Robert MacLellan Managing Director, MacLellan & Associates
Robert MacLellan
Managing Director,
MacLellan & Associates

It was encouraging to read that the President of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association, Sanovnik Destang, is raising some of the serious financial concerns currently being suffered by hotels in the region. Speaking during a press conference this week at Caribbean Travel Marketplace in Antigua, he said that the time had come for “fair play” across the accommodation sector.

Mr Destang highlighted that Airbnb and similar platforms have become major competitors to hotels in the Caribbean. The crucial issue with Airbnb and other short-term villa and condo rental operators across the Caribbean is that many of them are accused of functioning outside traditional tax and regulatory systems. CHTA’s recommendations include mandatory registration and minimum operating standards for these properties and that they should be subject to the same tax rate as hotels. 

These are fair and reasonable goals. Mr Destang said, “Everyone should make a fair contribution.” It is to be hoped that the CHTA can achieve the understanding and support of Caribbean governments to legislate and make these vital recommendations a reality.

Of course, the much larger elephant in the room is the cruise industry. Cruise ships make full use of the attractions and the infrastructure of the Caribbean islands but pay only minimal passenger port taxes. Caribbean hotels depend on the winter season’s higher occupancy and room rates for their year-round viability but that is exactly when the region is impacted by the highest density of cruise ship operations in the world. Today’s giant cruise ships have multiple on-board leisure facilities and are now floating resorts, competing directly with the Caribbean’s hotels.

Should the hotel industry not also be lobbying governments in the region for a more equitable rebalancing of the tax burden between the cruise industry in favor of air travel and hotels. That adjustment in taxation would boost stay-over visitor tourism, which provides a more direct economic benefit to the islands, as confirmed in the 2025 World Bank report.  

37 responses to “More Financial Pressure for Caribbean Hotels”

1. Capitalism in tourism has gone mad.

Such madness leaves no room whatsoever for anybody else but their platforms, their cartels, their associations.

Capitalism always moves towards monopoly while pretending that competition is a necessary constant, as it puts elected governments to work as its agents in achieving that dastardly aim.

We have seen a tourism industry developed from its infantcy where a broad range of people could have made a good living, to now the virtual exclusion of everybody else but the controllers of capital.

However, with the passage to time, the older the industry gets, the more extractive it has become. Long gone are the days when maids, waiters, barmen and security guards could have built houses gradually from tips and points.

Its level of rent seeking ranges from squeezing taxi drivers to wall, at the lower end, to efficiently extracting tax free regimes, forever, from successive regional sellout governments. Of course, these rentiers extract rent everywhere else within the value chain.

Maybe it’s time to consider doing a study of costs and benefits to the country, the region. This writer would guess that it would show a net negative.

2. The challenge for all of us in the region is to decide if we want a high head count or a high spend per head. Once we can agree on that we can then move from there. The politicians like to speak of total visitors compared with last year, but the businesses need higher spend per head to keep the doors open.

I am not a fan of the cruise ship sector especially not today. They take all they can off their passengers and leave them with little to spend on the islands. They have become floating Holiday Inns now as opposed to what they were 25 years ago, with smaller boats and heavier on island spend. Ask our local retailers how much high end stuff they now sell duty free compared to 20 years ago.

3. “Barbados has secured a US$260m ($520m) precautionary credit line from the International Monetary Fund.”

4. Ha ha ha
    Always knew that the day would come when these predators would squirm and get the taste of their own medicine…
    What Caribbean Hotels what?!
    … not in Brassbados!
    … perhaps in St Lucia and Grenada.

These absentee-owner ‘modern plantations’ have simply modernized the old sugar plantocracy systems, by exploiting fragile local resources to satisfy the greedy tourism market – while retaining the main profits overseas, and even exploiting local assets for their own benefit rather than the Country’s.

Pay taxes shiite!!
    They manipulate ‘expenses’ and ‘book-losses’ to MINIMIZE tax obligations, while seeking EVERY POSSIBLE means of extracting ’tax holidays’, tax-free status, tax waivers, (taxpayer-funded) grants – such as the multi-million Covid heist, etc…

Most holiday bookings are paid overseas – and the money stays there, while the owners BORROW local funds from the foreign-owned banks here, to cover operating expenses, and charge the interest to expenses to offset tax liabilities.

