Congratulations from the BU team to David Thompson and the Democratic Labour Party on their victory. May God inspire your government to chart a path to our continued prosperity for Barbados — both on the economic and social fronts.

David – BU

Note: The results captured below are the official results.

Political Leaders Of Barbados

David Thompson

Owen Arthur

Welcome to Election Coverage 2008. Join us here at Barbados Underground as we count the votes and discuss the issues which have emerged in the lead-up to Elections 2008 and other related issues. We invite you to discuss your expectations of the new government and hear what others, including local broadcasters, have to say.

• Should Barbadians be concerned about the functioning of a system of government that has served us well in the post-Independence era?
  • How important are the roles of the Auditor General, Director of Public Prosecutors, Ombudsman and the Publics Accounts Committee to a well functioning democracy?
  • How can Barbadians demand accountability from our politicians after they are elected?
  • How will Barbadians enforce promises that government makes from time to time: Do we, the PEOPLE, need to legislate the power of recall?
  • What about term limits: Is this important given the concerns some Barbadians have about the effect which Arthur’s politics of inclusion has had on the Opposition Party?
BLP
DLP
IND
TOTAL

10 20

Constituency

Candidates

Votes

City of
Bridgetown

Jeffrey Bostic
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jeffrey Bostic

patrick todd
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patrick Todd

winner

St. Michael
South

Noel Lynch
blp_c_logo_19x12

Noel Lynch

fruendel stuart
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Freundel Stuart
New
Attorney General

winner

St. Michael
East

Trevor Prescod
blp_c_logo_19x12

Trevor Prescod

kenny best
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Kenneth Best

winner

St. Michael
South Central

David Gill
blp_c_logo_19x12

David Gill

richard sealy
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Richard Sealy

winner

St. Michael
Central

Rudy Grant
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. Rudy Grant

stephen blackett
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Steve Blackett

winner

david commissiong
pep_logo_90x12

David Commissiong

St. Michael
South East

Hamilton Lashley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Hamilton Lashley

winner

undene whittaker
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Undene Whittaker

St. Michael
North East

Mia Mottley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mia Mottley

winner

patricia inniss
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patricia Inniss

St. Michael
North

Richard Toppin
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ronald Toppin

winner

depeiza
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Francis Depeiza

mark_adamson_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Mark Adamson

St. Michael
North West

Clyde Mascoll
blp_c_logo_19x12

Clyde Mascoll

chris sinkler
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Christ Sinkler

winner

akil_umi_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Akil Umi

St. Michael
West

Joseph Atherley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Atherley

michael carrington
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Carrington

winner

rosita_broome_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rosita Broome

St. Michael
West Central

Rommel Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rommell Marshall

james paul
dlp_c_logo_90x11

James Paul

winner

robert_clarke_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Robert Clarke

Christ Church
West

William Duguid
blp_c_logo_19x12

William Duguid

winner

taan abed
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Mr. Taan Abed

Christ Church
West Central

Joseph Edgehill
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Edgill

113px_ashley.jpg
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Stephen Lashley

winner

Christ Church
South

Jerome Walcott
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jerome Walcott

john boyce
dlp_c_logo_90x11

John Boyce

winner

Christ Church
East Central

Tyrone Lovell
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dalton T. Lovell

112px_jones
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Ronald Jones

winner

Christ Church
East

Reginald Farley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Reginald Farley

denis lowe
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Lowe

winner

rodney_nurse_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rodney Nurse

St. Philip
North

George Griffith
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. George Griffith

michael lashley
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Lashley

winner

St. Philip
South

Anthony Wood
blp_c_logo_19x12

Anthony Wood

adriel brathwaite
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Adriel Brathwaite

winner

douglas trotman
ind_logo_90x12

Douglas Trotman

St. Philip
West

Lynette Eastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Lynette Eastmond

david estwick
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Estwick

winner

St. George
North

Gline Clarke
blp_c_logo_19x12

Gline Clarke

winner

colin spencer
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Colin Spencer

St. George
South

I-Gill-l
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ian Gill

esther byer-suckoo
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Esther Byer Suckoo

winner

St. John

TPower
blp_c_logo_19x12

Tyrone O. Power

david thompson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Thompson

winner

St. Joseph

Dale Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dale Marshall

winner

112px_rouse
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Randal Rouse

St. Thomas

Cynthia Forde
blp_c_logo_19x12

Cynthia Forde

winner

113px_dottin
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haldene Dottin

St. James
North

REastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rawle Eastmond

winner

112px_husbands
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Austin Husbands

