Congratulations from the BU team to David Thompson and the Democratic Labour Party on their victory. May God inspire your government to chart a path to our continued prosperity for Barbados — both on the economic and social fronts.

David – BU

Note: The results captured below are the official results.

Political Leaders Of Barbados

David Thompson

Owen Arthur

Welcome to Election Coverage 2008. Join us here at Barbados Underground as we count the votes and discuss the issues which have emerged in the lead-up to Elections 2008 and other related issues. We invite you to discuss your expectations of the new government and hear what others, including local broadcasters, have to say.

• Should Barbadians be concerned about the functioning of a system of government that has served us well in the post-Independence era?
  • How important are the roles of the Auditor General, Director of Public Prosecutors, Ombudsman and the Publics Accounts Committee to a well functioning democracy?
  • How can Barbadians demand accountability from our politicians after they are elected?
  • How will Barbadians enforce promises that government makes from time to time: Do we, the PEOPLE, need to legislate the power of recall?
  • What about term limits: Is this important given the concerns some Barbadians have about the effect which Arthur’s politics of inclusion has had on the Opposition Party?
BLP
DLP
IND
TOTAL

10 20

Constituency

Candidates

Votes

City of
Bridgetown

Jeffrey Bostic
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jeffrey Bostic

patrick todd
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patrick Todd

winner

St. Michael
South

Noel Lynch
blp_c_logo_19x12

Noel Lynch

fruendel stuart
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Freundel Stuart
New
Attorney General

winner

St. Michael
East

Trevor Prescod
blp_c_logo_19x12

Trevor Prescod

kenny best
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Kenneth Best

winner

St. Michael
South Central

David Gill
blp_c_logo_19x12

David Gill

richard sealy
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Richard Sealy

winner

St. Michael
Central

Rudy Grant
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. Rudy Grant

stephen blackett
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Steve Blackett

winner

david commissiong
pep_logo_90x12

David Commissiong

St. Michael
South East

Hamilton Lashley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Hamilton Lashley

winner

undene whittaker
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Undene Whittaker

St. Michael
North East

Mia Mottley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mia Mottley

winner

patricia inniss
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patricia Inniss

St. Michael
North

Richard Toppin
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ronald Toppin

winner

depeiza
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Francis Depeiza

mark_adamson_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Mark Adamson

St. Michael
North West

Clyde Mascoll
blp_c_logo_19x12

Clyde Mascoll

chris sinkler
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Christ Sinkler

winner

akil_umi_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Akil Umi

St. Michael
West

Joseph Atherley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Atherley

michael carrington
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Carrington

winner

rosita_broome_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rosita Broome

St. Michael
West Central

Rommel Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rommell Marshall

james paul
dlp_c_logo_90x11

James Paul

winner

robert_clarke_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Robert Clarke

Christ Church
West

William Duguid
blp_c_logo_19x12

William Duguid

winner

taan abed
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Mr. Taan Abed

Christ Church
West Central

Joseph Edgehill
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Edgill

113px_ashley.jpg
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Stephen Lashley

winner

Christ Church
South

Jerome Walcott
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jerome Walcott

john boyce
dlp_c_logo_90x11

John Boyce

winner

Christ Church
East Central

Tyrone Lovell
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dalton T. Lovell

112px_jones
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Ronald Jones

winner

Christ Church
East

Reginald Farley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Reginald Farley

denis lowe
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Lowe

winner

rodney_nurse_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rodney Nurse

St. Philip
North

George Griffith
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. George Griffith

michael lashley
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Lashley

winner

St. Philip
South

Anthony Wood
blp_c_logo_19x12

Anthony Wood

adriel brathwaite
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Adriel Brathwaite

winner

douglas trotman
ind_logo_90x12

Douglas Trotman

St. Philip
West

Lynette Eastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Lynette Eastmond

david estwick
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Estwick

winner

St. George
North

Gline Clarke
blp_c_logo_19x12

Gline Clarke

winner

colin spencer
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Colin Spencer

St. George
South

I-Gill-l
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ian Gill

esther byer-suckoo
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Esther Byer Suckoo

winner

St. John

TPower
blp_c_logo_19x12

Tyrone O. Power

david thompson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Thompson

winner

St. Joseph

Dale Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dale Marshall

winner

112px_rouse
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Randal Rouse

St. Thomas

Cynthia Forde
blp_c_logo_19x12

Cynthia Forde

winner

113px_dottin
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haldene Dottin

St. James
North

REastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rawle Eastmond

winner

112px_husbands
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Austin Husbands

