Two years adrift from 2013 the political temperature has risen to almost melting point. The sudden and grave illness of Prime Minister David Thompson has exposed a leadership issue in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the event he decides to remove himself from the equation. The recent CADRES poll has thrown out Christopher Sinckler as the peopleโ€™s choice. Unfortunately for the DLP, a party which has recently emerged from the political wilderness of 14 years, it does not* have the political capital to become embroiled in a leadership squabble.

On the other side of the divide the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in the aftermath of an election defeat saw Mia Mottley being elevated to leader of the party. As far as the public was* concerned former Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned to make room for the young energetic Mottley to takeover.ย  To the surprise of many, soon after stepping down Arthur held a press conference at the UWI during which he expressed some concerns about Mottley being leader of the party.ย  It therefore has come as no surprise to BU and political pundits in Barbados to hear of rumblings in the BLP regarding whether Arthur or Mottley should lead the party.

The BLP leadership issue has been given wings in recent days by BLP Chairman George Payne, he indicated that he was unaware of Mottleyโ€™s interest in taking over the chairmanship of the BLP.ย  On BU in recent days we got the conflicting position from BLP surrogates that Mottley has indicated interest in taking over the chairmanship of the BLP. It is convention that when the leader of the party expresses such an interest the incumbent steps aside. The taking over the Chair by the leader of the party is usually done as the party gears-up for a general election. In the case of the BLP it could be argued it is more a power play from Mottley.

Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs

Added to Mottleyโ€™s worries is the revelation that some skulduggery appears to have occurred in the St. James/St. Lucy ridings in recent days to create delegates to favourย  incumbent George Payne at the upcoming BLP convention. Word making the rounds on BU suggests a recent polling places Mottley on shaky ground – to be confirmed at a secret* meeting tomorrow.

The public has been looking on with interest the Owen Arthur/George Walton alliance which has emerged. These are two men who would have been at loggerheads during Arthurโ€™s period as Prime Minister of Barbados. Payne was fired by Arthur and the relationship went down hill to the point where Payne said nothing in the Lower House for many years sitting on the backbench of Parliament. To say that politics makes strange bedfellows would be an understatement.

In the case of the two parties the leadership issue is unsettled. A DLP with Thompson absent will struggle. Although Sinckler has been anointed by Thompson if we are to judge from the recent reshuffle, the fact that he is a popular choice among Barbadians informed by the CADRES poll means nothing. Utterances from key DLP party members suggest Sincklerโ€™s ascendency to lead the party maybe strewn with obstacles.ย  If Mottley is able to assert herself as the undisputed leader of the BLP in the coming days; she is currently fighting for all she is worth then the matter will become a dead issue for the BLP. If she loses it would open the proverbial political Pandora’s box. Would she resign, cross the floor, start her own party or meekly step in line?

In the meantime the country continues to drift along in the prevailing economic storm while the political โ€˜ham boneโ€™ is being fought for. Once a politician always a politician!

145 responses to “The Political Temperature Close To Melting Point In Barbados – DLP BLP Leadership Issue Trumps Economic Issues”

1. Next meeting scheduled for Monday 18, 2010.

Now the constitutionality of who should call a meeting is being questions.

As Sargeant commented, brace yourself, it is going to be a rough ride.

Here is the LETTER which was sent to the BLP parliamentarians.

There is discussion that Barbados Online should not have published the email addresses. What do you think?

