Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

To standing room only former Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered a speech to an appreciative audience at the Errol Barrow Centre for Creative Imagination last evening. Since demitting office Arthur has said very little regarding the current state of the economy and related matters. Thanks to the economic society at UWI, Cave Hill which is comprised of campus students, Barbadians got to hear Arthur’s views on the most topical issue of the day; the economy.

For nearly two hours former Prime Minister Arthur systematically attacked the government’s policies. He labelled the economic strategy of the government as one prescribed by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and suggested there is no precedent in world history for austerity measures leading to prosperity. He was very uncharitable towards Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance by suggesting the government has resorted to managing the economy based on indices and ratios.

Of concern to Arthur was what he discerned to be a lack of government policies which are transformational. He reminded the audience that under WTO rules several incentives currently used to attract business to Barbados will be dismantled. Also the double taxation treaty with Canada which has seen the exclusivity it gave to Barbados becoming the country with the third largest concentration of Canadian assets will become fair game when the economic partnership agreement with Canada in the pipeline is rolled out. Lastly the 50% exports which Barbados currently enjoys with the region will come under threat in 2015 when under the economic partnership rules the common external tariffs currently in position will have to be removed.

As a way forward he identified the need to leverage the uniqueness of the Bajan Brand to lead Barbados from the economic morasses it now finds itself.  He called for proud Barbadians to rise up and show the entrepreneurial drive which is required to build a home grown solution to our problem. He disagreed with the suggestion of a wage freeze and instead called for an incomes policy which is designed to reward effort. Of interest was his support to continue our tertiary level education and to resist cuts, a contrast to the call from Professor Avinash Persaud’s recent call to cut tertiary spending. He was highly critical of the government’s guarantee of the Four Season’s debt which he said adds negatively to Barbados’ debt profile.

Arthur after a two and a half year lay-off delivered his speech with confidence, during the Q&As he was at his most ruthless when responding to a question from Nation journalist Wade Gibbons. It was interesting to observe the lukewarm interplay between Arthur and Mottley when the night’s event was concluded. If one is to judge from the standing ovations by the BLPites in attendance, it is obvious Arthur still commands support within the party.

BU has received Arthur’s speech with the compliments of Sylvan Greenidge.

179 responses to “Owen Arthur Says Current Policies Of Government Will Lead To Domestic Recession”

1. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

sylvan —go and wash that part of your anatomy where the sun does not shine because you are full of shit–poop !! poop ! fart !!!!–

shit !!!!!-
    yuhself

2. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

This Thread is dominated by a few assholes who feel that if they fart hard enough that they will be heard.

To you all I say shut-up assholes.

It is clear thar Owen has the full support of the wider masses and the DLP and its syncophants are uneasy whenver Owen speaks. The mere sound of Owen’s name send shivers down their spines.

IF THERE WERE ELECCTIONS NOW., GUEST WHO WOULD WIN ???

3. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

I do not agree with NEGROMAN
    calling for the country to be ungovernable.

This sounds like treason and an attempt to de-stabalise this blessed land.

I say NO to the proposal and I call for the goodly gentleman to get a grip of himself

4. Wait yuh allthink de Owen Arthur is moses or what. He is de one dat got the country in dis mess. Now the taxpayers gonna have to pay the piper.No more
    voodo economics from Owen.

@Bush Tea
    Can’t let the whole world know my business But if you must know let say all
    well that ends well.

@BAFBFP

Now yuh have horns . OH my god!Need topost another new and improved picture on de blogLOL…………….

@BushTea
    B

5. @FIRE

Yuh got plenty FIRE in yuh wire! FIRE ABLAZE! YUH need a water hose to clam yuh down.
    Every body has a right to their opinion
    asshole!

6. I would suggest that ‘Trained Economists’ comments above are fair and should be re-read for an understanding of the situation.

That said, Arthur made a comment ‘suggested there is no precedent in world history for austerity measures leading to prosperity’.

To counter this, I would say that there is also no precedent for the current recession, unless one counts 1939.

Therefore, one must be wary in acting ‘reactively’ and deliberatley forcing an economic uplift, rather than acting with caution and enacting fiscal prudence.

