naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. I took a long, long, look at all the documents and can see a pattern of poor record-keeping, suspicious expenditures, questionable travel-related expenses, and miscellaneous purchases of which their purpose have not been explained on the report.

We cannot let them get away with this. How come they are not defending themselves. Why are they so quiet. I suppose if I had no defense, I would have to keep quiet.

I also looked at the list of the organizations that called into the telecall to removed the bastards. Why didn’t Baltimore, Connecticut, Bermuda, and Philadelphia call in. Did they support the old executives.

Everytime I tell someone what is happening they act surprise. I only now realize that there is a veil of silence within NABO and the organization Presidents, those who did not do the right thing, have been keeping their members in the dark.

I will continue to make some calls and send out emails, cause people need to know what is happening.

2. @Bajan 2

I thought that I did make it clear that I was not following but these are simple matters. It is a question of a new leadership assuming office. I will go back up and read the responses. Did members meet and made a decision? That is critical. Of course the next thing would be the legality of the meeting in terms of Notice and agenda.

3. enough already Avatar

it is time to end this travesty, this has gone far enough let the courts deal with this now. do not know much about Mike Cummins but has known Earl Ashby for a long time; and if what is being said about him is true then i am shocked because it is not the person i know going on 20 years. Instead of going on and on about this on this blog the members …paying members of NABO should be getting together to solve this issue and penalise the guilty person. Go back to the money trail and start from there, make everyone that charged, billed or in any way use NABO money for anything no matter how small account for it. I am reading alot from people who are not members of any of the associations. The powers that be who emailed all of thoses documents and correspondence from the members of the boards have not done the association any justice, they killed just as well as the accused. I am out do not have any more time for this, when i donate it is to a deserving party of people not the haves who is looking to get more. see ya I am out

4. @Enough already

Torn between friendship, and truth. Often times friendship wins. I understand. Truth does not make good for sharing a good laugh, nor can you borrow hammer, dollar or wife from it. It is is this light that i view this Lashing out at the messengers. Will people join this crusade of silence?

….anyway see ya! lol!

5. enough already Avatar

@ Adrian Hinds
    you read and pick out some of message that you want to have issue and the ones that do not agree 100% with you. I am saying let this thing go thru the proper channels and stop the mud slinging, because when things like this happen all bajans inclusive will be tarred with the same brush. Friend or not there is one thing in bring a problem to light, but another thing when you proceed to sullied someone’s reputation without full disclosure. If it is proven that Earl and/or Mike misappropriated NABO’s money, by all means let them pay for it. Until the time that it is proven beyond any doubt that this is what happened every accused deserved the benefit of the doubt. What happened to innocent until proven guilty? So find some other person to destoy their character. i am sure alot more disservice is being done to undeserving Bajans out there. peace out.

6. @Enought already
    I am sure that made sense to you, but it did not to me especially when I try to apply it to the realities emcompassing this situation.

You said:
    Friend or not there is one thing in bring a problem to light, but another thing when you proceed to sullied someoneโ€™s reputation without full disclosure.
    ————————————————
    You are aware that we are at this place because of Earl and Mike’s refusal to answer legitimate questions from NABO member orgs.???? There has been no full disclosure, there is no intent to bring full disclosure to this issue by those two. Are you suggesting that NABO members wait in vain, refrain from publicaly commenting, and Mike n’ Earl retain their position?

Truly, reality is not something that you care for. Your friendship indeed matters most.

WHATS STOPPING THEM FROM FULL DISCLOSURE? AND WHY ARE YOU TELLING US TO CEASE AND DESIST, WITHOUT INSISTING OF THEM THAT THEY OPEN UP AND LET LOOSE?

Make a call and put your friedship to work for all Barbados.

Friendship i would bet.

The second torrent of emails will go out as summer and cricket reach high gear in Boston.

7. are you wanting to accuse me of destroying Earl and Mike’s character?

8. enough already Avatar

you are not judge or jury sounds to me you have a secret beef with these guys. You are frothing like a rabid dog while the powers that be at NABO are not doing what they are supposed to to bring closure to this situation. as i said earlier you have picked out the portion of my statement that you did not agree. so my impression of you is that “if you do not agree with everything I say then you are against me” I know people like you and just as I steer clear of liars, thieves and bullies i also steer clear of people like you. if it is proven that Earl is guilty of wrong doing than i will steer clear of him as well. Please do not start a debate with me on right or wrong because I know who you are Mr. Hinds. Take my statements the way they were intended….when Earl is proven guilty in the proper arena then I will judge him guilty, but not in your kangaroo court. And I hope for his sake his is not involved in misusing NABO’s money, because then he won’t be the person I know. so until he is proven to have done something wrong disband your court of public opinion

9. @
    enough already
    These people were given the chance to come clean, a deadline of Feb 28 2009 was set for audited financial statements to be presented. The time came and pass and not a word from them.
    The organizations af NABO called a meeting and voted them out of office for failure to produce what was requested, these same people has refused to step down.
    Why are you picking on Adrian? you should read the rest of this blog and see how many people know what is going on. Why don`t you tell your friends to turn over NABO books, bank statement to the interim chair.

