The following letter was contained in an email received from an email address which BU recognizes to be that of Mr. Norman Faria, Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados. It is no secret that Barbados Underground has been strident in promoting awareness of the big issue of undocumented workers in Barbados, many we know to be Guyanese. We have gone one step further to address the lack of a discernible planning of a multi-ethnic society for Barbados. There are enough country models which we have cited to show the folly of not properly managing large inflows of ethnic groups i.e. Indians, Chinese et al in a Barbados which has enjoyed a stable environment comprised mainly of Blacks and Whites through the years. Despite increasing accusations of being xenophobic from some quarters, we remain steadfast in our views. We urge our commenters to be clear and dispassionate in their arguments. We are aware that this is a topic where emotive language will appear and in this regard we ask you to refer to BU’s comment policy. We do not condone censorship but we will be fearless to ensure that any discussion which ensues will not denigrate to a base level.

The Prime Minister of Barbados, although not mentioning Guyanese raised the problem of unplanned migration last week at the CARICOM Summit. His government has also debated an amendment to the Immigration Act.

Commissioner Darwin Dottin

Commissioner of Police
Royal Barbados Police Force
Headquarters, Coleridge Street, Bridgetown,
Barbados

SUBJECT: INFLAMMATORY RHETORIC ON RADIO TALK SHOW.

Dear Commissioner Dottin:

The Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Guyana in Barbados presents its compliments and wishes to refer to the above subject matter.

Further to my last letter (11 January 2006) to you regarding the airing and/or printing of inflammatory articles and viewpoints in some of the island’s print and electronic media and which specifically target Guyanese, I write once again to draw your attention to another blatant example. This latest airing can only serve to stir up racial and other tensions and bring the essentially good reputation of all Guyanese into disrepute.

On Monday, 17 March 2008, a caller was heard on the widely listened to programme “Down to Brass Tacks”, which is carried on the Starcom Network station VOB, referring to (generally Hindu) Indo-Guyanese in a derogatory, stereotypical and indeed racist manner. Were Afro-Guyanese or any other race,colour or religion targeted, I would make the same complaint. Among the more shameful, uncalled for, unsubstantiated and unjustified statements made by this caller:

“We have no problems with Christians and Moslems but we do with Hindus “

“(Crime in Barbados) is Hindu Guyanese and Trinidad habits”

“The police need to start checking these Indians (including) when they see them on the street…that is where the problem is”

“Hindus is the ones causing problems with the fellows (at the workplace where they will work for less)”
“The word dougla is a Hindu word meaning outcast”

The above are from my notes taken of the programme. The exact and complete remarks may be obtained by your investigating officers from the station’s recording of the programme. As I informed Mr.Peter Wickham, the moderator of the particular programme and a really professional and principled person against whom I have no complaint —indeed, he rebuked the caller for his apparent xenophobia and ignorance– when I called into the programme at the nearing the end of the show, I have nothing against people calling into the programmes to engage in democratic discussion and debate. In fact, as I told him while complimenting him on his stance, I greatly admire the deep and democratic media culture in Barbados. I listen to the programmes every chance I get.

We must all defend the time honoured achievement of free speech. This freedom, as you would agree, doesn’t exist as an abstract concept. Hate filled rhetoric designed to stir up racial and other tensions, discord and animosity among peoples have no freedom of speech. What I criticised are the programmes’ call screeners and/or producers who should censor out such hateful rantings which undoubtedley embarass the majority of decent minded Barbadians and others listening to the programmes. Management should set professional guidelines for such personnel. I was especially incensed in this recent infraction because I have written several letters to this particular station’s management urging restraint and professionalism in the airing of such ill advised and misinformed xenophobia. Such “viewpoints”, as I pointed out, would land management in court in places such as the UK and Canada and the USA where the claim of “free speech” would not come into play.

Barbadian consular or diplomatic missions in those countries monitoring programmes or publications in those countries which aired distaseful and inflammatory stereotyping of Barbadian-born people similar to what is being done here against Guyanese, particularly Indo-Guyanese, would be in contact with the authorities about it.

In keeping with your obligations to uphold Barbadian law, I am urging your good office to investigate this latest permitting by VOB management of the airing of the hateful and inflammatory statements about innocent and good Guyanese people who are doing so much, working in several fields and appreciated by the majority of decent minded, tolerant and hospitable Barbadian people, to make Barbados a better place for all of us.

Regrettably, moral persuasion sometimes fail and punitive measures are needed with some media house managements. Recalcitrant and miscreant elements whose idea of boosting the profit margin in their businesses is to permit such sensationalist, inflammatory hate-filled talk, sometimes encouraged by some talk show hosts themselves, have to be brought to heel. They need to feel, as the Bajan saying goes.

