naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. CHA is not a one man org. Earl is only one person. Its members have friends who have been supporting them over the years and will continue to support the org, no matter what. The attendance may have been quite different had it been a NABO dance that was not being held in Boston.

Earl and Mikeโ€™s beef with NABO should be dealt with separately, and CHA should not be tarnish for their leaderโ€™s wrong doing in another association.

2. @Sapidillo

Have you ever heard of being tainted by association?

3. @
    Desmond
    You are the one at AA, if you know me you will know that I do not drink.
    Furthermore NABO never produce a audited financial statement.
    Why dont you give your real name and address. Taking pot shots at me will get you nothing.
    Stupid people like you appear and try to rape other people so as to get attention and move the attention of this blog away from the facts. If an audited financial statement exist why don`t you post it?
    Every one from Boston sits on they a_ _ and hide and just drop out of order remarks.

4. @Rodney

If there is anything left such as audited financial reports that has not been put out in the open, the defenders may not want to accidentally slip by releasing more information than needed and have more holes dig even deeper. It could be that whatโ€™s left is being safeguarded and waiting to be used as the trump card should the time come.

If you review the past 2 weeks or so, you will notice that many of the outspoken commenters whether they were for or against NABO including have taken a back seat for whatever reason. It may never be known. However, at the same time it would be quite interesting if they are Bostonians, or Northeasteners.

Many of us that is following the story and anxious to hear of an outcome might be waiting for a very long time.

5. @Rodney
    I am sorry, you only drink rum and it must be bajan rum, therefore you are a rum drinker. I am just saying that you talk too much even on this blog, just the way you talk when consuming your rum. I am sure that you have a business to run and do not need a distraction like this. Perhaps, you should publish your telephone and address…. or you forgot that too…. You have not written anything that made sense at all, but babble on and on and on with senseless statements of NABO. If someone in NABO offended you, then deal with in on a personal level, and do not hide in the blog. You do not have enough non-alcoholic induced brain left to comprehend anything. Go away… that will make sense.

6. @Desmond

Why are you making this personal? Rodney has already posted his personal details. Obviously you have not read all the comments. How about you reciprocating?

7. Don’t you see Desmond is an idiot. He is one of the chronies from NABO who will follow them into the fire. I hope he has the resources to help them when the IRS clamps down. These people either can’t read or don’t want to read. Then again reading does mot mean understanding.

8. @
    Desmond
    You continue to show that you are an idiot, because I already disclose all my info earlier in this blog.
    Also every one that knows Rodney Marshall know he does not drink and have not in many many years.
    It seems like you have a problem with me in that case you can search this blog and find my phone number, then you can give me a call. People should speak of what they know not just speak for the sake of speaking.
    I will tell you the same thing I told Ummmm. I will not respond to these type of foolish statements again.
    I suggest you climb back into the hole you came out off with your NABO crooked friends.

9. @
    Desmond

Do you want me to give you an 800 number so you can call?

10. Barbadians! C

11. Barbadians! Can we all get along? All I am detecting here is a group of Bajans who are not showing the world that they are diplomatic in trying to solve problems instead or airing their dirty linens in public. Why not wait until you are in Historical South Carolina where there IS a real connection? Peace and Love

12. DK not Drift Kid Avatar
    DK not Drift Kid

After 411 post and since March, what!

Surely the cost of living in Barbados is higher today than in March when this debate started?

More people have definately lost thier jobs.

Where are you going with this “DLPs lovers quarrel?”

13. @
    Letitia
    Do What?? Waste money to go to S.C to hear the same bull, give money to this board that was already removed from office and refuse to step down. It is people like you that permit these people to remain in power.
    Tell me why we do not have audited fianancial statements that was promise no later than Fed 28 2009.

14. @Rodney – why don’t you ask the president of your association, Dr. grasshopper, what he did with his copy. A pity he did not find it fit to share with you, even though you are trying to appear coherent these days.

15. Letitia // April 21, 2009 at 1:20 pm

… Why not wait until you are in Historical South Carolina where there IS a real connection? Peace and Love
    ===============================================
    I would agree there is no need for personal attacks. For the most part, Barbadians do get along and could get along BUT there is a time when people in general can take so much and no more. And in my honest opinion this is what this fiasco boils down to.

People have a right to be angry when others try to insult their intelligence. What I’ve witnessed in this blog is not a pie in the sky situation. Nonetheless, I donโ€™t see why people have to go to South Carolina โ€œfor a real connection.โ€ What is that? Stupse.

