Johan Bjerkhamn

On behalf of the BU household we express our deep sadness at the unfortunate death of 11 year old Luke Bjerkhamn. Luke  was allegedly shot by his father Johan Bjerkhamn a couple weeks ago at his father’s residence. This is a matter which BU has been reluctant to offer public comment in deference to the the grieving family. However, in light of the recent development that Johan Bjerkhamn evaded police questioning by waltzing out of Barbados on a private jet yesterday, we have been driven to comment on the matter.

Firstly, there is the erroneous position which has been propagated by the traditional media that Johan  Bjerkhamn has been under 24-hour police guard at the Bayview Hospital. Our source indicates it was his doctor who played a pivotal role to keep the police from questioning Johan  Bjerkhamn. It has been said that his doctor kept him heavily sedated. Keeping him in a drowsy state the doctor was able to feed the Police the story that Bjerkhamn was not medically fit to give a statement. Why the Royal Barbados Police Force would leave  Johan  Bjerkhamn unguarded at Bayview Hospital is highly questionable.

The breakdown in communication between Commissioner Dottin and his Deputy over the recent Movada Kartel Show merits probing questions about Dottin’s competence to manage the Police Force. We suggest had the alleged perpetrator of this incident been Black the statement would have been taken and the charge laid in quick time.

Interestingly, it is Sir Richard Cheltenham who is at the forefront of this matter. Didn’t he successfully keep Jippy Doyle out of prison for almost seven years? It was reported by the media that Sir Richard accompanied Johan Bjerkhamn to the private hangar at the Grantley Adams Airport yesterday. Again, isn’t it amazing that in a very high profile Police matter we are witnessing such a  high level of incompetence by our Police Force?

We are left to speculate about what happened two weeks ago at the house of Johan Bjerkhamn. What we do know from our source is that the recent incident of gun play is not the first to have been heard by neighbours. There is the unconfirmed report that Luke was the victim of a family squabble. The question now remains, will the Royal Barbados Police Force ever get the opportunity to interrogate Jonan Bjerkhamn.

An upset BU commenter posted the following comment on the matter:

Now I shifting from BFS to Barbadians in general. I am writing this article as a chance to vent before I BLEVE . Them corrupt, nasty sorcerers who are in charge of law and security in this country , Responded to a suspicious call about a rasta man ‘in quick time’ resulting in him ending up over a cliff on sharp rocks to die some moments later.

This same security dept. took a subtle and ‘hands off’, luke warm approach to deal with a shooting death of a little boy. Questions I must ask myself,What if Mr. Bjerkhamn was driving the crash tender and his service number was 109, would he he be dragged violently from behind the steering wheel by police?

Would Mr Bjerkhamn be treated with the same ROYALTY if he was a black rasta whose son was shot? Why was he discharged and the police not notified by the hospital pending an investigation? Who gave the order to withdraw police presence creating that window of opportunity? Why is it that someone from the  health care profession not wearing HMP silver bangles? And the list goes on. My conclusion is that commissioner Dottin is a Mock face , hard face ass and he need to be removed from office like yesterday.

The white people in this country are more powerful than Castro is in Cuba. We have two laws in this country, the extreme one which serves the blacks and not so fortunate and the other customized “we would make up as we go along one” which serves the whites and people from higher echelons. Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

995 responses to “One Law For The Medes And Another For The Persians: The Johan Bjerkhamn Affair”

1. Thank you, Bad Man Saying Nuttin, the clearest and most succinct assessment of the situation so far. We are all waiting to see what happens next. I sincerely hope it does not drop away from the public eye.

I read another poster (sorry cannot remember where I read it) saying that it should be kept prominent on these blogs in the way the accounts of the Codrington family deaths whose home fell into a cave are being kept in view.

2. @Jack: “I’ll say this once and never again: I don’t have the slightest clue who runs BFP. I have zero contact with BFP apart from the fact that very, very occasionally I post a message on their blog.

But it is *very* interesting that you keep bringing forward the same issues as BFP — and keep trying to bring down BU and its participants.

Maybe I’m paranoid. But then, as “they” say, even paranoids have enemies.

And we are, empirically, already in the “silly season”….

3. sorry I intimated Jack Bowman maybe from BFP
    (my apologies to BFP)
    excuse typo in link above

(spell check = ✔)

4. @Jack: “And they couldn’t write a grammatical sentence if their lives depended on it.

I believe you meant to write:

“And they couldn’t write a [grammatically correct] sentence if their lives depended on it.

Please correct me if I’m wrong….

5. A young boy has been shot and killed, they are allegations that the boy’s father was with him at the time and should be able to assist the police with their inquiries.