10. @ Rodney
    Thanks but i don’t need any defense. This person doesn’t scare me. His or her tactic is common practice.

Enough Already:
    You knowing me doesn’t surprise me. I have not made any attempt to hide, like you are. I would dare you to indentify yourself, but i know you can’t. I might just laugh. I will continue to debate with anyone the rights and wrongs of this situation. You can continue to be guided by your friendships, and assume power and notoriety, I will be guided by truth.

Facts of this situation as i saw them and that can be justified by my responses, in this tread.

When i first saw it, I did not know who the principles were.

Someone name Pat told me that I knew who Earl Ashby was, I responded that i did not unless the person played cricket. I got a hold of a photo and then i realize that i had met Earl once. Once.

Up to this point i believed the take over to be an orchastrated attempt with political overtones. I even stated such and sided with one Desmond as he sought to defen Earl and his executive.

I told Rodney that he could not lead me in how I saw this situation and demanded that he produce the bylaws.

After reading the bylaws and reviewing the actions of the outsed executive I had to side with the truth.

My issue with Earl and Mike are two fold and only has to do with their Actions. The refusal to answer questions and declaring the organization dead. Not demiting offices and allowing the organization to move on.

What have I done anyway to have anger you? and would like the opportuity to tell me to my face what all that you are saying?

The next time i see Tim Downes, I will know by his response if he and Enough Already are one and the same. I cannot possiblly fear either of you.

11. what is this nonsense about my court of public opinion? I have a court? I have people doing my bidding? There is clearly something I am missing. ha ha ha lol! If you don’t indentify yourself to me, I might as well continue doing whatever it is that irks you. ha ha

I must say i don’t like your tone, it suggest to me that you see yourself as very important and that i must too. Clearly that will be a problem, where that the case.

12. Did i say that Mike and or Earl misused funds? where is this recorded?

Did you miss my request/question to the new interim chair, “would you concider a compromise of no court action, no more comments on this, in exchange for Earl and Mike demitting office? Of course it takes two to tango and as such would require commitments from them both, but dem aint speaking, and there in lies the problem.

Show me where i sling mud? or are am i now the poster boy for all those who have questions, and concerns about the handling of NABO affairs? I don’t control anybody. It is my not fault if by the power and or persuasiveness of my arguments people “buy into” what I am saying? Maybe they too relish the truth. This does not mean that am suddenly interested in joining or created a group. I have no such interest in leading people, or being a part of any group.

13. I still don’t know you but you know me. Call me and cuss me out. 617-529-2962

14. Uh heading home now, and uh gine leave you with this.

To err is human, and as such i have made my share of errors and mistakes and will continue to do so as long as I am a live. Such is life. It has never been my place to judge from on high those of my fellow human beings who suffer the same affliction I do. I stand ready to admit my mistakes no matter what, so much so that often time those of us who pretend that we are prefect and beyond making mistakes or catorgorize mistakes in such was as to preclude themselves and give sufficient room to criticize others would look at me to be an idiot, for i believe in owning up and LEARNING from one’s mistakes no matter what.

So I am not a Judge and Jury and can only be concidered such had Mike and Earl admitted to mistakes if any where made, acceed to the request for information and had attended the conference call with the support that they are known to have within NABO, AND I STILL LAUGHED AT THEM, but atlast we can’t, and we would not be discussing this, for they would not have been deposed.

Call muh man, leh we talk. ha ha ha ha If you don’t have a happy Easter.

15. @enough already

please don’t blame me for what “person of interest” said above. I have said before I do not know anything about Earl Ashby neither do I know or control anyone who does. So please don’t ask me to call off or to disband this or that. I don’t have nuh control over anything.

16. no dirty laundry Avatar
    no dirty laundry

@person of interest
    You have made a big mistake by not giving your name, and you may as well, because every one knows Earl and his wonderful and beautiful daughter who do not deserve this treatment on a blog, but as much as you said about him, you give more than enough information. If you have this matter in court, please leave in court, do not do this because the law can see your signature all over this and it can lead to complications. Reconnect with your daughter sooner than later, repair what ever breaks that may have occurred. I see Earl and her together everywhere and she is so happy. She still have a young life, be part of it. This is not the forum to do this…..please…….

17. person of interest Avatar
    person of interest

i wonder why some people are so frightened about what might actually come to light about Earl Ashby or Michael Cummins . This time it is all on record there is nothing to hide. keep digging and the truth will come to light

18. to the interim leadership – Go ahead and start anew. Barbados needs representation abroad. Let Earl and his compadres keep the debt that they have incurred. If you take up the reins you will be responsible for it.

They will pay because their reputation have been ruined by their own hands.

19. This is the best Earl Ashby could do as a comeback. Issues still not addressed. Note the organizations that are NOW financial; after the fact.

