Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

To standing room only former Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered a speech to an appreciative audience at the Errol Barrow Centre for Creative Imagination last evening. Since demitting office Arthur has said very little regarding the current state of the economy and related matters. Thanks to the economic society at UWI, Cave Hill which is comprised of campus students, Barbadians got to hear Arthur’s views on the most topical issue of the day; the economy.

For nearly two hours former Prime Minister Arthur systematically attacked the government’s policies. He labelled the economic strategy of the government as one prescribed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and suggested there is no precedent in world history for austerity measures leading to prosperity. He was very uncharitable towards Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance by suggesting the government has resorted to managing the economy based on indices and ratios.

Of concern to Arthur was what he discerned to be a lack of government policies which are transformational. He reminded the audience that under WTO rules several incentives currently used to attract business to Barbados will be dismantled. Also the double taxation treaty with Canada which has seen the exclusivity it gave to Barbados becoming the country with the third largest concentration of Canadian assets will become fair game when the economic partnership agreement with Canada in the pipeline is rolled out. Lastly the 50% exports which Barbados currently enjoys with the region will come under threat in 2015 when under the economic partnership rules the common external tariffs currently in position will have to be removed.

As a way forward he identified the need to leverage the uniqueness of the Bajan Brand to lead Barbados from the economic morasses it now finds itself.  He called for proud Barbadians to rise up and show the entrepreneurial drive which is required to build a home grown solution to our problem. He disagreed with the suggestion of a wage freeze and instead called for an incomes policy which is designed to reward effort. Of interest was his support to continue our tertiary level education and to resist cuts, a contrast to the call from Professor Avinash Persaud’s recent call to cut tertiary spending. He was highly critical of the government’s guarantee of the Four Season’s debt which he said adds negatively to Barbados’ debt profile.

Arthur after a two and a half year lay-off delivered his speech with confidence, during the Q&As he was at his most ruthless when responding to a question from Nation journalist Wade Gibbons. It was interesting to observe the lukewarm interplay between Arthur and Mottley when the night’s event was concluded. If one is to judge from the standing ovations by the BLPites in attendance, it is obvious Arthur still commands support within the party.

BU has received Arthur’s speech with the compliments of Sylvan Greenidge.

179 responses to “Owen Arthur Says Current Policies Of Government Will Lead To Domestic Recession”

1. Yes, as a result of recent IMF staff consultations with government and other officials in Barbados, there have been some recommendations made by the IMF on what they think needs to be done to help bring the economy out of the severe crisis that it now finds itself in.

Some of these recommendations have been that the government reduce its spending, increase its tax collection efficiency, and broaden the TAX base as a means of supporting the exchange rate regime and as a means of improving the Government’s balance sheet.

Now, the truth is that these recommendations sound as if they would have been written by some pro-Western DLP Government officials and then handed over for the IMF to announce – although, yes, they would NOT have been handled in this way. And, surely, this type of subjunctive thinking might even be made more interesting given the IMF has been insinuating that government ( DLP/BLP ) and its intellectually bankrupt, misguided, oppressive policies have been the primary reason for this crisis – contrary to the ignorance that some people were known to have spewed out earlier last year that this depression has been caused by the PRIVATE SECTOR. What idiocy at the highest levels.

Nevertheless, these IMF recommendations ( and they are NOT presriptions ) are totally inapplicable to Barbados’ developmental aims and are illogical in nature and therefore ought to be torn up and put right into the waste paper basket. These clearly failed Euro-centricist, elitist, conservative-oriented recommendations will serve to make our country worse off in the long term. And, as many people in Barbados would know this same IMF has long had a history of being a very anti-developmentalist anti-progressive entity.

Also, since becoming a member of the IMF in the 1970s, the Barbados Government has had a stand-by arrangement with the IMF (1981), has implemented an IMF austerity program (1991-2), has had an enhanced surveillance program with the IMF(1993-4), and has been having regular consultations with visiting missions from that body. In the cases of 1981 and 1991 great hardship and misery had swept the lands on account of measures taken by those former governments, principally to satisfy the IMF and its neo-liberal fascist elitist backers.