2. Let me state up front that I am a supporter of the DLP, that does not mean that I vote for them everytime. When, in my opinion, they are not ready to govern, then my national mode kicks in. When I hear party diehards from both parties making such bias statements that the party they oppose has done nothing for the country< I wonder where these people were living. Thank God I'm not that brainwashed that I can't see what both parties have done to keep Barbados the stable economic country that it is. After the death of Errol Barrow, the DLP went into a sharp decline because of a leadership struggle, midway through the last term of the BLP government, the struggle reached it worse but out of bad comes good and the DLP were able to regain government. However, during the first five years of the BLP government, Owen Arthur performed very well, the second term was just O.K; it was the third term that everything went wrong. Therefore it is unfair to say that for fourteen years the BLP did nothing. Remember, Owen could have called elections when the DLP was at their lowest just pass the midterm of his third term in office, he would have won handsomely ( thank God he didn't). The DLP instead of focusing on the problems within the BLP should put their house in order NOW in case the P.M is forced to resign either his role as P.M or rep. for St.John or both. Remember, he who laughs last laughs less, today it is the B's tomorrow it can be the D's. The ball is in your court.

3. Hi David;
    re. your suggestion that I have been silent on this matter. If my memory serves me correctly I think I commented on it briefly when the news of this situation first broke. Check the earlier posts. Now, with more developments on the table my views are-:

I am somewhat disappointed in the Hon Owen Seymour Arthur for the manner in which he has apparently led the attack to unseat Mia Mottley as the reports now suggest. He is a man whom I have held in the greatest respect for his intellect, ability to work extremely hard, empathy with the common man, love for Barbados and his apparent statemanship but if it is true that he has engineered this situation, that respect will be somewhat eroded.

I think I understand why there would be a leadership struggle at this time as there might be a sensing of the possibility of an early election and the BLP members in the house probably feels that they would stand a better chance of winning under Owen Arthur’s leadership but, for what little its worth since I am no politician nor political strategist, I personally do not think that the BLP will stand a better chance in the next election under his leadership than under Mia Mottley’s, a woman who matches him at least in intellect, resourcefulness and vigour. This is because there will be tremendous collateral damage created by the ouster itself and the manner in which it has been done that bespeaks a modicum of unfairness. In addition, how it is perceived by the voting public will be another factor as well as the probable effectiveness of the likely spin that will be put on it by the likes of HH. This action therefore will level the playing field towards a DLP advantage for the next election.

However, we must not forget that there are several aspects of this situation that can change the dynamics drastically in the next few days, months or years. One of these is the response of MIa Mottley to the ouster. If she can establish a sense of martyrdom and stay in the party and work hard for its success under Owen Arthur she can well turn the tables on him, especially if an election is called nearer to the two year mark than soon from now.

Note also that the DLP will still have to face its own leadership struggle and, given the volatility of some of the likely protagonists, the eventual winners are still not a done deal.

4. David; re. the propriety of publishing the email addresses of the MPs who signed the letter you referred to; I think it is a difficult call.
    On the one hand they are all public servants whose official email addresses should be a matter of public record. In addition, the letter is one of grave import at the national level.
    On the other hand the letter is presumably a private one and not meant for public consumption.
    Perhaps, as is done in such matters in the US, Barbados Online should have heavily redacted the email addresses.

5. @checkit-out

Understand your point. The point must be made that the leadership struggle is being fought within the rules of the party as we understand it. While is is not the convention for the BLP to operate as they are doing it appears to be legal.

6. What do you expect? Avatar
    What do you expect?

Gosh, but the blogs are quiet today.

Has everyone gone underground? Literally?!!

LOL!!

7. Hi David; Yes. It would have to be legal. There are 3 lawyers who signed the documents. However, it seems to go against the conventions of fair play that have long been associated with the party.

My main point is that the action they appear to be taking may yet come back to haunt them and a party that in my view might arguably have a greater overall intellectual and experiential capacity to handle the current situation we find ourselves in than a DLP minus David Thompson and Clyde Mascoll. Not knocking the likes of Chris Sinckler and a few others on the DLP side like Minister Sealy, the Minister of Education and the Youth Minister who all have the intellectual capacity but are a bit short on experience.

I have often argued that it is the Senior Public servants who, although they do not make policy, tend to drive policy by the alternatives they present to the Ministers and how they present those alternatives. In the current case, it is my view that new ministers ofttimes do not recognize good advice when they see it and so might create problems that an experience former minister might well avoid.