16. You see, you do not know the historical connection that Barbados has with Charlston, South Carolina.There is no need for personal attacks on the writer. What some of us need, as I said, is a sense of reasoning when someone states an opinion. Who said that it will be the same old ‘bull’? in Charleston? DONT YOU THINK THAT SOME PEOPLE WANT TO SEE THIS EMBARRASSMENT GO AWAY FOR THE SAKE OF THE ACCUSED AND THE ACCUSERS? DON’T GET TOO STRESSED OUT. HAVE SOME PATIENCE,AND AS STATED,PEACE
    BE UPON YOU!

17. @ Letitia
    There is indeed a historic connection between Charles, SC and Barbados; are you trying to insult the Barbadian Diaspora by trying to tell them go to Charleston for confirmation of the financial improprieties that the deposed NABO’s executive are guity of? This was first brought to light in Houston in January, questions were asked in February and no answers; Vote of no confidence took place in March, they won’t demit; BU exposed the situation in March on the worldwide web for millions to read. The culprits are spread across Boston, Florida, California and Connecticut, are you saying we should now go to another state to hear what the Barbadian Diaspora already knows? NABO is dead. Those deposed folks are trying to do more of the same with the tax payors money; the Barbadian community and the economy in turmoil. Can’t you even see there is a pattern. Maybe, you can encourage them to have the people send their $200 to one of those organizations that are really doing something for the benefit of Barbadians.

18. @Letitia
    I agree, you seem to have hit a tender nerve in the BU regulars who continue to pick and poke and fuss and fume. Peace will come soon. Hope to see you in SC.

19. Bjan 2,
    You are so blinded by anger, that you cannot see the connection. A SENSE OF HUMOUR IS WHAT IS NEEDED TO BREAK THIS TENSION THAT IS INCLINED TO GIVE SOMEONE A STROKE IF THE PERSON DOES NOT COOL DOWN. THIS BIG QUARREL ON THE UNDERGROUND CANNOT SETTLE THE PROBLEM IMMEDIATELY. DONT YOU REALIZE THAT EVERY QUARREL NEEDS A N TO COOL YOU DOWN? OF COURSE PEOPLE ARE ANGRY BUT THEY DONT HAVE TO SUCK THEIR TEETH ETC BECAUSE SOMEONE IS OBSERVING AND IS EMBARASSED AT THIS MELEE IN THE INTERNET.

20. @ Letitia
    No anger more concern ; that the seriousness of the situation is pushed to the side.

21. This is the way the Exe of NABO get away with fooling the public, push aside answering questions and claim we will answer next time. This has been going for years, that is why the associations that are on the up and up leave NABO.
    @
    Grasshoppe
    NABO does not have a audited financial statement. If you have an audited financial statement why don`t you send it to BU so as we can see it. ( do you know what an auduted financial staement is?)

22. @
    Letitia
    No one is blind by anger, we all know of the connection between Barbados and S.C
    What the concern people on this blog is blind by is the operation of NABO. Nothing wrong with going to Charleston, but a lot is wrong with supporting NABO.

23. @Rodney, yes, I do know what an audited financial statement is – do you?. You have so much anger and hostility in you – are you sure it is all about NABO?

24. @Rodney, yes, I do know what an audited financial statement is – do you? You have so much anger and hostility in you – are you sure it is all about NABO?

25. @
    Grasshopper
    I have one done on my business every year to maintain my FHA approval, I hope you know what that is. What do you have an audited financial statement done on?
    I do not have any anger or hostility I just know that the right thing should be done.
    You give all of these comments but you have not sent the audited financial statement to BU as you can not send what does not exist.
    You people just want to attack people to take the eyes off of what is really going on.
    It is a shame that the same nasty ways still exist in NABO.

26. @ Letitia (or Janice)

I don’t need NABO to go to South Carolina. I can do it by myself girlie. That is your excuse to try to get folks to register for your doomed conference.

With no Director support, Government support, or People support you are barking up the wrong tree. I am going to Amelia Island with the Consulate and other Bajans that respect our country and pay homage to it. I am taking my wife and children too.

I am sick and tired of people like you talking about airing dirty linens and the need for secrecy. It is that mentality that got us here in the first place.

Secrecy has no place in these times. The new buzzword is “transparency” which is the opposite. Get with the program and urge your cohorts to come clean for a change.

