The contest which we find to be very intriguing is the match-up between the former DLP stable mates Chris Sinckler on the left (DLP) and Clyde Mascoll (BLP). The contest in our opinion will tell Barbados many things, the result has created a mouth watering anticipation for John Public for three reasons.
Reason #1
Clyde Mascoll has generated heated debate in the country regarding his public battle for the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with David Thompson who eventually came out the winner. Much has been said about whether Mascoll was right or Thompson was wrong, some public commentators have been heard to say that the Democratic Labour Party orchestrated the demise of Clyde Mascoll. We were not privileged to have been a DLP insider at that time, so like you, we have to discern the truth from the pile of poop which is plentiful around this issue. Tom, Dick and Harry have had their say and soon we will all know how Barbadians really feel about Mascoll the politician. The question which we will all have answered when Prime Minister Owen Arthur finally announces the election date will be: Will Mascoll retain his credibility as a politician despite the switch from former Leader of the Opposition to a Junior Minister in the Owen Arthur cabinet?
Reason #2
It is no secret that Chris Sinckler was one of those who worked closely with David Thompson to recruit and groom Mascoll the politician. This time around, Sinckler who like Mascoll is from the St. Michael North West constituency will be seeking to dismantle the support which he helped to build for Mascoll from previous election campaigning. The interesting dynamic at work in this constituency will be to observe two young, intellectual candidates who can boast of having grassroot support in the constituency. So many of the candidates in recent elections have been those who have adopted constituencies. It will be refreshing to see two hometown boys who have some ‘dept’ slogging it out. There is no doubt that both parties see this match-up as being very important to create certain public perceptions. In the case of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) they would feel vindicated that the politics of inclusion would have worked. Clyde Mascoll the former Leader of the Opposition who was bloodied and wounded by David Thompson for the leadership of the DLP and who scuttled to King Arthur’s lair for solace and comfort. On the other side we have Chris Sinckler who has replaced Mascoll as Thompson’s political confidant and right hand man. If Thompson is the one who visits the Governor General to be sworn in as Prime Minister, he will want Chris Sinckler by his side.
Reason #3
The St. Michael North West constituency has been a volatile seat in recent elections. The relatively narrow margin of victory for Mascoll last time around may have to withstand a national swing against the government of up to 5% according to the latest CADRES poll. If we factor a further loss of support for Mascoll because of the Hardwoods controversy, if he wins the seat he would have proven to all and sundry that he is the better man to enter parliament.
History is very alert in anticipation of the upcoming general election. They are some who believe that Mascoll has prostituted himself simply to experience the taste of power and the prestige and and material benefits which goes with the job. They are others who say that Sinckler is the one who should take over the mandate which was given to Mascoll who contested on a DLP ticket. The edge which Mascoll has with a better known national profile becomes irrelevant on the ground in St. Michael North West where both are perhaps equally well known.
We should remember that to enter the Lower House one has to be first elected at the constituency level. Barbados Underground have never been afraid to state our position on the issues. It is our opinion Mascoll made a mistake by switching allegiance so easily given the high office which he occupied within the DLP. To have become bedfellows with a group of politicians who would have vilified him not too long ago just does not sit well with Barbadians. If Mascoll wins, yes he would have done well, but it would highlight in our eyes the state of our politics.Who was it that said a democracy is not perfect?
Velzo // Nov 7th 2007 at 1:17 pm
Well Adrian, you have now been brought full circle. And by Clyde Mascoll – who you used to defend himself! SSC is Clyde and its such an apt description.
I recall when I used to tell you that you were anti-DLP – and you probably still are. Who knows?
———————————————————–
Velzo i am not anti-DLP I am anti political party in the Barbadian context and this will remain this way until we have fundamental changes to the way we are governed. Over the years i have found some comfort in individual politicians, but this comfort is never long lasting for the system in which they operate sooner or later makes mice of men, and in the case of Owen Arthur corrupt, dishonest, drunkards as well. Invariably when this occurs the citizen is the one that suffers.
