Johan Bjerkhamn

On behalf of the BU household we express our deep sadness at the unfortunate death of 11 year old Luke Bjerkhamn. Luke  was allegedly shot by his father Johan Bjerkhamn a couple weeks ago at his father’s residence. This is a matter which BU has been reluctant to offer public comment in deference to the the grieving family. However, in light of the recent development that Johan Bjerkhamn evaded police questioning by waltzing out of Barbados on a private jet yesterday, we have been driven to comment on the matter.

Firstly, there is the erroneous position which has been propagated by the traditional media that Johan  Bjerkhamn has been under 24-hour police guard at the Bayview Hospital. Our source indicates it was his doctor who played a pivotal role to keep the police from questioning Johan  Bjerkhamn. It has been said that his doctor kept him heavily sedated. Keeping him in a drowsy state the doctor was able to feed the Police the story that Bjerkhamn was not medically fit to give a statement. Why the Royal Barbados Police Force would leave  Johan  Bjerkhamn unguarded at Bayview Hospital is highly questionable.

The breakdown in communication between Commissioner Dottin and his Deputy over the recent Movada Kartel Show merits probing questions about Dottin’s competence to manage the Police Force. We suggest had the alleged perpetrator of this incident been Black the statement would have been taken and the charge laid in quick time.

Interestingly, it is Sir Richard Cheltenham who is at the forefront of this matter. Didn’t he successfully keep Jippy Doyle out of prison for almost seven years? It was reported by the media that Sir Richard accompanied Johan Bjerkhamn to the private hangar at the Grantley Adams Airport yesterday. Again, isn’t it amazing that in a very high profile Police matter we are witnessing such a  high level of incompetence by our Police Force?

We are left to speculate about what happened two weeks ago at the house of Johan Bjerkhamn. What we do know from our source is that the recent incident of gun play is not the first to have been heard by neighbours. There is the unconfirmed report that Luke was the victim of a family squabble. The question now remains, will the Royal Barbados Police Force ever get the opportunity to interrogate Jonan Bjerkhamn.

An upset BU commenter posted the following comment on the matter:

Now I shifting from BFS to Barbadians in general. I am writing this article as a chance to vent before I BLEVE . Them corrupt, nasty sorcerers who are in charge of law and security in this country , Responded to a suspicious call about a rasta man ‘in quick time’ resulting in him ending up over a cliff on sharp rocks to die some moments later.

This same security dept. took a subtle and ‘hands off’, luke warm approach to deal with a shooting death of a little boy. Questions I must ask myself,What if Mr. Bjerkhamn was driving the crash tender and his service number was 109, would he he be dragged violently from behind the steering wheel by police?

Would Mr Bjerkhamn be treated with the same ROYALTY if he was a black rasta whose son was shot? Why was he discharged and the police not notified by the hospital pending an investigation? Who gave the order to withdraw police presence creating that window of opportunity? Why is it that someone from the  health care profession not wearing HMP silver bangles? And the list goes on. My conclusion is that commissioner Dottin is a Mock face , hard face ass and he need to be removed from office like yesterday.

The white people in this country are more powerful than Castro is in Cuba. We have two laws in this country, the extreme one which serves the blacks and not so fortunate and the other customized “we would make up as we go along one” which serves the whites and people from higher echelons. Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

995 responses to “One Law For The Medes And Another For The Persians: The Johan Bjerkhamn Affair”

1. All I have to say is unbelievable!

2. I guess there is some truth to the saying that “when you white you always right”.

3. Well I have to agree with most of the remarks made by the upset BU commenter. I too am upset that our police force could be so incompetent, or that somebody at the top could be so corrupt to allow Johan to leave the country. Instructions were given that if he attempted to leave the country he should be arrested, but it just didn’t make sense that a warrant for his arrest was not issued before he left the hospital especially since the police guard was removed. How did they expect to monitor his movements, and how were they going to know if he attempted to leave the country or not? Obviously nothing was put in place to stop him from leaving the country, and so he just walked right on out. This makes the police force look like a bunch of jokers, but we still have to wonder and speculate whether or not it was purposely crafted by somebody at the top for corrupt reasons.

4. The man just got arrested

5. Here is another idea for bringing in foreign exchange.

Write and publish novels about the Rich and Famous and Politics and power.

I am sure the version of this incident we will hear is going to be well scripted.

