Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. 200! BAM!

2. BAFBFP,
    Some people still sell it in de skin but most people opt fa de bare ‘steam’. Mussy sumting ta do wid healf now. Ya kno evry ting now is bout healf?
    Look, as a girl, I use ta mek dirt shite wid eat, an I in dead yettttttttt. At least not de last time i check.
    Not ta mention ‘birdpickies’. Coulda bin ratpickies too, an I in dead yettttttttt.
    201 bam, bam.

3. BAFBFP // October 18, 2009 at 6:50 PM

I remember when you could buy li’l piece ah Black pudding in de skin. Yah had a choice, Black or White…Now dey only got Steam! Stupse….!

Next time I c0me down, I will make some for you with pig belly and blood. Even if I have to smuggle it in!

My aunt makes it every Saturday with belly and sometimes blood. She sell at the corners of Gaggs, HillsWick, Cleavers Hill, and St. Elizabeth Village Roads. You can even get some in a salt bread.

4. @ Bonny Peppa

Man you were one strange child. You would have been better chewing sour grass or garden balsam. We used to chew plum and tamarind leaves when the fruit was out of season. Taste the same as the fruit, you know.

5. Who would ever believe that the rainforest gullies we see all over the island today were once almost treeless and bushless pasture land where people used to graze their stocks and quite many had cricket pitches and make shift playing fields.The only problem was when it began to rain.You had too seek higher ground as many of these gullies were prone to what today is call flash flooding.That is where the term “man you ain’t piss when de gully out”,originated.
    Anyone remember St Augustine playing field where part of the outfield was down in a gully,and when the bowler ran out to bowl, other fielders had to notify those in the real gully, “get ready! he coming up.”

6. @Pat, and something else we used to get lots of from family in Hillswick , Sea Moss.People used to have lots of it outside on the pasture drying. If you want some nowadays you have to buy the watered down milky variety in a bottle.

7. Pat
    Gaggs, HillsWick, Cleavers Hill…? Dese be places in Canada?

Bonnie
    you gotta post a pic of yaself doh…skin! 199 would be pleased but I lookin fah blemishes…!

8. Man you dont know St Joseph man?

One of the ways of getting into Bathsheba is passing Gaggs Hill corner and going down Hillswick via Cleavers Hill ( the Brethren have a little cemetry on that road.)

9. Georgie

I FROM TOWN…! Bathsheba is the only place that I know in St. Joseph. In fact I grow up believin’ that Bathsheba was in a place called De Country…! LOL

10. And who can forget the seasonal Heart Man. My neighbour,a bus conductor, who used to start to work very early on mornings, 4.30 am or so, was given a lift by a passing motorist. When the got to a hill, the driver late changed and the car came to an almost halt. The conductor opened the car door ,jumped out and down through the canes.

11. Speaking of Black Pudding, this lady used to make hers early on Saturdays morning, and anyway around 4.30 0r 5 many boys from the village would assemble by her house and as the last black pudding came out the big iron pot,she would hand the pot over to the fellows. They used to call the liquid left in the pot,Goo Goo Water, and would fight like dogs to get their share. They all grew up to be big , strong men.

12. @Bradley432

You can still get sea moss down there. My great aunt offered me some this March, but I already have more than a pound here, so I kindly declined. However, it now sell for $100 a pound. In my youth it was $1 a pound.

@Georgie Porgie

I used to go to the Brethern in St. Elizabeth Village and played in that little cemetery in Hillswick. It is right across from where my grandmother lived. Next time you in Bim and pass by, help yourself to a breadfruit from the tree. I now own piece of that land/tree.

13. @BAFBFP

You like you dont know Barbados at all, at all. You telling me that only Bonny Peppa from town, went to excursions at Bathsheba? You never went up dere on picnics? You never tek your girl up dere on a Sunday evening to walk the beach hand in hand?

You dont go to watch the surfing competitions even now?

Man cheupse.

14. Bradley432 // October 19, 2009 at 2:17 PM

Speaking of Black Pudding, this lady used to make hers early on Saturdays morning, and anyway around 4.30 0r 5 many boys from the village would assemble by her house and as the last black pudding came out the big iron pot,she would hand the pot over to the fellows. They used to call the liquid left in the pot,Goo Goo Water, and would fight like dogs to get their share. They all grew up to be big , strong men.