But, in essence, I am saying that the important aspect of a cohesive, forward looking and sensible developmental policy rests not only with the politicians but the senior public servants and other advisors such as consultants and the ability of politicians to foster, recognize and run with good advice while avoiding bad advice.

Re. the meeting next week, there is one question that still needs to be asked. How does one know that despite the implicit obduracy of the five, that Mia Mottley will not be able to convince a majority that she has done an excellent job of Opposition leader despite the constraints resulting from attacks from you know who? Remember that the signers suggest that they are examining the Opposition Leader’s record. If they can only establish minor or no faults with that record and stewardship after a spirited defence by Mia, will they be able to suggest that she would be unworthy to continue leading the BLP?

8. What do you expect? Avatar
    What do you expect?

Must we over-intellectualize this thing?

The majority members of the BLP parliamentary group have convened a meeting for Monday 18th October. They state clearly that they are the MAJORITY members. Now why do you think that is? They are demonstrating that they have the numbers, and numbers = power.

The Leader of the Opposition is that person who is able to command the support of the majority of members of the Parliamentary Group (elected members of Parliament). The Dems went through this. Now it is the turn of the Bees.

Such leadership cannot be bestowed or inherited. And neither is it permanent – persons can change their minds based on their assessment of the circumstances. It’s a tough lesson, but one that all who seek power would do well to learn and remember. No one is exempt.

Notwithstanding the stated intent of the meeting – to examine the record of the current Leader of the Opposition, let’s get real shall we? Why should that record need to be examined? And why now? And why convene a specific meeting to do so?

Don’t take it too hard.

9. I don’t know about you all, but while I would not have a problem being led by a woman, I would have to think long and hard about being led by a woman that is rumored to have more balls than me and according to legend, gets more p****y than most men.

The last time MM issued an ultimatum to the parliamentary group, I felt that at least three should have shown some balls then.
    You can’t treat supposedly big men like little boys and then turn your back on them.

I am willing to bet that if the electorate is given a choice between MM<-BLP or OA<-BLP, most would go for the latter combination. The BLP members know this in their heart.

10. @Asman: “You canโ€™t treat supposedly big men like little boys and then turn your back on them.

But how have the “men” behaved?

Personally I don’t care who runs the country, so long as they are able and willing to stand up with some balls to all assailants…

And to get the job *done*…

The little boys who call in sick and/or are scared of a girl can stay at home and play with their toys….

11. ???

12. The majority of BLP Parliamentary MP’s have played their hand; the cracks can be papered over – in the short term – but that reality exist.

They know that should the BLP be successful in the next general election, it is only reasonable to assume that their leader will “show favour” to those who supported her. For without that support she would have been toast.

Politics is about winning, the best ideas are worthless when you are in opposition and not in a position to implement them… that means being in Government is everything.

This is not a 20/20 cricket match, it is a five day Test Match and there are many overs yet to be bowled. The experienced politician knows that Government comes not from the hundred or so Party faithful that express support for you, but the thousands, many yet undecided who will vote for you, or because of you.

We must listen not only to what is said; but take note of that inferred.

There are some strong cards yet to be played.

13. That letter suggests that the majority wants to get rid of MIA and it is their right to do so.

Anything other than an ouster of MIA as leader would be an act of deception on the part of Owen and co.None of this “the elders have convinced us it is better for party unity” bovine fecal matter.

Either they oust MIA or they should all resign.

14. No one know what is in the hearts of the Electorate when it comes to the BLP leadership. Let them make that decision and maybe just maybe many who think they know, might be in for a big shock.

As far I see Mia has shown strong leadership and can handle the job as PM. Owen Arthur has led Barbados and has done a commendable job, however he stepped aside when his party lost and handed over the reigns to Mia. He has to stop letting the power hungry members egg him on into thinking he can still get back into the saddle. A cowboy has to hang up his boots one day and that day came when he gave up the leadership. All through this Mia has conducted herself with the utmost dignity and grace.

