Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. “Opetin the blasted door!”

With all due respect, opentin is not that, but like this;

De door shut
    Opentin.

Or like this;

Sumting cum fuh you.
    Fuh trute, Wuh?
    A big box.
    Opetin and see wuh inside nuh!

2. “Opetin the blasted door!”

With all due respect, opetin is not used like that, but like this;

De door shut
    Opetin.

Or like this

Or like this;

Sumting cum fuh you.
    Fuh trute, Wuh?
    A big box.
    Opetin and see wuh inside nuh!

3. Anybody can remember the Zephyr motor car and when every country man seemed to own a Vespa.

4. @General Lee

The Mauby Coolers
    were equally as popular.

5. Mauby Cans General.

6. A Mobilette or was it mobylette; popularily known as the Mauby Can. A one gear motor cycle that was just a bit thicker than a bicycle.

The men used to strand them out; had them barking; one gear.

7. Seems like only “rich” people on this thread.
    Wunna caan rememba going tuh wid yuh two clamps pun de ground wid yuh foot shining wid de lard oil yuh cream yuh skin wid?

Wunna caan rememba the time when the kerosene oil truck used to come round?

When yuh had to cook wid dried cow dung?

Wunna eva hear bout de hags dat used to hide behind the big water can in de corner, and when yuh gone sleep come out and suck yuh blood and how yuh had to sprinkle salt pon de step to stop dem from coming inside de house.

When last you see a black sage bush or a black bumble bee?

You ever run through nettles when you was small?

Wunna never hear bout people that used to keep lil red men in bottles, that could to beat people bad, dem is the same thing as a backoo?

8. The mauby cooler was the one that you could also pedal if you ran out of gas?

9. @ General Lee..

Was in NY last month and the Vespa is still a hit!!
    A bit sleeker but the original lines still there…lol.

10. How come no one remembers the mule cart that used to carry canes to the factories?

11. Men used too have those Vespas decked out.
    Reflectors caan done!

12. What the BU household remembers is every yard had potato, bonavis, yam vines crawling all over the palings. Every Saturday the family would go and pick peas and other produce from the back yard garden to supplement what was in the larder. The biggest of the children had the nasty job of catching a duck or chicken from the yard, this would entail cutting the head off and soaking the body in hot water to pluck the feathers. God help you if you burst the bitta gall.

13. The worst thing was plucking a black one.
    The more feathers you plucked the more you saw.

14. @General

Not cooler, Mauby Can. Yes you could pedal if you ran out of gas.

15. I remember when there was little packaged rice and people bought loose rice, having too pick the bad grains from rice on Saturday nights or Sunday mornings.
    Sometimes the rice was so dirty that you had to sieve out the broken grains.

16. …dont forget the spinach too David…..had to check for slugs.
    Amazing everyone on facebook now want to be on Farmville, yet, none of them ever dip out a cess-pool in their life….lol…never wash down a gutter, clean out the sheep pen or wash down the pig pen.
    Remember burning down the pit-toilet everytime you had lots of rain?
    Or using the Advocate for toilet paper?..after you soaked it a bit?
    Or bathing in the outside bathroom with a crapaud (big ass frog) in the corner, praying he dont jump on you?
    What good ole days what?!?
    …but those days built character.

17. Bringing water to fill up the 50 gallon drum, in a galvanized bucket on your head, with out a pad to cushion the weight, because you feel you is a big man, that was sure to build some character.

18. You are correct Technician, those times built a rock solid personal value system. We valued what we had, we shared what we had.

Many a man got his pecker bit by a greedy cockroach. When there was bad weather and the pit was receiving more water than the suck could handle the yard would get trampled with cockroaches galore, BIG ASS cockroaches, even some funny coloured ones.

19. @David.
    the feathers were dried out and used to stuff pillows .you wake up in the morning with duck feathers in yourhair.Quack’ Quack’

20. @ac

So true 🙂

Does anyone remember some people in the house would fight for the foul pooch?
    In the pooch two slivers of chicken meat could be found which some argue was the sweetest part of the fowl.

21. @David

What foul pooch what? Oil can, man.

22. how about dem chinchs dem suckers bit the sh….t out of yuh .i had a grannie her bed was loaded with and for some reason it would at times sleep at her.
    i was thinking some one should ask one of those calpysonians to record a song with the above title the young people would enjoy it .So Funny.