Man, two summers ago, my cousin’s daughter spent four weeks with me here in Ottawa. He sent down money for me to make him pudding and souse. Would you believe that he gave her containers for the pudding and souse and for the water as well. Fact is, none of the puddings burst, so it was just plain seasoned water.

Wicked me, I sent the two pails back to Toronto brimming with the water to the licorish man.

15. When a person died in the village the first one to inform the undertaker was given $5. One night this man died and one of his relatives immediately sprinted to Boy Child house only to find another man from the village there before him. He looked at the man angrily and said,”Wait ! wa you doing down hey, you got somebody dead?”
    Then there was the undertaker , who asked this man to give him a hand putting a fellow in the back seat of his car.
    “You mean he so drunk he can’t stand up? asked the man.
    Sitting beside the man in the back seat , they came to a corner and the man tumbled down on him, “Can’t even hold he liquor,”said the man.
    When the undertaker got home they began to lift the man out of the car, and the fellow remarked, “Wahloss, man he is heavy as a dead man.”
    The undertaker calmly replied, ” He should be. He is dead.”

16. Bradley

You sound like Bradley Niles…Now I frighten cause he dead a few years back…!

Pat

I din venturin’ out ah de Pine ’cause I did fraid ah de Heart man..! Bonnie come from Black Rock wid Wendal McLean and company.

I neva hear ’bout nah Goo Goo water, but I know that yah din suppose to buy Black Pudding from people dat yah don’ know!…. H1N1?

17. BAFBFP,
    You so crazzzzzzzzzzzzyyyy. De ‘heart-man’ use ta be all bout. An wah bout de’hearse’?
    But wait, nabody in mention de ‘steel-donkey’.
    And wah bout Millie dat went ta Brazil?
    Wah bout de houses dat had dirt-floors?

Pat,
    I rememba one time I eat summuch dirt dat i did constipate so bad my motha had ta gih me a block a brooklax. Girl, when it did move, my Lordddddddddddd, talk bout pain. I holla fa, ‘murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh’.
    It serve me a good lesson cause I nevva try it again.

Bradley432,
    ‘get ready, he comin up”
    Luv um.

18. hilarious!

19. Came across this photo recently. Can you identify anyone in here? Many should at least 1.
    http://www.panaramio.com/photo/28020218

20. Oops something went wrong there.one more try.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28020218.jpg

21. One the far left ,standing , is Barbados’s first Olympic Medal winner, Jim Wedderburn, who in all the recent celebrations,appear to have been forgotton.

22. I also recognise Colonel Banfield. That fella sitting 2nd from right look like Johnny Cheltenham. This was a camp photo or or a mix of companies, or was this a No. 2 Coy photo?

23. Johnny Cheltenham didnt go to Lodge man. So couldnt be in number 2 Coy.

Next to Banfield is Sam Headley- first black boy to be Head boy at the Lodge school.

24. Bradley432
    Is dis de B/dos regiment? Had two brothas in there in de 6o’s. One had rank. De otha only smell rank.(teeheee)

De fella to de far right standing in look bad a ‘tall’. Wonda if he still living?

How is Wedderburn doing? Is he alive?

25. @Bonny Peppa………..I have nuffin to contribute to this thread but to tell ya, dat ya got jokes gurl! funny as hell!

26. Wedderburn living and is as fit as a fiddle… he and Everton Weekes.

27. Lawrence Quintyn sitting?

28. @Bonny Peppa, this appears to be a joint Barbados Regiment/Barbados Cadet Corps photo. Jim Wederburn is still very much alive.
    Sitting 2nd from left is Major/Colonel Lawrence Quintyne
    Next to Jim Wederburn is Major McConney former ADC to the island’s last Governor/ first Governor- General.
    The tall officer at the rear looks like Captain Sealy, a relative of the legendary Pile at Bulkeley.Last I saw of him he was a Marshall with the Rally Club.