There is no doubt that fiscal prudence at this time will result is some deflation of the economy.

BUT, that is just the issue. That we must live a bit quieter for a time and live within our means.

To be honest, despite what I have seen of Porfessor Persaud’s and others recent claims / expectations, we are not looking at the uplift of a recovery, but at a continued longterm recession internationally.

Several Euopean countries are going through severe stress, it looks to be getting worse, if one takes the approach that debt ratings etc must be given credence for economic viability.

The US has another mortgage timebomb sitting, with a substantial number of mortgages with negative equity, which will soon be exacerbated by a recycling and repricing of the attached interest rates, to worse levels.

There is no doubt that the current US adminstration is still in the midst of muddy waters and has a ways to go.

If one thinks otherwise and acts using other bases for decisions, then one will be in for a nasty surprise.

Simply because, of the current internaitonal scenario, is why we need fiscal prudence.

In summary,

A few things the Gov’t has done right:

– remove the fuel subsidy, Barbadians must conserve driving and by this conserve foreign exhange…but Barbadians still drive like no tomorrow, even on weekends. I would still have put measures in place for diesel vehicles to be eased, due to distribution factors for business.

– Implemented free bus fare – a social aspect of economics and an attempt to put the Gov’t back in control of public transport

– Cut further impending public spending on infrastructure i.e. highway etc.

A few things no yet done that should have been, or no done right:

– VAT needs to be increased to 17.5%, there is no alternative, if you think otherwise then you are being fooled as to how bad things are, they are worse.

We need this to bring down public deficit and to put funds in place for assistance and injection into productive capacity ove the next five years.

– I am hearing rumours of reduction in assistance to those requiring medication from the drug service.

If this is true then it is very disturbing, this is NOT and area to be cut, I would warn severely against this.

– Implementation of mortgage protection, such that as the recession here continues, banks cannot foreclose without specific process, involving protection for the homeowners and an attempt to ensure that a collapse does not ensue.

This is not Gov’t guarantee, but simply legislation to stipulate a foreclosure process and timeline, to ensure that homeowners have every chance to have mortgages refinanced, if necessary stipulated by legislation and / or sell their own homes within a specified time, after a suitable grace period.

– capital gains tax on property and shares – Government is picking on little taxes and things and ignoring a signicant but fair tax that is used worldwide. Why?

As I said before, primary residential properties can be exempt or the gains rolled into the purchase of a new primary residence, so that the homeowner looking merely to upgrade will be protected.

Additionally, CGT can be at a specific rate say, 25%. Obviously, this would be subject to indexing over time, such that inflationary effects are minimised.

– Limiting of national expenditure. Electricity, due to the fossil fuel use, is expensive as an absolute and with its effect on foreign exchange.

This should be Government’s primary concern in cost reduction, across all Govnerment institutions, there should be an immediate drive to effect substantial usage reduction.

– programmes to encourage small busines that will use local value added and thus eliminate imported value added. i.e. anything where much local production factos are used rather than imported goods or part thereof.

– programmes to assist small hoteliers and encourage those who wish to set up small hotels.

– a programme to bring in hotel chains even if on a small scale.

The Four Seasons may have been such, but that involved expensive villa type activities and was not a tradional hotel.

I agree with Technician that Gov’t guarantee of such debt is questionable.

This are just a few thoughts, but make no mistake, we must be prudent right now and not dig a hole.

You may be surprised at economic events over the next year or two in USA, it is my belief that some have started celebrations a bit early. The economy has a ways to go.

7. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

how could people give so much credibility to a man who is blatantly mis-stating the facts.

8. @Trained Economist,

We understand that Arthur is a politician so we will take some things he says with a grain of salt. We also get it that he is playing with the deficit numbers.

However Arthur is also a respected and experienced economist with a lot of first hand knowledge about the Barbados economy, and some of what he says makes a lot of sense – do you not agree?

It would be a lot more helpful if you analyze some of the warnings and concerns he has identified and give your own recommendations on how to deal with them.

I am assuming of course that you want to be helpful, and that you are indeed a trained economist.