St. James
South

Elizabeth Thompson
blp_c_logo_19x12

Elizabeth Thompson

donville innis
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Donville Inniss

winner

St. James
Central

Kerrie symmonds
blp_c_logo_19x12

Kerrie Symmonds

george hutson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

George Hutson

winner

St. Peter

Owen Arthur
blp_c_logo_19x12

Owen Arthur

winner

haynesley benn
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haynesley Benn

St. Andrew

George Payne
blp_c_logo_19x12

George Payne

winner

irene sandiford_garner
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Irene Sandiford-Garner

St. Lucy

PPhilips
blp_c_logo_19x12

Peter Phillips

denis_kellman
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Kellman

winner

216 responses to “Barbados Election Watch 2008”

1. Gail Kellman-Williams Avatar
    Gail Kellman-Williams

Congratulations to the Honorable Cynthia Forde. You are truly a winner!!!!!!

2. BFPE:

“And wuh “long journey to parliament” and “northern wilderness” piss you talking bout? You tink anybody in Barbados living in donkey cart days? ”

Don’t ask me for reasons why George Payne cannot seem to make it to Parliament, ask him.

3. james // January 16, 2008 at 7:55 am

Can anyone comment on the rumour making the rounds that Mottley (practically the only BLP heavy hitter still with a seat) deliberately ran a half-rate campaign in order to pave the way for a leadership bid ? Owen finished. Mascoll finished (forever hopefully). Mottley cruised through. Even if it ain’t true, I like the idea
    ==============================

Nonsense: It was evident to me from the time that Billie Miller was announce as the campaign manager that Mia was not about to take chances with her legacy of wining elections as the BLP’s manager. This has nothing to do with Mia’s role or control of events. This victory was the people’s victory. This victory was by Barbadians for Barbadians and inspite of any thing Mia would have said or could have done. It is time that people realize that Mia Mottley, and Owen Arthur indeed the entire political class have no power besides what we the people give to them. They are no less and certainly no more human than any of us. Time to stop bigging up people beyond what is humanly possible.

4. Barbados First Prison Express a.k.a B F P E !

When we DEMS put you & the other BLP crooks on that Express Bus and take you to DODDS PRISON…….then you can follow our ” 100 days ” plans for Barbados….from your Prison Cell !

5. Gail Kellman-Williams // January 16, 2008 at 9:29 am

Congratulations to the Honorable Cynthia Forde. You are truly a winner!!!!!!
    =============================

ha ha ha ha ha any BLP candidate would have carried St.Thomas. It always amaze me that the BLP would have allowed a political neophyte to run in such a safe seat. Now that every political heavy weight is needed we have a number of opposition BLP seats in BLP fortress constituencies filled with light weights. I hope that Duguid don’t catch a heart attack with the extra work he will now have to do. 😀

…….Cinty is a good representative, but her contribution to parliament on national matters are yet to be seen.

6. If Arthur resigns now and do not assume the role of Leader of the opposition, one can safely lay claim to the believe that he was not destine to be the BLP parliamentary team leader win or lose. It would have made a big lie out of their entire election campaign. I will watch this and see.

7. I Wid David & DEM!!! Avatar
    I Wid David & DEM!!!

Congrats to the DLP!!!!

8. In 1999 after the BLP election win, Liz Thompson penned her thoughts on the election in a nationnews article. She agree to the prevailing pundit commentry that the ’94 and 99 elections slogan of going with Owen and Owen now more than ever, presented a serious problem to the party that they would have to address. I believe that Owen targeted her for those comments, and Liz retreated from them, as did party. It clear that she was right as were the pundits back then that putting all your eggs in one basket is never a a good financial strategy and certainly was not a good political strategy, and this is ever more so in light of the cheque confrontation between Thompson and Arthur, a confrontation that Thompson won hands down. It appeared to me and many others that the BLP ran one candidate in this election, and that candidate had serious defects. Therefore it is safe for me to say that this was Owen Arthurs defeat, and base on that he should relinquish the leadership, but to do so is to demonstrate the blatant lie of the election campaign, and of Mia and all of them who went overboard in Bigging up their leader, clearly intent on demonstrating to the public that in OWEN ARTHUR they have a leader in whom they are well please. Is this now only true when they are winners? can’t he lead while in opposition? I think they will attempt to deal with this by publicaly offering the LOTO to Arthur and to have him publically decline. Honesty is not something that this current BLP lot is in tune with. They will at all cost attempt to perpatrate the image of a united party,…the great LIE that it is.

