The blogmaster strongly advocates for the implementation of more pertinent and aggressive crime policing strategies by the authorities. Last week, there was a brazen attack on a senior citizen in broad daylight on Belmont Road. Yesterday (May 18, 2026), on a sunny Sunday, there was an armed incident at Shopsmart in Six Roads, St. Philip.

The adage that the definition of insanity is repeating the same actions while expecting different outcomes holds true in this context. For many years, the incidence of violent crime has been trending in the wrong direction. Moreover, the authorities have implemented ineffective and ineffectual crime-deterrent strategies.

Over the years, we have listened to crime reports from Commissioners of Police, which can be described as mediocre public relations exercises. More mediocre has been the public buy-in while at the same time expressing surprise at the trending incidents of serious crime in Barbados. 

Incident at Shopsmart

The blogmaster urges the relevant authorities to intensify their efforts. It is evident that the prevailing culture is inadequate to serve as a deterrent to crime. New factors must be introduced to alter the public’s perception about the seriousness of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) and the government’s commitment to crime deterrence. The criminal element in Barbados and those on the fringes of criminal activities must be held more accountable.

Ironically, we are nearing the climax of a by-election campaign in St. James North, yet the issue of crime will not be a pivotal factor. It seems illogical that there should be grave public concern about violent crime in the country and it will not be reflected in the vote on May 21, 2025.

Senior Citizen robbed on Belmont Road

The blogmaster is perplexed by the public outcry regarding an elderly man being abused by a young hooligan on Belmont Road last week, yet there is no similar uproar about the number of elderly citizens being abandoned at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) by family members. Is this a manifestation of the public’s apprehension about becoming involved in a system perceived as unjust? Perhaps Barbadians have transitioned from being personable to impersonal.

The fundamental ground rules are that:

– We will ALWAYS get the leadership that we DESERVE
– We can ONLY reap what we have sown

So your idea of ‘potential leaders within’ riding to our rescue ..needs to be reviewed – given the ground rules of the game. 

To cut a long story: There is nothing really ‘wrong’ with our leaders. The fact is that they ACCURATELY represent our overall society…. AND ALWAYS WILL.
True ‘leadership within’ therefore MUST be represented by those who take on the CRITICAL role of bringing TRUTH, HONESTY, TRANSPARENCY and WISDOM to the lotta brass bowls – with the hope of getting the WHOLE SOCIETY to wake up and put themselves in a position to DESERVE the kind of leadership of which you speak.

Note that FOUR fingers are pointing at BU….
Bushie’s favorite Prophet, Jonah, is a classic case in point – of how (EXTREMELY RELUCTANT) internal leaders were able to influence the kind of change required to save a whole society of Nineveh from doom…

Bush Tea (edited)

Where do we proceed from here?

103 responses to “Violent CRIME takes deep root”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

We can talk all we like but the violent crime begins at home. Too many Bajan of all classes, the political classes too, men seem to rejoice in foopping silly women, the sillier the better. These men then run away and leave their children to be raised by the same silly women, so what do we get?

We get exactly what can be expected in situations like this.

And then these same irresponsible men want the “law” to crack heads, and they crave military dictatorships, when they should have spent the previous 20 years raising their sons well.

The sins of the fathers will be visited upon…

2. @ Redguard
    If you have not read it already, Bushie recommends Arthur Schopenhauer’ ‘On Women’ for an informative read.

3. If the loud ideas of misogynists did not have real world consequences for the granddaughter I hope to have some day, I would find you two old fools to be hilarious.

Good grief! The fact that men have run the world for all of recorded history cannot be refuted. How then can women in leadership be the cause of what we see today? Clearly, for the most part, we have and have had the wrong male leaders! And if we have or have had women leaders, we probably did not have and still do not have the right ones. The problem is the type of PERSON who craves power! You yourself have said this – the reluctant one is the best.

Any man who believes that they can generalise about women to the extent that you lot do, who fails to see the diversity of intelligence, capabilities, attitudes and behaviours of women must either be blind or closing his eyes.

This residual primitive mindset from the days when brute strength was most crucial to survival can only be driven by the need to boost one’s ego and have one’s own way, because, even in those primitive days there were exceptional women warriors, successful leaders of men!

Or….one could be clinging for dear life to the comfort of certainty provided by belief in an ancient, sacred “book” largely written before modern society emerged.

And still I would invite such a person to take note of the evolution of understanding in the very Bible he touts, most notably between the Old Testament and the New, when the Son of God and the Son of Man is said to have appeared and spake these words –

“You have heard it said…….but I SAY….”

According to what I read, Jesus did move the needle along somewhat with respect to the attitude towards women. Then Paul moved the needle along with respect to the attitude towards gentiles. Change must be managed carefully if it is to be embraced, and hence, no female apostles, but there were eventually women of influence in the churches Paul started.

So, even in the very Bible, attitudes towards categories of people previously excluded or dismissed grew and evolved!

This is what the search for greater humanity is; this is what true spirituality is; this is what religion is. It is a growth in our understanding, not static belief, frozen in time, encapsulated in ancient sacred writings purporting to tell us all that we need to know.

Unfortunately, some old dogs cannot adapt to uncertainty, nor learn new tricks. Fortunately, I learnt this trick when I was young – do not believe a book simply because you are told to believe it, question, seek answers, discard what conflicts with the obvious reality! Uncertainty is a fact of life that makes it more interesting.

Some paint themselves into a corner and cannot find a way out. Then they recommend some book written by some man, pretending that that would provide a way.

No-one is fooled.

4. @ David BU

I realised the authorities have not done anything to address the issue of PSV drivers blocking the junction at River Road and John Beckles Drive.

