view_47042.jpg

Minister of State Clyde Mascoll – In the background is director of Hardwood Housing Factory Inc., Anthony Murrell, Leader of the Opposition David Thompson and Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Prime Minister Owen Arthur at the nomination of Clyde Mascoll to run in St. Michael North West in the next General Election, last weekend at the Ellerslie Secondary School, sent a loud message to Leader of the Opposition David Thompson. The message in summary was for Thompson to ‘bring on’ the no confidence motion in Clyde Mascoll which he issued at a political meeting in Deacons on October 14, 2007 – read our story. In another BU story we introduced the idea that Thompson and his Opposition should have used the parliamentary motion of no-confidence in the government as a strategy to strengthen its perception in the public eye of an Opposition Party doing its job. Contrary to a widely held view, a motion of no-confidence maybe brought not only to defeat but to embarrass a government. Unfortunately we have held the view for sometime now that David Thompson has blundered by not using this parliamentary procedure to good effect.

Some of you may disagree with BU and cite the feeble attempt by the former Leader of the Opposition Clyde Mascoll when he brought a motion of no-confidence of his own against Prime Minister Owen Arthur. Did you really forget the St. Peter Affair? In 12 days Thompson will have to deliver on his promise of tabling a motion of no-confidence in Mascoll. Don’t be surprise if the government attempts to nullify or frustrate Thompson’s motion of no-confidence by a counter of its own. It is our opinion that there is real animosity between the two former schoolmates who attended the fabled Combermere Secondary School. The Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour Party, if they are not smart, could become sidetracked with this sub-plot. If this were to happen the DEMS would be the loser.

We have alluded in previous postings that Thompson’s political future rests on a positive outcome to the motion of no-confidence. Remember he does not have to win the motion, its effect will be seen in the parliamentary privilege which Thompson will enjoy to say what he damn well pleases. Expect this encounter to get nasty for three reasons:

1. For David Thompson this is a must win if he is to turn around the public perception of ‘loser’ and ascend to the highest political office. The next election may be won on the economic issues but leadership will be high on the list

2. For Clyde Mascoll he needs to shake the credibility and integrity issues which have surfaced as a result of his unprecedented move from Leader of the Opposition to a Minister in Government quicker than Flash Gordon (we have discounted the brief period he sat in parliament as an independent)

3. Prime Minister Owen Arthur is fully aware that the political stock of his party is linked to Mascoll who must be untainted by any impropriety

We can say a lot more …

107 responses to “No-Confidence Motion Looms; Current Leader Of The Opposition David Thompson To Face Off Against The Former Leader Of The Opposition And Current Minister Of State, Clyde Mascoll”

1. What no confidence motion?

Those are things you DO, not things you TALK about doing.

Useless stupid BU asshole.

2. I think that now is the time for the DLP to up the ante. The no-confidence motion might not be winable but it would cause other things to be exposed and keep the Government on the backfoot. It is obvious that the BLP is in panic mode because they are hustling to do simple projects which could have been done a while ago. This recent fiasco with 40% reduction in beef and lamb serves as an example. Anyone who is involved in the wholesale and retail business will know that comsumers cannot see any immediate reduction because these items would already have been paid for at the present rate, and no wholesaler or retailer will reduce at this stage. Give it 6 months.

3. Tony you are a bulls eye with your comment. Importers in Barbados as far as we know source beef and lamb from places like New Zealand and the purchasing process is very long, when you add shipping and the method of payment i.e. letters of credit and the shenanigans with the banks etc, it is months before a shipment lands. So the decisions to cosmetically address the cost of living issues is a PR/Smoke screen attempt to satisfy Barbadian concerns coming out of the CADRES poll. The question we have is whether these measures will correct the problem or to ask further whether the measures are sustainable. Hopefully we will hear some constructive non partisan debate on the issue of cost of living. Seems that BLP supporters are happy to say that if Barbados is to enjoy a high lifestyle then we have to pay for it. Bush Tea’s theories do take on more life when we hear these partisan responses.

4. Here is what I do not understand in all of this discussion about a “No Confidence” vote. And I would appreciate being enlightened.

