view_47042.jpg

Minister of State Clyde Mascoll – In the background is director of Hardwood Housing Factory Inc., Anthony Murrell, Leader of the Opposition David Thompson and Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Prime Minister Owen Arthur at the nomination of Clyde Mascoll to run in St. Michael North West in the next General Election, last weekend at the Ellerslie Secondary School, sent a loud message to Leader of the Opposition David Thompson. The message in summary was for Thompson to ‘bring on’ the no confidence motion in Clyde Mascoll which he issued at a political meeting in Deacons on October 14, 2007 – read our story. In another BU story we introduced the idea that Thompson and his Opposition should have used the parliamentary motion of no-confidence in the government as a strategy to strengthen its perception in the public eye of an Opposition Party doing its job. Contrary to a widely held view, a motion of no-confidence maybe brought not only to defeat but to embarrass a government. Unfortunately we have held the view for sometime now that David Thompson has blundered by not using this parliamentary procedure to good effect.

Some of you may disagree with BU and cite the feeble attempt by the former Leader of the Opposition Clyde Mascoll when he brought a motion of no-confidence of his own against Prime Minister Owen Arthur. Did you really forget the St. Peter Affair? In 12 days Thompson will have to deliver on his promise of tabling a motion of no-confidence in Mascoll. Don’t be surprise if the government attempts to nullify or frustrate Thompson’s motion of no-confidence by a counter of its own. It is our opinion that there is real animosity between the two former schoolmates who attended the fabled Combermere Secondary School. The Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour Party, if they are not smart, could become sidetracked with this sub-plot. If this were to happen the DEMS would be the loser.

We have alluded in previous postings that Thompson’s political future rests on a positive outcome to the motion of no-confidence. Remember he does not have to win the motion, its effect will be seen in the parliamentary privilege which Thompson will enjoy to say what he damn well pleases. Expect this encounter to get nasty for three reasons:

1. For David Thompson this is a must win if he is to turn around the public perception of ‘loser’ and ascend to the highest political office. The next election may be won on the economic issues but leadership will be high on the list

2. For Clyde Mascoll he needs to shake the credibility and integrity issues which have surfaced as a result of his unprecedented move from Leader of the Opposition to a Minister in Government quicker than Flash Gordon (we have discounted the brief period he sat in parliament as an independent)

3. Prime Minister Owen Arthur is fully aware that the political stock of his party is linked to Mascoll who must be untainted by any impropriety

We can say a lot more …

107 responses to “No-Confidence Motion Looms; Current Leader Of The Opposition David Thompson To Face Off Against The Former Leader Of The Opposition And Current Minister Of State, Clyde Mascoll”

1. Wishing In Vain

I have always admiredyour passion and commitment to the DLP Party and you are not alone in wanting LONG overdue change in Government.

I said the DLP can go after anyone including Mascoll all I am saying is that sometimes anger, revenge, and pay back time as important and justified as they maybe can cause you to lose sight of the BIG PICTURE. That can be very dangerous when going after the vote.

The DLP must keep its focus on the important issues that trouble the majority across the 21miles by 14 of this rock.

We have to show that we are looking out for the best interests of all Barbadians. WE need to get the message out that if things are to change the masses of Barbados have to change their attitudes and by that I mean they must get out and vote.

Elections are complicated games much like a chess game.

Have fun while electioneering but keep in focus what is important to the masses and let them know how you plan to fix them

2. No Name it will surprise you to know that I am not a member of either of the parties, nor am I involved with the operations of the party.
    Having said that, I have seen this island slide over this last term and I am willing to put my two cents worth to the discussion to help return this island to a more enjoyable place to holiday and to live.
    Simply put I love Barbados but detest where Owing and his gang are leading us, and I have chosen to speak out about it, that is my position and I make no excuses for it, since my return home twenty years ago there have been many positives but this last term there are many negatives that far exceed the positives hence my decision to speak out.

3. WIV, I agree whole heartedly with your comments, the first two terms were enlightening, but from the third term, complacency stepped in and everything start to decline. You might show your feeling towards one party, but me, I am going to be a thorn in both parties, the PEP just wasting time, and every politician that loiters and still receive our taxpayers salary.