At this stage, the Consulate would be satisfied with a warning from the police to the management, the airing of an apology on the same programme, the wording of which to be approved by Consulate’s legal counsel, and a promise that no other hateful inflammatory rhetoric be permitted against Guyanese , and any other nationality, on the company’s stations in any shape, manner or form. Accept Sir, the assurances of my highest consideraton.

Respectfully Yours,

Norman Faria
(Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados)

283 responses to “Guyana's Honorary Consul Issues Letter Of Complaint To The Commissioner Of Police Citing Racial Hatred At VOB”

1. Me
    I am prepared to accept the legal imigrants who are here already but I agree with you, there are toooooooo many illegal people here in b’dos that are putting unnecassary strain on the gov’t and citizens of this country. This must stop especially at a time like this when the world is facing a major recession. We can’t afford to like after our own and all these opportunists, nor can we allow them to rob us of being our neighbour’s keepers. They are parasites, a cancer eating away at our culture. Remember even a docile dog attacks when his boundaries are under treat. I fear that this can get VERY ugly if gov’t don’t do something NOW. I put NOTHIG pas these indo- guyanese in particular.

2. What is the racist rhetoric – ‘me’- is referring to.

Bajans are saying that they have looked at other countries where indians from the asian sub continent migrated to – and after over a 100 years (see Fiji,Guyana,Trinidad,Kenya,UK) these indian descendants have not fully integrated with the black majority population or in the case of the UK – with neither the white majority nor the black minority population.

Ian walcott and Me – who appears from their pro blp postings to be sympathetic to the blp party – and others like george -blp supporter – all have one line of argument – please don’t talk about the effects of the indo immigrants on other ethnic populations – because that is racist.

So why can’t we just ‘manage migration’ – whatever that is supposed to mean – the we can hold hands and sing ‘kumbaya’.

Oh yea?

While we trying to all get along,these indian immigrants are all strategising to position themselves to have major influence in this country – whether up front or behind the scenes.

Think on that my friend – if it matters to you at all.

With regards to VOB – they are not interested in filtering discussion – they are interested in shutting it down plain and simple – callers seemed not able to say the words – illegal guyanese before they are cut off.

This is why most bloggers say they have stopped listening to the call in shows.

Bajans can’t even have freedom of expression in their own country – fuh real.

3. What about the legal immigrant who are really illegal immigrants? Remember, many of these people have been able to buy AN ID card for 1500 dollars dont lets forget that. this is not good enough!

4. The BU household hopes to clarify a couple things coming out of previous comments. People reading the BU blog should ascribe views expressed to the BU household. Comments are the views of commenters, simple!

It is no secret that we have scorned the open door immigration policy of the previous government. While the new government has made some statements and made promises regarding the issue the jury is still out.

While the BU household does not promote Jingoism we can understand how this emotive issue because of mismanagement is snowballing and giving cause to extreme commentary. We will do our best to manage the comments but we hope commenters will cooperate by leaving out the hate rhetoric, it is simple not required!

We do hate when we have to place the blog on moderation.

5. Good point JC,very good point.

This is why a very thorough investigation must be done into the issuing of passports,ID cards and permanent residence status over the past 15 years(not hard to do,all it requires is the will to want to do it) – and where it is found that there has been fraud – then these decisions and documents MUST BE REVOKED.

There can be no token gestures or measures by this government.

On behalf of the people of barbados who elected you to office – and on whose behalf you say you act – We The People Of Barbados Demand Real and Concrete Action Immediately.

6. look at what is happening in South Africa to the illegals there…is that what we wnat Barbados to be like?

I mentioned the fact that they are increasing numbers of mixed race indo -blceak here such as Suckoo Byer… what are we saying to/about them???

generalisations about indians to an extreme degree does niot good , it reduces them to an idea that jsut leads to more strife and victimisation.

Granted the culture of the guyanese is not exactly like ours but are they not humans trying to make a way in the world just like us????

AND MOST IMPORTANTLY the indians ( including the children of these recent immigrants who only know Babados as home) who are Bajan are they less bajan than us???

THis is clearly an immigration problem. Period.

I know that money sometimes will exchange hands in terms of granting work permits but is that an Indian to indian thing????////

7. How will “West Indian” integration and unity ever be achieved unless there is freedom of movement between the participating countries?

If Bajans do not want other ethnicities coming here, living here, working here … we should declare it.

In any case, so long as us black people control Governments nothing will ever get done… except talk and looking to look good whenever there is a photo opportunity.

8. David

If you start moderating persons very passionate comments – you will – WITHOUT REALISING IT – be doing exactly what Norman Faria’s letter intends you to do.

Negroman and others are expressing a strong and hitherto unheard of bold declaration of pride in their blackness and their desire to preserve the gains their foreparents made – for their children and grandchildren.