I have seen lots of innuendo about what is perceived to be less than honest conduct by and at Hardwood Housing. I have not seen anything in the way of a real “smoking” gun! I am sure others see it differently.

My next question is this. With the kind of “Majority” the BLP has, how far will a non confidence motion go in accomplishing anything political or otherwise?

Why I ask these questions is very simple and they have no PARTISAN POLITICAL intentions, but think about this.

The Cadres poll as I have said before indicated no concern by the people polled about BLP’s honesty, integrity, contract overruns, Hardwood Housing issues nothing that suggests the people have a problem about “dishonesty” in Government. Now it might be that they were never asked this by the polsters. But you would think if it was as big an issue as we on these blogs say it is, that those polled or many would have brought it up?

Therefore facing this situation why should the BLP fear a non confidence motion on Hardwood because of not calling for an investigation?

Maybe Mr. Peter Wickham should do a follow up Cadres poll to see how the people rate the BLP on integrity, contract overruns and specifically Hardwood. Don’t you think that might be a more useful exercise?

5. If the BLP is the party of the business people then it is possible to see some immediate markdown on the ten items they are about to meet with wholesalers and retailers on. They can attempt to pay for an immediate reduction. If this cannot be the case then whatever time it takes for the 40 % reduction to naturally work it’s way thru to the consumer, could be a good idea to when Owen will call elections. Will it take 6 months Tony? I don’t see Owen thinking that the mere act of seemly doing something about high prices would appease Barbadians, I think he would shoot for something tangible.

No confidence:
    I continue not to see anything positive in an opposition calling a no-confidence vote that will go strictly along party lines. The Sandi no-confidence vote would have been a non-event had it not succeeded in the vote, …..but i wondered what is it that you guys are seeing as the positives for Thompy in going ahead with a no-confidence vote, in fact i wondered what there is beside Hardwood, because i think that there is no more bombshell in this issue, by Bombshell i mean the COP starting and investigation, yet i am hoping for thomy’s sake that i am wrong. Another reason could be to continue to deal with Owen Arthur, from where he left of in March at the end of the budget, remember that Owen has not been to parliament since, Thomy cause him to sweat and sit down in a hurry, and where it not for parliamentary immunity or privilege we most likely would not have heard of Owen possible misdemeanor, all 750,000 of it, under the prevention of corruption act. Yes this has to be it. Yes i can clearly remember how Owen turn Mascoll’s no confidence vote of him into a tell all about Mascoll. The no confidence motion is most likely to draw Owen back to parliament.

6. Well for sure Owen is too busy to conduct a probe on HARDWOOD !

Strange enough a few weeks ago he told BARBADIANS that he recently had 13 PROBES conducted !

Strane enough as well…….he did not tell BARBADIANS which organisations were probed !

For this pending HARDWOOD NO – CONFIDENCE motion……Owen better do not find himself too BUSY not to be PRESENT in the House of Assembly !

For it is in there he & Clyde Mascoll will be called to ACCOUNT !

Owen can PRE EMPT such action by declaring the E – DAY !

But despite all the BRAGGING he doing….Owen do not have the BALLS to call elections now !

7. Wishing in Vain Avatar

It could not happen to a better person to have the clown, face the wrath of Mr Thompson where they will be no holes barred and carried live on radio for all to hear!!!!

8. Reading the story below , Ah hope ASSCOLL ready for the disclosures to come during the pending no – confidence motion on HARDWOOD Inc. !

We know how Owen looked on TV during the March 2007 Budget debate wrap – up when the
    $ 750,000.00 CHEQUE question was raised !

It gine be HEAT in de place !

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20071107/lead/lead1.html

9. “Importers in Barbados as far as we know source beef and lamb from places like New Zealand and the purchasing process is very long, when you add shipping and the method of payment i.e. letters of credit and the shenanigans with the banks etc, it is months before a shipment lands.”

Dasvid you are a real azsshole.

10. A reduction in import duty is a reduction in import duty you foolish ass.

You should not allow desperation to make you a brainless fool.

11. Jerome Hinds // Nov 7th 2007 at 4:21 pm

Reading the story below , Ah hope ASSCOLL ready for the disclosures to come during the pending no – confidence motion on HARDWOOD Inc. !

