Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Can cans and knickers.

Shiffs, Tank tops and halters.

No Bras… Ya Ya..!

2. Today when we are doing even simple construction we must have engineers,architectS, and all kind of modern technology and know how.Back in the late ’50’s, Andrews factory in St Joseph finished grinding canes that year around June. An old sugar mill was brought up from Guyana, then known as BG.This old mill was lying in the mud for a number of years and the mud was stuck to it like concrete. Many of the heavy parts weighed in excess of 12 tons. There were no heavy duty trucks in the island then,except the Gulf Oil Company Mac and the H&T Big Ben. All of this heavy stuff was move on the traditional Bedford and Chevrolet trucks owned by the factory,and were given SL Plates .When these trucks got under Dayrells Hill, where the roundabout to Lears/Belle is, there were D6 and D7 Caterpillars waiting to tow these heavilly laden trucks up to Groves Corner. The inside of the factory was pulled to bits,and new concrete beds were cast for the new mill.There was no ready -mix concrete then, everything was manual. To cut a long story short, the new mill started up sometime in February the next year in time to start the crop. This is the mill you will see in Andrews factory today,and the original concrete beds that have never failed.
    A testimony to our non-Degreed, but very experienced craftsmen and artisans of yesterday.

3. How about the little girl who told the Coolieman, “Mah muddah tell ya that she in home!”
    Any body remember a little young Coolieman call Ghandi, he died a few years ago, used to run a hotel near Accra and could be seen playing dominoes with the Rockley Taxi men. He was a hit wherever he went. He used to make young girls lay eggs, or make their panties drop off.

4. you heard bout the Speculator,don’t hear that word these days,who one night sold this man a milking cow? Next morning the man found out that it was a bull cow, with a glove glue on its belly.
    A bus conductor from the country bought this gun from a tricky town man. The town man all hush-hush handed him the gun in a paper bag,telling him not to opetin til he get home. It turned out to be a rock. That conductor was known as Rock Gun.

5. Bonny you use tah suc’ cane too? HAHAHAAAAAAAAA.. Da is wah you mean?

6. I remember the days,especially during the hurricane season, when the rain used to fall for hours non stop. So when the rain came many of the young boys in the district would take off their clothes and take a long walk in the rain . One day some boys from the village next door pass through and was in the next village when the rain abruptly stopped and everybody soon came outside to carry on. These boys had to passed back through these villages without a stitch on.

7. @general lee that was dumb .why didn’t he just take the house.

8. The only night livelier than a Sardah night in the country was Back money night. On Sardah nights the shops used to open late till 9, normally close at 7.30,and the last bus from town was 11 oclock. Every rum shop bar was turned into a Hymn Singing stage. But when back money was paid out, the whole place was hot,hot.Men had money that they did not know what to do with it.Buying one brand of rum and chasing with another brand, or a beer. Anybody who passes across,man ,woman ,child or dog was entitled to a little treat. The juke box man had to come and empty the overfilled coin box.
    The story goes that a fellow lost a five dollar bill,and he light a dollar bill to look for it.

9. Anybody remember Arthur Green, a very neat and tidy looking bus driver who was hanged for killing his wife?He had also confessed to the killing of two brothers. Apparently the brothers were on a motor cycle at Bank Hall and he ran into the back of the cycle severely injuring the brother behind. The other brother shouted to Arthur, ” Man you gone and killed my brother”, and Arthur went for his crank handle and lashed him . Both brothers died.
    Arthur had many a person scared at his work place when news came that he was on the run after killing his wife.

10. I am but a baby however, my mother to told me that my cousin Lionel owed the coolie man! And the coolie man say Lionel Lionel I know you at home the window open; BP you know Lionel shut the window and holler out “Well I ain’t at home now! LOL

When ever I hear my old friends talk about that I is laff soooooo bad LOL!

11. I remember when shop keepers used to keep slaves that were fah sale chained to the entrance of de shop.

12. Tonight, while playing dominoes this same topic came up and this old man tried to test my ‘old days’ knowledge, by asking me what the shop keeper did with the souse that wasn’t sold…………..
    …it was chipped into small pieces and made into patties to sell again…..never waste.
    I think the only place you can still get them (patties) is Fredrica’s shop out by the museum.