27. @ Desmond Nelson

At least Rodney doesn’t lie, attack people, and cheat. Can you say the same?

28. @Bajan // April 22, 2009 at 1:35 pm
    I am going to Amelia Island with the Consulate and other Bajans that respect our country and pay homage to it.

Touching on respectโ€ฆ. Sadly, and from what I have read it is obvious that Mr. Ashby, more so than any other member of the Executive committee, has little or no respect whatsoever for NABO, the other 2 affiliated organizations: National Council of Barbadian Associations in Canada (NCBAC) and National Council of Barbadian Associations in the United Kingdom (NCBAUK), as well as High Commissioner Mr. Bulbulia at the Barbados Embassy in Washington, DC, and the Honorary Consulate in Miami.

My conclusion was drawn from the way Mr. Ashby responded when โ€œMr. Bulbulia contacted him in an attempt to have him answer questions related to the outstanding NABO issues.โ€ โ€œHe REFUSED saying he DOESNโ€™T answer to directors and that he was elected to run NABO and HE WILL DO WHAT HE PLEASES.โ€ He also said โ€œhe will ONLY TALK 2 TIMES A YEAR and the NEXT ONE will be in SCarolina.โ€

Going merely on what I read here and not on other tattletales that have been circulating I donโ€™t think that I would want to put it pass Mr. Ashby, or even Mr. Cummins that in SCarolina they wouldnโ€™t be evasive in responding to questions related to this same very issue which seem to have many people up in arms and want to put to rest. An old saying, she or he who hides the wrong he or she does, does the wrong thing still. This looks and smells from a distance like exactly that.

To be quite frank at this juncture I would distance myself from being associated with the name NABO. Unfortunately, itโ€™s a heavy price to pay for a handful of people, but maybe well worth the disconnection in the long haul?

29. @Rodney
    @Bajan
    @Newcomer
    My observation is showing that you guys are at a point where you are actually competing amongst yourself to see who can say the most and speak the loudest on a subject that each of you do not even have a clue. It is recycled gossip and you are hoping that you may at some point say the exact thing that will trigger the release of information that will absolve all the babbling that you guys have become so expert at delivering on a daily basis. Time to wrap it up, go back to your other lives, pay more attention to your businesses, your families that you have neglected for a while, rebuild your relationships, eat healthy, start exercising to reduce the large guts, read some good books and have fun doing these things. Get back on the wagon ( you know who). Goodbye

30. @Desmond

As much as you feel you have given a logical explanation do you sense that nobody is buying it?

31. @ Desmond

Why don’t you tell your cronies to do the right thing, man. Have them deliver “audited” collaborative convention books to the NABO directors. That’s what they are running from, my boy.

Go and ask them if they plan to deliver them. They will tell you what they told everyone else, that they don’t have to answer to anyone for the $300,000.00 that they controlled in Barbados. They are trying to make a case for it being a separate deal that is beyond anyone else’s control.

I dare you to ask the question. It’s rude awakening time. Since those funds were co-mingled with NABO’s, they are accountable to the Directors.

32. I wonder if the Honorary Consulate in S.C or the Consulates or Embassy in the U.S will be attending this event. I also wonder how much sponsorship (money to fill Janice, Earl’s and Mike’s) pockets will come out of Barbados? Poor Martin he won’t get any of it since he is too stupid to figure out how he is bieng used. What a little stupid lamb.

33. @
    Desmond
    All you do is blow off at your mouth, you made a whole lot of talk about NABO having audited financial statements, You still have not supplied them, it is time for you to get off the pot or shit. Supply the audited financial statements or take a hike.
    You guys are at the point to rob another set of people, this time you are not getting much help.
    Instead of doing the right thing you again attack people, that is the only thing you know to do.

34. Desmond = Janice
    Desmond = Earl
    Desmond = Mike Cummins
    Desmond = Adrian Maynard
    Desmond = Martin Greenidge
    Regardless thay are all the same. A bunch of shameless crooks. They make the initial chairman look like a choir boy.

35. Why would anyone so late in the game try to put a cover on the pitch when the rain has already soaked it?

Too late, too late shall be the cry.

36. Paperclips is giving himeslf/herself a lot of liberty in calling people by names.Crooks, do you know any of these people? As an attorney I would encourage the blog owner to discourage using people’s names. These comments can be easily traced if you know what to do . I wish the name calling could be omitted, and make sensible statement rather than slanderous ones. Paperclips be careful you may be clipped.

