Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Over the weekend former Prime Minister Owen Arthur was very vocal in his criticism about how the current government has been managing the economy. If we are to accept the political arguments that an opposition must oppose then Arthur is on good ground.

When Arthur vacated office on January 16, 2008 at the request of the people, he indicated he would serve out his term as Member of Parliament for St. Peter. The impression given at the time suggested Arthur would be closing the last chapter on his political career.  The fact Arthur rarely attends parliamentary debates which he has has deemed to be a porakey affair is fodder for another blog.

The precarious perch which the Barbados economy currently finds itself, wrought by the global downturn not seen since the second world war, creates the opportunity for a political bipartisanship approach. Barbados has already demonstrated through the triumvirate social partnership we are not oppose to creating pioneering pathways to finding solutions to problems. This is no time for our best brains to be involved in hardcore political gamesmanship.

Despite political affiliations most Barbadians if asked continue to hold former Prime Minister Arthur in high regard. Arthur’s economic background which stretches back to his Jamaica experience combined with his long tenure as Prime Minister of Barbados represents an opportunity for Barbados to leverage that experience and expertise to help counter the current economic challenges.

The ready interpretation by Barbadians given his recent outbursts that former Prime Minister Arthur is not a patriot and would place politics before country is unacceptable. Why should a former Prime Minister said to be serving out his last term in parliament engage in a wholly partisan line when the country expects more? Arthur is no ordinary Member of Parliament, he is a former Prime Minister! BU has only one answer to explain Arthurs posture which he continues to demonstrate, Arthur’s political ambition remains burning as brightly as ever.

Prime Minister David Thompson did suggest while in opposition that many of our national problems can be solved over a bowl of wanton soup, maybe a Bajan breakfast is more alluring Mr. Arthur?

1. Mr. Frank Da Silva, in his so called guest column in the Weekend Nation, Friday, August 21, 2009, was reported to have said: ” Recognizing the enormous responsibility that rests on the shoulders of ministers, I will be strongly recommending that they consider withdrawing from any party position for which they have been nominated ( notwithstanding what some regard as culture of our party which normally sees ministers being nominated for major posts).”

And he continued: ” This will allow them to focus on their official responsibilities. There is an abundance of talent in the party, today and other members must be allowed to come to the fore.”

” I will NOT be supporting anyone running for party office who has more important ministerial duties to perform”. Taken from the Weekend Nation, Friday, August 21, 2009.

As many people in Barbados would know, Mr. Frank Da Silva is one of the few top figures within the DLP who publicly speaks his mind on many internal DLP issues and many national and sub-national issues. And, what we do know is that one of the major issues he has been advocating for a fairly long time is for greater integrity and transparency in government in this country.

But, having said so, we do know that he does NOT have any integrity or credibility on the matter we will now raise, given some of what he is reported to have said in his so-called guest column and which we have so cited above, as extracted from this last Weekend Nation column, and given that some of these relevant posturings are totally inconsistent with some of his actions or what should have been his actions.

While we in the PDC do NOT know who will be running in these internal DLP elections, and by the way it is NOT really our business as to who is running or NOT, what we would like to ask Da Silva – in light of the relevant posturings in his column – is, if he did NOT know that the Prime Minister has been returned unopposed for the office of President? And, even if he did or did NOT know that he was returned unopposed, notwithstanding that it is clear knowledge that he knows that the Prime Minister is a Minister with very great responsibilities, why has he NOT provided any evidence of he himself preparing to privately and publicly, or even on the floor of the conference, ask Mr. Thompson to withdraw from that particular party position? But, why the hell did Mr. Da Silva NOT ask the Prime Minister to withdraw from the Presidency in his column? Why the hell did he NOT do so?

Well, what is clear is that poor Da Silva does NOT have any integrity and credibility on this issue that he has so poorly raised in his last Weekend Nation column.

Indeed, some of those who read the content of his last column and who would have been reading in the said Weekend Nation newspaper about the fact that the Prime Minister has been returned unopposed, might well be wondering about whether Mr. Da Silva will or will NOT be prepared to support the Prime Minister for the Presidency given what was published in his column. But, given what was published in his column, why the hell Mr. Da Silva did NOT say that he will NOT be prepared to support the Prime Minister as President of the DLP. However, we know too well that he will still support the Prime Minister for the Presidency of his party in spite of the foolishness he argues.

