Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson
Prime Minister Hon David Thompson
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

It is no secret BU disagrees with Peter Wickham’s position on how Barbados should manage immigration.  It comes therefore as no surprise the CADRES poll registered that Barbadians has a healthy concern regarding matters of immigration and support Prime Minister Thompson’s approach so far to arresting the problem.

The second issue which will command heavy discussion are the numbers which gives Prime Minister David Thompson a passing grade when compared to leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. What is intriguing is the dominant support which former Prime Minister Owen Arthur still has at the national and within the Barbados Labour Party.

The outcome of the CADRES poll comes as no surprise to BU and validates many of our blogs on the issues. Of course employment and the high cost of living become high priority items for Bajans for two reasons, a) the DLP made campaign promises to respond to these two issues b) the prevailing global economic conditions which has negatively impacted Barbados’ own performance.

Here are the links to the documents for the BU family to form its conclusions.

1. Dave, what is it that LIB has on you guys? It appears he makes you guys nervous!

2. The CADRES poll has no sound scientific basis and is a complete farce. It is merely a cheap political gimmick to reassure a Barbadian public that was given a litany of promises that clearly haven’t been fulfilled.

How can I substantiate my claim of the poll being farcical? Well, according to the poll the DLP and BLP are tied in terms of their performance on employment. Is it logical to compare a 14 year period to a 19 month period? Furthermore, isn’t the unemployment rate at the highest now over the last 15 years?

3. Naturally, I’m disappointed with the way things are turning out here, but I suppose if people can foolishly regard it as an argument winner to refer to another’s political affiliation, real or supposed; and other people can gormlessly take this as a serious calumny on their character, this is the necessary consequence. For God’s sake, everybody, GROW UP. This is not BFP!

4. @Scientist

You are making some good points.

There is also merit in the position governments through time always view the media as anti-them.

5. The CADRES poll has no sound scientific basis and is a complete farce. It is merely a cheap political gimmick to reassure a Barbadian public that was given a litany of promises that clearly haven’t been fulfilled.

How can I substantiate my claim of the poll being farcical? Well, according to the poll the DLP and BLP are tied in terms of their performance on employment. Is it logical to compare a 14 year period to a 19 month period? Furthermore, isn’t the unemployment rate at the highest now over the last 15 years? The poll is a joke and should be ignored!

6. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Well said Scientist!

7. Scientist,
    Is this the first poll that Cadres has conducted? Were the others a farce also? Or you only have a grouse with this result? I would be too if I were you.
    I’m counting on you to conduct the next poll accurately. OK?

8. Donald Esq
    “Birds of a feather………………….

9. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Remember there are polls and there are polls!!!

10. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy

I have no problem with what HH is purported to have said. It is about time that the nation news pay the price for the social engineering they have been attempting. Time for someone to call for a genuine boycott of that newspaper. My only problem is that HH let his feeling be known to soon (again if it is true) It gives the BLP an Mia easy opportunity to escape the glare and scrutiny of the public on it’s leadership issues. HH alledged actions have now become the news.

Wait is LIB gone fuh trute???? Chevis regal in hand ready to celebrate. pray tell um is true. 🙂

11. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

See if anyone can spot the problem with following comment from CBC’s web site on the poll

“Mr Wickham says Barbadians approve of government’s performance in the areas of Education, Housing and Lands, Transport, Tourism, Road Works, the ECONOMY, Health & the QEH.

But Barbadians have given the DLP a failing grade in the area of Employment, and Mr Wickham says Barbadians appear not to be generally impressed with the economic profile of government’s handling of jobs, the ECONOMY, and the cost of living. ”

Can you say in one breath that in one breath Barbadians approve of what the DLP has done for the economy and in another breath say they are not impressed. It has to be one or the other!!

12. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Adrian Hinds

How could you condone what HH has said when even your supporters have distanced themselves from the comments?

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Themis
    Much as I often enjoy your interventions, if you thing that credibility is tradeable then let me assure you otherwise. When a foreigner states that he has no political affiliations in a country but a national (or supposed) claims (not suggests) otherwise, then the foreigner’s objectivity is compromised. That, mon ami, is NOT trivial: it is my currency that I am not biased.

Not gormless (chiefly British : lacking intelligence).

14. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Adrian Hinds

what is the social engineering that you say the nation has been attempting? Why should we not boycott the advocate for its biased reporting!!!

15. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@AH
    Leaving Bim and heading north, not Boston immediately, but close. Sorry we could not get that meeting sorted out, but look out for me anyway.

16. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Man MUABB, LIB is a arrogant idiot, that thinks Bajans like you and I are “shifless” black people. If you retract and or apologize to him, you may very well be the first person to get a slap in your face via the internet, and such would be deserving. lol!

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

s/b …if you THINK…

18. But, LIB, with all respect; your objectivity cannot be compromised by an unproven accusation from an anonymous blogger! If that were so, you put yourself in grave danger by coming on to this blog where one is labeled either B or D depending on even if you hint that you might possibly see a certain point of view. Relax, man, it goes with the turf!

19. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

DD esquire, The nation news paper has let their intent be known via pro illegal immigration editorials, and they have to my mind solidify this position by allowing all manner of pro illegal immigration articles, and writers, while not given equal space to those who do not support illegal immigraion. I know,.. next you will be asking for specifics.

If you want to boycott the Advocate, go right ahead, I have no interest in so doing neither would I object to you initiating one.

20. livinginbarbados got ah dick and Pat got ah pokey… Zoe wah you got..?

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

21. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Themis, again with due respect. You know the adages ‘repetition make truth’ and ‘no smoke without fire’? Why should I now have to deal with questions about my objectivity? As I also said, every ‘anonymous’ commentator is a real person and they do talk, and things do spread, including muck. Play and change the word to whatever may affect you most. If you remain neutral, that’s good. I had thought that this space had a certain integrity–it’s bandied about. But…

22. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

LIB my sole purpose in wanting to meet with you is to collect picture evidence that I know you. My sole intent is to present you to Barbadians as I have come to know you. ha ha ha lol! your objectivity is nil.

23. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

I sent David separately a link to my blog, that essentially covers what is below. It was an accident that was perhaps due to happen. I offered a ‘get out of jail’ option to 2 people and the rest is interesting history. For those who are interested, read on about the prisoner’s dilemma. It tells a lot about groups whose collective interests are not clear but whose individual interests seem to be selfish. You saw it with CMC/CBC on Thursday.

One of the most interesting exercises in economics is to try to see what happens if one plays the prisoner’s dilemma. Borrowing from the Stanford Dictionary of Philosophy, Its essence is what happens if you have two confined people and give each the choice of freedom with an offer like:

“You may choose to confess or remain silent. If you confess and your accomplice remains silent I will drop all charges against you and use your testimony to ensure that your accomplice does serious time. Likewise, if your accomplice confesses while you remain silent, they will go free while you do the time. If you both confess I get two convictions, but I’ll see to it that you both get early parole. If you both remain silent, I’ll have to settle for token sentences on firearms possession charges. If you wish to confess, you must leave a note with the jailer before my return tomorrow morning.”

The “dilemma” faced by the prisoners here is that, whatever the other does, each is better off confessing than remaining silent. But the outcome obtained when both confess is worse for each than the outcome they would have obtained had both remained silent. A common view is that the puzzle illustrates a conflict between individual and group rationality. A group whose members pursue rational self-interest may all end up worse off than a group whose members act contrary to rational self-interest.
    Those who do not understand can ask me for clarification elsewhere.
    ++++++++++
    It also touches on how party divisions will possibly lead to a major downfall.

Remember, I’ve said collaboration = +/+; confrontation = -/+.

I offered a chance to be collaborative.

24. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Donald Duck, Esq // August 23, 2009 at 2:16 PM

Adrian Hinds

How could you condone what HH has said when even your supporters have distanced themselves from the comments?
    ————————————————-
    My supporters??? I know not of them. HH was charitable, in letting her know, what he intends. Owen Arthur’s opponents had no such forewarning as he sought to destroy persons after persons reputation from behind parliamentary immunity. The truth is I would have preferred that he begged that they carry the poll results and still seek to destroy their reputation.

Wuh wunnuh like wunnuh upset that someone in the DLP can be as ruthless as Mia and or Owen. chupse.

25. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Bye Bye folks. I will be leaving you for a while. I am off to work with Mickey and Minnie. I may return sometime next month

26. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

What the f is LIB goin on about? am I going to get to drink my chevis or not? chuspe. be gone already I am getting thirsty. ha ha ha ha

27. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Remember how not too long ago LIB said on this blog that he was going to speak to the British High commission re allegations made by the BLP sylvan greenidge about Hartley Henry’s alleged sexual assault of a U.S. political consultant?

I believe he also said he was going to check with U.S. authorities with regards to the same matter.