9. @Crusoe,

I don’t think that Arthur was preaching against fiscal prudence and reducing the deficit, he was saying that to try to do this too quickly is unnecessary and would plunge the island into further recession. Do you disagree with this?

Your capital gains tax suggestion is interesting. Do you have any expectation as to how this would affect foreign direct investment in Barbados, and ultimately our foreign reserves? How will it affect the international business sector? Do our major competitors for foreign direct investment have a capital gains tax, and if so, what is the range of tax rates?

10. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

Listen to me (ac)
    ——————————
    OWEN ARTHUR IS “Simply the BEST——–NOT 100% PERFECT
    We did not say that he was perfect
    No man is perfect

All of a sudden a man that run the country good for 14 years , he aint no good. Ungrateful bitches !

Within context :

Who is better than Arthur ?
    Thompson ?
    Darcy Boyce ?
    Governor of the C. Bank ‘ Worrell’
    Who ?
    Owen is the right man to deal with this situation. You all have said that he created the mess. Yet wunna blame it on the world situation. Which is it.

I heard somebody blaming Owen last week for some crap that I dont believe the person is really right in their head.

Hamilton Lashley said it correct. You people can be very cruel.

11. Can an executive chairman stop a “house for desalination plan” deal? Stay tuned, it will probably wa(l)ter(s) under a (low) bridge.

12. Scanning the local news today the lack of leadership at the Barbados Water Authority over the last decade sticks out like a sore thumb. This is not meant to be politically partisan, it is an undeniable fact.

BTW why is this Medium-Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) not widely available to the public? It is of interest that government as reported in the media intends for the revenue strategy to be reviewed by CARTAC, a jointly funded CARICOM/IMF agency.

13. Why some Barbadians despise eXcellence and the competently skilled and well learned Prime Minister Arthur beats me. Guess its easy to settle for less.

I admire Sara Palin for her self assurance and determination. We have good examples in Barbados, hardly a need for the bright boys from Washington after all Home Drums got de right beat.

14. ‘Fire’,

As has been explained many times, I will restate even if it takes you a bit longer to understand.

Yes, the current international economic situation is obviously affecting Barbados because our main revenue earner is tourism, which is directly derived from the well being of our visitor nations, who are being hammered right now.

However, the previous administration (your ‘run the country good for 14 years ‘), relied on the same thing that has got the good old USA in deep trouble i.e. extensive debt financing which created an artifical bubble, that burst.

With the USA, the bubble has not finished its burst, really. With Barbados, what we are left with is massive debt.

Now, the USA, over time, rely on its ingenuity and sheer size as the world largest economy to dig itself out, ‘possibly’.

That is a longer story that has not finished.

With Barbados, we have to address a difficult debt, not with chunking on more debt as is seemingly suggested by the above article, unless misquoted, but by fiscal prudence and strong belt-tightening.

Some are very cruel, but most here are here are not cruel, this is all fact as public knowledge.

Brutus,

As I already said above, fiscal prudence is mandatory now and it will deflate the economy somewhat.

That is life, we are not in wonderland.

However, well managed fiscal prudence will less ‘plunge us into recession’ than the actual international economic situation as aggravated by our debt level, which has put limitations on our management fiscally, all of which was discussed in detail on the blogs several years ago, as Trained Economist knows (if it is the same Trained Economist posting).

Note well that those discussions happened BEFORE the previous administration entered some of the significant debt committments.

Yet here we are discussing further EXACTLY what we said would be happening at this time.

Secondly, fiscal prudence such as marginally increasing the VAT rate, implementation of Capital Gains Tax etc, are not overly burdensome but fair and prudent measures that will address the scenario without severely stressing the economy, in my humble opinion.

In terms of the impact of CGT on International Business, the impact should be minimal.

CGT on those can be exempted, as those companies usually trade in internaitonal shareholdings.

CGT may impact the few individuals and groups who wish to develop Barbados property holdings, in many cases foreogn nationals, reaping rewards and then leaving.

There is no issue with that, as CGT is a tax on income.

Why should Barbados be laid bare for all (some would say prostrate) to develop, reap and leave?

