Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson
Prime Minister Hon David Thompson
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

It is no secret BU disagrees with Peter Wickham’s position on how Barbados should manage immigration.  It comes therefore as no surprise the CADRES poll registered that Barbadians has a healthy concern regarding matters of immigration and support Prime Minister Thompson’s approach so far to arresting the problem.

The second issue which will command heavy discussion are the numbers which gives Prime Minister David Thompson a passing grade when compared to leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. What is intriguing is the dominant support which former Prime Minister Owen Arthur still has at the national and within the Barbados Labour Party.

The outcome of the CADRES poll comes as no surprise to BU and validates many of our blogs on the issues. Of course employment and the high cost of living become high priority items for Bajans for two reasons, a) the DLP made campaign promises to respond to these two issues b) the prevailing global economic conditions which has negatively impacted Barbados’ own performance.

Here are the links to the documents for the BU family to form its conclusions.

1. Hartley’s Indistretion
    At the end of the day, it is the swing voters that would make the decission. Once bitten twice shy, the level thinking bajan isn’t stupid.

2. @ BAFBFP …and maybe one day you would be mature enough to recognize that having an opinion does not constitute one to be an idiot!

Question to all who may know…In the last two budgets the PM spoke a of VAT refund for persons building houses under a certain value but up to this day the VAT office can not advise on how to go about claiming this refund can anyone who may know what is happening advise on this issue?

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

As you would expect Roxanne Gibbs made sure that Starbroek News had their allegation of abuse so that it could be printed in that newspaper today.

Of course the idea is to smear prime minister thompson and in the process msear Barbados.

Look for it in all the one caribbean newspapers;Jamaican observer,Trinidad express Starbroek etc

Listen out for ricky singh too.

Again I repeat the government should start pulling their advertising dollars.

Spend wisely – use in-house organisations like CBC so the money stays in the government pot and does not go to Trinidad One Caribbean headquarters.

4. If someone does not understand something or somebody, then I suggest that it is much better to say nothing than to spread a falsehood. (As Mrs. Palin said, “Stop making things up”).

Each person has his tolerance for provocation.

LIB, you must make up your mind. If you blog, write, go on call-in programmes and promote your high intelligence and all the other Bacchus-like indulgences that titivate you, then you are fair game for anything: criticism, praise, lies, slander etc.

Get with it. No one has done a smear campaign against you. And don’t pray for one.

They just find you obnoxiously arrogant (with little to be arrogant about) and their anger at your brazen emptiness is showing!

I suppose the PM could have said the same thing you are saying when you confirmed Sylvan Greenidge’s nasty diatribe and then went on to say that you have heard certain things about our PM.

Now that someone has “heard” something about you and spreading it, you vex. The shoe getting tight as shite!

I feel sorry for you, son! But you made your own bed…

5. Verita, you need read carefully, man. mash up made a clear allegation and claim. LIB said it not true, please remove. Nothing done.

LIB said about Thompy story that he ‘heard’ similar. He not make any allegation. We all hear things. In court that hearsay and not admissable usually. LIB never repeat no details or say more.

Dont fall for your own bad reasoning.

What you and mash should do is read more and think more. Look how many post LIB write. You think he care about seeing himself in print here?

6. Mash Up claim that from reading LIB he draw blah blah. He read all the posts? or just a few? Nearly 800 over 3 years.? Even when BLP in power? Mash joking or he honestly only read a few? Step up and say Mash. You can say what you want no one can deny.

7. I know LIB, so say what you like. Read his other blog, http://caribbeancomment.wordpress.com/. That sound like envy? You read someone who crave to be on BU? Get real. You read his letter about CBC coverage in Advocate last Friday? You read his pieces in the Nation? Oh. He cross the road again and again.

8. Veritas, you suggested that LIB is fair game for lies and slander. I am interested to know whether you would be as unsympathetic to LIB’s situation if your name was being scandalized on a blog. The truth is that gossip and rumormongering have always been problems in Barbados because of its size. However the bajan blogosphere has made things so much worse. We bloggers hide behind the bulwark of anonimity and tell the world that person A is a pervert or that person B is a racist. It seems that once our reputation is intact it doesn’t matter what happens to the reputation of others.