4. WIV

As deboyz es say dey ent eh ting wrong wid ya position an more Bajans shul tink lik yuh

5. WIV we have to agree with Frankology. Barbadians want to hear facts. The corn beef politics of innuendo is getting tired. We have given you and others a lot of leeway to air your views, all we ask that it is not abused.

6. David your last post went over my head.

I believe that you and many of your posts were “The corn beef politics of innuendo” that invited comments. And I am not trying to be critical or supportive of anyone.

We have certainly run rough shod over Mascoll, Owen the alleged drunk, Gems, Free flow, New Jail and the list goes on. None of these things have had any basis in fact to support them. Or am I wrong? I mean as far as “Corruption” or “wrong” doing is concerned. Why then were they posted for comment?

I agree that some of the political rhetoric mine included is getting a little tired but remove it and what do you have? More political rhetorci like the Vaucluse controversy. This is the newest debate.

I guess the ball is in your court to raise issues that will remove the repetitive political rhetoric.

I am not being testy David or disrespectful this is your blog and you have the RIGHT to tell us all anything you want and what you expect but that is not the point. When you open various cans of mainly political worms you know as well as I do where it will go.

To be truthful with you I do agree with you in principle and I am of the opinion that my and most contributions are nothing more than whistling in the wind and yes many of the subjects are becoming tired and overkilled. But that is the downside of a blog.

7. no-name is it corn beef politics when we discuss the obvious squandermania of GEMS? What about highlighting glaring issues with the flyover project? What about the inconsistent or open door immigration policy which the government of Barbados has practiced? What about issues of a religious and moral nature which we often discuss and exchange ideas.

One more thing, a blog is the personal opinions of the blog owner who may or may not invite comments. WIV should understand what we mean. We have tolerated people being called crooks and liars without context. When we write our articles we always give a basis for the argument.If anybody calls an individual a thief please back it up.

8. Fred // Nov 12th 2007 at 9:28 am

I say to you the above is a very accurate post to what actually took place, the young man in question works as a bartender in a chain of very well known bars and restaurants on the island.
    I think this one is in the bag I tell you!!!
    More importantly is that Arthur when he reads this post will know exactly what he did and why he did what he did, if he is living in a state of drunkeness that is his problem but do not constantly curse people as he is doing.
    ———————————————————–
    That young man’s attitude is the reason why Owen and the BLP think they can get away with anything. How can this young man expect me to believe him/you that he is truly upset with Owen yet had 3 shots of Vodka with him?

9. But it is not unreal to see this happening as he would see having a drink in the PM’s office as a big thing and tell me who would refuse to drink with the PM ?
    I am not approving the action but rather just seeing how it could come about.

10. I sent an email to you David.

We got it, thanks!

11. I sit and shake my head in disbelief when yet another day in the life of Parliament and our Prime Minister is yet again another no show, now let us put this no show into perspective when one considers that he has been a no show since the budget reply (where he received a hammering from Mr David Thompson with regard to his handling of that cheque) but since the budget until today he has not seen it fit to represent the people of St.Peter in the House of Assembly.
    It begs the question what exactly is the reason that has kept him away from doing the peoples business, is it a fear of coming face to face with Mr Thompson ?
    Or is it his fear that he will get some harsh questions about his handling of a multitude of questionable deals ?
    Fear not Owing this will be addressed by the DPP after the next election, no not in the House of Assembly,no not just yet it will come when the time is right and ready.
    You need not hide at this time you need to face the public and face the music.

12. Wishing in Vain // Nov 13th 2007 at 2:30 pm

Fear not Owing this will be addressed by the DPP after the next election,
    ————————————————————

The sound bites are all good, but some details are needed. If the DLP wins the next election how does this affect the current office holder of the DPP? Indeed i believe a DLP win would in fact raise question about the actions of the Cheif Justice, as i believe it would be hard for the current holder not rule base on his political affilitations. So lets hear as to what the law says with regard to a new government and the office of the DPP and cheif Justice. I don’t think there is anything open to a PM after the fact to remove these persons.

13. Wishing in Vain // Nov 12th 2007 at 9:41 pm

But it is not unreal to see this happening as he would see having a drink in the PM’s office as a big thing and tell me who would refuse to drink with the PM ?
    ————————————————————

I would, and be dammend proud of it too.