Our politicians are easily co-opted into the scam – with an invitation to dinner, a staycation, a trip, or a nice ‘political donation’… while the place is bled dryer that even was the case back in the sugar days.

It is like taking candy from a baby … or rather, from a BB brass bowl.

But Karma is a bitch…!
    …and ALL BRASSBOWLERY WILL be justly rewarded!

Between Trump’s Iran adventure, our local political death-march, and this new pandemic scare, Bushie expects that Tourism will be hard pressed to survive…
    So those hotel donkeys’ may be looking for some rough grass.

Daylight can only run till sunset…

What a time!!!
    So much Karma… So little time!!!

5. mickle muckle Avatar

The War in Iran is alleged to boost Caribbean tourism
    as tourists stopped going to UAE to spend their mickles*

(*) “Every mickle mek a muckle” is a popular Jamaican Patois proverb meaning that small, incremental efforts, savings, or actions add up to a significant result over time. It emphasizes patience, consistency, and resourcefulness, similar to the idiom “every little bit helps” or the Scottish saying, “many a mickle makes a muckle”.

@ Davey
    there is a thing waiting in your firewall

6. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE MACHIAVELLIAN DEFENDERS OF FREEDOM & DEMOCRACY – THE ‘god’ THAT FAILED ARE [2] BOOKS THAT SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING FOR THE GREAT & SMALL GIVEN THE TIME WE LIVE IN

The more I interact with BU, the more I realize that the Blogmaster may need to post a “MENTAL HEALTH WARNING” on the lintel post of this blog – for reasons which I will NOT* state now, but @ a future time!!!

“DEMOCRACY: THE ‘god’ THAT FAILED” is, by any measure, & by any stretch, a radical piece of work…

It challenges the most fundamental assumptions of modern political life…

Many assume democracy is superior to monarchy, that universal suffrage is desirable, that equality before the law is a moral imperative, and that the state has a legitimate role in social and economic life…

The book has been “frenetically cheered and thunderingly damned”!!!

Its admirers see it as a bracing critique of the pathologies of modern welfare democracies, the short-term thinking, the deficit spending, the regulatory expansion, and the erosion of civil society…

Its detractors see it as a dangerous flirtation with authoritarian nostalgia and a rationalization of discrimination and exclusion!!!

What makes the book genuinely interesting, beyond its provocations, is the incentive-based analysis at its core…

The author, German utilitarian Hans-Hermann Hoppe asks a question that most political theorists ignore – how do the property and incentive structures of different political systems affect the behavior of rulers?

His answer may be too neat, his historical examples too selective, and his conclusions too extreme – but the question itself is worth asking…

Whether one accepts Hoppe’s conclusions or not, the book has succeeded in its primary aim – to force readers to defend their democratic assumptions, rather than simply assuming them…

In an era of declining faith in democratic institutions, rising populism, and widespread delegitimation of political elites, Hoppe’s analysis, whatever its flaws, speaks to real anxieties that mainstream political theory has been slow to address…

The reason I cited this political theorist is because your politicians need to spend some time “READING” and others need to question their set of assumed values…

I have not even begun the process of dealing with the book – “THE MACHIAVELLIAN DEFENDERS OF FREEDOM” by James Burnham, for again, there are too many assumed values that have not held up to analytical scrutiny…

In Britain, and in its former colonies, the shackles of a tainted past past still “HOGTIES” many, if not all, liberal democracies, given Hoppe characterizes democracy as “publicly-owned government” and monarchy as “privately-owned government,” arguing that democratic leaders, acting as temporary caretakers, have higher time preferences and thus incentivize excessive spending, debt, and exploitation compared to monarchs who treat the state as personal property to preserve its long-term value…

The book, which helped popularize Hoppe in far-right discourse, critiques universal suffrage, advocates for the alignment of conservatism and libertarianism, and proposes secession and competitive city-states as pathways to liberty…

SO FAR NOTHING HAS WORKED DEMOCRATICALLY AND TARZAN KEEPS SWINGING FROM THE CHANDELIERS

#Democracy2026

#WorldInUpheaval

#ThyKingdomCome

7. “All my economic predictions are being fulfilled. I have been saying for the last
    6 years, that Barbados will be in some type of IMF PROGRAMME for YEARS to come, given its heavy spending policies, no economic diversification, and as long as Barbados remains a small, open, foreign exchange constrained economy.

