2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

REASONABLE HANTS

2. Brathwaite has to be coached to deal with bouncers.

Put him in the nets with Tino Best for a week. lol

3. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Hants, seriously! When doesn’t a well directed bouncer leaping at your throat not get the best of players out.

No doubt he will continue to hone his craft but a good bouncer will reap results 9 of 10 times.

He is an opener so surely he practices against the rising ball often but this was a sharp, well bowled delivery.

4. i agre with you 100 % HANTS

Brathwaite has to be coached to deal with bouncers.

Put him in the nets with Tino Best for a week. lol

THIS IS HOW RICHARDSON LEARNED TO PLAY BOUNCERS

TOO MANY OF OUR PLAYERS DONT SEEM TO KNOW HOW TO CUT AND HOOK

5. Brathwaite’s game is still developing, let us back him to compensate. This is what happens in the WI where enough cricket (quality) is not played.

On 25 April 2015 at 14:44, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. BRATHWAITE IS A SOLID TEST OPENING BATSMAN AND WILL CONTINUE TO IMPROVE.

HE CAN BE COACHED TO DEAL WITH BOUNCERS EVEN SHARP RISING ONES.

ENGLAND WILL CONTINUE TO BOUNCE AT HIM IN THE NEXT TEST.

7. @David you were right. West Indies will have to fight to save this match. 266 for 7

8. Joint Statement by CARICOM and WICB

CARICOM and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have agreed to establish a panel to conduct a review of the governance structure of the Board.

This was the key outcome of a near five-hour long meeting between the CARICOM Cricket Governance Committee and the Directors and Management of the WICB. The Chairman of CARICOM, the Rt. Hon. Perry Christie, Prime Minister of The Bahamas and CARICOM Secretary General, Ambassador Irwin La Rocque, also attended the meeting which took place last Monday, April 20, at the Spice Island Beach Resort.

President of the WICB Mr. Whycliffe “Dave” Cameron led the Board’s team which included the Vice President, Directors, as well as the Chief Executive Officer and Corporate Secretary.

The Cricket Governance Committee, which initiated the meeting, was established by the Heads of Government to review the administrative and governance structure of WICB with a view to involving greater stakeholder participation. It comprises the Prime Minister of Grenada, Dr. the Hon. Keith Mitchell as Chairman, the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, the Hon. Gaston Brown and the Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr. the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves.

It was agreed that the Prime Minister of Grenada, as Chairman of the Cricket Governance Committee, will consult with the President of the WICB on the composition of the five-member panel.

The CARICOM Secretary General will prepare the Terms of Reference for the work of the panel and submit them to Prime Minister Mitchell who will also consult with the President of the WICB on the matter.

The Cricket Governance Committee and the WICB have also agreed that the panel will submit its recommendations within three months of the commencement of its evaluation. Upon receipt of the report, both sides are intent on collaborating with each other with a view to reversing the current negative trends in the sport and its governance.

The panel will comprise a member of the legal profession, a West Indies cricket legend, someone from academia, a member of the private sector and an individual with intimate knowledge of the work of the WICB.

Both parties expressed satisfaction at the outcome.  “I think the meeting was very productive and very positive. We have agreed on a way forward. I think we have a shared vision and all of us want to see West Indies perform at the highest standard. We are committed to making this happen,” said Mr. Cameron.

In brief remarks after the meeting, Prime Minister Mitchell said, “We were able to meet with the Directors of the WICB to express the view of the necessity for change and I think we have reached a conclusion in that respect…which will chart the way forward. We will be working together with the WICB and all concerned to move West Indies cricket forward.”

Caption: Meeting on Cricket – (l-r) Hon. Gaston Browne, Prime Minister, Antigua and Barbuda; Ambassador Emmanuel Nanthan, WICB Vice-President; Rt. Hon. Perry Christie, CARICOM Chairman and Prime Minister of The Bahamas; Dr. Rt. Hon. Keith Mitchell, Prime Minister of Grenada; Mr. Dave Cameron, President WICB; Dr. Hon. Ralph Gonsalves, Prime Minister, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; CARICOM Secretary-General, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque
  9. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

David, this is absolutely very exciting. It seems as is all the right people have been selected for this panel . What monumental steps forward to a brighter future.