14. You i thought Colin Spencer wasn’t going to be a match for “Wuk fuh wuh” but on hearing de man i tell yuh Gline Clarke got his work cut for him.

15. Where was Owen Arthur today as the Dems took Mascoll apart? Why is he leaving a political boy to do a man’s job. The BLP benches were howling with laughter as David Thompson mauled Mascoll both on the philosophical issues and his integrity. It was a pathetic response by government.

16. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Today Tompee failed once again to deliver on his promise of bring the motion of no-confidence. He is so ooo consistent. But then again that’s his style and some people love it. I wouldn’t bank on his word … I’ll be bankrupted in a hurry.

17. You silly as how could he, you sill fool when mottley halted the sitting of the house right after lunch, and halted it before they got started.
    You half truths are despicable you and your party must now rate as the biggest pack of liars ever assembled in one place.
    The reaction I saw today said to me the even though they should win the no confidence motion they are running scared of the other motions as well as the damage that will come from the revealing of the truths of Hardwood and they are others to be revealed.

18. Debate aborted today due to a fear of the DLP bringing their motion I wonder which aspect of the motion they fear the most the No Confidence Motion or is it the Defamation of Character act along with the moving of an act for Integrity of Legislation in Barbados.
    Does this not require further investigation and further research, seems a lot like the kids playing cricket and the owner of the bat and ball gets given out and he takes up his bat and ball and goes home, spoilt child mentality in action.
    It would appear to me that Owing will need to avoid the liquor for the rest of the week if he is to attempt to make any sensible contribution come Friday he sounded awful in his few minutes at the mic today.

19. I beg you to think about this for a minute, Mr Thompson read the motion he plans to lodge to the mass meeting on SUNDAY night this would clearly suggest that there is a clearly defined plan of action and readiness and that it is written and ready to proceed, I have heard mottley rumbling that if he does not she will lodge one, well I heard the one written by the DLP I have heard nothing coming from the blp so I am left to assume that the fear of having Mr Thompson being ready willing and able left them in a state of confusion and uncertainty hence their unwillingness to allow the sitting to continue.
    The aborting of todays sitting was an amazing statement by the blp they talk the talk but falter when the chips are down.
    We are also awiting serious debate about the massive cost overrun on the VECO built PRISON which started out at US $ 60 million and now is US $ 142 million this smells of corruption and dishonesty.

20. No this one hits atthe very basis of operation of the blp lies, lies, lies, smoke and firworks, music and dancing and partying but behind it all nothing more than cosmetics and nonsense.
    All the hype that Owing and mottley generated telling people bring it on, ASSCOLL you going to have to face a vote so said Owing to ASSCOLL, if the opposition does not bring a motion I will bring one mottley said, all hot air they shut down doing the peoples business today for FEAR of the motion coming from the leader of the Opp0sition.

21. WIV we are no expert in parliamentary procedure but we do know that certain standing order rules have to be observed which would have made it imposible to hear the motion today. You should read the front page article of the Nation newspaper to get an idea of what we mean.

22. WIV I heard on the Starcom that the resolutions have bee given to the Speaker. I believe that that is what is loosely being termed as “laid!”

But I am confirming that Clyde Mascoll and “Such Stupid Comments” are one and the same person. How appropriate a name!

23. WIV, stop misleading people. The Hon. David Thompson said he will table the resolution as early as Tuesday, November 20, 2007. How can he proceed with a motion before it being lodged. Let’s wait until Friday at 10.01 a.m and see if Hon. Mia Mottley and the Government live up to the statement. Meanwhile, I think this blog is pre-mature and does nothing for the expected debate. I have no more comment until Friday

24. frankology I am not at all surprised that you opt to evacuate when this matter arises,you are very much like Owing you run when the heat gets to much for you, but my friend this heat is not going anywhere too soon.
    Hate to burst you bubble my friend Thompson tabled the motion today as promised and as he said he would have done, maybe the shock was too great for you and your friends hence the rush to abort the sitting!!!

