Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

To standing room only former Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered a speech to an appreciative audience at the Errol Barrow Centre for Creative Imagination last evening. Since demitting office Arthur has said very little regarding the current state of the economy and related matters. Thanks to the economic society at UWI, Cave Hill which is comprised of campus students, Barbadians got to hear Arthurโ€™s views on the most topical issue of the day; the economy.

For nearly two hours former Prime Minister Arthur systematically attacked the governmentโ€™s policies. He labelled the economic strategy of the government as one prescribed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and suggested there is no precedent in world history for austerity measures leading to prosperity. He was very uncharitable towards Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance by suggesting the government has resorted to managing the economy based on indices and ratios.

Of concern to Arthur was what he discerned to be a lack of government policies which are transformational. He reminded the audience that under WTO rules several incentives currently used to attract business to Barbados will be dismantled. Also the double taxation treaty with Canada which has seen the exclusivity it gave to Barbados becoming the country with the third largest concentration of Canadian assets will become fair game when the economic partnership agreement with Canada in the pipeline is rolled out. Lastly the 50% exports which Barbados currently enjoys with the region will come under threat in 2015 when under the economic partnership rules the common external tariffs currently in position will have to be removed.

As a way forward he identified the need to leverage the uniqueness of the Bajan Brand to lead Barbados from the economic morasses it now finds itself.ย  He called for proud Barbadians to rise up and show the entrepreneurial drive which is required to build a home grown solution to our problem. He disagreed with the suggestion of a wage freeze and instead called for an incomes policy which is designed to reward effort. Of interest was his support to continue our tertiary level education and to resist cuts, a contrast to the call from Professor Avinash Persaudโ€™s recent call to cut tertiary spending. He was highly critical of the governmentโ€™s guarantee of the Four Seasonโ€™s debt which he said adds negatively to Barbadosโ€™ debt profile.

Arthur after a two and a half year lay-off delivered his speech with confidence, during the Q&As he was at his most ruthless when responding to a question from Nation journalist Wade Gibbons. It was interesting to observe the lukewarm interplay between Arthur and Mottley when the nightโ€™s event was concluded. If one is to judge from the standing ovations by the BLPites in attendance, it is obvious Arthur still commands support within the party.

BU has received Arthurโ€™s speech with the compliments of Sylvan Greenidge.

179 responses to “Owen Arthur Says Current Policies Of Government Will Lead To Domestic Recession”

1. @Brutus

The BU Library #29 has been updated with Arthurโ€™s speech, sorry for the inconvenience. Again thanks to Sylvan Greenidge!

BU have transferred the few comments made to the speech to the substantive blog to ensure good flow.

2. Just out and perhaps of interest.

http://www.imf.org/external/np/sec/pr/2010/pr1066.htm

Statement by an IMF Mission to Barbados
    Press Release No. 10/66
    February 26, 2010

Marcello Estevรฃo, chief of an International Monetary Fund Mission to Barbados, issued the following statement today in Bridgetown, following a five-day staff visit:

โ€œBarbados has been severely affected by the global economic crisis. In particular, the deep global recession has curbed tourism, affecting related activities such as construction and trade which, in turn, depressed aggregate demand and raised unemployment. As a result, economic activity contracted significantly in 2009 after remaining broadly stagnant in 2008.

โ€œDespite these hardships, policy moves and other developments have limited the adverse effects of the crisis. International reserves are at comfortable levels, among other things thanks to a successful foreign debt placement last year and the SDR allocation. In addition, authorities implemented measures to alleviate the impact of the crisis on the population. However, as a result of these measures and, more importantly, of the economic cycle, the fiscal deficit surged, and the public debt now stands above 100 percent of GDP.

โ€œLooking forward, while economic activity in Barbados will improve as the world economy gradually expands, the recoveryโ€™s timing is quite uncertain. In particular, significant improvements in labor market conditions in major developed countries will likely lag the rebound in economic activity and curb international travel. Despite this uncertain outlook, the high level of public debt limits the room for further government spending. Moreover, the high degree of openness of the Barbadian economy limits the impact of changes in government spending on domestic economic activity.

