Fellow Bajan Blogger Amit fom Pull Push has asked for the urgent assistance of the BU family to complete his Master dissertation project. A key component to completing a Masters certification is the qualitative and quantitative work required to prove or disprove a hypothesis.

I would like to ask for your/the BU’s family help. I’m still short of responses for my questionnaire on resident perceptions of tourism impacts in Barbados. I’ve converted the questionnaire into an online format and it is available here at Survey Monkey Website:

As a result of our economic dependence on tourism, the purpose of the survey is to study resident (Barbadian) perceptions of tourism impacts in Barbados. The survey should take between 5 to 10 minutes to complete and will be available for one week from today. It’s anonymous, and there are no right/wrong answers, only perceptions.

1. Tourism improves public utilities infrastructure?????????

we have a public utilities infrastructure???????? you mean cheffet? or KFC???

i would like to see the total results of that survey

2. @Ready Done

This is but one of the impacts that was identified by the academic lit. (not one that I made up). The statements are all based on the academic literature, which is based on empirical studies done in other countries.

There appears to be little research of this nature in Bim (and from the little academic lit I’ve seen, the impacts used are similar), as such, I’ve had to use the most ‘common’ impacts found all over.

As a side note, this then presents an opportunity to develop our own impact scale (i.e. in conjunction with MOT, BTA, BHTA, Citizens, etcetera).

As for the public utilities infrastructure, I believe it refers to: elec, natural gas, water (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Public_utility)

Cheers,
    Amit.

p.s., I’ve told David (and anyone else interested) that the results will be sent to them if they’re interested.

3. good one! We need to do a lot more of this.

4. “Tourism improves transport infrastructure.”

What is infrastructure? The organisation of transport or the availability of transport?

5. A second request for the BU family to assist Amit to complete his questionnaire. We might add posting feedback based on your perspective is worthwhile. ROK is correct, we don’t have a strong research culture in Barbados, let us help the youngster who is doing some work which can be of national significance.

6. That last question is a bomb and ought to be weighed in terms of the impact of tourism on the environment, culture and economy.

Tourism has had devastating effects on the environment and our culture while being good for the pocket only. However, all the latter has done is increase inflation and price gouging in my opinion; especially on the belt itself.

7. @ROK

Re: “Tourism improves transport infrastructure.” According to Belisle and Hoy (1980), in a study of the perceived impacts of tourism in Colombia, a large percentage of residents associated developments and improvements in the road network with tourism.

Re: The final question, that was my own question and a common-sense question to at that (especially for Barbados which is economically dependent on tourism).

Cheers,
    Amit.

8. @Amit

“…a large percentage of residents associated developments and improvements in the road network with tourism.”

I think that a lot of our road development is driven by population needs, especially in the communities like bush hall, deacons, grazettes, brittons hill, bayland, etc.

Now when we get to the ABC highway and its development again the problem is local. Questions of getting to work and school and jamming of traffic at peak hours only. Note the difference in traffic when school is on vacation. Drastically different. Tourism don’t contribute much to that at all.

The development of our roads right now is more to do with Bajans owning cars than tourism. In some pockets we may see development as tourist oriented but in the main, my observation is no; or at least a very limited result of tourism.

There was a period of about 20 years from about 1976 when virtually nothing was done with our roads. I would admit that the Spring Garden and the ABC Highways were built during that time but remember RPB and the pot holes. Pot holes on pot holes.

9. @ROK

I am not familiar with the development of our road network, but I accept your position. Also, some time ago, someone mentioned to me that our road network evolved (over time) from foot-paths.

I am not in anyway saying that our road network is as a result of tourism (I tend to agree with your position, i.e., as a result of demand by Barbadians).

I was just explaining the origin of that particular impact statement (i.e., Belisle and Hoy, 1980). As such, people will (hopefully) complete the survey and respond according as you have done.

Cheers,
    Amit.

10. haha by “public utilities infrastructure” i ment rest rooms.

I always thought our road network evolved from cart roads used to move sugar cane in earlier times.

11. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

ROK annoys me
    I think a name change is in order
    I think the removal of that photo is in order too
    What about it ROK ?

