Road Tennis is an indigenous sport to Barbados

2,157 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @GP

Interesting article although you probably do not agree about Jason Holder. The same cablish squawking occurs in BCA meetings.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Holder needs to bowl his 10 overs on the trot, especially when he is bowling well
    He also needs to bat well when he gets the opportunity.
    If he does this he will play for a good while.

I have never made time for a BCA meeting. I joined the BCA as a young doc primarily to ensure that I had a seat at the Oval when I got there late after a ward round.

What is clear though is that serious Jamaicans know that the President of WIBC IS A TWIT. THE FACT THAT THE RANK AND FILE JAMAICAN SCUM DONT THINK SO IS NOT SURPRISING.

I ATTENDED A COUNTRY CHURCH THERE FOR 8 MONTHS WHEN I WAS THERE IN 2011 AND FOUND THAT MOST OF THE MEMBERS WERE DOWN RIGHT DUMB. OFTEN THE “PREACHING WAS LOTS OF HEAT BUT NO LIGHT AT ALL.” NOTHING LIKE I HAD SEEN IN KINGSTON 40 YEARS AGO OR BY THE JAMAICANS I HAVE HEARD UP HERE IN FL

3. @GP

Agree with your view about Holder, he is the captain and opposing teams will attack him for that reason. He should minimise the opportunity. Always felt like the fuss when we beat bottom ranked Zimbabwe was uncalled for.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Always felt like the fuss when we beat bottom ranked Zimbabwe was uncalled for.
    I AGREE WITH YOU DAVID
    I PERSONALLY DONT GAYLE VERY HIGHLY AND DONT EXPECT MUCH FROM HIM
    I LIKE THE UNSUNG HERO SANGAKARA. NO HYPE NO FUSS NO SLUGGING HE JUST GOES ABOUT HIS BUISINESS QUIETLY AND PRODUCES CONSISTENT RESULTS.
    AGAINST ZIMBABWE THE BATTING WAS RELATIVELY SOUND, BUT THERE WAS TOO MANY DOT BALLS.
    I NOTICE THAT THE BETTER PLAYERS SCORE A LOT OF1’S , 2’S 3’S
    THEY EXHIBIT GOOD RUNNING BETWEEN THE WICKETS
    WE BLOCK AND SWIPE AND PUT PRESSURE ON OURSELVES.

5. GP, that’s an interesting perspective about not rating Gayle highly. As compared to Sangakkara Gayle is certainly on par if not as statistically excellent.

Sangakkara is an elite player and not many match him in temperament or stats but Gayle can certainly be placed in his zip code.

Not sure on what standard Gayle falls down your rating scale but he is good enough to find a place in one of Clive Lloyd/Viv Richards’ teams beyond a doubt.

The man is physically falling apart now and yes he has adopted this stand and deliver type batting but he has also showed discipline and patience against top class bowling in tests.

As a cricketer it’s unreasonable to suggest he is not one of the WI better players, overall,

I believe you remember that the boy Gayle suffered from serious heart ailments which some thought may have curtailed his career.

Did that have anything to do in the past or even now with his attitude/style of play who knows.

6. Cricket is a team sport and the contribution of individual players must be evaluated with such in mind. Gayle at thi time is fashioning innings based on his physical and mental state and not the necessarily to meet team plan. At his best he was hardly the most consistent however he had the knack of hitting big scores.

7. The thing about Sangakara is that he has consistently performed at a high level as a batsman after crouching being the stumps for long periods of time.

8. David, no dispute. As they say anyone with eyes, let them see.

The shot Gayle got out to against Pakistan was atrocious for a player of his experience and the one against SA was just as inappropriate.

And to your point what is the team plan really. Based on the ability of Gayle and to a lesser extent Smith they should be able to get a decent score in the first 10 overs of restrictions without taking undue risks.

Yes easier said I know but you can’t go hooking a 7ft who has the ball steepling around your ears. That was a high probability top-edge get out shot from the moment he made the attempt. Best case scenario was a top-edge for six.

And what are the plans for the middle overs. Basically it seems that Gayle is unable to run too much because of injuries and thus it’s block and bash.

Evidently when he is out then there is a more concerted effort to erase dot balls with more quick singles.

Death Bowling. A big problem in many teams.

If you are Jason Holder with Ambrose as a bowling coach why is your execution so off. Either you are up to it or you don’t bowl at the death.

We know AB is in the very top drawer but with that height Jason has bowling short of a length into the body must be a better option that attempted yorkers.

Oh lawd, it’s easy to be a Monday morn QB and more difficult on the field but the guys just don’t seem to be hitting their markers and executing very well.

9. @DeeWord

We are all fans and love the game of course but a look at the WI team reveals a lack of disciplined approach, poor tactics and low mental capacity to compete consistently at a high level. Why is the WI team the second and third highest paid in the world again?

10. And Mr Lara should get…no votes.

Is he kidding?

Ironic that an article yesterday re Garner highlighted the importance of getting back to a rigorous training regimen and the decline of the WI extensive fitness programs can be traced directly to Lara.