9. Patricia Nandwani Avatar
    Patricia Nandwani

ANOTHER VERY SERIOUS DLP THREAT

Here is another very serious DLP threat, this time from the Prime Minister and not his principle Political Advisor. It is obvious that Prime Minister Thompson is referring to Rickey Singh who is an indo-Guyanese:

“By the same token, I think this is as good an occasion as any to make clear to some in our country that the tolerance and patience of this government and country is growing thin with those who persist in unreasonably bad-mouthing and proffering Barbadians as anything other than the friendly, hospitable and reasonable people that they are. Barbados is a democracy.

We invite and encourage criticism, debate and discussion on topical issues. But I note the constant misrepresentations of a few, particularly one writer, to whom this country has extended a welcoming arm and embrace.

I want to say here and now that as Prime Minister of this country I have had as much as I am willing to take as far as the unfair and unwarranted maligning of Barbados and Barbadians by those to whom we have extended a welcoming hand is concerned.

There is precedence for dealing with such ingratitude. I am saying today ‘enough is enough’!”

This extremely serious threat by Prime Minister Thompson was made less than twenty-four hours after that made by his Principle Political Advisor Hartley Henry to the Sunday Editor at the Barbados Nation Newspaper.

And – the DLP’s rule of terror continues but according to Peter Wickham and the DLP Poll, Bajan are happy with this type of behaviour and with the DLP!

10. so what if rickey singh get kick out of barbados. as a bajan, i would be glad. most bajans would be glad too. he is an ungrateful man. badmouthing barbados when this country take him in when he was a refugee running all over the place. tell he go back to guyana and support jagdeo.

11. I too found the PM’s statement surprising. When and where did Rickey Singh malign Barbados? Thompson’s and Henry’s recent words show that the DLP is running scared of the Press. But why? The people are on their side, as the polls show.

12. patricia nandwani. who are you? your name aint a bajan. you are a guyanese? you run from jagdeo? you come into this country and want to tell us bajans what to do. u ready to curse us too in our country. we run our affairs. you cant tell jagdeo what to do but want to tell us what to do. dont run your mouth in our business. it is none of your business. mind your business.

13. @Patricia Nandwani
    “the DLP’s rule of terror ”

Not hard to spot die-hards at all.

14. @Themis
    “When and where did Rickey Singh malign Barbados?”

You of all people should know better. I can think of the Editor of the Nation Newspaper that Bajans who been complaining has done a great disservice to this nation and continues to do it. Why you hung up on Rickey Singh? Call all the names that many have identified as maligning Barbados, not just one. Actually, I thought he was speaking about one LIB.

15. Themis

Looks like you fell into a trap, your repeating of a name that was mentioned by “Nandwani” but not mentioned by Thompson lend credence to the post.

See how easy one can fall for a statement on the blog?

16. LIB, you don’t have to write about yourself in the third person under so many names. We know already the brilliance, qualifications, food you eat, articles you write, who you worked for, where you children go to school, that you can coach a thousand sports etc blah, blah, blah, on and on and on ad nauseam. Good.

Now to the point.

I am saying anybody is fair game in this environment. But I am also saying that LIB did not demonstrate any passion for being indignant should the Lazslo letter about Hartley be untrue.

Go and read him. He relished it. And whetted our appetite (if you have one like his) for more innuendo about others including politicians as told at tennis, on the beach etc. blah, blah, blah.

I have no sympathy. And I’m sorry that the Work Permit was delayed!

17. How can veritas can identify someone posting under different names? Or is that with no proof? If veritas knows where is he getting this information and why?

18. This is why in defamation law you do not have to mention a person by name to refer to them. Who else fits the pointers f given by the PM? “…writer” “to whom we have extended a welcoming hand and embrace…” ” precedence (sc. precedent) for dealing with such ingratitude…Tell me, who else?

19. If you followed the exchange on Hartley Henry under the microscope, LIB made two points that showed he discounted the story about Ms.Laszlo: Look at, first,

livinginbarbados // August 16, 2009 at 12:36 PM
    To draw my thinking to a logical conclusion. I find it mighty strange that David Thompson would say what he did about Kerrie Symmonds and have Hartley Henry as a close advisor, if the allegations against Mr. Henry are true. It would seem like a shot that is aimed right at his own foot. So, assuming that the PM has no intention of doing that, where do we go? I say, give us the real story, if there is one. If I am proved wrong then Mr. Hartley will presumably be another ‘political personage’ who will be appearing in a court.