12. ROK,
    I’m back from de birfday rendezvous. Missed you immensely.Mwahhhhhhh.

Brain Power (Bare Pupp)
    You annoying me too. So wah gun happen?
    You vex caus you ugly? Lef dah face fa ma ya.
    I change you name too. You like de new whun? Bare Pup (excreta)

Tanks fa de birfday greetingsments y’all.

13. @BP
    Seems like you would like me to deny my existence. Maybe you should sit and ponder on those around you whom you annoy; or don’t they tell you? At least I am open enough for you to feel free to tell me.

You did not make yourself; maybe you shaped yourself, but certainly your position reflects the epitome of arrogance and the reason why so much vexation, discrimination and stigma exist in this society. We really need to mend our ways. Why should I annoy you? I get under your skin for some reason you don’t like, right?

I cannot think of a single position or view that I hold that would not be reasonable to any man possessing similar facts, but I can think of many positions I hold that would make me the target of certain people with a certain mentality and agenda that has the worst outcome for people like me.

14. @Ready Done

Point taken (re: public restrooms). As I mentioned to ROK, I had heard that our road network evolved from foot-paths, etcetera.

As for the KFC and Cheffette, why did you leave out the pudding and souse, coconut water, fish, and sno-cone vendors? I think these are very important “public institutions” in Bim. 😉

On a serious note, thanks to David and those of you who have completed the survey. More responses are needed, but the numbers are slowly growing.

Cheers,
    Amit.

15. Hahahahahahahahaha! Bonny Peppa, Welcome back! Hope you had a real good birthday. I see you left back some of them peppa seeds for me. LOL!

ssmmmmooooooooccccccchhhh

16. @Amit
    “why did you leave out the pudding and souse, coconut water, fish, and sno-cone vendors? I think these are very important “public institutions” in Bim.”

Aha! Very important! This goes back to the question of what has tourism done for these? These are very, very local and tourism has not changed the coconut cart. Not sure that snow cone is a favourite for tourists; I see that as a dynamic kind of trade starting with snow ball and then popsicle with snow cone following; very Bajan or maybe tropical… but I see fruit ice was also there.

Pudding and souse is not traditionally marketed among tourist; for that matter it is only in recent times that our local dishes started entering the tourist industry. A wider question is what has the tourism industry done for local agriculture?

However, I would grant you that standards in food preparation has done a lot in recent years for pudding & souse but to what extend did tourism and training in tourism had a hand in this.

I think the drive is more a matter of the ministry of health addressing the concern of previously low standards in local catering. This was stepped up for World Cup, granted, but the tourist industry already had its standards and as a matter of fact, I would even concede that those who exited the tourist industry with these skills were better patronised when they started up their own food business…

but the real benefit and development came from authorities addressing local concerns.

17. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bonny Girl

Hope yuh had a reaaaaaaal good birfday.

Now come and do yuh damage as only you could.

18. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

(BP)
    Brain Power (Bare Pupp) ??

(BP)
    Bonny Peppa (Bare Pupp)

Brain Power (Bare Pupp)
    You annoying me too. So wah gun happen?
    You vex caus you ugly? Lef dah face fa ma ya.
    I change you name too. You like de new whun? Bare Pup (excreta)

Tanks fa de birfday greetingsments y’all.

19. I have done the survey.

I however, think that it might be a good idea to post the questions in the forum and have each one of them discussed in a methodical and logical way (if that is indeed possible on BU by the average poster).

Such a discussion might yield a better understanding of the views of residents, and thier attitudes to the issues raised in the survey.

20. @Georgie Porgie

Thank you (and everyone else) for completing it. The responses are slowly climbing. If anyone knows a friend, co-worker, or family member that may want to fill it out, please feel free to email them the link.

As for your suggestion (Georgie Porgie), I personally have no issue with a “public” discussion of the various tourism impacts on BU (or on any other website) and think that this is a good idea (not sure how the discussion will turn out though, LOL).

I will send the questions toDavid and he can decide how/when to proceed from there. At present however, I’m trying to get as many people to complete over the next week or two.