37. @
    Tony
    You claim to be an atty. Why don`t you give your real and full name and where you are located with a phone number.

38. @Rodney
    @paperclips
    I told you so, go ahead and call names and beg others to post their names, phone and addresses. What will you do with the information; mail letters, call or show up. It is a pity that your babbling talk is limited to a blog in the BU.
    @Rodney
    ….not enough homes to sell or perhaps your permanent red eyes and rum breath send clients seeking an honest broker who can see straight. You know that even an audited report hit you square in the face, you won’t be able to comprehend….. that is why you saw it ad now you don’t.

39. @
    mmmmm
    You are as stupid as Desmond, to show how much you know about me I do NOT sell homes, I do not know who you are but from the way you write you are from the Boston area or one of the lackies that follow them.
    NO AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT was ever presented, I wish you or the other fool will forward the audited financial statement to BU.
    Go ahead prove me wrong with proof not stupid words.
    Why are you and Desmond afraid to disclose your information name, address and phone number. You people think by saying what you say that I will go away, that will not happen, I know who I am and 90 % of this blog known me and know the truth, however you would not know the truth if it hit you in your face.
    I do not think you have ever seen an audited financial statement in your life.

40. @Rodney
    I have an audited original in my posession and you do not and will not ever get a copy. Go fishing elsewhere and get a life.

41. I have an audited original in my posession and you do not and will not ever get a copy. Go fishing elsewhere and get a life.

What an idiotic comment. NABO collected taxpayer dollars from Barbadians and donations from major and other organizations in Barbados, people are asking from a financial account of how those monies were spent and you talk about fishing? Give us a break and some credit.

42. You too will not get a copy. You are not people, you are part of the babbling underground. Go away…….PLEASE……

43. I am watching you too. What happen? are you getting irritated?

44. @ mmmmmm
    Some of the smarter folks will get the last laugh. Hope people like you are able to bail them out when the watch dogs from the Federal government, the city of Melbourne, Florida, the city of Coral Springs Florida and other cities where NABO has operated are after their backsides to make full disclosure of their financial activities in the USA and as a registered not for profit in the USA collecting foreign dollars and not disclosing them. City of Charleston, SC has also been advised that they have lost their tax exempt status and only waiting to pounce on the suckers if they are that bold and think a conference is coming off. Tell the IRS in a weeks that they won’t get a copy. David, Adrian, Rodney, Cheryl, Ava, Dale and others who are requesting answers stay the course an end is in sight.

45. @Bajan2
    …Oh I forgot to mention you too as a pitiful babbler. You are so stupid and making no sense at all. Why don’t you go and take care of that little problem you have, you know what I am talking about… and stop saying things that you do not have a clue. Shut up and listen a little more.

46. @
    mmmmm
    You do not have one, you cannot have what does not exist.(audited financial statement)
    After your last comment I now know that you have no clue as to what an audited financial statement look like.
    You and Desmond keep insulting people but is yet to supply any proof. Do you think that insulting people will cover up all the wrong that was done.
    You and Desmond has fail to respond to the request to disclose who you are but just like NABO you cover up and hide behind attacking the people on this blog.
    You cannot watch some one on this blog you can only read what is writen.
    To be honest I do not think NABO have money left to pay for a audited financial statement.
    The thing that was presented in Jan and the one presented for the colladorative conference(which has change many times) are not audited financial statements.

47. @ mmmmm
    Simply put the ousted folks of the NABO that’s dead; had an opportunity to defend themselves. The decision was taken on March 8 in their absence due to no fault of the BOD. I think the natural justice would say if there is a problem, if there is a disciplinary matter, you should be given the opportunity to put your side of the case. So would ‘you’ being part of the ousted folks ‘bring it on.’ I am sure that those directors who are taking the charge are well armed and waiting to see some resolution, transparency, accountability and of course a reputable organization that has the interest of the Barbadian diaspora. There is not a lot of time left for negative comments, “action or show me the money ” is now the theme of this blog.

48. I called the Francis Marion Hotel and was told that nobody ain’t booking and that all the NABO rooms were still available. Wa kinda conference is that? It’s supposed to bejust over two months away and nobody booked yet? Not even the deposed Executives have started booking.

Looks like its back to the drawing board Mr. Ashby.

