Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Remember Miss Bim, a light aircraft that did not need a runway to land, cause she used to drop out the sky all over the place. There used to be a sea plane called a Grummond Goose that used to take off every morning just before school started.
    I heard my father spoke of seeing the Graf Spee Zeppelin over Bridgetown before the last war started.

2. Wow Tech, yuh sure got me fooled, Nevva know yuh familiar with tings from yesteryear. At least I know your darling daughter eating okras instead of corn curls and she aint five yet. Lo!!!!!!.
    By the way, read that “Erma LaDouche” passed away. He/She was a yesteryear character.

3. Almshouses used to be in almost every parish. They used to not only accommodate the old and the infirm,but children, orphans mainly. Funny that today we see school boys in big 3/4 length khaki pants.These were once referred to as Almshouse Boys pants. Many a nurse started her career at the Almshouse before going on to the General Hospital. The Matron and staff nurses at the Almhouses were excellent at their jobs and well , very well, respected in their community. When one of these nurses walked through the district in her immaculate blue and white uniform she was accorded more respect than any member of parliament can gleam from his constituents today. Just about every boy in the community, had some form of treatment from the Almshouse nurses, mainly cuts which turned infectious. Its a pity that no body has seen it fit to erect a memorial in honour of these gallant and dedicated women.

4. Dat’s right …sweat rice is w’en de woman would stoop down over de rice when it coolin’, wid out she panties, fah a lil’ while. After he eat lil’ bit, De Man would never stray too far fah too long…!

5. A Orange Jucie and a Ham Cutter would cost 76c. A roti would cost $1.20 and yah could get it wid a Seven Up Float or a Malted Milk Shake! Bread and twos and lead pipes… Fish cakes had lil’ piece ah fish in dem…!

Rudolf Drive sold de best rotis eva mek! As fah de pop corn… wid red Jucy..! Mary Poppings and Dr Doo Little din de attractions at all…!

Dey had a magician fella who would go from school to school holding shows. Can’t remember his name now…!

6. Four Hur’n

BAM…!

7. Bradlely432
    You look at de site wid de car?

Tell Me Why,
    I knew Erma la Douche very well. He lived in my neighbourhood one time. Talk bout styles. Dat man could style man. I think he was a Combermerian and they say that he could run real fast. Anotha things, he did luv to walk wid he scissors in he/she bossom.
    He moved to Westbury Rd. and I never saw him since. That was over 40yrs I talking ’bout.
    He was a member of UGLLAB? What is that now? Sumting ta do wid bullas/wikkas i guess.
    Wuhlosssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

8. A good piece of village entertainment was during those times the village meeting hall kept Revival, and brudders and sistas getting in the power and talking in tongues.Man I don’t know what language they were speaking ,cause ya could not understand a word they were saying. The sisters falling all over the place and and had to be fanned to revive. Today if some of the sistas in these churches get in the power,everyone would be talking in tongues, especially now that G-strings and tongs are in fashion.
    But it was not only the sistas that spoke in tongues, this woman expecting her husband to be out, invited the side man home at her, but the husband stayed at home, so when the woman looked through the window and saw the man coming, she shouted , “The moonlight shining like guhbackehey” (and if you did not get it ..Go Back he is here)

9. This fellow one night was visiting his girlfriend, and the rain came down heavy, heavy. The girlfriend’s father said to him, “Boy if ya had ya pajamas ya could sleep.”
    With that my boy ran home through the rain and came back with his pajamas under his arm.

10. @Bonny, looking at the picture now I remember that 3 wheel car that use to run bout the place. There also used to be a Scooter similar to the Lambretta called a Corgi,City Garage, over by the YMCA used to sell them and Volkswagen cars. Lambretta also had a little 3 -wheel truck ,1 to front, 2 behind ,a couple of hawkers used to operate them.