29. ha”ha funny a hell i remember a sweet drink factory onbay street corner nelson road used to see soda we call them sweet drinks >If my memory seves me well the name was Martinu drinks I drank plenty of them.He would used return bottles from the customers .My brother and i would go under the house cellar and returned these bottles some of them were very dirty.at times now i wonder how did Martinu clean them for some had cockroach inside and very dirty.does any body remember ? Do they still break the egg in the cup onGood Friday and look for the ship formation

30. And here’s another guy from the ’60’s Regiment.
    http://static.panoramio/photos/original/28023440.jpg

31. I’ll get it right first time next time.
    http://static.panoramio.com/photos/original/28023440.jpg

32. Lawrence Quintyne was my Company Commander. One Thursday afternoon we were on the Parade Square just below the Hastings Police station, the rain came pelting down, in what the folks used to call, buckets a drop. After being dismissed we made a mad rush for the nearby Drill Hall canteen. In strolls the Major, ” You are supposed to be disciplined soldiers. That was a disgrace the way you rushed into here. Now get back out there and come in like the soldiers you are.” Needless to say the rain was still belting down even more and we were all soaked to the skin.

33. Lawrence Quintyne was my Company Commander. One Thursday afternoon we were on the Parade Square just below the Hastings Police station, the rain came pelting down, in what the folks used to call, buckets a drop. After being dismissed we made a mad rush for the nearby Drill Hall canteen. In strolls the Major, ” You are supposed to be disciplined soldiers. That was a total disgrace the way you rushed into here. Now get back out there and come in like the soldiers you are.” Needless to say the rain was still belting down even harder and we were all soaked to the skin.

34. Looks like Deighton Maynard in the mix there too.

35. Hopi
    How you mean you in got nutton to contribute? Doan fool yaself caus ya in foolin me. Come wid sumting man.

ac,
    if we rememba dem martinu drinks? wah ya chan faget dem. Sweet, sweet n in all flavors. i drink summuch one day dat i brek out in a rash. My fatha had a lil shop ya kno, an use ta sell dem. I feel dat i drink mo dan he sell. I doan kno how Mr. Martinu use ta sterilize dem bottles but dah din we concern den,ya kno? When ya get a red martinu n a cheese-cutta, mercy me, de dog deaddd.
    No,i doan tink people worry wid dah ‘breaking egg ting’ at Easter. Dah us ta work doe?

Bradley432
    You probably did in day wid my brothas too.
    Colonel Quintyne din easy a’ tall. But as soldiers wunna should kno dat a ‘soldier’ chan run from rain man.
    My sons join de Army and de ‘initial training’ doan be easy a’ tall. Only de fittest in mind n body shall survive. It in easy. They both left at the end of the 6yr contract with bitter/sweet memories. They were with Rudyard Lewis.Still have a host of relatives in day.

BAFBFP,
    I would like ta tes Wedderburn fitness.(teeheeeeeeeeeee)
    Everton weekes still look good n Seymour Nurse would still mek ya ‘bat a eye’. He look real good too. I does admire he ‘secretly’ of course. He’s related to one of my in-laws. His nephew/brother Sherwin is too cute fa words. His mother made de sweetest puddin n souse in Wavell man.A sweet lady.

Wah ’bout de jukkin-board n de ‘blue-soap’?

Wah we used ta use before toilet-tissue?
    Brown paper bags man. And ya would rub it up like piece a clothes ta soften it.

De calculators today doan want nutton wid dem ol shopkeepers man. Dem people could add like cash registers. Talk bout mental-arithmetic.

Wah bout de coconut broom dat use ta sweep de yard?

And when ya motha gine in town ta buy ya a pair a shoes, she would brek off piece a de same yardbroom ta measure ya foot an cah de twig in town wid she.

36. A few years ago we had a terrible accident at Joes River ,St Joseph .Joes River estates , which include Frizers and Mellows, was no stranger to vehicle accidents and deaths. They had some trucks called scammels, made by Bedford and used to pull small cane trailer like the container trucks of today.When a person got a job driving one of these scammels,which would have been a definite last choice, it was a question of when he was going to get kill.Quite a few drivers and crew were killed or injured on these trucks taking canes from the hilly terrain to Joes River factory. The trailer had no braking system and when going downhill it would attempt to overtake the truck it was hooked onto.Even the dare devil Brute Alleyne never tried his hand at a Scammel.

37. Long before we country bucks got street lights , or electricity for that matter,we were privileged at times to have artificial moon light. The Gulf oil Company was drilling for oil in the Springvale St Andrew area,and at nights they used to burn off the natural gas found in the wells.A huge red flame would bellow out of a chimney, lighting up the whole of St Andrew,St Thomas and St Joseph.

38. Ohhh !!

aaaah !

aaaah !