6. Breaking news at Nation online.

7. Thanks for that info True Bajan. I just saw the breaking story at barbadostoday.bb. If everything that Andrew Pilgrim is saying is true, then it shows the incompetence of the police to act in a timely and decisive manner.

8. You need to resign Mr. or should I say Miss COP!

9. David can you tell me if methamphetamine abusers tend to develop very, very bad teeth?

Did you notice that the first photograph which the Nation published shows Johan with a mouth full of very, very bad teeth?

Did it occur to the police to ask why this son a a very wealthy man has such bad teeth when ever poor people in Barbados rarely have bad teeth anymore?

Have the police checked the Bjerkhamn properties for drugs? And if not why not? Or are they waiting for the Miami police to do that too?

All I can add is that If I was a little white child in Barbados today I would be scared because the State of Barbados does not extend its protections to me. The same as I would be afraid if I was a rich white man’s wife living in a gated place (let me NOT say community.)

10. And I don’t want to hear any BS from doctors and lawyers about how his pain is so bad. Looka hundreds of elderly Barbadians get their legs cut off every year, and I don’t see nor hear about any doctors and lawyers talking about 24 hour sedation. These old people come out of surgery and are talking rationally to friends and family hours later.

In Barbados we well know how much damage to the extremities hurts (or doesn’t hurt)

11. And I read elsewhere where Andrew Pilgrim is saying that Johan left Barbados early because the plane arrived early. So what was the rush Andrew? Why didn’t the plane depart at 3:30 as the lawyers told the police it would.

Andrew don’t take Shakespeare too literally, “all the world’s a stage and all the men and women merely players”

You think you on stage Andrew?

You playing we?

12. After reading the BarbadosToday online Newspaper and knowing what our source has told us, it is easy to conclude there has been some dipsy doodling around this matter by the Police and some other authorities. Doesn’t the taxpayers of Barbados have to pay for the extradition?

A FULL INVESTIGATION INTO THIS MATTER IS WARRANTED!

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

J aka kim young seem to know a lot about the drug methamphetamine.

All I will say is that the man seems to be a man filled with grief and is going through a lot, after all he lost his son as a result of an acident which is what we have been told so far.

Until there is other evidence and not the shite that J the drug recogniser is pushing them I will wait to hear what the police has to say.

The whole incident is very troubling and very sad.

He should not be getting special treatment because he is white nor SHOULD HE BE CASTIGATED AND ACCUSED WRONGFULLY BECAUSE HE IS WHITE.

Fair is fair!

14. Barbados Today has an opinion piece under the heading “Let the System work” which states that Bjerkman has the right not to speak to the Police. Fair enough, but according to the Police they were denied the opportunity to interview him due to his ongoing pain and the effects of his medication. Which means that he didn’t say to the Police “Sorry go on your investigation but I am not going to answer your questions”

Due to the nature of this incident and the character and connection of the individual involved this case is as high profile as it gets and it has the potential to have long term political ramifications; so it is my humble position that the political authorities at the highest level were intimately involved in every facet of the case from the time it unfolded.

Thus when Andrew Pilgrim claims that he delivered a letter to the Commissioner stating that Bjerkman was scheduled to leave the island for surgery the lines must have been burning up between the Commissioner’s office and the Atty General’s for a decision.

If the Police were going to issue a warrant for Bjerkman’s arrest why wait until he was in Miami to do so? Did new information come to light or was it because of the public backlash and potential political fall out.

Something happening alright and it isn’t good

15. He’s no fugitive!

“JOHAN BJERKHAMN HAS nothing to hide.”

As reported in the NationNews: “That was the word yesterday from Bjerkhamn’s attorney Sir Richard Cheltenham who has accused the Royal Barbados Police Force of misleading the public by portraying his client as a “fugitive” from justice.”

This has to be denied in the strongest terms, otherwise a few people may be charged with “aiding and abetting a fugitive” which is a serious crime.

This was a master stroke of the Royal Barbados Police Force in getting that gang to overplay their hand in order to show them the world has changed, and they can’t continue to run rings around the RBPF.

@ David, “Now the taxpayers of Barbados have to pay for the extradition?” This might not be a bad thing after all, these slick lawyers now have to travel here to really represent their client and prove to the U.S authorities he is not really a fugitive. They tried to play the police in Barbados by preventing him from answering even a few basic and simple questions. Let us see them do that to the US authorities.