25. But I am confirming that Clyde Mascoll and “Such Stupid Comments” are one and the same person. How appropriate a name!
    Are you suggesting that Malik wid teeth is trying to read and learn what not to do as a minister ?
    He has been a little late in his move in this direction, what we have since learnt is that is is as crooked as they come and a compulsive liar and a thief anything that I may have missed you are free to fill in but I still want to know where those 500 houses he said Murrell built in Grenada are ?

26. This is potent stuff and needs reading.
    Comments
    Yardbroom
    November 18, 2007 at 1:57 pm
    There is a belief held by some members of this BLP administration, that there is no division between taxpayer’s money, and their personal income. Therefore, all monies can be used as they please. This perception of ownership, leads to arrogance in the first instance, with massive over spends and little accountability. As regards integrity, it is best not to go there, as we are told that integrity is not a prerequisite for our leader – I will just leave that thought to ferment, and quickly move on.

One is tempted to ask, is this state of affairs due to incompetence, or being unable to hold together the responsibilities, they have been entrusted with by the electorate.

The webs they have weaved, to conceal are rather tangled, so it is best not to labour in vain – but to concentrate on outcomes.

There are many reasons for changing a Government, and although the list that follows is not exhaustive, and is not intended to be. It identifies some of the basic ones, applicable to the ordinary man/woman in the street.

(a) They have failed to deliver on their promises, when the opportunities were there, for them to do so.
    (b) They have not managed the nations resources, with the prudence and accountability, one expects of a competent administration.
    (c) They have operated in a climate, that gives the impression held by many, that the Laws of our country are ineffective to deal with the problems that affect ordinary citizens. This has led to people saying there is no Law. ( When there is no morality, and no proper enforcement of the laws that exist, dejection, is then followed by decay.)
    (d) The perception held by some, is that certain citizens are above the law, always an unhealthy state in a democracy. Even if this is an unfounded perception, when it is held by large numbers, it assumes a “reality” of its own, and is not healthy for a well ordered society.
    (e) The virtues of honesty and integrity are sadly lacking, as a result there is no example – to the much maligned young – as our leaders cannot speak from a position of moral authority.
    (f) The cost of living, from all honest impartial sources is very high for Barbadians, the excuse proffered from a Government Minister. Is that the populace, particularly the very poor should engage in more prudent money management. (Good advise indeed, but it has a better ring of truth, if it is practised by those who who give it, when they manage taxpayer’s money.)
    The above are just basics, but they have an impact on the social, moral and economic life of the ordinary citizen.

With this week in mind, may I quickly say it is rather fortuitous, that David Thompson held his nerve, when others suggested a scatter gun approach to the issues that confront Barbados.

The result being, the Hardwood issues have taken centre stage, and are to be debated in Parliament, of all places. At the risk of repeating myself. I say again, David Thompson you are doing the right thing, you have cleverly and adroitly marshalled your facts, to present a case on substance, that the electorate can easily understand, and identify with.
    It is for those of like mind, and with the interest of our country at heart, to rally to your leadership and be committed to the same. Our country needs your sure touch, and steady hand, you can safely leave the histrionics to others, we have had enough of that in the past, and it has not got us no where.

In the end people will see that you were right, that is not said in a manner of wanting to prove anything or yourself, but what one expects of a statesman, a leader of people a builder of a nation.

When a leader goes into battle, he should know that his troops are behind him to a man/woman, with a unity of purpose, and cohesion of thought faith, and hope. There should be no shilly- shallying, no wavering, no doubt, no hedging or boxing clever.

The time is now, for nailing colours to the mast, with the trident held aloft, victory will come at last for the hitherto “invisible people.”

27. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

I am trying to work out How Wishing in Vain and write so much and say so little. Then again empty vessel makes the most noise

28. For all the BLP…….charlatans !

Do not worry about the No – Confidence Motion !

David Thompson kept his word……followed the correct Parliamentary procedures and handed it in to the Clerk of Parliament .

The problem for you BLP……charlatans is this !

Right – thinking Barbadians in their THOUSANDS waiting on proper responses to these questions :

* Why with $$$$ 2 million HARDWOOD Inc was writing bounced cheques for ” large sums ‘ of money like $ 500.00 ?

* Why would this ” government ” agency employ illegal immigrants ?