23. Long before the Mobilette, there were the Triumphs and Ariel motor cycles from England soon to be replaced by the Honda, Suzukis from Japan. The cars were the Zephyrs/Consuls and Vauxhalls and who can forget the Hillmans/Sunbeans/Humbers or the Austin/Morris. Later there was an influx of other cars like Fiat and the Japanese cars which are now prevalent. How about diving for sea eggs with a long pole (I think they were taken from a cactus plant) where the bag containing the sea eggs was tied around the pole. Nowadays we hear about Aloe Vera in various shampoos, I used to see people wash their hair with one of the cactus plant containing aloe long ago (can’t remember the name).

As a schoolboy my mother bought me a cap which was hung on a common rack with all the other caps, whenever I returned to the rack my cap would be missing or I couldn’t tell which one was mine, she gave up after I lost my cap for the third time. Biscuit and milk
    ( the precursor to the School meal program) where the task of making the milk (Klim)was assigned to the boys who were considered “duncy”, they used to make the milk sweet so many boys would have problems after which would be evident if you visited the common bathroom with the chains to flush. Scrubbing desks at end of school term (elementary) with a kind of bush which grew wild; being forced to stand on the bench if you misbehaved so the Headmaster could see you from his elevated platform and administer a flogging.

Many people did not have ovens for Xmas baking so they would have to arrange for their baking to be done by some baker who had the necessary equipment. Today everyone has an oven but they get their baking done at the Supermarket.

I brought up flogging and baking, Hmmnnnn the more things change the more they remain the same

24. De onlies’ place tah get lil’ piece was in de cane row… hope nah body don’ catch yah while yah shottin’…! Ain’ dat de trut’ Bonny? Hah HA HAAAAAAAA

25. somebody ask earlier if anybody read’Born in the Briar Patch.’ A fren o’ mine had a copy and len me. Tings dat we long forget ’bout in dis book. It got in tings like jobbying, rubbing lard oil pun de children feet, de obeah man and de santapee. Rememba the santapee? Wen he bite ya, ya had to rub candle grease pun it to keep down de swelling?

26. @Bonny Peppa, ya got me with that 3 wheel car.The only three wheel car I can recall is when a wheel fell off a fellow Hillman Mink in Waterford Bottom.
    @Sargeant . The women used to wash their hair with Crushing Needle or Flat Hand Dildo,don’t ask me why they called it that.
    On a visit to a Jamaican botanical garden I learn two things. One a red lilly- like plant known as the Red Dragon ,a very common garden plant here,was once used for abortions in that country. Two ,the national flower of Jamaica, is the Lignum Vitae, which was used in Barbados at one time for the same very purpose. The possession of a single leaf of Lignum Vitae would take you to the High Court.In the gullies and grass pieces grew some trees known as Fustic, its hard wood was used for making cart wheels, and again possession of a piece of this tree could land you in jail.

27. David,
    Thanks for bringing forward de post again.

Wunna got ma crying. De post like um sweeta dis time around.

Pizzard,
    Ya got ma cryin. Jobbying. I in hear dah word fa decades. Some small children would say jobbin-b. Murdahhh
    Ya motha use ta put ink pun a santapee sting too. It happen ta me.

ROK,
    I always thought dat Roodals was in Ch.Ch. ac say it was in ChCh.

GeneralLee,
    Way you did hiding all de time man? You funny as hell n playing bo-peep.Lookkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk.
    I in familia wid some a de tings you talk bout like de kersine oil truck coming to de village or cow dong ta cook wid. I know bout de dirty ass rice doe, cause sometimes it did sa dirty ya had ta pick out de good grains.(teeheeee).
    You mention gine school bare-foot but ya in mention de patches in you pants pooch. Dem ol people cudda darn real good man.

Technician,
    Way you did hidin all dis time man?
    Anyway, de Vespa was popula wid postmen too. De modern ones are automatic doe but still a hit.
    Tech who invent solar water heaters? Not James Husbands a ‘tall. Long befo he , we use ta put de galvanise tub in de sun ta get de wata hot ta bathe.Rememba?
    Crapaud, doan kno de las day i hear dah word. Ya badddddddddddddd.

De ugly colour funny looking cock-roaches did de granny an granpa roaches man. murdahhhhhhhhhhhhh

BAFBFP,
    A wonda why you doan stop spile-ing me doe. You evva wonda why cane juice sa sweet? Well, sweet is sweet whetha ya gine fa cane or fu cane.
    Ya ring-neck-vagabon.
    (ya got ma twitching in ma seat)
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Ya instigata. looka wah you gone n do.