39. Bradley432
    I lost a friend in dat Joes River accident two years ago and a friend was seriously injured. Haven’t passed no where near de site yet. Can’t find de ‘gall’. Too sad, still.

Anyway, you could always tell a country buck from a town rat by de way they dressed. Country bucks did cross-dressing long before cross-dressin was in vogue man.
    Not now doe, country bucks n town rats all dressing reallllllllll hard dese days.

And if ya had fam’blee over n away dat could sen back a few frocks n so on fa ya, ya did a real ‘hard-seed’ boy. Wah? Clothes coming from over n away?

And before we had fridges one person in de neighbourhood would buy a big block a ice, tie it up in a crocus bag, an sell it by de penny or cent. Talk ’bout nuffffffffffffff ice.

40. nobody mention lovers lane places like bay street esplanade.i rememberaround 7.30 in the evening seeing two people getting it on int the date palm trees i asked my mother what was that and she said shh; and also graves end wasapopular spot.

41. @Bonny Peppa, ya right when we country bucks came to town,we looked like if we had on our shoes on the wrong feet,and if they were too tight,man we would take them off.Country girls hair used to be picky and oily from either the engine oil they used to put on it or the castor oil. But yes, things have changed we all looked alike these days.
    @ac ,talking about lovers lane, a man on his way to the general horsepital, tek a short cut through Nelson Street with his son, and like you he saw two people at it. He asked his father what goes on here, the father replied, “dis is where they mek people.” The boy said, ” Yea, cause I can see a fellow over there drilling a hole in on.”

42. Remember when postage stamps had no glue. If you wanted to post a letter you had to find the nearest Sweet Lime tree, and used the juice of the green lime to stick the stamp to the envelope,while eating the red juicy ones.
    Telephones had 4 digits like 43-55 ,and they were few and far between. Sometimes you had to walk through 3 or 4 villages to ask for a phone call.
    About this same time the number of vehicles in St Michael was less than 4000. Remember those square Sugar Terminal trucks,that went out of service about five years ago,they had original registration numbers of M3500 etc.
    A Barnes and Company, had some funny looking 3- wheel Scammel trucks that used to haul goods and lumber about Bridgetown.
    A truck with a dump was unheard of ,and the driver and crew had to load sand with shovels off the beach.

43. Miss Rock that had the Rocklyn buses had a problem with some of her buses using too much gasolene,and she reported the matter to the Belleplaine Police Station (well if ya engine is missing who else to summons but the police) Anyway about 9 0’clock that night the Station Sergeant went across to the bus park and solved the problem straight away. Sticking out from underdeath one bus was a pair of size 12 policeman boots, attached to a policeman holding a basin draining the bus gas tank.

44. Over the years many Bajans believed in Obeah, Bacoo, Steel Donkey ,Bush bath and the devil at midnight at the four cross roads.I’ve heard many an older person spoke of a Touch Key, apparently if something went missing , a bible and a key would be used and the names of the suspects would be called out, and when the guilty person’s name was mention the key would do a number. I’ve seen the Ouija Board in operating in a similar fashion.
    But what I’ve seen with my own eyes which up to this day remains a mystery. This fellow from St Joseph had this glass container.It looked like a clear drinking glass with both ends blocked off and full of a liquid like Guinness. Ask it a question, and the liquid at the top would automatically clear away revealing a cream rectangular window,inside of which was written your answer. And who could blame the shopkeeper for drawing his collins and chasing the man out of his shop.

45. Would you believe that up to the late ’70’s that the Ministry of Transport had a direction sign in St Thomas reading Nigger Yard? That was the name of the tenantry village below Mount Wilton Plantation,the cart road to the village is still there.

46. ac saw someone getting it on by the date palm trees along the esplanade. DATE PALM TREES?? I think “ac” must have been in Iran or Iraq, not Barbados!

47. A relatively unknown man died and was buried sometime last month ,probably in his 70’s . But he was a lot luckier than his brother who died in his teens, if so old,many years ago. This kid was shot dead by a plantation manager in St Thomas while he was picking rabbit meat. The manager said he mistook him for a monkey.

48. @Coconut Water, the guy with the woman was on a Date.And he ain’t had to use his palm.

49. Fuh true?? In dat case den, oh Shi-ite!

50. coconut water i don’t have to argue with you.sound very defenseless maybe it was you in that tree back in the good ole days.HA’ Ha’