If this coup d’etat takes place, it will split the unity of this party for many years. The party has to put Barbados first and let the electorate decide.

As I have said before, I believe Mia is very capable and she is the strongest and the most suitable one. If many of you prefer an Alcoholic to lead Barbados, it means that you haven’t put country first. Ask any doctor, Alcohol destroys brain cells and stunts growth and mental development.

15. I said supposedly big men.

MM is now being promoted as the new saviour and they would have us believe that she is the complete opposite of Owen, that she disapproved of everything he did and will do things differently, she wanted to speak out about the corruption and squander-mania. In fact, she was so disgusted with the way he did things, that she even offered her resignation from the cabinet.

The problem the BLP has is that after the “We going with Owen” and “Owen now more than ever” campaigns, we are supposed to believe that he now has no worth and is irrelevant to the BLP.

16. Now that MIA has been “summoned” to meet with Owen and co. she should simply refuse to go and talk with the traitors.
    Why should she permit them to further their efforts to humiliate her.
    Just say no MIA.

17. Strong leadership?
    When?

How strong a leader can you be, if you and your actions are subject to the deliberations of your subordinates?

A strong leader does not brook or countenance insubordination after stating quite emphatically that they would not.

So I will have to say that a leader is only as good as the led allows him or her to be.

18. So I will have to say that a leader is only as good as the led allows him or her to be.

A leader by definition must be the one who will get the majority to follow the plan/strategy to get the job done!

There is the rumour making the round Mottley has resigned!

19. @Asman: “A strong leader does not brook or countenance insubordination after stating quite emphatically that they would not.

I respectfully disagree.

I would argue instead that a true leader listens to all counsel, and then makes (and stands behind) their own decisions….

20. @David”There is the rumour making the round Mottley has resigned!”
    That would be a good strategy on her part.

21. @ C. Halsall
    I agree, but should I assume that by standing behind his own decisions, you mean, he expects them to be acknowledged and is adamant that they be?

If so, does he welcome insubordination after he makes his decision public?

22. Why resign?
    A resignation implies that she is guilty, no matter what reason she states.

She should let them forcibly remove her if she knows that the action is malicious and without merit. They would then have to make public the grounds for her removal.

If the public concludes that she have been wronged, her options are significantly increased.

If she is as brilliant as they say she is, then she really does not need the BLP and she could pull a Richie Haynes move.

23. she have –> she has

24. Mia would have learned from the scorn heaped on Mascoll. She is on record as stating she is a B and only a B as recent as the last general conference. By resigning she gives off the appearance of making a sacrifice in the interest of the party. Arthur is 60 and Mia is 46.

25. @Asman: “If so, does he welcome insubordination after he makes his decision public?

OK. Let’s play this game…

You keep referring to the male gender, while I (and others) keep referring to the neutral gender.

Is it that hard for you to reference the
    neutral gender?

Or must this be He vs. She?

26. Robert Deschappรฉ Avatar
    Robert Deschappรฉ

This whole BLP scenario reminded me of the time when David Thompson, Richard Sealy and the other members of the opposition parliamentary group at the time, went to the Governor General with a no confidence motion to oust Clyde Mascoll as the leader of the Opposition, and appoint David Thompson as the new opposition leader. Similar event, different party. I guess at that time Thompson’s move was justified.

Another thing, Thompson revealed that Arthur got $75,000 from CLICO, but has he ever revealed how much he and the DLP got from the same company?

27. “Arthur is 60 and Mia is 46.”

Are you suggesting that they are no more worthy contenders so she can afford to wait?

Recent events have shown that life in general, and political life more so, should never be taken for granted.