April 8, 2009 Members of the Board of Directors and all interested parties,
    Ms. Cheryl Thompson had informed all of you that she had chaired a teleconference meeting on March 8th. 2009. Ms. Thompson claimed the meeting was in keeping with the NABO constitution which requires ten (10) organizations to request such meeting in writing to the organizationโ€™s secretariat. I take it Ms. Thompson declared herself secretary and chairman because no such request was received by the NABO secretary.Ms. Thompson also claimed there were 70% of the financial members present. We looked at the roll call of those who participated in the meeting, and there were six (6) financial organizations with legitimate representation present. On March 8th. 2009 NABO had twelve (12) financial organizations and to date sixteen (16) organizations out of twenty (20) are financial. I take it Ms. Thompson had also declared herself treasurer.Ms. Thompson even went further by conducting an election and declared that members of the executive board have been removed from office.Members and interesting parties – this is why we have a constitution which protects the executive board from such atrocious acts; we assure you that this board is very much in place and that assurance is confirmed by the majority of our membership. There was a resolution to that effect signed by twelve (12) financial organizations namely:United Bajans of AtlantaBarbados Association of St. Thomas and St. John (USVI)Caribbean Heritage Association, Inc.Barbadians and Friends Social Club (BVI)Barbados American Society of HartfordBarbados American Organization of Philadelphia Inc.BIM-Bajans in Melbourne & NeighborsBarbados UH CUM FRUMBarbados Cultural Committee of BostonBarbados Association of Washington, DCBarbados Association of CaliforniaBarbados Association of AtlantaAs for the many scandalous accusations levied by the underground paper/website, the Nation newspaper and the numerous emails circulated towards members of this executive board, we refuse to respond to such accusations at this time for the following reasons:1. We have always adopted the policy that it is totally improper to discuss the organizationโ€™s business in the print or electronic media.However, I took the liberty of granting Mr. Tony Best from the nation newspaper an interview. We spoke for over an hour as I relay our side of the story. Mr. Best chose to only write 1 % of the conversation of which he interpreted me to say that NABO is dead. 2. We feel that we cannot fairly and properly defend ourselves and this organization without being able to present the documented facts. That is why a court of law is conducted in a room where you can look your accuser(s) in the eyes and not hide behind a newspaper, a phone, radio or computer.I truly, understand the feelings of the concern bajans and their outcry for answers, but they must be patient. It is very easy to make accusations, but not as easy to defend those accusations. I am asking that they allow us the appropriate time and forum to present the documented facts to defend ourselves.3. This situation has gone beyond organizational issues; it has gotten to personal attacks on personโ€™s character. Therefore, it is inadvisable for us to respond or make statements without legal advice or representation.Folks, this group has an agenda to destroy NABO and then ultimately walk away. As you can see, one of them has already done so. Ask yourself: if NABO is so corrupt why is it that all eleven (11) members on the executive board are still together and fully committed to itsโ€™ causes and goals.All those who need to know the facts are invited to come to South Carolina in July. There the truth will be told and what dignity thatโ€™s left in this organization will be shown for all to see. I can assure you our hands are cleaner than those of our accusers. I assure you Mike Cummins, myself or any member on this executive board has done anything wrong. All we have done for the past five (5) years were to make personal and financial sacrifices to make a better NABO. Look what it has gotten us, our names drag through the mud, internet, newspaper, etc. by those who have made very little or no contribution towards the success of this organization. For the record, the conference will still be taking place in Charleston, South Carolina from July 9th to 12th at the Francis Marion Hotel. To register please go to our website http://www.naboinc.org. Earl AshbyChairman

20. enough already Avatar

you go Earl keep your head up. I hope when everything comes out in the open that this web site creator and all the ones that blogged in with their vicious and mudslinging statements would have the guts to apologise. success to you and the real members of NABO on the upcoming conference in July. Cheryl Thompson and her cronies should be ashamed of themselves for bring down the organisation like this. People in glass houses should not throw stones and Ms Thompson knows they are not lily white.

21. @Concerned:
    All those who need to know the facts are invited to come to South Carolina in July. There the truth will be told and what dignity thatโ€™s left in this organization will be shown for all to see. I can assure you our hands are cleaner than those of our accusers. I assure you Mike Cummins, myself or any member on this executive board has done anything wrong.
    ————————————————-
    Are you Earl Ashby?

If I go to South Carolina, and it is a distinct possibility i will do so, how can i be assured that I (those who need to know) will hear answers and responses to the charges laid? Will you speak to these issues in open conference? Maybe “those who need to know” has been decided by you or you really meant “those directors who need to know”. I am seeking answers because the same email highlighting the nationnews story, and this blog, is being staged to be sent to an even larger mail list of Bajans in the North American Diaspora. I would not want anything in addition to a shaky economy and jobs market to effect attendance at this conference.

Will you speak to these issues in open conference?
    Or
    Will you address these issues at the Directors meeting?