โ€œAgainst this backdrop, fiscal consolidation seems to be the appropriate strategy. Reducing government spending, increasing tax collection efficiency, and broadening the tax base would support the exchange rate regime and improve the governmentโ€™s balance sheet. Moreover, credible and sustainable measures can actually raise medium-term growth, as better debt dynamics and lower pressure on external reserves would raise the private sectorโ€™s willingness to invest in Barbados. Thus, the authoritiesโ€™ intention to push forward a medium-term fiscal consolidation strategy is very welcome.โ€

3. From what Bush Tea heard of Arthur’s speech I have come to the realization that he has been doing the Parliament a great service over the last two years by staying away…

Purely political trite – designed to impress his yardfowls.

In any case, Bush Tea’s position is simply this. I judge ‘experts’ by their fruit…. as a direct result, the bushman will NOT take seriously anyone from a failed background who feels themselves qualified to advise me.

….Hard to forget that Arthur’s personal history is one of total failure….. family, work, finances (except for unexplained wealth)

Listening to him is much like taking economic advice from Jamaicans like LIB and Dictionary.

OBVIOUSLY the present situation in which we find ourselves is LARGELY a result of policies over the past 20 years….. 14 of which Arthur directed…

Who is to say that the IMF advice is not now the best and ONLY options that remain available to us?

NO ONE with any sense, can expect to spend more than their earn- every year – for extended periods, without eventually being called to order by the banker.

OF COURSE WE WILL HAVE TO PAY BACK – AND DEARLY.

4. Mar 11 5th Tom Adams Memorial Lecture Grande Salle 7:30 p.m.
    Topic: “The Value of Political Confrontation, Transparency and
    National Reputation in a Crisis” Speaker: Mr. Rawdon Adams,(the guy with the funny name lol)
    Come one come all, hear ye hear ye… See the proof that Thompy could be related in trut’…! LOL

5. Negroman // February 26, 2010 at 10:09 AM

No Dogs, No Jews, NO Bajans…!

6. @Rawdon

Tell us more about this lecture. Hate to think you would not have alerted the BU family.

7. David

Was this not on the news today? A statement from an IMF fact finding team that just concluded a short stint here.

8. @BT

Yes it was, good timing wouldn’t you say?

9. owing after’s lecture is a sick trick the blp played on Barbadians. the young economists is a undercover BLP organ. You know what throw them away. you see the young girl who introduced owing after. she body language betray she. and they want people to believe they independent and got no political axe. but this is how the blp operates. they set up these undercover groups who try to make people believe they independent but they exist to do the blp’s dirty work. you aint see owing after like a break down old car. the man aint got no more energy. he could hardly read. he look tired, like somebody who unwell. i was there last night. i look at he good. he is a shadow of heself. he better go home and stop craving power. he continue to fool heseld but he aint no saviour of barbados. he should save heself. he got barbados in this mess. he borrowed like if borrowing would never go out of style. now barbados up to its neck in debt. i had a good laugh when it was over. mia face did set up. she like she didnt enjoy being there. blp disunity.

10. @BAFBFP
    Hi you renagade.Where have you been?

11. @ David

To be honest with you, I was hoping for some good timing from owing too…. after his sabbatical.

I really can’t figure what scene he on?

The Bush man was hoping that he would come with an honest, dispassionate assessment of the economic situation – hopefully aided by some intelligent discussions with Profs Howard, Downes and others who actually UNDERSTAND the situation.

Is that not the whole point of operating from a university?

Arthur COULD have taken the position that:

1 We are in serious trouble
    2 He was largely to blame for not planning for a rainy day.
    3 The current lot have very few options
    4 Some degree of PAIN is inevitable.
    …..after all that IS the reality.

Then he could have explored the possible options that are available.

He MUST surely know that the counter cyclical nonsense of which he spoke is unworkable in an economy where the national debt exceeds the GDP.

…fact is that we have reached the point where the IMF medicines are now the only options available….thanks to him.