* Why only 15 houses were laid out and still lying down in the factory ?

* If HARDWOOD Inc. mandate was to build low income houses……how come it ended up getting a contract ( without tender ) to build 4 sport pavilions ?

29. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Jerome Hinds you jackass, If that is your no-confidence case why are you making it here and not in the House of Assembly? Are you afraid of the answers?

I truly hope you can take the heat when it is turned on and trust me it will.

Ask TOMPEE why he hiding behind the dead.

30. Jerome, don’t let Cap-in-hand confuse you man. He wants to go with Mascoll but is sticking around to carry and bring news.

Speak your mind fearlessly. They can’t have pins with our leader and the country needs him right now more than ever. They can’t stop talking about him and that amuses me!

31. We have a source who happens to be a Member of Parliament who confirmed to us this morning that the motion will be debated on Tuesday.

So the speculating can stop 🙂

32. David,

The only authoritative source on that would be David Thompson. Have you spoken to him? That’s the point.

I heard Richard Sealy and Mia Mottley on about it today in the House. The BLP has tried to amend the resolutions according to Sealy and David Thompson hasn’t even signed them.

The most you can say, David, is the private members’ business will be done but unless you speak with the MP who laid it – since it is his private members resolution – the “speculation” will continue.

33. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

EX MP if I was stalling and playing for time while wishing in vain I would not sign either.

That Coward don’t want to debate the no-confidence motion , plain and simply.

Yuh can run but yuh can’t hide

34. Such Stupid Comments AKA ASSCOLL

I had chosen to ignore you and your stupidity on these sites but I must say your baloney is better served on the biggest promotional website of the DLP and that is your site, they are missing a madman go back there and keep plugging away and changing voters minds.
    The more they read on your site the more the detesting you and your party of crooks are proven to be.
    I must compliment you as your effort with your site has swung a few voters to vote for the DLP maybe just maybe if you and your ilk were not quite so blatantly dishonest and maybe did not lie as you do, people would be more sympethic to the rape you have undertaken of the treasury of this fair island.

35. November 24, 2007
    NO AMOUNT OF POLITICAL MACHINATIONS CAN HIDE THE TRUTH
    Its time for Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and the leading lights of the Barbados Labour Party to come clean on the issue of their obvious impatience with the timing of the Hardwood Housing scandal debate. We know for sure that it is clear that this issue is interfering with their election calling timetable and that Hardwood and the issue of cost of living could not have come at worse times for this blighted BLP group, Originally all systems were “go” for the calling of a mid- December general election. We have discovered that these plans now to be shelved even though they were discussed at their last meeting of Senators and MPs.

The BLP concern is that they do not want to carry this election too far into the New Year, but they cannot go to the polls with two such major issues unresolved and still hanging over their heads. The public should by now be able to see that they need to throw every possible solution at resolving these two particular issues before the end of this month.

The childish threat by Leader of the House, Mia Mottley to bring a counter no-confidence motion through the back door was always laughable if it was not so serious coming from a government that wants to temporarily suspend the Barbadian constitution. Although such foolishness was never on the cards because bringing a motion on Hardwood would have made it impossible for the Leader of the Opposition to do the same a few days later. It is David Thompson’s motion that goes to the heart of the matter. As the Leader of the Opposition said, “If they want to hurry this process and dissolve Parliament before debating Hardwood, that’s a matter for them. But I warn that they will have to answer a series of questions from the public platforms”.

While Ms. Mottley was misleading the honourable House and accusing David Thompson of not being ready with his motion, he had long given a copy of the Motion of No Confidence and the resolution calling for Integrity Legislation, Asset Declaration, Freedom of Information and amendments to the Defamation Act to the Clerk of Parliament. This is a shame and we hope that parliamentary action will be taken against the Deputy Prime Minister.

The stage is now set for debate on these crucial issues. The No Confidence Motion was deliberately tied to the accompanying resolution on integrity because we don’t just want to discipline Ministers who step out of bounds we also want to set forth to the Parliament and to the people of this country how the Democratic Labour Party, as a government in waiting, will go about repairing the damage that has been done to image of politics and the issue of governance in Barbados.

David Thompson has insisted, and rightly so, that this will not be done in their time.