Barbados is now replicating the Jamaican experience, which the late PROF OWEN ARTHUR and myself researched in the 1970s. Between 1977 and 1984, Jamaica experienced about 6 IMF agreements including STAND BY arrangements.

Barbados is in a debt TRAP, which cannot be solved easily, because the country earns very little foreign exchange, but we still want to spend and borrow money as though this tiny economy is a DEVELOPED country. We just squandered precious money on a festival called CARIFESTA. IMAGINE THAT. Precise links between borrowing and investing seem not to be well established.

PROF MICHAEL HOWARD”

8. So far Barbadians have not been told the amount of the commitment fee being charged by the IMF for the standby line of credit.

9. going down the sub prime route Avatar
    going down the sub prime route

The alternative is going bankrupt and then begging and borrowing going down the sub prime route

10. @ David

Well we were never told the cost of debt restructuring either so no surprise. There will have to be a fee from the IMF for supplying a credit facility, which would have nothing to do with the interest rate on funds when not if, we draw on them.

11. @John A

Have no issue with the standby arrangement given the global market uncertainty, what we are asking is for transparency.

12. @ David

I agree with you.

13. @ David

UWI is continually criticised by certain members of the ‘BU intelligentsia.’

That the university is useless and its graduates are ‘cave hillised’ idiots. 😂😂

Yet, you conveniently reference comments made by Michael Howard and Anthony Wood? 🤔🤔

14. @Artax

Because UWI comes under criticism “because” many feel it continues to under deliver, it does not mean that all graduates from there are idiots.

15. True dat, @Boss.
    “Because UWI comes under criticism “because” many feel it continues to under deliver, it does not mean that all graduates from there are idiots.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

Even some that call themselves ‘economist’ (whatever the hell that is…) are disposed to have basic common sense.
    Shiite!! – even one or two of the lawyers have been impressive citizens, and the story of the ‘historians’ is still awaiting closure.

A country invests HEAVILY in a university as a mechanism to accelerate its human capital development, so as to be as productive as needed for the successful advancement of that society.

If, eighty years later, the general output from that university are;
    – in need of line-of-credit support from former enslavers
    -hopelessly indebted to Tom, Dick and IMF
    -depending on the sale of family assets to strangers (FDI) to buy necessities
    -excluded from the ownership of national assets
    -largely excluded from the management of national entities (except the public service – which is in such shambles that we routinely hire foreigners to run the QEH, BWA and even TOURISM industry.
    -unable even to provide an adequate supply of BASIC NURSES needed by citizens…
    -and cannot get one shiite to work – despite the lotta hands on deck, and the millions of dollars wasted.

Then that university is a waste of time and money.

Matt. 7:17
    A good tree produces good fruit, and a bad tree produces bad fruit.
    A good tree can’t produce bad fruit, and a bad tree can’t produce good fruit.
    So every tree that does not produce good fruit is chopped down and thrown into the fire.

Yes, just as you can identify a tree by its fruit, so you can identify people by their actions, …and also a university by the RESULTS of its output.

16. Bushie

What a contradiction. Further, you are so blindly led by the same people who both wrote this socalled Matthew and constructed the miseducation system.

Never has there been an instance where an accepted dogma from your lying book ever been questioned, by you!

However, you feel emboldened to question everything else, and rightly so!

And weee agree! Every shiiite should be ruthlessly interrogated, everything, over and over again, for nothing is not and has never been always true or false.

But you have your special barley field, which is never to be burnt, by you!

Cogh blind yuh, Pacha will like to burn you both.

17. prejudge [with extreme prejudice, dogma, propaganda etc] Avatar
    prejudge [with extreme prejudice, dogma, propaganda etc]

“True dat, @Boss.

“Because UWI comes under criticism “because” many feel it continues to under deliver, it does not mean that all graduates from there are idiots.””

When people prejudge [with extreme prejudice, dogma, propaganda etc] they eventually reach a realisation they were Pete Tong [wrong] all along

e.g. the West is beginning to realise China are not bad guys just because they are a growing superpower and the West are simply hyper paranoid about equality and a level playing field

the West should stop supporting the genocidal murderers in the racist apartheid State of Israel

18. @BU.David: “Because UWI comes under criticism because many feel it continues to under deliver, it does not mean that all graduates from there are idiots.