This is so obvious that even LIB got it right….LOL

Coming from him, this would have helped to prepare Bajans for the inevitable, and even assisted with an earlier thrust to deal with the crisis.

…instead, he continues with the traditional worn out syndrome of ranting and raving along the failed political lines….. only guaranteed to enhance divisiveness and strife when unity and focus is vital.

Stupppppes!!

12. @ AC

…stop trying to mislead the BU family do!!

What BAFBFP renegade scarce what??!!

You feel that we ain’t notice that the two of wanna went missing simultaneously for the last few weeks…?

…and that BAFBFP has not been the same since he get back…..? rotfl

13. A point Arthur made in the speech:

However, to realise this potential we must make the most creative use of our land. But, it is simply inconceivable that we will succeed in basing our development on the exports of services by having our land use policies determined largely by agrarian considerations.

Not sure why he felt he had to make this point. BU continue to grapple with the logic of the arguments being presented against a background of capital markets which dried up, Arthur referred to Barbados attracting only 29 million in FDI in 2009, we have tourism understandably contracting given the global financial meltdown, tourism numbers are down globally except for a few exceptions. The bottom-line all over the world countries are grappling with the mess. We should come together and show what all that free education has done for us.

@sylvan

The young lady who introduced Arthur was either awestruck by the task or she is a BLPite!

14. Some of the reported comments from the speech do not seem to appear in the written text, so maybe Owen threw in some extra material for dramatic effect.

The only direct comment I can find about counter cyclical policies is this:

“Some say that we cannot afford such countercyclical policies. I say that we
    need a countercyclical attitude. I can discern no evidence of it.”

I also don’t see the comments about what the deficit would be if GDP were measured correctly.

15. @Brutus

It is interesting to note he mentioned Clyde’s name on at least one occasion. Obviously Clyde continues to work closely with the former PM who dubbed him deputy.

To your point Arthur worked hard to stay on script but at times he couldn’t resist, the feeling to be in the spotlight must have been an exhilarating feeling.

To be quite honest watching Mia Mottley’s reactions all night told a story in itself.

16. I guess that Arthur must honestly believe that it makes sense to sell off our lands to foreigners in search of foreign exchange.

…no wonder he could not feed his family prior to his access to the public purse.

…But then again, we are hearing the same from my second favorite political speaker – Doc Estwick about selling assets… (Lamie Craig remains my Number 1 speaker)

Madness!!

To my mind, the economic realities that await us down the road is one in which it will be much wiser to own real assets like land, farming and manufacturing hardware and infrastructural and productive plant, than it will be to own cash and other liquid funds.

If you are on the verge of losing your job, do you rush to sell off your home cheap so you can rent? … or do you ensure that you secure the basics needed to live without a salary for a while?

Do you bring cheap strangers into your home to do the work needed? or do you have a heart-to-heart chat with your family and agree on a survival approach together?

All of our politicians are jokers. But Arthur is the number one joker for not having benefited from 14 years of experience….. and now two years of reflection..

17. The speech includes its fair share of posturing and cheap political shots, and as noted by Trained Economist it would seem that Owen’s measurement of the deficit was fudged.

However in the context of the overall speech none of these things are really very important.

Some of the critical issues raised are as follows:

– government’s medium term fiscal strategy is flawed and tries to move too quickly from an excessive deficit position to a surplus position. The private sector and household sector are unlikely to be able to pick up the slack and the recession may deepen as a result.
    – the medium term strategy also leaves no elbow room for government to do anything creative or transformational to help the economy recover
    – there are a series of threats in the near future that are independent of the global recession and require proactive policy adjustments to avoid further decimation of the economy
    – the range of social entitlements is too heavy for the economy to carry and there must an adjustment in public expenditure. Cuts however should be targeted and not across the board and should not erode the growth of social capital which is still needed for our development

His recommended solutions include
    – we must focus on the Barbados Brand
    – we must make the best and fullest economic use of our people and our land
    – tertiary education is critical to achieve the range and cluster of skills needed to move Barbados to the next level of service exports
    – a genuine incomes policy that sets new benchmarks for rewarding effort must be at the core of any programme to increase competitiveness; this would create an enabling environment for higher productivity in both the public and private sectors
    – we should prefer the Barbados model above unimaginative IMF and World Bank prescriptions, as we have done in the past

18. A definition of agrarian is ” pro-farmer: promoting the interests of farmers, especially by seeking a more equitable basis of land ownership.