This panel is to comprise “a member of the legal profession, a West Indies cricket legend, someone from academia, a member of the private sector and an individual with intimate knowledge of the work of the WICB.” That last one in particular will be the key person chosen, as we might as well see which lovely lady is getting all hot and intimate with the fellows; a few column inches of salacious news.

In short David this is one colossal F**UP! There is a governance committee currently empaneled which as of Nov 2014 was chaired by Sir Dennis Byron. So according to this meeting’s deliberations Sir Byron and com. are a waste of time, money and space

There were no less than TWO previous reports on WI Governance Structure. So according to this, PJ Patterson and his team of 2007 and Charles Wilkin along with his committee members of 2012 were all a colossal waste of time, money and space too.

Wilkin in a candid outburst back then said the report was “flatly rejected” by the WICB directors. He noted :

“Knowing full well that they wanted to preserve at all costs all of their positions on the board, a conclusion I draw from listening to them for the whole day at [a Barbados] meeting and at the earlier meeting in St Lucia to which I was invited, the territorial board members should have spared the governance committee our valuable time and saved the board the cost of the review exercise”. Oh lawd. Rewind and say again.

And back in 2007, PJ’s report noted: “The Report contains recommendations which require a number of decisions to be taken, not only by the West Indies Cricket Board and its Territorial Boards, but also by CARICOM and Regional Governments…Difficult but firm decisions will have to be made, but the greatest tragedy of all would be the failure to implement whichever of our recommendations are finally endorsed. ”

What’s that? Rewind and say again.

There is a little Johnny joke which properly crystallizes this group play.

So Dad had some buddies over for a game of serious cards, drinking and then to watch the big game on TV. As they start to settle in lil Johnny come and interrupt. De ole man gave him what he wanted and sent him back his room to relax. Same thing 10 minutes later, cause Johnny bored. So one of the buddies went back to his room wid Johnny and shortly return to the festivities.

About 2 hours later one of the other fellas say ‘but wait, wha John went. Wha you do to the man child’. The other fella said, ‘cha man, the boy in his room relaxing. I explained to him the pleasure of playing wid he-self’. Everybody laugh out.

Clearly our lil Johnnies all now grown up still enjoy this concept of playing wid themselves.

This is all one BIG JOKE. What an absolute and complete waste of money and time. There is clearly no intent to move forward. NONE.

10. @Word

Can’t challenge a lot that you wrote only to add we must live in hope. Maybe the 60 million USD caused by the airheads will act as the tipping point.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David April 27, 2015 at 5:56 AM
    “Maybe the 60 million USD caused by the airheads will act as the tipping point.”

“The Rt. Hon. Perry Christie, Prime Minister of The Bahamas”

David could you please explain the role the P M of the Bahamas is playing in all of this?
    Is the Bahamas a cricket playing nation? Has anyone from the Bahamas ever played cricket for the West Indies cricket team or participated in any regional tournaments?

Would the Bahamas be contributing to the that US$ 60M bailout?

Who the hell is footing the bill for holding these useless meetings and conferences? Why reinvent the wheel? Why not just use PJP’s recommendations contained in the 2007 report?

12. @Miller

He brought the weight of his office as Chairman. We revere pomp and ceremony in this neck of the woods as you know.

13. Ball-by-ball commentary on the test match.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/cricket/32358981

14. Any comment about the recent decision by the BCCI to ban Sunil Narine’s off break?

15. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

David, I am not familiar with the youngster Shai Hopeso is he really ready for this level or are selectors sorta rolling the dice to see his skills at Test level?

Was surprised Smith was dropped although his results have not be exciting. I presume they are dissatisfied that he got starts in every game but did not push on. Didn’t read that he was hurt so presume he was dropped.