16. Is the accident/crime scene secured by Police. Is yellow tape surrounding the “scene?

Every discharge of a firearm resulting in death should be investigated as a possible crime.

Don’t tell me I can shoot and kill somebody and say it was an accident and Police will say,
    OK man I believe you but I might still charge you with careless use of a firearm.

Let us see this for what it is. Rich man privilage in Barbados.

17. Here are many things a future PDC Government shall do in Barbados:

1) Abolish ALL TAXATION;

2) Abolish Interest Rates;

3) Abolish ALL Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar;

4) Abolish ALL Motor Vehicle Insurance;

5) Make Imports of Goods and Services “Zero-priced” at all points of entry;

6) Make Exports of Goods and Services once destined for the external markets to be paid for in local currency/”prices”;

7) Ensure that ALL Institutional Loans for Productive Purposes become Non-Repayable;

8 Make sure that the Hire Purchase system is seriously reformed in this country;

9) Disabuse with the notion of “Inflation” but at the same time to make sure that at any time – even at such a time as like now when there is a political economic depression in Barbados – as much PRODUCTIVE money/value as possible circulates within the country with a view of helping to ever expand our productive sectors and helping to ever grow our so-called economy;

10) Making sure that NO foreigners will – at the time of our being at the helm of government in this country – own the rights to our Land spaces – ONLY Barbadian citizens and businesses and other entities – Foreigners will ONLY be able to lease such rights;

11) Make sure that there is a regime of Rent Control instituted in this country for ALL residential, commercial, and other relevant properties;

12) Making sure that partnerships are the ONLY multi-member corporate business entities possible in Barbados. This dispensation will ensure that present day workers, managers and owners of present day business enterprises will become future partners in future enterprises in this country and that each of them, et al, will be remunerated in profits;

13) The shareholder culture in Barbados will be reformed to make sure that NO LOCAL OR FOREIGN MONEY INVESTORS WILL EVER BECOME – when our party remains at the helm of government in this country – OWNERS OR PART OWNERS of any business enterprises in Barbados on the basis of merely injecting cash/value into commercial enterprises – THEY SHALL BE SEEN AS JUST MONEY INVESTORS who are simply entitled to share of the profits of these enterprises;

14) That NO completely foreign owned businesses will exist in Barbados – Foreigners and and foreign entities shall ONLY be capable of entering into joint ventures or strategic alliances with Barbadian interests in whatever areas of business in Barbados, to a maximum of 51% ownership of such enterprises;

15) Ensure that there is installed in this country a modern efficient railway system very much on or along the existing ABC/Spring Garden/Ronald Highways;

16) The bringing about of more TV stations in this country – and one of which will have to cater to assisting in the cultural development of this country – the elimination of as many corrupt negative foreign influences as possible from our social landscape;

17) The creation of Technological, Technical, Commercial, Languages, Science, Culinary, Sporting Academies in the secondary school system and in which each Academy will – basic subjects apart – specialize in the teaching, the instilling, and the engaging in of those theoretical and experiential knowledges and activities that are ever so important to the country’s future greater development;

18) The Abolition of the Common Entrance Examination and in its place the establishment of A National Continuous Assessment Program;

19) The building of a modern acute care public hospital in the north of the country;

20) The making sure that Constituents will debate and pass the laws of this country – NOT like this big foolish idea called constituency councils;

21) Making sure that the Constitution of Barbados provides for the operation of Coalitional Government in Barbados – and of which, et al, the head of such will be an elected Executive President of Barbados and of which it will be composed of elected party, non-party-political and independent non-partisan members;

22) The removal of the Queen as Head of State of this country;

23) The removal of the first past the post electoral system and in its place a variant of the proportional representational electoral system; and

24) The election nationally of ALL Judges of the High Court and some other senior governmental officials like the DPP – all of whom will be adjunct members of the Cabinet of Barbados.

So, Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

18. I am backing the COP on this matter. This a matter as Hant says where a privilege individual in Barbados aided and abetted by a Lawyer with a track recorded of using his standing in the society, gained via his years in politics intends to hold the law at bay.

The law requires all unnatural deaths to be reported to the police. The police has a duty to investigate and determine the cause of death, and to present anyone to account for such in a court of law should there be sufficient evidence to warrant.

The police sought to carry out their lawful work and was met with comments such as to be “terrorist” being accused of “terrorizing” Johan Bjerkman.