According to Owing After :No farms for Barbados. Just Golf courses and luxury hotels and houses.
    Afterall he said “we must make the best and fullest economic use of our land.”

19. owing after prove clyde griffith right the other night. he is a spent force. he hardly take part in the business of parliament but can go up to cave hill and talk his nonsense. shame on this political dead horse! he look like he can hardly save heself but believe still he is the savior of barbados. why he didn’t save we in the 14 years he was prime minister? owing after like he trying real hard to take up where malik de comedian leff off. wuh loss! wuh loss!

20. Big Up People Power

21. mash up and buy back getting vexed..

Mr. Reality
    โ If Me Never Run โž

22. david, you say the young lady was awestruck by owing after. awestruck by what? if the man owing after is now, she aint got no taste. owing after aint no sex symbol. never was. he short and ugly like hell. he remind me of dracula when he open he mouth. the young lady is a undercover BLP hack on a political mission. the BLP on cave hill recruiting students for over a year now. that is a open secret. the same BLP which oppose educating the masses. educating the children of plantation workers is a dangerous thing, grantley adams said.

23. @ Brutus

What Barbados brand?
    Is he not still on with this CSME nonsense? seeking to justify the migration of caricom non skilled people into Barbados? does that build a ‘Bajan’ brand?
    Is this the same owing after who openly said that he would seek out foreigners to come here and underbid bajans? even professionals?..and did that..?

Please tell us how this is making the best use of our people and land

Let us not even talk about his land policies…

The tertiary education debate is ongoing and you can bet that owing is on the wrong side of that too

Finally the bit about the Barbados brand over the ‘IMF’ brand is nothing but emotional hogwash.

Arthur was ONLY able to defy the IMF as a result of the policies set up by Sandi.
    Obviously if I have money in the bank I can cuss the banker.

Now that Arthur have run us in to record debt over the last decade, BORROWED, wasted away and stolen our money, how the hell can he be advising Thompson to cuss the banker?

Stuppppppes

24. Down with the damned DLP and the blasted BLP!!!

With hordes of the broad masses and middle classes normally receiving meagre susbsistence gross wages ( BDS $ 150 – $ 250 per week ) and gross salaries ( BDS $ 1200 – $ 1600 per month ), and with small business people normally making gross revenues of BDS $ 500 – $ 1000 per week, it must be posited that these kinds of wages and salaries and revenues are one set of indications that Barbados will continue to go deeper and deeper into depression at this stage, as the cost of living, the cost of doing business remain alarmingly high, government and private debt levels increase tremendously and the money circulation process become seriously compromised.

These very small and meagre incomes – although terrible in themselves – are NOT the causes of this current localized depression. For, TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE ( ALL OTHER TYPES), EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES, IMPORTING THE “PRICES” OF GOODS AND SERVICES FROM OVERSEAS, HIGH MARK UPS AND RENTS IN THE PRIVATE SECTORS ETC., are the REAL causes of this localized depressions.

To narrow it down, it is DLP and BLP Governments that HAVE – WITHIN THE LAST 30 YEARS OR SO – CAUSED ANOTHER LOCALIZED DEPRESSION – THROUGH THEIR IGNORANT ARCHAIC FISCAL, FINANCIAL AND MONETARY LAWS AND POLICIES.

The resulting individual, private, governmental and social behaviours that help see domestic money income costs in most personal and productive and financial sectors being pushed upwards consistently in the long run and which logically then see other behaviours in those same categories push demand for and supply of domestic product and services downwards across certain similiar time ranges in those same sectors eventually until they become merged ( downwards ) in the long run, are very important in analysing why Barbados is in depression today and will continue being so.