9. Partial:

I understand your concerns, which I am sure, are shared by many. As a person who spent nearly forty years in national, regional, and international public service, let me assure you that while we may not have written protocols for the change of administration, as they do in the USA, the files in the ministries are not controlled by the politicians, but by the civil servants.

In any event, we are now in an age of electronic documentation and even if an attempt were made to erase data, short of removing the computer hard drives and destroying them, the data can be retrieved.

I am sure that there are a number of retired civil servants on whom the new Prime Minister can call for advice, as others have done, in the past. So you can be of good comfort.

10. Just like the Death of Tom Adams ushered in heighten level of Freedom of speech, one can now expect the bias Nationnews, and the Advocate and others who had seemly lost their voice and independence to come out in full force. I welcome it, but it is high time that people be consistent in their vigilence of Government, for government is but a neccessary EVIL.

11. Dr. Justin Robinson Avatar
    Dr. Justin Robinson

Congrats to the DLP and commiserations to the BLP. Lets give the DLP a little time to enjoy their hard fought victory and then get down to the serious business of government.

12. Don’t know about you guys but I want MP. D. Kellman to be the Speaker of the House. He is a man of honour.

I believe that MP. M. Mottley needs to eat some crow and apologise forthwith to pollster Mr. P . Wickham and his team at CADRES.

We are expecting world class behaviour from here on out.

13. Anonymous // January 16, 2008 at 10:32 am

Don’t know about you guys but I want MP. D. Kellman to be the Speaker of the House. He is a man of honour.

I believe that MP. M. Mottley needs to eat some crow and apologise forthwith to pollster Mr. P . Wickham and his team at CADRES.

We are expecting world class behaviour from here on out.

ha ha ha ha ha ha You looking to shut down Kellman and kellmanomics, I don’t think de short man gine fly with that. I expect his solo journey to continue, he doesn’t know how to serve under anybody as this system of Government calls for. Note Owen and Mia got rid of their weight in Rommel, but Thompson still got his in Kellman. ……and so the pantomime of our parliament is set to continue. 😀

14. Thanks for the info, Linchh. I can rest easy now.

15. I am looking further down the road after this massive win by the DLP.

First, I am looking at the press conference by the Prime Minister-elect. When asked how he felt about winning, his statement was ‘he have to thank Hartley Henry for the victory” he also state that the team was taken to another country for a retreat with the political strategist Hartley Henry.

Secondly, Prime Minister-elect failed to recognize the work by Brandford Taitt, as a matter of fact, he never mentioned his name.

These are fundamental errors that partisan writers failed to comment on, and this have nothing to do with partisan politics.

16. OK the results are in, let’s put party politics and divisions behind us and work together for the good of a united barbados. The name calling, etc does nothing to help us on the path forward. I am waiting on the announcement of cabinet; to see what will happen in the next 100 days and to see what excuses will be offered by the new government when they cannot achieve what they promised in the timeframe they gave. They will inherit projects that they will have to see through and bajans are not foolish they will read between the lines, as they did with the BLP. Look where they are now. Let us all work together for this country and let our voices be heard on the real issues that confront us. Have a good year all.

17. Any thoughts on why The Nation online news site is down and has been since just before they were to have live election poll results?

18. My compilation of the cabinet might be bang on as discussed in an earlier post.

David Thompson – Prime Minister
    Freudel Stuart – Attorney General

Awaiting the rest of the cabinet
    Richard Sealy – Minister of Health
    Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
    Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
    David Estwick – Minister of Finance
    Denis Kellman – Minister of Agriculture
    Esther Byer-Suckoo Minister of Education
    Adrian Loveridge – Minister of Tourism

19. I hope that Duguid don’t catch a heart attack with the extra work he will now have to do
    ——————————————–
    hahaha on target analysis all the way thru sraight talk. My thoughts exactly. Kellman would make decent speaker or he can resign and continue selling fish in moontown. He should not be made a minister. Cabinet is for people who believe in teamwork and respect their leader. Let kellman put on the wig or sell fish.

20. Hi Frank:

It is about time in Barbados’ development that Ministers have some working knowledge of the Ministries that they are given to manage.