More importantly they have travelled to guyana and other countries where large indo poulation reside and they have seen up front the indian population’s treatment of persons of african descent – hence their fear for the future of barbados as these very persons flood our country.

Norman faria’s letter’s intention is for you to be overly sensitive,be politically correct,modify the debate until it becomes as bland as the VOB call- ins.

BFP has already gone there and you are the only outlet bajans have left – there must be wide and free expressions on this topic – because believe me Norman Faria has already realised the key to shutting down discussion on this topic – ie -claim Incitement .

He has already successfully used it with the other media houses and he is now trying it out on you.

The objective is 2 fold – i) to either intimidate you into silence ,or;

2) Make you so careful and want to be so politically correct – that you start censoring every comment.

The end result is the same – free discussion is stifled and if allowed – is done through very narrow,restricted channels.

Have no fear he is setting his guns on Government too – watch and see he will use the same arguments against them and will be writing letters to all sort of people.

Anytime government allow bajans to discuss openly and freely in townhall meetings the guyanese issue – whether the racial effect or economic effect – watch for the same tactic by norman faria.

As others have already said – only in cowardly barbados could he be allowed to be so bold.

Only bout here.

9. In a previous blog under another the thread – Barbados Government To Implement A Tighter Immigration Policy – on BU, at about 7.30 pm, on June 30, 2008 , we stated: ” While we in PDC certainly do not hate non-racist Indo-Guyanese, we are still as strong as ever in our categoric position that if were we at the helm of the government of the country today since January 15, ALL of these Indo-Guyanese and Indians of other national origins who would have come to our shores within the last 10 years would by now have been ASKED TO LEAVE this country or be FORCIBLY REPATRIATED out of this country to Guyana or to wheresoever else they would have come from, whether or NOT within this time they would have been married to Barbadians, would have got children here from Barbadians or Non-Barbadians, or would have had property here, whatever”.

We further stated that in the same blog that ” such actions would have, of course, been consistent with such a government putting a national immigration and strategic development policy regime that would have been ideally suited to the peaceful and harmonious growth and development of our country, and that would have been crafted in recognition of the very crucial need to protect the national strategic interests of this country. Where black Guyanese and other black nationals are concerned, if were we at the helm of government today, such a policy regime would have been crafted to get more and more productive and well behaved Blacks into the country from overseas, primarily as a means of making sure that they contribute properly to Barbados becoming a well balanced, world class society achieving average real annual material and production growth rates of 8 – 10 %”.

10. Ian credits the new government with nothing.

If his dear BLP was in power he would have praised their approach which is what has has led to this damn problem in our society. But Faria was once part of the Commissiong, Boby Clarke, Prescod, Denny, Ian Marshall cabal so we have to be soft! Ideology above nation! Typical…

Now he says we have to be careful. When the Europeans were overcoming Africa, some clown or rather ****** was probaby saying the same thing Ian is saying here!

The Prime Minister has said there will be a White Paper on Immigration and has established a Cabinet Sub-Committee to look at the issues. These are welcome words because prior to that it was a free for all under Mia as Minister of Home Affairs.

I read in T&T newspaper, that the PM himself met with al senior immigration officers prior to going to CARICOM to get an understanding of the challenges they were facing. Now that is the kind of leadership I like. I’m sorry guys, you might not like it, but I have to say it.

He is the first Minister of Immigration since 1972 to meet with senior Immigration Officers my buddy tells me.

Our PM’s coments in President Jagdeo’s presence and to the regional media are very strategic and important. They show a level of directness and openness which ae refreshing.

Good work, PM.

11. In a previous blog under another the thread – Barbados Government To Implement A Tighter Immigration Policy – on BU, at about 7.30 pm, on June 30, 2008 , we stated: ” While we in PDC certainly do not hate non-racist Indo-Guyanese, we are still as strong as ever in our categoric position that if were we at the helm of the government of the country today since January 15, ALL of these Indo-Guyanese and Indians of other national origins who would have come to our shores within the last 10 years would by now have been ASKED TO LEAVE this country or be FORCIBLY REPATRIATED out of this country to Guyana or to wheresoever else they would have come from, whether or NOT within this time they would have been married to Barbadians, would have got children here from Barbadians or Non-Barbadians, or would have had property here, whatever”.

We further stated that in the same blog that ” such actions would have, of course, been consistent with such a government putting a national immigration and strategic development policy regime that would have been ideally suited to the peaceful and harmonious growth and development of our country, and that would have been crafted in recognition of the very crucial need to protect the national strategic interests of this country. Where black Guyanese and other black nationals are concerned, if were we at the helm of government today, such a policy regime would have been crafted to get more and more productive and well behaved Blacks into the country from overseas, primarily as a means of making sure that they contribute properly to Barbados becoming a well balanced, world class society achieving average real annual material and production growth rates of 8 – 10 %”.

