Submitted by Joan Worrell

The following was submitted before former Prime Minister submitted his resignation earlier today.

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

David, I am surprised that 12 hours after an interview between Owen Arthur and Kaymar Jordan captioned ‘Arthur Fed Up’ in yesterday’s edition of Barbados Today, you have not made reference to it.  Prove to me and other readers of Barbados Underground that you are different from the mainstream press as you often boast. However I would be the first person to apologize to you if you are too busy to read the E-Paper. Let me give you an extract of what he said in the interview in case you were in fact too busy.

Quote ‘Arthur who was Prime Minister for 14 years said it would be hypocritical for him to support such a call at this stage since one of his first acts when he took over the Vovernment in 1994 was to introduce an environmental levy.

I am the only person in Barbados who cannot with honour participate in an event with the intention of protesting totally against a Government introducing a measure to raise resources for environmental solutions, and I cannot do that with honour because I introduced one as my  first acts as Minister of Finance and Prime Minister of Barbados, he told Barbados Today, adding that his decision was prompted by three reasons that remain valid.

The first is that at the RIO Summit in 1991 the Global Community committed itself to heightening the fight to find solutions to environmental issues and urged that countries and Governments introduce in their fiscal system, measures to raise resources for environmental management and sustainable development on the basis of the ‘polluter pays’ principle.

‘It is for that reason that in 1995 I introduced an environmental levy as Minister of Finance’’ Arthur recalled.

He noted that the levy, which was in existence for 15 years was introduced at a time when the absence of resources for environmental development and management led to a debacle at Mount Stinkeroo and it was no longer acceptable that the country should see the absence of financial resources as a reason why we have Mount Stinkeroo in Barbados.

We had to put in a South Coast Sewerage System. We still need one for the West Coast. You had to protect the shoreline and I could go on.

Based on that, Arthur said he could not now fault the Freundel Stuart administration for its move to apply resources to deal with environmental management, even as he warned ‘You have to do it properly’ .

This Government abolished the environmental levy and then came with a tax that was absurd. It is now trying to make the tax sensible but I can’t participate with honour in a march to have no environmental resources at all.

He went on to dismiss Mottley’s proposal for a water levy to replace the Municipal Waste Tax, saying it would only make matters worse. That would cause me, if that was to be the proposal to do in St. Peter , what I did to the Municipal Waste Tax. I would have to tell them not to pay that too. So I am in a very conflicted position.

Ends Quote.

100 responses to “Owen Arthur’s Revelation”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Fractured BLP | July 26, 2014 at 11:38 AM |
    Hi folks

I just ran into Owen down by John Moore shop. He told those present what also influenced his decision to leave the BLP was the fact that Mia made a pass at his wife.

IF THIS IS TRUE THEN OWEN STUPID
    HE SHOULD HAVE SET UP MIA AND LET SOME MEN IN HIDING BEAT HER TO A PULP LIKE THEY USED TO DO ON THE MONA CAMPUS TO BULLERS

mia WILL BE PM
    CAUSE BUSH TEA SAY SO

AFFER ALL BUSH TEA NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING
    BARE SPORT MAN

2. Aren’t we missing the point!!!!

Owen said that he cannot support the repealing of the SWT and Mottley was marching to enforce repealing the SWT.

Read the article again. We read and have knowledge then some skew the knowledge to discredit the author/speaker.

I agree that the BLP has lost its way.

Mia left to attend a march as a civilian wanting a Tax repealed and became disappointed that the PM did not meet/greet the Leader of the Opposition who led a march to request a repeal of the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

Why are we bashing Owen for resigning from Party and sitting as an Independent.

One person in that group (BLP) is honest and true to himself – even if it is the first time in his life that he stands by and for integrity, transparency and truth at this time and it is Owen Seymour Arthur.

Reply Mottley’s words and Owen’s Words then compare actions and later words – who is honest to self and country?

3. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOGICAL INTERESTING THOUGHTS BRIEF

4. @brief

How can the leader of the opposition march as a private citizen? She is who she is. Because Arthur disagrees with her does it merit a draconian action such as resigning from a political party which he has been a member for 43 years?

5. Another observation not mentioned at all anywhere and should be noted – all media personnel should be neutral when working with political stories.