13. Bonney,

The Roodals was in Wildey,St. Michael (site now occupied by Sagicor). Sundown in Christ Church and still open.

14. And how about the woman who a frieng met in Swan Street and said to her, “You down here and your house burning down!”
    The woman replied ,”dah cahn happen, I got mah house keys right hey.”

15. I saw somebody was saying that they never saw a mauby woman. Well I never saw one either but heard of them… but from the description, it seemed like the mauby woman used to carry her mauby in a bucket with a tap. In my time, we still had the bucket with the tap which a tinsmith would solder on for them.

There were two types of buckets you would see. One that was made of tin and one out of galvanise (I think there was also one of enamel). In my time, you did not get a pure mauby woman but a woman selling both mauby and/or lemonade from the bucket along with sweet bread, cakes, cutters, etc. from a basket.

Sometimes I would see one of these vendors getting ready to go and with the bucket on her head, not yet sold out, would give brimming amounts to late comers by opening the tap with the bucket on her head and filling the cup right there under her nose; maybe at chest height.

Today, that could not pass our health laws. A traditional mauby woman would get shut down. LOL!

16. This Thread is now officially closed

17. ROK,
    Wah happen? Since yestaday I telll you I gettin ready an comin ta pick you up pun my red Vespa ta go in de Sundown.

Bradley 432,
    I located the 3 wheel car at this site:
    http://jalopyjournal.com.
    #46 has two of the cars; one black, one blue. De blue looks exactly like the one I mean. And yes, my older brotha, (10yrs older) remembers them too.

Yes, a lot of postmen had Vespas. Most if not all, were blue.
    You rememba de wood guns dat shoot lil red seeds. Were very dang’rus. A fella cud lose he eye jus so.

BAFBFP
    Oh Lordddddddddddd, yes, I suc cane n Abel too. Now leff ma, ya tricksta.

Bradley,
    Wah bout hurricane Janet. I wasn’t around yet.
    I never knew Arthur Greene but I rememba a fella from Wavell Ave who hanged for killing his wife in 1967-68. Can’t rememba his name not a ‘tall. Think he was a mechanic.

JC
    You’re but a lil whippa-snappa but your contribution still counts, Sucre-plum. I luv cousin Lionel real bad toooooooo:
    Blammmmmmm, ‘I in home nowwww’.

BAFBFP
    Wah slaves you talkin bout?

Tech,
    I mention de pork patties too but wah bout de ‘brought-forward’ black puddin dat would be fried in de buck-pot and sold wid de patties too? Talk bout crispy n sweet. Oh my lordddddd.

Rick,
    What is the Sundown used for now?

Wah bout de Empire theatre?

An old lady reminded me of drying out the skin of the ‘old-wife’ fish n scrubbing the floor with it. New to me.

Wah bout de kaiso Rakhan? Doan kno if it spell rite. It went sumting like dis:
    Nasty Rakhan, stinking Rakhan, loud-mout Rakhan………………

18. BRADLEY 432,Sorry, this is not the same site with the 3 wheel car. I went through google and found it but don’t know how to forward to BU. Give me de instructions on how to forward to BU.

19. KISSMYA,
    You mout too, if dat is possible.

20. The Sundown Drive in is now the Globe Drive-in.

21. David,
    Thank you Sir. It jogged my memory but wasn’t too sure.

Bradley try this link:
    http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=339943&page=3

Hope it works now and #46 shows two of the beetle cars.
    Hope it works this time.

22. Bradley432
    YES, YES, YES, YIPPEEEEEEEEEEE, IT WORKED.
    Click on the link man n check de two cars at #46. Black n blue.
    Dat is wah I talkin bout man.
    De 3 wheel beetle cars.

23. Bonny, Sorry, I did not get your message, I hope I didn’t left you holding a big rock. LOL!

I don’t remember those 3 wheel cars. I remember another one with the steering wheel in the centre and a nose like an austin or ford.

I also remember a 3 wheel toy car that was shaped like a beetle that we used to wind up. It would shift direction if it hit something or encountered resistance.

