Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. ac
    But ya didn’ say which was your favrite ‘spot’. Doan tell na lies.

Bradley432,
    Wah bout de country slang? Sometimes it was hard fa a town rat ta undastan wah a true true country buck did sayin.Especially if he/she come from St,Lucy, St. John or St. Philip. Oh christ man, it use ta gih we town rats hell to figure out wah dah saying man. ‘Me dis n me dat’, n ‘unna’ n ‘seh’ n ‘weh’. Not now doe. Only some older folk still have de ‘slang’.
    I kno bout rubbing de sweet lime pun ya fingers to mek dem grow, which nevva happened, but eating dem is new ta me.
    You rememba de 3 wheel car? A little car looking like a beetle wid 3 wheels.
    And when ya come in after a certain time at night, ya was supposed to come in backwards dat de ‘duppy’ won’t folow ya inside. Be Christ, many a nite, me n my brothas n sistas trying to come thru de door at de same time cause nabody doan want ta come in backwards. Suppose ya did come face ta face wid a ‘duppy’? Oh shite,looka ma crosses doe nah.
    You rememba a few years ago probably in de late 70’s, i tink, a youngster had an encounter wid a Quija board and he turn ‘foolishy-foolishy? He did probably foolish long before he trouble de board.
    But sum a dese tings is get me real frighten hear? A big ol bat like me..

I like de one wid de policeman n Ms. Rock buses. A wonda if he did puttin it in he car or de police jeep. (teeheeeee)
    I rememba when she last bus ta Rock Hall, Rock Dundo was 8 O’clock. Miss dah n ya bus luck..

2. All hail Royal Princess,how proud and glad are we
    Of this ,your visit, to the isles of the Caribee,
    We of, Barbados……………………………..
    In one of these clips you will also see the flag of the West Indies Federation as well as the Federal Prime Minister.
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=39039
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?=64021

3. That other clip should have been
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=64021

4. @ Bonny Peppa , we had some trouble understanding the town folk too. They spoke too fast and used some words which had not yet reach the country. When I first went to West St Joseph and meet up with some people from a nearby tenant,we could not understand very much what they were saying. I remember the headmaster Igna Byer flogging a boy from that village ,for saying to him,”Sur de hoze bust” (Sir the garden hose has burst) But the best one I heard is this town boy , wanting to pitch some marbles , asked his country friend to ” Hold my cock and pull it.” The country boy was taken back, seeing that he was not from St James, until the town boy slowly explained, “Hold on to this fowl cock and this young hen (pullet) I am carrying in this basket.”

5. Bradley432,
    If you look good, you gun see me in one a dem pics wid Princess Margaret or whoevva she is. I is de cute lil baby in me momma han. (teeheeeeeeeeee)
    I din even born yet. (Liahhhhhhhhhhh)

I rememba lining de streets wid a lil flag sometime in de 60’s when de Queen or one a dem visited hay. And she had de longest smile I ever see. She jaws mussy did real tired de nex day. Ya couldn’ risk dah in dis hot sun dese days. People a nuff would be sprawl out pun de ground………………’faint’.

Bradley, trust you to tell a good story. De town boy mussy had dah country boy real frightennnnnnnnnn.
    ‘hold my cock n pull it’? Lord a mercyyy.

6. Bradley 432

You sure you didn’t work for the Mobile Cinema? Those black and white shorts reminds me of the films they used to run on the Mobile Cinema. I saw Sir Grantley in the second film and speaking of Sir Grantley I remember some one named their race horse “Sir Grantley”, trouble was he was always left in the gates at the Garrison, never started a race. Don’t know what the owner did with him but that was a lot of oats down the drain.

7. Sarge, wasn’t it the Hon. Freddie Miller who owned “Sir Grantley?”

8. remember the duck ponds in the backyards and what about the fowl coop.and how about crawling under the cellar for the eggs me and my brother used to fight over the duck eggs because the were very big .the smell of theneighbour pig smell could kill a horse,my exhibition shoes were so tightbut i like them so i never say nothing just wanted to9 go to the exhibition. Hey Bonney peppa stay ou of grown folks business

9. Then there was this man from the country.Came into town barefoot, wearing working khahi clothes, with one pants leg rolled up, walked into one of the garages in town and asked the well dressed and slick down hair salesman,”wha dah won dey cost?” pointing to a new truck. The salesman could not be bothered with this man who looked like he could not even buy a pair of brown pumps to put on his feet. The man walked out, went to the other garage where he was treated with a bit more respect,and bought a brand new truck CASH.