No allegations have been made against the father – to my knowledge – but there is a prima facie assumption that he has knowledge which could assist the police.

The police have a “legal duty” to investigate, where there is a possibility a charge could be brought and in order to do that they need to collect evidence, at this moment they have been “thwarted”.

That and only that is the issue, some might argue that class and ethnicity have been major factors, particularly those who know Barbados well….subsequent events “might” just validate such a statement.

6. When you know the law like Sir Richard and Mr Pilgrim, you do what you have to do to represent your client within the rules of law. However to drag up the past. Whatever happened to Sir Hillary Beckles’s son that killed a man in Jamacia? What happened to that case? Where did he disappear to? I don’t remember seeing any conclusion to that matter in the Nation Newspaper. Should I assume he has a lot of white friends that helped him out, Or did Daddy know someone that know someone. As far as I recalled he was black, but you can correct me if I am wrong.

7. @Crossroads recognizes the (alleged) elephants in the room…

Hmmmm…

May we live in interesting times (a Chinese curse)…

And may Human life have value beyond what can be exploited by others (my personal wish, desire and hope)….

8. Mr Halsall:

You asked me to correct me if you were* wrong.

You’re wrong. Sorry about that.

Adverbs are never your friend unless you know what they’re meant to do.

Best wishes to you, Mr. Halsall. Look on the bright side. At least you’re not the people who make up “David”.And at least you’re not the people who make up “Negroman”. That would truly suck.

How’s that censorship thing working out for you, Mr. Halsall?

*That subjunctive mood can be a bitch, can’t it (unless you know what you’re doing).

9. @Jack: “You asked me to correct me if you were* wrong.

No… I asked you to correct me if I was wrong. I didn’t ask you to correct you.

I suspect you’re strong enough in your English to recognize the errors is your above.

Do please try to keep up….

10. None of my business:

grammatical: adjective

grammatically: adverb

11. @All… Are we having fun yet?

An error in my above:

In the Geek: s/is your/in your/;

In the English: replace “is your” with “in your”;

Bring it on Mr. Bowman….

12. Mr. Halsall says:

“I asked you to correct me if I was wrong”

I did correct you, Mr. Halsall, at your request. You stand corrected, with all due respect.

Happy to correct any other sentence you choose to write, Mr. Halsall.

How’s that “BU Family” censorship thing working for you? Well, I trust.

13. @Jack: “I did correct you, Mr. Halsall, at your request. You stand corrected, with all due respect.

But with equal all due respect Jack, you’ve made the same number of mistakes…

We don’t have editors between us and the audience. Or, at least, I don’t…

“Those who live by the sword…”

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As far as I know Johan Bjerkhamn was not asked to surrender his travel documents, was not told that he could not leave the jurisdiction, so what is the problem?

He is being advised by his lawyers as is his right. He is following the expert advise of his lawyers as is his right.

What is the problem?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“A real man would have owned up to the fact that he caused his son’s death”

Coming clean is no guarantee that everything will turn out honky dory for you. They are many people in Dodds today who came clean and are still serving many years in Dodds Hilton.

A person has the right not to make any statement which might be used against them or to make any statement at all.

16. @All… Please…

From what I’ve heard (forth hand) the man blew most of the fingers off his left hand…

And killed his son…

Trying to clear a stuck bullet from a handgun (can anyone say “stupid”?)…

Please let him grieve….

17. @

The problem is that this is an extremely serious situation.

Is there any proof that this was an accident and not murder?

I believe it was an accident based on what I have read but what if?

The Police are duty bound to properly investigate a shooting that results in death.

Those of us who live in North America are used to hearing about very bizarre actions by parents so prehaps we should be excused for entertaining the possibility of other “scenarios.”

I hope it was an accident but it was badly handly by the Police and well managed by the Lawyers.

18. As Hants said, “I hope it was an accident but it was badly handly by the Police and well managed by the Lawyers.”

The latter is the real crux of the problem.

19. @ROK: “The latter is the real crux of the problem.

Ah, Man…

I hate going up against you… Your sabre is *so* sharp…

Please tell me ROK, why is this not a simple example of stupidity (read: Evolution in Action)?

Why have the Police wronged?

Why is this an example of Whitey exploiting the system?

Might this not simply be an example of an idiot demonstrating Evolution?

20. Bonny Peppa ( in exile) Avatar
    Bonny Peppa ( in exile)

Mash up
    howdy do my dawlinks? I’m with you all the way hunny-bunny. Correct is right.
    For a child to die at the hands of his/her parents is a burden that is heavier than anyone could ever imagine. His father’s face is a contortion of pure misery. I have to laugh whenever I look at his face. It isn’t funny but his face looks like pure misery man. It is a most unfortunate incident. Enough to send one to Jinkins man.

