Prime Minister of Barbados Hon David Thompson
Prime Minister Hon David Thompson
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

It is no secret BU disagrees with Peter Wickham’s position on how Barbados should manage immigration.  It comes therefore as no surprise the CADRES poll registered that Barbadians has a healthy concern regarding matters of immigration and support Prime Minister Thompson’s approach so far to arresting the problem.

The second issue which will command heavy discussion are the numbers which gives Prime Minister David Thompson a passing grade when compared to leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. What is intriguing is the dominant support which former Prime Minister Owen Arthur still has at the national and within the Barbados Labour Party.

The outcome of the CADRES poll comes as no surprise to BU and validates many of our blogs on the issues. Of course employment and the high cost of living become high priority items for Bajans for two reasons, a) the DLP made campaign promises to respond to these two issues b) the prevailing global economic conditions which has negatively impacted Barbados’ own performance.

Here are the links to the documents for the BU family to form its conclusions.

1. Sarge,

I too wondered about why the police were called in. There was no threat of physical violence and a threat to expose the truth about someone is not a criminal offence!

2. David

Seeing H Henry submits his articles to you for publishing, will he also submit his version of events ? Or is the matter now to be considered sub judice?

3. Here is a question for Roxanne Gibbs who should be fired over yet another unprofessional handling of a matter. HH is not a Minister in government, he is a paid consultant, in her position would it not have made sense to seek an audience with the Prime Minister? Our advice to the government is to yank all government advertising from the Nation for 60 days.

4. Some good will come of this though. It’s about time we heard the very interesting (hi)story on the editor in question.

5. David, doing as you suggest would give this issue more prominence than it deserves.

If people were not going to buy the paper, just to read the poll, which did not contain anything not already known to the average Bajan, they would on seeing the front page.
    After reading many will say, what the?

The Nation has to sell papers and now depend on advertising more than ever, to shore up revenue on slow news days, which are becoming more frequent.

I say let it slide.

6. @David, I do not understand your assessment of what I said as “hypnotising”. Henry has to realise that he is perceived as representing the PM and that he is seen to be an easy avenue for attack by the BLP and its cohorts . Caution should have been his watchword. At best, he was guilty of an error of judgment. Do you disagree?

7. @Themis

That word ‘hypnotising’ should have been ‘hypothesizing’, since corrected.

8. Ok, David, but you do see my point? HH was careless in his actions.

9. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

What good would seeking an audience with the PM do? We the public need to know what is going on. The nation was correct in what it did. All praise to them.

I stopped buying the Advocate over a year ago when it became the dlp propaganda machine that it is.

PM speak to us on the matter.

10. I just tell Peter that BU people think that he is unprofessional because he is a self professed D.

11. David

Our advice to the government is to yank all government advertising from the Nation for 60 days
    You’re speaking like a DLP partisan. I don’t want the Gov’t to use its economic might against the media or any organisation. If the DLP wants to pull its advertising that’s fine but I don’t want this Gov’t or any other Gov’t in B’dos to be interfering with the media in this manner.

It’s a slippery slope when this kind of mentality starts to develop if the ‘pulling of the ads “ don’t work what then?

12. If Peter Wickhan can be so bold as to return to BU to answer a couple of questions regarding the poll, BU family would be appreciative.

How is it that in Table 02A 52% of Barbadians believe government should focus on Housing and 15% suggest it should be Improved Water Resource Management which lags in second.

Is it simplistic to believe the two should be very closely correlated?

13. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/MUBB
    It is now nearly 4 hours since MUBB made a certain allegation. I have yet to see substantiation. I ask, therefore, that the allegation be removed forthwith, as I know it to be untrue.

If someone does not understand something or somebody, then I suggest that it is much better to say nothing than to spread a falsehood. (As Mrs. Palin said, “Stop making things up”).

Each person has his tolerance for provocation.

I will check back shortly ahead of my leaving to watch track.

If there is substantiation, I would be grateful if I could see it and whatever source is purported be confirmed. I for one do not like surprises, least of all if I am supposed to be doing something for someone, and am hearing it for the first time.

14. The CADRES poll lacks credibility for two reasons. Firstly, Peter Wickham himself said that his role as a political strategist is to ensure the DLP stays in power. How then can one expect an unbiased poll that isn’t skewed by Mr. Wickham’s political affiliation with the current administration?