I can only hope that the Ministry of Public Works and Transport (all Civil Engineering disciplines) will finally be managed by a Civil Engineer … that would be Richard Sealy.

Best regards,
    Researching

21. It would be exceptional if ministers were appointed according to their skills. James Paul is the obvious choice for Agriculture but I’m not sure how connected he is. I would really, really, really hope that Kellman and his “airport in St. Lucy” does not get a ministry. Speaker would be fine.

22. Whats wrong with an airport in St Lucy?
    Dominica has two airports?

Kellman talks more sense than most people understand. His delivery is the problem.

The speaker should be Estwick – his delivery and behavior is abominable.

23. 2 airports = additional noise pollution over the island = duplication of everything from air traffic control to infrastructure to customs = higher costs = higher taxes. 1 airport with more runways or terminals makes much more sense. I have heard Kellman speak a few times and he is well loved by his constituents but his presentation and his ideas are so far left field that they’re out of view.

24. so what about two hospitals proposal by the bees aint that left field too by your argument

25. sorry another hospital

26. No, the “let’s tief from another construction project by building a second hospital” was even dumber. I’m not saying that Kellman doesn’t have commitment, just that some of his ideas are absolutely wacko.

27. It is about time in Barbados’ development that Ministers have some working knowledge of the Ministries that they are given to manage.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Every minister that are given posts will be knowledgeable about the post given, but will perform his role due to the civil servants who do the ground work. Ministers will be briefed on ministries before any decisions that will be made, and it will be the said ministers to provide facts on all subjects.

28. ha ha ha ha watch de annointed intellectuals in the BLP tell David T how to run his cabinet. It didn’t matter that the Owen Arthur in spite of having the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados ran his government out of his office via the many Ministers of states he had. Boy wunnuh is something else.

29. any word on the st andrew recount?

30. Congratulations to the people of Barbados who had been lulled into complacency by the BLP and the lack of public information.
    BU and BFP and bloggers have been working hard to break the code of silence.
    May God bless Barbados

31. Any word from and or sighting of Mia? Mascoll? wuh bout Atherley? i real concern bout he. Poor fellow just lost he pick and got new baby tuh feed. 😀 Poor Ismeal Roett, will David have compassion and still give him a knighthood? yuh know David can be a real bleeding heart at times. Oh god wuh bout Hendy Bovell? will the government seek to remove this political Tommy Tucker?

……Kerrie Simmonds was never suited to elective politics (Mia version of national politicians who don’t have to face the people in the constituency so often is suited to him) he is simply not a people’s person, he came to politics knowing the pay and then made noise for more money, He came into politics knowing the cultural practices of political representation and sought to rewrite people’s expectations without even so much as attempt to win persons over to his approach, please don’t send this arrogant SOB back to my consituency.

He shouldn’t have won 2003 and was only able to do by 176 votes all because people voting at Bagatelle pavillion in St.Thomas thought they had to vote in St.Thomas. De Dems in that polling area don’t really bother to vote in the lost cause of Thomas elections. Now that they understood that they have a chance of voting with other DEMS in St.James Proper as a result of them living in St.thomas but assigned to vote in St.James central constituency, they came out and push the DLP candidate over Kerrie this time around. A 176 votes and he thought all he had to do was to buy people, I knew from way back in 2004 that he first success was his last mass. I am sure that in his usuall angry condesending manner that he is cussing people in the same the way that Cappy Greenidge would have cuss de people of St.Phillip.

32. Change is good or bad let us just see what happens in the future for Barbados.Remember Barbadians we have to stick together because if the PM David Thompson fails as a PM we all fail as a country so people accept the fact that he is PM because if you don’t Barbados is going down

33. Wickham was vindicated last night as early as 10pm when he accurately and articulately analyzed the raw data coming in from a handful of constituencies in St. Michael. He was steadfast and confident about his polls in favor of the Dems even before all the boxes in town were counted. The man is simply a brilliant pollster.

34. same shit just anudduh day Avatar
    same shit just anudduh day

wuhlaw wuh lay dem now get in an’ de attitudes start wid some o’ dum a’ready.

well a few o’ dum did start befo’ some o ‘ dem get in an’ some ain’t.

Duh get de votes dem did want an’ now start to dis peeple.