That is just one of the things that should make you go hmmmm.

When challenged by I think Veritas and threats made about a lawsuit,some swift back pedalling was done.

Everything isn’t always as it appears.

Just wait and see that he will not leave this site.

It is the most popular blogging forum and allows him the opportunity to feed his ego.

There is something he said some time ago that David and other bloggers did not seem to pick up on and I have been silently pondering on that comment.

Enough said.

28. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Prisoner’s dilemma my ass. In todays world where prisioners get to live better than free citizens, the threat of incarceration would probably not be successfull in getting someone to talk.

29. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Some MAUBB out with it. Let us hear it man.

30. Only outside of Barbados is immigration enforcement considered a “Hot Potato” because most of the people outside of Barbados are potential migrants to our shores so the poll as it specifically deals with immigration is not too surprising amongst Barbados citizens.I think the plurality opinion on BU gave a hint at that.

31. Themis said:

“But, LIB, with all respect; your objectivity cannot be compromised by an unproven accusation from an anonymous blogger!”

Themis, your statement ignores the reality of the situation. “Unproven accusations” are made all the time on these blogs and very often, they are accepted as truth by its readers.

There is a saying that goes:

“A lie can travel halfway around the world while the truth is still at home putting on its sneakers”

Unfortunately, there are many good persons whose reputations are sullied by posters on BFP and BU. That is just the regrettable nature of Bajan Blogs. It is as if these posters don’t see any value in the reputation of others.

What I found ironic is that David became very upset with LIB a week ago when he believed that LIB was “tarring BU with no concrete basis for doing so”. For the exact quote see below:

“@LIB

We have to press on because you wrote a blog tarring BU with no concrete basis for doing so” (made August 15 2009 at 11:00)

Based on the words above even David sees the value in protecting one’s reputation and I certainly don’t blame LIB for trying to do so. I always found him brave for posting without the protection of Anonymity.

My point to you Themis is this: BU Bloggers may be anonymous but that doesn’t mean that they are innocuous.

32. Opinion polls mean nothing to me. Because an issue or organisation is popular or otherwise says nothing about its appropriateness or rightness. This democracy thing is a serpent.

33. Mia will be PM in 8 years. All she has to do is wait. Very much as Thompson had upheavals on his way to the throne, she too will have hers.
    I see both of them as just wanting to be PM. Neither has a great vision or motivation to improve the lives of the majority of Barbadians.
    They just want the prestige that comes with being PM

34. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

@AnonLegal
    “Unproven accusations” are made all the time on these blogs and very often, they are accepted as truth by its readers.
    ————————————————–

…and very often they are accepted as truth by its readers.

starting with you. Where is your proof that is the case? You must give more than several instances for it to meet the criteria of “More than Often”.

Until then,…yet another “unproven accusation”

35. LIB
    You are too stuffed up with yourself. You are constantly trying to impress us here on this blog. You have failed. You were off to catch a plane half an hour ago and you are still here blogging.
    Man catch the plane and do not come back.

36. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Anonymous // August 23, 2009 at 3:51 PM

Mia will be PM in 8 years. All she has to do is wait. Very much as Thompson had upheavals on his way to the throne, she too will have hers.
    ————————————————–

She could be dead in 8 years too. But good points though.

37. Mr. Adrian, How come you say you gine show LiB how you ‘have come to know you’? How you know him, then? What gine on?

38. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

Fruity Nut is this your first time posting with us? please introduce yourself. ha ha ha lol!

39. @Anonlegal, yes, an anonymous person can defame. But how can an anonymous person be defamed. Reputation is one’s standing in the eyes of others. How could one’s standing be lowered or harmed if no one knows who you are? I agree LIB is known and can be defamed. But how can you and I be defamed?

40. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

LIB defamed my ass. LIB said some very uncharitable things about bajans, I have the records, and seek only to let people know what he has said of them. The truth matters and if the truth leads to the lowerinf of a person reputation, he has no legal standing under the defamation act of Barbados.

41. immorality….wicking…..these stories the nation should be exposing.