Too, what we deduce from Mr. Da Silva’s writings is that – even though he is thoroughly weak on asking the Prime Minister to relinquish that post, he might well be strong in believing that the Prime Minister is NOT doing a good job of helping to manage the country’s so-called economy at this juncture!!

Furthermore, we wonder if Mr. Da Silva has known beforehand that there is some DLP Minister or Ministers who has or have been seeking to hold party office, and that based on some of the reasons he has put forward in his column ( other talents that should be allowed to come to the fore, as many hands must be on deck for elections that are not so far away, blah blah blah) as to why they should NOT hold senior administrative office in the party, he has been only too willing to vent his annoyance or frustration at this situation in the public domain via his column, perhaps having had no prior success in doing so elsewhere.

Given that we know that Mr. Da Silva raised that issue in his column, we in PDC also take it for granted that he has some idea or knowledge of some Minister or Ministers seeking DLP office. So, why the heck then did Mr. he NOT say in his column who this Minister or these Ministers is or are or who they might be, and name them in the column?? Why NOT?

And finally why the hell did he NOT put forward himself to run as a candidate in these internal DLP elections given his kind of philosophy? Why? Again it is clear that Mr. Da Silva does NOT have any integrity or credibility on this issue which he raised in his column.

Well, so much for Mr. Da Silva washing some dirty DLP linen in public as is customary of many DLP members, given that he has raised an issue of which he himself has NO real fundamental involvement in.

PS – The above incompletion was inadvertently sent. Please remove. Thanks in Advance.

2. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Where are the dlp followers who can support what their party has done for the economy since jan 2008

3. Donald Duckie Esq.
    Dah in do NUTTON, before, during or after Jan.2008.
    You feel good now? Good.
    I tell you wah you want ta hear.
    Now, wah you plan to do fa we? As man.
    Nutton neitha right, so go an keep quiet.
    DAH IN DO NUTTON.

4. Donald Duck, Esq

Ask the survey that was just released!!!!!!!!!

5. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar
    “*Adviser to the President*”

I told you already that you are a blooging blog humbug
    You picking on everybody . Dont you have better things to do than hide behind a nick-name and interfere with who aint interfere you .?
    What kind of attention starved FREAK ! behind a computer keyboard are you ?
    I said that you should be called nigger pepper and not bonny pepper, -small, all over the place and in people’s face.

A bath can be had anytime of the day.
    Its your time-
    go get one

6. Bonny them just hurt that they would have been WHITE WASHED 16 -4 and nobody aint want the biter!!!!!

7. This CADRES survey is bound to confuse all of your contributors David.

Predictions: LIB will find some way to question its methodology, the interpretation of it etc. blah, blah, blah monotony as he always does.

Donald Duck will go and get a bush bath with Adviser to the President!

David, will confuse the issue when he doesn’t really need to. Its clear.

WIV will take a vacation!

Sylvan Greenidge/Royalrumble will go back to selling insurance.

8. @Veritas

Awaiting our copy of the report, don’t disappoint the BU family.

9. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

I hope the survey has rated the dlp’s performance on the economy. If it gets anything but an F, then we would have to question it!

10. President
    Ya got ma crying. Ya got Bonny alias nigger peppa cracking up.
    Ya blasted KLOWN.
    An by de way, my water off, so I ain’t bathing fa you nor nabody. Good.
    Advisor to the President is you real name ya Pussee? You so blasted igrant doe.
    I luv ta tease you cause I could see dat you real miserable. Ya nitpicka.
    Nex’ round. Come.

Anonymous,
    He is just a sore loser, see. I does feel sorry fa he sumtimes but he got ta learn to ‘tek a horn’.

11. Veritas,
    Ya mus’ not be so wicked. I luv um.
    Wait, he is sell insurance? I come out just in time. Thank Heavens for small mercies.

Donald,
    If it get a ‘A’ you would still question it. I lie?
    I kinda like you ya know? You seem a alright fella un- like de President but stop getting on like Barbados was comatosed from midnight January 15,2008 til present man. Wunna ‘run de route’, now another driver tek ova. Stop de nitpicking. Doan mind President. He is a Klown, big time. I like he still doe. Like ta get unda ‘e skin.