28. Some 27 years after the demise of Maurice Bishop on 19th October 1983โ€ฆ..we in Barbados will after the (18th october , 2010 BLP meeting) witness on the 19th October 2010โ€ฆthe decapitation of Mia Aman Mottley !

Interesteringly, to note by the real men in her BLP PARTY !

And some BLP stooges tell us that the DEMS is a one term government !

The BEES mekโ€ฆ.Lammie Craig BAWL !!

29. @ C. Halsall

I apologise for the lack of political correctness.

I still suggest that the true leader, as you have defined, would not be thrilled that decisions made, were being ignored or rejected by subordinates.

30. Dear Asman:

Let’s keep it real.

Once your “subordinates” are sucessfully rejecting your decisions then they are no longer your subordinates.

31. @Asman: “I apologise for the lack of political correctness.

I doubt that somehow…

Let’s apply the analysis from another front…

You speak from a name which has never been seen before, but suddenly speaks with authority.

I’ve been speaking for years.

Hmmmm….

32. โ€œa party that in my view might arguably have a greater overall intellectual and experiential capacity to handle the current situation we find ourselves in than a DLP minus David Thompson and Clyde Mascoll. Not knocking the likes of Chris Sinckler and a few others on the DLP side like Minister Sealy, the Minister of Education and the Youth Minister who all have the intellectual capacity but are a bit short on experience.
    Check it out
    I am not letting you get away with that foolishness.
    Show me which of the present opposition members besides Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley who have this great experience. How can an experience minister let a bath be built for half a million dollars. Owen Arthur gained his experience on the job it was noticeable in the first five years. His experience also left us with an economy that now has to be restructured. How did we get where we are today? Would you say that the last government played a part in getting us here? Were construction and the selling of land sustainable?
    Mia Mottley was the Minister of Education and this intellectual and experiential capacity was not evidenced when she left it in shambles.
    Why did you mention Clyde Mascoll with the DLP? He left from being opposition leader one day and was a minister in the BLP the next (the first in the history with the west minister parliamentary system in the world). The DLP went on to win without him easily.
    What has Clyde Mascoll intellectual and experiential capacity done for the improvement of Barbados? What is his experience?
    If you can say that some persons in the BLP gained experience which taught them how to get away with certain behaviour then I could agree. Like Glyne Clarke getting land to build a house that was not for persons like him.
    In an effort to discredit persons like Chris Sinkler and Michael Lashley you resort to this lack of experience talk when they are showing Barbados that they can and are doing a better job than all of those persons that you keep saying have so much experience.

33. Charlie; You said a lot and I will therefore probably have to respond to you in a number of posts.

To start you said “I am not letting you get away with that foolishness. Show me which of the present opposition members besides Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley who have this great experience. ”
    Almost by definition, it seems obvious that a party which led Barbados for 3 of the last 4 terms must have more “current” experience in government than one which has only had about 1/2 a term of such experience. Also, Why does it seem that you are restricting your “experiential” eligibility to those Opposition members currently in Parliament? Theoretically any member of the last government who is eligible to offer himself or herself to the electorate the next time around and who had at least 2 terms in office could be classified as a person with more experience in government than any of the new members who have only 1/2 a term of experience so far. Using the above yardstick you should yourself be able to gauge and count which of the present opposition members would have an experiential advantage on the Government members now in parliament. You do the math.

You said “How can an experience minister let a bath be built for half a million dollars.” I can only say in the same way that a relatively inexperienced one in the current government would promote a firm that has a track record of charging government several times the cost of certain heavy duty items, amounting to millions. Both Ministers should be charged if infelicities linked to them can be proven in these cases . But remember that the Ministers should be involved in policy matters only. They should not be getting into matters of determining who gets contracts etc. and therefore they usually cannot control the price at which a bath is built. Public Servant bodies have that responsibility.

You said “Owen Arthur gained his experience on the job it was noticeable in the first five years. His experience also left us with an economy that now has to be restructured. How did we get where we are today? Would you say that the last government played a part in getting us here? Were construction and the selling of land sustainable?”

