naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. I do not think many bajans in the Diaspora are familiar with NABO. I have heard of them, but have never been to one of their meetings. They never interest me. I have a very low tolerance for incidents of financial impropriety, and such accusations seem to follow these groups around. The Consulates and Embassies are best suited to Mobilizing Barbadians in the Diaspora, especially when Barbadian taxpayer dollars are involved.

2. When I read this story, it reminded me of another Barbadian organization in the USA where similar allegations were made about their executives and the misuse of funds, and down the tube it went.

I agree that โ€œsuch accusations seem to follow these groups around.โ€ Itโ€™s because of actions and for reasons such as those in this story that I refuse to be caught up in social organizations. If these allegations are investigated and proven to be true, and the organization holds a tax-exempt status it should be suspended or revoked.

The dishonesty that is revealed about some of these social organizations makes it difficult for other organizations who want to be true to their supporters, and for them to be successful.

Taking a look at the sponsorship list, these people made out like a bandit — with the BTA donating $40,000.
    Is the BTA always that generous with their money?

3. When I read this story, it reminded me of another Barbadian organization in the USA where similar allegations were made about their executives and the misuse of funds, and down the tube it went.

I agree that โ€œsuch accusations seem to follow these groups around.โ€ Itโ€™s because of actions and for reasons such as those in this story that I refuse to be caught up in social organizations. If these allegations are investigated and proven to be true, and the organization holds a tax-exempt status it should be suspended or revoked.

The dishonesty that is revealed about some of these social organizations makes it difficult for other organizations who want to be true to their supporters, and for them to be successful.

Taking a look at the sponsorship list, these people made out like a bandit โ€” with the BTA donating $40,000.
    Is the BTA always that generous with their money?

Is there anyway a BU family member based in the USA can research if NABO has tax-exempt status. We all know the IRS don’t mess about with these kinds of matters.

4. Adrian, the Ashby person lives in Boston. I went on one of their trips. However, I never joined the group here, nor do I support its activities.

5. @David:
    Why does someone living in the US have to research NABO? Most things in this country are public records, and as such are available via the internet for a fee of course. This is one reason I love this country.:)

Nabo says:
    It is a non-profit organization REGISTERED in the state of Florida.

Indeed it is : It’s address is listed with the IRS as:
    4799 COCONUT CREEK PKY 125
    POMPANO BEACH, FL
    33063-3979

In care of Officer Micheal Cummins. It is classified as a charitable organization, and is REQUIRED TO FILE FORM 990 FOR INCOME AMOUNTS OVER 25,000.

When did it recieve the 40,000 from the GoB? was it in BDS or USD?

@Pat :

6. Pat // March 29, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Adrian, the Ashby person lives in Boston. I went on one of their trips. However, I never joined the group here, nor do I support its activities.
    ===========================

I would not know of this person unless they play cricket. At any rate the Bajan community in Boston and it’s suburbs is highly segregated, much like Barbados. lol!

7. Thanks Adrian we are a small household with limited resources, your assistance is therefore appreciated.

8. Now look at that!!!

And to think that the DLP wants to introduce overseas voting!

Wasn’t that money used to fly persons here in 2008 to vote for the DLP?

Just imagine what could happen if the DLP use it 21 members in Parliament and change the Barbados Constitution – so that persons living overseas would be able to go on their compute and vote in elections in Barbados!

9. @Dark Knight

From our understanding the NABO conference was in August 2008. Wasn’t general elections in January 2008? Try not to insult the intelligence of the BU family.

10. David // March 30, 2009 at 11:46 am

@Dark Knight

From our understanding the NABO conference was in August 2008.
    —————————
    So too the DLP Annual Conference.

This is just a DLP’ Lovers Quarrel, in which $40,000 of the taxpayers money seems to be involved.

Trademark DLP business again coming out in the wash!!!

11. However the former chairman was in charge of the conference in Barbados.
    I am in Orlando and we know NABO have many problems.

12. Nothing under the current leadership will surprise me, I do not think NABO has had a honest election in years.

13. Just for clarification, I have to say that this was a Collaborative Effort that was undertaken by a Committee made up of four representatives each from NABO (US Umbrella Organization), NCBAC (Canada Umbrella Organization), and NCBAUK (The United Kingdom Umbrella Organization).