In his letter to the Speaker and in a conversation with the Leader of the House, he had already given notice that he was going to be out of the island on private family business towards the end of this week, so it really made no sense for the Leader of the House to have adjourned proceedings until Friday. The motion that was given to the Speaker will not be debated on Friday. It’s as simple as that. No one is intimidated by Mottley’s threats and her silly strategy is now in tatters.

The colorful adjectives and superlatives used by Owen Arthur, is are all he is good for nowadays, are a reflection of his anxiety and desperation to clean the “things to do tray”, so as to pave the way for the calling of elections.

Mascoll et al are bungling the Cost of Living issue. This BLP had absolutely no intention of tackling cost of living before the elections, but now that it has been brought into play, they are agitated because they know that this will force them to choose between the interest of the people of Barbados and the interests of their financial masters. That is why we insist that that 20 per cent price reduction initiative is a farce that will not last, if ever it comes into operation.

36. The meeting tonight at Eagle Hall will be good,SSC come listen and learn to the spekers from the DLP and maybe you will start telling the truth.
    Meeting start early so get there early to get a seat as these meetings get really busy and very crowded, with the fisrt half of hour after the start.

37. blast from the past.. my oh my.

http://www.nationnews.com/life/357186283977567.php

38. HOW DESPERATE CAN THE BLP GO TO FOOL THE PUBLIC
    THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) has dismissed Government’s plans to build a new $700-million hospital and to complete work on the long-stalled St John Polyclinic, as just “attempts to catch votes“.

Opposition spokesman Richard Sealy told a news conference at Linda’s Bar in Bank Hall, St Michael, yesterday, that the DLP could not support the hospital project, or any multi-million-dollar scheme to be headed by Minister of Health Dr Jerome Walcott.

In the past, the party has called for Walcott’s resignation, claiming his performance was not up to scratch.

“We’re not supporting it,” Sealy said of the hospital project.

He called for the initiative to be put on hold until after the general election, widely expected to be held soon.

Earlier yesterday, Walcott announced that the Government planned to build a new hospital, which would take over from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) as the island’s premier health care institution.

The minister said the project would take four years, but admitted he was not in a position to say when construction would begin.

He also disclosed that Government would spend $5 million completing the St John Polyclinic in a two-year programme.

The polyclinic was originally part of the DLP’s 1988-1993 Development Plan, but construction was abandoned in 1992. No construction has been done on the site since.

Sealy charged that resuming construction on the polyclinic after 14 years represented nothing more than a “last-minute, vote-grabbing” attempt by the Government.

He made the comments during a news conference at which DLP candidate for St Michael West, Michael Carrington, reported on his tour of the constituency and the problems he encountered.

39. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

DIDN’T ALL BARBADIANS hear David Thompson say that he was going to broaden the application of his no-confidence motion to include the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government? So what went wrong? Today this column intends to shoot straight from the hip and put this matter squarely on the table. We have grown fed up with Thompson taking intelligent Barbadians on a political rollercoaster.

Firstly, to understand why the no-confidence motion remains directed at the Honourable Clyde Mascoll, one would have to have been present at the series of meetings held in George Street last week to decide on a course of action for the no-confidence motion following the discovery of the news that Thompson really does not have any incriminating evidence linking Mr Mascoll to Hardwood Housing Inc.

During one of the stormy meetings to decide the fate of the ill-conceived no-confidence motion, a number of options were considered. Thompson was told that he should back off the idea of laying a resolution in Parliament for a debate on the matter simply because not only could he not win in terms of the numbers in the House, but, more importantly, the information he presented to the meeting did not incriminate Mr Mascoll. However, that option was thrown through the window as it was felt by a few that Thompson had committed himself and could not pull back at this time.

The second option on the table was the option to broaden the no-confidence motion to include issues of corruption and governance and to direct it at the entire BLP Government. That option was immediately shot down. At this point [some people] tabled their reservations about participating in a debate which they felt was clearly designed to attack Mr Mascoll.