22. @ Enough Already.
    For your sake I hope Earl can hold his head high. In addition to raise enough money from SC to pay off the Credit Card debt that continues to incur finance charges and late fees. Is this a “special meeting” being called by Earl Ashby? Were all the financial members invited to participate in this meeting. Where in the NABO’s constitution makes provision for such a meeting. Is this meeting going to be chaired by an arbitrator?

Just was made privy to the following.
    Very interesting. Still don’t understand why the BOD would have to wait until South Carolina to get minutes that are supposed to be distributed 2 weeks after meetings. It is now 3 months and the minutes from Houston is still to be received. Why wait until SC to find out if IRS taxes have been filed? Why wait until SC to find out why Michael Cummins would be signing to withdraw funds “as Immediate Past Chairman” when the constitution is very clear as to who the signatories should be. If this was a separate account set up for the Collaborative Conference why not sign as Chairman of the Collaborative Committee with the Treasurer who by the way was from NABO. Those other 2 organizations (Canada & UK) were really blind sided to allow the chairman and treasurer to be from the same organization NABO.
    These are issues that are part of the day to day activities of the organizations operations.

Cheryl you and your cronies continue to keep your heads to the sky. That’s where Earl and his ousted members can’t get at this stage of the game.

—– Forwarded Message —-
    To: aavmayn@aol.com; bajanrsealy@aol.com; bestra@aol.com; caribenter@aol.com; pemsilverspring@aol.com; dhusbands@atlas.valenciacc.edu; president@bafsc-bvi.org; icemaker5@bellsouth.net; jr3183@bellsouth.net; ralbow170@cfl.rr.com; bacspresident@comcast.net; kingstone60@comcast.net; miami@foreign.gov.bb; Earl Ashby ; ferdinandgill@hotmail.com; johnellis700@hotmail.com; jsylvesterthompson@hotmail.com; ranoughby@hotmail.com; mcvworrel@msn.com; cherylxthompson@sbcglobal.net; rcampbell@sonitrol.com; Anthia Benn-Buncome ; Ava Foster ; bajan_creighton@yahoo.com; barbadoswestindies@yahoo.com; dmorris1016@yahoo.com; Wayne Bynoe ; bajan5425@yahoo.com; directoreast@naboinc.org; directornorth@naboinc.org; directorsouth@naboinc.org; directorwest@naboinc.org; megreenidge@hotmail.com; blue514r@gmail.com
    Sent: Monday, April 13, 2009 1:08:30 AM
    Subject: Re: Important Information

April 8, 2009

Members of the Board of Directors and all interested parties,

Ms. Cheryl Thompson had informed all of you that she had chaired a teleconference meeting on March 8th. 2009. Ms. Thompson claimed the meeting was in keeping with the NABO constitution which requires ten (10) organizations to request such meeting in writing to the organizationโ€™s secretariat. I take it Ms. Thompson declared herself secretary and chairman because no such request was received by the NABO secretary.

The Secretary was being considered for removal, as well as other executives. It would be a CLEAR conflict of interest to have any one being considered for removal carry out the preparations for the process. Why do you continue to ignore the constitution and the laws of the state of Florida?

Ms. Thompson also claimed there were 70% of the financial members present. We looked at the roll call of those who participated in the meeting, and there were six (6) financial organizations with legitimate representation present. On March 8th. 2009 NABO had twelve (12) financial organizations and to date sixteen (16) organizations out of twenty (20) are financial. I take it Ms. Thompson had also declared herself treasurer.

No, I have not declared myself Treasurer. I obtained the list below, which was provided to me by the NABO Secretary per my written request for โ€œfinancial onlyโ€ organizations for the purpose of calling a Special Meeting:

Ms. Pauline Maynard, at that time, informed me that she had to โ€œrun everything by Mr. Earl Ashby firstโ€ prior to releasing any information, so I was pretty sure that the names below, having been run by the proper authorities, were authentic and representative.

— On Sun, 2/8/09, pemsilverspring@aol.com wrote:

Subject: LIST OF NABO MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS/ASSOCAITIONS
    To: cherylxthompson@sbcglobal.net, cherylxthompson@hotmail.com, avafoster88@yahoo.com
    Cc: naboexecutive@naboinc.org
    Date: Sunday, February 8, 2009, 6:30 PM

Dear Cheryl,

As requested, please find below a list of NABO organizations/associations; the names of their presidents with email addresses. Please note we are in the processing of updating our national directory which includes mailing addresses. I am asking the Regional Directors – Cora (East); Atley (North); John (West) and Dana (South) to take a look at the information provided below, and where necessary, make any corrections; you mght be aware of any recently held elections, and the results.

I hope you find this information useful.