11. Fellows used to measure their thingy against a piece of cassava stick and then plant the stick, in the belief that it will grow as the stick grows. Meanwhile the girls used to rub bird eggs ion their breast for a similar reason. I don’t know if these things used to work but I know one fellow who planted a cassava stick, went to the gallows, or as they say these days, he was well hung

12. Recently many are up in arms over corporal punishment.
    There was a fellow from St Andrew called Hitler who was condemned to hang. He called for his mother, and leaned close to her to tell her something, and bit off her ear. He them told her that if she had spoken to him and chastised him, he would not be in the position he now found himself.

13. …..’Dey had a magician fella who would go from school to school holding shows. Can’t remember his name now…!

@ BAFBFP…..

Was it Professor La Ha??
    He went to my primary school.

14. Back in the mid 60’s there used to be a beautiful lady who plied her trade at one of those night clubs in Fairchild Street opposite the bus terminal, every evening about 4.30 she would take delight in styling across the bridge towards Fairchild Street. Men used to crowd the bus stand railing just to have a look at her.

15. I heard about a young man who would visit his girlfriend every evening — 7 days a week.

One night, her father said to him, “what are your intentions?’
    The young man looked at his watch, then said to the father, “I intend to catch the ten o’clock bus.”

Does anyone remember the Halo shampoo & I think conditioners that sold in pouches? There came in a variety of scents. Schriteneedle (sp) was also used to wash your hair. Many young ladies rinsed their hair with peroxide which eventually turned it red being in the sun.

16. Pasta stop me in church becausen I put on a grass skirt… But Errol Barra din wear Bush jackets in Parliament..!

AAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

17. I knew a magician who used to go around the community clubs, one night he tied a rope round his neck and invited a number of strong young men to start pulling on the count of three. They started on Two,and almost choked the bastard.

18. A word that has almost disappeared from our vocabulary. Parochial. We had the Parochial Treasurer who had an office in the parish and used to collect all the taxes. Land Tax, Bicycle tax,box cart tax,donkey cart tax, vehicle tax.The one in St Joseph had got robbed early one morning, long before it was opened for business,and the wife of the PT was injured by a gun shot. Then there was the PMO, the Parochial Medical Officer ,a doctor who operated in the parish,and used to give you a prescription to carry to the Dispensary. For the medicine you had to take along a clean white empty 3- gill rum bottle, and the shops used to sell corks. Somewhere in the parish was also a PLI , a Poor Law Inspector,who was responsible for authorising aid to the poor and destitute,as there was no pensions paid in those days. Ya had to work till ya drop ,literally. The greatest fear of people back then was to end up in the Yamsouse.

19. I think that the “Parochial Officers” disappeared after Dipper Barrow abolished Local Gov’t. The Vestry system was one of the early indicators of corruption of the “ yuh know somebody” kind. There were people who went to the Gov’t aided Secondary Schools e.g. HC, Combermere, Foundation etc. because their father “knew” a member of the Vestry.

The primary schools also had a Dentist whom you would visit to get teeth “pulled” note I said “pulled” not extracted since there was nothing gentle about it. Schools in Ch.Ch had Jimmy Smith a man who was known to slap children when they cried out in pain as their teeth were being yanked out.

20. Only if ya came from St Andrew ,St Joseph,St Thomas and St John you would know bout Cray Fishing. This was done in the many streams in those parishes, most of which ended up in the ocean.

21. Cray fish are /were also found in certain areas of Grahm Hall swamp close to where the Amity Lodge Road ends– at least they were in the late 50’s.

22. what about bullers ?
    anybody remember any famous bullers or wickkers ?-or whore houses
    Jimmy from Nelson Street
    Queen of the BEES show at the Globe
    Certain old politicians
    Harry ‘s Nitery
    CASTROS.

23. Bradley432
    Always a good laff from you.
    ‘De sistas wearing g-strings n tongs now’
    murdahhhhhhhhh, a cryinnnnnnnnnn.
    I luv de one wid de magician dat almos get choke to death. You in easy a’ tall.

Bradley, de bird-egg breast grower din work fa me. Was still flat-chested up to when I left Secondary school. My first pregnancy in ’76 saved me a bit.