The law does not require the COP to accommodate Bjerkham in the manner that his lawyers wanted, and therefore leaving Barbados without being investigated by the police makes him a subject to an arrest.

This privilege nonsense will come to an end one way or the other. Your law is not my law must take hold in Barbados, and it will if those who have a case to answer are not made to do so.

I will stop here for now, but someone has to ask Cheltenham and Pilgrim, if Johan Bjerkham can issue an affidavit signed by him as evidence of his intent to travel to the US and of his intent to return, and that this document is to be accepted as his words and intent, why did the OPIATE PAIN KILLERS allow for this to happened and not for a sworn statement from him as to what occurred that resulted in his son’s death?

19. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

In Barbados at the QEH Doctors usually stop the opiate painkillers after 24 hours because of the risk of addiction.

the police have a right to hold and interrogate Mr. Bjerkham whether he answers any questions or not. I do belilieve they can keep him in custody up to 72 hrs.

If a satisfactory explanation is not provided as to what occurred then the police can charge Mr. Bjerkham with murder, manslaughter, endangering the safety of a child, and any other crime which the evidence supports.

The most telling evidence thus far is that an 11 year old boy is dead , killed by a shot from his father’s gun. Negligence is inherent.

20. Adrian, I hope that you not baking incompetence? While I agree with you, there has to be more responsibility on the Police to ensure that justice is meted out. This whole affair, if the white man don’t return, would be an indictment on the RBPF.

All the doctors that complain that the police harassing their client should be arrested and charged for aiding and abetting. If that was a “nobody” we would never hear about a doctor saying that the police harassing their patient. Never heard it before.

21. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Oh and David its actually Medes (ancient Iranian Ethnicity) and not Meads which is a honey based liquor.

22. You see why NM gets on the way he does …….. Although we see every day the incompetencies and injustices every day we still turn a blind eye and claim that God ain’t sleeping!

Well we the Barbadian public are not sleeping ……. we are waiting to see what happens!

23. Truly amazing,this can only happen in Barbados.

24. @DeMarleHole

It is a fact that Johan was not a fugitive, up to the time he left the island on Monday no warrant was issued for his arrest…in my opinion that is clear cut. The police screwed up big time and that is the opinion of most Bajans. They should have issued a warrant for his arrest long before he left the island since they suspected that his lawyers and doctors were playing tricks.
    As it turns out Johan was not arrested by US law enforcement, but was simply questioned and released, and is expected to return to the island after a second operation on his hand which is scheduled for today. That is the latest report I heard on the radio news this morning.

25. Defense lawyers have a job to do, as dirty as it may be, just as the cops and prosecuters have a job to do. Johan was not compelled to give any statement or answer any questions from the police under the law, and therefore if the police believed there was reason to charge him with a crime, a warrant for his arrest should have been issued while he was still at Bayview. As far as the doctors are concern, well I cannot comment too much on whether they were stalling on his behalf, or if they were genuinely protecting his physical and mental health. At this point I have to blame the police for making themselves look like jackasses, and for misleading the public after Johan left the island.

26. How many people have you guys heard about that shoot their sons,don’t give a statement to the police get their lawyers to personally deliver a letter to the commissioner of police saying that their client will be leaving the island for medical treatment,get taken to the airport by same lawyers and put on a jet for an allocated destination,then get branded a fugitive by said police,arrested by foreign police and on seeing there is insufficient evidence releases the man and now free as a bird again to get treatment at his pleasure,man if i did Johan i would head for Brazil and let the whole world laugh at these imbeciles that we have as law enforcement..by the way i need to make friends with Freundel Stuart anytime i commit a crime…he is a major player around here.

27. Silly Season: It appears the man has been released in Miami because the Police there had no legal authority to arrest him…if his lawyer is to be believed. To my mind this suggest a warrant was not issued by the Barbados Police for his arrest and his lawyers perhaps knew that, and made representations to the Miami police as to their legal authority for his arrest.

28. @BMASN

Thanks!

Good to see Bajans speaking out. Gone are the days where these things would have been swept under the carpet.

29. The PDC (I am not against their politics) have attempted to hijack this thread and it is not the first time they have done so, sometimes successfully.

They insert a post, highlighting their politics, to capitalize on the attention it might get in a popular thread. They could at least have made it relevant to this tragic event.