Sargeant,
    I rememba my older brother was learning to drive a Humber and one day he come home at lunch time an we run outside jumping up an shouting when we see he behind de wheel. De fool like he get excited or did trying ta show-off when he see he lil sistas n brothas, and he drive right in ta de neighbour’s house n rip off de whole side a de house. De car barely had a scratch. Lemma tell ya sumting, we hold real licks dah day from we motha fa ‘frightening de damn boy’.

ROK,
    I hay gettin ready fa de drive-in. i got on my pedal pushers n my polka dot top wid matching raggie-anns. I ridin my Vespa. Be ready when I get day. We gine ta de 5:30 matinee.

28. The Boys school had a manger, today it would be know as a urinal. It was a elongated concrete trough ,with one end open. Boys used to gather round it , doggies out,seeing who could spout the farthest. There was a sweet hog plum tree above, and the best plums used to drop in the manger. In those days a lil boy pants did not have a fly, so you had to pee through ya pants leg.

29. There was a time when molasses was a useless waste product, only good for feeding animals.All the sugar factories had a dumping site or tank to throw this waste. It was commonly referred to as ‘Ratta” as the rats used to swim and play in the stuff. Once a plantation truck overturned with all the engine oil running out on the road,the watchman, shouted, “Look!Look! all de man ratta running out.”

30. Church’s excursions used to be very popular, people used to look forward to them.But the only draw back, is that you may not be planning on going to the excursion, but that did not stop your fowl cock from doing so in somebody’s basket.

31. Weddings was another popular event, like the funeral it was judged on how many cars attended. Everything was done at home,even if it meant slinging up a tarpaulin at the side of the house to accommodate the guest. Cars would come back from the wedding with thier horn honking.There had some car from St Lucy and St Thomas that were popular at wedding with their musical horns. Rice and stew in abundance. Rum ,and maybe some Falernum. Homemade soft drinks, and loads and loads of coconuts and bananas. Everybody used to buy new clothes for a wedding.

32. They used to say that when those old motor cycle engines were idling, they
    would be purring
    ah-becha-killya, ah-becha-killya
    and many meant it.
    There were some strange motor cycles in Barbados. One was called the Douglas Dragon Fly, and another the Vincent Black Knight. I ‘ve seen one with a drag shaft like a car,another with a gear lever like a truck and another with a radiator.
    There was fellow from St Joseph who was a bit hard of hearing and used to drive a Triumph Bonneville, and liked a bit of speeding. One day he picked up this fellow going home from town. A few miles out and the fellow scared as hell, tap him on the shoulder and shouted to him that he wanted to get off.The hard of hearing rider said,”Ugh! , ya tell mah I en going fast enuff?” and he throttled the cycle even more. The passenger was a nervous wreck when he finally got off.

33. Bradley432,
    murdaaaaaaaaaa, a cryinnnnnn, ya badddddddddddddd. You gun get charge fa murda befo dis post close. De wata runnin down ma face n legs too.
    So de ‘dip-in-piss’ hog plums did de sweetest? Lord help maaaaaaaaaaa. But wait, de boys cudda cah school dem doggies? (a cryinnnnnnn) so de girls cudda cah school dem pussies too? Mussy had cat n dog fights a nuff bosey.

Dem fowl cocks did real ‘hard-ears’ fa gine ta de church excursion widout you pamission. Oh Lord, Braddy ya badddddd. (a cryinnnnnnnnn still)

Talking bout weddings, especially de country weddings boy. I rememba helping out wid de cooking at one in de early 80’s in St. Philip. Talk bout food. Oh christ. Evry body in de village like dah donate a sheep, goat, pig or cow. I nevva see summuch food befoe or afta.

You rememba dat coconuts would only be seen on Sundays? Now ya gettin coconuts from Sunday back to Sunday. I wonda whay all dese coconuts coming from. De trees doan stop bearing, um look like.

De 3 wheel car was tiny and shape like a beetle and had only two doors I tink. The one I know was white and a lady use ta drive it. De early 60’s I talkin bout.

Any BU family dat know ’bout dese 3 wheel cars, come forward pleezeeeeeeeeeeee. I beginnin ta doubt myself ya.