10. Anybody remember what Roebuck looked like. It was one of the arteries into town and was always full of traffic all day long except Sunday. The road seemed a bit narrower. Not sure if it was because of the amount of businesses and the fact that there was a lot of parking.

I believe that one of the popular spots comparable to De Freitas on St. Michael Row was The Spark right opposite Hill’s supermarket? Roebuck Street was the haven for merchants: Perkins, RL Seale, Proverbs, French, Ecaf, etc. wish I could remember all the merchants.

There were two supermarkets but Hills used to be a shop as well as Lorde and CC King. The other supermarket was Excel.

There was one other shop, SR King (my father) and three drug stores; one at the corner of Country Road, another at the corner of Crumpton Street and the third was Ward Drug Store (known for abortions) at the corner of Bedford Lane. SR King was on the other corner of Bedford Lane; now called Greenfields.

I will always remember the time when Lionel C gained control of that building from his father. Not sure what happened; whether or not his father died, but he used to spend many evenings into the night with my father discussing the birth of that supermarket and the things he could do to attract customers.

Most of all, I am seeing Fairchild Street market as vivid as when it was abuzz with activity from early morning until night. It used to close some time like 6 or 7 pm. I knew every crevice of that market.

I remember that a policeman got his hand cut off in there one day. Happily, I was not around but I later realised how that policeman lost his hand. He had tried to order a butcher to put down his knife.

However, I have seen those men argue with their knives in their hand and not once resorted to using them on who they were arguing with. To them, their cutlass was their tool. So they would be arguing with hawkers who would be up in their faces and they flinging about their hands and the Hawkers were not afraid of the cutlass and never even considered the knives as a threat.

However, that knife thing is a different story, but I believe that the policeman misread the situation. The story was that a hawker and a butcher was arguing while a policeman was in the market. The Policeman went over to the scene and told the butcher to put down the cutlass that he was waving around and the butcher refused.

When he tried to force the butcher to put down the cutlass by force, the butcher swing it above his head and he put up his hand to block the blow and it simply get cut clean off. I can’t remember what happened to the case either, except that the policeman was no longer a policeman; young fella too at the time.

11. Funerals of the past were quite different from today. There were no funerals homes as such, and all the preparation to the deceased had to be done at his/her home. The undertaker would deliver the coffin to the home some time in the afternoon and the body would lie in state ,as they called it now,in the front house. School children from the area were encouraged to view the body as a mark of respect,and out of fear that if you did not the dead person would come back and haunt you. Normally around 3.30 the funeral would set off for the 4.o clock church service,with the body in a little old black V8Ford Pilot hearse.( I cannot recall ever seeing the horse driven hearses) Leading the procession were walkers on both sides of the road, and there was usually one person who would take the lead and set the pace.Some hearses had a gramophone on top to play hymns as it crawled along.
    Behind the walkers were bicycle riders, dressed in black suits with bicycle clips on their pants. Behind the bicycles would be the family car provided by the undertaker and any other cars. The last in the procession was the hearse.People not attending the church would stay on the side of the road and count the cars, “Man he had a big funeral, he had 18 cars.” As the procession passed a rum shop the shopkeeper would closed the doors as a mark respect, but some said that they were afraid that the spirit of the deceased would come into the rum shop and run his customers.
    The hearses had to be off the road by sundown,but more frightening than a hearse after hours, was meeting the hearse driver on way home in his black suit.

12. Diaspora-ite

I think that you are correct about Miller naming his horse “Sir Grantley”, must be a political statement. Would anyone today dare name their horse after a political leader?

13. There was a policeman who got his hand “cut off”. The incident happened when he tried to apprehend a man who was wanted by the Police and he put his hand though one of those old time windows (that were on chattel houses) in the house where the man was hiding and the rest is history. I remember the policeman’s first name being “Cecil” but can’t remember his last name and he was allowed to continue in the force albeit on desk duty. Incidentally the scuttlebutt at the time was that the wanted man thought that the hand coming through the window belonged to a policeman (Lion Man) who was infamous for beating prisoners.

