naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. People may have made plans to stay at relatives or friends instead of staying at a hotel; while others planning to attend may have opted for less expensive accommodations by staying at another hotel, other than the one mentioned.

As for the executives of NABO or even some of the board members for that matter, they may be getting discounted rates at a more luxurious hotel.

It is looking obvious that NABO execs don’t seem to want to pick up the pieces, brush the dust off and start to rebuild.

Tony Best apparently doesn’t want a story of this magnitude to drop off in mid air without having an idea where it is headed or has landed, upon seeing that the story looks more dismal day after day and possibly about to fade into the sunset.

It’s good to see that someone who has no ties to NABO is keeping a close watch, should there be any unexpected new developments.

2. Looks like the Bajan org in Houston is pushing for a boycott.

3. Noticed this website listing details about NABO. Is it accurate?

Had a report on the recent function held in Boston. Estimate that about 100 people or so attended which is down on previous numbers we are told.

4. It looks like at least one set of NABOโ€™s children is about to or has already divorced their parents.

Its hard these days to try pulling the wool over the eyesโ€™ of others. Furthermore scamming people who put their trust in you. How distressing, how depressing! No words to describe the embarrassment that NABO execs have inflicted upon not only its flock but the Barbadian community as a whole.

5. Any word if the current government has acknowledged Ms. Foster letter?

How much money the current government will be giving to NABO this go around, the last government was very generous?

Rumor has it that couple of the deposed executive is being considered for a consulate appointment.

Are any of the government officials from New York, Miami or Washington being invited to the conference in SC. What are these agencies doing if anything; to quell the current situation? Are they planning on huddling those organizations in their constituencies to come up with a game plan? More questions than answers. Can somebody step up to the plate, please?

6. It’s now been over a month since this story broke ground on this blog. I have been holding out hope for a positive outcome. But as time passes without hearing of any type of resolution, I am getting more apprehensive of what could be the reality that NABO is dead. This is the opinion expressed by Mr. Ashby in his interview with Nation news correspondent Tony Best and seconded by Ms. Thompson.

Although NABO may be on life support it hasn’t been pronounced dead as yet. Like most hot topics, it’s expected this story would finally lessen its hype.

7. @ Easyboy
    “Although NABO may be on life support it hasnโ€™t been pronounced dead as yet.”

So… what are you saying? Who must pronounce NABO dead in order for it to be recognized as defunct?

Mr. Earl Ashby stated that it is dead, and it was seconded by Ms. Thompson. For me, that means that the $#!% has hit the fan and the thing no longer functions. Reality check! NABO has died. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

8. @ Bajan

The South Carolina conference has not been canceled to my knowledge, which gave me cause to say that NABO is still holding on.

If NABO is dead as some believe, it doesn’t seem to have been buried. Maybe its resting place is still being sought out; waiting to be put to rest officially after the July conference in South Carolina.

As bad as Mr. Ashby and maybe some of his cronies behaved in not trying to come together for the name and sake of its members, there may still be a thread of hope for the organization? Where there is life there is hope. Keep in mind it is on life-support. hahaha

9. “Hope” is the operative word. The conference may still be on, but no one is registering, so I don’t see that there is any life yet. It serves them right.

How, in the name of jesus, could those people expect to ignore the wishes of the Board of Directors. If only one single Director had a question, he or she would deserve an immediate answer, let alone 8-10 of them. Leaders must be humble, grateful, and honest. We saw none of those traits from Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins, and the rest of the deposed troup.

Shame on them for destroying this organization. They may try to blame Thompson and crew, but we all know that there is no crime in demanding answers to them biting questions that arose from the shoddy financial reports.

I just thank the almighty that people had the gall to finally to stand up to them and demand answers. If it has to die because of that, then I say good riddance again.

10. Come to Charleston……. I am going, the conference is on, and I have registered along with 15 of my friends.

11. @mmmmmm
    So 20 people make a conference? Your 15 people and the 5 deposed. Great conference.

Would it be enough to pay off the $13,000 credit card and pay the UK and Canada their share of the collaborative?

Maybe, that’s how many people needed for the funeral.
    Or maybe you might want to cremate NABO instead!