Unless these behaviours are changed into the opposite directions from where they are now, as a result of specific changes in national laws and policies that intend to bring about changed behaviours in those individual private social governmental sectors that themselves will help see domestic money income costs in most personal and productive and financial sectors being consistently pushed downwards and which logically then see other behaviours in those same categories push demand for and supply of many saleable products and services upwards at similar points in time in those same sectors until they eventually become diverged ( upwards and downwards ) into the long run, then Barbados will remain in a severe depression.

The drop in tourism receipts, foreign investment, remittences and such like at this time has NOT caused the domestic money income costs in most local personal productive and financial sectors to be pushed up consistently in the long run and then logically for there to be seen behaviours in those same categories that would push demand for and supply of domestic products and services downwards across certain similar time ranges in those same sectors eventually until they become merged in the long run.

So, whereas, these external variables are in themselves effects that will, say, contribute to a slow down in the so-called Barbados economy, and which mean therefore that they are NOT the causes of our localized depression, domestic variables are in themselves the causes that will produce effects of a localized depression ( to the extent that the national component of the economy is bigger than the foreign component of the economy – which will clearly too indicate that the Trinidad and Tobagonian component of the economy is what has been preventing more than it is allowing the Barbados economy from suffering further declines).

Hence, were a PDC Government in office today – measured from the time the DLP got in in January 2008 – we would have started the process of Abolishing TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES WITH THE BARBADOS DOLLAR, ABOLISHING MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE OF MAKING GOODS AND SERVICES ZERO-“PRICED” AT ALL POINTS OF ENTRY, DRASTICALLY REDUCING THE SIZE AND OPERATIONS OF THE STATE ( a target of about 13 14 000 partners – NOT WORKERS – in another two to three years ) – in order to make greater money – AND MORESO PRODUCTIVE MONEY – increased disposable incomes and business revenues – available to individuals, businesses and other entities in this country, which in turn will help bring on greater consumer and investment spending in the country which in turn will lead to increased demand for and supply of saleable goods and services and other relevant good things in this country in the long run.

25. Barbados cannot have its cake and eat it too,โ€ he cautioned, adding that โ€œthe people in St. Vincent, St. Lucia (and), Guyana are imposing the Common External Tariff (CET) on goods coming from the rest of the world to allow them to be able to buy Barbados goods, which we could not sell them without that CETโ€, said Owen Arthur.
    ——————–
    Is Owen Arthur a traitor?

26. Dear people of PDC, is there any way that you can put what you wrote and write in language that a simple person can understand? I am tempted to dismiss it all as the ravings of lunatics but I cannot understand more than a few words.

Yours hoping for clarity,

A confused reader

27. @Bush Tea,

Part of Owen’s argument is that 50% of our exports of goods go to other CSME territories, and the bulk of this production is done by small and medium sized indigenous companies. At present our CSME exports are protected by the common external tariff (CET) but this protection will disappear over the next few years. Our CSME neighbours will be able to buy cheaper goods from Europe.

His question is, since these countries are making a significant contribution to Barbados by buying our overpriced exports, could we not allow them in exchange to export low-priced labour into Barbados?

Bush Tea, you are entitled to disagree with CSME, but how would you address the issue identified by Owen?

28. @ Brutus

First of all the basis of Arthur’s logic is flawed. IN ANY CASE, no matter what concessions we give to CSME countries, …come the deadline for the CET, our exports will be under threat ANYWAY.

No one buys more expensive goods when cheaper, better alternatives are available.

….what is Arthur saying? that if we give up all that these countries are asking now, they will buy expensive Bajan products when they have a choice?

Our ONLY real answer is to RE-ENGINEER our economy so that our products become competitive -NOT ONLY TO CARICOM, but even globally.

Now why are we uncompetitive?

1 – Because of wastage, inefficiency, thievery and lack of vision.

2 – Because of lack of visionary leadership to correct these problems and to address issues of productivity.

3 – Because people like Arthur (and now Thompson) continue to lead Bajans to believe that we somehow deserve to live champagne lives on mauby pockets.