42. IS THE BANK OF MONTREAL (THE 4TH LARGEST BANK IN CANADA) THE NEXT MAJOR FINANCIAL INSTITUTION ABOUT TO FAIL?

For those who made a bundle of $$$CASH hedging their bets that LEHMAN BROTHERS would fail are still laughing all the way (you fill in the blanks)…

Here’s another opportunity to make some serious money with BMO (Bank of Montreal) impending collapse…

The Next Crisis in the Making by Claus Vogt – “believes that the stock market and the economy entered a secular bear market in 2000 when the technology bubble burst. The first recession took place in 2001, and the first cyclical stock bear market ran from 2000 until 2002/03. That’s when governments all over the world implemented extremely easy monetary and fiscal policies.
    Their strategy worked … the recession stopped in its tracks. But it came at a very high price … starting a real estate bubble. This artificial and unsound boom lasted until 2007. Then the bubble burst and all hell broke loose! And the second recession and the second cyclical stock bear market began.”

“Again governments stepped in, but to a much larger degree than in 2001-2004. And, for now at least, they’ve rescued the banking system by bailing out nearly all big banks and initiated a medium-term uptrend in the world’s stock markets.”

“The long-term analysis is simple and easy: With each round of counter crisis policy, governments are upping the ante. So each crisis is getting more expensive and more damaging than its predecessor.”

“The severity of the 2007/08 crisis should make it clear what an even worse version could look like: The total collapse of the banking system and of the world’s dollar-based financial system, probably including the bankruptcy of some states. Even hyperinflation seems to be a probable outcome of these policies.”

If you believe Bernanke and all those “knuckleheads” and the “Greater Fool Theory” espoused by these so-called financial titans – you would think we are basking in the sunshine financial overflow and abundance…

Remember – when men cry “PEACE & SAFETY” – sudden destruction follows!!!

43. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy // August 23, 2009 at 4:14 PM

“She could be dead in 8 years too.”

The woman is obese and smokes heavily. She is also way past forty years old. Wah you think?

Incidentally sylvan sexual preference is none of your business.

44. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

BAFBFP // August 23, 2009 at 4:41 PM

Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy // August 23, 2009 at 4:14 PM

“She could be dead in 8 years too.”

The woman is obese and smokes heavily. She is also way past forty years old. Wah you think?

Incidentally sylvan sexual preference is none of your business.
    ————————————————-
    I just read a the nationnews where a woman who never smoked has lung cancer. I too can be dead in 8 years. My only point was that none of us know when we are call to meet the maker.

45. Themis,

I agree wholeheartedly that an anonymous person can not be defamed. However the posters on these blogs don’t limit their defamatory comments to anonymous bloggers. There are many persons who are known in the community that are seen in a negative light because of the comments posted on these blogs.

My comment was more directed at the suggestion that LIB should “relax”. If I were in his position, I would also seek to set the record straight.

You and I may have the sense to know that unproven accusations from an anonymous blogger mean nothing. However there are many who will believe the comments posted on this blog and may start to question his objectivity based on the comment made.

46. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

MUBB, I have never been a yardfowl in my life, but hey you are entitle to your opinion. Pity that you cannot stand any views contrary to your own. Who gave you the divine or satanic right for your opinion to be first among equals? Seems to me you mash up your own opinions before first base.
    But hey, nothing you have said could convince me that there is no bias in Peter’s work, since he is an unrelenting disciple of Thompie.
    As to your friend Hartley, well he was a fool when we worked together, he is a fool now and he will always be a fool. In my book, he is of no use to the DLP when he becomes the story. What a silly man, I retire now so he cannot threaten me. But then what do you expect from a failed politician?

47. wicking corrupting the media. wicking between some media people and one particular politician. the nation should write bout that.

48. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

David, for what it is worth. Shut your prejudiced mouth. Unless you are presenting a different story, stop seeking Roxanne Gibbs’ head and anyone else who dares to see the incident strictly on what is published. You fluctuate based on lack of principles more than a large river and its many twists and turns. Seems to me your comments change depending on the person, the event, and what you seem able to excite from the occurrence. I will continue to read the blogs, and encourage people to do so, they reveal much of the bigotry that is otherwise presented as doing people a favour by giving them voice. You ought to be ashamed of your stance, but then again, I am not of your vintage.

49. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

@Anonlegal:
    You and I may have the sense to know that unproven accusations from an anonymous blogger mean nothing. However there are many who will believe the comments posted on this blog and may start to question his objectivity based on the comment made.
    ————————————————-
    There you go again. First of all

a falsehood does not = defamation. neither is an unproven accusation equal to defamation, which includes your yet to be proven ” statement.

Would you want to suggest that Sylvan is defaming someone with his comments above?

50. Agreed, Anonlegal. Although I suspect that many of those who believe most of the assertions on this blog are those who would think the worst of a person, no matter what they hear.