I think that the wanted man was eventually arrested after he absorbed a few rounds of ammunition and he was sentenced to 12 years of “hard labour”

14. @ROK Only yesterday I walked Roebuck Street. There was also a C.C King’s shop at the corner of Country Road. On the other side was Stoute Drug store and in front of that the Cosmopolitan Bakery. One of the finest furniture makers in the island,R.A Griffith was there by the entrance to the ICB building. There were plans once, to build the National Stadium on Weymouth, there was even a restaurant near the gas station (Esso then) named Stadium View Restaurant, jumped the gun there a bit.In fact all the houses and shops from the Gully House (Tudor Roundabout) down to Transport Board were relocated to accommodate the stadium.What made Roebuck Street such a vibrant thoroughfare for business, was the fact that most of the buses going to the eastern side of the island passed through Roebuck Street making it easier for people who bought their goods from one of the many shops there. They would just have to wait at a bus stop outside. There was also a supermarket near the globe, I could never figure out if it was F.C. Atwell of F. Catwell. The Globe cinema at one time was closed down for a number of years.The Netball court ,the only one, was on Weymouth behind the Transport Board wall.The fellows used to travel up there just to have a look at the beautiful Pat Brewster, wife of Buddy Boy Vic.

15. And this is another clip of the Princess on the Garrison Savannah,stepping through the grass in her tall heel shoes. (No sound)
    http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=83735

16. Maybe I should correct that one on Phensic Pokey. Apparently someone used phensic on the poor lady and told her it was birth control…thus the name. There is a book written by a Bajan which would really make you laugh. It brings back lots of memories. It is called Born in the Briar Patch by Bev Clarke

17. sargeant,
    ‘good oats down de drain”. Dah baddd.

ac,
    I is a grown folks too. Fa true.
    I rememba my lil brotha feeling de fowl pooch or sumting else fa de egg.

Bradley432,
    I woulda tink he mad too dress so.
    De moral of dat story is:
    “Bare foot people got money too”.
    (teeheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee)
    I witness a funeral in St. Vincent about 12 or more years ago and was quite taken aback to see mourners in front, hearse in de middle n more mourners at de back. And singing de solemn hymns.
    My motha died in ’67. I was but a lil whippa-snappa. She had a realllllllllllll big funeral too.She had………………25 cars. (doan laff)
    Probably all de cars in B/dos dat day.
    You rememba when evry village had its own garbage bin? A big white cement ting an evrybody would come n dump dem garbage in it. Not in bags neitha. Just so. De scavanger (garbage-collector, if you please) would come wid a shovel wid a handle bout 10ft long and shovel it all up an pelt it in de garbage-truck.

Before this post comes to an end, which will be soon, it appears, I want to really thank all those who participated and took us all back down memory lane.
    We all enjoyed posting and reading.
    It was truly an amazing, nostalgicamania.
    Thank you all.

18. bonny
    you can pat yourself on the head too
    for your contributions and wackarrrd
    spellins

19. Re: Roebuck Street

Next to Stoute’s Drugstore was Smith Shipping Company then the Coca Cola bottling company with a wide glass facade up front where passersby could see the cokes being bottled on the production line. Coca Cola had a promotion when they introduced the Y0-Yo (remember the loop-the-loop and walking the dog?). I think they also introduced the hula-hoop. They also had scale model coke trucks that could be obtained by taking in a certain number of “coke stoppers”. There was a joke about a woman who sent a driver to collect a truck because she thought it was a real one.

In those days the operator of the gas station next to Perry Gap, a Mr. Stuart, was probably the only black man in Barbados who had a Mercedes – Benz car. Near the Globe cinema was a snackette (Mr. Small/M. Springer) with a juke box where I first heard “Jean And Dinah” when it was first released. On the other side, where the Texaco station now is there were a couple of shops operated by St. Lucians selling coals (charcoal) for your coal pot and heater (to press your clothes), mangoes, drinking chocolate in balls, cobweb brooms, buck pots, etc. Across the street was a butcher shop and near the junction of Harmony Hall with Tweedside Road was a photo studio.

20. @Mad Mac. The Y0-Yo was ably demonstrated by Dan Dan the Y0 Yo man.
    The J-uc also had a very educational competition ,unlike what we see today. You had to delve deep into the history books to come up with the right answer,because many of the characters were not part of our regular history studies .

21. Wait somebody sen and tell me dat dis t’read done. Ha… I like being de las’. So I gun contribute

De rich man laff Ha Ha Ha
    De middle Class laff He He He
    but when ya hear de ordinary class an dis is how dey does laff

WALASS MAH BELLY MURDAH MURDAYHHHHHHHHHH….!

Bam… Dun kno

22. You are talking about the time in the early 60’s when you had to fill out an album with 50 stoppers, each with a face of a historical person stamped under the cork.

You had to match the face with a clue in the album, e.g Garibaldi and what ever he was famous for.