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Veritas
    “Predictions: LIB will find some way to question its methodology, the interpretation of it etc. blah, blah, blah monotony as he always does.”[Always interesting to see if and how some believe that if it is out there that’s all that matters. I was trained to look out for GIGO (garbage in, garbage out). Don’t question? Take it as it’s stated. I suggest a good look at history and how politics has been used.

Moving on. Rigour is not trivial. If you find it boring, then be prepared for people to shout “You let us be deceived. You said we could trust…”]

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

If you are looking for Wickham’s output I can send what I have received.

14. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

lib

Start sending us the info so we can have a laugh!!

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

I have just sent 2 pdf documents. I was not at the press conference, so cannot vouch that they represent all that was available. You can of course contact contact Peter.

I must brush up on my cynicism. First, I need to learn how to quack.

16. Thanks LIB but we have already received and posted for the BU family from our sources.

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Fine. Information hoarding is not my game.

18. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

to BONNY PEPPA

You really need to get a life and stop using this blog to curse individuals. You are devaluing the Blog with your constant attempts at personal attacks. IT SOUNDS SILLY AND THE BLOG ADMINISTRATOR needs to speak to you.

I come here to express my opinion in my own style which seems to offend you. Rather than de-bunking what I say. You have this thing about attacking the person . This is silly and unbecoming of an adult. It is stupid and somebody needs to speak to you because you are not enhancing the situation by attacking individuals. I come on say what I say what I have to say and move on to something else.-

You have this knack for calling names and describing people as this or that. You really need to behave yourself and just stick to making your comments without the rancour. You are taking a joke too far. What are you trying to do ?-
    Destroy the man’s blog or what ?

I did not say anything to you personally, you started this stupid attack.

your last post-ridiculous
    President
    Ya got ma crying. Ya got Bonny alias nigger peppa cracking up.
    Ya blasted KLOWN.
    An by de way, my water off, so I ain’t bathing fa you nor nabody. Good.
    Advisor to the President is you real name ya Pussee? You so blasted igrant doe.
    I luv ta tease you cause I could see dat you real miserable. Ya nitpicka.
    Nex’ round. Come.
    Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 9:39 PM

President,
    You memory short too. So now you know dat it is two tings bout you dat short. You memory and you d*^gy.

I cud just hear ya breaving real hard and ‘busing me stink but I-N-K.
    Croakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
    Bonny Peppa // August 20, 2009 at 9:57 PM

Anon / Cadres,
    Take the President’s foolish advice, hear?
    The operative word here is ‘foolish’.

I know ya gun ‘buse me stink now, but I doan k.
    Bring it on, Croakey. Croak, croakkkkk.

Thing is that if what you are saying about me were true, I would not mind. It shows the kind of dumbass you are that you would assume certain things and then sit down and type foolishness.What kind of sick person are you ? You are way out of line -go get your kicks elsewhere !

In chatrooms if you constantly bother people , you are thrown out so your foolish thing about teasing me should not be tolerated by the BLOG ADMINISTRATOR.

19. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

TO BONNY PEPPA

Thing is that if what you are saying about me were true, I would not mind. It shows the kind of dumbass you are that you would assume certain things and then sit down and type foolishness.What kind of sick person are you ? You are way out of line -go get your kicks elsewhere !

In chatrooms if you constantly bother people , you are thrown out so your foolish thing about teasing me should not be tolerated by the BLOG ADMINISTRATOR.

20. @Adviser to the P
    “I would not mind. It shows the kind of dumbass..”

After lambasting poor Bonny Peppa look at you. What make you any better?

Don’t mind he Bonnie, with out you and Gear Box, we would not get a laugh a day to keep the doctor away.

smmoooooocccchhhh

21. @Bonny Peppa
    I see you had to straighten up bimbro about Gear Box. You see what can happen when you don’t know your history?

Oh shoot Bonny, according to LIB I may be mekking cloth here.

