2,315 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @ David the biggest problem for LH is the underlying conflict with Rosberg.

“Hamilton, who took a superb pole position in a dramatic, rain-affected session, appeared to be impeded by Rosberg on his final run.”

And Bernie Ecclestone’s comments will not make Rosberg happy.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/mar/27/bernie-ecclestone-lauds-lewis-hamilton-driving-promoting-f1

2. @Hants

LH’s biggest problem is that Ferrari is back…lol!

3. @David that is great for racing fans. Hope they fight all year for the titles.

I am an LH fan and I have noticed he is driving with more control and using his brain.

Should be an exciting F1 season

4. Hants

I LOVE THAT NZ GOT WHIPPED!………..and SOUTH AFRICA
    GUPTILL AND DE VILLIAN CAN ONLY UNFAIR POOR LITTLE HOLDER AND A WEAK WINDIES BOWLING ATTACK

5. @ Georgie Porgie,

HOLDER DID WELL BUT HE WAS GIVEN A TEAM OF CRICKETERS WHO DO NOT USE THEIR BRAINS.

BATSMEN WHO BAT LIKE THEY PLAYING BASEBALL.

BOWLERS WHO HAVE NO CONTROL

FIELDERS WHO ARE TOO RELAXED IN THE FIELD.

WE CAN ONLY HOPE THE NEW COACH CAN IMPROVE THE TEAM.

6. Jump jockeys are an incredible breed of sportsmen. Watch the clip below:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/32154522

7. Way to go TEAM BARBADOS… CONGRATS

YOU HAVE MADE BARBADOS PROUD

8. Is it not amazing how Gayle looks a completely different player to a few weeks ago playing for the WI in the world cup.

Congrats to Kraigg Brathwaite making it as Vice Captain of the WI.

LH P1 and TW on the up and up!

9. David I am enjoying the entertainment.

re Gayle. He is a super star in IPL and the Indians love him. (the million dollar earnings directly affect his batting.)

Tiger will be back to the top if his back troubles are controlled.

Lewis has matured and is focused. It helps that Nico is on his tail.

10. This season it appears the Ferrari will be on his tail.

11. Patrick Husbands captured his eighth Sovereign Award as Canada’s most Outstanding Jockey.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/04/11/husbands-canadas-top-jockey-once-again

12. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Today’s column by TC reminded me of my chuckles when I read last week that the WICB had set England to play a non-first class match against a side of basically intermediate level cricketers as their one and only match prior to the Test series.

At first I was confounded as I thought they should take the chance to give some of the up and coming local fellows a ‘test’ against these top pros but then I realized the absolute genius of the ploy to deny the English any meaningful acclimatization.

So when I read “The exercise was all but meaningless [and] the local team mustered 59 all out and 76 for seven and conceded 379 for six .”

And also, “Experienced, well-travelled English journalists covering the tour were appalled. Paul Newman of the Daily Mail saw it as “an almost tragic example of the steep decline of Caribbean cricket”.

I say forget decline, the WICB boys in Jamaica are bosses. Keep the English boys unsettled and let them face the real hot stuff in Antigua with no prep.

Well at least I hope that was the plan!

13. @Hants

And he will for the rest of the season. Like you stated LH is maturing and it had translated in success. If Nicole doesn’t watch it Vettel et al will make him irrelevant.

14. Good start by West Indies. There is hope if they stay focused.

15. @Hants

Let us see how they finish.

16. Hants
    Dobell is writing shite. It is as though he has never seen a test match.
    The boys did well before lunch, and needed an extra bowler after lunch.
    Benn is not at all penetrative.

It is amusing to hear these shitty ex English players who used to struggle in the 80’s and 90’s talking so much shit now
    I just hope that both Brathwaithe & Chanderpaul get centuries

17. Good Test cricket today. West Indies did well They just need to be reminded that it is a 5 day match. .

18. @ GEORGIE PORGIE,

YUH BOY JASON DELIVERED. APPEARS TO BE A GENUINE ALL ROUNDER.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

hants ma boy
    JASON WENT TO THE WICKET A BOY AND CAME BACK A MAN

CALM
    COOL LEVEL HEAD
    STRAIGHT BAT
    COMMON SENSE——–not like the ass Blackwel who I would drop for a few games for his swiping today and getting out
    PATIENCE

THIS LAD IS CLASS
    HE IS IN THE TOP DRAWER
    RESPECTFUL
    SPEAKS WELL–not like if he come out the bush some where

LONG MAY HE DELIVER FOR BDOS AND WINDIES!

20. It was a classy looking knock. There is a lot of expectation. He needs to stop trying to ride every shirt ball though.

21. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

Yes indeed great effort by Holder and the team overall.

With such an effort we can surmise that his agent must be salivating…

—– He must have been on the phone ideally to a CEO from an English county selling his potential for a county contract. Surely, with his flair and cricket abilities he certainly would do well for any of the counties on the field of play and in the business field with marketing/advertising.

Best place for him rather than more lucrative IPL.

Holder can develop into the batting all-rounder that he perceives himself to be and that is a good thing because being that he is a big lad he will need to physically manage himself carefully as a fast-medium bowler.

22. agreed
    better to go and play county cricket and learn the varied conditions than play IPL
    but english counties not really interested in young west indians anymore

the plan is that we must never recover to beat up every one as we did in the 80’s

23. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

All may be true GP, but the English can well release that bat handle up the rear entrance of their esophagus.

We skewered them good and proper back then but dem days dun wid.

To a county this lad is an absolute goldmine of a revenue stream. Even as they make him better.

After all he may be a big man but superman he is not and certainly can’t beat ole England all by himself. So they all good as we are miles aways yet from being a top-level team that can beat up on England.

