2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. @Hants

Trust the West Indies to bungle a press conference. Surely the PR team should have prepped the young man. The pulling of the plug is more about protesting the young man on the big stage.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/content/story/827653.html?CMP=chrome

2. @ David,

Over and over again the WICB management fails to do its job. It is pitiful to see.

I agree the PR team should have prepped Holder . He obviously has not learned to deflect ( lie with conviction ) yet. lol

3. @Hants

His comment about not benig a selector and missing Pollard and Bravo runs counter to Chief Selector Lloyd’s public position. What a mess.

4. World cup warm up matches being shown FREE on Rogers channels 377 and 379 in Toronto.

@ David it is unfortunate but Holder has to learn to “spin” . lol

5. I am watching India vs Australia on channel 378. the match is also on channel 380.

6. @Hants

Let us hope it is a teachable moment and adequately addressed in the debrief.

7. Hope so David. Holder is only 23 years old will need guidance in this modern age of “spin”

8. I HAVE A LOT OF RESPECT FOR YOUNG HOLDER
    HE SPEAKS WELL & FLUENTLY FOR A YOUNG MAN
    HE SHOULD BE LEFT ALONE TO DEVELOP

9. @ Georgie Porgie ,

HOLDER HAS POTENTIAL TO BE A GOOD CAPTAIN BUT HE WILL BE PRESSURED TO SAY WHAT LLOYD AND THE WICB MANAGEMENT WANT HIM TO SAY.

GLAD TO SEE YOU ARE IN YOUR “CRICKET MODE”

10. For those who are interested you can watch cricket at windiescricket dot com

I watching Barbados beat up Leewards.

11. Thanks Hants
    The commentary is actually better than the international commentaries.
    These guys are describing what is going on instead of talking shhhhhhhhhhite!
    ALWAYS IN CRICKET MODE HANTS

12. How does Holder learn on the job. Sammy is meant to be his mentor. Is it enough support for the youngster?

13. AGREED GP.

TOO BAD LEEWARD BATSMEN ARE NOT PUTTING UP A FIGHT.

14. David
    Holder is an intelligent lad. I think he has better advice and support from those at home than Sammy had—-just like K Brathwaithe.

15. Let us hope you are correct GP, we will not hold the fact he attended St.Michaels School against him…lol.

16. @DavidFebruary 6, 2015 at 9:20 …You have been keeping abreast of developments in Jamaica? How porakey have we become when Garner is in the running after presiding over the BCA CEO fiasco”

Reasonable query sir, but realistically it did appear that the BCA conducted practical and reasonable due dilligence on that Miller matter. It did exploide in their faces but as I interpreted the story it was not because they were negligent in their plans and hiring of Mr. Miller.

As far as I read the Cameron/Hinds/Bravo matter; Cameron was absolutely negligent for a man of his background, training and understanding of the contractular issues.

Bird can’t do any worst. Sad way to make a recommendation for such a post but I’ll frame it that way based on your query.

17. David February 8, 2015 at 2:14 PM #
    Let us hope you are correct GP, we will not hold the fact he attended St.Michaels School against him…lol.

NOT ONLY DID HE ATTEND ST MICHAELS BUT THE LAD IS ALMOST THE SPLITTING IMAGE OF ONE OF MY SONS WHO ALSO ATTENDED ST MICHAELS
    ST MICHAELS HAVE HAD GOOD CRICKET COACHES FOR A WHILE SINCE THE DAYS OF NJ “NINO” GITTENS

18. Agreed GP, if only he is able to commander your ball beating ways at the world cup.

19. ICC world cup practice match. West Indies vs England at 10.15 pm et.

20. Hants the trick to eating blue peter is not to salt it before fryin it…..do so afterward…..same thing wid melts…. AND you call yourself a Bajan fisherman and din know dat?

21. @ old onion bags,

The last time I was in a boat that caught a blue peter the captain let it go.

Never ate blue peter but I trust your expertise….. for now. lol

22. forgive me but I vex as brassbowl. Gayle out 0, Bravo out ) West Indies 1 run for 2 wickets.

23. Grass on the pitch. West Indies win the toss and bat first.

24. cool down friend…like U ent know politics out dey AT Play……mo contracts n $$$$ wanted

25. Smith out. 35 for 4

Will West Indies score 50.

Onions I tekkin you advice. Can’t let dese guys raise muh pressuh. lol

26. 51 for 5.

27. West Indies taken to the wire by Scotland.

WoW!

28. David, the fellas just timing their run carefully. They will out sprint everyone just now. No problem.

Gayle and Samuels will be scoring runs like Freddo and Richards and Roach will just blow people away. Just be patient…

Ok. Lata.

I going to take my tablets. I don’t like them cause they taste nasty but the doctor say its to help with my hallucinations and I just see a dragon fly across my room. Phew, thank God he wasn’t breathing nah fire.

I think I betta tek them tablets though.

29. @DeeWord

Your lofty expectation of the West Indies would be bang in if they were more than two warmup games…lol.

On 12 February 2015 at 10:19, Barbados Underground wrote:

30. The bouncy grassy pitches caught West Indies batsmen off guard. No flat tracks in Australia so they could have a problem.

31. West Indies on the ropes against Ireland 97-5 as expected.

32. Well they got off the ropes but oh how the once mighty have fallen.

Ireland played with absolute confidence against our bowlers who, despite the coaching and guidance of a man like Ambrose, were dismal as a unit.

Couple that with the Irish captain saying with conviction, “I don’t see this as an upset” and we know beyond a doubt that no one fears us now.

Not even one time minnows.

Well, the fact is that we may still be in the shark tank with the other sharks but we are merely a bothersome pup shark to the Great Whites in the tank, and now some young tiger sharks.

The only bright spot is that they can’t get much worst that last night.