12. What $13,000 in debt? I did not know that. Tell me a little more of this. Where did this debt came from?

13. Adrian Hinds Avatar

David // April 27, 2009 at 2:22 am

Noticed this website listing details about NABO. Is it accurate?

Had a report on the recent function held in Boston. Estimate that about 100 people or so attended which is down on previous numbers we are told.
    ===========================

David I told you that this group CHA does not have any significant following in Boston. They do not associate with the vast majority of Bajans in this city. People only KNOW OF Mike Cummins via his selling of Bajan products, and he has not use this activity to endear himself to them. He remains as aloof as he is known to be. Earl walks around fixing computers and has been known to market NABO to his customers, but most don’t engage or are interested in these associations. The view of secrecy, assumed dishonesty by leaders of these groups etc is endemic amonst the Bajan community in Boston. Cricket Season in Boston is upon us, and the fight continues. ha ha ha ha lol!

Desmond and others, care to meet me in person? I am game. ha ha ha ha lol!

14. Adrian Hinds Avatar

David // April 27, 2009 at 2:22 am

Noticed this website listing details about NABO. Is it accurate?

David I told you that this group CHA does not have any significant following in Boston. They do not associate with the vast majority of Bajans in this city. People only KNOW OF Mike Cummins via his selling of Bajan products, and he has not use this activity to endear himself to them. He remains as aloof as he is known to be. Earl walks around fixing computers and has been known to market NABO to his customers, but most don’t engage or are interested in these associations. The view of secrecy, assumed dishonesty by leaders of these groups etc is endemic amonst the Bajan community in Boston. Cricket Season in Boston is upon us, and the fight continues. ha ha ha ha lol!

Desmond and others, care to meet me with me in person? I am game. ha ha ha ha lol!

15. @mmmmm
    It is obvious from your question about the CC debt that you are clueless as to what this blog is all about. Go back to the beginning of the blog when the financials were exposed and get your answer or better yet ask Earl, Mike, John, Janice and Martin. You can then tell the BU family where the balance came from; this would be one of the questions that they would get answered. I can lend a little help and tell you about $3,000 is for accommodation for Earl and his woman at Blue Horizon Hotel during the Collaborative Conference in Barbados last August. Got this from the reports posted on BU.

16. @Adrian Hinds
    Hello…. you are in for a big surprise when cricket starts. You have offended quite a few a cricket groups with your snooping and I hope that you are well prepared when you show up with your not too smart and somewhat physically ugly self (uhhhhhh….). I will be watching from a distance, because they have plans for you and it is not a place on the team. hahahah lol. I hope you have a fast car.

17. @
    Desmond
    Still trying to insult people, you and mmmmm kept dropping insults but have fail to say your real name and address, neither one of you have any thing to say of value.

18. @Rodney
    oh oh…. someone woke up from their stupor again. If what I say is invaluable, why do you respond. Oh I remember, you continue to do what you do best… babble and booze….. hahaha

19. @Rodney
    I will say my real name. My name is, my name is, my name is…. oh shoot I forgot, a shot of rum before typing this message hamper my memory. sic sic sic

20. You are a jack a_ _ and you continue to show it with all of your studity.
    You are yet to type anything that have value.
    You really think that insulting people have a value.

21. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Desmond // May 4, 2009 at 3:27 pm

@Adrian Hinds
    Helloโ€ฆ. you are in for a big surprise when cricket starts. You have offended quite a few a cricket groups with your snooping and I hope that you are well prepared when you show up with your not too smart and somewhat physically ugly self (uhhhhhhโ€ฆ.). I will be watching from a distance, because they have plans for you and it is not a place on the team. hahahah lol. I hope you have a fast car.

Now why would they run me,.. When their views of those you seek to defend are no different than mine? Cricket started last weekend, I was there 20/20 competition. Fun was had by all. Of course you will be watching FROM A DISTANCE, such is typical for SOME NABO/CHA affiliated Individuals such as yuhself.

ha ha haha ha you certainly did grow in and left behind a Barbados where your current attempts at intimidation was a national past-time. Guess what such a Barbados no longer exist.
    TODAY IN BARBADOS
    FREELY people are talking,
    Freely PEOPLE ARE ENTERTAINING, Freely PEOPLE ARE READING,
    Freely PEOPLE ARE PLAYING
    Freely PEOPLE ARE REFLECTING
    Freely PEOPLE ARE VIEWING.