This is not only a US issue, it is also a Canadian and UK problem as well.

14. Thanks Bajan for pointing out the error. We will make the change but we still have the impression that the decisions are being controlled from the USA. On another note, for an organization which appears to have many question marks on its management it seems to control huge sums of money.

15. Adrian Hinds // March 30, 2009 at 9:05 am

Nabo says:

It is a non-profit organization REGISTERED in the state of Florida.
    Indeed it is: Its address is listed with the IRS as:

4799 COCONUT CREEK PKY
    125 POMPANO BEACH, FL
    33063-3979
    ——————————————————————————————————————————-

Adrian, upon reading the info you posted, I became curious and contemplated if I should look them up. All non-profit organizations within the USA are listed on the net. Iโ€™m not sure that the government (IRS) has a link where one can look up if an organization has a tax-exempt status with its assigned code.

Having said that, I would like to say that anyone can register and list as non-profit and/or charitable organization with a State, to seek certain State benefits. However, applying for Federal tax-exempt status and being able to acquire it is a horse of a different color.
    (http://www.irs.gov/charities/article/0,,id=136195,00.html)

Nonetheless, I found the followingโ€ฆ
    Principal Address:
    1171 FLOWER STREET, NW
    MELBOURNE FL 32907
    Changed 03/03/2009

The above and other information can be found at:
    http://www.sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet.exe?action=DETFIL&inq_doc_number=N05000000071&inq_came_from=NAMFWD&cor_web_names_seq_number=0000&names_name_ind=N&names_cor_number=&names_name_seq=&names_name_ind=&names_comp_name=NATIONALASSOCIATIONBARBADIANOR&names_filing_type=

What I found to be interesting is the government shows this organization filed its registration in 2005 and their website (the organization) shows that it has apparently been around much longer, 1993?

In my honest opinion, I think that some of these organizations whether they are made up of Barbadians, Caribbean people or otherwise, they will do whatever it takes to pander to their followers and lie to the government hoping never to be caught.

I hope that this organization or any other organization for that matter does not find themselves under the microscope of the IRS for what would be seen as an embarrassing moment.

16. Rodney // March 30, 2009 at 12:29 pm

… I am in Orlando and we know NABO have many problems.

Rodney // March 30, 2009 at 12:32 pm

Nothing under the current leadership will surprise me, I do not think NABO has had a honest election in years.
    ——————————————————————————————————————————-
    Am I to interpret that NABO does not have a good standing in the eyes of the public?

17. There is a tiny group of NABO dissendents made up of Cheryl Thompson, Ava Foster, Dale Husbands and Roslyn Sealy who engineered and executed these totally untrue statements about NABO and its’ execs. They called it a “takeover”, declaring themselves the new Executive, but a closer look show that there is a political motivator in Florida behind the plan. This whole thing is going to be reveal real soon.

18. @Sapidillo

NABO has a EID (employer Identification number) 20-2022227

What is a TIN/EIN?

Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) and Employer Identification Number (EIN) are defined as a nine-digit number that the IRS assigns to organizations. The IRS uses the number to identify taxpayers who are required to file various business tax returns. TIN/EIN are used by employers, sole proprietors, corporations, partnerships, nonprofit associations, trusts, estates of decedents, government agencies, certain individuals, and other business entities.

NABO FEDERAL CLASSIFICATION is : Charitable organization

The RULING DATE for it’s FEDERAL CLASSIFICATIN is : 4/2006

It’s IRS DEDUCTIBILITY is: Contributions are deductible

FOUNDATION CATEGORY is:
    Normally receives no more than one third of its support from gross investment income and unrelated business income and at the same time more than one third of its support from contributions, fees, and gross receipts related to exempt purposes.

ORGANIZATION TYPE is: Corporation

EXEMPTION STATUS is: no longer exempt

ADVANCE RULING EXPIRATION DATE is: 12/2009

FILING REQUIREMENT is: Form 990 – Not required to file (income less than $25,000)

NOTE: For a copy of the tax exempt status and/or financial filings submitted to the IRS for this organization, download the form by clicking on this link –

http://www.taxexemptworld.com/download.asp?file=4506.pdf

19. Adrian H we noticed the following in your last comment:

EXEMPTION STATUS is: no longer exempt

Does this mean that NABO EID has expired?