England actually have quite a solid team. A good Finn and spinner or such away from holding the Aussies upcoming.

Although the batting struggled in parts against WI they showed enough nous and skill in many spots. When Trott and Cook regain their touch they should be a very good lineup.

But that can wait until after the next two tests.

24. @David,

Lewis on pole. Vettel second Rosberg 3rd.

Tomorrow should be exciting.

25. @Hants

Rosberg and Hamilton should tag team to block Vettel and defer their rivalry to the latter part of the season.

26. @Hants

The West Indians look different in the IBL – Indian Bash League.Did you see the Russell innings today?

27. @David, They all have magically transformed as soon as they land in India.

Even Dwayne Smith.

The IPL $$$$$$ works wonders.lol

28. @Georgie Porgie April 17, 2015 at 10:45 PM #

Your comments @ 10.45pm are misguided.

For the first time in in a long time, I decided that I would listen to Test Match Special on the radio featuring a West Indies game. Boycott was glowing in his commentary on Holder and stated that Holder would compliment any of the county teams and that he would benefit tremendously from participating in county cricket.

Rest assure, this man will be plying his trade in the UK very shortly. This makes me very happy as he will be treading the same boards as his more illustrious predecessors – Richards, Kallicharan, et al.

The fly-by-knight Charlatan – Chris Gayle, can continue to ply his trade in that economic brothel called the IPL; whereas Holder can develop into a truly outstanding professional cricketer and a balanced human-being.

29. Barbados colours in Formula One.

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/117512

30. Exciting race. Lewis wins again.

31. @hants

Yes but is reliability rearing its head again?

And lookout for those Ferraries.

32. Why can’t all the West Indies top batsmen make a decent score in match.

If Samuels can score 94 surely Chanderpaul and Blackwood could have scored fifty.

Hope Samuels and Ramdin “stand up and bat” tomorrow.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hope Samuels and Ramdin “stand up and bat” tomorrow.
    WAIT………….!!WUH BOUT JASON? LET LIGHTNING HIT TWICE MAN!LOL

HOPE WE CAN GET TO 400 BY TEA TIME TOMORROW OR THE CLOSE IF CONDITIONS ARE UNFAVORABLE AGAIN.

34. @ GP,

HOPE SAMUELS AND RAMDIN STILL BATTING BY TEA.

JASON WILL STAND UP AND BAT IF GIVEN THE CHANCE.

WE WILL NEED HIS BOWLING.

35. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

This young-man Joe Root is living up to his pre-billing and certainly is striving to be an England all time great.

Their batting lineup is a strong one so we have done comparatively well thus far. More serious work to be done to save this match.

Marlon Samuels needs to be a better situational player. Getting out yesterday after three terrible attacking shots immediately after his century was poor match strategy on his part. if not for the bowlers we would be in more serious problems at the moment.

They showed him clearly that he stupidly let slip away a score of 150 or more yesterday.

No wonder this dude was never really placed on track to lead the WI earlier. Maybe he gets a shot still but certainly nothing long term. At 23 Holder shows more cricket nous that Marlon has show in his entire cricket career.

36. Samuels scored 103 which was 33% of the total. The problem was no other batsman scored more than 35.

Thankfully England is only 74 ahead with 4 wickets in hand.

37. @Hants

The WI will do well to save this match.

38. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@Exclaimer on April 18.

Chris Gayle the rebel is certainly not in the mould of Jason Holder the gentleman just as Viv Richards the rebel was not in the mould of Clive Lloyd the gentleman.

And as Viv was a talented and destructive player so too is Gayle. The man surely is no charlatan.

When his career is over he will definitely be “treading the same boards as his more illustrious predecessors” for Test runs scored and averages.

It is amusing to hear you describe the Indian created IPL as an “economic brothel” and provide a more glorious descriptive potential to the county cricket of our former colonial masters. Interesting.

Truth and reason are important. Our cricketers toiled for many years in county cricket not because they loved it per se but because it was a source of income. According to those who know they were made to toil, long and hard to achieve the financial success they eventually gained.

It is naive to think therefore that if IPL was around in that time with that type of financial benefit that the Richards and Lloyds and all the others would not have been playing in that ‘economic brothel’. Richards in particular would have been a super star there; so too Kallicharan for example.

Holding has said clearly that he thinks T20 is foolish cricket but the man was also honest enough to say that were he a young cricketer today that he would be playing IPL. That certainly establishes that the reality for any sportsman/woman MUST be to maximize their earnings when they can.

I too want Holder to go to county cricket and improve his craft.

One day he will likely ply his trade in the ‘economic brothel’ but for now his talents are better to be handsomely remunerated in the economic palace of our former slave masters.

39. First 4 overs this morning. Gabriel and Roach…..2 bouncers per over.

40. NOTE THAT HOLDER HAS ALREADY “PLAYED” TWO SEASONS IN THE IPL –EVEN THOUGH HE DID NOT GET MANY OPPORTUNITIES TO PERFORM.

BUT TO BE CHOSEN SUGGESTS THAT SOME ONE THOUGHT HE HAD SOME POTENTIAL

41. Well earned century by Kraigg Brathwaite.

42. Good solid Test cricket by the WI today. Kraigg the rock, congrats to him!

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ALL I WANT NOW IS FOR CHANDERS TO GET A HUNDRED TOMORROW
    AND BRATHWAITHE TO GET A DOUBLE

BAT ALL DAY!

44. HOPE BRATHWAITE AND SAMUELS BAT AT LEAST UNTIL LUNCH.

CHANDERS CAN BREAK LARA’S RECORD AT KENSINGTON.