Looka watch out yuh? Bajan wake up now yuh, so duh seeing evahting wid open eyes…

de bes’ ting fuh peeple is to move to anudduh country where de politics cant really affeck yuh.

Cause dem does care, til duh get in dey!!!

35. Anon // January 16, 2008 at 7:57 am

What should be done about the Advocate, CBC, and the Nation?
    Get a truly independent newspaper and TV station. It’s time to kick the 3 government lackey news mediums to the curb. It might be a good thing to give away the paper free daily, like they do in major US cities. And no, you wouldn’t be in any special interest group back pocket because your ads will be the income generator. The Nation and Advocate will then be forced to get their act together.

36. de sandiford gurl get in…i en know wuh duh counkin an’ counkin fuh.

wait de PM swear in yet??

i wonduh ef all de ovahsee peeple start to pack yet??

wuh bout I – Lara? wen david movin in?

wait…Adduhlee got a baby?

dah is why he did cryin summuch??

a’rite doan cry, we gine ax david an’ dem, to sen’ you some tisshoes, causen you always cryin, and to drop de price pon baby close, food an medson…dat wud help.

uh fin’ mascoll real quiet doh…
    he musse cryin too…

an’ wood nutten a’tall..

farley..too

oh an’ bostic feel dis did de army but he gi de wrong order…he mussee say ‘fall out’ as oppose to ‘fall in’..he did look too shock doe!!h!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. Yes Wickham has been vindicated

The Advocate Newspaper,
    The Nation Publishing Newspaper

How will they now redeem themselves??????
    We ALL saw and We Know what THEY attempted to do! In the end the will that has spoken, the truth that prevail and the reality check was and is, that of the people!!!!

38. B F P E // January 16, 2008 at 12:08 am

Step forward, Prime Minister David Thompson.

We will soon see exactly what sort of change you will bring to this country.

B F P E
    I’m amazed at the way people think. It took the BLP 14 years to make that mess in Buhbados and wunna now expect the Dems to undo what took 14 years to do in 100 days. Wunna not only unrealistic, but wunna real harsh.

39. My heartfelt congratulations to the magnificent DLP team under the astute leadership of David John Howard Thompson !

Brandford Taitt…..you really managed the troups well !

Jennifer Lazlo…..your input was Brilliant !

Hartley Henry……your strategic focus were always going to be a WINNER !

Neville Rowe…..you ensured that we were in WINNER’S…….Row !

And we DEMS……did it without money or any assistance from TAIWAN or else where !

Onward…..EVER…..Backward…..NEVER !

FRANKOLOGY……is beaming with pride from St. Michael North – West !

40. Diana // January 16, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Change is good or bad let us just see what happens in the future for Barbados.Remember Barbadians we have to stick together because if the PM David Thompson fails as a PM we all fail as a country so people accept the fact that he is PM because if you don’t Barbados is going down

ha ha ha ha Bees think they are still in power. Their call for unity and love of country is hallowed and filled with thoughts of self preservation. I feel confident that those who supported the Dees this time around don’t need to be reminded about love of country, for they remained civil and law abiding while the last government sat by and did nothing about their illegal immigrant concerns, and at times even bragging about engaging the services of said persons, We remained civil and law abiding in the face of verbal attacks and name calling for our willingness to let our voices be heard on any number of things that we felt aggrieved about, We remained civil and law abiding when the last government refuse to engage us, respond to us, and deny us access to information as it pertains to how our money was spent. Don’t you preach to us about unity and love of country, for it was the unity and love of country that led Barbadians to unite in a common cause of ridding the halls of power of this last corrupt lot, it was love of self and country that said no more, and that the risk of an untried leader though great is needed and necessary at this time. The time for change was evident and compelling not as a result of an unprecedented 4th term try, but to my mind more so by the unprecedented cost overruns, and corrupting practices of this last government. We the voters and supporters of change are the ones by our example that can ably and truthfully demonstrate what love of country is all about, not you, not the Bees.

41. I am using this medium to discuss this matter with PM David Thompson .

Dear PM Thompson,

Will you kindly take me back into the DLP fold to share your fatted calf ?

I put my economic training at you disposal.

With the experience I have gained over the past 2 years I will make a good Junior Minister of Finance in your Cabinet.