So, the above is something that Mr. Norman Faria and others in Barbados must get to know – if they have NOT known as yet. Too, what he and they must also get to know – again, if they have NOT known as yet, is that this is our unmitigated unshakeable position in regard of making sure that the future, long term general peace, harmony, growth and development is maintained as much as possible in this country, as that, those above reproduced statements fall within the most important objectives that we in PDC have been consistently outlining for achievement for our dear country.

Moreover, the members of PDC certainly love our country, and we WILL NOT SIT or STAND idly by and allow our country to AT ANY TIME IN THE FUTURE be degradated and destabilized under whatever pretexts and guises by those who obviously DO NOT and WILL NOT have the fundamental interests of this country at heart. CERTAINLY, WE WILL NOT, MR. FARIA!!

Finally, we want to tell Mr.Faria – as if he has ALL this political clout – which is really far far from being the case – that NO amount of idiocy from him at this stage WILL make the great multitudes of us – within and without PDC – divert from our quest to make Barbados a brighter and better place for esp. those of the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados that have come to learn, come to know/experience that their forbears were enslaved or worked so hard over the years to make this country what it is today. NOT AT ALL, MR. FARIA!! JOKE!! TAKE YOUR PLACE!!

BU, it seems that some jinx has befallen us here at our administrative centre. That above uncompleted submission was inadvertently sent. This is the correct one. Thank You.

12. Inadvertency: line 3, paragraph 2 – insert “in place” between putting and a national…..

13. I agree with Anonymous view that stifling of the views express by we bloggers are about to be curtail by Norman Faria and his cronies.This is a sad reflection on the type of society we live in today.
    We black Barbadians we have lost the battle.
    I do not believe I must temper my language.However,in the interset of the site and I will love to continue to make my points I will try to control my language and be a bit more moderate.
    As Anonymous commented I visit Guyana regularly and I have many black guyanese friends and I hnow first hand the the treatment that we blacks experience at the hands of these “lovely,sweet,adorable ,serene” indo guyanese.

14. I was watching a travel program a while back about India, and the traveler read some of the ads placed in a Bombay, which the Indians now call Mumbai. All of the ads wanted light skin persons, for example, educated man seeks light skinned educated woman for marriage, if you don’t meet qualifications please do not contact,. Edcuated man seeks light skinned girl for light housekeeping, and so on. I noticed here that you all left out the one country where the East Indians are totally in control of every aspect of life, and this place happens to be an island off the coast of Africa, Mauritius. Mauritius East Indians are 60% of the populations and the native Africans 30%, there is no way an Afro-Mauritian can ever become Prime Minister, and somebody told me recently that the African population lives in utter squalor on the outskirts of Port Louis the capital. Mauritius in every respect is a Little India near Africa. I think the ultimate goal is the same in Guyana, and Suriname, create a majority Indian state, Fiji a totally different story. Anyway, you should look at Mauritius since you are an island and so is Mauritius and it appears you could be heading in their direction.

15. There is a deliberate attempt by Indo guyanese and Trinidadians to maintain their culture, their individualism at all cost, and they don’t mind marginalizing other ethnicities in their cause. Thats why i emplore all single Barbadian men to continue to exploit the economic fall out in Guyana, by courting their women. 🙂

16. Why is it that we just cant be honest and forthright? Take a look at the globe and see what countries are forging ahead. WHY ARE THEY FORGING AHEAD?

When peoples are essentially indolent – they get left behind. And yes, we in the Caribbean are doing exactly that.

17. Centipede is Ireland forging ahead just shut up.

With the merging of countries, has come with hatreds and many negatives. My Aunt told me that in England, some persons came from some other European countries and working and the immigration came and deported them since they did not have the correct documentation. So dont try to make us out to be villains just give me a break stupessss!

However, Negro man this comment is for you in particular:

Do not allow Norman Faria to hurt you or stop you from speaking from your heart.

I have read your comments and I greatly admire your tenacity and beliefs. However, if Bu is asking for you to temper down, well, ‘so be’. This is not to say that all of your arguments were not sound and factual.

I AM BEGGING YOU TO KEEP ON BLOGGING!

I know you are disheartened since you see firsthandedly what is done to blacks in Guyana daily and fear that this will happen to your family and friends in Barbados; do not be discouraged. Do not allow faria to cloud the issue.

DEAL WITH FACTS and ISSUES.

BU wont moderate the TRUTH!

They are bigger than that for they have proved it by having the ‘testicular fortitude’ to deal with this burning issue.

I am begging other persons who just read these comments that might have the same opinions but are scared to leave comment to ask your selves this question.