24. Bonny

Wah Abel taste like? I neva try dah…!

25. The Sundown/Globe Drive Inn is located on land which was formerly part of Kingsland Estate. That area was sold off many years ago before the current brouhaha on these blogs. At the bottom of the street leading up to the Drive Inn was a house which was occupied by a woman named Marjorie Phillips who was probably related to the Deanes etc. She used to driven around in a chauffeured car with the license plate X2 which meant it was among the first cars to be licensed in Christ Church.

26. LOL -@Bonny Peppa

Bonny Peppa // October 25, 2009 at 2:26 PM

KISSMYA,
    You mout too, if dat is possible.
    LOL !

yeah I promised to butt out but you guys keep going on with this thread -ad nauseum !

27. A little known fact about cars in Barbados. In the early days of the introduction of cars in Barbados, those who owned and drove them at night would have all the interior lights on. The reason? So that all and sundry could see that you owned and drove a car. It was all about status.

28. Still is Sargeant……still is.

29. @ Bonny…

aint nothing like 2day old cou-cou, fried over in the frying pan with a bit of butter to purposely get some bun-bun.

I remember having a bad chest cold and my mother mixing up these things in an old can over the stove….I remember some,not all the ingredients..castor oil, onion, garlic and a piece of camphor (she had a block of it). I had to drink this all one time, then a pinch of sugar in your mouth. Next day I was coughing up something like contact cement but I was as good as new in a few more days.

Also I remember the ‘poultice’ (hope that is the right spelling). Sometimes you would get an abscess and Granny would make this concoction and ‘dress’ the wound with it. At night while you lying down you would feel this pulling on the wound as though something was actually suctioning out the puss.

Then there was the nail juck…. no Tetanus shot….just some salt-fish skin and an oil leaf from the garden.

@GP…
    Why was it , that every time you fell off a bike, out a tree, or just got a hard blow, that Granny always gave you sweet water to drink?

30. Techy

Sweet water? You eva hay ’bout
    “Sweat Rice”? Tell ya de trut’ I can’ even tell ya dat I try it (or it get try pun me)..!

31. Tah t’ink that dey still trying tah sell Buckley’s Cough Mixture.. “And it works” my as#. Look at the ingredients and see why psychological healing will instantly kick in with full effect.

32. That camphor….sometimes you dont even want to talk near open flame.

33. Before you went to school on Monday mornings, you would eat your belly full with some fried rice and scrambled eggs and wash it down with a cup of green tea or scald milk.

34. Anybody cud rememba Branch Supermarket in Nelson Street ?

I can’t xacly rememba part it did, but I know that round christmas time, all de hams nuse to be heng up over your head in the supermarket.
    My granfada nuse tuh buy two, one fuh christmas and one fuh new years.

Dem things nuse tuh smell so gud, dah is wuh yuh does call ham.
    Yuh nuse to boil dem instead of baking dem like nowadays and yuh din had did tuh keep dem pun nuh fridge neida

I cud also rememba the shopkeepers wid de saltbreads, ham and cheese in the glass case all day long and duh din nuse to spoil.

The cheese nuse to be swimming in oil.
    When yuh put dah cheese pun some hard biscuits that still got on lil flour pun dem; man sweet fuh days, yuh ask fuh nuthin betta.

35. Remember poppy day?i think it was to commenarate soldiers and you were given those red flowers. when you had a bicycle you were rich . remember turtle shells eyeglasses the goverment special when u can’t buy none