Let’s see if they still have some bite left.

33. @ Exclaimer
    Bajans are racists too… or brass bowl idiots.

You would not believe the level of support here in BLACK Barbados for these racist English teams like Chelsea and Manchester etc…
    If you hear OFFICIAL reporters on radio and TV gushing about the FA cup …you would think they are talking about Empire or Maple.

If you see sports broadcasts on TV …. every FA cup goal in PRIME time, ….and then some shiite reporter with a cheap Nokia phone camera showing some scrappy shiite on Murphy’s pasture after the damn sun gone down …judging by the quality.

Lotta shiite…

How will our sportsmen EVER feel empowered to compete against such people like the cricket greats did back in the old days…

Where there is no vision, you ALWAYS find a lotta shiite…

34. We have FA CUP and BPL on the radio and TV yet cricket world cup is on and no radio coverage. Another big indicator…

35. RE How will our sportsmen EVER feel empowered to compete against such people like the cricket greats did back in the old days…

BY PLAYING LOTS OF CRICKET LIKE WE DID FOR FUN IN THE 50’S AND 60’S
    IN THE LAST 10 OR SO YEARS AS I LIVED AND TAUGHT IN THE ISLANDS , I NEVER SAW BOYS PLAYING IN THE STREETS OR ANY WHERE ELSE FOR THAT
    MATTER

YOUNG BOYS TODAY ONLY PLAN TO BE MORONS BEGGARS MENDICANTS AND THIEVES LIKE THEIR POLITICAL PAROCHIAL REPRESENTATIVES

36. @ Bush Tea,

The English Premier League (EPL) is promoted all around the world. Consider yourself lucky. In the UK we have to pay big money to watch live games on the television; however when in Barbados you have wall to wall coverage.

I remember all too well the dark days of English football. Back in the seventies and eighties it was very rare for a black man to attend a football match. The reason for this was the atmosphere at the stadiums where the right-wing, racist hooligans ruled.

The few black players on the pitch received abuse in equal measures from their white team mates, their opponents, their own fans and the opposing fans!

Unfortunately racism in football has never disappeared and keeps on raising its head. Black players make up at least one-third of professional footballers in the UK – yet, are consistently refused the chance to manage a football club unlike their brothers in the USA.

Sadly, a majority of those black footballers plying their trade in the EPL come from the African continent. They appear to have no interest in the political struggle carried out by their predecessors within the English game. They just come and collect the money like mercenaries.

Funny that! The West Indian man in the UK broke down the social barriers and militated to improve their lot and their family’s lot only for a pack of journey men from all corners of the world to benefit from their struggle without paying their dues. That’s how it goes – I guess!

@ GP,
    Times have changed. Kids have more distractions then when we were youngsters.
    We had simple lives; today’s kids are under a lot more peer pressure (due to the internet, media, drugs, et al.).

37. Exclaimer: You can’t be seriously making statements about racism and alluding to its insidious nature and follow up with : “Funny that! The West Indian man in the UK broke down the social barriers and militated to improve their lot … only for a pack of journey men from all corners of the world to benefit from their struggle without paying their dues. That’s how it goes – I guess!”

Apart from the inherent strange prejudice isn’t it a bit ironic that you are claiming the WI as first to the post, so to speak, considering the legacy of slavery in the UK.

Strange assertions. sir.

38. @ Dee Word,
    You are correct in your assertion. My argument was an observation rooted from the perspective of a second generation West Indian.

Those of us who resided in the UK from the late forties right through to the eighties can tell you some terrible stories about the UK – and some good! This country (The UK) never wanted the black man to set foot on their soil. That we (Caribbean’s) still exist in the UK can be put down to our fortitude.

Those boys and girls from the period I speak of had real backbone. I know of the sacrifices that they made. To a degree, life is slightly easier. I feel slightly disheartened that some groups have not had to jump through similar hurdles in order to establish themselves. For example take housing: when my father arrived in the UK the English would advertise signs outside their homes which read “NO BLACKS, NO IRISH, NO ANIMALS!” The only option available to him was some slum tenement. There was social housing available during this period but that was reserved for the English man and woman.

The only option available to my father was to purchase his own property. He took up this option, the rest is history. Sadly, the UK is a draw for many citizens, particularly Africans, this is due solely to the benign conditions they face whilst living in this country, and this is due almost uniquely to those sacrifices made by their combative West Indian cousins – especially the Jamaican.

This is why I would defend to the hill that Barbados maintains her Afro racial dominance and should ensure that no group should ever have hegemony over her. We as a people have suffered too much to allow others to have dominion over us. Now don’t get me started on our current crop of “black skin” politicians!

39. Kraigg Brathwaite. 2 centuries at the Oval.

Hope he carries his form into the next Test series.

A true opening batsman.

40. Gayle 215, Samuels 133

41. Ball beating, congrats to Gayle and Samuels.

Samuels needs to rotate the strike more fluently.

42. @David,

Cameron should keep retweeting. lol

43. @Hants

Cameron is a JA.

An administrator cannot be a distraction for the team.

44. I imagine the South Africans are quaking in Steyn’s and Morkel’s boots! LOL.

Obviously if Chris can reproduce 50% of this in the SA game then we stand a bit of a chance to beat them.

But all Kudos to him and Samuels.

Some compassion for Zimbabwe. They will take some further punishment in this tournament with this bowling attack

45. Somebody needs to show the West Indies the BBC documentary/Show which highlights Black cricket has been neglected post Apartheid in SA. In the documentary Black youngsters admit they prefer to watch football and to sleep during the ICC 2015 World Cup. This must be about something higher than just bat and ball when we come up against SA. It is ironic Sir Ritchie is the Manager.

46. @GP,
    You must be in heaven.
    Here is a summary from the BBC.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/31599255