The entire Barbados heard from media houses to wear white in support of the cause of the march on Thursday- the Head of News (not acting) at DLP-TV wore WHITE in support and solidarity of the MIA MOTTLEY-led-march.
    The march was ‘ambiguous’ premises
    (1) Show your support for me Mia as next PM
    (2) Show your support to repealing the MSWT (smoke screen)

The PM and his team should pay greater attention to the stories shown on DLP-TV and recognize that the campaign to VOTE BLP was on a long long long time especially since FEBRUARY 2014 when the ‘same school tie’ was placed to head the News team.

You frustrated Foundation School Boy and replace with Queen’s College School ‘girl’ who was congratulated by Mia upon her appointment (she loves to say Mia called and congratulated me) – the same Mia that left her in a junior position for ‘umphteen’ years but our beloved PM has selected his enemy over his old scholar, confidante, and one who admired him to the hills.

Yes sometimes we make grave mistakes that are burnt beyond repair. Hope the PM see this blazing flame and put the fire out before losing to his own actions.

Sad, sad, sad … but wha’ nuh, o-nudder day in Bim.

Not even ‘ac’ mentioned this – if you want support – get your supporters to the front – your die-hard supporters not the flip floppy ones – my father’s loyalty and commitment may not be mine, but my father will be my father who will say give me his daughter a chance because she is my child and I have be faithful to you.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOL WHY IS resigning from a political party which he has been a member for 43 years CONSTITUTE a draconian action

DOES HE NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESIGN IF HE WANTS TO?
    MUST FOLK ALWAYS TOE A LINE?

7. @GP

There are some things which BU appreciate you lack the EI to understand. It is all good though, we all have our short comings.

@brief

Do you mean Michele Arthur?

8. David:

Owen disapproved of asking for a repeal of the MSWT – what has that got to do with Mia?

Read the man’s statements – he supports cleaning the environment and keeping it manageable and therefore the people have to help with the cleaning of it.

Owen dealt specifically with the ‘repealing’ of the Tax not Mia.

Mia agreed that BArbadians have to contribute to cleaning our environment, Owen knows and agreed that that must be done – so why should he support ‘repealing’ the Tax?

WE the people are the ones that put Owen vs Mia in this march.

9. @brief

Can you name two major initiatives which focused on the environment under his stewardship? Exclude Greenland plunked in the Scotland District..

10. As an independent his vote only becomes relevant if the DLP needs one to get the majority. I does not do any damage to the BLP they are already the opposition.

Mia is already Opposition leader ‘yes’ and she said that she was walking as one of us ‘civilian’ to show her concern for the hardship the Tax imposed on us was affecting us.

11. @David
    How can the leader of the opposition march as a private citizen? She is who she is. Because Arthur disagrees with her does it merit a draconian action such as resigning from a political party which he has been a member for 43 years?
    Did you listen to Arthur? He was diametrically opposed to that course of action he may not have agreed with all the elements in the Gov’ts action plans, but he thought that Mia’s proposals were far worse. He had initiated laws to protect the Environment and the present Gov’t was taking a leaf from his book by advancing same.

If you listen to Arthur over the course of the years you will note that he tends to wear his heart on his sleeve and his actions and speeches over the past few days are a reflection of that. Arthur didn’t act frivolously he said “ an organisation which has lost its way, has lost its soul”- damming words- this was not an impulsive act but one to which he had given great deliberation and a decision he can live with.

12. Our ‘Queen’ Elizabeth Thompson received an award for the work that she did as an MP under the leadership of the great Owen Arthur.

Yes, he did not do himself but he supported her ventures and gave full leverage to initiate programmes to make our environment green. I shall look up info and post shortly.

13. @brief

You need to avoid the koolaid. How did Liz qualify for the award having presided over Greenland? Give us a break. It was a political nomination.

@Sargeant

Didn’t Arthur disagree with the town hall and eminent people speaking, he refused which meant he disagreed with MAM. He never turned up at the vote for opposition leader. He refused to vote in parliament and broke ranks from the opposition. The list is long. Arthur has demonstrated he is not comfortable on the opposition side and especially under Mia and he did NOT resign. This is not about the solid wast tax and march, it is because those who have supported him up to now left him in the cold.

14. @David
    What eminent people? That was a political gimmick sponsored by Mia to which the DLP just shrugged its collective shoulders, Arthur was right to stay away from such a farce.