Pauline

Barbadians and Friends Social Club (BVI)
    president@bafsc-bvi-org

Bajans of the Palm Beaches
    Mr. Jeffrey Craig, President
    jr3183@bellsouth.net

Barbados American Organization of Philadelphia, Inc.
    Ms. Pat Fergusson, President
    BAOP2@aol.com
    additional contact is Ivor Clark, blue514@gmail.com

Barbados American Society of Hartford
    Ms. Sheena Aimey-Petrolito, President
    sheenster@comcast.net

Barbados Association of Atlanta
    Mr. Darcy King, President
    kinstone60@comcast.net

Barbados Association of Bermuda
    Mr. Junior Watts, President
    barbados.association@gmail.com

Barbados Association of California
    Ms. June Small-Lashley, President
    june.small@probation.lacounty.gov

Barbados Assocaition of Jacksonville and Neighbors
    Mr. Wesley Lynch, President
    wesley_lynch@comcast.net

Barbados Association of St. Thomas and St. John (USVI)
    Ms. Anthia Benn-Buncome, President -elect
    abbuncome@vipowernet.net

Barbados Cultural Committee of Boston
    Mr. Richard Phipps, President
    rcphipps@att.net

Barbados Uh Cum Frum
    Ms. Gayle Hunte (contact)
    gayle_hunte@miltonhospital.org

Barbados Cultural Society of South Florida
    Ms. Roslyn Sealy, President
    bajansealy@aol.com

Barbados Association of Baltimore
    Mr. McVern Worrell, President
    mcvworrell@msn.com

Barbados Association of Washington DC
    Mr. Randy Maxwell
    ranoughby@hotmai.com

Caribbean Heritage Association, Inc.
    Mr. Earl Ashby, President
    eashecs@hotmail.com

United Bajans of Atlanta
    Mr Wayne Bynoe, President
    waynebynoe@yahoo.com

Young Barbadian Professionals Society
    Ms. Renee Cutting, President
    youngbarbadianprofessionals@yahoo.com

Barbados Cancer Association, USA
    Ms. Ava Foster, President
    avafoster88@yahoo.com

Barbados Association of Greater Houston
    Ms. Cheryl Thompson
    cherylxthompson@sbcgobal.net

BIM – Bajans in Melbourne and Neighbors
    Ms. Janice Bispham
    bajan5425@yahoo.com

CBO – Council of Barbadian Organizations, USA
    Mr. Marston Gibson, President
    bajan_creighton@yahoo.com

Barbados Association of Central Florida
    Dr. Dale Husbands, President
    dhusbands@valenciacc.edu

Since one can only work with the information provided by those whom we trust to act in good faith, the meeting was properly called in accordance with the information provided to us by the NABO duly elected Secretary, Pauline Maynard.

– (Were we deliberately deceived? A court of law would find that to be the case and most probably declare the list a valid one for the purpose of calling the Special Meeting. The standard of proof would be โ€ฆ would a typical Board member believe the Secretaryโ€™s list to be a correct one when received?) Most definitely, yes!!!

– We received 10 signatures for the special meeting from the list of organizations that were provided to us.

– They lied, and we believed them. Legally, it stands!!!

Ms. Thompson even went further by conducting an election and declared that members of the executive board have been removed from office.

Members and interesting parties – this is why we have a constitution which protects the executive board from such atrocious acts; we assure you that this board is very much in place and that assurance is confirmed by the majority of our membership. There was a resolution to that effect signed by twelve (12) financial organizations namely:

United Bajans of Atlanta

Barbados Association of St. Thomas and St. John (USVI)

Caribbean Heritage Association, Inc.

Barbadians and Friends Social Club (BVI)
    Barbados American Society of Hartford

Barbados American Organization of Philadelphia Inc.

BIM-Bajans in Melbourne & Neighbors

Barbados UH CUM FRUM

Barbados Cultural Committee of Boston

Barbados Association of Washington, DC

Barbados Association of California

Barbados Association of Atlanta

You have been legally removed from office in accordance with the NABO constitution, combined with Florida Law and Robertโ€™s Rules of Order.

We will let the courts decide!

The actual attendees at the meeting were:

Reginald Clarke โ€“ Barbados Association of Greater Houstonโ€™s (BAGH) newly elected President

Cheryl Thompson – Barbados Association of Greater Houstonโ€™s immediate past President and official NABO Board designee (1)

Dale Husbands โ€“ Barbados Association of Central Florida (2)

Consul General Mr. Colin Mayers

J. Sylvester Thompson (BAGH)

Minister Consular David Bulbulia

Jeffrey Craig โ€“ Bajans of the Palm Beaches (3) (DID NOT VOTE)

Wayne Bynoe โ€“ United Bajans of Atlanta (4)

Ava Foster โ€“ Barbados Cancer Association (5)

Dana Lewis-Ambrose โ€“ Barbadians and Friends Social Club (BVI) (6)

Roslyn Sealey โ€“ Barbados Cultural Society of South Florida (7)

John Noel โ€“ NABO Director West (8) (DID NOT VOTE)

Wesley Lynch โ€“ Barbados Association of Jacksonville and Neighbors (9)

June Small โ€“ Barbados Association of California (10)

Erlene Arthur – (BAGH)

Others (Unidentified)

Eight organizations listed here WERE FINANCIAL at the time of the meeting!!! NOT SIX as Mr. Ashby claims. I dare you to name the six!!!