Crossroads,
    Hillary’s son was found not guilty, I think. The young man had a troubled past which was reported by his own parents so I guess that weighed heavily against him. Hillary’s son was no sunday school teacher either, anyway.

21. Ian and Desmond Bourne the father and son team that operates Barbados Free Press are over there in despicable convulted fashion blaming blacks and reverse racism for the Bjerkman tragedy. My two cents is Johan should been in protective custody as soon as information on his son’s brutal death was known to police. Thereater he should have been charged and remanded to Dodds until his day in court.

22. Bonny Peppa ( in exile) Avatar
    Bonny Peppa ( in exile)

Chris Halsall
    I’m actually agreeing with you and disagreeing with my ROK. I’m with you there, ‘please let him grieve’.

23. @Chris

It is a simple matter of unprofessional behaviour in the case of the police because the police should not be sending mixed messages to the public. The bad handling by the police, who by now should have most of the facts and should have been able to assess whether they should have charged the man or not.

This has allowed for all sorts of wrong impressions in the minds of public. Like the police wavering over whether or not to charge the man, yet trying to hold on to him maybe just in case…

However, I am not discounting your above.

24. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. No one should be above the law. John’s ignorance is what got himin trouble. So pleaseee let the law do its job in revealing the facts. A poor person would not have been given any special privieges.

25. @ Christopher Halsall who wrote “Why is this an example of Whitey exploiting the system?”

It is not that at all. It is a case of a RICH man using his considerable resources to Escape
    the treatment a poor man would have received.

Go to the Nation and read what the Commissioner is reported to have said.

This is a clear case of “celebrity case management” by a Lawyer who is better at
    his job than the Police are of theirs.

Just watch and see how this case will be managed if it goes to trial. Johnny Ch will emulate the late Johnny Co. with courtroom theatrics.

The most troubling aspect of this incident is that the Police were waiting for days
    for an interview but there has been no mention of a “crime scene investigation”.

at

26. The fact that he can thumb his nose at law should tell you the kind of person he really is. Arrogant and selfish. Dam wouldn’t youwant to clear your name to avoid any embrassement or criminal charges. No but he is the type who wants to control the situation . If he goes to jail it would send a message to those who think that they money can buy favours. He is the one who has compounded the problem.Let him face the music.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris

“Might this not simply be an example of an idiot demonstrating Evolution?”

I am agreeing with you.
    The lawyers in this case are simply doing their jobs, and good jobs they are doing too.

28. [quote]We suggest had the alleged perpetrator of this incident been Black the statement would have been taken and the charge laid in quick time.[/quote]

Bravo BU. Nice analysis. Even in nations with predominant African descendant populations and Governments, the system is still skewed to represent that, “if yo white yo alrite, if yo brown stick around, but if yo black stand at the back”. Look at how Ricky Singh is treated in comparison to how his kith and kin in Guyana treat the ethnic kin folk of Africans.

29. What kind of html does BU support

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Most people love to castigate lawyers until they find themselves in a spot of bother, then the first person they turn to is a Lawyer.

As the old people say “trouble don’t set up like rain” , and “there is an unguarded moment for everyone”.

Then the value of a good lawyer is clear.

31. Please tell me why Barbados goverment providing taxpayer monies to Annalee Davis a Bajan white who is said to be a painter but travels around the world potraying black Barbadians as racist.

32. The lawyers are doing a good job. I don’t think so Look how their client is being perceived in the public arena. Do you think that now he would be subjected to charges for fleeing the country while under criminal investigation? That in itself he can be prosecuted to the full extent of the law.

33. @J

Yes, “crystal meth” does destroy the teeth. The drug destroys tissues and blood vessels; the teeth blacken, rot and then fall out. Don’t worry about folks who attack when they do not know anything.

I must say that Johan looks much older than the 39 years he is reported to be. This could also be a result of crustal meth abuse. The bad teeth is called “meth mout”.

34. @Ruel

Basic html script will work.

35. @Carson C. Cadogan: “Most people love to castigate lawyers until they find themselves in a spot of bother, then the first person they turn to is a Lawyer.

That is, in my humble opinion, the second major mistake most people make…

Never take your lawyer’s advice without secondary and contradictory counsel.

Listen *carefully* to your counsel.

And then make your *own* decisions….

36. Police Commissioner Dottin has appeared on TV8 News at 7.00pm saying Bjerkhamn will be charged with manslaughter when he returns to Barbados on Friday.

But will he return!? I trust the Miami police have got some surveillance in, even if that is not legal.

37. Carson C. Cadogan // April 21, 2010 at 7:34 PM

Most people love to castigate lawyers until they find themselves in a spot of bother, then the first person they turn to is a Lawyer.