15. Whether it was a gimmick or not the parliamentary group agreed to the approach, just like they did with the march. When the woman stays silent everyone ask where is the opposition. When she mounts a platform to raise the issues you label it a farce. Would it have hurt for Arthur to join the town halls and speak on any subject which would add value to the national discussion? After all many issues are in play nowadays. We have a bunch of jokers on both side, it has become an embarrassment. Only Stuart, Mia and the same OSA are able to quote from the classics from time to time to show an appreciation for finer learning.

16. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | July 26, 2014 at 3:26 PM |

There are some things which BU appreciate you lack the EI to understand. It is all good though, we all have our short comings.

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIT !
    DAVID WHAT IS EI?
    WHAT DO I HAVE TO UNDERSTAND HERE OH MIGHTY ONE?
    AM I NOT ENTITLED THE FREE SPEECH TO OPINE AS OTHERS DO ?

YOU DONT HAVE TO UNDERSTAND NUTTIN TO TALK IN THE BU RUMSHOP

I THOUGHT EVERYONE HAD A SAY FROM DUMMIES TO SCHOLArS lol

I REPEAT

WHY IS resigning from a political party which he has been a member for 43 years CONSTITUTE a draconian action

I DONT THINK SO.
    I RESIGN WHEN I DONT LIKE CONDITIONS THAT HURT OTHERS TOO
    AND AT TREMENDOUS COST TO ME

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    CAN BU DO ANYTHING FOR ME?
    CAN BU GIVE ME A BIG JOB?
    DO I HAVE TO REALLY CARE WHAT BU THINKS SIR?

I THINK NOT. X 3

18. @Georgie

Working on a blog post for later, no time to waste entertaining you in rabble rousing mode.

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HOW COME I AM A RABBLE ROUSER ?

WHAT IS RABBLE ROUSING BOUT THIS WHY IS resigning from a political party which he has been a member for 43 years CONSTITUTE a draconian action

I DONT THINK SO.

20. @GP Thanks.

@brief … Do you mean Michele Arthur?

That’s the name and person – I only heard “Head of News at (DLPTV my words for BU family) … should be ‘shame wearing white and out hey …’

Ask anyone that knows her and saw her that day.

21. David:

How come You can’t see Owen the former PM standing on the grounds of conscience, conviction and necessity as one who imposed a Tax ‘environmental levy’ to assist with cleaning, upgrading disposal of waste and NOW taking a stand on that to resign exclusively.

How come you can’t see that Owen is saying that the BLP is deceiving the people on the Solid Waste Tax issue and he will not be a part of the Party that he loved, built, benefited from that seek to deceive his brothers and sisters, and, so took the bitter pill and resigned based on his own philosophical belief – and that it has nothing to do with Mia.

How come you can’t see, David, that solid waste has to be paid for either short term or long term and any Government has to impose it?

How come you can’t see that Owen is saying do not ask for a repeal of the tax? Look at the calculation, ease the man at he bottom of the scale and make it manageable for all?

But you can see that Mia is making an impression on the people of Barbados to see her as a PM.

The whole lot that stood by Mia because they think that this is the weapon to use to try to topple a Government will be removed by the strategist (Owen) and he will not even be aiming his arrows at them.

Owen is a strategist – he reads and he understands – not that he is ‘born again’ but he was the first to say that the methods being used by the DLP sound like the IMF and if other measures come he would be better able to say. When the other taxes and laying off came Owen said we are in the hands of the IMF when Chris was saying that the IMF can’t tell us how to manage our economy.

We brushed off Owen – but he is seeing much more than we will ever see. Although he is on the Opposition side I pay more attention to what he has to say than to what the Government has to say.

Owen was PM for 14 years and he is still reading and writing on the behalf of economies in Caribbean communities their pitfalls, sustainable measures, trials and stimuli to effect growth.

We have a nasty habit of throwing out the baby with the bath water and then shouting under our breath “o Lord” and holding our heads as not knowing what to do, instead of picking up the baby and running for help.

22. @Per Snicka July 26, 2014 at 4:09 AM “BOTH parties and their supporters want to feast off the fatted calf that is the Bajan tax payer.”

And remember that David Thompson said that the fatted calf will be slaughtered; Right now this tax payer feel like I have been bled almost to death.

23. @Hants July 26, 2014 at 10:58 AM “When Bushie’s prophesy comes to past we can look forward to a period of increased cooperation between the province of Ontario and Barbados. Ask Moneybrain and Sargeant if yuh doan believe me.”

So the lovely Premier Kathleen Wynne will have an understanding with Mia and will help us out?