No. CGT is fair and beneficial.

Just my question stands, as to why it has never been broached let alone implemented.

A case of protecting own interests?

15. ‘Fire’,

By the way, I am not cruel, indeed I am very fair and balanced.

If I were cruel I would approach the matter with a different tone and words.

Remember, that it was Arthur himself who, at a time of tightness, referred to the main solution as that of selling off Barbados?

Your words reflect your approach, my words reflect mine.

I address issues, not people.

I have no angst to the good gentleman, but I will address issues, after all, this is supposed to be a democracy where we speak freely, or not?

16. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@ David // February 28, 2010 at 11:13 AM

Words do matter.

Do you mean ‘sore’ thumb (or is your expression an equivalent to a ‘groan’ finger)?

Also, do you mean ‘Medium-Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) NOT widely available…’? It is very odd that much mention has been made of this so-called document, which seems so hard to find. At worst, I would expect copies would be available to tomorrow’s piublic/private consultation.

On BWA, I go back to a matter that begs questions about governance. BWA is broken and known to be inefficient, and we can now say badly led. So, why on Earth entrust to that structure a 60% increase in its rates as if that will fix it? Another tail wagging a dog. One should not pour things into a hole unless one knows that it is well (no pun) plugged.

17. Finally,

‘Fire et al’, I will commend Mr.Arthur for clever political action, as usual par excellence on this front.

He knows, that the economy is getting worse as expected and explained above.

He knows that due to the large debt level, the government has its fiscal flexibility stifled.

So, what does he do?

He accuses the Government policies of not working and that it is these that will cause the recession (that is already happening).

Thus, in a year or two, when things are worse, which is fairly unavoidable, even with fiscal prudence, due to the internaitonal economy, it is likely that we have a ways to go economically, wothout fiscal prudence we will be in deep trouble really.

He has therefore created a catch 22 for Government, damned if you do, damned if you do not, when he knows that fiscal prudence is the only true long term economic action.

Very clever indeed.

Unless of course he actually believes that increased debt to finance more spending makes sense.

In which case I have little else to say.

18. @LIB

Thanks

19. @Crusoe,

Everyone agrees that fiscal prudence is necessary, but you have not answered the question as to whether the government’s plan would move TOO QUICKLY to balance the budget and not leave enough elbow room to stimulate the economy in the interim.

I agree with you that the capital gains tax should be on the table for discussion.

You seem to favour targeting real estate gains. However:
    – in the current environment where prices are depressed and sale of properties are less frequent, this may not raise as much revenue as you might anticipate; we may have missed the boat on cashing in on the real estate boom
    – would we tax capital gains that accrued before the tax comes into effect? ie. if I bought a property in 1960 and sell it today would I pay tax on the entire gain over that period?
    – would this capital gains tax replace the property transfer tax and if so would the net increase in revenue be significant?
    – many properties in Barbados are owned through companies incorporated outside of Barbados which are not taxed in Barbados. If instead of selling the property outright I sell the shares in the foreign company would the capital gain be taxed in Barbados? If yes, how do we enforce this? If no, wouldn’t we miss out on most of the tax revenue?

20. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@Brutus

‘Everyone agrees that fiscal prudence is necessary’ [Do they? Not sure that a common definition of prudence exists, so one ‘prudent’ deficit may seem excessive or too low.

More generally, I do not think Mr Arthur was focusing much on speed of fiscal adjustment but more on structure. The impact of tax changes are not the same as spending changes and part of the thrust of his argument is that the choices matter a lot in terms of where the country will be directed (eg Will private sector productive sectors be left able to grow? Will various social/labour groups be given incentives to work harder/better etc.?) In addition, given the needs of development for small countries and what that means about deficit financing and debt is the adjustment from deficit to surplus envisaged over the next 5 years going to be good for future develoment?

There’s no simple answer to these kind of questions but they are at the core of any set of decisions.]

21. The MTFS is not available but PM Thompson referred to 9 objectives in an address to the Barbados Chamber of Commerce recently.