No one can hold the opinion too long of me being a party person and remain honest with themselves. I will speak to my version of the truth on any politician as the facts according to me dictates, at the end of it and i am given the opportunity to exercise my constitutional right i will do so, never absconding from that precious right even though the options are limited by a system so designed. One cannot expect or work for change by removing themselves from the mix, from the process, to allow, the drunkards, the chain smokers, the instant millionaires, the land grabbers, the tax evaders, and least of all the floor crosser, to do with what is ours as they please. No will I sit down or shut up.
Such stupid comments // Nov 7th 2007 at 1:56 pm
Adrian for my sake please spell out the specific charges against Clyde that were not answered.
———————————————————–
SSC troll this post and others, do your own work, you are now on your own, by now you should have figured that out. My perception of Mascoll is now set, and he will have to work at changing that all on his own. Sorry i have just become very busy. 😀
Adrian Hinds
Good to know you are busy. Like Thompson you too run from your own challenge. As you say… you speak to you version of truth…. You need to listen/read what your are saying and recognised that your own word are discrediting you. You should be seeking out the TRUTH not you version or anybody’s own. You also need to use your own language not repeat and copy other persons, word. Like you I want to see significant change in our political process. But as long as Thompson is around that will not be acheivable. There is no low road to high office
Ssc we agree with you about looking and wanting the TRUTH!
Your point is interesting about wanting ‘significant change in our political process’, we would never have guessed given your emphasis on personalities (Thompson/Mascoll). Since some may say that we have exhausted this issue of Mascoll and Thompson maybe you can give us your views on the type of changes you would like to see to our political process.
At the end of the day this is where the root of the problems lies.
Yes David my emphasis was with respect to replying to personality issues that arose as contributors sought to destroy Mascoll the man as oppose to a more enlightened discussion on where we are as a people, where we ought to be and where we want to be. The dicussion ought to be on how we will get there. So I challenge the Wishing in Vain and the Light hearted and other to let us engage our minds and intellect to these kinds of issues. At the end of the day, when we have beaten up each other what would be our achievement. The political process is the root, if you are serious we can so discuss. If we want to continue tearing down persons we can do so too. I prefer for us to be focussing on things positive, on ideas even if it means intelectualising politics .. I prefer the high road.
So are you suggesting that we do not refer to Asscoll as a liar and a crook that he has proven to be!!
Or not ask why they continue to hire people that are known to the courts for charges like fraud, bribery corruption or the tripling of cost of the road works or prison project????
Such stupid comments // Nov 8th 2007 at 10:02 am
Adrian Hinds
Good to know you are busy. Like Thompson you too run from your own challenge. As you say… you speak to you version of truth…. You need to listen/read what your are saying and recognised that your own word are discrediting you. You should be seeking out the TRUTH not you version or anybody’s own. You also need to use your own language not repeat and copy other persons, word. Like you I want to see significant change in our political process. But as long as Thompson is around that will not be acheivable. There is no low road to high office
——————————————————
Mere words, where is the proof?
…That i am running?
….What words of mine are discrediting me? and in who’s eyes beside yours?
….Who’s words am i copying? and why would this be a problem if i can provide meaning and depth to my thoughts via such words and statements?
……..Truth? is there a universal truth to which you have lock on and i have not? We can’t even get you to respond in good faith to all the points Light hearted has presented as his version of the truth of Mascoll’s actions, but you are ready to move the goal post away from personalities to pontifications about the future. The future of Mascoll and the parliamentary representation for St.Michael North west is very much about the future.
I am not makinga case for Thompson, but how do you conclude that Thompson’s involvement in politics will be an obsticle to realizing changes to our system of government? where is the proof of facts? best practices and past actions on the part of Thompy that can lead to such a conclusion?