24. @ David July 26, 2014 at 3:43 PM |
    ” This is not about the solid wast tax and march, it is because those who have supported him up to now left him in the cold”……………………………………

Yes David, you are right. OSA’s excuses are frivolous. All over the world, when people are protesting, they wear white. If Mia is so unfit, why did he not go to the BLP’s headquarters on February 14/15 when the vote to elect a new leader was to take place.But he was too hurt to go, I guess.

He and his circle were planning to overthrow Mia and Kerry seem to be in with him as well. I dont know if Peter Wickham’s talk on Brasstacks Tuesday swayed Kerry but Wickham did say that Kerry was wrong to align his star with OSA’s fading star.

When the people around me saw Kerry on Thursday, this was the general talk that he “minding” Owen but Owen’s time has passed. That front page picture on Friday told Owen that he could not win!

@Oilman…………..yes I am pained! You can laugh!

25. @Fractured BLP July 26, 2014 at 11:38 AM “I just ran into Owen down by John Moore shop. He told those present what also influenced his decision to leave the BLP was the fact that Mia made a pass at his wife.”

And this is expected to make us feel how?

Outraged at Mia?

Sympathetic to Owen?

Angry that Barbados’ national security has been breeched?

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We don’t care who made a pass at whose wife.

We really, truly don’t care.

Owen’s wife got a tongue in she head?

Has she yet learned to say to say “no”?

Because she certainly didn’t know how to say “”No” when her married boss Owen Arthur approached her, hence the child born to her when Owen was still married to his first Beverley.

Is Owen afraid that now he is old man that the woman who didn’t say “No” to him won’t say “No” to others?

Any woman who is old enough to be married is old enough to deflect passes whether they come from men or from women.

You don’t think that people have made passes at the Simple?

You see me going home crying to anybody?

Stupssseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26. Every man has the right to abstain from any vote present or absent. Freedom of expression. Owen lives by his philosophy in whole and not in part. He is a man of stature and strategy.

Again I say that I do not say that he is a Holy Ghost filled, blood washed, mighty man of valour obeying the word of Almighty God in Spirit and in Truth.

Owen has not lost anything to anyone. He stands by his philosophy and persuasions and when his in guts turn (like yours) he will take his stand regardless of what those around him including his wife has to say.

He is not the first man to stand alone – Sandi was left to stand alone and he did and Owen praised him for his work.

Owen’s work will stand and represent him throughout all ages just as Sandi’s work does for him.

Owen is still the former PM (14 years) and his circle will do the job appearing to be close to the circle – so everything must be spelt out for you Prodigal. Seeing you don’t see and hearing you don’t hear.

Owen’s legacy lives on.

Oh aaammm, annnd before you label/lable/liable me … I do not support the BLP I like Commissiong’s ideas – longwinded but different and workable.

27. @GEORGIE PORGIE July 26, 2014 at 1:51 PM “HE SHOULD HAVE SET UP MIA AND LET SOME MEN IN HIDING BEAT HER TO A PULP LIKE THEY USED TO DO ON THE MONA CAMPUS TO BULLERS”

It saddens me to learn that the young homosexual sons of decent hard working Caribbean parents were/are beaten up on UWI’s Mona Campus.

And it saddens me even more that you are advocating that this behaviour be replicated in Barbados.

When you were just a young fella at Mona I was a hard working Bajan tax payer. I did not willingly pay my taxes with the expectation that you or others like you would engage in violence against young men on campus.

If you keep advocating this foolishness one of these days the young homosexual man who is beaten (maybe to death) will be your son/grandson/nephew/great nephew/great grand son. And on that happy day I know that you will rejoice that your young relative was beaten to death.

Hallelujah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let’s find some more of Georgie Porgie’s young relatives and beat them all to death

I can’t believe that you are advocating ignorant Jamaican homophobic violence.

Passes are a fact of life.

I’ve had dozens, maybe hundreds of passes made at me.

Passes are nothing.

Any sensible person know how to deflect them like water offa a duck’s back.

28. Both parties have homosexuals & lesbians in them, is this something new? The present ones can’t seem to get their current account right, so they want us to fill their coffers. We do need to get them out of office, & get some body there who can get us out of this morass.

29. @Brief July 26, 2014 at 3:00 PM “Mia left to attend a march as a civilian.”

I can’t believe the level of ignorance on this blog. In relation to the Prime Minister Mia is NOT a civilian, because Freundel Stuart is NOT a general, because Barbados is NOT a military state.