St. James
South

Elizabeth Thompson
blp_c_logo_19x12

Elizabeth Thompson

donville innis
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Donville Inniss

winner

St. James
Central

Kerrie symmonds
blp_c_logo_19x12

Kerrie Symmonds

george hutson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

George Hutson

winner

St. Peter

Owen Arthur
blp_c_logo_19x12

Owen Arthur

winner

haynesley benn
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haynesley Benn

St. Andrew

George Payne
blp_c_logo_19x12

George Payne

winner

irene sandiford_garner
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Irene Sandiford-Garner

St. Lucy

PPhilips
blp_c_logo_19x12

Peter Phillips

denis_kellman
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Kellman

winner

216 responses to “Barbados Election Watch 2008”

1. Warrior,

“And January 15, 2008 will mark the end of the BLP.”

In case you don’t understand, January 15, 2008 will only mark the end of the last term of a BLP government.

The BLP party and its supporters are NOT going to disappear.

2. Don’t worry. I have a feeling the blogs will continue to report the news.

3. I am elated at this impending victory, however I hope that we the electorate will not sit back on our laurels like we did when BLP was in power and saying we wid dem and don’t bring them to account.

As I said earlier I voted consciously and for Democracy, but if the DLP think that they will ride rough shod over me they got another think coming.

They must be held accountable for anything that they do from here on in, WE have to set the parameters early.

4. I believe some one might have to get some oxygen for George Belle he seems to be eating his fine clothes. He looks very dark on the TV is there a paramedic near by? I noticed that Ms. Husbands glasses seem to be slipping a bit, might be perspiration who knows

Mr. Belle dared to put his reputation on the line and back a poll that even the ducks knew was erroneous, a good name is more valuable then precious gold.

5. Anybody got an update for St Joseph?

6. Anon // January 15, 2008 at 11:11 pm,

Concede?

I’m pleased to see the DLP being given the chance to fail to deliver their many promises. I would be very happy for the country if they achieve what they said they would do, but I really don’t believe them, and having seen many a new government come and go in Barbados I don’t expect any radical change from what the BLP was doing. Names and faces may change but it will be business as usual.

But… time alone will tell.

(And I really DO look forward to my bank holiday tomorrow.)

B F P E

7. Everyone always get exactly what they deserve… Belle and company could not be in a worse position tonight if Wickham planned it himself.

…day can only run ’til night catch it..

8. Interesting, BFPE.
    How come you talking so nice all of a sudden?
    So everything is going to be the same? Will you now be supporting the DLP or will you stick with the BLP?
    Or are you going to quit the blogging business altogether?

9. bfpe …as a young man in thus country u sicken me ! if u dont have anything positive to say shut up and go to sleep, i voted for blp last time, i vote dem out dis time, be gracious in defeat ! ” the time for honoring urself is gone”

10. bfpe …as a young man in thus country u sicken me ! if u dont have anything positive to say shut up and go to sleep, i voted for blp last time, i vote dem out dis time, be gracious in defeat ! ” the time for honoring urself is gone”

11. Warrior,

“As I said earlier I voted consciously and for Democracy, but if the DLP think that they will ride rough shod over me they got another think coming.”

But what can you or anyone else do, except wait for the next election?

Your options under the DLP are exactly the same as they were under the BLP.

12. Anon // January 15, 2008 at 11:33 pm,

“Will you now be supporting the DLP or will you stick with the BLP?”

No changes from my end.

B F P E

13. wow !! // January 15, 2008 at 11:35 pm

“bfpe …as a young man in thus country u sicken me !”

As a young man in this country, I’m glad that I sicken you.

Elections are over, and life goes on. The country was made promises and we will now see whether they are kept or not, you young dunce!

B F P E

14. BFPE……such sour grapes and unsportsmanlike conduct…..tsk tsk
    You say the BLP and its supporters are NOT going away?….which supporters are you referring to as it appears from the election results that there aren’t many to speak of.

15. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

BLP boys better start shredding!

BIG TIME

16. Wisdom outweighs any Wealth Avatar
    Wisdom outweighs any Wealth

B F P E, if I may say, it is not a matter of supporting a party because of the name, for me, it is what in my opinion is the best for the country.

that’s just my five cents worth

17. Peter Wickham has just described Mascoll as history, soon to condemn him to the political dustbin.
    Harsh?

Mr. Boxill on CBC is like a lamb. Remember BU questioned his poll.

18. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Hartley Henry is spot on!

AND

Not a single bit smug.

Well done!

19. PiedPiper // January 15, 2008 at 11:45 pm

“You say the BLP and its supporters are NOT going away?….which supporters are you referring to as it appears from the election results that there aren’t many to speak of.”

You must be incredibly naive and stupid. Do you know the difference between SUPPORTERS and SEATS?

B F P E

20. Apparently Owen Arthur is standing by to make an address to the nation!

21. Wisdom outweighs any Wealth Avatar
    Wisdom outweighs any Wealth

B F P E , You have been nothing but a sore loser all night, we have tolerated you long enough.

GO AWAY AND LICK YOUR WOUNDS!!!!

22. I would like to suggest to all that the “silly season” is now officially over. We have a new government and a new prime minister but we are all still Bajans and this country must come first. We must work together .. We still have to realise that we exist in a global environment which will become VERY difficult in the next few years.. The US is set for a recession which will affect our tourism greatly. It wont be easy for the government…
    But one thing BFPE .. the promises made by the BLP were much more unattainable then what is promised by the DLP.

23. Listening in from Jamaica, the land of crazy elections. This one is rather shocking given some of the buzz that was on the ground here!

Pretty much a DLP sweep…INTERESTING!

Again, never let politicians dictate to you…you are their BOSSES!!!

One Love
    Jamaica

24. WHATS UP WITH Mascoll’s seat, whats the scoop?

25. The era of Owen the dictator from Bend Hill has come to an end.

26. Wisdom outweighs any Wealth // January 15, 2008 at 11:56 pm

GO AWAY AND LICK YOUR WOUNDS!!!!

Wounds? What wounds?

I’m waiting for all the goodies promised to us within the next 100 days.

You sound upset because the DLP made manifesto promises.

B F P E

27. DLP wins 23 seats it looks like. We will update the numbers soon.

Congrats to David Thompson and his team.

28. Hard driver // January 15, 2008 at 11:56 pm

The US is set for a recession which will affect our tourism greatly. It wont be easy for the government…

Are you making excuses for them already?

B F P E

29. Mascoll gone thru the eddoes man, what you expect.

30. I just heard Mr. Arthur say:
    “I leave this office with no rancour ….”
    I did not hear him say:
    “I leave this office with no money ….”

31. BFPE, you there now wetting your Depends.

When you thought that your party would have remained in power you got on like a gutter snipe on these blogs, some behaviour was exhibited by you that animals in the jungle would not even carry on with.

Now you want to play docile and nice and cute, but you like a tea bag and you already went in the hot water and your colours done show out.

You and your ilk thought that the masses were stupid. Tek dah

32. Step forward, Prime Minister David Thompson.

We will soon see exactly what sort of change you will bring to this country.

B F P E

33. Why is CBC allowing Mr. Arthur to run his mouth on National TV, he had thirteen years to have his say

34. I did say from the outset, this win by the DLP was based on the theme that was even used by the DLP as “A time for a change”. People realised that the BLP was in power for the past 3 terms; and even if the DLP was in the Bees position, the results that is manifesting would be the same. What we have to do as a nation, is to allow the new administration to take the mantle of Government and show us that they can run the affairs of the country. We hope that all the election promises would become law within the time frame promised.

Mr. Thompson, I salute you for your massive win and look forward to the best of things from you. Cheers to our new Prime Minister.

35. Just being realistic BFPE … something you lot should have tried long ago ….

36. Warrior // January 16, 2008 at 12:07 am,

No lottalongtalk.

Just tell me about the next 100 days.

April 30th is just around the corner.