We know how Owen looked on TV during the March 2007 Budget debate wrap – up when the
    $ 750,000.00 CHEQUE question was raised !

It gine be HEAT in de place !

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20071107/lead/lead1.html
    ———————————————————-
    You are setting a really high bar, not much room for a fizzle. Be careful you may be setting to high a bar for even thompy to achieve.

12. Out of all the issues of the last couple of years, Hardwood is the one Thompson has placed his reputation on.

I hope he has a lot more concrete evidence than what we have seen heretofore.

As WIV would say he has kept his counsel through GEMS, VECO, 3S et al but has gone s*** or bust on this dodgy set-up.

I hope this is not too much a personal vendetta against Mascoll, because if it is and it fizzles out in the chamber the DLP might as well pack up and prepare for an eternity in the wilderness.

The hopes of every transparency and FOI seeking Bajan is now resting on this one action.

IT HAD BETTER BE DECISIVE.

13. Straight talk: “The hopes of every transparency and FOI seeking Bajan is now resting on this one action.”

CRAP!

14. Anon: If the Dlp’s credibility goes down the plughole with a failed vote of no confidence is it not a vote of confidence to the govenment to carry on regardless?

That’s how it will be reported.

15. Straight Talk, that is my observation. Too much effort is being place on Mascoll, while other glaring improprieties are being ignored. This is fishy, maybe a Mascoll/Thompson personality clash.

16. The goal of an corperation is to make a profit. Often We hear about the evil corporation which rains fire on its customers, and then hear the voice of someone saying that the corporation #1 goal is to make a profit and nothing else.

I put it to you all that the #1 goal of an opposition is to win the government, and that is exactly the path they are on now in their eyes. It may not be the path to victory that you see, but just maybe they are seeing it from a better position than you guys are. So why all the fuss. Sit back and watch the fireworks, that are soon to begin … lol.

17. Elections are won when the electorate see realistic programmes that will propel the country. Not when the electorate see unnecessary spending, not when when the cost of living killing them, not when you ease the large conglomerates and kill our poor brothers and sisters that are starting a business, not when proven fraud is eminent and not when a representative refuse to visit the constituency. An election is can be lost through egotism, personalism or plain personality clashes. So it will be a waste of time to watch fireworks without matches.

18. Straight talk: “If the Dlp’s credibility goes down the plughole with a failed vote of no confidence is it not a vote of confidence to the govenment to carry on regardless?”

For a lot of Bajans that has already happened.

But it still has nothing to do with your ridiculous statement that: “The hopes of every transparency and FOI seeking Bajan is now resting on this one action.”

19. Jerome Hinds,

“$ 750,000.00 CHEQUE”

Some people are born idiots indeed.

And desperate too.

(Because only the most desperate of azzzholes would cling on to that shite as if their lives depended on it.)

Facking idiot.

20. “No Confidence Motion”

Let us take bets on what it will accomplish for mock sport.

My money is on it being a big “Yawn” that will go no where. And the hype on here about it, is all hyperbole. Do not get me wrong many have specualated the issue with good arguments but the bottom line is, the Hardwood controversy is based only on specualation. And let me say this with respect.

I sincerely hope Mr. David Thompson goes into this exercise fully informed and prepared and leave a couple of holes opened to escape. Because if King Arthur and his advisers have any evidence that they can make this look like a fishing expedition and nothing else whunna look out! These types of political tactics can be very dangerous and damaging to the party that brings them up only to have them backfire in their face.

21. My interest in the debate around the No Confidence motion is to hear how the members on the gov’t side would justify $2mil belonging to taxpayers invested in a company that is yet to delivered at least 1 house and is already broke.

I would want to hear the persons that seek a 4th term in office rationalise such wastage against the high cost of living that they are saying is a result of the high standard of living of ordinary Barbadians that are finding it so difficult to make ends meed.

Equally it will be instrutive to see how many persons on the gov’t side will actually be in the House to debate since it is widely known that Clyde is not particularly liked in the BLP.