20. I just fax a filled out copy of form 4506 to the IRS.

21. No it does not. TIN/EID do not expire unless the organization does. In the case people, unless they die or become entitle to and is issued a SSN, social security number. At one point being the spouse and child of a US citizen, and not living in or at the time ever have lived in the US, My wife and son had TIN’s which allowed me to claim them on my tax returns. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways.

Definitions for you:

RULING DATE:
    the month and year of a ruling or determination letter recognizing the organization’s exempt status.

EXEMPTION STATUS:
    Type of exemption held by the organization

ADVANCE RULING EXPIRATIONDATE:
    A charitable organization exempt under IRC 501(c)(3) whose status as a public charity (rather than a private foundation) has not been determined generally will be allowed to operate as a public charity for a specified period of time. At the end of this time frame (expiration date), a final determination will be made as to the proper classification of the organization. This shows the month and year when an advance ruling is to expire.

So they sought and got “temporary” exempt status in 4/2006, and in 12/2009 that status will expire and a new more permanent determination will be made by the IRS.

The advance expiration date of 12/2009 is just to give heads-up that their “Generally” applied public charity status given in 2006 will end in 2009.

22. Thanks Adrian, we are glad that so far the legal requirements of NABO is checking out. It is Bajan after all.

23. The “tiny’ group that Desmond refered too consist of 70% of paid members to NABO. When you have a General meeting and you cannot supply financial statements you have a problem, this has always been a problem with NABO. Who gives over $5,000.00 to charity in cash. You have a tresurer who does not see the books, come people wake up and smell the roses

24. There is a story of a NABO executive

who was responsible for banking

monies raised at a big fuction in NY.

The story goes that the NABO executive

claims he was standing at a bus stop

with the attache case full of money. He

rested the case down and when he

turned around someone had stolen the

brief case and money. Story goes that

the same executive has returned to

Barbados from USA and currently

lives there comfortably.

25. the truth will / shall set you free

26. Jamaican/Bajan Avatar

Is the Ava Foster referred to the former Ava Clarke that played netball. Well let me tell you if that is the same person she is a boss when it comes to leadership. She was one of the pioneer behind netball being played in the USA. She was one of the few successful president in USA Netball. I recently was attending netball in Jamaica and the president of the Netball World Body had nothing was praises for Ms. Foster. She even admitted that she would love if she would come back to be an adminstrator for the game. Was it during the same conference in Barbados that Ms. Foster was in Barbados making a donation to QEH and giving a scholarship? Isn’t she chairman of one of the more recognized Bajan organizations in NY. I say all this to say that because of her experience she would not be part of any group if it weren’t in the best interest of Barbadians. Keep the bajan flag flying.

27. Uh hear bout this story and dis site last nite so uh cum brite and early dis marnin tuh see fuh muhself.
    Sumbudy tell muh dat NABO brek grund, dey cahn stay undagrun nuh mo foolen peepuls. man wen uh hear dis um did sound real scary doe dat evating wid dem doz be undagrun suh muc so, dat dum mek it to bajan underground. I tek my time and luk at dem documents and a heatwave went tru me. Dem betta report dem numbas tuh de irs but uh got a feel dat dah munney stash way in bim.
    Peepuls sum o dese orguns want exposing fuh true. F wuhna want tuh no f dem is real frauds, de irs got a numba tuh call tuh find out. Chek fuh wahnuh self um is publix enformashun, wuhna aint got tuh pay nuttin. De numba is 877-829-5500. wunna dat doan like pressing numbas doan bodda caus yuh got tuh press 2 and den 4 tuh talk wid sumbody dey. Like Bumba sey tell dem yuh wanna know if de orgun, national association of barbados organizations, wid de ein # um sumway pun de site got exem status and wuh is de clasifixtion. De irs teking way tax-emp lef & rite fuh de pass few years even frum churches en all. I gine cum bak tuh dis site and see how de story gine. Befo uh guh long leh muh lef yuh wid dis, one o dese days I lukkin fuh headlines dat de bajans home encluing de mcguffs and dem ova and away get rob by NABO tieves of USA.