36. Tech,
    I still give my grans a lil ‘sweet-wata’ if dem get a fall. To scatta de blood, I guess. Some things are/were just traditional. You come along an see it being done and you continue to do it.
    Talking bout concoctions. Both my sons had, past tense, had asthma. I wuk pun dem like ‘grabble-salts’ man. I had a special brew: bengues, candlegrease,oil of wintergreen, camphor oil, menthol crystals, castor oil, vicks, bay rum, peppermint oil. I would give it a ‘shake’ and den get a feather n flick it pun their chest n back then cover wid a brown paper bag cut down in half. Man look, sometimes they would tell me it too hot and I would apply a lil brown vasaline. I doan know if it worked or not but I could tell you dat the asthma at ‘bay’, no pun intended, fa a lotta years now. Tanks ta Dr. Mom.
    Listen Tech, de sweetest food in world is ‘brought-forwards’ fry up in de buck-pot wid lil table butta an leh it ‘ketch’ at de bottom fa good measure. If it is rice, ya add a lil sprinkle a black peppa. Sweet fa days man.
    Tech, some times they would put ‘cockroach guts’ in de cut too. I serious.
    You evva get a ‘stone-bruise’? Lord mek peaceeeeeeee. Ya shite yaself man when ya motha start ta squeeze um. An ya biting at she han or she apron but ya chan reach, so ya got ta bare de agony. De pus dat coming out had mo colours than de rainbow, n thick like cement.

Sargeant,
    You know who own de first car in B/dos? It would got ta be M1, I guess.

ROK,
    Apology accepted my plum-plum. Invitement is still ‘open’. You gun wear you banlon shirt? An wah pants?

BAFBFP,
    Lordddddddddd, just like cane, long,fat n juicy. Now leff ma.Ya gallas-bait.

KISSMYA,
    You seem to be enjoyin de nauseum cause ya keep returning. LOLLLLLLLL.

37. I sorry, but I ‘might’ be considered knida young too, but..

Pine Hill used to be in plastic bags…delivery by vans that opened on the side, sorta the old English version tot he current minibus type with a ‘flat’ front.

I remember one of the delivery men having finger nails long, long. And someone having to call him back from the van, because the bags were leaking, possibly caused by said nails.

Bags were the same litre or pint, I think.

They aint had no Spring Garden Highway, yuh HAD to pass Bank Hall and Eagle Hall tuh get to the West.

Horse Hill was really frightening, to a youngster.

How many people had to CRAWL up there in an old car?

Was that about a 65 degree angle off a level?

In the 70’s yuh could drive across the then ‘ Chamberlain Bridge’.

How many people had TV before late 60’s or early 70’s and only black and white then?

Seawell Airport had an aquarium, used to head straight for that if we were going to the airport to see someone on /off (I never went as a child, as most, it was not affordable to us).

It was a large aquarium at ground level (maybe pond is a better word).

38. General Lee,
    A gentleman had a shop and many a times you would go in de shop fa sumting and you cud see Mr. Archer in he ‘out-house’ and he would just come in, wipe he hands pun he pants and serve you wid wha evva ya want. Be it a hamcutta, cheese cutta or biscuits. And dem hands in pass na wah near water man.
    And nabody in get gastro. (teeheeeeee)
    And sometimes de cheese ketchin on moss and ya still buying a cheese cutta.Tink a shopkeepa cud thra way he good cheese just because a lil moss pun um.(murdahhhhhhhh, a cryinnnnnn)
    Lord mek peaceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    We eat mossy chesse cuttas a nufffffff.
    Couldn’ leh good cheese wasteeeee.

de gov/t glasses use ta be some big ugly cartwheels too. Ya could see de frames from a mile down de road.

BAFBFP
    wah is sweat rice now? Nevva hear bout dah.

39. What is a Watson’s kernel??
    As soon as you had a cut or anything….boom…a lump next to your testicles that made you forget about the cut.

Yes Bonny…I had 2 stone bruises I could remember..aint easy at all.
    Also had many stings from ‘wild bees'(Jack Spaniards)…used to make their long grey cocoon nest in the outhouse..as a man sit down with his literature/toilet paper, one would fly off right on your head….picture the sight!!
    Sometimes they made it under the cellar and when you went to collect eggs from there, most times your head would brush it and ‘rise’ the nest…and the cellar was not high. Still you had to remember to leave one egg in the nest, so that the foul would lay there again.
    All our bowls and plates were made from enamel, so, as there were 6 of us, we dropped them on a rock to get our own identifying marks. I still have my enamel plate from when I was 2…which makes it 36 years old…..should be worth something…lol.