Fact:
What we know is that after 13 years as the GoB with a substantial majority in parliament, and an even tighter control and hold on power by having in place a cabinet that by it’s share size cannot be control by parliament, unequivocally demonstrates that as long as Owen Arthur and the BLP is around those changes that Mia Mottely, Jeff Cumberbatch, Richie Hanyes, and several other Barbadians realize as needed to transform the governance of Barbados cannot occur.
Facts SSC, what have you got beside mere words not grounded in real events, and actions???
RESPOND THE LIGHT HEARTED CLEARLY STATED LIST OF EVENTS AND ACTIONS QUESTIONING MASCOLL INTEGRITY.
….are you sure there is no Low road to high office? According to Owen Mascoll took what anyone of us would conclude as low road to parliament in the last election. Did Owen ever retract the accusations of election fraud by Mascoll? Well if he hasn’t it is the truth according to Owen. 😀
Currently the name Mascoll=NO Integrity. He has to work to change that sum.
Owen entered parliament as the result of a flood. Ask Arson T. That was a genuine low road to politcal heights. Miss Leacock beat Owen in an election but he entered parliament. Up to now I am puzzled by that one.
Ok Guys
Now that I know it the low road we will be taking I am ready.
I told you before and I gun Tell yuh again
Don’t pull at the door
Of a lion’s den
Cause when it open with all due respect
You must tek wah yuh get
So look muh hey, see muh hey.
Ok Guys
Now that I know it the low road we will be taking I am ready.
I told you before and I gun Tell yuh again
———————————————————–
Just let the lion have his lunch. I don’t have dog in this race, and Mascoll seems more like a puppy. You would have me believe that you are protecting the opponent? ha ha ha ha if so to my mind that is the likely opinion of the weaker competitor. 😀
fuzzy math?
Mascoll=No integrity
No Adrian
Just Math
Mascoll= Integrity
Math once more
Owen + Dominance = -Thompson
Such stupid comments // Nov 9th 2007 at 9:23 am
No Adrian
Just Math
Mascoll= Integrity
——————————————————
ha ha ha ha it is becoming a habit of yours to abuse words with impunity. Integrity and mascoll are like oil and water.
Mascolls actions when compared to the meaning of integrity cannot be computed.
…and Owen+ Dominance= -Thompy? but what is dominance? could it be Doorleys or some other see thru spirits containing c2h5oh
Actual since we are into math consider this one
Thompy = TOM PEE
Wow all we can say is thanks for furthering the debate at a juncture in our political life which is calling for the collected power of that free education we all boast so much to power us through a difficult period.
Chalkdust can claim to be visionary when he penned ‘politicians laughing at we’ wait was it politicians or ‘White people laughing at we’?
Who cares anyway!!
David I couldn’t agree with you more. As you are aware I was hoping that we would have started a more serious and enlightening discussion on the political process. However Adrian and WIV etc. opted for the low road so there is where you will find the discussion.
Clearly this current DLP and its operatives have little respect for Errol Barrow and the Free Education Legacy. What a shame. … And they claim to know both math and chemistry.
it is sad when those that are given the opportunity to lead us in this country behave in such an unbecoming and disgusting manner as is displayed above in the form of -:
Such stupid comments // Nov 9th 2007 at 2:22 pm
Actual since we are into math consider this one
Thompy = TOM PEE
What does that tell you about the thinking abilities or lack of them to those entrusted the management of this conuntry no wonder we are in the dire straits that we find ouselves in at this time.
We have a clown for a minister running around on radio and TV trying to fool the masses that by removing an excessive burdensome tax that they put into play on TWO 2 items of meat will create a miracle and instanly reduce the cost of living to the poor and suffering in this country, what a load of hog wash, but shame has caught up with them and for them to adopt the measures that would really make a difference to the cost of living in Barbados, measures such as the removal of the VAT on the electrical bills which would have meant something meaningful to the real issue.
Then again we are seeing more of the slackness of the blp admistration and the tiredness of Arthur, and the lack of direction or focus, and the amazing display of repeating what Mr Thompson said only one night ealier in Toronto re making temporary public wokers full time staff, this was amazingly inept on Artur’s part.