Practically every economy in the world has to be restructured following the onslaught of the American and other First world robber barons on the global economies in the last 3 years or so. Owen Arthur’s policies had very little to do with it. Of course, in hindsight, the thrusts in construction and the selling of agricultural land was unsustainable but Owen Arthur did not invent those policies. He might have intensified them but these were policies embarked on by every government in Barbados since the 1960’s. All of them had atrocious agricultural policies which have had a cumulative deleterious effect at this time.

You said; “Mia Mottley was the Minister of Education and this intellectual and experiential capacity was not evidenced when she left it in shambles.”

I really can’t engage you on this one. I am totally unaware of the shambles in which Mia Mottley left the Ministry of Education. What shambles? What yardstick are you using? Give me the statistics that show that the Ministry was left in shambles after Mia’s sojourn there and I would attempt to engage you. As it is the statement says very little if not nothing at all.

Re. Mia Mottley’s intellectual capacity, any objective person who sits with her in a discussion or observes her chairing a meeting or otherwise watches her operating at a professional level, as I did over a decade ago in various public service fora, cannot help but be impressed with her intellectual capacity. I think you might well have been misled by the spin doctors.

Owen Arthur and Chris Sinckler are also at that almost genius level and, as I’ve stated before, I think that Chris Sinckler will make an excellent Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

I’ll try to answer some of your other points later.

34. When I saw this I said to myself this person has read this game plan to a Tee.

Let us ask questions about the integrity of men who would be at enemity with Arthur one moment but in the next moment, on the altar of expedience, would gladly sing in his choir, at the expense of Mottley.

Make no mistake, this BLP leadership struggle has nothing to do with what is in the best interest of Barbados.

This is about controlling, manipulating and distributing the resources of the state in the interest of a few.

These days are some funny nights!

35. My my, Bajan people who should know better now very taken up with image … ho ho ho. Chris Sinkler, former NGO spin on a coin about EPA show no substance no? Arfta velly good a spotting problem, very good at voicing solution (not velly good public speaker no?) but velly velly bad at implement plan no? Arfta’s legacy is “run it up flag pole and see which way wind blowing and take it back down again” no? Arfta velly well had more commission set up on topics, more report, green and white paper drawn up than any Prime Minister in history of West Minister no? Spen, spen, spen, on paper …. not very Green no? And Motty velly experience crisis manager no? Not velly good at strategy to avoid crisis in first place no? No no, not impressed at all, not impressed …!

36. Robert Deschappรฉ Avatar
    Robert Deschappรฉ

“Why did you mention Clyde Mascoll with the DLP? He left from being opposition leader one day and was a minister in the BLP the next (the first in the history with the west minister parliamentary system in the world).”

Come on Charlie, as a spin doctor, I am sure that you are aware that Clyde Mascoll was in fact oust by his fellow parliamentarians via the no confidence motion route, which was done to anoint David Thompson as the leader of the opposition. Surely you also know that when Mascoll joined the DLP he was not opposition leader.

Most of you are saying that Mia Mottley should not associate with traitors, but leave the party. However, did not Mascoll leave the DLP after the treachery of Thompson and others; but you call him a political grasshopper. So how would you describe Hammie La?

37. Robert Deschappรฉ Avatar
    Robert Deschappรฉ

It should be “When Mascoll joined the BLP, he was not the leader of the opposition”.

38. David; before I get back to Charlie. I think I must say that HH’s Coma rumour and the way it was professionally handled, since it tricked both DLP and BLP operatives, must be given full marks for the effect it has had. It probably caused Owen to prematurely make his move and thereby led to the current problems in the BLP and also caused Kellman and perhaps others in the DLP to start their scrambling for power.
    But perhaps it might just have been fortuitous. Who knows?