As the old people say “trouble don’t set up like rain” , and “there is an unguarded moment for everyone”.

Then the value of a good lawyer is clear.
    ==========================================

So what? Those of us that are not now in need of a Lawyer must turn away from their well know lying, and deceiving ways? Cheltenham is no gentleman nor is he worthy to escape being tarred and feathered. He had no business referring to police officers as terrorist by way of defining their lawful duty in this case as such, if indeed he said what was reported in the news. Is he further proof that Knighthoods are meaningless awards?

38. Dear David:

Do you have access to the picture of Johan which first appeared in the Nation? The one with his mouth open and full of the teeth. Some people on this blog criticised me because I asked how come the son of a wealthy man in an almost rich country like Barbados has a mouth full of bad teeth; when even poor Barbadians rarely have bad teeth anymore.

Thanks Pat for the support.

And can my critics account for the bad teeth?

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian Hinds

You, no doubt, have never been at the receiving end of a police raid.

40. @Adrian Hinds: “Cheltenham is no gentleman nor is he worthy to escape being tarred and feathered.

Are you suggesting that Cheltenham should be tarred and feathered Mr. Hinds?

@Hinds: “He had no business referring to police officers as terrorist by way of defining their lawful duty in this case as such, if indeed he said what was reported in the news.

Please prove the proof of your immediate above claims Mr. Hinds.

41. No. I have not.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chris

“Listen *carefully* to your counsel.

And then make your *own* decisions”

Then the only who would benefit from lawyer client interaction would be the Lawyer. The thing about advice is, you can take it or leave it. When the client decides not to take the Lawyer’s advice and make his “own” decision he does so at his own peril.

But he will still have to pay the Lawyer.

43. Carson C. Cadogan // April 21, 2010 at 9:13 PM

Adrian Hinds

You, no doubt, have never been at the receiving end of a police raid.
    ==========================================

No I have not, but what does such a situation have to do with this case? You mean to tell me that I cannot cuss all lawyers and expect service from one of them when needed? I have a right to an attorney as lying and deceiving as they are.

Would Cheltenham not be entitled to the services of the police if he did in fact characterize their actions as “terrorizing?”

Why can he accuse the police of such and I cannot accuse his profession of being liars and deceivers? Cheltenham and his client are no more privileged under law than I.

@Chris Halsall

What proof must I bring? for what purpose? and to satisfy whom? A publicaly available newspaper published words to the effect that Johnny Cheltenham believed the Doctors who define the actions of the police as ‘terrorizing.”

Are you now wanting to be a Johnny???

44. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

allow me to quote ‘me’
    Taken From my comment on the Politics of Collusion
    April 18, 2010

‘So our confidence has been undermined and undermined and undermined and we are still in the process of being undermined. The Black people who are in positions have adapted and adopted the bad attitudes handed down from Slavery and used them to treat BLACKS bad bad bad and this is true because white people in this country in this present day are still treated by BLACKS with awe and respect . There is a marked difference in how service-people for example, and people in society in general respond to a whiteman or an Indian-Test it and see ! ”

I rest my case

45. Hey, excuse me??

46. Bonny Peppa ( in exile) Avatar
    Bonny Peppa ( in exile)

Adrian Hinds
    And if you tink Cheltenham bad, ya ain’t wanna meet de ‘b’ dat he married to now. I had dealings wid she pun a legal matta, and dat ‘b’ cah way my money and tell me shoiteee bout ‘it fah she time.’ Gaw blimmma, I would like to tie she naked ta a pole in a ants nest. “B”.
    Doan mind dem telling you shite bout ‘proof’. Proof my ass. Ain’t nun sa blind as he dat khan seh.

47. Ef I was de police I would want to know if de flight plan filed by de airline had Johan Bjerkam name pon it or not. If not whups…Glemdairy fuh de pilot.

Secund, ef Lewis was still at de Defence force, I know dat I cud trust him to shoot down de plane ef needed. Him got de Bados Air Force and he hunderstand de need to show sum power.. Dis island gun miss Rudi…

48. Let’s break it down here,Pat and J are convinced he smokes Meth because he looks older than 39 and has bad teeth,Johnny and Andrew help he escape and not a day the 2 will get,nor the doctors,the pilot or pilots of the jet that took him to Miami,the Miami police released him and right now Bajan police know head nor tails where the man is but telling us the gullible public that he will be charged with manslaughter when or “IF” he returns on friday,ask yourself this question people,if you were a white millionaires son who is looking at jail time in a predominantly black country would you return?

49. I can here his advisors now..”You know the Sachelle Islands or Brazil are quite nice this time of year,do you want a brochure?”