Cheers,
    Amit.

21. ROK
    de birfday woulda been much moe gooda had you been day ta help share it.
    anyways, ya were abscent in body but sure present in ma mind. Chan help um.

Mash Up
    Teehee, ya spileing ma rep. I is a good girl ef only in ma sleep.

Bare Pupp
    Dah is all you got? Stupseeeeeeeeeeee.
    “wasted’ brain not brain power. Klown.

Bimbro,
    I back in tongue, but x-hausted. Boy, de flexibility in like befoe. Gotta tek um easy. Tings I use ta do befoe i can only tink ’bout doin now. Wah ’bout you? Doan be shame. Ya instigata.

22. Dr. Porgie,
    I did the survey too. Quite interesting. I love Social Studies. Did it at CXC level about 3 yrs ago and got a 2. It is almost impossible to get a 1 in that subject. You have to write off your hands it looks like and there’s only so much you can write on any given topic. Love it still.
    Dr. Porgie, I would be glad to know if there is anyone out there who has a 1 in Social Studies. Everyone I ask always say they got either a 2, 3 or other.

23. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Amit,

interesting survey.

ROK said….

“Tourism has had devastating effects on the environment and our culture while being good for the pocket only.”

I think that view is particularly short sighted.

On transportation infrastructure, we certainly would not have the airport, seaport, taxi network that we have now if it weren’t for the tourism industry.

Also it is in part due to the agitation of the industry that areas of government like the police and the sanitation authority get the resources they get (note I said IN PART so don’t jump up saying that I said that’s the only reason)

The National Conservation Commission grew out of the “Parks and Beaches” who’s mandate was specifically tourism targeted. Crop Over was revived in order to target the tourism industry the Jazz festival is similarly targeted.

I could go on…..

24. @Bonny Peppa and NTFM

Thanks for taking the time to complete the survey, if you folks can pass it on to others, that would be great.

@NTFM and ROK

Well, already we are seeing, I think, different views, i.e., the perceptions of what tourism development has, and has not brought to Bim.

25. Amit,
    Hummuch ya payin?
    Just kidding.

26. I did it. Interesting survey

27. @notesfromthemargin

“On transportation infrastructure, we certainly would not have the airport, seaport, taxi network that we have now if it weren’t for the tourism industry.”

Well the questions were couched in such a way that you could select the degree to which you think tourism contributed. I agree that tourism did play some part but for most of the development, I think that reaction and development was more locally driven.

However, the impact on the environment has been really serious. You should examine it with the experts. As a matter of fact this is so well recognised as a fact that the hotels on the coast has been contributing to saving the reef and resuscitating coastal marine life. I think that the Barbados Marine Trust is part of that effort.

As you say though, this is only one aspect. The expansion of the airport does not weigh too heavy in my books because that is simply expansion. We had an international airport since seawell and in our quest to be recognised as a developed country, being international was not enough as this mostly spoke to what services were available and whether the airport could be accessed 24/7/365.

For example, It could not have been classified as International without having a Meteorological Office at the airport; or a 24hr Air Traffic Control service.

However, I agree that my statement was a bit extreme but do you disagree that a lot of development was self driven in the sense that it was driven by local needs above consideration for tourists arrivals?

28. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

Bonny Peppa

(BP)
    Bonny Peppa IS (Bare Pupp)

29. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

Bare Pupp

30. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

Bare Pupp

Bonny Peppa

(BP)
    Bonny Peppa IS (Bare Pupp)

31. BRAIN POWER (BP) Avatar
    BRAIN POWER (BP)

ROK is so boring then !
    he aint got nothing else to do though ?
    cheese on bread.

R O K—————wha dah means doh ?
    R O K- Reasons -Onions- Kukumber
    Rigorous-Old- Kart
    What the frigg does it mean ?

I am bored by it anyway
    I want it changed and changed now
    Also that Photo annoys me

-is that a nose or what ? what is it ?

Is that a beard ? how it look so ?

32. @David

You have to be doing a really good job with this blog to have such an overwhelming display of jealousy by those who would like to confuse. Don’t worry, I am good. I know how to call them as you would know.