CAN I HIDE MY SHAME WHEN I AM VICTIMISED IN MY OWN COUNTRY BY PERSONS SUCH AS FARIA AND CREW?

I hope that answer is a resounding no!

I am willing to fight for my cause verbally. I refuse to be shut up by persons who know nothing about my heritage!

18. What David is trying to do is exactly what Faria intended. Reversed psychology, accuse us of racism, while they practise racism in a subtle way by pretending to be the victims. This method they have used repeatedly, yet others and now ourselves are falling for the same trick. You got to know these indo-guyanese, they would smile with you while negotiating your demise. I know you would say some bajans are like that too, true but should we allow a worse practise of this to grow in our country? Who’s doing most of the kidnapping and murders in T&T and Guyana? An indo- guyanese has no conscience, he/she would do ANYTHING to get their way. I know what I’m talking about and I’m beginning to see it manifested in Barbados. In their numbers, if they can’t get their way they would be willing to cause turmoil in this country to bring it to the level of theirs. All they have to do is to start an upheaval in this country, tourist stop coming and recession on, we have no natural resources to fall back on to and we can repidly become worse than guyana. What will happen then is the guyanese would return home and declare war against us . BEWARE

19. Driving miss daisy Avatar
    Driving miss daisy

Centipede is on record saying Bajans (blacks only of course) are lazy and we should not protest when illegal immigrants take our jobs in our own country. My guess is Centipede is Bajan ( most likely white or black uncle tom).

Bajans have proved beyond a shadow of doubt they are among thriftiest, hard working law abiding people on planet earth. Compare us with any nation and any fool can see that. Yet still Centipede and his kind call us lazy. We are rightly concerned about illegals from Guyana and elsewhere but our long standing home grown race issue remains unsolved.

20. The problem is bajans are not as proud of their country as they should and other people see this, that’s why they are using some of our own people to get around the system by giving them bribes. We have a lot of Judases in this country at all levels. They need to be identified and brought to justice. If BU or anyother try to muzzle us this problem will escalate; we would have to hit the streets and this can cause negative international reporting which can be bad for our economy. I’m BEGGING the gov’t and it’s leaders to address this problem with urgentcy before it gets out of hand. Faria and creww is fanning the fire

21. Watch it PDC

I am beginning to like your views

22. Did i here Centipede say that the world is coming together? Yes they are, to address immigration issues.

New Zealand Shifts Visa Rules on Indonesians as Immigration from Asia Increases
    October 23, 1998 0500 GMT
    SummaryNew Zealand has ended a visa-free entry policy for Indonesians, apparently in an attempt… [more]

Geopolitical Diary: Sarkozy and the Immigration Conundrum
    May 30, 2008 0200 GMT
    French President Nicolas Sarkozy has laid out a proposal on immigration crackdowns as a key reform when France takes over the EU presidency in July. [more]

U.K.: Suspects Held On Immigration Violations
    July 18, 2005 1720 GMT
    Six men arrested in northern England on July 17 are being held on suspicion of violating… [more]

The Two Faces of European Immigration
    February 5, 2005 0445 GMT
    The Netherlands has announced a new proposal to require immigrants to pass a test on their… [more]

Finding a Place for Europe’s Refugees
    October 19, 2004 2031 GMT
    A proposal to establish refugee camps for Europe’s illegal immigrants was shot down at an Oct. 18… [more]

Illegal Hires May Rise as Malaysia Cuts Foreign Work Permits (R)
    November 5, 2001 0600 GMT
    The Malaysian government Oct. 27 cut the duration of foreign-work permits in most sectors in half… [more]

Italy: Rome Targets Illegal Immigrants
    May 15, 2008 1905 GMT
    Italy’s new government is cracking down on illegal immigrants, particularly the Roma. If this crackdown succeeds, Rome will target other groups of illegal immigrants. [more]

Italy: A Bus Attack Highlights Immigrant Tensions
    May 15, 2007 1711 GMT
    Three men who appeared to be of North African descent attacked a passenger bus in northern Italy… [more]

Malaysia Targeting Immigrant Workers
    November 1, 2001 0600 GMT
    SummaryMalaysia is giving 300,000 foreign workers three months to leave the country. This follows… [more]

European Union: Illegal Immigration and the Demographic Challenge
    June 18, 2008 2227 GMT
    Europe has introduced a new law on illegal immigration. [more]

Germany: Merkel vs. Multiculturalism
    December 8, 2004 0151 GMT
    After being re-elected leader of Germany’s opposition Christian Democratic Union on Dec. 6,… [more]

23. Did bajans really read Faria’s letter. These are THREATS!

Well well, well, I remember my friend telling me he was on a bus and an Indo Guyanese had his legs spread all over the bus and refused to let a child sit dow properly on the bus. Why dont Mr. Faria tell these people to respect their guests.