Secondly from a mathematical perspective the poll’s conclusions are questionable. Since it is not feasible to interview the entire voting population of Barbados, data was gathered from a small sample of individuals. The results from this small sample size was then used to make inferences about the entire ensemble (population). However, statistically speaking, this type of inference is not justified as the process and other social processes are known to be non-ergodic.

15. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I am waiting for BU to expose those bunch of peverts and hypocrites down there at the Nation.

Other than the one BLP yardfowl posting as Donald duck and Johhny too bad etc – the Nation will find that the barbadian public and many right-thinking persons on this site have no sympathy for them.

Enquiring minds want to know – if carol martindale had a ‘special’ relationship with Mia?

Would this be an attempt by the Nation newspaper to not highlight the poll findings that Owen is preferred by the BLP supporters over Mia?

Also is Roxanne gibbs a ‘close friend’ of Mia?

Could someone tell us about the stories that are perceived as negative about the blp that are ‘supressed – shut down by roxanne gibbs and others in the Nation hierachy?

The poop is about to hit the fan and I hope those in the know,start posting their information on this blog and to David in private.

Expose those at the Nation.

16. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Living In Barbados

I came to a conclusion after reading a number of your postings.

You come to all sorts of conclusion here on this site every day.

What is there to withdraw?

17. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David/MUBB
    2nd time of calling.

I do not know if either of you play bridge and what it means to play a finesse. If not, maybe get someone to interpret the following. I play ACOL, with no extensions.

I am looking at my cards and there is a picture card that I know is out there and I may need to see if it will come out. I did not want to try the finesse so early but maybe better to get it done and then play the other cards to secure my contract. As it’s a no trumps contract, I am not looking for my natural cards to be overtaken by trump cards.

18. @Sargeant
    You seem not to be aware the tentacles of government and politicians already reach deep into the Forth Estate in Barbados. What we are suggesting is not ideal but how long is too long when it is not working in the interest of the people? The sad thing is many Barbadians like the proverbial sheep in a herd being directed by a shepherd knows not what is happening.

19. @ LIB…..

You just cant help yourself huh?

After that spat with ROK…Here you are getting into it now with MUBB.
    You must understand that this is a blog, what proof what?

This place is filled with opinions and all kinds of name calling, get over it!!
    Have you read any of the comments from Americans about the Jamaican athletes on other blogs?…where is their proof?
    Even BFP accused me of making threats to Adrian Loveridge and his wife and of being a DLP hack….funny thing is I have never voted in my life!!
    AL could have cleared that up as he knows me personally but he didn’t…..you think I let that bother me…stop being so thin skinned and roll with the punches….time to get rid of the stiff upper lip man and just live and enjoy…or forget BU altogether (easier said than done).

20. @LIB

We don’t play bridge, we play hearts which is a game of the masses, please explain in terms lay people can understand?

Are you threatening BU?

An allegation was made and you responded by saying it is not true, the hurly burly of debate in BU would normally be satisfied with such a position.

Are you intimating to take this matter further? Can we see fellow blogger Living in Barbados sues BU for defamation? Please lay your cards on the table, in the process you (LIB) will again be the centre of discussion but we will make the exception in this case.

21. For all those who don’t understand the point David is making about withrawing advertising.

Ask yourself which is worse,government withdrawing advertising as a sign of protest for the tagetted hostile attitude and attack on government or censorship and the supression of evidence depending on what it reveals.

Note we are not talking about constructive criticism,but about taking a side on behalf of one party in an attempt to bring down the other party;this in a country where this company, One Caribbean Media, owns the largest newspaper and a number of radio stations.

There is a high degree of censorship exercised where letters to the Editor are not published depending on the slant of the letter,where columnists who write negative things about Barbados are allowed to print their negative bashing of barbados without a counter perspective being allowed by the newspaper.

This organisation is not coming with clean hands,and the maxim states he who comes for justice must come with clean hands.

22. @ LIB….

See the shite you does go and do?

What play bridge what?