And then,

livinginbarbados // August 16, 2009 at 2:54 PM
    @AH
    At the risk of saying that you are holding the wrong end of the stick–dare I suggest a deliberate misreading? My argument is that the ‘evidence’ suggests that the claims against Mr. Hartley are baseless. If that were proved in court to be otherwise, I would go with what the law says.

Seems like he give the story no credence but left judgement to the courts.

Why would indignation be needed if the courts found the letter and allegation was bogus?

20. What are the Police going to investigate? According to the Nation Henry is quoted as saying “I will turn Barbados against you” no threats of violence or physical harm. The Nation is within its rights to report the matter to any Press or International agency it wants, but to the Police? That’s another matter.

In another part of the Press Thompson said that three other people including a Minister and a Nation Reporter were present during the phone call, I wonder what the Reporter will say if the Police interviews him.

There may be several articles that define the Nation’s relationship with the PM and the DLP but none more than this.

The plot thickens aiii,aiii,aiiiii

http://archive.nationnews.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2008/January/20/Politics/52083.xml&start=0&numPer=20&keyword=albert+brandford&sectionSearch=&begindate=1%2F1%2F2008&enddate=1%2F31%2F2008&authorSearch=&IncludeStories=1&pubsection=&page=&IncludePages=1&IncludeImages=1&mode=allwords&archive_pubname=Daily+Nation%09%
    09%09

21. Online search under barbados and press freedom gives interesting results. One is Mass media and the Caribbean By Stuart H. Surlin, Walter C. Soderlund,ttp://books.google.com/books?id=Jzyf1kaLihkC&pg=PA64&lpg=PA64&dq=barbados+press+freedom&source=bl&ots=UEtAMUcZDY&sig=JawX1qXOgM8J22B3RzuqbkDQaU4&hl=en#v=onepage&q=barbados%20press%20freedom&f=false.

Some may say it is out of date but the weekend alleged events would sit within the view assessed in the early 1990s.

Other books or studies might have been done. Does UWI look at such issues?

22. LIB, don’t be so selective. If you have posted 800 times in a few years it means you are probably talking too much. You can’t remember what you said! You should do less writing and more thinking.

Sargeant, you are on the ball as usual. Albert Branford was not a guest writer. He was an Associate Editor. That may mean that he was taking the official position of the Nation.

There is more though: in 1986 when the DLP won and there were 3 Opposition Members the Nation said they would be the official opposition to the DLP due to the depleted numbers in the House.

In 1999, when the DLP won only 2 seats? Not a single word!!!

One thing I agree with though. We need some more scrutiny. This time we need to scrutinise the press.

It might reveal a strange connection between Carol Martindale and Mia Mottley. Dig a bit deeper! The truth never dies. Politics makes strange bedfellows!!!

Things are always swept under the carpet here. Roxanne Gibbs daughter licked down and killed someone: silence. If it was my son, God bless him, he would be on the Nation’s front page.

David Thompson needs to stand up to them and I read what he said and, as the saying goes, there are always two sides to a story.

23. I agreed with Prime Minister David Thompson in stating that Barbadians patience is growing thin with the statements from Rickey Singh.

Ricky Singh should be put out of Barbados along with musty Norman Faria and stinking Sir Shridath Ramphal. Patricia Nandwani if she is not Barbadian should also be on that list.

Prime Minister David Thompson the vast majority of Barbadians are supporting your immigration programme.The time has long passed for decisive action to be taken on the above mentioned people.

Get out all the Indo-Guyanese scums who will reduce Black Barbados to the depths of despair that Guyana is today.

Get out all the Indo-Guyanese scums now.

24. @Themis
    “Who else fits the pointers f given by the PM? “…writer” “to whom we have extended a welcoming hand and embrace…” ” precedence (sc. precedent) for dealing with such ingratitude…Tell me, who else?”

You think you real smart. You providing the innuendo and placing it on Thompson. I think Thompson smarter than you and that you have an agenda here. I know you will deny it but your innuendo has given you away.