I am amazed that you would think that such behaviour as exhibited by you could have any measure of success in the Land of the free and brave. ha ha ha ha ha ha If the cricketers fail to act as you would wish, are you brave enough to show yourself to me so we can have a civil conversation??? Maybe you can persuade me to “run”. ha ha ha ha lol! but of course we will have to meet first. Are you game?

22. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Rodney I was listening to VOB this morning on the train to work, and I heard Dr.Dale Husbands speaking about his organization donating some hospital beds to the Barbados Community college, for training purposes. I keeping my ears tuned for similar donations to entities in Barbados from other US based Bajan organization, rather than engaging in fun raising and sponsorship activity on the rock. We should be about given back to Barbados not taking from them.

23. @Adrian
    For your information, I am not an organization member, just a defender for the right things. I fully support all the bajan organizations in Boston. All you have done is criticize and ridicule with your miserable and distasteful attitude. I recently found out who you really are and remember from before. The arm forces stint that you complete did not produce the calibre expected in you. You spend a lot of time making other people’s lives miserable because you are a very unhappy man….. oops….sorry little boy with a juvenile mentality and a scared, pathetic personality. Every one in Boston can only remember you by those comments and have very unpleasant memories of you. Grow up soon.

24. @Desmond

The fact that you continue to refuse to answer simple questions posed to you is evidence enough to the sensible people watching.

Now you resort to ad hominen attacks. What does attacking Adrian have to do with exposed irregularities in NABO records?
    Why don’t you attack Tony Best Nation US Correspondent?
    Why don’t you address that pursuant to the NABO by-laws the former NABO Board has refused to answer specific financial questions posed?
    The list continues…

IT IS TIME BARBADIANS WHO READ THIS BLOG EVERY DAY SPEAK OUT!

25. @
    Adrian
    Barbardos Assoc Of Central Florida has also donated 16 beds, baby warmers, dental chair and many other items to the QEH a couple of years ago, we have donated to the blind school, wheelchairs to people in need, we have donated lots of various items to the old people home in St. Lucy, many many cases of books to various high schools and the community college. Dr. Dale is the current president of our association, I am the past president.
    That is why what NABO actions does not sit well with us.

26. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Desmond // May 4, 2009 at 9:12 pm

@Adrian
    For your information, I am not an organization member, just a defender for the right things. I fully support all the bajan organizations in Boston. All you have done is criticize and ridicule with your miserable and distasteful attitude. I recently found out who you really are and remember from before. The arm forces stint that you complete did not produce the calibre expected in you. You spend a lot of time making other peopleโ€™s lives miserable because you are a very unhappy manโ€ฆ.. oopsโ€ฆ.sorry little boy with a juvenile mentality and a scared, pathetic personality. Every one in Boston can only remember you by those comments and have very unpleasant memories of you. Grow up soon.

Not even a nice try.

I RECENTLY FOUND OUT WHO YOU ARE. …..AND REMEMBER YOU FROM BEFORE!

THE ARM FORCES STINT YOU COMPLETED DID NOT PRODUCE . BLAH BLAH.

What a contorted web you are trying to weave. Eveyone knows Adrian, as Adrian makes no attempt to hide in public, or online. The reality of my relationships in Boston still to this day is one to be envied. I could teach you Earl and Mike uh thing or several about building and sustaining relationships, and even repairing significantly damage ones. My views are in sinc with the vast majority of Bajans in Boston. So to attempt a seperation as you are trying will only statify your mind, not reality. You see the way I do things is via respect, and willingness to learn, to be apologetic and to say sorry when warrented or even if the greater good will be served by so doing, and allow people to do with information whatever they please. I never attempt to force my views on people. Thats what endears them to me and I to them. I listen attentively. You cannot break that neither will you gain traction with your silly attempt to give the impression otherwise.