If it was my child hmmmmmm …… that is how noise starts. Victimisation insults etc. they have started let them try it with me. Just let them try!

24. I don’t know where you got those figures of 10,000 Guyanese but there was document at a St George DLp constituency office recently which showed figures of 45,oo0 illegal Gutanes in Barbados.Maybe that’s why so many staff have been transferred from the immigration department in Bridgetown.
    Faria thinks that Barbados is a region in Guyana and anyone should be allowed to come here and behave as they like.
    I am glad that others know there are many ,many illegal Europeans, Canadians, Africans etc living and working here.Under the BLP it was a free for all.Hopefully the Dems can clean up the mess.

25. I have personal dealings with Indians and I do not trust them one bit. They smile and I smile. They are always trying to poke your eyes out while pretending to be your friend. I think it is part of their culture to be devious and cunning. They love nothing more than MONEY and POWER. These mean more to them than their own children.

When I was at uni in the 70’s I befriended an Indo-Guyanese. We became thick. She admitted to me that her father kept all his money in England. This after she had borrowed some funds to pay some fees that were due. She had to wait for her dad to transfer the money from England to Canada. This after he and his family had lived in Guyana for generations.

Then the world blamed Idi Amin for expelling them. He bacame wise to the fact that they were parasites, sucking the country dry and putting their money in British banks. No one can explain how these so-called penniless refugees from Uganda, came to the West today and next day opened business and bought big houses before they even did a days work. Nothing has changed. That is the pattern they follow whereever they go. My Indian girlfriend even admits tothis. She said others bury it under the house because they do not want to pay any taxes on it. This is the way it is done in India (they call it black money) and they do it where ever they go. Foreign offshore banks, a safe in the house, under the floor boards or in gold and diamonds.

I think Bajans should become smart. I think my Indian friends are my freinds because I am better off financially than they are. Not because they have any genuine fondness for me. My girlfriend makes a point to tell every one that I live in an identical house to hers. She is married and I, of course, am single. Knowing their culture, if they could afford it, they would have bought a larger house.

So, if you want, you can listen to Faria and toe the line. If you love Barbados, as I am sure most of you do, continue to air your views.

Last year I went into an indian run grocery store in town to get some juice. First time I went in, I looked around checking the items on the shelf. It dawned on me that this Indian man was following me. So I confronted him. I asked why he was following me around that I am not going to steal anything. He does not know me. I am visiting for World Cup, the man went into this long rant about people walking in and putting things in their pockets, etc. I did not even have a purse on me, just my wallet. I looked at him and told him, there is nothing in his store I need and certainly nothing worth stealing and walked out.

26. JC thaks for the words of encouragement.my comments on the blogs might be curtail,however I will continue to express my views fearlessly on the streets,on the block,in town at my groups meetings,at constituency branch meetings,at party headquarters and wherever I go in Barbados.There is no indo-guyanese that could stop Negroman from expressing his views in Barbados.I am fearless.
    The views expressed by The scout is so true.Reverse psychology at work.
    Negroman WILL NEVER GIVE UP THE FIGHT to
    indo-guyanese and Norma Faria in particular you have one strong,real black man that will not back down from you all threats.Try to curtail Negroman’s views on the streets.
    Peter Wickham,David Ellis & crew I am wondering how you all are observing these developments.I will love to hear you all comments now.I know Peter Wickham might not care that much because of his peculiar,wierd & queer sexual life style he will not produce children and therefore he will not have children & grand children to experience the harsh treatment that will come our way at the hands of these “nice indo-guyanese”.

27. These personal experiences and stories are in material, we can do without them, and stick to the facts of immigration in the Caribbean relative to economies, market /living space, the law, crime and cultural practices.

…..We will continue to look at the continued flight of Guyanese from Guyana to the world as indicative of some serious dysfunction in that country. We cannot ignore the sourse of this dysfunction which is the Guyanese people, and as immigrants do not put away their cultural practices on entering a foreign society, it is very much in our interest to monitor and be prepared to take steps to deal with this. Barbados cannot be the destination of the second mass emigration exodus from Guyana, if indeed the first has occured or has been completed.

http://www.Guyanausa.org/emigration.htm

I don’t know how serious these people are, I have tried to contact them to no avail.

28. Negroman

Don’t be discouraged – we all support you.

I don’t think David wants to ban you,however I believe he walked right into the trap norman faria was setting for him – that is,to make him overly sensitive on this race issue.

You continue speaking your mind and if there is any particular think david has a concern about he will speak to you on it I am sure.

Don’t give norman faria more power than he has.He is just another hungry guyanese grateful to be here in barbados.