After seeing Bimbro’s post about BU getting licks (or was it RD?) I actually went to BFP and after reading, I found nothing worthwhile to respond to. I saw Chris battling but I really wonder if that is necessary. Grateful that he would take the time though. The thought counts.

After exiting the page, I realise how much I treasure the bloggers on BU and you yourself, because without you creating the environment we would not have them… but could you imagine a Bajan blog without Bonny Peppa and Gear Box? Like no coucou or pudding & souse.

Even the Bajan-Limey Bimbro from over in away; man we got a good Bajan mix. names like Tall Boy, Yardbroom, Negroman and Bush Tea. Man this is the best blog in the world and it got BFP sending out agents like how they do Marcus Garvey; only, this ship may be underground but certainly ain’t sinking.

All pun intended… Skipper! All Hands on Board! Keyboard!

33. @ROK et al

Thanks for your support. We have created a nice family, a good mix. We quite enjoyed Georgie holding court today!

34. @ROK:
    Interesting you should reference MARCUS Garvey. Reminds of me of Marcus Thompson for some reason. lol!

It goes without saying BU is the place to be. Thanks for providing this blog, and for your position on censorship and freedom of expression.

So you know and not that you care. BFP has seen a 53% fall of in traffice over the last three months while BU has registered a 3% increase for the sae period. Barbadosforum is currently leading the pack. I believe it is due to it’s archive of stories and situations going all the way back to 2000. Plus it has a good mixed of contributors and interest. It is a forum and has easily searched catogories, a strenght it will always have over the worpress format.

35. @AH…

With respect…

Percentage != (read: is not equal to) Quantity.

They are related, but they are very different things…

Barbadosforum has *nothing* on the traffic of BU or BFP.

Or, put another way, 99 / 100 is much greater than 1,000,000 / 2,000,000. Isn’t it?

Or, put another way, the latter numbers are *much* more interesting, aren’t they, particularly if one is counting humans?

36. You are correct Chris. I confused link popularity with actual Traffic.

37. @ Amit,

Just completed the survey. Interesting. I wish you had a space for comments (our own opinions).

BFP is raking up old dirt. I think LIB may have had something to do with it. Just my perception. He is peeved, like a small boy.

38. @Pat and Taymer

Thanks for completing it.

@Pat

I had thought of including comments, as these are very important and would capture the ‘essence’ of how people feel.

However, the quantitative approach was adoped so that I could test easily (via stats and numbers) build a ‘score/index’ for overall perceptions and also test between groups of people (i.e., tourist workers and non-tourism) to see if there were any relationships/differences.

However, as I said, comments/feedback are important as well. One of the recommendations I will make is that if a future study is done, it captures comments as well.

Cheers,
    Amit.

39. BP (Bare Pupp)
    You in got nah rasthole ‘toys’ ta play wid? Well, play wid yaself.

ROK
    This sweet, sexy, face got sum peeple real envious an bad-minded. Tell dem it’s in de genes, Hunny. In de genes.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

40. I think ROK’s approach to white tourists and sex tourism is just the solution we need to enhance the already wonderful public relations campaign in Ottawa as started by negroman.

The Canadian travel blogs have started to pick up your comments at BFP.

Thanks a bunch from the BTA!

41. @Tourism Help
    Can’t remember stating a position on or approach to tourism.

42. You notice that the bleak forecast for tourism is ending up with additional flights to Barbados and in some cases larger aircraft are to be deployed to Barbados?

Wonder if this surprise is as a result of tourists reading BU?

43. @Amit

Thanks. Also recommend that they include an open ended question, if no comments space, or both.

44. @Pat

Will do. Thnx. And thnx to all at BU and those who, via BU, filled it out.

All in all, the online questionnaire format has resulted in about 147 completed questionnaires.

I am still hoping for more responses, so I will leave it up and running until for a few more days.

Cheers,
    Amit.

45. Dear All,

The survey is now closed. Thank you very much for your time and patience.

The chapter on findings/discussion will be sent to David for, I hope, posting and discussion on BU.

Cheers,
    Amit.