28. David, as this NABO story unfolds, keep in the back or your mind that there is the possibility of a concerted effort to destabilize any and all efforts to bring economic enfranchizement to Black Barbadians, during a DLP goverment. I do not at this time find it to be purely coincidental that CLICO is under attack by the planter class, the BLP and a Mottley, I do not find it a mere happenstance that the CoB credit Union is embroiled with accusations of questionable spending and possible politically motivated business decisions, and to be in a relationship with a Mottley. niether will it surprise me if my research into NABO and it’s recent controversy has political overtunes that point to the BLP and a Mottley. I am researching.

@Rodney: Please educate me. You say that the tiny group, Desmond refered to represent 70% of NABO paid members. Now I do not know that NABO has individual members, I thought it’s membership consist of smaller groups and associations. Am i correct? Or are you saying that the names Desmond mentioned are in leadership positions of member groups of NABO????? I am learning

Earl Ashby: I do not know Earl personally, but i have met him in the past. He is associated with an association called the Caribbean Heritage. I must say that i have never heard of any problems with this group, and thats not to say that they are not any, but when i compared their public image with that of other bajan groups in Boston, they came up clean. More to come.

29. NABO is made up of member associations, each association is a member. You have to be financial to vote at meetings. The 70% was paid members.
    Ms. Foster and Ms Thompson and the others step up after the General Meeting in January 2009. The treasurer report was to be given on the Saturday and then the Sunday and only after much did something that seem to be a report was presented and same was quickly withdrawn. I have been around NABO from its formation, the ideas is great, but it need honest leadership. This is not the first time that NABO has had problems and all the problems go back to leadership.

30. Have you reviewed the financial report for the convention in Barbados? Take a look at them. By the way NCBAC has withdraw from any future ventures with the current NABO.

31. Thanks for you response.

Questions:

It is believed by me that Micheal Cummins is the principle founder of NABO. Is this correct?

Where does Micheal Cummins resides? Florida or Massachusetts?

When did Earl Ashby become chairman?

You state that NABO has had problems and all the problems go back to leadership.

What kind of problems?
    Were these problems visible and commented upon from it’s inception?

How long has Ava M Foster, Dale Husbands, Cheryl Sealy, et all been associated with NABO? and in what capacities?

32. @Adrian we hear what you are saying and like you we are monitoring several things which are unfolding. We would add also that as Bajans we want to be very responsible how we dissect this matter. At the end of the day we want to make our Bajan institutions better but at the same time we want to always represent the yellow blue.

A question to add to yours is why the address for NABO is changed with the IRS with such frequency.

33. Michael Cummings was not the principle founder. Ken Knight was the person that called the first meeting in Atlanta and out of that meeting NABO was born.
    Michael Cummins resides in Mass.
    Earl became chairman in January 2008
    Problems has always been financial and funny stuff with elections.

Dale Husbands and myself was at the first meeting in Atlanta, our association was a member then we elected not to be members, we again joined NABO expecting a change, but no change was taken place so we left again. We became a member again in January.

34. @ David
    No worries, I know how this game is played. The Bajan Diaspora is a large untapped FINANCIAL and potential political lobbying pool. Unfortunately this same diaspora is infected with any number of persons, who would unashamedly masked their greed political partisanship and lust for power under the guise of community spirited action, patriotism, and voluntarism. I am well schooled in the actions of such vultures and have an abundance of confidence and eagerness to ferret them out.

@Rodney:
    I have no interest you guiding me through this NABO controversy. I have seen the report, and I have heard tit bits of your concerns, and accusations from Desmond regarding, alledged actions by Ava Foster and company. What I would like for you to do is make available to the forum the Bylaws of NABO, so that we can see for ourselves what the rules and polices are. In addition to your concerns what do you intend to be your actions to turn things around at NABO should you or those seeking the leadership so gain control?

before answering those questions? Try these first.

What led you and Dale Husbands to reject membership on that first meeting? what were you looking for that was not present?

What change were you expecting? did you give voice these changes and what was the response?

35. @Rodney:
    I can research myself, but i will ask you first.
    What year was the first meeting held in Atlanta by Ken Knight?

How long was Ken Knight the chairman?

Who succeeded him?

What process was used in that succession?

Was NABO reported to be a non-profit organization during those years?

What were your concerns during the Mike Cummins chairmanship?

Where is Ken Knight these days?