I think that in my humble opinion, when I think of the damage that the Nation Newspaper has done parading as a national newspaper, makes Ricky Singh look like a cherry in a pile of raisins. Tek that!

25. I do not understand what you are getting at, ROK. Those words are not mine, they are Thompson’s. And Thompson is not smarter than me.

26. Themis: I think he is though.

That’s why you are engaging in this debate. He said enough but not all. And you are working hard to make us hear and see what he didn’t say. Thompson must be a master of the spoken word!

Or Themis has a lot of time on his/her hands to prove how smart he/she isn’t.

27. @Themis
    and exactly where did Thompson mentioned Ricky Singh’s name? Did I miss something? You are the one pinning his words to Ricky Singh when in truth and in fact he could have been referring to several people.

I know man, you think you smart but you clearly have an agenda. Check your insistence and persistence.

28. Why do I have to have an agenda? And you don’t have one, I suppose? It is not necessary to refer to someone by name to defame them- see Jordan v. Barbados Advocate-

You still have not told me who else the description fits…

29. @ Veritas

Is there one between the PM and Carol Martindale as well?

30. @Themis

I not getting into any tussle with you. You smart? Well read what I wrote.

Yes, I have an agenda and a political one at that but not party political. Mine is a people’s agenda.

31. @Themis

Read Veritas too. What happened you did not get those posts? Deny that Thompson’s words could not be applied to several people.

32. You are claiming that they could. Could you at least give me the name or initials of ONE such person?

33. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Is that Living in Barbados posting under those different names;Brightman,Anonymous lol.

He is giving himself away by the details he is giving.

I said that LIB will not be able to stay away from BU and it look like I got it right.

34. MUBB, you need to clean off that crystal ball of yours, it dusty and cracked.

35. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy

anonjam // August 24, 2009 at 8:36 AM

Veritas, you suggested that LIB is fair game for lies and slander.
    ————————————————
    Who has a birth cirtificate with the given name LIB on it? When I done somebody gine regret living in Barbados. The State of Virginia public records should make for interesting reading

36. “Making a mountain out of a mole hill”
    My take on this HH situation with Nation whoever- she -is.
    I see nothing wrong with what he said. Threat my ass? He just was asking for ‘fair -play’.
    All dat was said was he would expose she and she gettin on pissy. Get a life, wunna klowns.
    I looking fa sumting mo dramatic an when I read dis nonsense, all i cud do is:
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    I dun wid de f*^king nation as of now.
    Dem rastwhole wings want clipping.
    Cadres results gih a lot a dem de ‘belly’.

Bias as shyte.

37. Mash Up & Buy Back
    I agreed with you that the the government should pull all its advertising from the Nation Newspaper.

The average monthly cost of governments advertisements is about BD$40,00.00.The Nation Nespaper depends heavily on advertisement from government to sustain itself.The Nation Newspapers recieves more advertisements than the Advocate Newspaper.

Boycott of the Nation Newspaper is a must to save Barbados.

Carol Martindale,Roxanne Gibbs,David Ellis and the rest of the Nation & VOB management teams must fel the wrath of Barbadians.

Boycott of Nation Nespaper & Vob now

38. Is Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy // August 24, 2009 at 5:05 PM saying that Virginia public records are going to show something terrible about somebody? Does anybody else think that sound silly? Like Solomon Gundy…Man born on Monday, married on Tuesday, sick on Wednesday, died on Friday…That’s the story? Or is it that Man marry horse or something? Tell, no man. The public know already, brother. PUBLIC RECORD….Means…NO SECRET…

But if its public already what will be news? You find out? You ever try to sell a newspaper by reporting what people know already? You think the editor wont wonder why he hired you?

Find any nice items in Massachussetts you would like some of us to look into for you? Adrian Hinds…IRS…You told some of the story already…

We read too Adrian. Read well.

39. @Negroman

“The average monthly cost of governments advertisements is about BD$40,00.00.The Nation Nespaper depends heavily on advertisement from government to sustain itself.”

These are the same people that refuse to print hard facts about C&W obviously because they don’t want to offend and lose their contracts with C&W that holding the whole of Barbados to ransom, but would print a non-story to get public sympathy and try make the government look bad.