23. GP, the competition sponsored by Coca Cola was titled “Free Food for You and Your Family”. There were some “stoppers” which were difficult to obtain so you would have to trade among your friends, the eventual winner received a year’s supply of food

24. BAFBFP // October 22, 2009 at 9:57 PM

Mighty Charmer sang that song. Is he still alive or has he passed on?

25. BAFBFP

That was The Mighty Charmer, as a matter of interest Louis Farrakhan was also known as The Mighty Charmer during his days as a calypsonian, but if anyone wants to end this with a song, they should pick one by the old Bajan itinerant balladeer “Shilling”. “Shilling” played his guitar and sang many songs on the beaches. St. Lawrence; Worthing, Hastings etc. Does anyone know any of Shilling’s songs?

26. Not forgetting the Tide Watch. I am sure some of the older folk still have a couple of these somewhere in a drawer.They were cheap but work good.
    I recall when the following sugar factories were still operating
    St Lucy………Spring Hall
    St Peter……..Haymans
    St James…… Porters
    St Andrew….Haggatts , Brucevale
    St Joseph…. Andrew ,Joes River
    St John..Lemon Arbor/Uplands,Guinea
    St George..Bulkley, Lower Estate
    St Michael…Belle, Warren
    Christ Church..Searles
    St Philip..Four Square,Three Houses
    St Thomas..Mount Wilton, Vaucluse

27. Not forgetting the Tide Watch. I am sure some of the older folk still have a couple of these somewhere in a drawer.They were cheap but work good.
    I recall when the following sugar factories were still operating
    St Lucy………Spring Hall
    St Peter……..Haymans
    St James…… Porters
    St Andrew….Haggatts , Brucevale
    St Joseph…. Andrew ,Joes River
    St John..Lemon Arbor/Uplands,Guinea
    St George..Bulkley, Lower Estate
    St Michael…Belle, Warren
    Christ Church..Searles
    St Philip..Four Square,Three Houses
    St Thomas..Mount Wilton, Vaucluse

28. Sargeant,

My dog was a he dog,
    Your dog was a she dog,
    And if our doggies love each otha,
    Why can’t we?

My doggie love your doggie,
    Your doggie love my doggie,
    And if our doggies love each otha,
    So can weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

A special thanks to Sapadillo, Bradley432 n David for a bitter/sweet end.

29. Until recently the Mighty Charmer was living in New York.

Remember “Omo” marbles? “Omo” was a detergent and you got marbles in the box.
    What about bubble gum cards with pictures of Elvis Presley, Pat Boone, Tommy Steele, Jane Mansfield, etc.?

30. Some things Bajan
    Trumpeter cigarettes
    Port wine and Falernum
    Comfort
    Pot bread
    parch corn
    real Lemonade (made from lemons)
    J&R Enriched Bread.
    Half soled shoes
    Dog Muzzles (sandals made from car tyres)
    EC (whatever it meant) for washing hands at school.
    Canvas bag , probably containing Bakes.
    Lard Oil
    Flit Can
    Harslip (liver)
    Tono , a kind of chocolate drink .
    Rod wood broom.
    Cabbage coat basket.

31. Some things Bajan
    Trumpeter cigarettes
    Port wine and Falernum
    Comfort
    Pot bread
    parch corn
    real Lemonade (made from lemons)
    J&R Enriched Bread.
    Half soled shoes
    Dog Muzzles (sandals made from car tyres)
    EC (whatever it meant) for washing hands at school.
    Canvas bag , probably containing Bakes.
    Lard Oil
    Flit Can
    Harslip (liver)
    Tono , a kind of chocolate drink .
    Rod wood broom.
    Cabbage coat basket.

32. I recall the time we had changed from the official English Pound Shilling and Pence to the Eastern Caribbean Dollars and Cents, the Mighty Charmer went before a Bridgetown Magistrate on some charge and was fine something like 10 Dollars. Charmer turned around and asked the magistrate , how much was that in Pound Shilling and Pence. The magistrate was not too please, and asked charmer if he had come into his court to mek sport.

33. I recall the time we had changed from the official English Pound Shilling and Pence to the Eastern Caribbean Dollars and Cents, the Mighty Charmer went before a Bridgetown Magistrate on some charge and was fine something like 10 Dollars. Charmer turned around and asked the magistrate , how much was that in Pound Shilling and Pence. The magistrate was not too please, and asked charmer if he had come into his court to mek sport.

34. I recall the time we had changed from the official English Pound Shilling and Pence to the Eastern Caribbean Dollars and Cents, the Mighty Charmer went before a Bridgetown Magistrate on some charge and was fined something like 10 Dollars. Charmer turned around and asked the magistrate , how much was that in Pound Shilling and Pence. The magistrate was not too pleased, and asked Charmer if he had come into his court to mek sport.