22. President,
    Ya got ma laffin. I serious. I laffin and typing at de same time? Can you multi-function or you would get evryting mix up?
    Lemme tell you someting man, my perception of you is that you are a very, very miserable person. And calling youself a president. You is a pissy president?
    Chill my man, you too confuse. Fa true. You sa you lord’s pray dis mornin?
    You tell me ta go and bathe earlier today and I laff.But you must nitpick an hold on ta evry chapter n’verse i speak. Wah I got fa you nah? You is get on like you girl leff you. Ya really too miserable an fretful? You gine thru you mAnapaws or wah? Try n lighten up do.
    Ya KLOWN.

If de blogmaster clip my wings, you gun still miss ma.(mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh)
    Dah kisss just fa dem sexy lips a yours.

23. ROK,
    Smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh back to you too, right up unda ya arm. Sweet thang.
    Bimbro won’t rememba Gear Box. De madwoman down by Jinkins dat show he unda she skirt, still got he mesmarized. Even if he did know GearBox, she erase all he memory one time.

24. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

rantings of a Bonny Peppa alias Nigger pepper ————————————————————————————•
    Bonny Peppa // August 22, 2009 at 10:57 AM
    Bro Scout,
    Don’t mind that rat-catcher Mongoose, there’s such a thing as mental abuse. I’ve used it myself. The thinking behind it is, ‘if I can’t get you one way, I’ll get you another’. You can call it sweet revenge.
    President,
    You included Klown.
    David, I begging fa my accolades too nah. Cuh dear.
    Right on,
    • Bonny Peppa // August 16, 2009 at 12:02 PM
    Adviser to the President
    ‘The DLP is doomed’.
    Ya yard FROG.
    croakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.
    LIB
    You leave a trail of ………shiteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ya mean.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 16, 2009 at 2:50 PM
    Mr.President,
    Because I’m not singing the same chorus as you? We’re not in the same choir, Froggie.Croakkkkkkkkkkkkkk
    As my 4yr. gran would say,
    ‘You don’t scared me”.
    Can’t get her to drop dat ‘d’ on scared.
    Just like I can’t get you to ‘drop-dead’.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 16, 2009 at 6:00 PM
    Mr.President,
    stupseeeeeeeeeee, you again? I runnin out a tings ta tell you man, so I surrenda. You win dah bout. OK.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 18, 2009 at 7:58 AM
    LIB
    You begging like a dog to come ‘visit me on my blog’. You and your ‘blog’ go take a leap off de ‘Brooklyn Bridge’. Asshole humbug.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 9:47 AM
    These ‘people’ really catching at straws just like ‘de proverbial drowning man’.
    Living in Bim,
    Also look up the words nuisance and humbug and you can apply them to your portfolio.
    We getting real tired with your long, drawn out self-portrayals.
    Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.
    Adrian,
    You in lie.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 8:20 PM
    Living in B/dos and Loving It,
    Why don’t you kiss Adrian ass doe? He got something fa you? stupseeeeeeeeeee.
    she dead? she dead? Mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.
    Robin Hood,
    You like a bile pun a pile. Irritating.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 10:44 PM
    robin hood,
    when you find out the answers you can let me know.
    By law, one is innocent until proven otherwise.
    You never heard of these allegations? So why come to ask me ?
    Why de ass you didn’t ask Royal Rumble ,Gimme a Break etc for imperical data ’bout Hartley.
    They singing de same tune as you, I guess. Ya p-hole. You make me sick.
    Why should I notify the authorities? You implying that I was a victim? Lemme tell u sumting, Robin Hood d bulla, if I was into dat life-style, she couldn’t even be in my worse nightmare, chap. She is the complete opposite of what I would be looking for.
    You know that there are rape victims who never reported the matter for one reason or another? Doesn’t mean that they weren’t raped.
    Now go back an play wid ya likkle blue balls.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 11:04 PM
    Adrian,
    You can fix de bitches good and proper, so no need to worry. I just felt the need to cuss LIB for you. He is grosssssssss.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 16, 2009 at 8:25 AM
    LIB
    Your playing around with words sickens me to the core. You’re very boring and nauseating.
    You really make me feel like I would pukeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    ’sus chroissssssssssssssssssssssss.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 9:55 AM
    Adviser to which President,
    I too love ta hear when de yard FROGS start ta croakkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.
    As adviser, I thought that you would be giving not asking, given your expertise.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 9:52 PM
    President,
    Wait man, it is you who say that B/dos worse off after 2yrs of DLP rule right?
    Well, it is you I talking to man. I ain’t confusing you wid nabody else. Um is you.
    I did getting confuse day man.