At $40,000.00 a month? I agree with you. How could some foolish remark to Carol Martindale be more important than trying to save the whole of Barbados from the inflated rates of C&W at a time when all Barbadians are reeling at high prices and cost of living which the results of the poll have borne out?

To my mind the news value of that story is zero compared to what C&W has done and is doing; added to the burden of high prices and cost of living; plus they laying off Bajans and moving their operations elsewhere?

“Boycott of Nation Newspaper & VOB now”. They don’t do us any favours.

40. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

publicly available records cannot mean that the public already knows the contents thereof or cares to know. I have nothing to hide, and have no image to project and or to protect. Lets go for it. You disclose my shortcommings and I do the same for LIB and lets see which get the most attention.

41. Adrian Hinds: You is a man or a little boy?

42. Negroman,
    Dah doan want nutton wid you. You is keep it real and serious like a heart attack.
    De Nation want ‘dunnin’ up. I dun up VOB evva since.
    Guvment should ‘pull-out’ fa tru an doan leh dem breed na mo. ‘Pull-out’.

43. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy // August 24, 2009 at 4:51 PM tell the BU family on the open letter, “It is time for me to begin weening people off of BU and begin to position the next forum to take over” But now he is is on a quest of US public records to discredit LIB.

So, he will dump that on BU then run away. Nice. Family friendly style.

Let’s look a little closer at some recent antics. Adrienne changes his name to ‘Tall Boy’ and then posted a link to a man boobs website. Is he trying to turn BU into something else. I checked the content and got a message “Prohibited”. That means what? This is Barbados, people.

Adrian gone from BU with what left behind?

44. Whether Adrian is a man or a boy ain’t got nutton to do wid you, ya rat-catcha.
    Do like Robin Hood an’ go an’ play wid ya likkle blue balls.
    Adrian smarter dan you by leaps n’ bounds.
    “Buse’ me now, I waitin.

When I visited this same site, I wasn’t prohibited. It was about how men can rid themselves of unwanted boobs or fat by exercising. I might be wrong.

If there’s such a xxx site, gimme a holla Adrian.
    Ya nevva too ol’ ta learn.

45. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar

BP I aint paying these jokers any mind. Mangoose just vex wid me becausse he pee pee has not grown since he turn 13. I don’t know what point um is de Flying fish fella mekking. The site about manboobs is a legitimate website concern with a legitimate issue that some men face.

46. Scout wrote “That is why I’m disappointed with Henry for falling into their trap”

Hartley’s Indescretion wrote “I’m surprised that Hartley got carried away like that and fell into a trap”

Gentlemen, gentlemen, gentlemen, don’t be silly.

Nobody set a trap for Hartley.

Nobody trapped him into picking up his telephone.

Nobody trapped him into opening his mouth.

There was no trap set.

Mr Henry was hoist on his own petard.

Nobody can be blamed (or praised) for Mr. Henry’s behavior but Mr. Henry himself.

He and only he controls his mouth.

47. boycott the nation. stop buying it. it is a poor ass paper. nothing serious to educate people. it belongs to the trinis. it bring in a clown from trinidad to insult bajans with the shit he writing. the nation put money before people. punish dem rass by boycotting them.

48. @Bonny Peppa // August 24, 2009 at 7:57 PM

“Do like Robin Hood an’ go an’ play wid ya likkle blue balls.”

Hi, hunny, u seem to be missing de “ole man”, RH. Don’t worry I still hey! But last time I checked they weren’t “likkle” and they weren’t blue. They might have welcomed a “licking” if u would like to oblige! LOL,LOL.

49. Negroman wrote “Boycott of the Nation Newspaper is a must to save Barbados.”

Save Barbados from what Negroman?

50. Robin,
    I doan lick ‘moth-balls’. Too tiny.LOL LOL.
    Since when Robin had int’rest in de opposite sex? Could fool some a de people some a de time…………
    Call you frien de rat-ketcha Mongoose to ably assist you, fa ol time sake and give ya hand/wrist a rest.

J,
    I would like to know how it can be determined that it was HH if it was a telephone conversation? Anybody could got access to a phone and call anybody. It would be fa dem ta prove it is he. How easy is that? Just curious.