To share a true story… I was invited to present a proposed course for the UWI on hardware design. To four Computer Science Professors at BB.UWI.

I drew a simple entity relationship on the whiteboard.

All the professors sighed, and one said “None of our students would understand that.

19. University of Life Avatar
    University of Life

Caribbean students are more intelligent and qualified than US students
    hence they thrive in USA
    University is more about partying and getting laid
    Intelligent students skip lectures and cram for exams in a couple of weeks using some swats lecture notes using the power of their memory to replicate the fresh gained knowledge in their brain
    10 out 10 for the comment
    (full stops are optional on the net)

20. That the university is useless and its graduates are ‘cave hillised’ idiots.

XXXXXXXXX

I COULD NOT AGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT EVEN THOUGH I MAY HAVE SOME ISSUES ON TOO MUCH OF THE FUNDAMENTALS ARE BASED ON THEORY BECAUSE MOST OF THE LECTURERS ARE BOOK WORMS NOT PRACTICAL INDUSTRY PROFESSIONALS COMBINING BOTH THEORY AND PRACTICAL IN KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER AND METHODOLOGIES.

MY SON GRADUATED UWI WITH A HONOURS DEGREE IN MARKETING AFTER ATTENDING COMMUNITY COLLEGE.

21. To share a true story… I was invited to present a proposed course for the UWI on hardware design. To four Computer Science Professors at BB.UWI.

I drew a simple entity relationship on the whiteboard.

All the professors sighed, and one said “None of our students would understand that.

XXXXXXXXXX

FIRST OF ALL HAVING TUTORED AT UWI CAVEHILL BARBADOS THEY DON’T HAVE PROFESSORS THEY HAVE LECTURERS.

SECONDLY HAVING MYSELF ALSO BEING A FORMER PROFESSOR IN 2017 AT FLORIDA TECHNICAL COLLEGE IN MIAMI TEACHING UNDERGRADUATE COURSES THIS CAN BE SAID SAME OF USA STUDENTS DOING UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES IN COMPUTER SCIENCE OR COMPUTER INFORMATION SCIENCE.

SO THIS POINT IS MISLEADING AND SILLY.

22. The university has never taught the military sciences …..

Even as the illegal war on Iran, the proximate cause of the coming recession or depression, the determinants of economy, the New York Times is now saying will start again next week.

We’ve long seen that other forces are driving the criminal and fascist dictator in the USA into making some very big and reckless gambles to to save imperium it seems, though more personal reasons might be primarily be causal. But the more wars they engage, the more they will struggle, the faster shall be empire’s decline. History provides many examples.

Of course, Trump.has returned from China having caught very little within his begging bowl.

For war gives us meaning. In 250 years of socalled American independence very few were without a war of some kind.

War as an área of study would have been far more profitable, for the university is a neoliberal institution from which rent is constantly sought, than cricket and other parts of the curricular.

In Beijin, Xi referenced the great military general Thycidades, his wish that within great power rivalries the trap of this Atenean could be avoided. The Spartans were also in great power competition for hegemony over Greece. Of course, Xi was talking about the circumstances before the Peloponnesian War, about 400 years before Bushie’s christ was alledged to have been born of woman without sexual interaction. No fun at all!

It has seldom happened before. The creation of space for multiple great powers to coexist, one letting the other rise peacefully. Certainly, America is already at war with China and Russia both directly and with countries with which the Russians, the Chinese, have deep dependencies. These are the three great powers currently.

Some are saying that because of the war of aggression against Iran and Iran’s assumption of dominant control over the Straits of Hormuz, that Iran is now, or will soon be, a full member of the new Premakov Triangle in Central Asia – the central theatre of global control as long argued by Mckinder. Brezinski and others.That Iran now has strategic control over 30 percent of global petroleum output, the Persians being again another world power cannot be far off.

All kinds of wars – hybrid wars, sanctions wars, hot wars, resource wars, cyber wars, blockade wars, currency war, wars over the control of shipping lanes, etc. And the faculties at Cave Hill have never had any insight into the mechanisms of war and the impacts on their rudimentary areas of economy.