In guyana and in trinidad when indian prime minister and president were elected – the indians are reported as boasting ‘:is indian time now – indian rule now.’

How long berfore they start saying that in barbados?

29. Niggerman go get those evil Indians.

30. The Storm Clouds are Gathering:
    I had the audacity – some said- to mention the state Barbados would get into. Alast! the tide is on the move, batten down the hatches for what we have seen beyond our shores, is at the breakwater.

Those who have failed to learn the lessons of history; will repeatedly put their people in peril.

We are expected to connive with others to shut up our citizens. These residents to whom we have given temporary shelter within our bosom. Now tell our own children be quiet! go in the yard and play.

They talk of the Law, the same law the illegal immigrants break with disdain.

The impudence of this person is laughable were the situation not so serious.

In this man’s misguided efforts to defend the indefensible he has stirred the ire of Barbadians… a peaceable people, until stirred.

Some of these illigal immigrants are determined to spread their king of lawlessness and deceit, in whatever part of the globe they decamp.

Make no mistake, the struggle for the heart beat of our small nation will not be strangled.

We will not be oppressed by anyone again, Never Again, Never Again, NEVER.

31. Yardbroom, whites own eveything in Barbados we are still oppressed stupid. Who are you George Washington? Lets attack Europe with our state of the art technology. If you need a cause to fight, go to Jamaica and stop all those niggers their from killing each other.

32. Cayman- check and see how they handle immigration there- tight, needs of the country addressed, and little opportunity to abuse the system. Slightly different situation, but something similar could work here.

33. We will teach our children to be powerful mighty people who are able to create their own destinies.

No longer will the shackles of shame be worn on our faces! Yard broom ya bad!

34. Faria bwoy…look wha ya gone and do…ya gone and mek tings wuss fuh ya people…let sleeping dawgs lie…

35. I read some information recently stating that the EU has asked persons both illegal and legal to return to their countries and then reapply.

I can imagine Mr. Faria’s face if he has read that piece of information. Ole fool he really feel he could shut up black bajans, he better check heself.

36. Strange Days The two major world wars were whites honkies killing white honkies.Whats your point.Your people the europeans have killed the most people in the world from the same europe,Asia Africa & The Americas.George Bush & Tony Blair just slaughters thousands upon thousands of Iragi children & adults.
    what your point YOU FOOL.
    Ireland and England are still at war
    WISE UP

37. What in my comments that need moderation.
    blacks were just insulted by being refer by that derogatory N word was allowed.Is there a ploy to ban Negroman Let me know.

38. We cannot believe that BU is being accused of censoring people willy nilly. We will turn the other cheek.

39. Well done people…word is that the National Security Committee is aksing the US authorities to investigate racist blogs in Bimshire…deeming them a threat to national security…
    Seems as though you walked right into Faria’s trap and gave him the evidence needed.

40. Negroman, you are right. I was wondering why they let that post through.

I hope Faria is reading this blog. In fact, I almost wish he would come on here and explain himself.

41. Strange Days
    I do not know if you are stupid or have a cerebral impediment… it concerns me little.

Neither is this thread about Europe or Jamaica, it is about Barbados. I am inclined to sweep my own yard before worrying about my neighbours.

The mistake you and others have made is to think we can be easily intimidated. “He” has put a stick into a bee hive, and will do a great disservice to the people he represents.

This battle has got to be won, the price of failure is too great.

42. Reganomics

Thanks for giveing us the information.

If we have let people see that we are letting persons intimidate us in our own country well I say thank you to the blogs.

If I am going to fight for my children’s future and heritage and people are going to investigate us well thank you very much again.

China and other people need to be investigated more than us.

This was a storm brewing for a while now, but it is now more rampant than ever.

I and thousands of bajans feel the same way, we will not be moved Mr. Faria, we all reeady have nothing so therefore we will fight for something!

43. One thing about reading the comments on this blog is to get to find out about things you didn’t say that nonetheless get attributed to you.

For example, JC “Centipede is Ireland forging ahead just shut up” I never said they were!

Adrian Hinds // July 7, 2008 at 11:25 am :
    “Did i here Centipede say that the world is coming together?” No, you did not!

Driving miss daisy // July 7, 2008 at 10:12 am :

“Centipede is on record saying Bajans (blacks only of course) are lazy and we should not protest when illegal immigrants take our jobs in our own country. My guess is Centipede is Bajan ( most likely white or black uncle tom).” No, I am not on record as saying only Bajan blacks are lazy, etc., and you are wrong regarding the rest of your statement. Etc. Etc.

The FACT is — the world is turning and things change and are changing and neither God nor Man can stop it and it would be a good idea if you naysayers would learn to live with the Natural Law… you would then stand a chance at being more successful at your particular vocation and you’ll find life to be more beautiful.