22. It would be fantastic if the balance sheet for Harwoods Factory Housing Inc was available to the taxpayers to scrutinize (can anyone send us a copy?). It would be informative to understand how the 2 million capital inflow (tax payers’ dollars) from Enterprise Growth Fund was allocated by the Board of Hardwoods. Ok the 2 million dollars would have created a liability for the company but basic bookkeeping double entry suggests that offsetting asset entries should have been created as well. The suggestion that Hardwoods is currently experiencing cashflow problems suggest the assets acquired by Hardwoods are not being efficiently utilized.

Hopefully these kinds of answers will come out in the motion of no-confidence. The root of our concern is obviously how is it that our system of governance would allow a loophole like this to occur. Further given the toothless nature of the Public Accounts Committee, Auditor General etc it begs the question how many ‘Hardwoods’ exist in the public sector.

23. Adrian Hinds // Nov 7th 2007 at 11:22 am

If the BLP is the party of the business people then it is possible to see some immediate markdown on the ten items they are about to meet with wholesalers and retailers on. They can attempt to pay for an immediate reduction.
    ——————————————————–
    As i was saying, an as Mascoll has confirm, the approach will be to encourage retailer/wholesalers to relook at their markups. This is easy to achieve, in light of the percieved relationships this government has with the business class. Sometimes a retailer with have a couple of items as “lost leaders” to attract business, sometimes a wholesaler would pay a retailer to markup really low on a product in exchange for prime display space to give a new product or even a lagging one an opportunity to grow or spring anew. Think about what is at stake for the BLP.

24. Maybe Owen will not be in parliament for the No-confidence. After all he told Mascoll that he will have to face the no confidence vote. Can he be absent though? Wait wait. The no confidence vote will not occur at the end of 30 days, Thompson said he would call for one AT THE END of a 30 day period, the process then has to go to parliament and i think Mia in some capacity within the chamber has to set a date, and one of the criterias to setting that date is too accomodate all the members availability, for what would be a special sitting. So a date for a no confidence vote is sometime in future, and Owen’s drunken bravado at Mascoll”s nonimnation could ALSO be indicative of an election date that would not allow for a no-confidence vote sometime into the future. So maybe also no one will be in parliament for a no confidence vote since parliament may very well be prorogue. 😀

ha hah ha hah a Thinking/typing out loud. 😀

25. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Were rhe scamps really smart they would have heard the plan offered by the leader of the opposition to remove VAT on Electricty bills this method would have made a real impact on the cost of living.

26. Any relief to the people in Barbados on food prices I welcome. But here is what I have a problem with supported by a recent and popular Post on here about obesity, heart disease etc.

Was I Owen here is what I would have done to get even more political mileage out of my announcement of lowering meat and lamb prices.

I would have said because of my concern about scientific findings that conclusively show that eating too much red meat contribute to cardiovascular disease I am lowering the price on Chickens too which are a healthier diet and give Barbadians options for a healthy diet.

27. No name, parliamentarians on the BLP have to stay away from anything that sensitive Mia Mottley may liken unto Kerrie Simmonds comments re. 1000 pounds of blubber, I have a pic of Mia barbecuing hamburgers for kids in her constituency. When Dr. Walcott made his remarks sometime back about Barbados being a “fat farm” he did so in NewYork, and i havn’t heard him make mention of it since. So government may very well stay away from what you propose in the way that you stated it , that by linking a reduction of chicken to concerns about cardiovascular desease, may send the right signal to Barbadians and wrong one to Mia. Anyway don’t expect this selfserving GoB to make mention about, red meat, obesity, cardiovascular desease together in any statements. That would be push off to D. Hoyos or some other person that makes it difficult for sensitive Mia to mark for her wrath. 😀

28. Adrian you and some on these blogs is give me a daily belly laugh laugh. I ent able wid it!

29. As this is a popular post I will use it to convey information on our TV (satelite).

Toronto Canada is reporting a Menighitis SUPER BUG virus that does not respond to anti biotics.

With travel between Canada and Barbados very common is every precaution being taken to protect the youth of Barbados? There is still no indication to support that this super strain of virus cannot impact adults.

Come on folks let us focus on what could be a very serious situation that has every opportunity in impacting Barbados. Are we prepared?