What needs to be done?

1 – Persons with influence need to explain to Barbados that the ONLY way to maintain our lifestyle is to WORK at the level that can PAY for that lifestyle (and also for past nonsense)

2 – The system of political, social and lodge-based cronyism that defines this country is our biggest enemy to productivity.

3 – Our whole national pay system should be changed BY LAW to one of pay FOR WORK DONE….. productivity pay. There are far too many parasites who draw big paychecks for doing nothing useful.

4 – Creativity and innovation should be encouraged and rewarded. This is what the university should be promoting for example- rather than Sir Hilary pushing numbers which directly dictate the free dollars that he is able to get his hands on.

These things are possible ONLY as a result of strong, visionary, honest and loving leadership.

….well I guess that explains why we are as good as dead….!

29. Bushman
    Now that I know AC went missin’ I feel lil’ uncomfortable…! I got dese t’ings growin’ outta my forehead dat din dey before…! Help mah…

But tell me, and we are on the same side here, how do you measure the productivity of a PS or a Dep PS or a SAS or SRO, or any number or variety of senior civil servants that there are out there? On the creativity and innovation scale you would certainly expect that they would not score at all, so you got to have some measurement of them for productivity purposes..?

30. My useless opinion is that Barbados’ Missions and overseas agencies need a heads up on the areas of activity that Barbados can offer the rest of the world, the available skillset and business operations (product and service) and be prepared (through appropriate staffing) to SELL this propensity to various richer markets around the world…!

THE AGENDA AND STAFFING OF OVERSEAS AGENCIES NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED…!

31. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@ Brutus // February 26, 2010 at 10:10 PM

“Some of the reported comments from the speech do not seem to appear in the written text, so maybe Owen threw in some extra material for dramatic effect.” [Those reported comments not in the speech came mainly in the Q&A session following.]

32. I went to school long but not regular, so that probably explains why I believe that until the powers that be; limit the free for all importation of junk by companies that do not generate or contribute one cent in foreign exchange to the country, does little to assist and encourage those that do and cares not about reducing the dependency on imported food, we will be forever at the mercy of fickle tourists.

I also believe that as long as politicians are free to spend the people’s money with favour, without fear, we will always have a problem.

@BT
    Our whole national pay system should be changed BY LAW to one of pay FOR WORK DONEโ€ฆ.. productivity pay. There are far too many parasites who draw big paychecks for doing nothing useful.
    How does one measure the productivity of parliament and the civil service?
    Why do you think these people chose to wuk fuh de guvuhment, not to live the same lifestyle you just mention? How you gine now come and tell dem bout productivity?

33. Knowledge
    WHATโ€™S YOURS

Get Wiser
    Population is getting higher

34. General Lee

You don’ feel that you an’ me sayin’ de same damn t’ing…? Wah you repeatin’ for…?

By de way, who was it dat gi’e Allan Fields a Sirship..?

35. @ BAFBFP

LOL, you playing innocent too….. I waiting to hear how AC come on this disappearing act…

@ General Lee and BAFBFP

How to measure productivity?

Easier than you may think.

Step 1
    Identify the reason that the job exist and the objectives to be realized.

N.b. (if no such reason or measurable objectives can be identified then the job is NOT needed)

Step 2
    2. Establish metrics to measure success in achieving set objectives
    N.b. (a P.S. or any worker, can have set performance measures to complete various tasks and duties much like the ones published by the FTC for BL&P and C&W – an overall performance score is easily compiled monthly, quarterly and annually)

For Politicians and other policy makers like Boards etc, the national or corporate results are directly attributable to them.

…and yes General, many lazy folks tend to seek out jobs where they can benefit without commensurate contributions. They are PARASITES….

Productivity pay is like parasitin…. lol

36. @BAFBFP
    What part of “I went to school long but not regular” you didn not understand.

The name on the tip of my tongue, but I just cannot get it call. I know that Kyffin Simpson got knighted too and before that David Seale and John… Wait! all of them does use fx, I wonder what is their net usage/earnings ratio?