And, they’ve now gone on to block Transport Board buses from entering and exiting the Granville Williams Bus Terminal, since they’ve decided to park indiscriminately along Fairchild Street…… allowing passengers to embark or disembark the various ZRs…… they’re impeding the free flow of traffic along both directions of the road, or entering and exiting Nelson Street in the process.

Took me almost an hour to reach Speightstown yesterday, as a result of ZRs dragging’ along Black Rock main road, and mini-bus drivers continuing that activity along highway one (1).

But, then again, the PSVs have been ‘doing as duh like’ since the early 1980s, so it would be silly of me to expect any significant changes within the duration of the few months I was overseas.

KFC and Chefette have added the new 2025 model Suzuki Swifts to their respective delivery fleets.
    Since the authorities seem either UNABLE or UNWILLING to prevent those delivery drivers from SPEEDING and DRIVING RECKLESSLY…… perhaps we should lobby ‘government’ to enact legislation allowing those Swifts to be registered as ‘emergency vehicles’ with emergency lights and sirens.

As it relates to BU, ‘uh see the various civil wars’ continue. BU women versus their misogynistic counterparts…..

…… and Lorenzo and Enuff versus Bush Tea (or, according to AC, “de old boar).”

😂😂😂

5. @Artax

Take note of the pile of crates off the Halls Road roundabout headed to. Bridgetown being used to block ZR parking? You cannot make this brown stuff up!

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Artax you could have driven north along the “top road” past the lights at Westmoreland and turned left just before Baker’s Woods, past Gordon Greenidge school and downhill/westwards to Gibbes. Turn Right and you are almost in Speightstown, so avoiding the heavy traffic and PSV’s dragging along the “low road” That westwards road has recently been resurfaced. Uncertain if the St. James North by-election has anything to do with it. Lol!

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea as always

Males are responsible for their own ignorance, stupidity, misdeeds and evil.
    Females are responsible for their own ignorance, stupidity, misdeeds and evil.

Blaming women from the mythical Eve to my great granddaughters, yet unborn, is just getting real-real old, real-real tiresome.

Man up do!

8. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And for those who think that I hate men. Nope. I had a birthday recently and I got so many greetings from the men in my life, from my 86 year old brother to my 6 year old great nephew, nephews, cousins, friends, neighbors, former colleagues, male in-laws, even a 1972 vintage boyfriend, lol!

The good men love me and I love the good men.

Have no use for the wufless ones.

And Barbados is still a lovely place. Heard a knock on my door just before sunset today and I received my first 7 Julie mangoes of the season. Delicious.

9. Horsemeat,

I repeat – I am quite happy to let the police do their job. Their job is to enforce the law in a LAWFUL manner.

YOU need to understand that.

Misogynist 2

So……a nineteen year old virgin is a nun. After that comment, nobody should think that you have even half of a brain.

Silly man, I clearly understood that feminism is an ideology that can be shared by men. That is why I wrote of women AND feminism.

I see feminism, the kind most of us embrace, not the extremist kind, as a recognition of the woman as equal to a man under the law.

And that is a very welcome change in the way our young people see each other. The upside far outweighs the downside. I much prefer it to how they saw each other before. Somehow, being a seen as a punching bag didn’t appeal to me. I don’t know why.

Have you asked young women if they would prefer to have been their grandmothers?

10. Cuhdear Bajan,

Yuh sista here! I love the good men and the good men love me. I really cannot stomach the wuflessness.

And this is why I took great pains to raise me a good one and not a wufless one. I want my grandchildren to grow up in a stable home.

11. “She was attacked outside, on the road approaching the hospital . . . she was not robbed or anything. The guy just stabbed her in her neck,” the nurse said. “She was just laying on the ground helpless, bleeding…it was really horrible.”

According to the nurses, a colleague’s relative who was nearby heard her scream and ran to her aid, alerting staff on duty

12. LAWLESSNESS.

13. “One person has died following a shooting incident at Cave Hill, St Michael, police have confirmed.

Law enforcement officers are currently on the scene conducting investigations.

Further details will be provided as they become available.”

14. @ David,

Perhaps the time has come for you and your fellow Bajans to pack your bags. And that includes Donna!

https://www.thenewtodaygrenada.com/commentary/the-caribbean-is-for-sale-and-criminals-are-buying-it/

15. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Haven’t they already bought London?

16. “Haven’t they already bought London?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Lock, stock, and barrel….
    Good call @Cuhdear.

While TLSN is correct about our local situation, it is actually MUCH worse in London, New York and the other highly vaunted jurisdictions.
    At least here we may be able to exist without the modern life support systems such as heating, AC, and supermarkets.

Criminality has become ENDEMIC in these places, to the point where it is now accepted as part of the culture.

We were hoping to preserve Barbados as a safe haven, where our prodigal sons like TLSN and Hants could run to safety when the albino-centric jobby hits the big fan…
    But alas our idiotic leaders’ VISION for us has been to copy the doomed….

Only goes to show HOW BAD things are likely to be….

What a time!!

17. Maybe armed BDF soldiers should be deployed as security for BWA work crews.

18. Things are out of control, the blogmaster has been saying so for years. Traditional interventions will not work. Everyone wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die.

19. When can we expect statements from the big 3. PM, AG and COP?

20. Just heard on VOB. Two ARMED ROBBERIES in Barbados last night. 8 year girl traumatized.

21. @Hants

Crime is now an everyday activity. Some analysis is now needed to understand the incidence of crime in the day compared to the night. Anecdotally it should be no secret that it has become more brazen read daylight crime.

22. Interesting.

23. 2 west indies cricketers and an official ROBBED AT GUN POINT!!!!!!!

24. @Hants

They were down Fontabelle?

They were at Rehab?

25. Gang members ?

26. Another shooting.

27. Yes@hants, we invest so much in tourism and at the same time ignore that crime has taken deep root.

28. The Commissioner says.