So today, for the very first time, they are FINALLY claiming that only 12 organizations were financial at the time of the meeting. TWELVE, not twenty โ€“two as they had been claiming all along.

REMEMBER, Pauline Maynard had sent me a list of 22 member organizations above. Also, all information, correspondence, letterhead, and claims from the deposed NABO Executive have stated that NABO was comprised of 22 organizations (even at the Houston Directorโ€™s Meeting in January). Now we find out that they were only 12 all along. They have been going on and on about 22 member organizations, deliberately refusing to provide a proper list of financial members.

Is this the type of leadership that we deserve? Those who play games, break the laws of the constitution and statutes, and refuse to act in good faith? Cite the constitution ONLY when it suits them?

Also, how pitiful that you would go out and get 4 unpaid organizations to pay NABO dues, and then have them sign a list to declare a past action invalid. They were not financial AT THE TIME OF THE ACTION. Also, the decision to remove the NABO executives occurred on March 8th and cannot be rescinded by a paper vote.

READ THE CONSTITUTION!!!!!

The other information below does not even deserve a response. However, I will say that a reputable newspaper, the Nation News of Barbados interviewed both Mr. Ashby and myself. The story was by a seasoned journalist. How dare Mr. Ashby accuse Mr. Best of writing only 1% of what he had to say. I too spoke with Mr. Best for over an hour, and I never expected that he would print our entire conversation. Journalists typically listen, record, and then write according to the overall message that the interviewee is trying to convey. I can tell you that he very clearly delivered my message.

A word of warningโ€ฆ Be very careful what you say, Mr. Ashby. Mr. Tony Best has carved for himself a reputation for having a commitment to the highest professional standards of Journalistic reporting, and is well known to be an extremely fair journalist. This was my very first interaction and communication with him, and I found him to be very thorough and professional. I am sure that Mr. Best recorded your exact statements, as he did mine. Are you sure that you want to go on record of accusing him of levying โ€œscandalous accusationsโ€ against you?

As for the many scandalous accusations levied by the underground paper/website, the Nation newspaper and the numerous emails circulated towards members of this executive board, we refuse to respond to such accusations at this time for the following reasons:

1. We (the Board of Directors? NABO?) have always adopted the policy that it is totally improper to discuss the organizationโ€™s business in the print or electronic media.

However, I took the liberty of granting Mr. Tony Best from the nation newspaper an interview. We spoke for over an hour as I relay our side of the story. Mr. Best chose to only write 1 % of the conversation of which he interpreted me to say that NABO is dead.

2. We feel that we cannot fairly and properly defend ourselves and this organization without being able to present the documented facts. That is why a court of law is conducted in a room where you can look your accuser(s) in the eyes and not hide behind a newspaper, a phone, radio or computer.

I truly, understand the feelings of the concern bajans and their outcry for answers, but they must be patient. It is very easy to make accusations, but not as easy to defend those accusations. I am asking that they allow us the appropriate time and forum to present the documented facts to defend ourselves.

3. This situation has gone beyond organizational issues; it has gotten to personal attacks on personโ€™s character. Therefore, it is inadvisable for us to respond or make statements without legal advice or representation.

Folks, this group has an agenda to destroy NABO and then ultimately walk away. As you can see, one of them has already done so. Ask yourself: if NABO is so corrupt why is it that all eleven (11) members on the executive board are still together and fully committed to itsโ€™ causes and goals.

All those who need to know the facts are invited to come to South Carolina in July. There the truth will be told and what dignity thatโ€™s left in this organization will be shown for all to see. I can assure you our hands are cleaner than those of our accusers.

I assure you Mike Cummins, myself or any member on this executive board has done anything wrong. All we have done for the past five (5) years were to make personal and financial sacrifices to make a better NABO. Look what it has gotten us, our names drag through the mud, internet, newspaper, etc. by those who have made very little or no contribution towards the success of this organization.

For the record, the conference will still be taking place in Charleston, South Carolina from July 9th to 12th at the Francis Marion Hotel. To register please go to our website http://www.naboinc.org.

Earl Ashby

Chairman

23. To: Concerned // April 13, 2009 at 12:06 am

I am getting mixed signals from the author, Concerned. Your comments leave me to believe you are either Earl Ashbyโ€™s staunchest defender or you are Earl Ashby. Which one are you?

The rehearsal period is over, the dress rehearsal was done. Itโ€™s now time to show talent to the public. People donโ€™t expect to come and listen to a repeat of what they heard and saw before.

When all is said and done, NABO and other Barbadian organizations, through no fault of theirs, they have lost credibility. NABO will not be viewed so positively as before the scandal.

Itโ€™s ok to consider regrouping but should it not require a name change to get away from the stigma? NABO most likely will leave a nasty taste in the mouths of some members including many of its supporters. There is a lot of โ€œsellingโ€ to do to bring NABO back as a trustworthy organization.