But, the truth is that far from getting better as a result of DLP/BLP Governments over the years implementing many IMF prescriptions ( which are policies and measures that a government of a country has agreed to put in place wherefore it has formally entered into an arrangement with the IMF for IMF loans or for any other kinds of financial or technical assistance ) and many IMF recommendations ( which are ideas and policies which have been put forward by the IMF to the government of the country, but which happens only after an IMF mission has looked into its economic and financial problems, and over which this particular country has options to implement them or not while at the same time this government has NOT entered into any agreement with the IMF for loan assistance or any other kinds of assistance), Barbados has been getting worse and worse, in many areas, such as government debt levels, too much dependence on one sector for the further growth and development of the country. However, it must be said by the PDC that NOT all of the IMF prescriptions and recommendations through the years have been implemented by government.

Anyhow, at this time it is very foolhardy to think that this wretched DLP Government would still be implementing or even giving consideration to ideas that are entirely unsuited to a most bountiful and progressive Barbadian way of thinking, but which are obviously suited to a very narrow depraved Eurocentric conservative economic way of thinking in the country, and would be still implementing ideas or even giving consideration to ideas that HAVE REPEATEDLY FAILED TO SOLVE Barbados’ fundamental material production and distribution problems – rather than to try serious effective ideas that exist but that have never been tried before – and ones too that would be making any government of Barbados avoid going to the IMF.

Finally, too, it cannot continue indefinitely in Barbados where IMF policies are concerned that the people of this country are unable to determine whether or NOT there should be IMF consultations, whether there should be IMF/government agreements or NOT, or whether the Barbados government should remain an IMF member or NOT, etc. For, the PDC knows that this very deplorable despicable situation wherefore a great many more people do NOT have a say in such matters, must NOT be allowed to continue indefinitely in this country because the broad masses and middle classes are seriously disadvantaged when a few government people are laden with such great decisional making authority as it relates to IMF involvement in the country and are therefore the ones to really suffer after such decisions would have been to be made.

Therefore, hordes of Barbadians must have some way of making sure that they participate in the national decisional making/legislative process of the country, esp. in the case of Barbados’ IMF relationships and in cases where foreign and government and non-government driven policies and measures that are to be put in place will be bound to affect them, and furthermore that they are able through this participation to arrive at some of the best and most effective measures policies that will be put in place to help secure the further growth and development of this country.

So, Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

2. My fellow bajans more of our time and intellect must be spend on looking for bajan grown solutions to our economic challenges. Clearly the top down approach which in large part is focused on tourism and the building contruction industries is failing us. There are new information technology and manufacturing industries opportunities that Barbados can play a role in on the global stage. To get there require both goverment and private sector committment to Barbados first, and their pockets second.

Our sustained literacy rate should serve as proof that we have the human capital to support global demands in a range of emerging IT service industries (I.e outsourced call centers support serviced). Likewise they are goods that can be produced in barbados in the global outsourcing model.

Staying committed to the dlp/blp loop on non-productive discussion only serves as a distraction from real national problem solving.

When all is said and done it will be the bajan people as a whole who will save our economony… not a few talking heads of old and new.

3. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar
    Sylvan Greenidge

David I sent you a copy of the lecture did you receive it?

4. My Name Is Not Sylvan.... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan….

Poor WIV in such a state of terror that a speech by Owen has him sh****ng his pants.

He still doesn’t quite get it….

Smut and innuendo don’t work nearly as well when you are in government as when you are in opposition. If you found 800,000,000 from cost over runs then you take someone to court or call the police, when all you have is talk, you make veiled comments about it on a blog.

Rather than wasting time with your usual fun and games, why not tell us why the “twice paid for highway” (once by a road tax increase and once by a loan) is being paid for yet again as the Government settles quietly out of court with 3S for cancelling their contract? (yes the one that Thompy said didn’t exist)

Why not tell us why the committee for “examining” traffic in Warrens will not be allowed to consider flyovers which would allow the 90% of the traffic that passes through Warrens (but isn’t going there) to simply by pass the area. Is it because Thompy has decreed “THERE WILL BE NO FLYOVERS”?