I know my las brotha n one of his friends would put a yam or sweet potato in their pants when going to see de lil girlfriends at night. De first time I ketch he forcing dis poor potato down in he pants I almost pass out laffin when he tell me de reason. Boys tryin to be men befo da time. I tell ya.

I rememba going to de Civic to pay ‘meeting money’ fa my fatha, I tink.

Tech,
    Yeah, i tink de magician was Professa La Ha or La La or sumting so.

Sapadillo,
    I rememba de Halo shampoo in a grey packet an smell sweetttttttttttttttttttt.

Sarge
    I doan rememba de school dentist but I rememba de school nurse wid de vaccination needle and children balling fa blue murdahhhhhhhhh n trying to run off de map wid de teacher in hot pursuit. I never had a vaccination at school yet.Thank God. Don’t know why.Only had de polio blocka sugar.

Bradley
    Glad you recognise de 3 wheel car. Was beginning to doubt myself man. I tink it was off de Volkswagon.

Tell Me Why
    My brotha tell me dat Erma La Douche like he went foolishy foolishy before he died.
    Maybe he was foolishy foolishy long before dat.
    teehhhheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

24. poopertillian
    Joyce Marshall, Angela Harris. Can’t rememba na mo popular whuns.

Bradley,
    You rememba de Priest whose wife n child or children was murdered while he was at Midnight Mass many Christmases ago. De gardener was hung for dat murder too, i tink. You rememba which church it was?

25. What was Enmore famous for? I hear dat de nurse would come out and ‘clap,clap,clap’ she hand and all who de cap fit would follow she.

Where was de hospital before de QEH opened? Can’t remember where sick people went. When was QEH opened?

26. The Barbados General “horsepital” was on Jemmotts Lane. You had to wait forever to see a Doctor and when you were tired waiting, you waited some more.

27. Lord help you if you had to get an “injection” at de horsepital on Jemmotts Lane. They were given in your botsy and it was the height of pain, so when you took the bus home that cheek was off limits. I think that some nurses were sadists they liked to inflict pain.

28. A skool dentist was Smith, round by de Garrison pasture. De students use to be in double file wid a teacha marching tuh he office.

29. Sargeant,
    So wait, de horsepital did always a place fa ‘waitinggggggggggg’? Diffrent name but same ol, same ol. I tell ya.

I rememba i was playing ‘ketcha’ one day and when de ‘ketcher’ get ta me, i holla, ‘i done, i done’ cause I din want na lashes and she pick me up (i was real tiny) an pelt me in some ‘bread n cheese’ plimpmers. I get a cut pun my foot an had ta ga ta dah same horsepital fa a injection. Look, talk bout painnnnnnnnnnnn. De next day or week, can’t rememba now, i had ta ga back fa anudda injection. My motha n de nurse had to ketch me down by de wharf or some way so man when I tek off.
    I swear dem injection needles use ta be big like a galvanise nail man.
    Cording ta you dem nurses did sadist man. Dem use ta enjoy inflicting pain pun ya po botsy.

Sapadillo,
    De teacher n dentist woulda hah ketch me gine up Dalkeith Hill or furtha man.

30. I cud rememba how yuh had to get up before morning brek out when de butcher coming to kill de pig pon a sarda morning.

Yuh had to light the wood undaneat the can o wata.
    When de wata start to sing, bout six men would go and wake up de pig, drag he outside and hold he down fuh de butcher to stick he wid uh long knife.
    Duh had to mek sure that he really dead before duh leh e go. Then de butcher would cut de troat to let out the blood.

Yuh wud then cover he wid crocus bags and soak de bags wid de hot water.
    De men would den scape off de hair wid a holla ground razor.

When dat dun, de butcher would juck two hooks in de back legs and de men wud lift he up and hang he pon a beam, for de butcher to cut he open to get out the belly and ting.

Yuh wud then go and get de scale and de brown feed bags and a pen to start parceling out de meat fuh duh people dat put in dem orders early.
    4lbs from de shouder and 5 lbs from de leg and such like.