As for the S. Carolina Conference, are either you or Earl (maybe one of the same) using this blog in an attempt to increase the attendance? Donโ€™t even try it. People are not so gullible or that stupid to respond because of your rhetoric โ€œasking the BOD to come to SC to discuss the issue at hand, and inviting followers to come and hear the truth.โ€ Itโ€™s either time to fish or cut bait. In other words, itโ€™s time to shit or get off the pot. This situation could have been handled with dignity if at least the tone in Mikeโ€™s and your email correspondences were not so pompous.

24. Why would anyone want to pay hard earn money to go to S.C to hear the same old story. Where is the audited financial statement?
    How stupid do you think people is, to fall for that old trick and pay money for what? another conference.

25. BUโ€™s reputation has been called into question before and of late late night, please note the following:

The story was sent to us by a trusted source and we STAND by the original story.

This is a blog which has morphed to be one of the leading public forums in Barbados. The other side is welcomed to put their side.

There are enough irregularities based on what we have read so far to merit an urgent response by ALL stakeholders in NABO.

As a Bajan entity our ONLY concern is to protect the good name of what is Bajan in the Diaspora.

26. Why should anymore patient be extended?

27. @
    These people must attack someone or something, this is the way to get the pressure off them.
    BU must kept up the freedom.

28. @
    These people must attack someone or something, this is the way to get the pressure off them.
    BU must kept up the fight for freedom.

29. This will only get bigger not smaller. There is a fresh email distribution list of Bajans in Boston. Apparently the one used before consist of Bajans in the State of Massachusetts. This one seems to be more pointed.

30. I wonder which company in Barbados is stupid enough to give funding to a bunch of crooks once again. I don’t see how any government agency could even commit to such sponsorship. I wonder if the Barbados honary Consul in SC endorses such a conference? It will be interesting to find out how he/she stands on this issue. I now see from the CONCERNED person aka Earl Ashmt that NABO has 5 member organizations in the MASS area. How come the finances shows that only 800.00 was collected in 07. If my math is better than Mike Cummins’ that tells me that only 8 organizations were members of NABO. The comment about Tony Best only reporting a fraction of what Ashby said was far from believeable. Then only maybe only a fraction of what Ashby said made sence. Mr. Best is a noted journalist and can see through the clouds of crap. In addition he is or was a strong supported of NABO. Nice try EARL but Mike’s coaching is not working. You two are not as smart os Ken or even a crippled ant.

31. Oh I see, everyone is in the guessing game now to indentify who write what and urging identities to reveal themselves. Well, why don’t everyone of you publish the following: home address, home phone #, email, real name, cell phone #, work #, work address and name etc. I dare all of you. Stop hiding and dodging in the dark underground.

32. mmmmmm…. // April 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Oh I see, everyone is in the guessing game now to indentify who write what and urging identities to reveal themselves. Well, why donโ€™t everyone of you publish the following: home address, home phone #, email, real name, cell phone #, work #, work address and name etc. I dare all of you. Stop hiding and dodging in the dark underground.
    ————————————————-
    Oh this is a child’s play of Double dare? I will assume that there is the mystical finger accompanying this dare and it is pointed at others. Well as the kids would prbably say a least three of the remaining fingers are pointed at you. So why don’t you start with yourself????
    In the spirit of your contribution, I double dog dare you. ha ha ha ha ha ha

33. @
    mmmmm….
    Why don`t we start with you, give the info as you indicated above.
    I already gave mine a while back.

34. Rodney // April 13, 2009 at 3:46 pm

@
    mmmmmโ€ฆ.
    Why don`t we start with you, give the info as you indicated above.
    I already gave mine a while back.
    ————————————————–
    It is possible that mmmmm memory of this thread doesn’t go that far back. lol!

35. Over the past few weeks I took the opportunity to read some comments about what is alleged to be going on within the Bajan Organization. I am really disappointed at the writing skills of my fellow Bardadians, the gramattical structure, tenses and the basic spelling. I would believe that if one was making a contribution it should be carfully put together with a powerful message. I wonder how we will be able to help our children with home work if our writing is so poor, punctuated with ha ha,ha lol . Lets try to do a better job for the sake of the children and express ourselves by using the english language and not ebonics. We can do better. NABO will soon be past tense for most of us.

36. “gramattical” ? “carfully”? “home! work”?

OK I’ll try better ..fer de sake of de trilldren!

BTW this is blog not a common entrance exam.

37. “gramattical” ? “carfully”? “home! work”?

OK I’ll try better ..fer de sake of de trilldren!

BTW this is a blog not a common entrance exam.

38. I am really disappointed at the writing skills of my fellow Bardadians, the gramattical structure,
    ……………………………………………………….
    Blogs are for expression, information, investigation,and yes, ignorance of your kin. Now deal with the story , otherwise jah way and leh we continue to inform de people ’bout de tings affecting we and de outside world.