35. I recall the time we had changed from the official English Pound Shilling and Pence to the Eastern Caribbean Dollars and Cents, the Mighty Charmer went before a Bridgetown Magistrate on some charge and was fined something like 10 Dollars. Charmer turned around and asked the magistrate , how much was that in Pound Shilling and Pence. The magistrate was not too pleased, and asked Charmer if he had come into his court to mek sport.

36. Bradley432,
    Not ta mention de toys in de Breeze box. Little pretty plastic cars.

Wah ’bout de cowboy picture cards dat we use ta pitch fa?
    Pictures wid Dan Blocker, Michael Landon, Lorne Greene, etc.
    Some fellas would have a whole set man.

And de dandy chewing gum dat de picture would move bout when ya twist it.

Like de gas stations in rural Texas………

37. Here is a nice old pic of the Fairchild St. Bus Stand
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28113394.jpg

38. Here is a nice old pic of the Fairchild St. Bus Stand
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28113394.jpg

39. Madmac
    I can’ rememba de omo marbles a’ tall.

But wah ’bout de wagon (modern day room divider)? And it had on a million glasses and ya had to shine all fa Christmas. An lemma tell ya sumting, ‘doan brek one’.

Wah bout de ‘brackets’ dat use ta hang up pun de partition and put ya lil ornaments pun?

Wah bout de ‘hat-rack’?
    Talkin bout hats, wah bout de panama-hat? I had one boy wid de blue ribbon round de brim.

David, we like we want a Pt. 2 ya.

40. Talking about chewing gum, they were some cigarettes which the children would buy which were actually sweets and would melt in the mouth. Can’t remember the name though.

41. Yep I blame dem for starting me pun de smoking habit which I later kicked

If could geh yah one by Fern Trail effen yah want.

Bradley you could tell me wah “opetin” mean or “rumfle up”?

Dis t’read ain’ dunnin’…

42. @BAFBP , I know that “rumfle up” means to put creases in clothes or generally to place in disarray.
    “Opetin”, could mean Open , as in “Opetin the blasted door!”

43. the larders store food good .you know that yuh mother was going to cook saltfish because you could see it through fine wire which people use now to keep mosquito out the house.marbles i love to shoot dem marbles inthe holewith the big thumb.nowadays the golfer used aclub and standing put the ball in the hole .why don’t they try playing the oldfashioned the way we pitched marbles.

44. BAFBFP,
    Opetin means ta open sumting. Like if ya ask some body ta open a tin a milk. ‘Opetin fa ma’.
    I say ranful up not rumfle up. Regla I tell my grans , ‘come out ma bed n doan ranful it up fa ma, come outtttttttt’.

We called dem ‘cigrit-sweeties’. And dah time ya got it cock pun de side a ya mout like a real cigrit n feelin smart.

Wah bout smokin bonavis?

ac,
    But doan faget, ya had ta put de larda foot in cut down milk-tots dat had in kersine oil ta keep out de ants.

Wah bout Queens Park pun Christmas morning wid de monkeys in cages,rabbits, birds etc. One a my wicked brothas would get a stick n poke de monkey pun he pr–k. Wicked bitch.
    But um did fun fa we. (teeheeeeeeee)

Bradley432
    I ask you if you cud rememba de 3 wheel cars? White and look like a beetle.

Wah bout when coney-island first come to B/dos? It was somewhere down by Fontabelle but I can’t rememba de exact spot.
    I was and still frighten as shite fa de feirst wheel. Not meeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Bradley, de country folk use ta come down fa coney-island too?

As a child it was a thrill to go to the airport boy, night or day.

45. if my memory serves me right i remember seeing coney island right across the street from the fire station .then it was moved to queen’s park. Nobody mentioned the movie To sir with love

46. ac
    What about ‘The sound of Music” n the tear-jerker, ‘Immitation to Life’. Think there was one called ‘My Fair Lady”.

Wah ’bout de drive -in movie theatres? Roodal’s / Rudolph’s Drive-in comes to mind.

Who ever hear bout de fella dat apply fa de job at de Drive-in ta shut de windows?
    Hope dat wasn’t you Bradley.

47. The question is where was Rudolf Drive In located? Hah..!

48. @BAFBFP
    location ;rendevous gardens christ ch.

49. Roodals drive-in is where LOB & Gymnasium is now. Entrance is the same place.