I could have simply said that you do not know of what you speak. Um is the truth. lol!

I am still encouraging you to come out of the closet and declare for all, who you really are. However, please be informed, that I cannot promise, not to laugh if you unexpectantly find the balls to “man-up” and so do. lol!

Wasn’t there a calypso song titled where all the good men gone? ha ha ha Well i trying to get some uh dem to come out uh hiding. Join me Desmond, spring has sprung, time tuh come outside and do de dog. ha ha ha ha

27. Adrian Hinds Avatar

Desmond // May 4, 2009 at 9:12 pm

@Adrian
    For your information, I am not an organization member, just a defender for the right things.
    ==========================

So far your contributions of late to this blog are at odds with the above. This could make you out to be a liar. If correct the only thing to left to determine is if you were “intentional” or “accidental” in your lying ways. Can you help us? ha ha ha ha

Don’t you look at me, from behind your blinds, come on out and lets see, who you really are.

Adapted from Eddie Grant’s neighbour neighbour.

28. @Adrian
    Still a big bully, always a bully. what a shame….. little boy pink…..

29. @
    Desmond

Same old story, just insulting people, nothing of value.

30. Desmond // May 5, 2009 at 10:38 am

@Adrian
    Still a big bully, always a bully. what a shameโ€ฆ.. little boy pinkโ€ฆ..

I gine got tuh remember not to light a fire near any uh dese “strawmen” arguments Desi putting up. Duh would not see the end of day, as they would quickly and briefly become the “light” of the day. ha ha ha

What with all these cat-like responses, This Desmond may not be a man after all. ha ha ha ha

31. He is Desmond Nelson and here is his email address: bdos4all@yahoo.com.

All of you who want to trade insults with him can do it directly via email; but please take it out of this forum. He is here to take us away from the real issues. Don’t let him.

32. I got yuh Bajan. I should have known better. Thanks!

33. I know it’s a little off-point, but did anyone notice that Nation headline atop Tony Best’s story?

NEW YORK, NEW YORK: NABO โ€˜on itโ€™s kneesโ€™

34. I believe that “New York, New York” was the attention grabber. lol. You know Bajans. Anything with NY in it is something to pay attention to. I may be wrong doah.

35. lol… I meant the: NABO ‘on it’s knees’.
    Can’t believe the editors at the nation didn’t see that huge error. Should be ‘NABO ‘on its knees’. I mean, it’s the headline.

36. @Bajan
    what happen to you man or woman……you think you can send insults and not receive them. All of you BU dwellers are of the same quality or lack thereof, because that’s where you spend all your time babbling about nothing. Tell me how much and when last did any of you contributed anything positive to any thing bajan or in Barbados. Where have any of you made an impact besides in the guts on the BU.

37. Oh Christ! You are Right BajanAuthor. I missed it too. lol.

@ Desmond

Wah “something” are you babbling about?

Name your contribution. Dude, I know you and I know that you have nothing, know nothing, and give nothing to Bajans or Barbadians.

But to hell with that. Let’s talk about NABO and how they are not having any takers for the so-called conference. I think that it is fitting that the people are not lining up to support them. What do you think about that?

Might I suggest, that if they were to open the books and share the contents of the “secret” account(s), they could probably get some sympathy. Do you agree Mr. Desmond Nelson?

38. @
    Desmond
    I have not seen or read of any thing that you have or any association that you are a member, has done for Barbados. Look who is talking about insults, the same person that they only contributions to this blog has been insults.
    The same fool that claims he have an audited financial statement for NABO when NABO does not have one. The same one that is yet to produce any documents to verify his claims.

39. Goodbye….. I am taking my exit. I just found a reason why I should not continue to write on the BU. Good Luck guys. I am moving back home to Barbados in 3 months and must complete my preparations. It already feels good to go home. Bye…….

40. lol @ Desmond.

sluffing off with his tail between his legs.

41. First, I have read every word in this blog and want to summarize the issues.

The Executive Branch of NABO, answerable to the Directors, produced documents which were not to the Directors’ liking. The Directors asked questions.

The Executives answered some questions, but they did not cover all the issues, as more were raised when the second set of financials were delivered.