The real issues facing the real cost of living and inflation in Barbados will not be addressed by the removal of duty on two items of meat, it takes a more in depth look into the real source of the inflation some such items are these big companies with offshoot companies owned by the same directors of these local companies operating in places like Costa Rica and the USA thru which most of the imports are passed thru thereby incurring another level of markup before arrival in Barbados they have created a profit offshore never to be seen in Barbados.
A classic example of this is the setup with Banks where their bottles are puchased thru an office setup in Costa Rica partly owned by close family connections to the Chairman and these bottles are shipped out untouched by the hands or seen by the eyes of the shell company, or explain to me why and how the Chariman’s son would be the one with the drink machine operation without any cost attached to his doing business?
When the gov’t eliminates things like this then we will make progress in tacking the real sources of the increasing cost of living.
Boy Sorry I now remember Allan Fields was given his Knighthood for service to Arthur, and his donation to the Bridgetown upgrading, oh yes he is also Arthur’s blue eyed boy and chairman of the mouthpiece of the gov’t CBC.
Are we to take Arthur seriously when he has failed to attend the house of Assembly since the budget debate ?
This in istself is a downright disgrace to the people of this country.
WIV you also seem to forget the number of times under Mascoll Leadership that TOM PEE attended the HOUSE and REFUSE to Speak. But then again the real disgrace is not when he do’t speak but when he does.
Run TOM PEE Run … OWEN Coming
If Mallet was my leader I would be ashamed to speak too…. especially if I was the one responsible for him being there….
That big mistake alone should help Thompson to see how human he is and hopefully help him to be a better PM…
WIV you can only be better at something that you already are. TOM PEE has never been PM , He never will be and so he can’t be a better one. What he has been is the worst Leader of the Opposition whose report card todate in terms of performance reads a dismal capital “F”.
Oh by the way, TOM PEE was YOUR leader who ought to have shamed you when he lead YOUR PARTY to the WORST DEFEAT in the electorial history of Barbados (26-2). But then again I can see elements of our colonial pass coming through in your thoughts as you have been brainwashed into accepting mediocrity once it presents itself in a mulato or white colour and is of foreign origin. Good Luck to you…. you need it.
Run TOM PEE Run …. OWEN Coming
BUSH TEA you can only be better at something that you already are. TOM PEE has never been PM , He never will be and so he can’t be a better one. What he has been is the worst Leader of the Opposition whose report card todate in terms of performance reads a dismal capital “F”.
Oh by the way, TOM PEE was YOUR leader who ought to have shamed you when he lead YOUR PARTY to the WORST DEFEAT in the electorial history of Barbados (26-2). But then again I can see elements of our colonial pass coming through in your thoughts as you have been brainwashed into accepting mediocrity once it presents itself in a mulato or white colour and is of foreign origin. Good Luck to you…. you need it.
Run TOM PEE Run …. OWEN Coming
Such stupid comments
They say ignorance is bliss and that is all I have to say to you on the matter.
The election will address the stealing and the kickbacks to you and the rest of your clan of crooks.
At the end of it all the result will have removed the terror and the stealing after 15 years under your thumb and in your pocket.
Saving us the taxpayers the headache of facing another 5 years of your corruption least not forget the Johnny come lately crook ASSCOLL and his HARDWOOD HOUSING.
PS From the evidence that I have seen from the House of Assembly and the various meetings around the island your party seems to be the one doing all the running away recenly, maybe that is why I have heard nothing from your party on all the issues that people are looking at and asking questions about but we are hearing nothing from you or any of your party so tell me who is running? why has Arthur chosen not to speak in the House of Assembly since the Budget? fear to so maybe?
The difference in leaders is that we have an imposter in Owing pretending to be a black man with the cares of the black man on his mind when really and truely he is serving the masters the likes of the Sandly Lane clan, the Bizzy’s the COW’S the Bejerkham’s and amassing huge sums of money in his wheeling and dealing with this elite clan meanwhile passing laws to hurt the small man and to keep the small man down and maintain him as a servant to his masters.