Say what ya mean in layman terms and get it out.
    It is this dick waving, chest beating arrogant attitude that just rubs me the wrong way about you.
    Man we know you intelligent,well spoken and does rub shoulders with de big wigs in society……but we dont care!!…on this blog all we want are ordinary, simple and humble responses. You cant/shouldnt be telling David how to run his blog…make yours exciting and you will get the hits….you sound like the little boy about to take up his bat and ball….go right ahead!!

23. David // August 23, 2009 at 11:29 AM

@LIB

We don’t play bridge, we play hearts which is a game of the masses, please explain in terms lay people can understand?

I rest my case!!

24. LIB

I am looking at my cards and there is a picture card that I know is out there and I may need to see if it will come out. I did not want to try the finesse so early but maybe better to get it done and then play the other cards to secure my contract. As it’s a no trumps contract, I am not looking for my natural cards to be overtaken by trump cards
    I don’t play cards so forgive me if I don’t understand the cryptic message, but in the card player’s parlance don’t hold your cards up your sleeve or close to your chest lay them out for all to see. The truth will win out

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

It is not about defamation but about exposure, perhaps. Anonymity has clear limits. But as you wish. I will not continue it here. I have other places to go. Need to deal with my own blog and some athletics. The cards wont change.

Track coverage is delayed till 2pm so that gives all a bit more time for reflection. I never threaten.

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

Track coverage is delayed till 2pm so that gives all a bit more time for reflection. I never threaten.

27. Anonymous

One Caribbean Media, owns the largest newspaper and a number of radio stations.
    That is an excellent point; the concentration of media ownership tends to stifle the expression of opinion when that opinion is against the interests of that ownership. I have wondered why the dissenting voices seemed to be muzzled against the Immigration issue and wondered whether One Caribbean Media was concerned about the effect of adverse criticism in Barbados on the Guyana portion of their portfolio.

Think of what can happen if they also get a TV license

28. Such double standards. LIB says the claim is not true and MUBB knows it but bluff around. Why not just do as politely asked? An offer was made yesterday to remove an offending comment. If there is substance make the fire show and lose the smoke. I just Googled finesse. I think I get the idea.

29. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant, I have read several mixed messages from David about wanting truth. He has teased with a story to come. I am not teasing. I do not rely on Internet search to corroborate. I double check and ask real people. Anyway, looks like we are at 3rd call. Is it strike out or curtain up? No more track. Off to lunch. Looking forward to seeing whether men who say they are principled really are.

30. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Ladies and gentlemen

Why don’t we stick to the issues.

If the government has done such a wonderful job then tell us what they have done and let us all be the judges.

31. @LIB

If BU is not a credible place to be based on your above, you are welcome to leave.

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David, leaving is a good idea and I accept. I notice that OFF topic matters only if you don’t like it. MUBB’s claim is very off topic. I do have my own blog after all. I can happily work in peace there. As people often ask, “Why not take an offer when it is first made?” Hope MUBB is worth it to you. Happy blogging. I have an plane to catch.

33. What a bunch of sore losers. When de polls had we ‘skinnin cuffins’, dese yard fowls and frogs in had na problem wid de polls.
    Look tek wunna leada advice and;
    ‘Learn ta tek a horn’ nah. Sus Croisssss.

Mash up & buy back , Technician,
    Good as usual.
    I in read de Nation yet but from what I gather here, it’ merely nothing more than a storm in a teacup.

Donald Esq.
    I know how disappointed you must feel, but don’t despair, mummy dearest, it is what it is.

President,
    Wha happen? Ya very quiet today. De cat got ya tongue? Come, I ready fa ya ass today. No expletives though, I don’t use dem on dis Holy day. But come test me tamorr and you gun kno’ who God ya serving.
    And yes, i had a baff.
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

34. Tech,
    Wha you wasting your time wid dat pussee-hole LIB for? He luv de attention you don’t know? Show off shyte.

stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

35. The Nation gave the BLP government absolute hell. Stories about the Airport, QEH, there was the whole “song and dance” about Harold Hoyte not singing in the Choir, there was the issue of the opinion poll that was conducted on the grounds of the George Street DLP headquarters.

Now this paper is a BLP stooge?

It is scary to hear many of the same “champions of press freedom” who prior to the elections were most vocal, now saying that they think the government should pull all advertising from the Nation. This is DISGUSTING.