Please BU, remove their post, and politely ask them to stop doing this. I am sure they are welcome to begin their own thread.

Re this shooting, there is something very seriously wrong somewhere, but I cannot comment without speculation, so I will wait until there are more developments.

30. Here we have a police force attempting to break the privilege tradition. I applaud them. The police could do like many civil servants and keep their mouth shout to protect their pension and their employment prospect post government work.

Sometimes I do not blame them for the positions they take or lack thereof. We as a people are known to laugh at them if after retirement they fall on hard times “looka you, yuh ain suh big and powerful nuh now nuh” we often say. We are even up to killing them now after they retire.

Durant told us sometime back that his hands were tied, and whatever the reason for the remark, we should all take stock of it, and rally around our police if we truly want equal protection under the law.

31. One law for the “BU family” and another for dead tourists

Interesting piece, “David”. It raises questions.

Surely there can’t be a single rational person on this planet who doesn’t want a merciless spotlight shone on the incident you’re writing about; a completely merciless spotlight.

We don’t care if it’s the printed press or the blogs who shine that spotlight. What we want is truth and justice at whatever cost.

A question, though, is why we members of the BU family said NOT ONE WORD about the recent sentencing of a Bajan who hunted down an elderly tourist on a Barbados beach and BEAT HER TO DEATH in broad daylight.

Did you miss that story, “David”? Or did you choose to disregard it because a member of the “BU family” publicly and internationally called that victim “white trash”?

Simple question. Thanks for your response.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I don’t understand what the fuss is all about.

What has Johan Bjerkhamn been charged with?

33. Good to see Bajans speaking out. Gone are the days where blog owners/editors thought that uncomfortable facts could be swept under the carpet.

34. A darkened auditorium must respond to the light of a single candle

35. Good point Jack Bowman. I have notice over the years how lenient our justice system sentencing structure has become. Everybody getting a slap on the wrist

People stealing large sums of money and getting off
    People destroying crown property and paying a fine
    People beating others while swearing racial epithets and don’t have a police record.
    People swearing racial epithets and leaving the country without answering to charges
    People refusing police entry to investigate a call made to them
    People getting away with murder while other serving lenient sentences for the same.

I have never seen such a thing as 10 years for murder, manslaughter even gets a longer term.

If BU miss something what about BFP?

36. A Black Bajan Boy Avatar
    A Black Bajan Boy

Jack Bowman are you a Bajan are you a blog owner/editor? we can think of many things you are. Jack Bowman the self appointed director of English on this blog, a whelk seller on Brighton pier has a better command of English than you do. Now trot along old boy.

Now, let us return to the serious subject of this thread.

37. Keep shouting folks!
    However, we all know full well that NOT ONE THING will happen to this Johan. We all know how tings work in Buhbadus… This story will be left to die a natural death. This is really ‘unfortunate’.
    This nonsense can not continue ad infinitum in this country of ours…

Then wunna wondering why there are ‘Red Seas’, ‘Red Zones’, etc in Bim. With this kind of two-tiered system the Red Seas and Red Zones will be the least of our concerns in this place

38. Innocent Onlooker Avatar
    Innocent Onlooker

What is the obsession with grammar and syntax? The purpose of language is communication. If the person has successfully communicated their comment/ argument, then move on unless this is some sort of idiot savant that can’t engage arguments so they harp on about grammar.

39. @Jack Bowman…

What’s up Jack?

Has BFP fallen so far off the radar screen that you and yours (and/or they and theirs) have to come over to BU to raise issues you (and/or they) feel is important?

It’s a rhetorical question. The empirical speaks for itself….

40. (Unsigned Artist)
    She’s Cool, She’s Bad, She’s Sweet
    I can be a witness
    (Chris Brown Assaults Rhianna)

41. A Black Bajan Boy Avatar
    A Black Bajan Boy

@ Innocent Onlooker

“this is some sort of idiot savant”

Idiot savant! what an oxymoron, your name was well chosen.

42. mash up & buy back // April 21, 2010 at 7:22 AM

J aka kim young seem to know a lot about the drug methamphetamine.

All I will say is that the man seems to be a man filled with grief and is going through a lot, after all he lost his son as a result of an acident which is what we have been told so far.

Until there is other evidence and not the shite that J the drug recogniser is pushing them I will wait to hear what the police has to say.

The whole incident is very troubling and very sad.