37. In third world countries you can longer have large disparities between the super rich and the the poor majority… it’s a big big time bomb situation tick tock-ing away…

38. @Bush Tea,

That was a good response and I can agree with most of what you said. I was afraid that you would say, as you have done in the past, that you are not paid to come up with the solutions. I think we need to have more national debate on potential solutions.

I am glad you made the argument that our exports will be under threat regardless of how we treat our CSME neighbours. The same thought had occurred to me.

Would re-engineering our economy and increasing competitiveness not include local companies being able to source cheaper inputs (including labour) from throughout the region?

Could we also not leave certain activities like low-cost, high volume manufacturing and most agricultural production to our CSME partners, and focus on high value added services? Restructuring our economy may be easier within the CSME umbrella than trying to face the world on our own.

Finally, CSME aside, I don’t think that your recommendations differ a lot from what Owen said. We all have a sense of the major things that need to be done to restructure our economy and our society but ultimately we have to be able to execute the plan, and this is where we are extremely weak. I do not have a sense that we have the quality of human resources necessary – perhaps this is an argument to keep importing certain skills – and developing the skills internally and changing our culture and attitudes as required may take several generations.

39. @Dennis Jones,

Most of the real juicy stuff seems to have been in the Q&A – sorry I missed it.

40. Productivity in the civil service is not in the best interest of people currently employed there, as that would signal the death knell for a lot of people. The civil service has operated like a social agency for years. These benefits will not be given up without a fight and after the fiasco in the early 90’s, it will be very brave, or foolish politician that broaches that subject.

41. But Brutus, you want the bushman to lie? It is absolutely true that I do NOT get paid to solve these problems….. and rest assured that the ones that I DO get paid to solve are short lived….

Re-engineering our economy has nothing to do with sourcing cheaper raw materials as such. It has much more to do with leveraging creativity and ingenuity.

Which cheap raw materials led to the solar water heating industry?

Why has this been allowed to stagnate?

What happened to the solar electric initiative at UWI since the prof died?

How does a country that could attract the very pinnacle of the tourist cream (with a scheduled Concorde flight) sink to the level of counting destitute travelers as a measure of ‘tourism success?)

Face it Brutus, a fool and his money are soon parted…..

….and I am SO tired of the old, dated cliche about ‘facing the challenges collectively’. THAT WENT OUT WITH WORLD WAR 2

The critical factors for success for a while now have been:
    Wisdom
    Creativity
    Ingenuity
    Vision
    Flexibility
    Adaptability
    Persistence

….if anything, size is a liability.

42. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Brutus, it’s no so much that it was juicy stuff, but by getting interaction, the dynamics change.

It would not seem extraordinary to me for Mr Owen to be asked to discuss his speech further in front of a panel or many/several forms. He could be ‘taken to task’ by ‘experts’ and/or face a studio/phone audience. To my mind, it would be very normal to think that he would be the next guest on The People’s Business. But, that would then project him into a position that he does not yet want to be placed in.

Monday’s private/public consultation meetings should be an interesting entree after Mr Owen’s appetizers.

Food for thought.

43. It is becoming clearer to me as “an average bajan” that neither the current BLP nor DLP leadership have the skills needed to help Barbados navigate these dangerous economic waters we are in.

With all their “big” UWI talk, practical solutions that can be executed in a controlled manner seem to be missing, with no saviours in sight.

It appears to me that we need some national truth and reconciliation in order to get us on the path to Bajan prosperity.

In all the DLP & BLP “sweet talk” I see no real actionable discussions on how we become less dependent on tourism and start creating real business expansion, with “bajans” as the key commodity.

What is the sense of having a high literacy rate but no mechanism to empower the youth of our nation in an entrepreneural sense?

It’s simply time for new players in the Barbados political stage; and fast, because the good ole DLP and BLP boys and girls are killing us!

44. After 2 years BU is becoming more and more disenchanted by the day at how the plot under the new DLP government is rolling out. Thompson like Spartacus on his winged chariot promised a lot but two and one half years later the financial crisis not withstanding the feeling of dรฉjร  vu has started to overwhelm the BU household.