36. Flying Fish
    Why you don’t go back down in de Trini waters and swim bout? we got more dan we fair share at BU, so dont’ come telling we how to ran tings.
    All de rambling bout smoke and fire and all sorts a shyte. stuupseeeeeeeeee.

37. While I’m a supporter of the ruling DLP government, I think the poll was just a waste of time. How much credibility can one attach to a poll organised by a ruling party by a creature of that same party as the pollster? Peter Wickham came back to promentence at CBC because of the change of government, he has been used to champion the DLP cause on the ” people’s business” programme on Sunday night. I see nothing wrong with that but now to put him to tell me what Barbados think about the DLP regime is going a little too far. Everyone knows that had he not produce a favorable report, like the other party did, he would need a job. However, I am still happy by the work done by this party so far, i just hope P.M Thompson starts shaking off some of the parasites off his coat-tail before if begind to rip apart.

38. @mash up

Consider telling LIB he is correct and your suggestion was not fact-based, in return LIB should consider a sabbatical from BU. BU has neither the resources or the inclination to encourage peace pipe smoking every day!. While he maybe correct in some of his positions, given his obvious recent threat to David/BU and stated position that BU relies on Internet searched for corroboration, another assumption on his part, he should do the honourable thing. Such comments will certainly will not endear him to the BU family and consequently his continuation will only serve to be a disruptive force.

Sometimes with the best will in the world things don’t always work out.

39. I just heard that Hartley Henry is in some trouble with the law with some threats he made to somebody. Can some-one throw some light on the matter? I think he’s one of those that the P.M will have to divorce himself from in preparation for the next elections. He has done his job, now he is becoming an embarrassment, he must be cut off, this is the harsh reality of politics

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@David, you should know better than to try ‘suggest’. Again, I do not threaten and have not threatened. I said what I cite as fact is based on real things all can see and those who disagree can check. There are real people and institutions behind websites. I think that is really the last clarification. One exercise is to review what I have written and see how little is not corroborated.

41. @LIB

Understand this, the BU household don’t have the time for this, do what you have to, we are done.

42. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Why can’t the DLP supporters tell us what the dlp has done for the economy since jan 16, 2008

43. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I can’t believe you are telling me to go against my conscience and tell LIB he is correct.

Remember the point I made was that I felt after reading LIB numerous posts,that LIB was pro BLP and he was anti -gov’t.

What rubbish I am hearing about retracting my view?

Is MUBB the pawn in some bigger game?

You mean I can’t come to a conclusion based on his blogging?

Who the hell Living in Barbados is that he thinks he can come here and threaten us?

I don’t know what all that code language is about finesse and cards etc,or what your relationship to LIB is,but I believe this man is playing off the deferential treatment given to him by this blog admionistrator.

Big Steupse.

44. Party politics or no party politics the behaviour displayed by Hartley Henry is WRONG. As one who is close to the Prime Minister he should not be issuing threats to anybody.
    There are other ways to deal with what he perceives are problems in reporting stories about his party, whether he was previously a work colleague with the editor or not.
    This could be the thin edge of the wedge.

45. @mash up

BU has no relationship to what you implied, none!

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Thank you David.

I done with that!

47. @ LIB
    Can’t you take a HINT!?? Bug off!!!

@ Donald Duck Esq
    Why don’t you tell us what the DLP should have done for the economy since Jan 16 2008?
    Obviously you have the answer and no one else seems to know..
    – Also tell us which Government anywhere has done well in the current global environment.

@ Bonny Peppa
    …yah too sweet fuh tru’

48. I had a quick read of the results of the poll and noticed that Barbadians care little about corruption and integrity.

The politicians can therefore carry on smartly. Only BU and BFP seem concerned about such matters. People want housing, jobs, roads etc.

If money is wasted or stolen it does not seem to matter, even when that same money could be used for housing, etc.

I am at a loss to understand why Barbadians cannot see corruption as an important issue

49. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Bush tea

No no, I asked you first to tell us all what the government has done for the economy? It is the government’s record we are commenting on. Don’t change the question.

50. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Remember this,

The Physical Development plan 2003 was formulated on the basis that there will be 45,000 acres in agriculture. PM Thompson signed off on it. However in the DLP throne speech, there was mention of 30,000 acres being kept in agriculture!!!

No one can explain the difference to date??? Are we to believe what the dlp says???