Your friend,
    Clyde Mascoll

42. FRANKOLOGY……is beaming with pride from St. Michael North – West !
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Jerome, I did vote and I place my vote for a change which was always on the card. I said upfront that a believe in a “Two-term Government”. This system will curtail and massive shifting or wastage of our tax dollars. and allowing the public to deal with inefficiencies sooner rather than later. Remember, complacencies do not prevail in the first five years, but during the second term where the country ignores real economic warning signs. Even the Opposition sometimes fail to detect these signs until a major scandal manifest itself. We must now as a Nation, remove ourself from the doubts of who we spend our time from 6 in the morning to 6 in the evening, ensuring that this is the Government we want. Let’s rally around our new Prime Minister and his team and push Barbados to greater heights. Democracy does prevail in our Island.

Frankology – still will be neutral and fearless.

43. You have me trembling at the thought of this white menace BFPE, you mean you are the people the BLP paid to threaten the man, and you dont sound barbadian, the hacker team you assembled is certainly not black or barbadian in training.

44. You should not be inciting racial hatred in this forum, you sound like a hutu fanatic

45. Gary Cole (aka Tatanka Yotanka),

Don’t you have medication to take or something?

White Bajans are fine. Foreigners (black or white) do not belong in Bajan government.

Nobody in this election voted for Adrian Loveridge. If the DLP placed him as a candidate he would have lost his seat. Which Bajan is going to vote for a white foreigner?

B F P E

46. Gary Cole (aka Tatanka Yotanka),

Adrian Loveridge has been tried and found guilty of being a white foreigner.

Apart from being a minister of tourism or a minister of anything, he should not even be allowed to perform ANY role in the governance of this country.

Those who want to lick his dirty foreign white backside can feel free to do so…. WE NEVER WILL!!!!

B F P E

47. Am BFPE what is your blog site address again now? I have a little time before i move on to run my mouth on the US election and i want to fully ventilate your charges against Adrian Loverage. As it stands right now i have nothing to substantiate what i have so far referred too as your baseless emotional spite against Mr. Loverage, and this is so because i have not been able to find the treasonous infractions of which you have charged him and have subsequently found him guilty off. I will be bringing a forensic viewpoint to bare on your cause to see if indeed there is genuine conviction and validity to it. 😀

……But tell muh doah, since you started your crusade have you made any headway towards your end goal? What measurements have you used and that we can look too as evidence of this? 😀

48. B F P E // January 16, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Gary Cole (aka Tatanka Yotanka),

Don’t you have medication to take or something?

White Bajans are fine. Foreigners (black or white) do not belong in Bajan government.

Nobody in this election voted for Adrian Loveridge. If the DLP placed him as a candidate he would have lost his seat. Which Bajan is going to vote for a white foreigner?

B F P E

am was Aaron Truss born here? Do you agree with me that only citizens of Barbados, born or naturalize should be allowed to vote? and the we shoud away with allowing commonwealth citizens the right to vote in our elections?

49. Adrian Hinds,

“we shoud away with allowing commonwealth citizens the right to vote in our elections?”

Are you targeting GUYANESE in particular, or are you also including the BRITISH who constitute the largest foreign nationals with voting power in Barbados?

One thing that I am very displeased with the BLP about is their failure to make Barbados a republic.

The right to vote in Barbadian elections should be a special right reserved ONLY to citizens of this country, and I would not even include the naturalised ones in that. A citizen of Barbados must be Bajan by birth, not by documentation. Anyone with at least one Bajan parent, and (grudgingly and with lots of conditions) anyone born in Barbados to foreign parents.

All these Guyanese (and Jamaicans and others) in Barbados now, when their Barbados-born children grow up, they will be Bajans because that is the environment in which they will grow up, so I have no problem with that.

Commendations to prime minister David Thompson on the decision to let pensioners cash their cheques tomorrow Thursday since Friday and Monday are holidays. It is a sign of a caring government…. though it could also be good publicity gimmicks.

B F P E

50. Tell us about the former minister of toursim Noeless Blarney Lynch when he recently received a bill for construction work done on his housefor the sum of $ 20,000.00 and how he called the contractor and told him that he Lynch was the owner of a million dollar home and why would he the contractor send he Lynch a bill for $ 20,000.00 and that he the contractor could take the bill and stuff it where the sun does not shine.

That was a ploy that may have worked prior to yesterday, my advice to you Mr Comtractor is to move to seek your payment right away failing this to seek legal action against this scamp and a crook via the Law Courts of Barbados.

Time is longer than Twine my friend Lynch.