30. Actually Adrian H we think you could be on to something. Arthur seems a mite too confident in the face of a no-confidence motion which he knows that he will win but which he also knows that parliamentary privilege will create the opportunity for untold damage at a time when the DLP is gathering some momentum.

Thompson should be prepared for this and have a Plan B to get the information into the public domain. We could make a suggestion!!!

31. Thompson is playing his hand well. The two weeks leading up to an election will see an unleashing of information in such torrents that it would be difficult for Barbados to ignore and for Owen to respond. Remember the fear of being sued does not phase Thompson. He is used to being served with summons on the platform. If Owen calls the election before Thompson can get a no confidence vote it will be said, and this is base on info in the public domain that Thompson force Owen Hand, if he waits he increases the opportunity for the no confidence vote and also decreases his options. Twice i have heard Owen refer to Thompson’s actions as bluffs, which suggest to me that Owen cannot read Thompy and he really wants too.

1: at the start of the DLP series of meeting when Thompson declared the election campaign season open. Owen said Thompy was bluffing

2: at Mascoll nomination regarding Thompy’s intent on calling a no confidence vote. He again said Thompy might be bluffing.

Owen does not know what to do because central to any decision he makes is HOW MUCH DOES THOMPY KNOW, and he has to ponder this carefully because there is a rat in the BLP for there is no way that Thompson could have gotten the info on the cheque, without insider help. Mia use to be the BLP campaign manager is she filling this role once again? 😀

32. Rise reported in Government tax revenues
    GOVERNMENT’S Overall tax revenues rose by 3.6 per cent during the period January to September this year, says Dr. Marion Williams, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados. She also reported that import duties rose by 12.1% during the first nine months of this year,value-added tax receipts were up by 1.8%, on top of an expansion of 12.1% in the corresponding period of 2006.Direct taxes increased by 5.5% during the review period, Government’s fiscal deficit is anticipated to reach around 2.5 per cent of GDP, approximately 1.0 percentage point above the ratio registered one year ago.

And we are wondering why our cost of living is climbing?
    Take a look at the fact that gov’t continues to tax us off the map, Mr Benn was correct in his call to remove taxes of feeds etc for the livestock and to remove the burdensome VAT on electricty bills and maybe we will make a meaningful effort to reduce the cost of living.

33. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

In an article printed under the headline ‘GEMS GLOW’ in the Daily Nation, 17th September, 2007, Clyde Mascoll gave the public the impression that Hotels and Resorts Ltd were in a manageable and improving financial position.

Likewise in a Down to Brass Tacks Sunday programme, this impression was projected.

Did Mr Mascoll deliberately LIE to the public?

Because, certainly from the article published in the Monday 12th November 2007, edition of the Barbados Business Authority by Pat Hoyos, no sensible person could draw this conclusion.

If Mr Mascoll is not lying, then he must be in possession of the Hotels and Resorts Ltd audited accounts for the periods PAST 2001, which are the latest to be laid in Parliament.

To retain any credibility, Mr Mascoll, should come forward with the audited GEMS accounts for 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, and as soon as possible for 2007.

Otherwise, it will leave the public with absolutely no choice but to treat any future utterings from Mr Mascoll with a large pinch of salt.

Certainly, if it is voting for a motion of no-confidence, then he could not win on the subject of Hotels and Resorts Ltd.

34. Adrian I wonder why we keep this up day in, week in and month in when we know the truth is not being told and mainstream Barbados does not care. Are we not getting the message? Nothing will change!

Look at the pathetic explanation Mascoll gave about the Free flow over run. Does this not tell you people what he and this Government is all about?

But more importantly what it tells me is, that Mascoll and the BLP believe and I am beginning to think they are correct. And that is what is posted on thes blogs will have little if any influence of changing anything in Barbados.

But then again who am I to say such a thing!

35. This evening was a most uplifting evening for me as I attended the launch meeting of Colin Spencer and listened to a series of excellent speeches by all of them and in particular Colin delivered a masterpiece a work of art in his presentation but the most reveal aspect of the evening was the playing of the video clip with an interview with Mottley where it was stated her effort to reduce the food import bill she was not eating and meat or chicken and that she was only eating conch very enlightening indeed.
    To Adrian let me advise you that ASSCOLL has not been know for any truthful utterances for a long time now please do not expect him to change his spots and do so now!!!