I have to say if that is your wanting and your desire that is fine by me but for the rest of us that have morals and values we want better for ourselves and our children.
We want a society that people do not look on as corrupt from head to toe, we want a society that each man and woman has a real chance to own a little pices of Barbados, not to live in the maids quarters of Dereck Smith’s mansion.
we want just what you want Arthur (but not on such a grand scale a $ 100 million bank account is way to exceesive for me) we want enough money to pay our bills, to eat and drink, to own our own homes, to have a means of transport to get us around.
WIV I am happy that you are finding much bliss in your ignorance. You said that the next election will address the question of stealing and kickbacks. Will it address the kickbacks from Clico? Will it address the stealing from the NIS? Will it address the kickbacks from Royal Westmoreland? Will it address the stealing from the St. Joseph Hospital? Or will it simply address the men who does wear dress?
WIV wrote “he is serving the masters the likes of the Sandly Lane clan, the Bizzy’s the COW’S the Bejerkham’s and amassing huge sums of money in his wheeling and dealing with this elite clan”
WIV have you taken note of TOM PEE friends? Do you for one minute believe that TOM PEE real associates are Undine Whittaker and George Pilgrim? Do you that that you and Undine and George and the other clown are the ones who will provide TOM Pee with the $3 million to run the next elections? Have you ever wondered why the DLP financial statements don’t include anything about election financing? Have you ever seen audited financial statement from your party? Have you ever read them and notice how much they are lacking?
Pray tell me, what is your fear about persons from poor origins becoming rich? If the PM of Barbados can’t become rich who can or should? If the LOO can’t become rich, who should? Why is it that you believe that bajans should always be hand to mouth and limited only to wanting “enough money to pay our bills, to eat and drink, to own our own homes, to have a means of transport to get us around.”? You clown you think that is real progress? You think that once you are able to do those things that you have achieved? Owen Arthur indicated quite early in his political career that he is in politics to “stop poor people from being poor” What is TOM PEE philosphocal position? That poor people should be given merely bus fare and lunch money?
You obsviously was not in Barbados in Barrow and Tudor provided an opportunity for Barbadians to become whoever they want to be. You are obviously caught in a time warp. Boy white is not always right nor is black always bad. You need to put a case for yourself and the children you said you have and stop promoting someone who don’t have your interest at heart.
Oh by the way. Tom pee and his children play golf at Sandy Lane. Tom pee and his children have shares in the BNB, Tom pee and his children have property in St. Lucia and I can go on and on and on.
Enough fuh now
Pingback: Key Match-up In Christ Church East Between Denis Lowe & Reginald Farley «
The story of being unfaired is so full of…….
In house polictics is decided by members
of the Party, you must have that support
as to get the in house Vote.
Mascoll’s biggest problem was mixing with
working class people in the early days, He came over as standoffish, some people called
it Anti Social. Mascoll did not have the ability
to mix and chat with working class Bajans
who were not in his social bracket. At George St Mascoll would have socialise with people
he thought were important and not the work- class members of the Party, for Mascoll to be polite it also seemed to have taken some
effort.
The difference with Chris is he is a natural,
he is a people’s person, he has no problems
with where he came from, he will mix with
people regardless of who their are, he has no chips on his shoulder .
I will put my money on Chris Sinckler any-
day as the better man.
As far as Mascoll goes I do beleive what Owen said ;He is a teif, He can’t be bajan
as all bajans have pride, I agree with Owen again, if I had a retarded child I would not name him Clyde, then there was Billie ,Malick wid theif. Marshall, ba Clyde
you aint got na shame atall atall, na Pride.
Understand several bicycles were given away in Deacons today.
Quality articles or reviews is the main to attract the visitors to pay a visit the web site, that’s what this web site is providing.