Were they any accusasion of the current kind, level at Ken during his time?

36. I took up the challenge by calling the IRS. I was told by a representative that “this organization (NABO) is no longer tax-exempt as of December 2007.” I asked what does that mean. The rep informed me, “any donations made after December 2007 are not tax deductible.” And, in terms of its classification, it was originally given a 501c3 as a public supported charity.

On another note, itโ€™s my understanding that the organization, Caribbean Heritage Association (CHA) has had its share of problems under the leadership of Earl a former President, although it has a reputation of trying to stay on the straight and narrow.

Maybe the breaking of this story will send a strong message to other organizations that there is always Big Brother looking on. Let us hope that organizations, big and small, be trustworthy to its members and to the public at large whether near or far.

37. Adrian I have a copy of the by laws I can send them via email I do not know how to attach them to this blog

38. If my memory services it was 1991 or 1992.
    Ken was chair for 4 years. Mike Cummings took over for his first term as chair.
    At that point NABO did not have a 501 C3.
    Ken is now in Barbados. Nothing during his time. We left during his chairmanship due to election process.
    We rejoined when Adrian Maynard then membership chair assured us that all was above board.

39. Point. We left during Mike first term as chair NOT Ken

40. @Rodney

Email BU and we will provide the link to the BU family.

Click on the email button at the top.

41. Sapidillo,
    CHA is a reputable organization based on my research. It had 4 Presidents over the last 23 years with Earl Ashby serving as VP for 5 years, President for 5 years and now President again for the last 2 years. Witnesses told me that it has been very stable community and financial wise with many succesfull programs ranging from scholarships to the needy and homeless. Perhaps a positive story of a grounded organization would make great public news for a change.

42. Adrian,
    I’m surprised you have to ask where is Ken Knight these days, or are you being facetious. He’s running the NCF. The chairman.

43. By Laws sent I hope you get them.

44. @Sap
    Confusing to say the least. True NABO is no longer tax exempt as of 2007. The IRS did away with the advanceExpiration Date in June of 2008. It was applied on a yearly basis. Another change is that Tax exempt organization would now have to file 990-n for any money collected.
    NABO is no longer tax exempt and is required to file something with the IRS no matter what. Question is, have they?

Attended to all this is the feeling that the BU family is being “used” to further the interest of a few in this fight, which could be political, personal or both. So what i will be doing is Identifying those Bajan organizations headed by Ava Foster, Dale Husbands, Cheryl Sealy and others, determine their IRS classification, filing status, tax ID etc and file a form 13909 if necessary on all of them. Form 4506-a which i sent in is for tax exempt organizations only.

Not being malicious, the results of this can be a benefit to those doing the right thing. I will champion their cause going forward.

45. NABO’s BY-Laws posted HERE

Thanks Rodney!

Also thanks to Adrian who is working hard to bring transparency to the issue. The BU household appreciates it.

46. BajanAuthor // March 31, 2009 at 11:51 am

Adrian,
    Iโ€™m surprised you have to ask where is Ken Knight these days, or are you being facetious. Heโ€™s running the NCF. The chairman.
    ===========================
    Why surprise? I know very little. Don’t know de man or why his locations and activity would have concerned me unti now. So he running the NCF? Given how political all appointments in Barbados are, this most likely makes him a DLP man. Since i have been told that i know who Mike Cummins is and that i wil see him soon (summer cricket in Boston) I will ask him and Earl Ashby which bajan political party they have always favoured. What are the bajan political affiliations of the people Desmond mentioned?

@Desmond: Your opinion of the CHA is the same one I have heard. People in Boston that I know, and that have difficulty saying anything positive about anybody could only muster uh “I don’t anything bout dem CHA people dem don’t mix” Which is to be translated “There isn’t anything bad and juicy to say” lol!

47. Sorry, Adrian, I just thought most people knew who was in charge of the NCF. Perhaps it is my personal interest in cultural activities in Barbados that informs my awareness of Ken Knight’s whereabouts.

48. How come the focus is not on what caused this break-up? Why the treasurer was unable to give a financial report?
    How come the repoted donation amount an the financial report changed from $10,000 to $5,017.00?
    Who was the donation to and why was it in cash? If they trully made a donation, don’t they know the difference between 5 an 10?
    Why Earl Ashby refused to state how much Air Jamica contributed as a sponsor?
    These should be the focus. NABO has always been supported by both the DLP abd BLP.