The specific objectives of the MTFS are to:
    i. Put Barbados’s public finances back on a sustainable footing.

ii. Ensure that a balanced budget is obtained by 2014/15 and a small fiscal surplus by 2015/16.

iii. Reduce central government’s debt to GDP ratio to near 70.0 per cent by 2017/18.

iv. Maintain an investment grade rating for Barbados.

v. Provide a stable fiscal framework that will enable the Government to better achieve national goals and development.

vi. Maintain macroeconomic stability through sustainable management of the fiscal deficit and debt.

vii. Increase productivity and international competitiveness.

viii. Return real GDP growth to the sustainable annual average rate of approximately 3.0 per cent by 2012.

ix. Ensure that Government’s social policy enhances the social welfare and well-being and quality of life of citizens particularly the most vulnerable persons/sectors in the society.

22. Tourism and Building Construction have been the mainstay of the Barbados economy.

Tourism has declined and construction has almost ground to a halt.

Revenue from offshore banking has also declined.

What are the real options for Barbados to recover from this recession?

Would like to see your opinion Dennis Jones.

23. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

The Barbados economy is one of boom and bust. The Barbados economy has always been a big challenge. You have to be a good batsman to bat on the wicket that is the Barbados economy. If you dont know what you are doing, you will run into trouble. Thankfully the electorate will save the day. I can talk in economic terms but I will not because our problem right now is David Thompson and the DLP and the mistake made by the electorate in 2008. This mistake was due to lies and the dark shadows operating behind the scenes to tell lies and operate against Owen Arthur gaining a 4th term. People such as the recently knighted.

I will talk simple politics : the DLP does not know what it is doing. They cannot handle the situation and they put us back to the same dreary unpredictable days when you did not know what would hit you next under Erskine Sandiford. Thompson might mean well but his old style cut throat politics is not the medicine we need right. IMF in yuh, IMF in yuh , IMF in yuh

24. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

Not only the electorate but somehow SHE is in there somewhere contributing to the mistake made by the electorate. When I saw the spread SHE was in there somewhere causing the BLP and Arthur some kind of undermining problem. Do I hear collusion of some sort. I honestly dont have that information but there are dreams and there are visions and people see things . I am asking the question

Did SHE collude with David to bring about the result of the last election ????

25. fire, fire…. you are a narrow-minded BLP clown. Owing after best economist my …s.
    owing after aint no great economist. only for narrow-minded clowns like you who rely on blp handouts.
    if owing after was a great economist, barbados would have gone through real change for the better when he had a chance. he taxed big time and borrowed big time. he did not prepare barbados for a rainy day.
    give we a break with your nonsense, fire. why dont you set yourself on fire.

26. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

so who is better sylvan

give me a name nuh

and stop living in fantasy
    what change
    with all your ideas and the ideas of your clan
    why are we up a creek

may I remind you that the DLP is now in power
    may i remind you that in some countries, the economy has grown

how is it that Owen was able to hold it all together ????

How is it that Thompson has to run to the IMF.
    Was Owen the Prime Minister prior to 1991—and the DLP DID THE SAME RHOLE THING

27. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

””’FIRE””’ PON THE DLP

28. """ FIRE """ Avatar
    “”” FIRE “””

”””FIRE””” PON DE DLP

ONE TERM IS TOO MUCH

29. fire. grow up, please.

30. @Fire
    Your contributions are becoming strangely reminiscent of the types of BLP contributions that we had on the blogs leading up to the last elections.

Please stop it,… and let us have sensible discourse and your intelligent inputs…

It will be genuinely welcomed.

Not tell me, if Arthur is as good as you say, what great strategic achievements can you name?

Do you recall that he himself railed against the current account deficit at one of the public/private sector consultations (2003?)….. and not a thing changed? Did he not know then that – as you say, our economy is a series of booms and busts?

FIRE,
    Do you know that any monkey can steer a ship in calm weather?

31. @Brutus,

to favour targeting real estate gains. However:
    – in the current environment where prices are depressed and sale of properties are less frequent, this may not raise as much revenue as you might anticipate; we may have missed the boat on cashing in on the real estate boom

To a certain extent, this is true, but the tax must be in place for future needs.