Send out another email begging people to click on that link and register nuh?

Then, perhaps Desmond Nelson, mmmmmmm, Letitia and the other cronies will consider ‘putting their money where their mouth IS’. Please go and register for the conference. Backup wunna boys!

I promise that you will get your money back real soon if it doesn’t come off.

49. Looks like Nation News North American corespondent Tony Best is pissed. He did a follow-up story!

NEW YORK, NEW YORK: NABO ‘on it’s knees’

Published on: 4/24/2009.

by TONY BEST

THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BARBADOS ORGANISATIONS (NABO) in the United States is probably about to breathe its last.

Less than a year after staging what was considered an important “collaborative conference” that attracted at least 300 people in the Diaspora, Bajans who have made their homes away from home in Canada, the United States and Britain, the umbrella body is being ripped apart by dissension.

“NABO is on its knees,” said Earl Ashby, until recently the undisputed chairman of the umbrella body, but who is now being challenged by a group of directors who voted recently to put Cheryl Thompson of Texas in his position as interim chairman.

Reached in Houston, an articulate Thompson shared this rather dismal forecast.

“Yes, I believe NABO is dead,” she said.

It’s probably the only thing Thompson and Ashby agree on: the demise of an organisation that was born more than a dozen years ago in the spirit of unity.

How come the body which was riding high, or so it seemed in August last year during the conference which was addressed by Prime Minister David Thompson and supported by the Barbados Tourism Authority, the National Cultural Foundation and the nation’s largest credit union, among others, has fallen on such troubling times?

The central issue which has brought the organisation to the brink of disintegration is its system of financial management and accounting. Yes, there are problems about decision-making. Also true, legitimate questions have arisen about the flow of information to NABO’s members. But at the heart of the dispute is the way almost $300 000 was raised in Barbados and spent to stage the conference.

Reasons for quitting

Recently Dr Dale Husbands, president of the Barbados Association of Central Florida, and the dean of business at Valencia Community College, listed several reasons for his organisation’s abrupt decision to quit NABO, only three months after rejoining it. Two of the reasons had to do with money.

“Lack of transparency regarding NABO finances” and “extremely poor accounting practices”, he explained.

Ava Foster, who heads the Barbados Cancer Association of America, USA, Inc., sent a letter to the Prime Minister, urging his Government to think twice before putting any more money into NABO’s coffers because any such action might turn out to be a waste of public funds.

Interestingly, both BACA and the Association of Central Florida are two of the most successful Barbadian groups in North America, contributing hundreds of thousands of dollars in cash, equipment and books to various causes in the country in recent years.

What makes the current row so tragic is that NABO has been here before, about five years ago, the association came to a virtual standstill as a result of questions about its system of financial reporting and accountability.

Both Thompson and Husbands complained about what they insist was an unsatisfactory flow of information about the state of NABO finances to the board of directors, citing it as their main concern. And they describe the situation as a mark of disrespect.

“Many of these problems could have been avoided if our questions were answered promptly,” Thompson said.

In addition to the issue of accounting, a key problem for NABO can be traced to the decision to raise money in Barbados to help finance the conference.

Bajan organisations should avoid fund-raising in Barbados. Instead, they should concentrate on putting resources into the country.

The strength of the Diaspora lies in its ability to give, not to take from the country, and that should be the lesson from the current mess.

50. I don’t blame him (Tony Best). Look at how Mrs. Thompson responded to Earl Ashby after he accused Best of making scandalous accusations a few weeks ago.

“The other information below does not even deserve a response. However, I will say that a reputable newspaper, the Nation News of Barbados interviewed both Mr. Ashby and myself. The story was by a seasoned journalist. How dare Mr. Ashby accuse Mr. Best of writing only 1% of what he had to say. I too spoke with Mr. Best for over an hour, and I never expected that he would print our entire conversation. Journalists typically listen, record, and then write according to the overall message that the interviewee is trying to convey. I can tell you that he very clearly delivered my message.

A word of warningโ€ฆ Be very careful what you say, Mr. Ashby. Mr. Tony Best has carved for himself a reputation for having a commitment to the highest professional standards of Journalistic reporting, and is well known to be an extremely fair journalist. This was my very first interaction and communication with him, and I found him to be very thorough and professional. I am sure that Mr. Best recorded your exact statements, as he did mine. Are you sure that you want to go on record of accusing him of levying โ€œscandalous accusationsโ€ against you?”