While we are at it perhaps you would be able to tell us why traffic still backs up on the highway?

While we are here, let’s talk about weather or not we are going to get a new hospital? Because Thompy has declared “THERE WILL BE NO NEW HOSPITAL” dispite the advice of two ministers of health? (and a range of other consultants) or do you just want a chance to share the fatted calf around some.

While telling us about figures perhaps you might care to explain the current account deficit of half a Billion (yes with a B) dollars that your lot ran up in your first year in office? Can’t blame that one on the BLP can you? Your boys were signing the cheques. How many fatted calves does half a billion buy?

Why not tell the people of Barbados how a political party could completely default on its election manifesto? The DLP has done it not once, but twice!

Why not tell us why is it that for the first time since the 1990’s the IMF is once again calling the shots in Barbados?

Rather than wasting time with innuendo and smears on blogs why don’t you and your lot learn how to run a country? Or just admit it’s beyond your rather limited capabilities.

5. ac
    I good. You…?

AGONY

She want mi agony agony agony in her body
    Some agony agony agony yeees
    Some agony agony agony in her body
    Agony agony agony hey
    Hundred percent a love
    She want a hundred percent a love
    A hundred percent love she want
    A hundred percent a love
    Nuh seventy thirty love she nuh want
    Nuh fifty fifty love
    Nuh seventy thirty love she nuh want
    Nuh fifty fifty love

6. @Sylvan

Yes and thanks!

It has been updated to the blog.

7. My Name Is Not Sylvan…. // March 1, 2010 at 2:41 PM

SUPPOSE these people really start being charged ……..?????

What will you say then? Just thinking out loud!!!!!!!

Wunnah people is something else!!!

8. My Name Is Not Sylvan.... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan….

JC,

For all of WIV’s talk, it’s just that

talk.

9. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

A comment was made today that resonated with me . Bobby Morris said that if you feel that civil servants just copy IMF suggestions and put them into a medium term fiscal strategy then it means that we have no need for a Civil service. I will take that one step further and say that we also would then have no need for free tertiary education since most were educated at UWI.

He further said that if however our excellently educated and trained technocrats came up with solutions which in some cases were the same as the IMF’s recommendations should we disregard them as options simply because of that?

All that talk about the IMF running Barbados is just that talk and foolish talk at that, designed to tear minds away what what is vital and has to be done. Our fiscal situation, our economy is simply not sustainable as is in this recession.

either we will implement measures now when we have some choice as to what we do or we wait until what we have to do is dictated to us in harsh terms.

It was interesting to see that away from the political platforms and the interviews where there is no one to rebut the fluff, all persons at the consultation agreed that there must be a fiscal repositioning. Even the opposition leader could only say she disagreed with when and how it was proposed.

10. JC march 1st@3.27P.M
    It is time the DLP start taking some of these people to court, or they are going to look really stupid. If Mr Arthur can make such bold statements about the amount of money left in the coffers when he was removeed from office, then the ruling party MUST tell the public what happen to it or that the former P.M is untruthful.

11. WIV
    Getting down into the gutter with your comments will only make it look as though you are guity. This is too serious a matter for you to get dirty and personal,PLEASE raise your level on this blog or keep silent. Your tail is beginning to show.

12. WIV
    By the way, what happened with the P.M and Mr Arrogant Arni Walters? Also it seems like the two Davids are about to clash again. I must say that David Estwick was OUT OF PLACE to make the comment about selling Gems after the P.M said he wasn’t selling off anymore of the government assets. To make matters worse David Eastwick, in his “pitbull” fashion said he is not backing off his comments. The DLP’s dirty linen is once more beginning to show, while the BLP seems to be returning to their closeknit fashion. Beware

13. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The Scout can you tell me who the leader of the BLP really is ????

14. F**K YOU AC

You are an imbecile

15. @beauty

F*c*k AC!
    Never gonna happen .Dat dead ting you got between your legs is an useless piece of organ.No doctor can fix dah. Yu good for nothing bastard.