🙂

B F P E

37. Wait wunna tink Central Bank guine tek back Mascoll after all he fraudulent behaviour

38. Why is CBC allowing Mr. Arthur to run his mouth on National TV, he had thirteen years to have his say
    …………………………………………………………………….
    If you were listening, the reporters were asking the questions. Suppose Mr. Arthur refuse to answer the questions, you will be saying he is arrogant on his defeat.

39. I have every confidence….

David Thompson will be the best Prime Minister EVER in Barbados.

It will also be our most challenging period as a country… but I am excited and relieved that the BAJAN integrity and sense of honesty and justice prevailed…

We just voted to deflect much more serious spiritual consequences…. unfortunately we may still be subjected to the BFPE venom for some time to come…

40. Hard driver,

“The US is set for a recession”

That’s not reality…. that’s speculation.

I’ll catch you yardfowls later.

Hammie La has just beaten Undene Whittaker!!!!

Hehehe!!!!

🙂

Roll out the new Prime Minister!!!!

Roll out the new MPs and cabinet ministers!!!!

B F P E

41. Brooklyn's in the House Avatar
    Brooklyn’s in the House

All I can say is that I’m looking forward to new representation in St. Andrew! Someone’s got to fix those roads and do something about preserving the Turner’s Hall Woods. I love the Scotland District and if what you’re reporting is true, I welcome the new government!

42. Warrior // January 16, 2008 at 12:08 am

Why is CBC allowing Mr. Arthur to run his mouth on National TV, he had thirteen years to have his say

At least 2 TV station licenses are already given out (should the DLP win) , just thought I would be first to say it, its suppose to be part of the integrity legislation, freedom of information thing.

I voted for DLP just for that, i got that news a week before today, don’t kill, i love TV.

43. Well my faith remains UNSHAKEABLE in my Bajan people .

Jay, Royal rumble , B.F.P.E , Frankology where are you HIDING ?

1994, 1999 , 2003….2008…Four Love in wunnah…….*.SS…..!

Tek dat !

44. Well my faith remains UNSHAKEABLE in my Bajan people .

Jay, Royal rumble , B.F.P.E , Frankology where are you HIDING ?

1994, 1999 , 2003….2008…Four Love in wunnah…….*.SS…..!

Tek dat !

45. Bush Tea,

“unfortunately we may still be subjected to the BFPE venom for some time to come…”

Sounds like you are unhappy that not everyone in Barbados will be following the DLP with our eyes wide shut.

You don’t sound very confident about the future.

Hmmm…. where is Wishing in Vain, my favourite DLP clown, joker and yardfowl?

Ketch wunna later…. I gotta get up early in de morning and put on uh yellow(ish) shirt and get some o dah FREE FOOD and FREE DRINKS dat gine be flowing like water tomorrow!!!!

Heheheheeeeeeeeee!!!!

🙂

B F P E

46. Don’t be like us, the JLP. We made promises to Jamaica that we cannot keep!! People in more pain now than ever before. We dying to be the opposition again. It is easier for us to sit back and talk garbage than it is for us to actually do work – phew! Just a few years left 🙁

47. Jerome Hinds,

Boy, why wunna wun lemmah guh sleep?

I really did drooling fuh dah FOUR LOVE in wunna…

Anyways, THREE fuh WE, ONE fuh WUNNA! So tek um!!!!

B F P E

48. There is a recount in St.James South. That is Donville Inniss and Liz Thompson also one in St. Joseph i.e.Marshall and Rouse.

49. funny guy ! bfpe, lolol i am sure i can eclipse u on any level of discussion be it academic or on the street corner, luckily for me a visionary called errol walton barrow helped me to a cawmere education, a bachelors and an acca … lol …a dunce ? maybe in ur eyes, but u just seem to be a hurt fool lashing out at everyone…take my advice, get a good warm bath, a shot of white rum, and go to sleep..wunna get wunna ass buss ! hahaha

50. funny guy ! bfpe, lolol i am sure i can eclipse u on any level of discussion be it academic or on the street corner, luckily for me a visionary called errol walton barrow helped me to a cawmere education, a bachelors and an acca … lol …a dunce ? maybe in ur eyes, but u just seem to be a hurt fool lashing out at everyone…take my advice, get a good warm bath, a shot of white rum, and go to sleep..wunna get wunna ass buss ! hahaha