This is a good test for the English. If they want to show their true mettle as they prepare for the Aussies they need to come back and put us on the run with a super strong bowling effort.

In turn our boys have to be careful and bat with serious focus.

16. @Word

Hope has performed on the domestic front, we must wait to see if he can make the leap especially not being an opener by upbringing.

17. @David,

Narine should just try to get through this IPL season and work on his problem over the next few months.

Don’t think he will play for West Indies again but he can earn enough retirement money in the IPL.

18. @Hants

Retirement at 25? His potency as a mystery bowler is gone. Watching current IPL it is already obvious he is a shadow of the bowler he was in earlier seasons.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dAVID
    SOME OF OUR GREAT PLAYERS IN THE IPL SEEM TO HAVE DECLINED THIS SEAON

20. @GP

So true, do you realize Gayle was dropped a couple matches back?

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

YES APPARENTLY FOR BATTING TOO SLOWLY BEFORE GETTING OUT

22. Andre Russell appear to be growing in the IPL. the question though is what kind of a legacy does the IPL offer. It is just about money.

@Hants > > Retirement at 25? His potency as a mystery bowler is gone. Watching > current IPL it is already obvious he is a shadow of the bowler he was in > earlier seasons. > > >

23. There was a time on a good pitch and a new hard ball WI spectators could expect to some square cuts and pulls. Instead we are 5-2.

Andre Russell appear to be growing in the IPL. the question though is what > kind of a legacy does the IPL offer. It is just about money. > > @Hants >> >> Retirement at 25? His potency as a mystery bowler is gone. Watching >> current IPL it is already obvious he is a shadow of the bowler he was in >> earlier seasons. >> >> >>

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David May 2, 2015 at 11:19 AM #
    There was a time on a good pitch and a new hard ball WI spectators could expect to some square cuts and pulls. Instead we are 5-2.

ABSOLUTELY 100% CORRECT

IT SEEMS AS IF HOOKING AND PULLING AND SQUARE CUTTING IS OUT OF THE GAME

WHEN GORDAN WOULD SQUARE CUT ON TO THE WALL OF THE KENSINGTON STAND THE BALL USED TO COME BACK HALF WAY TO THE PITCH

ALSO BRAVO SAMUELS AND BLACKWOOD ALL PLAY LOOSELY

THEY DONT SEEM TO KNOW THAT YOU HAVE TO GET TO THE PITCH OF THE BALL

I HAVE SEEN BETTER PLAYERS IN THE VILLAGE AND BCL BAT

25. Correct GP, Ricky Skeete, Jefferey Newton and a few others come to mind.

26. Let’s face it guys.We belong to the era of the Greats of Barbados……Worrell,Weekes,Walcott,Sobers,Atkinson,DePeiza,Nurse,Hunte,Haynes,
    Greenidge.Without all the extra padding and helmet,these batsmen were first class entertainers who would literally murder bowlers,don’t care where they pitch de ball.
    Regards ‘o bowling,Mullins,Hitler Downes,Hall,Griffith,Marshall, Garner had batsmen
    playing at square leg regularly.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

TRUE AGAIN GABRIEL

28. Just watched the fight

Overrated

29. Mayweather wins!

30. Agree with you Sargeant, Mayweather did enough but 300 hundred million?

Mayweather wins! > >>

31. IPL magic ($$$) making west Indians perform.

Lendl Simmons c Patel b Anureet Singh 71 (56b 9×4 1×6) SR: 126.78

32. We have some people here who are home on bended knees led by Hants, Word and GP.

33. @David,

Will need miracle to save this match. Was hoping against all hope that Hope would deliver but…….lol

34. @Hants

It is a 50:50

35. This game is certainly not 50:50 as the Windies will see out this game with at least 4 wickets to spare.

I have no intention to join Hants, Word and GP on bended knees.

36. Taking bets Exclaimer, England 3:1 to win.

37. 99 to WIN

38. West Indies require another 75 runs with 6 wickets remaining

I am betting that the match will finish before lunch tomorrow.