16. the economic problem is going to take people and government working
    together to fix it. So far people are not so willing to give up anything they like the government is stretched to the limit in their finances. Now when a boat is about to sink it is necessary for the captain to throw off some of the cargo in orderfor all on board to survive.

17. The DLP’s dirty linen is once more beginning to show, while the BLP seems to be returning to their closeknit fashion. Beware

I have been reading Scout for a while. Is he that simple?

Is an opinion expressed by a Minister “dirty linen”?

Did The Scout read Ronald Toppin’s statements at the St. Michael South East BLP meeting about bringing Arthur back? Why dont you use even a fraction of that simple brain, Scout?

Nothing he ever says makes sense or comes true!

18. I don’t think that Arthur was preaching against fiscal prudence and reducing the deficit, he was saying that to try to do this too quickly is unnecessary and would plunge the island into further recession. Do you disagree with this?

1. The Prime Minister has said, lets make the adjustment over four years. Is that too short? Come on, Owen Arthur is politically being nasty and petty. IMF fiscal adjustment programmes are no more than 18 months! Get real. Either we do it ourselves or the IMF does it for us.

Arthur is playing politics. And is being paid by UWI and using its facilities free to do it. Some questions need to be asked.

2. The reason why so many ppl have commented here is not because anyone fears Arthur. He has to deal with Mia first and then David and at 60, with such a corrupt record, he has a tough time ahead of him. The reason is because Arthur’s hypocrisy stirs up emotions.

I think David Thompson should say, “Go ahead, make my day!”

19. Scout, I may be black but I am not forgiving like my siblings. I am NOT FORGIVING David Thompson for not dealing with issues and I sure is hell am NOT forgiving OWEN ARTHUR for all this shite that we have found ourselves in!

I am young (kinda) but not ignorant! I can still see that there is a fight for power within in the Opposition. Furthermore, what is wrong with David Estwick saying what he would like even if it isn’t what WE the people of Barbados or PM would like!

Don’t think that I don’t get your point! However, I think we are old enough to disagree but yet agree!

Another thing – I would like to see how many people would go without a salary for a month in order to save THEIR country!

I would as a Young (kinda) person I WOULD!

20. going without a salary for a month would be asking too much in these hard economic times. However cutting some social programs that does not affect the elderly and children would help out in the long ran.

21. WHO IS TO GO WTHOUT A SALARY ?
    YOU DID NOT SPECIFY.

MAN WUNNA ALWAYS CUSSING PEOPLE IN PUBLIC LIFE
    that is a bajan pastime.
    next , wunna gwine be cussing Thompson
    wunna cussed Sandiford
    wunna cussed Barrow
    wunna cussed Richie
    wunna cussed Tom
    wunna cussed everybody
    wunna aint nuh good. just miserable as ass especially the women who when duh belly hurt duh wid menstrual pains , dey dont give a george bush about anybody. And de men aint nuh better-pimps !! always looking for handouts. some people in barbados sick as rasshole ! people on this blog annoy me by the shite -narrow minded shite they spout

22. fireyuh fullof hot air.

23. Iam Not Anonymouse Avatar
    Iam Not Anonymouse

In case wunnuh didn’t noh, some people wukking fuh de guvment does guh months widout getting pay. People dat suppose tuh get pay eva two weeks!

24. worse government ever

25. DLP is the worse ever

26. J.C
    Maybe you’re not aware of it or maybe you’re rich enough but a vast majority of middle and lower class bajans live on weekly wages or monthly salaries.Furthermore many have got to decide which bills to pay when they recieve that money. In other words they live from payday to payday, tell me how can they afford to give up a week or month’s pay?

27. OWEN ARTHUR I LOVE YOU; YOU ARE BOSS

28. To Fire’s – “Owen Arthur I love you” post

absolutely scary…. How about love for Barbados….

29. @
    IGNORAMUS
    DLP is the worse ever

You are really ignorant for the correct word is ‘WORST! LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLO so IGNORANT!