Arthur in his speech continued to defend his open immigration policy on the basis of 50% of our exports bought on the regional market. That position seems to have been dealt with by the BU family on this blog and others over time.

Arthur continues to harp on the need for Barbados to facilitate mobility of labour, a laudable economic concept which worked well in the 50s when the world was underdeveloped in more ways than one. Are we serious? The EU model which is used as a good example of a union is built on the model of harmonizing within a governance (policy framework) trade, financial market and labour. Why would Arthur continue to push the concept of labour disproportionately so compared to a single currency, trade and settlement(financial) issues? Arthur like others continue to focus on the economic considerations at the expense of the social. In the meantime โ€ฆ

45. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

“Arthur continues to harp on the need for Barbados to facilitate mobility of labour, a laudable economic concept which worked well in the 50s when the world was underdeveloped in more ways than one. Are we serious? The EU model which is used as a good example of a union is built on the model of harmonizing within a governance (policy framework) trade, financial market and labour. Why would Arthur continue to push the concept of labour disproportionately so compared to a single currency, trade and settlement(financial) issues? Arthur like others continue to focus on the economic considerations at the expense of the social. In the meantime โ€ฆ” [Caricom has an established framework and plans for labour mobility, so focusing on moving people is more natural than on other regional intergration issues. Mr Arthur stressed common currency in his Q&A, citing a certain sizeable savings from trade for the region in settlement payments that would free FX for other purposes. He also lauded the move to common governance by the OECS, indicating that Barbados might have missed the boat by not seeing its commonality with that region and its objectives. His comments noted a dislike for an ‘antagonistic’ approach to Caricom neighbours while having a ‘loving’ attitude to non-Caricom countries.]

46. Does Caricom have the equivalent of the EU parliament? Arthur in his speech cited the recent signing of a new treaty by OECS countries which will give teeth to a central body vested with executive powers in the sub region.

Let us face the reality, the commitment which the OECS countries have demonstrated to an economic union is light years ahead of Caricom. Jamaica for the very reason cited by Arthur given their negligible trade with Caricom makes them disinterested. Trinidad may think with its oil and saturated capital market it can continue to play boo peep with Caricom. Arthur as head of the CSME appeared to push free movement at the expense of the other tactical requirements i.e, trade, currency/financial markets, settlement and executive governace structure.

Can someone remind us why Barbados under the leadership of Arthur for 14 long years did not move closer to an OECS partnership? Was it something advocated by the then opposition as a way forward? Was there a referendum on it?

47. I find it amusing how all the old party hacks have come out with their long knives to carve away at Owen’s speech. The man has been out of power for 2 years, is not even head of the opposition, and still the absolute hysteria in the responses on the blogs.

Why are Thompson et al so afraid? Do they fear being exposed for the frauds they are?

48. Barbadosโ€™ problems in the economy have nothing to do with a lack of ideas but lack of an ability to implement the ideas.

There is absolutely no incentive for politicians either BLP or DLP to make the hard choices needed to propel the countryโ€™s development. Poor performance is rewarded and accepted daily by the population at large. If I can get away with D+ performance why should I be a A+ performer. Look at our accepted ZR culture as an example. Piss poor behaviour in that โ€œindustryโ€ yet many of us turn a blind eye and use it daily. There is absolutely no accountability and until there is, โ€œgreatโ€ ideas will continue to be discussed but not implemented

The hammer about to drop!! Because and the end of the day you can only get away with poor performance for so long, no matter how well it is disguised or how strong the dollar is or how many press briefing sessions you hold!! If you ain’t doing nothing it WILL show eventually!!

49. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

A few ZR men play the fool. By and large this mode of transportation provides a good service. I hate it when people generalized. OMG stop it !

ACCEPTED ZR CULTURE ?
    WTF is that ?

50. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

Everybody know that the PDC is a good party with lots of brilliant ideas but ideas without finance dont stand a chance—poop ! poop ! fart !!!