“*Adviser to the President*” // August 16, 2009 at 9:45 AM
    TO BONNY PEPPA (A REAL —–)
    —————————————–
    “*Adviser to the President*” // August 15, 2009 at 5:06 AM
    Not to get ears twisted but Barbados seems worse off at this time after nearly 2 years of DLP rule. What explaination can anyone offer for this seemingly worse off position ?? –
    ——————————————-
    Bonny Peppa // August 15, 2009 at 9:52 PM
    President,
    Wait man, it is you who say that B/dos worse off after 2yrs of DLP rule right?
    ———————————————
    SEEMS –the operative word.

Bonny Peppa // August 16, 2009 at 11:25 AM
    TO MR.PRESIDENT
    (ANOTHER _____ TOO)
    Respond to Themis and Adrian Hinds who come just after your posting.
    I like I missing something. The EnglishLanguage has a way of twisting things too not only ears.
    I can only respond by my interpretation of what I read.
    Ya ______ PRESIDENT.
    • Bonny Peppa // August 17, 2009 at 10:31 PM
    Enuff,
    Like I said, ‘your petticoat is showing’. Does it matter who he is as much as what he’s saying? I don’t give a ‘f–k who WIV is. Dat is for de yard frogs like you and company, so croak on.
    No need to get hot under de collar, ya P-hole.
    De rug get pull from under you foot too or not yet? You touchous a nuff boe.
    You got out clothes? Well, de rain set up.

25. President
    “A bath can be had any time of the day
    Its your time
    Go get one.

Dah bad. I still cracking up at dah whun. Ma tong hanging out ma mout and a dribbling. I luv um. Well, well, well,well, well.

I gine n’ bade. All jokes aside

Murdaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

26. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

TO BONNY ‘PEEPA’

You need to reflect on yourself
    Hope you are not taking out any marital frustrations on people who you puport to be MEN.

You have indicated that you are a woman. YOU DONT EVEN KNOW IF I AM A MAN OR WOMAN.

ROK: I have known you for years as a decent person. You know me well too . Dont let this person called Bonny Peppa trap you in nuh foolishness.

27. President,
    You off you medication right?
    That explains evryting.

Jinkins open all day tomorrow, so go down early an get ya ‘shot’. Doan faget.
    Go early and ya might be in time fa brekfus.

Ya Outpatient.

28. President,
    Be you man, woman or beast has nada to do with me, Mr.P
    You are too confuse.
    Marital frustration? What is dat? A new perfume? Must check it out.
    I would like to get to know ROK good like you too. I decent too.
    Presidents doan be sa confuse n pissy so you betta change you name to Mr. Pampers.

I gine n bathe Mount Misery.

29. @ATTP
    “I have known you for years as a decent person. You know me well too . Dont let this person called Bonny Peppa trap you in nuh foolishness.”

Why you don’t chill? You know me for real? You ever know anybody to trap me in foolishness? I come and find both Gear Box and Bonny Peppa. What you really want me to do? One thing I always do if you say you know me, I accept people for who they are.

Her cussing and Gear Box carrying on do not embarrass me and I ain’t going to spend time trying to change them or pick at them either… but I would spend time pun a LIB that trying desperately to ensure that we remain mentally enslaved. That more dangerous than a Bonny Peppa or a Gear Box any day.

30. "*Adviser to the President*" Avatar

to BONNY PEEPA

you dont even read and comprehend

now you are calling me president

even that you cant seem to get right

you really need to bathe.

31. President,
    See what I tell you ’bout nitpicking? I can’t imagine one blogger can be so desparately nitpickerous.
    I dun bade. Feel afresh. Cup a tea jus now and den time ta cuddle up til tamorr when I ready ta persecute you.

ROK
    Only thing I would like you to change ’bout me is my name.I would like to becum Mrs.ROK. Would do whatevva it takes.

Nite-nite President.
    Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

32. Bimbro won’t rememba Gear Box. De madwoman down by Jinkins dat show he unda she skirt, still got he mesmarized.

Yuh right day gal!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!