40. crusoe,
    listen, dis posts is really interesting and enlightening.
    Would you believe that only yesterday a fella was telling me bout dis Pinehill dairy milk in plastic bags. I could not rememba dem a ‘tall. I know when de milk use ta come in bottles and in a crate of about 6 or 8.
    Spring Garden is a recent ting man. All day had nuff coconut trees and a river.
    I still frighten fa Horse hill. Too steep.
    Most people start getting tv in de 70’s and only black n white.

41. Bonny P,

You ever hear about women who used to bury a piece of their men clothing, that contain his sweat, in a bottle, to keep him home.

These men would only leave the house to go to work and they would come straight home on evenings.
    They would then sit at the window looking outside until it was time to sleep.

I also heard a story about a woman who boiled her panty in soup for her man.

While the man was eating he found a piece of string and got real angry.

He called her name loudly, and when she came, he shouted;

Yuh mean you cook ah whole panty, and all I get is de string!

42. Tech,
    Ya got ma cryinggggggggggggg.
    ‘literature/toilet paper’. Dah baddddd.
    You still know a lot bout ol times fa your age. You is a baby yaself.
    De watson-kernel mek ya faget de cut?
    Ya got ma cryinggggggggggggg.
    You tink you plate ol? stupseeeeeeeee,
    wah I got a black n white picture a me at 6 munts old sittin in a ‘rockin-chair’. Ya chan beat dah Tech. An I is 5o sumting now. Chan rememba de sumting. 🙂

Wah bout de ol time photographers?

43. Watson’s Kernel? You mean “Waxon” Kernel. never used to hear the “t” and the “s” in watson. Maybe “wats-sun”

44. General Lee
    Ya got ma cryinnggggggggggg.
    I did nevva believe in na woman doing nutton ta keep na man home,nor mek he marrid she nor nutton so man. He did just like ta be home, dah is all. If day use ta work, men a nuff won’t get ta go n play ‘dominoes’. (teeheeeeeeeee)
    Mercy meeeeeeeeeee, a cryinnnnnnn.
    I hear bout women trying tings pun men fa all kind a reasons but dem is foolish obeah women man. An obeah is bare junk as far as I concern.
    Cording to Sparrow, de obeah man is he uncle, so ya chan trap he.

45. Any bet tech come from Christ Church; above Oistins or even that dry part of St. Philip. Once upon a time, those were the only places in Barbados you would find jack spaniards.

The first time I butt a jack spaniard, I was about 15 years old and had never seen one before. That was on a hike as a cadet doing the duke of edinburgh awards.

46. @ ROK…

Correct!!!

Born at the CH CH District Hospital (now demolished)…lived in Carter’s Gap/Enterprise ….then Parish Land, near to the Providence Methodist Church.
    Was just speaking to mummy in NY, it is indeed a waxon kernel….lol.

47. No wonder you never heard about sweat rice.

I think that is when the women used to stoop down over the pot, when the rice was drying down.

You know how many thieves that carry way things from churches get pray for?
    They had to turn round and carry the things right back to the church, because when they got where they were going, they found that they could not put the things down.

Those were the days when church doors did not carry locks.

Obeah or prayer?
    Old time country folk will swear that those things used to work.

48. When a man start to get dotish behind a woman ,they used to say that he drank what he should noint with.
    Talking bout drinking, remember Beanzie, he was some kind of old sea captain and used to draw a ship compass in the roads all over Bridgetown. He went before a Bridgetown lady magistrate one day, and Beanzie asked her, ” My honour did you wash your **** this morning? what ya done with the water?

49. There was a madman in St Joseph called Lemmie, he used to beat up his bicycle bad, cause when he left it at home and went to work,it did not cook his food.

50. Plantations had some terrible dogs. We used to take the chance and short cut it through this plantation yard knowing full well that that dogs may attack. The owner had two massive ugly English Bull dogs.You walk through the yard and these lazy bull dogs lying in the gallery would follow you with their eyes. Not so the little common breed dog, from the time he saw you he would yap,yap,yap and want a piece of ya arse. By this time you are running like a bat out of hell, and the English Bull dogs would say to them selves , “I suppose we will have to show some willingness,” and reluctantly would chase you half heartedly to the bottom of the yard gap, when they would stop . But the common breed would continue down the public road until he rips a hole in ya pants, or you drive a big rock in him.