He was a brilliant player and a very poor leader of men.

This job is about leading; not his forte.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IN 1995 PETER SHORT FLEW TO ENGLAND TO STAY ON TOUR INSTEAD OF SACKING HIM
    HE UNDERMINED RICHARDSON
    HE UNDERMINED WALSH
    HE DID ALL HE COULD TO BE CAPTAIN BUT COULD NOT GET EVEN HIS SHADOW TO FOLLOW HIM
    HE MESSED UP THINGS IN 99 IN SA LEADING US TO A 5-0 WHITEWASH

THEN HE GAVE UP THE CAPTAINCY UNTIL HOOPER WAS TURNING THINGS ROUND AGAIN AND HE UNDERMINED HOOPER TOO

ONE OF THE FOUNDATIONS OF THE STRENGTH OF THE WINDIES TEAM IN ITS POMP WAS THE rigorous training regimen THAT LARA ENDED

WHY DOESNT LARA JUST DRINK HIMSELF TO DEATH DURING THE CARNAVAL SEASON? WE WILL ALL FOLLOW HIM TO HIS BURIAL GROUND

12. WITH MORE THAN 300 signatures in hand, surfers yesterday submitted a petition to a number of Government agencies calling for the abandonment of the Sandy Lane Regeneration Beach Project.

13. Horse racing fans this is for you. The Gold cup reace should be exciting.

http://www.barbadosturfclub.org/watch-races-live/

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GOOD IDEA!
    HOPE SOME OTHERS WILL FOLLOW AND MAKE WAY FOR OTHERS

15. Taking a break to prepare for 20 20.

16. Dee Ingrunt Squared Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Squared

Ok David, back.

@GP here is a little conundrum up your alley.

The developing puzzle is contained in comments from the English MD/CEO (Paul Downton). He said with such deep sagaciousness (a bit late, but still )-

—— “The impact the T20 game has had on 50-over cricket I think has accelerated in the last year or two…

—— My perception is that what has happened … is that the crossover between Twenty20 and 50-over cricket has accelerated enormously. When you look at our guys, very few of them are exposed to Twenty20 cricket…

—— “That is clearly something we have to look …The facts are that we play more Test cricket at home than any other nation and that doesn’t allow much time to focus on one-day cricket…

—– “We have only just reintroduced 50 over cricket into the domestic programme in the last year. In many ways it’s no wonder we have underperformed.”

The conundrum is that how can you be so eloquent AFTER the fact and why are they not the top Test name if their focus has been on Tests in recent years?

A puzzle in an enigma or just a lot of hog wash excuses for piss-poor play.

The Irish guys who also play predominately on the County circuit looked much more assured as a batting unit at the WC; significantly better than their English mates.

The other part of the puzzle is that the English have been adamant that their players would not be available for IPL and other T20 tournaments, so its shockingly amusing to hear his astute observation that T20 habits have ‘improved’ the attacking skills of players.

A brief look at what the Maxwells, McCullums, Gayles, Russells and Warners have done and his comments re T20 are easily validated.

Mike Holding and others can dismiss T20 all they want as a developer of a true cricketer but properly harnessed the T20 game can be an absolute benefit for any cricketer who wants to hone his attacking skills.

So its beyond ironic that Downton can make such a statement and not fire himself for being ‘stupidly smart’ not to embrace T20 for his top players.

But on the other hand it should not be a shock that those who invented the game are the one’s to be dragged reluctantly to accept the latest innovations.

It is the very nature of innovations that they come from a different source than the originators.

First it was Packer.

The more life changes they say….

Woe are the English.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE ENGLISH DEVELOPED TEST CRICKET
    THEY HAD ONE DAY COMPETITIONS BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE
    THEY THEN DEVELOPED T20 TO BRING MONEY INTO THE COFFERS OF THE COUNTIES

WITHIN A YEAR THEIR BEST COUNTY T20 TEAM AND THEIR NATIONAL TEAM WERE BEATEN BY T&T AND SANFORDS SUPERSTARS BADLY IN ANTIGUA
    ITS SAD THAT SANFORD GOT LOCKED UP………..WE WOULD HAVE BEEN BACK TO THE GLORY DAYS BEATING EVERYONE

IN 1984 GREENIDGE MADE A DOUBLE CENTURY IN LES THAN A DAY, BATTING LIKE IF IT WAS AN ODI
    WE ARE ALEADY SEEING THE INFLUENCE OF T20 IN ODI’S AND SOON VERY OFTEN IN TEST MATCHES

18. Coming over for the test match in May, staying at Accra Beach, last year both teams were in the hotel, had a great time thanks to the West Indies team all true gentlemen with a smile and time for all the supporters.
    Does anyone no if they are staying there in May?
    Also tickets not on sale yet!
    Any news would be appreciated.
    Looking forward to your beautiful Island
    Al

19. this is a lovely story David
    http://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/834255

20. @GP

You have forcefully made your point – pride of country, leadership and vision. What a thing.