With both these options out the window, the only alternative left was for Thompson to proceed with the motion but to do everything possible to delay its actual debate as it was strongly felt that Parliament would soon be going on Christmas leave. It was also felt that the House would most likely not be reconvening until after the election and this they felt would have provided the perfect excuse for not only Thompson to get out of the debate, but to also keep the issue alive during the election campaign. Thompson would then charge that Government ran away from the debate by proroguing Parliament knowing that without this issue, the DLP has no other election prop.

It is therefore not surprising that after Government went out of its way to accommodate the no-confidence debate and summoned a meeting of Parliament for today, that one could read in the daily news for Wednesday, November 21, that Thompson would not be in the island. He would presumably be away attending a funeral. Barbadians are therefore left to wonder how Thompson determines his priorities.

We certainly hope that upon his return to the island, he would be ready to attend to the business of the people for which he is constitutionally mandated to do and stop this contemptuous behaviour towards Barbadians. Is this the kind of leader Barbados deserves? We think not.

40. Mia’s on, Thompson is not. Let’s see who flinches first 🙂

http://www.barbadosparliament.com/hs_asbly_order_paper.php

And what’s this about an attempt by government to “ammend” the resolutions before they’re’ debated???

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/NewViewNewsleft.cfm?Record=33778

41. If this were a boxing match mottley would be out for the count.

Once again mottley’s attempt to grandstand has faltered and was blown out of the water by the Leader of the Opposition Mr David Thompson.

His mission today in the house of assembly was to try to force the hand of the Leader of the Opposition Mr David Thompson with regard to the Motion of no Confidence, it turned out that he came out the match badly wounded and badly hurt by Leader of the Opposition Mr David Thompson.

The urgency that he wants attached to this motion (maybe for his own anxious reasons to unseat ASSCOLL) maybe also to get this issue behind them to go into calling a general election.

However as the Leader of the Opposition Mr. David Thompson clearly stated that and educated him (mottley) that it is his motion and he will debate it in his time when he feels it necessary to do so and no amount of his mannish voicings can or will influence the debate timing.

I think we all understand the reasons for his grandstanding as he mottley is doing, what he has to understand is when Mr David Thompson is ready, all of them will be dealt with, no stone will be left unturned in exposing the dishonesty of this blp admistration.

If his holding back on the debating this motion is preventing them from calling the election, call the election the masses will deal with you and your party in a most fitting way.

If it is delaying your undermining ASSCOLL and sending him to his doom, I say to you to wait your time to shaft him but do not try to dictate the pace to Mr Thompson you neither have the intellect or the ability to do so, you are a distance from him in manner, content or style, sadly lacking ability.

Once again today just another day that Arthur’s voice was unheard in the house, what are we paying him to do certainly not to attend the house any longer.

Round 2 to Mr David Thompson.

42. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

WIV what stupidity but I must say your baloney is better served on the biggest promotional website of the DLP, they are missing a madman (yes Hartley Lazzlo) go back there and keep plugging away and changing voters minds.

43. This goes out to WIV/SSC and the whole lot of defamatory writers.

Why all the changing of people’s sex and the name calling. We suppose to be big men/women dealing with serious issues that affect our nation, yet, we are going down the personal line. Let’s become more professional, the world is watching.

To the signing of the ‘No Confidence document, which is still waiting on Mr. Thompson’s signature; as we know, he state that he is in no hurry to sign. This is pathetic and I will not align myself with that decision. If you are hasty in condemning someone due to any irregularities, why the sudden change of heart, and do not tell me that is strategist planning as portray by WIV and ExMP, this is playing with the public and not the opposing candidate.

What happened today resembles a play where a bank robber was caught in the act. The police with a microphone shout “drop the gun and come out with your hands in the air”. The robber responded immediately ” I ain’t coming out, I am a man…”if I tell you I ain’t coming out, nobody can tell me what to do”.

This is the behaviour as displayed by Mr. Thompson today. The same scenario, the same response.

I am also against the leader of the house getting involved with the direction of any private member’s business. The entire episode was pathetic. Zero points for what occur today.

44. Knowing how Owing loves the limelight it is funny how he has chosen to not attend the Commonwealth heads of state conference in Africa.

Is this a sign of the times?

What with him cursing out his female election worker a few weekends ago and now missing the grand stage to have his pictures taken at, surely it must mean elections are around the corner, and there is no way that Mr Thompson will allow him the opportunity to sneek one in while people are focusing on Christmas shopping etc, hence the delaying of the motion well done to the DLP for being about a dozen steps ahead of the blp on this big foot move to kidnap the country.