Barbados is a democracy, Mia is a citizen and Freundel Stuart is HER and OUR Prime Minister.

Any citizen of Barbados has a right to communicate with the Prime Minister.

If wunna fellas are party fellas no wonder BOTH parties are in so much trouble.

Not much intelligence. Not much understanding of our history. Not much understanding of Barbados’ constitution. Not much understanding of our system of government.

30. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

sIMON

When you were just a young fella at Mona I was a hard working Bajan tax payer.

at least in those days you had wuk! lolI

I HAVE SAID WHAT I SAID AND I STAND BY WHAT I SAID KEEP SWEET MA DEAR

I HEAR ENJOYING MYSELF IN THE BU RUMSHOP

I DRINKING MILK OR TEA IN LEMONADE MIX
    AH WUH YOU A DRINK?

31. @David July 26, 2014 at 3:14 PM “How can the leader of the opposition march as a private citizen?”

Dear David: It is your blog but I regret that I must correct you.

Mia is a private citizen AND the Leader of the Opposition at the same time.

Being one does not stop her from being the other. She is also Member of Parliament, lawyer, daughter, sister, auntie, friend, neighbour, schoolmate etc. All at the same time.

Just as you David (if you aren’t a committee LOL!!!!) can be son, brother, husband, father, grandson, uncle, nephew, friend, neighbour, school mate,blog master etc. ALL AT THE SAME TIME.

Being one does not stop you from being ALL the others AT THE SAME TIME.

32. Brief u make some salient thought provoking points,,,,,,,,,,some of which i totally agreee,,,,,,,,however in the final analysis ,,,OSA objectives would be realized,,,one of rebuilding and restructuring his image ,, finding a path of separation that from being a politician and searching for a path where he would be looked on as a Statesman..He is not finished yet,,in the weeks and months ahead Mia would be an after thought in his mind ,,as he hurriedly tries to make up for wasted time and energy ,,and refocusing his mind into building a legacy ,,not one of selfishness and opportunism but one on a foundation built out of determination and love of Country.,, His comments on Friday was the first glimpse as to where he is heading,,,truly revealing,,,,,,,,

33. @Simple Simon | July 26, 2014 at 6:30 PM |

@Fractured BLP July 26, 2014 at 11:38 AM “I just ran into Owen down by John Moore shop. ……………………………

Why did you waste your time answering this notorious liar? He/she makes up things and post them on BU. Remember during the last election he/she said he/she saw OSA lying down drunk down by the same shop? The person is a dlp pimp.

I posted a conversation I heard in a store yesterday and he/she came on to add his/her lying nastiness to it. Do not answer his/her rants, the person has problems with the truth.

34. @Brief July 26, 2014 at 3:20 PM “Another observation not mentioned at all anywhere and should be noted – all media personnel should be neutral when working with political stories. The entire Barbados heard from media houses to wear white in support of the cause of the march on Thursday- the Head of News (not acting) at DLP-TV wore WHITE in support and solidarity of the MIA MOTTLEY-led-march.”

Being an employee of CBC or anywhere else does not negate our rights as citizens.

We are all still citizens and the Barbados Constitution gives us the RIGHT to associate or not associate ourselves with political parties, churches, unions, social groupings etc.

There is NOTHING in the Constitution that prevents an employee from wearing white on any given day of the week.

The Prime Minister is NOT the ruler of Barbados.

Barbados is governed by its Constitution.

35. And it would be unlawful and unconstitutional for CBC acting with or without the Prime Minister’s instructions to make any rules which negate the Constitutional Rights of its citizen/employees. The Prime Minster knows this because he is a lawyer.

Even I know this and I am only a

Simple Simon.

36. @Brief at 3:30 p.m “our beloved PM has selected his enemy over his old scholar, confidante, and one who admired him to the hills.”

Promotions ought to be based on competence. Not on who is whose old school mate, or who is whose confidant or who admires whom, whether such admiration comes from the hills or from the the valleys.

No wonder there is so much WRONG with Barbados.

It seems as though most of us have gone mad or have turned stupid.

37. @David July 26, 2014 at 3:43 PM “brief You need to avoid the coolaid.”

Has brief been drinking the Jim Jones brand coolaid too?

38. @GEORGIE PORGIE July 26, 2014 at 4:20 PM “HOW COME I AM A RABBLE ROUSER ?”

But Georgie, we the regulars in the BU virtual rum shop recognize you for the rabble rouser that you are.