On Thursday, 12 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

21. Should be a very exciting first race of the season.

22. Looking forward to it Hants.

23. Great start to the season for Lewis.

24. Phil Simmons gets the job as coach of the West Indies.

Good luck, you will need it!

http://windiescricket.com/news/simmons-new-west-indies-head-coach

On Friday, 13 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

25. Chris Gayle continues to build wealth for his retirement fund.

WEST INDIES BATSMAN Chris Gayle has signed to play T20 cricket for Somerset County

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65224/chris-gayle-play-t20-somerset#sthash.kRRK7siG.dpuf

26. Fantastic game, it shows the gulf between the top tier teams and the West Indies. We have a lot to do.

27. A listen to the speech by the NZ captain sums it up, a management team all headed in the same direction. Look at NZ a team which epitomizes the definition of team, no stars. Just a few years ago the NZ was the whipping boys.

Fantastic game, it shows the gulf between the top tier teams and the West > Indies. We have a lot to do. > > On Friday, 20 March 2015, David > wrote: > >> Phil Simmons gets the job as coach of the West Indies. >> >> Good luck, you will need it! >> >> http://windiescricket.com/news/simmons-new-west-indies-head-coach >> >> On Friday, 13 March 2015, Barbados Underground > comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote: >> >>>

28. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Yes David, we have a lot to do.

We can identify the first strains of decline from what you described as the ‘definition of team’ to the elevation of Brian Lara as the focal point of WI.

It was not him alone obviously but moreso the tone and culture that developed around him.

It is with continued eternal optimism that I hope we will be able to reflect years from now and see this upcoming change and the tone and culture that must accompany it as the tipping point to improved performances and ideally a return to the pinnacle.

This reboot must be real and meaningful!.

29. And we have people like Admiral spouting his nonsense about playing Chanderpaul and Gayle. His first defense is to point at Gayle being the #1 run scorer in the world cup. Some of simply don’t get it.

30. @ Dee (whatever)
    It is with continued eternal optimism that I hope we will be able to reflect years from now and see this upcoming change and the tone and culture that must accompany it as the tipping point to improved performances and ideally a return to the pinnacle
    Ha Ha Ha
    Muh belly!! …oh shirtt!!
    David(BU) got you wid dis optimistic shiite talk now too…?

Skippa… you know what social entropy is?
    Unless proactive, INTELLIGENT interventions are made, social systems tend to naturally decline.

Tell Bushie where you see ANY SIGNS of intelligent, proactive intervention in WI cricket…

…and what the hell is the “West Indies” any how….?

31. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Yes Bushie, I am an optimist whether initiated by David or not.

Despite the prevailing evidence suggesting permanent decline there are any number of talented players in our team who can be developed to be more effective exponents of their skills. And as a unit we can be a competitive dynamic group.

These West Indies that you dismiss as a meaningless non-entity with a contrived name were a skilled force of men with an indomitable spirit.

They can once again embrace those mental and physical attributes that were the foundation of their past successes.

WI cricket does proactive, intelligent things daily. The fact is that there are too many other inane things which overshadow that.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I AM SO HAPPY TODAY

WOKE UP TO HEAR THAT SOUTH AFRICA GOT WHIPPED OUT OF THE WORLD CUP AND BIG MEN CRYING

DA FUH LICK DEM

WHY DIDNT AMLA AND ROUSEAUX MEK A HUNDRED DIS TIME?

WHY DIDNT “DEVILLIAN” THE RECORD BREAKER BREK RECORDS LAST NITE?

YAH MEAN HE CAN ONLY BEAT UP PUN DE POOR LIKKLE BWOY JASON AND THE WINDIES?

DA FUH LICK DEM

WINDIES WAS THE ONLY TEAM DAT PUT LICKS IN NZ 250 IN 30 OVERS
    ITS JUST THAT THE WICKET FALLING RATE WAS JUST AS BAD AS THE RUN RATE WAS GOOD

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/image/855293.html?object=207428;dir=next

LOOK AT DE VILLIAN! LOL I LOVE IT!

HE DIDNT LOOK LIKE THAT WHEN HE WAS UNFAIRING THE WINDIES DID HE?

LIKE HE DIDNT TURN UP YESTERDAY
    WHY DIDNT HE UNFAIR NZ TOO SINCE HE SO HIGH AND MIGHTY?

34. @GP

If you follow SA cricket you know Black schools, districts, neighborhoods are underfunded compared to Whites which explains why so few Blacks are coming through. Institutionalized racism was dismantled all those years ago but the struggle continues.

35. So interesting to read about Kevin Peterson negotiating out of an IPL contract to play for Somerset with the objective to play for England.

Lessons?

36. NO DAVID KP IS AN EGOTIST
    EVEN THOUGH ENGLAND TREATED HIM POORLY

37. Great weekend for us. Cricket World cup final and F1 Malaysia.

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AND OUR NEW NATIONAL ANTHEM WUH LOSS

39. Barbados wins.

NOW, THAT’S HOW you respond to a bad game.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65433/moving

40. Hamilton P1, Vettel P2, Rosberg P3

Should be exciting.

41. @Hants

LH seems to be having reliability issues.