39. W.I.V
    Come on, get real, both parties have their disagreements. Remember David Estwick going on the call-inprogram “brasstacks” and declaring he could NEVER support David Thompson as leader of the DLP? Also the bad mouthing of the same Thompson by both the now acting P.M and Kellman? Stop glorying in the problems of others and try to calm the power hungry ones in the DLP for the party and Barbados sake.

40. @checkit-out

Don’t know who was responsible for the rumour but it would be unfortunate if the PM’s health is being manipulated for political advantage.

41. David; based on who I first got the rumour from and then Negroman’s declaration of the rumour with sadness and with some detailed embellishments that seemed to have been designed to make it appear believable, I am practically convinced that it came from within the bosom of the DLP. If so it was probably the most clever political ploy hatched in this century in Barbados. The mind of the master and HH seems to be clearly etched in the rumour and the superb handling of it, to the extent that the right hand did not know what the left hand was doing. Both BLP and DLP fell for it.

If it wasn’t a rumour David Thomson’s US doctors would have done wonders. Anyone wants to claim responsibility for a master stroke?

42. But David isn’t this all in the name of politics????

If these people can take the last cent off of a dead man’s eye ……. they would. (sigh)!

43. Perhaps both parties need highly competent physicians so that they are able to correctly assess medical rumours.

Calling Dr. So & So to the DLP camp.

Callinf Dr. So & So to the BLP camp.

44. Charlie; getting back to trying to respond to the remaining points raised in your earlier submission;

You said “Why did you mention Clyde Mascoll with the DLP? He left from being opposition leader one day and was a minister in the BLP the next (the first in the history with the west minister parliamentary system in the world). The DLP went on to win without him easily”.

I mentioned Clyde Mascoll in that recent history seems to be showing what might be the beginning of a trend with Hammie La shifting from the DLP to the BLP and back again and that it has been widely rumoured that there might be moves afoot to welcome Clyde Mascoll back into the fold of the DLP. Your statement that the DLP went on to win easily without him, is really immaterial to the current discussion on experience and intellectual capacity.

You said “What has Clyde Mascoll(‘s) intellectual and experiential capacity done for the improvement of Barbados? What is his experience?” I have absolutely no idea of what Mascoll did for the improvement of Barbados but I am willing to bet that it was fairly substantial and must have been demonstrated in the last BLP Cabinet otherwise Arthur’s elevating him ostensibly to 2nd in command in that cabinet would have been more vociferously and publicly opposed by the persons overlooked. Re. his experience, I think I dealt with that generally in my earlier post.

You said; “If you can say that some persons in the BLP gained experience which taught them how to get away with certain behaviour then I could agree. Like Glyne Clarke getting land to build a house that was not for persons like him.”

I was not saying what you have alluded to above but, for argument’s sake, let us assume that experience can include the good and the bad. There is chatter on the grapevine that a number of the current stock of DLP Ministers have been learning rapidly to the extent that they might well have surpassed, in half of a term, the efforts of like minded BLP ministers over 3 terms.

You said; “In an effort to discredit persons like Chris Sinkler and Michael Lashley you resort to this lack of experience talk when they are showing Barbados that they can and are doing a better job than all of those persons that you keep saying have so much experience.”

Its early days yet but let us separate the two gentlemen you mentioned. I have already said that I hold Chris Sinckler in very high regard. I do not feel the same way about Michael Lashley who signally failed to impress me and others when he commented on the Al Barrack affair in a most thoughtless manner. I also think the jury is still out about the documented apparent infelicities highlighted by Mia Mottley re. Ministry of Housing contracts on his watch.

45. To J,perhaps we need to discuss such issues as adultery, et al
    We have always had these double standards in society and then we wonder why the young people are the way they are. You have leaders committing adultery while in office having a child while married and then seek to take a moral high ground about someone’s lifestyle. Apparently he can’t throw the first stone because he is full of sin. We do not condone neither behavior and certainly not changing water zones to accomodate big business.