36. Let the Prime Minister explain his hatred for Barbadians as he said this as recently as Saturday morning?
    This was clearly displayed by himself when his election worker lady was taken by her son to Illaro court to collect Arthur to go to work with him at the gov’t headquarters, from the time he got into the car he apparently started his ranting and raving he cursed her blind for being a little late, then he went onto to say he hates these f____ing Bajans they are s___t, he cursed the entire way to the office then when he got to the office the ladies son was enticed up to his office where the young man had three large Vodkas and he left with Arthur on his fourth, the young driver said how disappointed he was in Arthurs behaviour and manner towards his mother who has helped the party at elections over a number of years and he felt that the treatment handed out to her was grossly unfair, even if Arthur was blind drunk at 9.00 am on the morning.
    In his view Arthurs behaviour towards his mother had been a big let down to him and he was very annoyed and upset with Arthur to the point that he may not be willing to vote for him in the upcoming elections.
    Is this part of the reason that Arthur has not been attending the sittings of the house since the Budget is he hitting the bottle so hard that he is unable to function?
    Why just not call the elections and get it behind him and return to civillian life.

37. Fred the sad thing about your comment is our inability to verify your comment.We ask our commenters to try to be accurate when posting.

On a more serious note we have to say that Thompson is not off to a good start with the motion of no-confidence which is soon to be filed. He indicated last night at a public meeting that scope of the motion maybe expanded. Bit of indecision maybe?

38. I say to you the above is a very accurate post to what actually took place, the young man in question works as a bartender in a chain of very well known bars and restaurants on the island.
    I think this one is in the bag I tell you!!!
    More importantly is that Arthur when he reads this post will know exactly what he did and why he did what he did, if he is living in a state of drunkeness that is his problem but do not constantly curse people as he is doing.

39. Oh Fred, what a sardonic submission, with all the linings of a play based on the USA/Cuba relationship. Do you feel that the public, including the party you might be trying to propel will fall for the devious statements within your post. If what the son said is correct, regarding the alleged abuse of his mother, would he be so hypocritical to have the simplest notion of drinking vodka with him? This is reason for all to see the lies that people write to substantiate their cause. Come with another lie, you might get a Grammy.

This is the same scenario that can be found in business and Government. Where an individual makes a statement about someone in high office just to destroy the person. These are the things I hate and the reason for me to be neutral.

40. Actually Mr frankology you can or cannot believe the statement quite frankly it does not matter the slightest to me if you do or do not, but I am sure that the one that matters when he reads it will know what is printed here is factual, real and sincere and that will agree that his actions were not the best nor were they becoming of a PM.
    You see the post is directed towards the PM and to let him know that people are talking about his manner and his style.

41. Three vodkas by the alleged informant could be the reason for a warp statement. Again, his behaviour and possibly your behaviour could have been made under the influence of alcohol. Lets here from the mother.

42. I would not be the least bit surprised of these alleged actions by Owing, the man is under severe pressure after all, he has loads of covering up of his trails of dishonesty while in office.
    He is now facing a massive defeat at the polls and he can hardly believe how his lies are not pulling he and his party thru this turbulent period.
    Maybe just maybe he is seeing the writing on the wall and is becoming more aggitated with each passing day, then throw in the no confidence motion, the scam of the triple costing prison, VECO, DANOS 3 S, THE CHEQUE, the fear that VECO is being investigated by the FBI and his name and a few others names may appear on their records does provide many avenues for concern to him, trust he will face the charges and face the music rather than take Adam’s approach to the situation and choose death over prison.

43. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

David // Nov 12th 2007 at 9:00 am

Fred the sad thing about your comment is our inability to verify your comment.We ask our commenters to try to be accurate when posting.

On a more serious note we have to say that Thompson is not off to a good start with the motion of no-confidence which is soon to be filed. He indicated last night at a public meeting that scope of the motion maybe expanded. Bit of indecision maybe?
    Indecision -no. The harsh really is that Thompson is recognising that he has a weak case. The argument he brought so far speaks of inadequate financial management on the part of the firm, but it does not in any way support a case for coruption on the part of anyone in Government. So thompson is now seeking an issue on which to launch his rebranding campaign. As usual he has made yet annother serious political blunder and is now extremely desperate to find an anchor.