23. @BAje

Were you prime minister of Barbados by any chance?

24. UWI, Cave Hill needs to play a more relevant role in helping to shape our small and vulnerable society. The decay we are witnessing daily, crime, white collar corruption etc is related to how we educating ourselves.

25. @BAJE: “SO THIS POINT IS MISLEADING AND SILLY.

I respectfully disagree.

Did you know you can actually do calculus in hardware?

Opamps are your friend…

26. Erosion nature at work

Barbados is being impacted by a “pseudo sea level rise”, with unusually high water levels accelerating beach erosion and raising fresh concerns about the island’s long-term climate resilience.

Director of the Coastal Zone Management Unit (CZMU), Dr Leo Brewster, said the recent dramatic erosion affecting sections of coastline around the island was being driven by delayed freshwater flows from the Amazon and Orinoco rivers out of South America, creating elevated water levels that were now disrupting the normal recovery cycle of the beaches.

He was speaking in an exclusive interview with the Sunday Sun yesterday evening on Brownes Beach, Bay Street, St Michael, where a number of beachgoers have expressed concern about the dramatic erosion taking place at the popular spot.

Brewster explained that the phenomenon, commonly referred to as “green water”, normally occurs between February and mid-April but arrived unusually late this year.

“At this time of year we are experiencing unusual elevated water levels around the island. The rains in the Amazon and in Guyana have taken place later than normal and therefore we’ve now had a fresh pulse of fresh water coming up from the Amazon and Orinoco rivers that have made their way into the Caribbean.”

Delayed process

He noted that the delayed arrival was significant because beaches would usually be entering a recovery phase following the winter swell season.

“This green water normally comes between the period of February to about the middle of April, but it has come very late this year, which is now going to pose a problem for us. After the winter swell period, which is normally after the Easter swells have ended, there’s normally a recovery period for the beaches before the hurricane season.

“But we are now smack dab during that recovery period where we’re now experiencing these high water levels which is leading to increased erosion around the island,” the CZMU director said.

Over recent weeks, concern has been mounting among residents, beachgoers and businesses after noticeable sections of sand along several coastlines appeared to have been stripped away by persistent wave action.

For example, the stretch at Brownes Beach has seen coconut trees being uprooted and large amounts of sand being washed out to sea.

Coconut trees

“There used to be two more coconut trees here. One of them, we had to cut off the branches and we left the stump,” said a regular beachgoer, who declined to be identified.

He added he often snorkelled in the area, but the water was now so dirty now that this was impossible.

Another man walking along the beach and looking at the damaged areas stated: “We lost trees and the water get real dirty; we can’t even bathe.”

A supervisor at a condominium project currently under construction next to the Barbados Yacht Club, said he was also surprised by the sea action.

“We’ve built in this area before and this is the first time I’m seeing the sea act like that. There seems to be a change in the weather. The sea came in higher than usual and pull down our hoarding and wash out the mould,” he said.

Brewster dismissed suggestions that the issue was being caused by increased coastal development.

“There’s none,” he said when asked whether there was any link between the erosion and construction activity along the coast. “It’s island-wide.”

The coastal specialist warned that while the erosion itself was concerning, the greater long-term threat might lie beneath the surface, particularly for Barbados’ coral reefs.

According to him, the freshwater system surrounding the island allows greater light penetration into reef ecosystems, causing sea temperatures to rise more rapidly and increasing the risk of coral bleaching.

“We’ve already recognised that the water started to warm up since March, which means that we’re gonna be in for a very long and hot water temperature period around the island which will lead to increased coral bleaching around the island,” he said.

“That is gonna be one problem and that’s the most significant problem really.”

Brewster said the phenomenon was not entirely new, noting that Barbados has experienced similar elevated water events every four to five years. However, he cautioned that the impacts appeared to be intensifying.

“We saw it in 2022, we saw it in 2018, we saw it in about 2014 and I think 2010, but each time the water level has increased significantly.”

He recalled that during the 2022 event, water levels rose about 26 centimetres above normal.

“Twenty-six centimetres don’t sound like a lot of water to people, but you can see how much damage it’s doing to the island. In thinking on that, you could almost imagine that as like a false or pseudo sea level rise scenario where the water level has actually risen and Barbados is now being impacted by a sea level scenario.”