34. Bradley432,
    De wata runnin down ma face. Lord, help maaaaa.
    “ugh, ya tell ma dat I in gine fas enuff’.
    Lord, have mercyyyyyyyyyyyy, Braddy, a deadinnnnnnnnnn.
    (My fam’bly soon tink dat I gine mad)

You sure de pillion was a nervous wreck or a dead whun?

Braddy, man you funny as helllllllllllllll.
    Lord have mercyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, a cryin.

Jeff Cumberbatch
    Wait,wah happen? I in hearin you a ‘tall.
    Huhhhhhhh
    ‘rip out ya balls wid a rippin-iron’.

35. @Bonny

Maybe you are confusing the Roodal’s Drive-in with the Sundown.

36. David,
    Maybe so, come to think of it. Didn’t remember the Sundown at all.

Sundown reminds me of the good old westerns when the cowboys want to ‘draw’. It was always ‘meet me at sundown or before sundown’.

37. Bonny P
    In the early seventies. the trucks from either Mobil or Shell, I cannot recall which, used to come out every week. I think there was some kind of shortage.

If you did not get any oil or your parents wanted to stretch the little they had, you had to go and collect wood, dry coconut husk and cow dung to cook with.

This was was stockpiled where it could not get wet.

When the wood fire went out, you had to go and fan it still it ketch back up. The smoke would bring rivers of water from your eye.
    In those days few people had or even heard about asthma.

I remember my father bringing home nuff nuff flying fish and my mother scaling every single one that same night as there was no electricity. We had to make smut lamps to see with.

All of those fish would be fried that same night and you would receive a whole one for helping.

38. My grandmother had a trapdoor under her bed that led to the cellar where she used to store ground provisions.

Those provisions used to keep forever, unlike today where they spoil as soon as you get them home.

39. @General Lee

BU remembers the helpers getting a couple of the fish steamed (not fried). Usually swimming in some butter and onion broth which was too sweet.

40. Don’t recall if there has been discussion about the Douche Can which was a fixture in the corner of the bedroom with its rubber hose and facet like fitting attached to an enamel like container.

Wonder what it was used for 🙂

When somebody told you ‘yuh smell like a douche can’ …

41. I have never seen one but have heard men being called so in cuss outs with women.
    I know about the enamel pail which was used by the ostentatious, instead of the common topsy.

42. Home Sweet Home, the best shade for the oil lamps or as we called them then, lamp chimney.
    The ones that always seemed to break as soon as your mother told you “try an doh leh it brek”, while cleaning it before lighting the lamp.

43. General Lee,
    A cryinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.
    I remember the oil shortage in the early 70’s but can’t remember the oil truck coming around.
    De ol’ folk used to fry the small side- bones too from the flying fish. Mix them with a lil flour n seasoning, fried crisp like a ‘pack a brown nuts’ man.
    I still have my ‘Home Sweet Home’ lamp-chimney. Dare any to go near it.

You probably too young but you remember the 3wheel cars? Ask your mama or papa for me.

44. Never saw the three wheel cars, but I remember SSA having some three wheel trucks.

45. You forgot to mention the melts.

You know why touch pork used to be so sweet, and why only certain people hand used to “touch de pork”.

46. @General Lee; I think they call that barbecuing today .ican’t remember seeing no postman on any form of transportation only his twowheelers.{legs}. good people they were never forget any name or house.How about the gutter perk kill nuff bird and also left alump on a person head.remember using potash to brush the teeth .i remember when credit was good the indian had bolts of cloth in the carwhatever you want he will give youon credit no credit forms to fill out

47. It would be heartwarming for us to be able to travel down time with tv clippings or pictures of “old time Barbados”.

Items such as Religion, music, old time life styles….anything.

Some tiv clippings could be posted on UTUBE by those who have the technology.

I was born in England.
    I just happened to casually put in some old names of places I knew and a child on utube; low and behold, my childhood come alive with tv clippings of yesteryear.
    It’s amazing what the internet can do.

Tt would be good if we can start downloading and many clippings: tv and photos of yesteryear.

48. I grew up seeing a house on the brink of a gully hill and was told that the woman would not pay the coolie man, so he sent a steel donkey to kick down the house.

No credit form, no bailiff required, pay or else!

49. @Bonny ,Is this the 3-wheel car in the link below ? I came across these in the land where it was made.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28175078.jpg
    A Messerschmitt-Kabinerr

50. Bradley 432 // October 24, 2009 at 3:31 PM

“Everybody used to buy new clothes for a wedding”

Hah..!…Everybody used to buy new clothes tah ga pun a plane…!