What is worst is this coward is now seeking to tie the various organs of his party to the no-confidence motion in yet another despearte attempt to save hime self. What is is doing is seeking to use the technique of having the Executive & General Councils as well as the Parliamentary Group sign of on the action so that when it fails he can say he moved the motion at their request and therefore is not to be blamed. — Such weak leadership should never be allowed to hold the reins of government.

44. Explain the ability of HHL to secure $ 2 million in funding in company with one major shareholder to the tune of $ 100,000.00 where else in the world would a company with cheques bouncing and an imput of a miserly $ 100,000.00 achieve a grant of $ 2 million ?
    What about the employing iilegal workers?
    This is taking place within the setup of a gov’t owned and operated company.
    The illegal acts of sexual harrassment and molestation of three female workers ?
    The cost of $ 129,000.00 for the foundation on 4 houses what sort of nonsense are they doing?
    Not a house built in Grenada but this is the foundation for the purpose of the setting up of HHL but not one iota of anything to show for the talk.
    Or how about gov’t workers carrying out work on ASSCOLL’s wifes office while we the taxpayers are paying their salaries.
    This is about as corrupt as it gets, thankfully in their case we do not have an investigative arm that will look into this operation and finally arrest the culprits and prevent this ongoing rape of the taxpayers.
    Why not also address the VECO, 3S, DANOS, CHEQUE, GREENLAND issues all at the same time one effort and lock them to hell up.

45. I have said my piece about this non confidence motion and I hope I am incorrect. I see others now suggesting what I said earlier that cracks MIGHT be appearing in Thompsons earlier war cry armour that could be more damaging to the DLP than the BLP. As I said an ill prepared call for a non confidence motion is a slippery slope for many politicians.

My concern about a number of things I see Thompsons team doing is going down a road that is a dead end. Plainly put I think IN SOME INSTANCES he is getting bad advice or advice that is not being thought out before being put into the public forum.

I also think that the focus of the DLP on again off again Campaigining is not being placed on the many and more important things that are of greater concern to the broader cross section of the Bajan Society.

As an example have fun with Mascoll and his many alleged misadventures, if that turns you on but even if you are successful in having him defeated, that alone wont win you the election.

The DLP has to find an issue/s that fires up the electorate in general and personally that should not be that hard for them to do.

46. No Name There is no lacking of issues, however I can see no reason not to go after ASSCOLL and address matters before the people of Barbados, even if the motion were to fail it would be the chance to vent and expose what is obviously a bad setup.
    They will close ranks behind ASSCOLL strictly for the purpose of the no confidence motion but I can assure you that none of them that are challenging for the party leadership will support him in heart body and soul.

47. We now have another party that is an off shoot of the loyal opposition, it is the WIV Political Party. Or should I say, the official PR for the opposition who we all know. These are reason why we should have neutral people within a silly season. Here it is we have all the problems as discussed by WIV, yet we are not hearing anything from the leader of the opposition. This is the same scenario like the drug culture. We deal with the small fray and leave the big fish alone. Lets atart hearing about all these BOLT arrangements. WIV, don’t keep jucking the Veco, Danos etc. into every blog and the constant bombartment on Owen and Mascoll, but deal with the issue so that the public can understand the repayments by our children and grandchildren

48. WIV, In relation to the HHL, leave it to Mr. Thompson and the No-Confidence motion. You are just hopping about like a rabbit and every time you hop, nonsence emanate from your post.

49. repayments by our children and grandchildren
    Who knows by the time Owing does call the election maybe it will not be too late to reverse the wrongs of these projects.

50. WIV, let us get down to some serious financing, refinancing and the BOLT arrangements. Both of us know how this BOLT operates and its effect on the GDP of a country. But should we use this system of financing Government projects knowing of the increased interest rates that will be applied. Do you realise that the two Police Stations are being built by this BOLT arrangement? These are the questions your party should be addressing so that the public will be knowledgeable. That is all I will be dealing with. Fairness from and for all sources.