The Directors called for a special meeting, to which the Executives refused to attend. Then, the Directors asked others to intervene, and compel them to attend, but neither the Directors, not the interveners could get through to Ashby, Cummings, Bispham, Greenidge, Ellis, Maynard, and the other Executives and convince them that it was in their best interest to come forward and face the questions. They steadily refused.

They (the directors) called another meeting, this time to either get the answers they were seeking, or remove the Executives who refused to perform their jobs (voluntary or not).

The directors removed them from office, when they refused to show up again.

And now, the Executives are trying to pretend that nothing happened, that they were right to refuse any inquiry, that they did not have to answer to anyone but themselves?

This is a shameless situation. I don’t care how you twist it. I don’t care whether the deposed executives thought that the directors were wrong or that they were not enough of them. The fact that they refused to even honor their roles and show up to face the music is insulting to every Barbadian on this planet.

Any Bajan who supports such a position is a disgrace to our nation and should be ashamed to be seen with these people. How could this happen in this day and age? This is inexcuseable!!

I found out about this situation only recently, and could not believe what I was hearing. I know these people, and I am deeply ashamed that Earl and Mike would let something like this happen. I saw Earl the other night at a function, and he did not even mentioned this situation to me, but he was trying to convince me to go to South Carolina for the conference. How dishonorable! I am ashamed for my people.

Shame on Earl Ashby for acting that everything was fine and I should throw my hard earned money to the wind. How can South Carolina be anything more than political? It won’t be a time for anything but a show of support for these piss poor former leaders. I can never smile with or hang out with the likes of them again. This was just wrong.

42. ShockedBaje // May 10, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Dat’s putting it mildly. You’ve put it all in a nutshell

43. Also from New England Avatar
    Also from New England

Please pardon my stupidity but is this woman in Houston, the President, VP, Sec and Treasurer. Who else is part of this new board. How is this issue being solve? Everyone is putting in their two cents but is the issue being solved????

44. The lady fron Houston was voted as Interim Chair, at the next schedule meeting a new Executive board would have been elected.
    However the old Executives have refuse to step down and is trying to conduct business like nothing happen. They have no shame.
    @
    ShockedBaje
    You did an excellent job at laying out the facts from this blog. You did a great job of reading and understanding the situation.

45. @ ShockedBaje

Great job man. You put it all into perspective by narrowing down the pertinent points. I only wish that others would have done the same and read before jumping to conclusions about what has happened.

I hope that you told Mr. Ashby where to shove it since you found out what is really going on with NABO.

46. Enquiring minds would like to know if Desmond, mmmmm, and all the others that were attacking so called dissidents have yet found any dirt? They should also ask the deposed NABO folks which financial report they will be using to file form 990 with the IRS; have they filed an extension for October 15; if not be prepared to pay some hefty fines and sucharges because the financials were sent to the IRS; or will they be dishonest and file a e-postcard which is due May 15. Let them know that they are being watched closely by Uncle Sam. Earl and company time is getting closer than you think for this to explode. Forget South Carolina and do the right thing.

47. @Bajan2

“They should also ask the deposed NABO folks which financial report they will be using to file form 990 with the IRS; have they filed an extension for October 15; if not be prepared to pay some hefty fines and sucharges because the financials were sent to the IRS; or will they be dishonest and file a e-postcard which is due May 15. ”

Buh Wait… you trying to help them? You giving them cut off dates and form numbers to file and stuff? Why are you giving them all the information and warnings? Whose side are you on anyway? LOL. I say let them rot in their own stew. ๐Ÿ™‚

They haven’t filed before, so let them continue to ignore the IRS as they have ignored their Directors. They have the books, so they are the only ones who will be facing the heat when the axe falls.

48. Breaking News:

Some (lots) of that money that is unaccounted for has made its way north to Canada. Ask Sandra Asgill, the one in bed with Earl. Apparently, she will be with him in South Carolina.

49. I did not know that these unstable people was still going ahead with a convention, I wonder how many people have paid.

50. I know several people who are attending from the DC area. It seems as though this is only a hot topic in here and in Boston.