As de sun brek out yuh wud start delivering to de people dat live near.

When every ting dun, de onliest ting dat nuse tuh lef back tuh trow way wuz de pig hair.

31. What was the name of the pharmacist in the alley off Suttle Street?

When the guys were peeing hot razors (GP could explain),everyone would line up in the back.
    Then she would ask who was there for 500’s and the guys would step forward for their ‘brown’ bags.

32. @ General Lee…

Don’t forget the oink too.

33. General Lee
    First time I know wah went into killing a swine. Some a dem butchers did real cruel men othawise too. Ya neva use ta play roun dem butchers boy. Ig-rant.

Tech
    Enmore was famous fa de men dat did ‘peeing razors’ too.

I rememba when my motha use ta wrap brown paper roun she hair, roll it up and knot de paper. Dat was curlers/rollers in dem days man. Hair would come out real pretty too.

Who rememba de ironing- comb? Long before we hear bout relaxin or straightening ya hair we had de ironing -comb man.
    The hair would stan press fa bout a hour or so cause as soon as ya start ta sweat, hair gone back hard again.

34. @ Bonny Peppa
    Joyce Marshall, and Angela Harris were famous lezzies.Joyce used to live there by the corner of Dayrell’s Rd and Rockley New Rd.

She was a pretty good looking red skin woman too. Used to beat as many women as me-yuh, and used to drive a van and do hard work like a man.

Cant remember the name of the priest whose wife n child were murdered while he was at Midnight Mass, but he was the vicar at St Matthew’s in Hothersal Turning. It was either Christmas 68 or 69.

Enmore was famous for treating claps. Big men would cry like children when they get them penicillin injections.

The Barbados General “horsepital” was on Jemmotts Lane at the site of the Ministry of Health, before the QEH was opened in late 1964.

You had to wait forever to see a Doctor because they just were not that many doctors in Barbados then.

@ General Lee
    One remembers with much pleasure those pig killing or sheep killing sessions early pon a sarda morning, and the “engaging” the meat and its distribution to folk in the village. Now you have a carry your animals to the abbatoir. Most inconvenient.

35. I remember at around 5-6 years, mum bought 12 chicks from the guy at the top of Nelson Street, next to Chefette.
    I had no idea that these were 6 weeks chicks.
    They were nice and yellow,being the child I was, I grew attached to them…even naming them by the beaks…lol.
    I would feed them from my hands, then as they got bigger and whiter, from a pan.
    Could you imagine…one Saturday morning, I woke up to this commotion in the yard. When I got outside and stopped rubbing my eyes, the scene that met me was traumatizing to say the least.
    ALL my pets had their heads and feathers off!!
    I cried for 2 hours straight, then still had to go around the village selling them..lol.
    All mum could say is….it is business!
    It took me a year to eat chicken after that……until this day, that is one of the biggest family jokes.

36. Any of you guys that went to Foundation remember the Callendar brothers from St Lawrence that were known as Bake fowl or Bakie?

Apparently the older of the two on his first day at Foundation in the early sixties took to school some baked fowl for lunch, and duly got his nick name. When his brother followed him to school at Foundatin he was dubbed Balie II.

They both sang in St Lawrence Choir, as far as I can remember.

37. @Bonny Peppa

Believe the church is St. Mathews.

@General Lee

If you talking about butchering a pig you need to use the term ‘engaging’ the pork 🙂

38. About butchering pigs. A “good” butcher would hit the pig’s heart when he “stuck” the pig to enable the blood to pour out so that there would be a good supply for black pudding. A “poor” butcher would lodge the knife somewhere in the shoulder blade when he “stuck” the pig .The pig would suffer and die slowly with the blood congealed in its body. Of course Pig ears, tongue and feet would be used to make souse. Nowadays hardly anyone uses blood to make Black Pudding. Are there any African dishes comparable to Pudding and Souse or did the slaves used their ingenuity to make the dish? Remember the Head,feet and guts were the disposable parts of the pig which the “master” didn’t want and would give to the slaves, once again proving that necessity is the mother of invention.