44. I am no house slave. I am a proud black woman!

So when ya all ready to tell on me do that!

We are not going back to thinking that we are inferior i vehemently refuse to be a slave again

Never again faria!

45. The FACT is — the world is turning and things change and are changing and neither God nor Man can stop it and it would be a good idea if you naysayers would learn to live with the Natural Law… you would then stand a chance at being more successful at your particular vocation and you’ll find life to be more beautiful
    ——————————————————-

Centipede life is very beautiful right now.

There is a saying when something aint broken dont fix it!

You implied all of the above!

46. “There is a secret that cannot be told. It transcends words… Each person must himself discover it. No one can tell you, nor can you pass it on. You find it, know it and live it. Or blow in the wind.” Sar Savitar.

47. Peace be with you JC. Had you not said you were a proud black woman I should have thought you were Jesus Christ – coming to save the world (again.)

48. No centipede dont go there !

I willnot answer you for i know that every man is a god with in himself!

I believe in my self I see you still lick people’s asses for a living no wonder you couldnt function in Bim

yours sincerely

A proud black woman.

49. Having read most of the comments concerning this immigration mess,I think it is safe to say there is starting to be a consensus that Government has failed us.I will admit the BLP has made strides in advancing the economy to some degree BUT have not devised a system of rules that keep it in check,hence Barbados is having the problems.Here in the U.S.,The mantra “It is the economy,stupid !” fits perfectly since most illegal immigrants are so called “economic migrants or economic refugees” in Barbados,but the fact is they are just ILLEGAL immigrants,plain & simple.

I think someone mentioned that in the 1990’s the BLP gave an immigration amnesty already & I believe this is another reason why the illegal immigration population is so high in Bim,they are basically waiting it out until either the BLP gets in power again or the DLP gives up & capitulates in the name of “regional integration” so that another Immigration amnesty or regularization program can begin.

On the topic of the letter,Barbados albeit being a member of Caricom & being a very small country is also first & foremost a Sovereign nation.The idea that a foreign dignitary whom is a guest on our soil can at a moments notice write a so called” letter” to silence our Nationals on such an important topic makes me wonder,does anyone else not see the hypocrisy in this ?

Butterfly,you’re absolutely correct in your assessment.The Cayman islands or even Bermuda would be a good immigration model to follow since these islands have some of the tightest immigration policies of ANY Caribbean island & their economies are also doing quite well fiscally.

Anyway the bottom-line to fixing this immigration mess is simple.

-No Amnesty or Regularization program:This seems to only increase the next illegal immigration wave.

-Deny Birthright citizenship: Birthright Citizenship in Barbados should be switched to a Jus Sanguis model in which at least one person’s Parents must be a Citizen or Permanent resident of Barbados in order to confer Barbados citizenship.Currently the islands of Bermuda & the Cayman islands have such a model.There would be NO Stateless children as they would have the Citizenship of their Parents’ country.

-Digitally Centralize Immigration records:I believe the current immigration department relies on paper to get everything done which as you know can be easily altered.Digital records are not so easy as they can be encrypted so only a few can have access such as the Chief immigration officer or Minister,preventing fraud or tampering.

-CSME Migrants should be fingerprinted on entry:I think CSME is still a good idea but the current safeguards are ridiculous with only a Biometric CARIPASS to showcase as an identity for 1 individual.Fingerprints can be used as another form of authentication.

-Free Movement restrictions:Only a limited number of CSME migrants can be allowed at any one time from a particular Caricom country & they must ALL be skilled by showcasing a tertiary education certificate as proof.If a Caricom national abuses the program they are barred from using the program again depending on the offense.If there is an influx of CSME migrants from any one Nation whose nationals do not return when their time is up that particular Caricom nation forfeits their right to use the program in the nation that has the influx,or at the very least until their is measurable progress on the influx problem

50. For those of us – Bajans – who as small boys or girls have seen our fathers and grandfathers. Backs bent late in the evening trudging their way home from cane fields. Shoes made from old rubber tyres, strapped to caloused feet.

Women in distant fields heavy baskets upon their heads and no shelter from the driving rain. Women walking home from the Pine, Blue Waters – then – and other such places, late at night after 12 hours of domestic service.

Men in heat as that of a furnace, in sugar cane factories, toiling with beads of sweat forming ripples on tired bodies, later absorbed by torn clothing.

Old and young men in stone quarries from the break of day dressed in little more than rags. Iron drills and wedges in bruised hands.

To you my friends it is those people who made Barbados what it is…they were the seed corn. Yes, blood, sweat and tears and in equal measure all three were expended.

We will not go there again for another group. It is to their memory that we say never again, never again, NEVER.