39. @Hants

O yee of Likkle faith.

40. @David…….. Could’t handle de pressure so went for a walk an watch some bat an ball near where I live.

Just come back and got the pleasant surprise. lol

41. @Hants

The two youngster led the way although they play too losely but they got lucky. Let us hope it gives the team the fillip it needs to go on.

On 3 May 2015 at 22:02, Barbados Underground wrote:

42. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Yes David the bended knees and the confidence of these developing stars worked perfectly.

The youngster Hope looked quite accomplished in his short stay. Hopefully he continues and puts a marker down v the Aussies.

Job well done particularly the bowlers. Who wud have thunk it that this attack could bowl on England twice in this manner.

Oh lawd we back to the days of beating the English boys in 3 days!

But seriously, great effort and positives upon which to build. I am looking forward to when the other Brathwaite gets his chance. He is similar to Jordan in my view. being that he bowls aggressively and the little I saw of him he seems capable of maintaining a tight, probing line.

btw did you see the recent excellent article TC did on your old school and it’s cricket traditions.

Good stuff. Of course he touched on Kolig and his alma mater Lodge too, but the article was about Brathwaite, Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite and those that went before.

43. I think Chanders should throw in the towel before he gets pushed.He is 40 and must make way for younger talent.I think there is batting talent to be nurtured.We need 4 tearaway fast bowlers in our team to re-establish ourselves back at the top.Brathwaites K and C,along with Shai and Jason must be fixtures in our batting line up.Jason and Carlos can become relief quick bowlers as a bonus but 6 batsmen 4 fast bowlers and a wicketkeeper/batsman should be our goal from here on in.Ramdin should be relieved of his place in the team.A spinner should be available and can displace a fast bowler when pitch/weather conditions so require.Its regrettable Narine is having problems.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Gabriel May 3, 2015 at 9:00 PM #
    I think Chanders should throw in the towel before he gets pushed.
    i think they should let Chandrs play the two tests vs the Aussies and allow to make the 150 runs or so he needs to pass Lara and also get to 12000

I really dont see many if any batsmen on the horizon—or else he would probably gone already

we know that ottis wanted to get rid of him 4 years ago

it seems that simmons lloyd and ambrose has instilled some discipline in these guys

45. @Dee Ingrunt Word April 23, 2015 at 8:28 PM,

Your above comments have a degree of validity.

I believe that the Indian Premier League (IPL) is built on a foundation called corruption. The paying public go along to this T20 spectacle in order to see a coloured ball being walloped into the stands and to place gross sums of monies on the outcome of matches; whilst behind the scenes the gaming industry generates large incomes on deals cut between the players, the management and the bookmakers in order to contrive the results of these matches.

This explains why our cricketers and cricketers from around the world are attracted to the IPL. They are heavily remunerated in order to facilitate this fraudulent system. Surely you can understand the perils of this demonic league. The growth of T20 and the IPL will destroy test cricket.

On the plus side, you would have seen that I accurately predicted that the Windies would be victorious. I was impressed with this young and hungry group of cricketers. Well done the Windies. You did us proud. My only regret with this current crop of players is that the squad lacks players of Caucasian descent.

The British public have also been impressed with the flamboyance and joie-de-vivre of this relatively young group of Caribbean swash-buckling cricketers as can be seen in the article below.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/may/03/west-indies-beat-england-five-wickets

46. Is anyone concerned that this ” 5 day” test match only lasted 3 days ?

Bad pitch or mediocre players?

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

mediocre players hants
    i expect contemporary ” 5 day” test match to only lasted 3 days because many players to not have the discipline to exercise the necessary skill set for lengthy periods of time

notice whenever the bowlers get a good batting wicket they and thE commentators groan and moan that there is nothing for the bowlers YET MICHAEL HOLDING GOT 14 WICKET AT THE OVAL IN 76– ON THE SAME WICKET THAT AMISS MADE RUNS.