He should not be getting special treatment because he is white nor SHOULD HE BE CASTIGATED AND ACCUSED WRONGFULLY BECAUSE HE IS WHITE.

———————————————————

Congratulations one decent post obviously written by one decent human being.

Fair is fair!

43. I can’t speak for BFP, Mr. Hinds, since I have nothing to do with them apart from the fact that I send the (very infrequent) post to their blog.

Interesting, though, to see how easily the notions of “the plot” and “the conspiracy” can be sowed among the highly educated population of a country where you don’t live.

As to your list of indictments against anonymous “people”: my own, strong and unshakeable view is that anyone guilty of the crimes you list should be prosecuted to the full and complete force of the law, without a single exception, whether they’re purple or green.

And whether such criminals are prosecuted or not depends on which people we voters elect to govern Barbados, which happens to be a country in which you fail to live.

44. Hey, Chris. Good to hear from you. You still want to tell me, bizarrely an inexplicably, to “run to dinner”? How’s your censorship going? Well, I trust.

Best wishes to you.

45. Hey Jack…

You invited to buy me dinner.

I refused.

What part of this isn’t clear?

46. Yet again, we witness a case which clearly demonstrates if one has money to afford the best lawyers and medical care expect a different result compare to those less fortunate.

47. Chris,

I’ll say this once and never again: I don’t have the slightest clue who runs BFP. I have zero contact with BFP apart from the fact that very, very occasionally I post a message on their blog.

I will never address this issue again.

You know what you remind me of, Chris? You and the “BU family”? As a younger person I worked in Beirut for a while. Not a nice time, to be honest. On some other BU thread that I can’t be bothered to look for now, the raging idiot Hopi asked me about phosphorous bombs. I’ve seen a few. I’ve seen a few results. But in Lebanon, at that time, all that mattered was “the Plot”. There was always a Plot.

Nobody really knew what was happening. People were disappearing every day (kidnapping and torture were sunrise industries in Lebanon, in those days). People were being blown up and snatched off the street. People were being machine-gunned outside their houses.

Who knew why that particular car bomb took out those particular civilians on that particular street? Nobody really knew anything. Could have been the Syrians. Al-Bashir faces problems from within the Alawites this week. Could be the Iranians. If the Amal militia could take certain refugee camps in the southern suburbs of Beirut, maybe Tehran could offset the Syrian mercenaries.

Maybe the Israelis blew up the street. Maybe Mossad needed a distraction because Tel Aviv was amid problematic negotiations with Ankara.

Beirut, in my day, was alive with rumours. It existed as rumours. Nobody knew anything, but everybody knew “the Plot”.

And dealing with you, Mr. Halsall, and your laugh-out-loud, mind-bogglingly infantile version of the Plot, and your family members among the “BU family”, you are a walk in the park. You are a cake walk. Believe in the Plot if you want, Mr. Halsall. In the meantime, do you mind if the rest of the world just carries on?

In Barbados, Mr. Halsall, there is no plot. There are many things. There are, for example, idiots
    and non-idiots. You can always spot the idiots. They believe in the Plot. And they couldn’t write a grammatical sentence if their lives depended on it.

If you can’t write properly, you can’t think properly. And if you say (here quoting the people who comprise “David”) “Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them”?, then your foolishness and stupidity are already beyond redemption.

48. good point j bowman

49. mash up and buy back wrote on April 21, 2010 at 7:22 AM “J aka kim young seem to know a lot about the drug methamphetamine.”

Wha’ happen mashup? you vex ’cause I am well read and you are not? And I am Not Kim Young. Never even met the lady. Don’t know who she is.

50. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

@ Carson C Cadogan

Bjerkham was not charged with anything yet. But given the evidence which in the absence of a statement amounts to a child losing their life from a bullet from a gun held by his father the minimum charge in the circumstances would be involuntary manslaughter. Police forces are not in the habit of allowing persons likely to be charged with any type of manslaughter to leave their jurisdiction. Bjerkham never received permission to leave. He knew he was a person of interest and the fact that he travelled to the airport with 2 lawyers speak volumes. He has hired the best maneuver man in the local legal fraternity as his counsel. He had better ensure that the resulting charge is plead out because Bajan jurors will not forget the fact that he absconded the island.

A real man would have owned up to the fact that he caused his son’s death, explain the circumstances as accidental and accept what punishment the justice system metes out. Guilt, honor and remorse does that to you