39. @Bonny , its turned out to be the same priest who had killed his wife before he conducted midnight mass. He confessed after killing another woman in Canada. But just a few houses from St Matthews, near the gas station, another gruesome murder took place there,where a woman who was looking after an old man conspired with her boyfriend , I think his name was Carl Yarde, to kill the old man.They push a grabble iron that ya dig potatoes with up his arse. Yard was hung.

40. Actually Black Pudding as it is found in Antigua and Guyana where rice is used instead of sweet potato is an English invention. In Grenada they use Bread fah Chris’ sake!

41. Anybody remembered the campaign and election for the Federal Parliament? I recalled Grantley Adams and a woman called Florence Daysh being elected.

42. “engaging’ the pork” ..

What do you mean when you say “Endorse de Cou Cou”?

43. I understand that Florence Daysh was a stunning beauty!

44. How about those fellows who went to Amerka cutting cane and picking fruit. They used to come back here with some tall stories. One had me for years scared of flying,as he told us that the clouds were so thick, that at times they would break off the wing of the plane. Cane fields , they said, were about 3 to 4 miles long. The only thing that they seemed not to lie about was the women who used to come around the camps to service the long line of men,and ya know it was your turn when she shouted “NEXT!”

45. Before Hi-Fi music came on the scene all dances at the various clubs across the island ,and at the Drill Hall had live bands, what was once referred to as Big Dance Bands. There was Coe Alleyne’s Band. Rice , not C.B,he was a Bridgetown Master Taylor.
    Then ya had the fellows in the district who could sort of play a guitar and a few instruments. They are the ones who really started Spouge .

46. We see the SJPP celebrating its 40th Anniversary. How quickly that we have forgotton the institution which the Polytech was built on. In St Leonard’s school complex, housed the Barbados Technical Institute, which trained many a young man to a very high technical level. Most of the graduates of the BTI ,or Richmond Boys,went on to become supervisors and captains of industry both at home and abroad. Qualified engineers were far and few between ,and the UWI degree factory had not yet started to grind out engineers. The job of the BTI was to bridge that gap.
    Instructors like W.E Byre, Blackman,John Lovell, Toyne, Griffiths,Denham, Sydney Harris , Gittens ,C.O.Brathwaite,E.Jackman W.Harris have all done this country well.

47. @bradley good music that.remember the comic books .my brother had plenty of them.guard them like a pitbull.i remnember on my way to school i had to pass through some white people property and i used to bescared as a..s Ithough they might shoot me .even though my grannie work for them.

48. @BAFBFP

Actually stuffing the intestine or casing of an animal is not new. The Europeans make something they call “Blood Pudding” and casing is used to make various kinds of sausage. The Scots stuff Sheep intestines with Oatmeal among other items to make Haggis. I know of the Guyanese rice and the Trinidad bread to make “Black Pudding” but they don’t serve it with “Souse”. I am yet to see the configuration of Bajan “Pudding and Souse” elsewhere.

Please see the following quote lifted from the attached;

In colonial times, hogs were slaughtered in December. During slavery, in order to maximize profits, slave owners commonly fed their slaves in the cheapest manner possible. At hog butchering time, the preferred cuts of meat were reserved for the master’s use, with the remains, such as fatback, snouts, ears, neck bones, feet, and intestines given to the slaves for their consumption.[2] Wealthier individuals considered pig innards (offal) as inedible and sometimes had them buried as garbage, but enterprising slaves would unearth them under cover of darkness and salvage them for the cook pot.[3]
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chitterlings

49. You are right Sarge…

A couple years ago some Bajan whites were at Lemon Arbour acting the fool and I had to explain to them the history of souse.
    I told them they should be thankful of my ancestors for inventing such a delicacy …..one told me I should thank his for the cruise…lol……needles to say, after some blows he bought the next 5 rounds.
    I dont eat pork for years now but the point was made….lol.