No Owing we are not voting to elect our representatives to the house and on a republican status at the same time we do not intend to be confused by your underhand nasty, slime moves.

45. frankology,
    Mr Thompson can bring the motion whenever he cares to bring it my friend, he has told mottley that he does not intend for her to dictate the pace to him nor should he allow her in her bullfrog manner to do so.

It is also more about timing, If you are watching and listening you may have picked up that there was a move afoot to throw a surprise December election just when people would be distracted with the getting ready for Christmas period but by holding the motion out a little while longer it will have to fall into the new year period, every month that goes by is another few hundred votes in his coffin.

The blp do not want to go into an election with a no confidence motion over their heads (neith do they really want the negative publicity that it will generate either) so that explains the grandstanding that mottley displayed today, the sad thing is they are so preoccupied with Mr Thompson they now seem to have forgotten the peoples business.

As I said earlier today Round 2 to Mr David Thompson, for some reason he is walking so far ahead of them in recent times it is unbelievable, they seem at a lost to read his plans.

Good for him!!!!

46. We have mixed feelings in our reaction to what transpired today in parliament. The country has raised expectations regarding the debate of the no-confidence motion, no doubt about it. However if we look at what has been happening in a non partisan way it definitely appears that some gamesmanship is taking place. We give both sides the latitude to engage in such on the eve of an election and in the case of Thompson he does have 12 days to debate the motion. It appears that Thompson is holding back because the looming of the no-confidence motion might be forcing the Barbados Labour Party on the defensive. We suspect that Thompson will debate the issue next week. What is interesting, the government has filed a counter motion on Hardwoods but appear unwilling to debate that motion given that Thompson has delayed in signing off the no-confidence motion.

47. The holding of any election within an eight month period will be suicidal for the BLP gang. The Hardwood issue cannot interfere or encourage any election rush.

You have to look at various projects that this administration would like completed before sounding the call. Remember, this administration had hopes in using the World Cup Cricket as an election backup, but that failed. What will happen now, all efforts will be made to complete all the outstanding projects, have grand openings and the placement of plaques to show everyone that these are BLP projects.

So if people are waiting for an election call before June 2008, forget it.

48. 3 things stand out to me. 1. Government keeps delaying the people’s business, while trying to force the airing Hardwood’s KNOWN dirty linen. 2. Mottley refuses to use her resolution, to do exactly what she’s huffing and puffing about…debating Hardwood. 3. no minister/MP has come out in any forum to refute / defend the charges as publicly laid by the DLP, xcept to say that a “non-national with a grouse is the cause of it all.” Government has already lost the public Hardwood battle, it’s up to Thompson to move soon to make sure they lose the parliamentary battle. Even if the no confidence motion doesn’t pass, government MPs will vote against incontravertible facts that prove at the very least mismanagement of public funds, lack of transparency and accountability, unethical behaviour and clear conflicts of interest. Not the type of vote I’d want to brag about casting.

49. David there is no such 12 day time limit assigned to the motion it does not exist in Barbados.

frankology, I think your call maybe off the mark somewhat, my guess is that seeing his mid December attempt was thwarted my best guess is a mid January date, with each passing day he is loosing a number of votes, the economy and its excessively high cost of living is hurting the average person.

Those are a large part of 40 % that would not say voters that will say with their X what they to see happen.

Even with the consideration of the 8 % salary cut, this period is being seen as the most harsh on the people of Barbados and sadly the PM’s only suggestion is to plant your own food, which indicates a gross level of arrogance and contempt for the people he is to take care of.

It also indicate a Gov’t devoid of any new and positive ideas, it suggest a very tired disorganised Gov’t.

I wonder if Liz Thompson has managed to get the lazy minister of public works to fix Prior Park for her,I would love him to help her out so that she does not need to behave like an uncouth idiot in the house too often.

50. WIV, you have not given any concrete reasoning why a June election would not be eminent. My submission has more ‘meat of reasoning’. You ramble on name calling so much that you are failing to deal with logic. Come on Caricom Consultant.