– would we tax capital gains that accrued before the tax comes into effect? ie. if I bought a property in 1960 and sell it today would I pay tax on the entire gain over that period?

No. A specific cutoff, a good one would be the major land tax revaluation of two years ago, would be set.

From this date, gains would be computed and adjust using the base price index of above i.e. as you probably know, the gain is reduced by the movement in the price index from nase year to current year.

– would this capital gains tax replace the property transfer tax and if so would the net increase in revenue be significant?

Yes and yes. he CGT would be most likely a standard 25% across the board.

– many properties in Barbados are owned through companies incorporated outside of Barbados which are not taxed in Barbados. If instead of selling the property outright I sell the shares in the foreign company would the capital gain be taxed in Barbados? If yes, how do we enforce this? If no, wouldn’t we miss out on most of the tax revenue?

Excellent point and in previous discussions I suggested that for such ownerships, disclosure of ownership of shares should be mandated by law.

Changes in ownerships to trigger CGT.

Alternately, do not allow overseas corporate ownership, only individual ownership.

But yes, that should definitely be one of the aims of the CGT, to obtain revenue on such transactions.

Legislation can be a useful thing, if the intent is there.

32. errata movement in the price index from BASE year to current year.

Yes and yes. he CGT would be most likely a standard 25% across the board, AFTER ADJUSTMENT FOR PRICE CHANGES FROM BASE YEAR.’

33. ‘TOO QUICKLY to balance the budget and not leave enough elbow room to stimulate the economy in the interim.’

Really, does the Government have any choice?

That may be the more relevant question.

34. @Crusoe,

Thanks for your responses – I think the CGT sounds reasonable on the terms you suggest.

35. Barnabas Collins Avatar

et al

What is significant to me is the amount of discussion that Mr. Arthur’s comments have sparked. Very interesting!!!
    BC

36. Yeah, it seems the DLPites really shit scared of Owen. The sharp knives came out of the bush a-slashing with a vengeance.

37. ac
    I good. You…?

38. AC is fine
    Blue Flowers

identification code…..unidentified
    Earth People

39. Mr. Arthur is a Prime Minister with 14 years under his belt, the fact that his comments on the economy would provoke interest and especially at this time should spark no surprise.

40. Lord Thompy rinsing Mia and Owen out down at St. Leonards.

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/

41. @Fire!
    Fire down below!
    Yuh Moses owen Arthur ran this ship for 14years will the masses slept. Now we have awoken and find the ship has run aground because of his direction in which he took it. De people don’t want to
    hear nothing he got to say we will listen
    but not gonna hear.

@BAFBFP
    me good too! Still sleeping on de pillow

42. What is funny is that it is a real pity Owing and Muttley did not have a heart when they were raping this islands treasury.

Remember the mammoth cost over runs??

Where do you think that $ 800 Million has turned up ??

43. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

You people are impossible the way you deal with issues and twist arguments to suit yourself as though you are playing gully cricket-make up the rules as you go along and then you want serious discussion. You are a bunch of misguided persons . You are like little children. So Owen is to blame for a Government that has been in Office now for two years

44. Trained Economist Avatar

The PM is reporting unemployment at 9.4%. Single digit unemployment must rank as quite an achievement.

45. @Fire
    Fire &Brimstone.How many years did it take for your leader Owen to create this mess. Like you said thenew government
    has been only there for2years. They need 12more years to accomplished what Owen did. you ignoramus!

46. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Yes Trained Economist, The Unemployment rate is down, bet you never heard Muttley quarrel about not being privy to these figures as some suggest that the political whore that it is, is furnished with official figures before the Prime Minister is.

Added to that the Tourism arrival figures continue on their upward trend.

Alas these are not items that catch the attention of Muttley, Owing or the Nation Newspaper or The VOB as these do not serve their interest well.

Something POSITIVE is happening as Red Plastic Bag can attest to SOMETHING HAPPENING !!!

47. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Have a listen at the site below.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5100127

48. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The line of the night must be when he
    he was talking about the infighting within the BLP party he said that Owing keeps saying this about Muttley and he or she says something about Owing.

Wicked but true.