Brewster said the repeated events were forcing authorities and planners to rethink how future coastal infrastructure should be designed to withstand changing climatic conditions.

Don’t panic

Despite the visible erosion, he urged Barbadians not to panic or rush into drastic intervention measures, insisting that nature still needed time to restore balance.

“At this point in time, as we normally say with most swell and storm wave events, you have to let nature take its course. Because the elevated water is here, you cannot be going in and doing any sort of significant work to try and prevent erosion from taking place.”

He said interfering too early could actually prevent beaches from naturally rebuilding themselves once normal conditions return. “The sand will eventually come back. You just have to give it time.”

Still, he acknowledged that the pace and scale of the erosion had understandably unsettled many people.

“The concerns that people will have obviously is that the erosion looks significant, it looks rapid, it looks fast and no one has any idea how long it’s going to be. That, for us, is a reality because we can’t predict how long the green water is going to be here for.”

Brewster maintained that the CZMU consistently applies technical recommendations and setback guidelines during the planning process, even though final approvals might ultimately rest elsewhere.

“We do our job. My staff does their job. It’s at a different level where other decisions are made,” he said, while reiterating the need for Barbados to continue prioritising sustainable coastal management as climate pressures intensify. (CLM/CA)

27. “We do our job. My staff does their job. It’s at a different level where other decisions are made,” he said
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Is Dr Brewster suggesting that the professional advice from his department is often over-ruled by ‘higher political knowledge’ from clowns – most of whom (as we know from a Town on the Moon) cannot even manage a simple rum shop?

What a place!!

28. It is amazing Brewster has survived so long, the blogmaster recalls the then Thompson administration did everything it could to smear him by leaking a few sordid things his way of ‘operating’.

29. David,

Why so sarcastic to Baje all of a sudden? He has been making the exact same claims for several years. If you read a few biographies as I love to do, you understand that a driven person can live many different lives as they move along the pathway to their ultimate goal. I remember Baje said he had a point to prove to his stepfather, who was always putting him down. Sounds like a good reason to be driven. And he still sounds like he’s trying to prove a point, long past the time that it was needed. So, by the way, is Donald Trump trying to prove himself to his dead father, who thought he wouldn’t amount to anything. Turns out he is much, much more successful “businessman” now, with access not only to Amerikkka’s treasure chest, but Venezuela’s and many others. Until his China visit, he held the title of “the most powerful man in the world” , and he’s able to strip black Americans of all their rights, and murder millions of black people worldwide, at will, something his KKK father could only dream of doing. His father wojld be so proud. But he did not live to see it, so poor Donald will never be satisfied. Human beings are interesting creatures to study. Some people go the opposite direction and decide to prove their parents right.

Anyway, what do I know? I have been informed by the great GP that I am not qualified to study human beings. Apparently, you need a university permission slip to do that.

But this one question does Dumb Donna ask – from which university did the first university professor acquire his piece o’ paper? Whose signature was on the diploma?

Murdaaaah!

I’m off to talk to my plants. I am told I only make sense to them. I watch Youtube gardening videos, you see. No need to visit a farm anymore.

30. @Donna

Not enthralled by the resume. Just curious to know how far it extends.

31. Well we start by setting an example to the youth by practicing what we preach at state level in terms of adherence to law and transparency. Which brings me to a few questions.

What ever became of the stolen vehicles that were shipped into Barbados a few months back? Who were they shipped to and have the vehicles been sold and licensed at the BLA?

More recent who are the Bajans holding accounts at a certain bank that have been allegedly linked to money laundering in another country. Was headlines in the paper a few day ago but not a word since?

Now them is big crimes that all quiet, but if a small man tief 2 cans of cornbeef his name, address and picture would be plastered in the paper one time.

All these things the young people watch and wonder if we are a state with two sets of laws. One for them and one for the untouchables.

32. David,

Really. And here I was thinking you were questioning its veracity.

I am not enthralled either. Just saying it does not seem out of the realm of possibility for someone who felt that he had a point to prove.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Who said there were any Bajans having accounts at the bank?
    I “think” it was said, the locally registered bank, of a Swiss entity, was suspected of being involved in transactions related to 1MDB. For a grand total of US$1.7m.