassion for all children, regardless of colour. I know that you’re not this heartless towards a child as you’re trying to remonstrate, so don’t gimme dat a’ tall.

Chris,
    I do not like your sarcasm (he’ll never touch-type again). That is harsh and cruel and unnecessary.
    We alll have our unguarded moments. Some more devastating than others but make no joke about it. And to call him an idiot is uncalled for. Mistakes are made. Your turn could be next, who knows and you won’t be so sarcastic then. Idiottttt.

Newshound
    People still read de Advocate? News to me. (no pun intended)

Bad man saying nuttin
    You saying a lot yah. Phewwwwwwwwwww.