39. Your writing is not A plus. Therefore, fix your writing skills first before you attempt to correct others. Typical bajan always trying to put others down. As the other blogger said, this is not the Common Entrance Exam. Maybe you’re spending way too much time on this blog and needs a life. 1-800-get-a-life

40. This is more than a story; it is a scandal which has been released in dribs and drabs and is now in its third week since being published on BU. It is also in its second week since being published in our local newspaper, the Nation News.

What else could there be to unravel, except to hear that the Executive Board has come to their senses and allow the Interim Board to take charge until the matter is settled officially by a private mediator which has been agreed to by both sides, or a government official.

I would think if the NABO Execs truly had its members and its supporters at heart, it would do every thing in its power to come to a happy medium between their board and its board of directors, to avoid anymore of the negative publicity.

The proposed interim seemed to have extended their hands to make this issue beneficial for all, but their attempt seem to have been in vain. They could only do so much and no more. The time may have come for them to put their heads together, and decide where they want to go from here.

To drop the ball now, it would look somewhat suspicious. However, if that is the path they decide to take, there is still a bigger issue that remains. Did NABO swindled the Florida and IRS governments on tax-evasion and/or tax-fraud?

If I did not have to use my motherโ€™s PC or the one on my job, I would use the list at Bajans-on-the-web (http://www.gssites.com/botw/) and Bajans-at-heart (http://www.gssites.com/botw/bajheart.html) to let bajans know of this catastrophe in case they did not hear about it.

Let us stay focus and not stray from the issue. Let us encourage a resolution that is favorably for both sides and for all to see.

41. @Cardinal
    Just under two hundred emails of Bajans living in Massachusetts was harvested from that same sight for this same purpose. The remainder email address are being prepared as we speak.

42. I got an email today from NABO pushing the S.C conference. I guess they are hoping that all of this will just go away and they can get back in action.

43. @ Rodney

Look at this. That seems to be the game plan. Even folks that are not members he is reaching out to
    —– Forwarded Message —-
    To: jr3183@bellsouth.net; wesley_lynch@comcast.net; bajansealy@aol.com; Ava Foster ; cherylxthompson@sbcglobal.net; president@bafsc-bvi.org; blue514r@gmail.com; baop2@aol.com; sheenster@comcast.net; Atlanta Bajan Assoc. ; barbados.association@gmail.com; megreenidge@hotmail.com; Anthia Benn-Buncome ; rcphipps@gmail.com; gayle_hunte@miltonhospital.org; mcvworrel@msn.com; ranoughby@hotmai.com; Wayne Bynoe ; bajan5425@yahoo.com; bajan_creighton@yahoo.com
    Sent: Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:09:08 PM
    Subject:

Hi Member Organizations,
    In preparation for our 2009 conference in Charleston, SC, please read the attachments as applied to Awardees and respond as soon as possible. Thanks

That Ava Foster person don’t play at all.
    See attached that she responded to Earl Ashby regarding nominations for awardees.

Mr. Ashby,

Maybe, you personally should consider giving the awards to those people that would want to accept an award from an organization like NABO whose is “dead.”

My organization under my leadership could not in all good conscience recommend any one for an award from an organization that is lacking in transparency, intergrity and accountability.
    Regards,
    Ava Foster
    Chairman, BACA

44. One of the organizations in which Earl is the Chief is having a function tomorrow night, April 18. You could bet $10 to doughnuts that he and his cronies will be pushing non-stop the SC conference.

With no posts made since earlier in the week, his groupies may be saying that they knew that all the hype would eventually fade away giving them enough time to market the SC event. They may be feeling deep within that all is well.

45. As the Cardinal put it very gingerly in one of his post, โ€œa house that is divided against itself could never standโ€ UP โ†‘ or TALL โˆ

46. This is the way NABO operate all the time, they do not have financial and wait until the next meeting and at the next meeting still no financial and on and on it go.
    The audited financial or even a financial statement that was to be at the Jan 09 meeting is still at lunch, the time frame was then extended to Feb 28 2009, still no financials, and these people that was remove and refuse to go expect people to follow them to S.C.
    Please you people should have a heart, the only people going to S.C will be the people from Boston.

47. …and trying to think they are doing the right thing by trying to entice people by given out awards; that probably that always go to the executive friends and family.

48. @Rodney
    Heh, I see that you woke up from your 2 day binge, back to AA for you buddy. My research has found an audited and financial report for NABO delivered since Feb 21, 2009. Go fetch….. if you can see.

49. The more we read about how NABO is being run the more we raise our eyebrows in alarm.

What is the role of the Barbados High Commision officials who participate as observers on this Executive.

What are they saying?

What is their role?

What is the reputational harm to them and by extension Barbados?

50. Despite the fact that huge regularities have been exposed in the management of NABO we understand Earl who is one of the key people behind NABO, one of his associations had a dance in Boston last night which was well attended. Our feedback is that Bajans although they are that all is not ‘white’ they have decided to place friendship above all.

Sometimes we have to wonder. We will continue to watch this situation. We suspect that we will have to revisit it soon.