And you know how?

Because we is rabble rousers too.

As they say it takes one to know one.

39. GP has been looking for a fight with Brasshole tea. That hasn’t worked so he swinging left right and center and missing BIG TIME ! He is drunk with his STUPIDITY!

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

NOT LOOKING FUH A FIGHT WID NO BODY- ESPECIALY WID HE WHO NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING LOL

I JUST HAVING FUN IN DE RUM SHOP

41. @ Simple Simon

Simply simple.

Even our learned friend ac got a higher grade than you on this one.

Replay.

There are code of ethics and code of conduct in every ‘structured’ Constitution. It is that simple Simon.

The man that left CBC News was more qualified in journalism than the current Head of News will ever become in this life time. Her degree is in IR not even journalism and her pursuit at Masters according to TV introduction of her is also in Industrial Relations (employer/employee relations) simply putting it.

So tell BU has the PM gone MAD or has he turned stupid he along with his cabinet who made the decision to promote the one promoted now to head CBC News team? Simple this is a question yuh hear/ here I a the question.

42. I ask a question.

43. Now Simple:

When I become an MP I speak as a private citizen and am able to call all citizens’ names and talk about them in Parliament, their assets, associates, lifestyle under parliamentary privilege … correct Simple Simon?

Also, as a private citizen I am invited to Parliament to speak on the floor of Parliament and lend to the parliamentary debates.

Now I see why we have to pay for higher education. Under the BLP rule we will be asked to pay for primary and full secondary. I get it, the free education is not taking us past the ceiling (sorry roof just to make it simple).

Juice it up Simple Simon

Cool.

44. Simple Simon wrote “So the lovely Premier Kathleen Wynne will have an understanding with Mia and will help us out?”

That is possible.

Wynne is the first female premier of Ontario and Mia would be the first female PM of Barbados.

I voted for the Liberals and Wynne is the leader.

Actually I voted for the hot black chick who is now associate minister of finance responsible for the proposed Ontario Retirement Pension Plan.lol

45. Yet when Donville speaks as a man with a family he is wrong.

Most interesting indeed.

The PM will not be confused by the semantics of Mia she will address him as Leader of Opposition in Parliament and through the proper process as an ordinary citizen. Not bulldoze her way in and expect the security and receptionist to stand still and wait for the PM to see her.

She will send the letter, the Receptionist will receive the letter and pass it to the Secretary who will pass it to the PS oh the Registry has to record it first. Mia was a citizen leading the march – we citizens know the process every MP should know it much better especially a former Deputy PM and current Leader of the Opposition.

WOW – the stupidity in stupid.

46. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

TO MANY ATTORNEYS IN THE GOVERNMENT.

The biggest problem with the large number of lawyers in elective office today is that, disregarding everything else, they increasingly control all branches of our government: The Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary. This in contravention of what the founders of our nation were trying to avoid when they divided our government, so as to provide “checks and balances” and a “separation of powers. No political truth is certainly of greater intrinsic value or is stamped with the authority of more enlightened patrons of liberty than that . . . the accumulation of all powers legislative, executive and judiciary in the same hands, whether of one, a few or many, and whether hereditary, self appointed, or elective, may justly be pronounced the very definition of tyranny.”

With everything clogged up, and “certain people” getting paid whatever, the only time you will hear of the government- is at election time….
    What’s in your pocket-or what’s going to be in your pocket people??….

47. @Hants July 26, 2014 at 8:41 PM “Actually I voted for the hot black chick who is now associate minister of finance responsible for the proposed Ontario Retirement Pension Plan”
    http://www.ontla.on.ca/web/members/members_detail.do?locale=en&ID=7227

Dear Hants: Your MPP the Hon. Ms. Hunter is much better looking, much younger, and much better educated than my MP

Now if only the DLP and the BLP could come up with some smart, well educated, good looking female MP’s both parties and Barbados would be much better off.

But we know that ain’t going to happen any time soon.

We too busy fighting over which old sick old man, with too little testosterone, and too much ego should be our leader.

48. alvin cummins Avatar

@
    What is the matter with us as a people? Why is it that we always want to put down our own and can’t see the value of what we have?We have good, well educated, smart,successful, young males and females among us. Accept what we have,better in many ways than many countries that we long to emulate and try to make our country better.We have a good country

49. Alvin:

hope all is well

50. PM + CABINET + OSA = SOLID WASTE