49. Read some correspondence and see if this helps to figure out the discontent.

Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2008 11:35:54 -0700
    Subject: Re: Sponsorship money/registration money
    To: caribenter@aol.com
    CC: eashecs@hotmail.com; Rupert.Forde@leg.gov.mb.ca; bajan5425@yahoo.com; nppar23@googlemail.com; johnellis700@hotmail.com; SANDRA62@ROGERS.COM; hillypad@hotmail.com; jcarring@sympatico.ca; acrc-advice@tiscali.co.uk; Sandra_asgill@och.ca; blackrockboy@hotmail.com; j.perrystraker@btinternet.com

Hello Mike,
    Thanks for your response.
    I did mention to the people at our general meeting last night that NABO is not asking Canada or the UK to put up anything toward the conference. Also, that they are expenses which have to be paid up front and it would be easier to pay them from where you are than trying to pay them from Barbados.
    However, when it comes to money, our people here do ask questions.

So far, I have six names submitted to me of people who will be attending. Three more have hinted that they might be attending. The hint is because they have recently returned from Barbados and are trying to decide if to go back so soon. Cost of travel is a factor from the west coast. Two more have requested information on the packages.

Incidentally Mike, a couple of the people at the meeting said they have attended receptions at the Prime Minister’s residence. They spoke very highly of the receptions.

Now, having said all that, send me something in a separate e-mail I can forward. I am trying to do the best I can to sell the conference out here, but I have some tough people to face.

Thanks,
    Grafton

—– Original Message —–
    To: graftonrouse@shaw.ca
    Cc: eashecs@hotmail.com ; Rupert.Forde@leg.gov.mb.ca ; bajan5425@yahoo.com ; nppar23@googlemail.com ; johnellis700@hotmail.com ; SANDRA62@ROGERS.COM ; hillypad@hotmail.com ; jcarring@sympatico.ca ; graftonrouse@shaw.ca ; acrc-advice@tiscali.co.uk ; Sandra_asgill@och.ca ; blackrockboy@hotmail.com ; j.perrystraker@btinternet.com
    Sent: Tuesday, April 22, 2008 5:08 AM
    Subject: Re: Sponsorship money/registration money

Grafton,

I thought we as a committee agreed on the ground rule and arrangements in planning this conference. People attending this conference has no business to be concern with what happens to the registration money on this conference. Are they concerned about who is paying for all the arrangements in Barbados. Grafton while we are at it can you tell me how many of these concerned people are attending this conference to make an impact or to help defer the cost of this conference.
    In a nut shell tell them its not of there business. I am sure another members on this committee will back me on this.

Mike Cummins
    Committee chair

—–Original Message—–
    To: caribenter@aol.com
    Cc: Jessica Carrington
    Sent: Tue, 22 Apr 2008 2:18 am
    Subject: Sponsorship money/registration money
    Hello Mike,
    I was thrown a couple of questions tonight by people planning to attend the conference. Perhaps you could give me a response which I can forward to them.
    If sponsorship money is helping to pay for the cost of the conference in Barbados, what happens to the registration money collected in the US?
    If registration money collected in the US will remain in the US and perhaps Canada and the UK, shouldn’t people register in Barbados if they want, to ensure the money stays in Barbados?
    They say the process is not clear enough for their liking and I don’t want to muddy the waters even further by giving an incorrect answer. Thanks,
    Grafton

50. Right you are Coldone.

Everything went wrong because Earl, Mike, and the other previous leaders refused to answer to the Board of Directors. It was not a tiny group that got rid of them. I saw the minutes, and they were over ten members of the Board in that meeting when the decision was made. Given that only 15 members are paid up with NABO, that makes it a majority vote in terms of representation.

The financial report was really bad, and the one that replaced the original one was no better. There is a lot of money that is unaccounted for, and that is why the old executives were told to go take a hike.

A 40,000 donation totally disappeared and was never accounted for on the report. The Canada and US reports did not report similar income values.

If I were a member of the board, I would have called for their heads too. What they do reflects on everyone else and the entire board is accountable.

NABO should be scrapped entirely. There is too much negative stuff.